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Modifications From Agency 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILIATED 

ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILIATED : CREDENTIALING BOARD 
CREDENTIALING BOARD   : ADOPTING RULES 
      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 19-109) 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------- 
PROPOSED ORDER 

 
An order of the Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board to create AT 2.06, relating to 
requirements for license renewal and reinstatement. 

 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

Sections 440.08 (3) (b) and 448.955, Stats. 

Statutory authority: 

Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 440.08 (3) (b), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides an affiliated credentialing board “[s]hall promulgate rules 

for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains. . .” 

Section 440.08 (3) (b), Stats., provides authority for the Athletic Trainers Affiliated 

Credentialing Board to promulgate rules requiring the holder of a credential who fails to renew 
the credential within 5 years after its renewal date to complete requirements to restore the 
credential, in addition to the applicable requirements for renewal established 

under chs. 440 to 480, Stats., that the Board determines are necessary to protect the public health, 
safety, or welfare. The rules may not require the holder to complete educational requirements or 

pass examinations that are more extensive than the educational or examination requirements that 
must be completed to obtain an initial credential from the Board. 

Related statute or rule: 

Section 448.9545, Stats., and ch. AT 3 provide the continuing education requirements for 
renewal of an athletic trainer license. 

 
Plain language analysis: 
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The proposed rules specify requirements for late renewal of an athletic trainer license and the 
requirements for reinstatement of a license that has not been renewed within 5 years when the 

licensee has unmet disciplinary requirements, or the license has been revoked or surrendered.  

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

None. 
 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois: 

Rules of the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation establish requirements 
for late renewal and restoration of an athletic trainer license (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.40 and 
1160.50).  

The holder of a license may renew the license during the month preceding the expiration date by 

paying the required fee and completing the continuing education requirements under 68 Ill. Adm. 
Code 1160.65. 

A person seeking restoration of a license after it has expired or has been placed on inactive status 
for less than 5 years must file an application with the required fee and proof of completion of 40 
hours of continuing education in accordance with 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.65 in the 2 years 

immediately preceding the restoration application. 

A person seeking restoration of a license after it has expired or has been placed on inactive status 
for 5 years or more must file an application with the required fee, proof of completion of 40 
hours of continuing education in accordance with 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.65 in the 2 years 

immediately preceding the restoration application, and one of the following: 

 Sworn evidence of active practice in another jurisdiction. 

 An affidavit attesting to military service (any person seeking restoration of a license within 2 
years after discharge from military service must pay the current renewal fee, but is not 

required to submit proof of meeting the continuing education requirements). 

 Evidence of continued active participation in athletic training during the 2 years prior to the 

restoration application, and proof of completion of an additional 20 hours of continuing 
education in accordance with 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.65.   

Iowa:  

Rules of the Iowa Board of Athletic Training establish requirements for late renewal, 

reactivation, and reinstatement of an athletic trainer license (645 IAC 351.9, 351.15, and 
351.16).  

A licensee seeking renewal must submit a completed renewal application and renewal fee before 
the license expiration date, meet the continuing education requirements under 645 IAC 352.2, 
and certify completion of all training in child and dependent adult abuse identification and 

reporting required under 645 IAC 351.9(4). 

To apply for reactivation of an inactive license, a licensee must submit all of the following: 
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 A completed reactivation application and reactivation fee  

 Verification of completing 50 hours of continuing education within 2 years of application  

 Verification of the status of the license from every jurisdiction in which the applicant 

practiced athletic training during the time the Iowa license has been inactive.  

 If the license has been on inactive status for more than 5 years, verification of current 

certification from the Board of Certification, Inc. 

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended, or voluntarily surrendered must apply for 

and receive reactivation of the license as provided above and apply for and receive reinstatement 
of the license. The application for reinstatement must, as required under 645 IAC 11.31, be filed 

in accordance with any applicable terms and conditions of the order of revocation or suspension. 
If the order of revocation or suspension does not establish terms and conditions upon which 
reinstatement might occur, or if the license was voluntarily surrendered, the application may not 

be filed until one year from the date of the order or the date of voluntary surrender. The 
application must allege facts which, if established, will be sufficient to enable the Board to 

reinstate the license. 

Michigan: 

Rules of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs establish requirements 
for late renewal of a license and relicensure to practice athletic training in Michigan (Mich 
Admin Code, R 338.1345 and R 338.1349).  

An applicant for license renewal must currently hold and have held at all times during the 3-year 

period immediately preceding the expiration date of the license certification in emergency 
cardiac care, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and first aid. The applicant must also have 
completed 75 hours of continuing education in activities approved by the Board in the 3 years 

preceding the application for renewal. Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the 
applicant’s certification of compliance with these requirements. 

