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Clearinghouse Rule 15-062 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : VETERINARY EXAMINING 

VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD : BOARD 
      : ADOPTING RULES 

      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE             ) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

PROPOSED ORDER 

 
An order of the Veterinary Examining Board to repeal VE 10.03 (3) (b) and (i) relating to 

continuing education. 
 

 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------ 

ANALYSIS 
 

Statutes interpreted: 
 
Section 453.062 (2) (a) and (b), Stats. 

  
Statutory authority: 

 
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) (a), and 453.03 (2), Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides examining boards, “shall promulgate rules for its 
own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains. . .”  
The proposed rule seeks to provide guidance to licensed veterinarians and licensed 

veterinary technicians on compliance with continuing education requirements. 
 

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., sets forth the parameters of an agency’s rule-making 
authority, stating an agency, “may promulgate rules interpreting provisions of any statute 
enforced or administered by the agency. . .but  a rule is not valid if the rule exceeds the 

bounds of correct interpretation.” 
 

Section 453.03 (2), Stats,. provides that the, “examining board shall promulgate rules 
requiring training and continuing education sufficient to assure competency of 
veterinarians and veterinary technicians in the practice of veterinary medicine, . . .” 

 

Related statute or rule: 
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None 

 
Plain language analysis: 

 
In accordance with s. 453.062 (2) (a) and (b), Stats., licensed veterinarians are required to 
complete 30 hours of continuing education and licensed veterinary technicians are 

required to complete 15 hours of continuing education. Continuing education 
requirements for both veterinarians and veterinary technicians are found in Chapter VE 

10. Recently, the Veterinary Examining Board identified several provisions within ch. 
VE 10 that required revising, specifically s. VE 10.03 (3) (b).  The Board determined that 
this provision allowing self-study of veterinary medical or scientific journals was 

obsolete due to the abundance of continuing education offered via the internet.  The 
Board also identified s. VE 10.03 (3) (i), regarding certification to use, handle, distribute 

and dispose of pesticides as outdated due to recent legislation,  2009 Wisconsin Act 139.  
Act 139 specified that the Board may not require training or continuing education 

concerning the use, handling, distribution, and disposal of pesticides, other than for 
disciplinary purposes. 
 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 
 

None. 
 
Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 
Illinois:  

 
Illinois Administrative Code allows renewal applicants to use self-study courses offered 
by an approved provider (Ill. Admin. Code tit. 68, pt.1500.25 and Ill. Admin. Code tit. 

68, pt. 1505.55).   
 

Iowa: 
 
Iowa Administrative Code allows the completion of distance education courses but does 

not explicitly allow for the completion of self-study courses to fulfill continuing 
education requirements (Iowa Admin. Code r. 811-11.1). 

 
Michigan:   
 

Continuing education is not required to renew a license as a veterinarian or a veterinary 
technician in the state of Michigan. 

 
Minnesota: 

 

Minnesota Administrative Code specifies that not more than ten hours of continuing 
education credit from noninteractive (self-study) sources may be accepted toward the 40-
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hour continuing education credit requirement for license renewal (Minn. R. 9100.100 
subp. 5.) 

 
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

The Board reviewed the continuing education rules for consistency with the Wisconsin 
Statutes and contemporary practices.  Adjacent states’ requirements were also reviewed. 

 
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 
 
The rule was posted for public comment on the economic impact of the proposed rule, 

including how this proposed rule may affect businesses, local government units, and 
individuals for a period of 14 days.  No comments were received. 

 
Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 
 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 
contacted by email at Eric.Esser@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 

 
Agency contact person: 

 
Katie Vieira (Paff), Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and 
Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, 

Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4472; email 
at Kathleen.Vieira@wisconsin.gov. 

 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 
 

Comments may be submitted to Katie Vieira (Paff), Administrative Rules Coordinator, 
Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 

East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8935, or by 
email to Kathleen.Vieira@wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received on or before the 
public hearing to be held on November 4, 2015 to be included in the record of rule-

making proceedings. 
 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION  1. VE 10.03 (3) (b) and (i) are repealed. 
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SECTION  2. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on 
the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, 

pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 
 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

 
 

Dated _________________  Agency __________________________________ 
       Chairperson 
       Veterinary Examining Board 

 


