Clearinghouse Rule 18-073
STATE OF WISCONSIN
RADIOGRAPHY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING ) PROPOSED ORDER OF THE

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE ) RADIOGRAPHY EXAMINING

RADIOGRAPHY EXAMINING : BOARD

BOARD ) ADOPTING RULES
(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE )

PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Radiography Examining Board to repeal RAD 5.01 (intro.) and 5.02 (1)
and (2); to renumber RAD 5.05 (1) (a); to renumber and amend RAD 5.02 (intro.) and
5.05 (1) (intro.) and (b); to amend RAD 5.01 (1) and (2), 5.03, 5.04, and 5.05 (2); and to
create RAD 5.01 (3) to (5), relating to continuing education.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS
Statutes interpreted:
Section 440.03 (4m), Stats.

Statutory authority: Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 462.06 (1) (c), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides each examining board “[s]hall promulgate rules for
its own guidance and for the guidance ofthe trade or profession to which it pertains. . .”

Section 462.06 (1) (c), Stats., provides the Radiography Examining Board shall
promulgate rules that ‘“[e]stablish continuing education standards for renewal of licenses
and limited X—ray machine operator permits issued under this chapter.”

Related statute or rule:

None.

Plain language analysis:

Section RAD 5.04 is revised to comply with s. 440.03 (4m), Stats., as created by 2017
Wisconsin Act 59. Under this provision, the Board may require a credential holder to
submit proof of completing continuing education programs or courses only if a complaint
is made against the credential holder. Other provisions throughout ch. MTBT 5 have been
revised to better organize the content of the chapter and ensure consistency with current
style and format standards for drafting administrative rules and applicable Wisconsin
statutes.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:

None.
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Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Hlinois:

32 1ll. Admin. Code 401.140 b) 4) to 6) provide the requirements for retention and
production of evidence of compliance with the continuing education requirements for
renewal of accreditation in the practice of medical radiation technology. All technologists
accredited by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency are required to maintain proof
of participation in continuing education activities. Technologists seeking renewal are
required to attest they have acquired the required number of continuing education credits.
Within 30 days after receipt of this attestation, the Agency may perform an audit in

which the individual will be asked to provide copies of documentation. Failure to respond
to the Agency's audit request or failure to provide acceptable documentation may result in
arefusal to renew accreditation.

lowa:

641 IAC 42.18 provides the requirements for production of evidence of compliance with
the continuing education requirements for renewal or reinstatement of a permit to operate
jonizing radiation producing machines or administer radioactive materials. A permit
holder must either 1) have a current American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
(ARRT) or Nuclear Medicine Technologty Certification Board (NMTCB) registration
that has been renewed within 60 days prior to the submission of a permit renewal
application or 2) submit proof of completion of continuing education activities

recognized by ARRT or NMTCB or, in the case of a podiatric x-ray equipment operator
permit holder, sponsored by the American Podiatric Medical Association or the lowa
Podiatric Medical Society.

Michigan:

The State of Michigan does not license operators of x-ray machines, nor does it have any
requirements relative to the licensure or credentialing of x-ray machine operators except
for radiologic technologists who perform mammographic examinations (Mich Admin
Code, R 333.5630). The rules require compliance with the continuing education
requirements under 21 C.F.R. 900.12(a)(2), ‘“Radiologic technologists” (2000).

A mammography facility is required to maintain records documenting the qualifications
of all personnel who work at the facility, including radiologic technologists who perform
mammographic examinations. The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs may
review these records during an inspection of the facility (Mich Admin Code, R
333.5635).

Minnesota:

Minn. Stat. 144.121, Subd. 5., provides the requirements for practicing as a limited x-ray
machine operator. The statutes do not require continuing education.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of ch. RAD 5 to ensure
consistency with current style and format standards for drafting administrative rules and
applicable Wisconsin statutes.
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Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effecton small business or in
preparation of economic impact analysis:

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on the
economic impact of the proposed rule, including how this proposed rule may affect
businesses, local government units, and individuals. No comments were received.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:
The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached.

Effect on small business:

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in
s.227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at NathanielL.Ristow@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-3445.

Agency contact person:

Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O.Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-
8366; telephone 608-261-4472;email at DSPSAdminRules@ wisconsin.gov.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator,
Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O.
Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or by email to DSPSAdminRules@ wisconsin.gov.
Comments must be received at or before the public hearing to be held at 9:00 a.m. on
December 12, 2018, to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1. RAD 5.01 (intro.) is repealed.