An applicant whose license has lapsed for less than 3 years preceding the date of application may 
be relicensed if the applicant submits a completed application and required fee, establishes good 

moral character, and submits evidence of both current emergency cardiac care certification and 
completion of at least 75 hours of Board-approved continuing education during the 3 years 
immediately preceding application. 

An applicant whose license has lapsed for 3 years or more preceding the date of application may 

be relicensed if the applicant submits a completed application and required fee, establishes good 
moral character, and submits fingerprints and evidence of both current emergency cardiac care 
certification and completion of at least 75 hours of Board-approved continuing education during 

the 3 years immediately preceding application. In addition, the applicant must meet one of the 
following requirements:  

 Successful completion of the Athletic Trainer Credentialing Examination of the Board of 
Certification, Inc. 

 Licensure, registration, or certification as an athletic trainer in another state within the 3 
years preceding application. 
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 Current certification from the Board of Certification, Inc.  

Minnesota: 

The Minnesota Statutes, section 148.7809, establish requirements for late renewal and lapse of a 

registration as an athletic trainer.  

An applicant whose license has lapsed may, within 2 annual renewal cycles, renew a license by 
submitting the required renewal and late fees and a completed application that includes all of the 

following: 

 The athletic trainer's name, Minnesota athletic trainer registration number, home address and 

telephone number, business address and telephone number, and business setting. 

 Work history for the past year, including the average number of hours worked per week. 

 A report of any change in status since initial registration or previous registration renewal. 

 Satisfactory evidence of having met the continuing education requirements under Minnesota 

Statutes, section 148.7812. 

 The athletic trainer's signature on a statement that a current copy of a protocol form is on file 

at the athletic trainer's primary employment site. 

In addition, the applicant must submit satisfactory evidence from a licensed medical physician 

verifying employment in athletic training for eight weeks every three years during the time of the 
lapse in registration. 

A registration that has lapsed and has not been renewed within two annual renewal cycles may 

not be renewed, reissued, reinstated, or restored. An athletic trainer whose registration is 
canceled for nonrenewal must obtain a new registration by applying for registration and fulfilling 

all requirements for initial registration in effect at the time of application.   

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing ss. 440.08, 448.9545, and 448.955, Stats., 

which provide requirements for renewal of a license as an athletic trainer, and the administrative 
rules concerning late renewal and reinstatement of a license that are administered by other 

credentialing boards affiliated with the Medical Examining Board.  

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic 

impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and 
individuals. No comments were received. 
 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached. 

 
Effect on small business: 
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These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 
227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email 

at Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 
 

 

 

Agency contact person: 

Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8366; 

telephone 608-261-4472; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

Comments may be submitted to Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of 
Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 

53708-8366, or by email to DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received at 
or before the public hearing to be held at 9:00 a.m. on September 25, 2019, to be included in the 
record of rule-making proceedings. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
TEXT OF RULE 

 
SECTION  1. AT 2.06 is created to read: 

 AT 2.06 Late renewal and reinstatement of a license. Failure to renew a license as 

required under s. 448.955, Stats., shall cause the license to expire. A licensee who allows a 
license to expire may apply to the board for late renewal or reinstatement of the license by 

completing one of the following: 

 (1) LATE RENEWAL WITHIN 5 YEARS. If a licensee applies for renewal of a license within 
5 years after the renewal date, the license shall be renewed upon submission of the renewal fee 

and evidence required under s. 448.955 (2), Stats., and the late fee under s. 440.08 (3) (a), Stats. 

 (2) LATE RENEWAL AFTER 5 YEARS. (a) If a licensee applies for renewal more than 5 

years after the renewal date, the licensee shall satisfy the requirements under sub. (1) and the 
requirements for licensure under s. 448.953 (1) or (2), Stats. Except as provided under sub. (3) 
(a), this subsection does not apply to licensees who have unmet disciplinary requirements or 

whose licenses have been denied at renewal, surrendered, or revoked. 

 (b) The board may waive any of the requirements under par. (a) based on evidence 

satisfactory to the board that granting renewal of the license would adequately protect public 
health, safety, and welfare. 

 (3) REINSTATEMENT. A licensee who has unmet disciplinary requirements and failed to 

renew within 5 years of the renewal date or whose license has been denied at renewal, 
surrendered, or revoked, may apply to have the license reinstated. An application for 

reinstatement shall include all of the following:  

 (a) Evidence of completion of the requirements under sub. (2). 

 (b) Evidence of completion of disciplinary requirements, if applicable. 
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 (c) Evidence of rehabilitation or change in circumstances warranting reinstatement of the 
license. 

 Note: An application for renewal or reinstatement may be obtained from the department 
of safety and professional services at (608) 261-2112 or from the department’s website at 

http://dsps.wi.gov. 

SECTION  2. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day 
of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 

227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ -------------------------------- 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 


