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Report From Agency 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  :         COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING  

COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD : BOARD 
      : ADOPTING RULES 
      : CR 15-020 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
PROPOSED ORDER 

 
An order of the Cosmetology Examining Board to amend Cos 5.01, to repeal and recreate 
Cos 5.02 (figure), and to create Cos 5.001 relating to courses of instruction. 

 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

 
Sections 454.06 (2) (b), 454.06 (3) (b), 454.06 (4) (b) 1., 454.06 (5) (b) 1., 454.06 (6) (b) 

1., and 454.075, Stats. 
 
Statutory authority: 

 
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) (a), and 454.075, Stats. 

 
Explanation of agency authority: 

 

Pursuant to ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Cosmetology Examining Board 
is generally empowered by the legislature to promulgate rules that will provide guidance 

within the profession and interpret the statutes it administers. 2013 Wisconsin Act 356 
required the reduction of the number of training hours for course of instruction in 
cosmetology.  This change impacted the qualifications for cosmetology licensure.  The 

proposed rule seeks to carry out the mandate of this new legislation by amending Wis. 
Admin Code. ch. Cos 5. 

 
Related statute or rule: 

 

None.                                                                                                       
 

Plain language analysis: 

 
2013 Wisconsin Act 356 changed the licensure requirements for cosmetologist by 

reducing the number of training hours required to successfully complete a cosmetology 
course of instruction from 1,800 to 1,550.  This reduction in training hours puts 
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Wisconsin on par with course of instruction requirements in neighboring states such as 
Illinois and Michigan.  The reduction in training hours will also relieve the burden on in-

state applicants seeking a cosmetology practitioner license in neighboring states and will 
ease the transition of out-of-state applicants seeking to become licensed as a 

cosmetologist in Wisconsin. 2013 WI Act 356 allows applicants to receive instruction 
from a school that is not operating in Wisconsin but has been accredited by an accrediting 
agency that has been approved by the board, by rule.  The proposed rule lists the 

approved accrediting agencies. 
 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 
 
None. 

 
Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 
Illinois: Illinois requires cosmetology schools to provide 1,500 hours of instruction in 
cosmetology. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 117.530. 

 
Iowa: Iowa requires 2,100 hours in cosmetology curriculum. 645 IAC 61.14. 

 
Michigan: Michigan cosmetology curriculum consists of 1,500 of theory and practical 
instruction and 1,160 hours in minimum practical application. Mich. Admin. Code 

R.338.2161. 
 

Minnesota: The cosmetology training curriculum consists of 1,550 hours in Minnesota. 
Minn. R. 2110.0510. 
 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

The methodologies used in developing this rule include reviewing administrative rules 
from neighboring states and comparing 2013 Wisconsin Act 356 with Wis. Admin.  Code 
ch. Cos 5. 

 
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 
 
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 

s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 
contacted by email at Eric.Esser@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 

 
Fiscal Estimate: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis are attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 
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These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Eric.Esser@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 
 

Agency contact person: 
 
Kathleen Paff, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 

Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, 
P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4472; email at 

Kathleen.Paff@wisconsin.gov 
 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 
Comments may be submitted to Kathleen Paff, Administrative Rules Coordinator, 

Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 
East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8935, or by 
email to Kathleen.Paff@wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received on or before April 

6, 2015 to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 
 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION  1. Cos 5.001 is created to read: 
 

 Cos 5.001  Instruction  An applicant for licensure as a cosmetologist, 
cosmetology manager, aesthetician, electrologist, or manicurist may receive instruction in 
a school of cosmetology licensed under s. 440.62 (3) (ar), Stats., exempted under s. 

440.61, Stats., or accredited by any of the following: 
 

(1) National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS) 
 

(2) Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) 

 
(3) Council on Occupational Education (COE) 

 
(4) National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) 
 

(5) Any other accrediting agency relating to cosmetology that is recognized by 
the U.S. Department of Education 

 
SECTION  2.  Cos 5.01 is amended to read: 
 

 Cos 5.01  Courses. Schools which provide instruction to students for 
cosmetology practitioner or cosmetology manager licenses or specialty schools which 

provide instruction to students for aesthetician, electrologist, or manicurist licenses shall 
develop curricula for instruction which are based on the applicable syllabus approved by 
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the board.  A school or specialty school shall offer at a minimum the hours listed for 
subjects in the appropriate syllabus included in this section. 

 
SECTION  3.  Cos 5.02 (figure) is repealed and recreated to read:  

 
FIGURE 5.02 

 SUBJECTS THEORY HOURS PRACTICAL 
HOURS 

I. Hygiene, grooming 
and personal 
development. 

10 0 

II. Bacteriology, 

sterilization 
and sanitation. 

20 20 

III. Haircutting, hair 

tapering 
(clipper−cuts), razor 
cutting, 

hairstyling, curling, 
thermal waving, 

finger− 
waving, roller 
setting, pincurl 

placement, blow− 
drying, shampoos, 

scalp 
and hair treatments, 
conditioning, 

reconditioning, hair 
analysis, and care of 

hairpieces, 
wigs and wefts. 
Tools, equipment 

and 
implements 

(identification 
and usage). 

140 440 

IV. Hair straightening, 
hair 

relaxing, thermal 
hair 

straightening, 
blow−outs, 
permanents, hair 

coloring, 

185 392 
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tinting, bleaching 
and 
chemistry. Tools, 

equipment and 
implements 

(identification 
and usage). 

V. Shaving, beard and 

mustache 
shaping, trimming, 
superfluous hair 

removal, 
waxing, facials, 

facial massages, 
facial makeup, 
eyelashes, 

light therapy, basic 
principles of 

electricity, and 
introduction to 
electrology. Tools, 

equipment and 
implements 
(identification 

and usage). 

35 60 

VI. Manicuring, 
including nail 

Enhancement. 
Tools, equipment 

and 
implements 
(identification 

and usage). 

10 25 

VII. Anatomy and 
physiology of 

the hair, skin and 
nails and 
disorders of the 

hair, skin, 
scalp and nails 

50 0 

VIII. Product knowledge, 

product 
use and sales, 
preparing 

and consulting with 
customer 

30 0 
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for services 

IX. Laws, rules, 
professional 

ethics and history of 
cosmetology 

18 0 

X. Individual student 
needs, 

industry trends and 
electives (e.g. 

recordkeeping, 
mathematics, 
communications, 

human relations, 
public 

relations, first aid, 
etc.) (Hours may 
include structured 

visits conducted by 
the school outside 

of the 
classroom at one or 
more 

cosmetology 
establishments.). 

40 75 

 TOTAL HOURS 538 1012 

 

SECTION  4.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on 
the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative 
Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
 

This Proposed Order of the Cosmetology Examining Board is approved for submission to 
the Governor and Legislature. 

 
 
 

Dated _   _ Agency _   ___________ 
       Board Member 

       Cosmetology Examining Board 

 