SECTION 2.  RAD 5.01 (1) and (2) are amended to read:

RAD 5.01 (1) RADIOGRAPHERS. Radiegraphers Except as provided under sub. (3),
during the 2—vear period immediately preceding the renewal date under s. 440.08 (2) (a)
64q., Stats., a radiographer shall complete 24 credit hours of continuing education eredit
each-biennium,—except-for-thefirstrenewal-of the-permit related to the practice of
radiography.

(2) LXMO PERMIT HOLDERS. Except as provided under sub. (3), during the
2—vear period immediately preceding the renewal date under s. 440.08 (2) (a) 39m.,
Stats., an LXMO permit helders holder shall complete 12 credit hours of continuing
education eredit—each-biennium—exceptfor-thefirst renewal-of thepermit related to the

practice of radiography.

SECTION 3.  RAD 5.01 (3) to (5) are created to read:

RAD 5.01 (3) EXEMPTION FOR NEW LICENSEES ANDPERMIT HOLDERS.
Subsections (1) and (2) do not apply to the first renewal following the date a license or
permit is initially issued.
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(4) CReDIT FOR ARRT CERTIFICATION. The board shall accept active certification
from the ARRT or a board-approved successor organization as meeting the requirements
under subs. (1) and (2).

(5) RECORDKEEPING. Licensees and permit holders shall maintain records of
continuing education credit hours required under subs. (1) and (2) for at least 3 years
from the date of the continuing education activity. The records for each continuing
education activity shall include all of the following:

(@) The name and address of the sponsor or provider.

(b) The date, time, and location of the activity.

(c) A brief statement of the subject matter.

(d) A program schedule, registration receipt, or certificate of attendance.
(e) Number of credit hours completed.

SECTION 4. RAD 5.02 (intro.) is renumbered RAD 5.02 and amended to read:

RAD 5.02 M\erfication Certification of compliance. A licensee or permit
holder shall, at the time of making application for renewal of a license or permit under

this—chapter, sign a statement on the application for+renewal-verifiring—that-the-licensee—or

permit-holder—has-satishied certifying the continuing education reguirement requirements
under s. RAD 5.01 (1) or (2) have been satisfied.

SECTION 5.  RAD 5.02 (1) and (2) are repealed.

SECTION 6. RAD 5.03 and 5.04 are amended to read:

RAD 5.03 Approved providers. Forpurposes-of-this—chapterapproved The
board accepts providers of continuing education courses are-these recognized by the

Arrerican—Registry—of Radielegic—Technelogists ARRT or a board-approved successor
organization deemed-acceptable—to-the-board.

RAD 5.04 Audit. The board shall eendueta+andom audit for compliance with
the requwements ef under this chapter aft—Ieaet—eve40,'—6—yeaclts—acneI—Feq4=|+Fe—aeny—heensee—e4C

a_avidanca alaala vAll alallfaTa

Feqwemems any Ilcensee or permlt holder Who iS_under |nvest|qat|on by the board for
alleged misconduct.

SECTION 7. RAD 5.05 (1) (intro.) is renumbered RAD 5.05 (1) and amended to read:

RAD 5.05 (1) A credential holder may, based on hardship or other extenuating
circumstances, request priorto-therenewal-date a full or partial waiver or postponement

of the continuing education reguirerment—on-the-basis-ofa-hardship requirements under s.
RAD 5.01 (1) or (2). The request shall be submitted to the board prior to the applicable

renewal date and include a statement describing the reason for the waiver or
postponement request.

SECTION 8. RAD 5.05 (1) (a) is renumbered RAD 5.05 (19).
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SECTION 9.  RAD 5.05 (1) (b) is renumbered RAD 5.05 (1r) and amended to read:

RAD 5.05 (1r) Ha i
edueahen—mqu#emen%s—beeause—eﬂn this sectlon, “hardshlp” means fuII tlme mllrtary
service during a substantial part of the bienrium; 2-year period immediately preceding
the renewal date oran lncapacnatlng medical infirmity documented by a Ilcensed heaIth

SECTION 10. RAD 5.05 (2) is amended to read:
RAD 5.05 (2) A persen licensee or permit_holder who submits a request for a

waiver or postponement priorto-the—renewal-date under sub. (1) may renew the credential
with the approval of the board's designee if the board is unable to reach-a-deecisien act on

the request prior to the renewal date.

SECTION 11. EFFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register,
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)
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