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 Original        Updated       Corrected 

Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number 

 

Chapter SPS 305, Licenses, Certifications and Registrations   
 

Subject 

 

Thermal System Insulators  
 

Fund Sources Affected Chapter 20 , Stats. Appropriations Affected 
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Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule 

 No Fiscal Effect 

 Indeterminate  

 Increase Existing Revenues 

 Decrease Existing Revenues  

 Increase Costs 

 Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget  

 Decrease Costs 
 

The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply) 

 State’s Economy 

 Local Government Units  

 Specific Businesses/Sectors  

 Public Utility Rate Payers  
Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million? 
 

 Yes      No 
 

Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule 

 

Section 101.136, Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 16, mandates as of July 1, 2011 only individuals licensed as 

insulation mechanics or working under the direct supervision of licensed insulation mechanics may install or maintain 

thermal system insulation.  The Department promulgated rules under chapter SPS 305 effective February 1, 2011 that 

implemented the licensing mandates of 2009 Wisconsin Act 16. Subsequently, 2011 Wisconsin Act 32, has repealed s. 

101.136, Stats., and therein eliminated the licensing mandates for thermal system insulators. 
 
Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local 

Governmental Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred) 
 

It was estimated that the credential rules implemented pursuant to 2009 Wisconsin Act 16 regarding thermal insulators 

would most likely affect HVAC contractors, plumbing contractors, and mechanical refrigeration contractors.  Fees for the 

various credentials ranged from $15 for apprentices and helpers to $250 for mechanics.  In light of the Act 32, the thermal 

insulator credentials were not implemented and the associated fees not collected. 
 

Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule 
 

The proposed repeal of the credential rules for thermal insulators will clarify and allow individuals to continue to install 

and maintain thermal system insulation without the necessity of acquiring a specific credential.  An alternative of leaving 

the rules in place and requiring the credentials under the broad authority of chapter 101, Stats., would not reflect the late st 

direction provided by 2011 Wisconsin Act 32. 
 
Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule 

 

No long range implications are anticipated. 

 
Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government  

 

An internet search on U.S. federal regulations and U.S. federal register yielded no results regarding the licensing of 

thermal insulators. 



 
Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota) 

 

An Internet-based search of thermal insulation mechanic licenses in the states of Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota 

found that none of the states have specific rules or programs regarding these types of licenses. 
 
Name and Phone Number of Contact Person 

 

James Quast, program manager, (608) 266-9292 

 

 


