Clearinghouse Rule 13-094

STATE OF WISCONSIN
MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING
AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE . MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPY
MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPY, : PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING AND
PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING AND : SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD
SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES
(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE )

PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Marriage & Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board to amend MPSW 3.11(5) relating to temporary credential.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS
Statutes interpreted: § 457.14(2), Wis. Stats.
Statutory authority: § 15.08(5)(b), Wis. Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:
The examining board shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the
trade or profession to which it pertains, and define and enforce professional conduct and
unethical practices not inconsistent with the law relating to the particular trade or profession.
Relatedstatute or rule: §457.14(2), Wis. Stats.
Plain language analysis:
The Social Worker Section issues a temporary certificate or license when all the licensure
requirements are met with the exception of the examination. The statute states that a temporary
certificate or license may be renewed once by that section of the examining board. This

amendment will bring the rule into conformity with the statute.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:
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None.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

Ilinois: 1llinois no longer issues a temporary social worker credential.

lowa: lowa does not have a temporary social worker credential.

Michigan:  Michigan grants a two year limited license to engage in the 2 year postdegree
experience to those who have completed the educational requirements for licensure. A limited
license is renewable for not more than 6 years. Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.18509(2).
Minnesota: Minnesota may grant a temporary license to practice social work to applicants
who have completed the education and examination to those unlicensed or to applicants in
emergency situations if licensed in another jurisdiction. This temporary license expires after six
months. Minnesota also may grant a temporary license to an applicant who completed education
from a program in candidacy status with an accrediting body or for an applicant to teach social
work at an academic institution in Minnesota. These temporary licenses expire after 12 months.
There is no provision indicating a renewal of the temporary license. Minn. Stat. § 148E.060
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The factual data and methodology was to change the rule to be consistent with the statute.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in
preparation of economic impact analysis:

This rule merely conforms the rule to the statute and there is no effect on small business.

This rule was posted for public comment on the economic impact of the proposed rule, including
how this proposed rule may affect businesses, local government units and individuals, for a period of
14 days. No comments were received relating to the economic impact of the rule.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached.

Effect on small business:

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by
email at Tom.Engels@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608.

Agency contact person:

Sharon Henes, Administrative Rule Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional

Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box
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8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-2377; email at
Sharon.Henes@wisconsin.gov.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Sharon Henes, Administrative Rule Coordinator, Department of
Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708-8935, or by emalil to
sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received before the public hearing to be held
at 11:00 a.m. on December 3, 2013 to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. MPSW 3.11(5) is amended to read:

MPSW 3.11(5) The temporary credential expires upon notification of successful completion of
the examination or expiration of the 9 month period, whichever is earlier. The temporary
credential may ret be renewed once.

SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day
of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s.
227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

Dated Agency

Member of the Board
Marriage & Family Therapy,
Professional Counseling and Social

Work Examining Board
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