Clearinghouse Rule 18-002

STATE OF WISCONSIN
COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD
COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD ADOPTING RULES

(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE )

The Cosmetology Examining Board is petitioning the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules to repeal a rule the board has determined to
be an unauthorized rule and is using the process under s. 227.26 (4), Stats.

PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Cosmetology Examining Board to repeal Cos 1.01 (3m), Cos 5.03, Cos
7.03 (2), and Cos 8.01 (2); to amend Cos 2.06 (4), Cos 2.07 (1), Cos 2.07 (1r), Cos 3.02
(1), Cos 3.02 (2) (b), Cos 5.001, Cos 5.01, Cos 6.04 (1) (a), Cos 7.04, Cos 8.02, Cos 9.03
Note, and Cos 11.01, relating to cosmetology manager licensing.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS
Statutes interpreted: Sections 454.04, and 454.06, Stats.

Statutory authority: Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) (a), 454.08 (1) (ag) 1., 2., 454.08
(6), Stats., and 2017 Wisconsin Act 82.

Explanation of agency authority: Pursuant to ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2) (a),
Stats., the Cosmetology Examining Board is empowered by the legislature to promulgate
rules that will provide guidance within the profession and to interpret the statutes it
administers. The passage of 2017 Wisconsin Act 82 prompted the Board to review all
regulations concerning cosmetology and undertake an update of the rules to make them
consistent with the new legislation.

Related statute or rule: Wisconsin Administrative Code, chs. Cos 1to 11

Plain language analysis: The Cosmetology Examining Board is updating the rules
governing the practice of cosmetology based upon passage of 2017 Wisconsin Act 82.
Act 82 eliminates the requirement for a cosmetology manager license. This update
eliminates or amends references to this license in chs. Cos 1 to 11 of the Wisconsin
Administrative Code consistent with the requirements of 2017 Wisconsin Act 82.
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Agency contact person: Greg DiMiceli, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department
of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East
Washington Awvenue, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-266-
0955; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov.

TEXT OF RULE

Section 1. Cos 1.01 (3m) is repealed.
Section 2. Cos 2.06 (4) is amended to read:

Cos 2.06 (4). Maintain and provide appropriate records for apprentices, temporary
permit holders, training permit holders, and practitioners, including employment records,
to enable apprentices or practitioners to meet the requirements of s. 454.06-(3){(b);
440.63 (3) (a) 1. or 454.10 (2), Stats., for credentialing as a practitioner,—manager; or
instructor. Owners shall maintain these records for a minimum of 5 years.

Section 3. Cos 2.07 (1) is amended to read:

Cos 2.07 (1). The licensed—cosmetoelogy manager of a cosmetology establishment shall
be responsible for the daily operations of an establishment and ensure that the
establishment is in compliance with ch. 454, Stats., and chs. Cos 3 and 4. The
cosmetology manager shall maintain supplies and equipment necessary to ensure safe and
sanitary establishment conditions.

Section 4. Cos 2.07 (1r) is amended to read:

Cos 2.07 (1r). The cosmetology manager shall, for a minimum of 5 years, maintain and
provide appropriate records for apprentices, temporary permit holders, training permit
holders, and practitioners, including employment records, to enable apprentices or
practitioners to meet the requirements of s. 454-06-(3)(b); 440.63 (3) (a) 2.; or 454.10

(2), Stats., for credentialing as a practitioner,—cosmetelogy—anager; or instructor.

Section 5. Cos 3.02 (1) is amended to read:

Cos 3.02 (1). Cosmetology manager required. The owner of a cosmetology
establishment shall not operate the establishment unless a licensed cosmetology manager
has been employed for the establishment, subject to the exception for temporary
unavailability of a cosmetology manager in s. Cos 2.06 (5). The cosmetology manager
shall be responsible for supervising and managing the operation of the establishment. The
owner and the cosmetology manager shall ensure that the establishment operates in
compliance with ch. 454, Stats., and rules of the board as follows:

Section 6. Cos 3.02 (2) (b) is amended to read:

Cos 3.02 (2) (b). The lessee of a chair or booth shall be responsible for ensuring
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that the leased chair or booth operates in compliance with ch. 454, Stats., and the rules of
the board, and the lessee shall hold a cosmetology manager’s and an establishment
license.

Section 7. Cos 5.001 is amended to read:

Cos 5.001. Instruction. An applicant for licensure as a cosmetologist, cesmetology
manager; aesthetician, electrologist, or manicurist may receive instruction in a school of
cosmetology licensed under s. 440.62 (3) (ar), Stats., exempted under s. 440.61, Stats., or
accredited by any of the following:

Section 8. 5.01 is amended to read:

Cos 5.01. Courses. Schools which provide instruction to students for cosmetology

practitioner er-cesmetology—manager—licenses or specialty schools which provide

instruction to students for aesthetician, electrologist, or manicurist licenses shall develop
curricula for instruction which are based on the applicable syllabus approved by the
board. A school or specialty school shall offer at a minimum the hours listed for subjects
in the appropriate syllabus included in this section.

Section 9. Cos 5.03 is repealed.

Section 10. Cos 6.04 (1) (a) is amended as follows:

Cos 6.04 (1) (a). The establishment owner with whom an apprentice contracts shall
employ a cosmetology manager, whose cosmetology manager’s license is not an inactive
license, to train and supervise the apprentice, except as provided in pars. (b) and (c). An
apprentice shall only work under the supervision of a cosmetology manager, except as
provided in pars. (b) and (c).

Section 11. Cos 7.03 (2) is repealed.

Section 12. Cos 7.04 is amended to read:

Cos 7.04. Passing scores. The passing score of the examinations for licensure as a

cosmetologist, aesthetician, manicurist, or electrologist, ercesmetology—manager; shall
be based on the board’s determination of the level of examination performance required

for minimum competence in the profession.
Section 13. Cos 8.01 (2) is repealed.
Section 14. Cos 8.02 is amended to read:

Cos 8.02. Licensing requirement without examination. The board may grant a license
to practice cosmetology, aesthetics, electrology, or manicuring—erte-practice—asa
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cosmetology—manager—without examination to a licensee of another state provided that the
following conditions are met:

Section 15. Cos 9.03 (Note) is amended to read:

Cos 9.03 (Note). A person may not practice as a cosmetologist, aesthetician,

electrologist, or manicurist ercesmetelogy—manager prior to being granted reinstatement
of their respective license.

Section 16. Cos 11.01 is amended to read:

Cos 11.01 Authority and purpose. The rules in this chapter are adopted under the
authority in ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), and 454.12, Stats., and govern biennial
continuing education for aesthetics, and cosmetology practitioner and-cosmetology
manager, electrology, and manicuring licenses.

Section 17. EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register,
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)
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