
Clearinghouse Rule 19-106 

 

PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 

DIVISION OF CORPORATE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 

CREATING RULES 

 

The Department of Financial Institutions proposes an order to create s. DFI-CCS 10.04 related to 
fees associated with Wisconsin’s Uniform Partnership Act, ch. 178, Stats. 

 
The scope statement for this rule, SS 050-19, was approved by the governor on May 30, 2019; 
published in Administrative Register No. 762A2 on June 10, 2019; and approved by the Secretary 

for the Department of Financial Institutions on June 24, 2019. 
_____________________________________________________________________________

_ 

 
ANALYSIS 

 

1. Statutes interpreted:  Sections 178.0120(1), and (2)(b) and (c), Stats., authorize the 

department to collect fees for filing partnership records, providing certified copies and certificates 
of status, processing expedited requests, and filing records in paper format.  
 

2. Statutory authority:  Section 178.0120(2)(a), Stats., authorizes the department to 
establish by rule the fees for filing partnership records, providing certified copies and certificates 

of status, processing expedited requests, and filing records in paper format under ss. 178.0120(1), 
and (2)(b) and (c), Stats.  
 

3. Explanation of agency authority:  Pursuant to s. 178.0117(1), Stats., the department is 
the filing office for records filed or provided under ch. 178, Stats.   

 
4. Related statutes or rules: Section 178.0121, Stats., authorizes the department to issue 
certificates of status for records filed under ch. 178, Stats.  

 
5. Plain language analysis: In 2016, Wisconsin enacted the Wisconsin Uniform Partnership 

Act, ch. 178, Stats.  By this act the legislature authorized the department to promulgate a rule to 
collect fees for filing records, providing certified copies and certificates of status, processing 
expedited requests, and filing records in paper format under ch. 178.  These fees fund the 

department’s general program operations, including the cost of filing, maintaining and providing 
records under ch. 178.  Any remaining balance is transferred at year-end to the state’s general fund , 

pursuant to s. 20.144(1)(g), Stats.         
 
6. Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:  The 

Revised Uniform Partnership Act is a uniform law which has been approved and recommended 
for enactment in all states by the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws.  

Laws regarding the organization and registration of partnerships are matters of state law; there is 
no parallel federal regulation.    



 
 

 
7. Comparison with rules in adjacent states:  Illinois, Minnesota and Iowa have adopted 

the Revised Uniform Partnership Act, and for records under this act, established comparable fees.   
Michigan has not adopted the act, but has established comparable fees for the same.  Filing fees in 
these states range as follows: Illinois, $25 - $500; Minnesota $25 - $135; Iowa and Michigan, $5 

- $100.  Expedited fees in these states range up to the following: Illinois, $200; Minnesota, $520; 
Michigan, $1000.  Iowa does not offer expedited service. 

 
8. Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: The proposed fees are based 
on comparable fees currently assessed by the department for filing records, providing certified 

copies and certificates of status, processing expedited requests, and filing records in paper format 
for business corporations and limited liability companies.  

 
9. Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business: The 

proposed rule would have no significant impact on small business, as defined in s. 227.114(1), 

Stats.  The department contemplates that the fees to be charged will be comparable to those charged 

for similar filings by other entities, with standard (i.e., non-expedited) fees ranging from $10 to 

$150 depending on the type of document and whether the partnership is domestic or foreign.  The 

department contemplates that document fees at the high end of that range would relate to a one-

time event (e.g., articles of merger or foreign registration statements), while fees for filing annual 

reports would be only $25 for domestic partnerships and $65 for foreign partnerships.  Taking the 

total number of expected annual filings and the fees collected for these, the department estimates 

that the average annual cost for a partnership would be approximately $39.  Therefore, the financ ia l 

impact of this rule on small businesses is de minimis. 

10. Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:   

 

Anticipated costs incurred by the private sector are the filing of annual reports or one-time event 
fees as set forth in the proposed rule. Taking the total number of expected annual filings and the 

fees collected for these, the department estimates that the average annual cost for a partnership 
would be approximately $39.  
 

11. Effect on small business:   

 

The proposed rule will have little to no effect on small business. 
 
12. Agency contact person:  Mary Ann McCoshen, Administrator, Department of Financia l 

Institutions, Division of Corporate and Consumer Services, PO Box 7846, Madison, WI  53707-
7846, tel. 608-266-6810. 

 
13. Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:   

 

Comments may be submitted to the contact person shown below no later than the date on which 
the public hearing on this proposed rule order is conducted.  Information as to the place, date and 



time of the public hearing will be published in the Wisconsin Administrative Register and posted 
to the department’s website.  

 
By mail: Mark Schlei, Deputy Chief Legal Counsel, Department of Financial Institutions, PO Box 

8861, Madison, WI 53708-8861.  
 
By delivery: Mark Schlei, Deputy Chief Legal Counsel, Department of Financial Institution, 4822 

Madison Yards Way, 4th Floor, North Tower, Madison, WI 53703. 
 

By e-mail: DFIRulesComments@wisconsin.gov. 
 
Via the department’s website: http://www.wdfi.org/statutes/ProposedRules.htm. 

 
SECTION 1.  Section DFI-CCS 10.04 is created to read: 

 
DFI-CCS 10.04  Filing and service fees under s. 178.0120, Stats.  The following fees 

shall apply under s. 178.0120, Stats.: 

(1)  Annual report for a domestic limited liability partnership: $25.  

(2)  Annual report for a foreign limited liability partnership: $65. 

(3)  Articles of conversion, domestication, interest exchange or merger: $150. 

(4)  Certificate of status: $10.  

(5)  Domestic statement of qualification: $100. 

(6)  Foreign registration statement: $100. 

(7)  Foreign transfer of registration: $50.  

 (8)  Reinstatement after revocation: $100. 

(9)  Renewal application: $40. 

(10)  Statement of amendment, cancellation, change, correction, denial, dissociation, 

dissolution, renewal, rescission, termination or withdrawal: $40. 

(11) Statement of partnership authority: $100. 

(12)  Amendment or cancellation of foreign registration statement: $40. 

(13) Written application for reserved name or renewal of reserved name: $15. 



(14)  Notice of transfer of reserved or registered name: $10. 

(15)  Application for registered name or renewal of registered name: $50. 

(16)  Domestic or foreign limited liability partnership’s statement of change of registered 

office: $10. 

(17)  Agent’s statement of change of registered office, $10 for each affected domestic 

limited liability partnership, except if simultaneous filings are made the fee is reduced to $1 for 

each affected domestic or foreign limited liability partnership in excess of 200. 

(18)  Agent’s statement of resignation: $10. 

(19)  For expedited processing of any document or document request under this section: 

(a)  Within 1 hour of receipt: $500. 

(b)  Within 4 hours of receipt: $250.  

(c)   By the end of the next business day: $25. 

(20) In addition to any filing fee under this section, for filing in paper format a filing for 

which there is an online filing option: $15. 

SECTION 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month 

following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22 (2) 

(intro.), Stats. 

 Department of Financial Institutions 

Date: ____________________ By:_____________________________ 

     Mary Ann McCoshen 

     Administrator 
Department of Financial Institutions 
Division of Corporate and Consumer Services 

 

 
 


