Clearinghouse Rule 16-092

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE ) DEPARTMENT
DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND ) ADOPTING RULES
PROFESSIONAL SERVICES : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE )

PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the department to repeal SPS 305.73 (3) (a) (Note) and amend SPS 305.73
(3) (@) and (4) () and (Note), (b) and (Note), and (c) (Note 1), relating to liquefied gas
suppliers.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS

Statutes interpreted:
Section 101.16 (3r) and (4), Stats.

Statutory authority:
Sections 101.02 (1) and 101.16 (3g) (a), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:

Section 101.02 (1), Stats., provides ‘[t]he department shall adopt reasonable and proper
rules and regulations relative to the exercise of its powers and authorities and proper rules
to govern its proceedings and to regulate the mode and manner of all investigations and
hearings.

Section 101.16 (3g) (a), Stats., as amended effective October 1, 2016, by 2015 Wisconsin
Act 327 provides “[n]o retailer may distribute liquefied petroleum gas without holding a
license issued by the department. The department, subject to s. 101.02 (20) and (21), shall
issue a license to be a retailer upon receiving the fee established under s. 101.19 (1g)

(L) or (Im) and upon the retailer's obtaining commercial general liability insurance as
required under sub. (3r) (c). The term of the license shall be set by the department, not to
exceed 2 years.”

Related statutes or rules:
None.

Plain language analysis:

The proposed rules reflect the provisions of 2015 Wisconsin Act 327, which changes the
financial responsibility requirements for retailers of liquefied petroleum gas.
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Current rules authorize a person applying for or holding a liquefied gas supplier or
liqguefied gas supplier — restricted license to have either 1) a surety bond, 2) an
irrevocable letter of credit, or 3) commercial general liability insurance as the proof of
financial responsibility required under s. 101.16, Stats. The proposed rule amends s. SPS
305.73 to reflect the provisions of 2015 Wisconsin Act 327, which, effective October 1,
2016, eliminates the first 2 options listed above. Under the Act, a person applying for or
holding a liquefied gas supplier or liquefied gas supplier — restricted license is required to
have commercial general liability insurance.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal statutes and
regulations:
None.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

An Internet-based search found the states of lllinois, lowa, Michigan, and Minnesota do
not have rules relating to the licensing of retail liquefied gas suppliers.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of 2015 Wisconsin Act
327 in conjunction with the current rules relating to liquefied gas suppliers under s. SPS
305.73.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effecton small business or in
preparation of economic impact analysis:

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on
economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local
government units, and individuals. No comments were received.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached.

Effect on small business:

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in
s.227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at Jeffrey.Weigand@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435.

Agency contact person:

Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151,
P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4472; emalil at
DSPSAdminRules@ wisconsin.gov.
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Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator,
Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400
East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, W1 53708-8935, or by
email to DSPSAdminRules@ wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received at or before the
public hearing to be held at 8:00 a.m. on January 31, 2017, to be included in the record of
rule-making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. SPS 305.73 (3) (a) is amended to read:

SPS 305.73 (3) (a) A person applying for either a liquefied gas supplier or a
liquefied gas supplier — restricted license shall, previde—proof-offinancialresponsibitity
as required under s. 101.16 (3r) (c), Stats., obtain commercial general liability insurance
as an endorsement to an existing policy or as a separate policy from an insurer, or a risk
retention _group, that is licensed to transact the business of insurance in this state or that is
eligible to provide insurance as a surplus lines insurer in one or more states.

SECTION 2. SPS 305.73 (3) (a) (Note) is repealed.

SECTION 3. SPS 305.73 (4) (a) and (Note), (b) and (Note), and (c) (Note 1) are
amended to read:

SPS 305.73 (4) (@) A person who holds either a liquefied gas suppller ora
liquefied gas supplier — restricted license shall maintain
commercial general liability insurance in accordance with s. 101.16 (3r) (a) or (b), Stats.

(Note) Section 101.16 (3r) (a) and (b), Stats., reads as follows:

(@) Except as provided in par. (b), a retail-supplier—{(a-licensed—liguefied—gas
supphier—or-a-liguefied—gas-supplier—restricted) retailer shall maintain preof-of
financial—+esponsibility commercial general liability insurance in the amount of
$1,000,000 per occurrence with an annual aggregate of $2,000,000 for
compensating 3rd parties for bodily injury and property damages for incidents

associated with the release of liquefied petroleum gas.

(b) A retai
restricted) retaller Who only ﬁIIs department of transportatlon cyllnders or Wh
only fills containers for engine and recreational vehicle fueling systems shall
maintain proof-of-hnancialresponsibiity commercial general liability insurance

in the amount of $500,000 per occurrence with an annual aggregate of $1,000,000
for compensating 3rd parties for bodily injury and property damages for incidents
associated with the release of liquefied petroleum gas.

(b) Pursuant tos. 101.16 (3r) (g), Stats., a person who holds either a liquefied gas
supplier or a liquefied gas supplier — restricted license shall notify the department at
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least 60 days before cancelllng or failing to renew a-surety-bendletterof credit-of
commercial general liability insurance as-proof-offinancial—responsibitity.

(Note) Section 101.16 (3r) (f), Stats., requires a 3rd party that issues a-surety
bondletter—of-credit—or commercial general liability insurance to a retail-supplier retailer

for purpesed purposes of this subsection shall provide written notice to the retail-supphier
retailer and to the department at least 60 days before canceling, revoking, suspending, or

failing to renew the bendetter—or insurance.

(c) (Note 1) Section 101.16 (4) (c), Stats., reads: Each retail-supplier retailer
filling a container that is part of a propane gas system shall provide written notice to each
eustom customer subject to par. (b) of the customer's duty under par. (b) before the retall
suppliers retailer’s first delivery of propane gas to that customer and shall provide
subsequent notices on an annual basis. The notice shall include all of the following
information concerning the duty to notify under par. (b):

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the retail-supplier retailer.
2. The purpose of giving the notification to the retail-supplier retailer.

3. A description of the type of propane gas system that is subject to the notification
requirement.

4. A description of the types of activities that constitute a replacement, modification,
repair, or servicing of a propane system.

5. A copy of the provisions under s. 101.16 (4) (b).

SECTION 4.  EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register,
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)
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