Clearinghouse Rule 20-054

STATE OF WISCONSIN
PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : PHYSICALTHERAPY
PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINING ) EXAMINING BOARD
BOARD : ADOPTING RULES
(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE )

PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Physical Therapy Examining Board to repeal PT 1.03 (3) (d) (Note 2); to
amend PT 1.03 (1) (intro.), (a) (Note), and (d) (intro.), 3., and 4., (2) (Note), and (3) (a)
to (d); and to create PT 1.03 (4), relating to reciprocal credentials for service members,
former service members, and their spouses.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS
Statutes interpreted:
Section 440.09, Stats.

Statutory authority:
Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:
Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides an examining board “[s]hall promulgate rules for
its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains. ..”

Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides ‘[t]he department or credentialing board, as
appropriate, may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.”

Related statute or rule:

Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to
service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and
former service members.

Plain language analysis:

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as created by 2019
Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing
reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of
service members and former service members. The proposed rule also updates and
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repeals obsolete notes, and makes other changes to provide clarity and meet current
standards for drafting administrative code.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:
None.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Hlinois:

The lllinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and their
spouses (20 ILCS 5/5-715). “Service member” includes a person whose active duty
service concluded within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued
to a service member or the spouse of a service member may be renewed.

lowa:

Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the lowa Department of Public Health
provide for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active duty
service member (645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a spouse
of an active duty service member may be renewed.

Michigan:

The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an active duty
service member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months and may be
renewed for one additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee continues to
meet the requirements for temporary licensure and needs additional time to fulfill the
requirements for initial licensure.

Minnesota:

The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual who is an active
duty military member, the spouse of an active duty military member, or a veteran who
has left service in the 2 years preceding the date of license application (2019 Minnesota
Statutes, Section 197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified individual to perform
regulated professional services for a limited length of time as determined by the
applicable licensing board. During the temporary license period, the individual must
complete the full application procedure as required by applicable law.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of s. 440.09, Stats., as
created by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143, and obtaining input and feedback from the Physical
Therapy Examining Board.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effecton small business or in
preparation of economic impact analysis:
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The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on
economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local
government units, and individuals. No comments were received.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:
The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached.

Effect on small business:

These rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114
(1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator, Dan Hereth, may be
contacted by calling (608) 267-2435.

Agency contact person:

Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O.Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-
8366; telephone 608-261-4472; email at DSPSAdmIinRules@wisconsin.gov.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator,
Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O.
Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or by email to DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov.
Comments must be received at or before the public hearing to be held at 8:30 a.m. on
December 2, 2020, to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. PT 1.03 (1) (intro.), (a) (Note), and (d) (intro.), 3., and 4., (2) (Note), and
(3) (a) to (d) are amended to read:

PT 1.03 (1) (intro.) Every Except as provided under subs. (3) and (4), every
person applying for any class of license to provide physical therapy services shall submit
to the board all of the following:

(@) (Note) Application forms are avallable upen—mqeest—te—the—beapd—eiﬁee—at

3708 from the

department of safety and professwnal services’ websrte atwwwdsps Wwi.qov.

(d) (intro.) Inthe case of a graduate of a foreign school of physical therapy or
physical therapist assistant educational program, verification of educational equivalency
to a board-approved school of physical therapy or physical therapist assistant educational
program—the. The verification required under this paragraph shall be obtained from a
board-approved foreign graduate evaluation service, based upon submission to the
evaluation service of all of the following material:

3. A record of the number of class hours spent in each subject, for both
preprofessional and professional courses. For subjects which include laboratory and
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discussion sections, the hours must be described in hours per lecture, hours per
laboratory, and hours per discussion per week. Information must include whether subjects
have been taken at basic entry or advanced levels.

4. A syllabus which that describes the material covered in each subject
completed.

(2) (Note) The board periodically reviews and approves foreign graduate
evaluation services. A list of board-approved evaluation services is available upon
request from 3 ; ) i
Wﬁeenan%l%-%ssby calllnq (608) 266 2112

(3) (@) Fhat-the-orshe The applicant is a graduate of a physical therapy school or
a physical therapist assistant educational program.

(b) Fhat-he-orshe The applicant is licensed as a physical therapist or physical
therapist assistant by another licensing jurisdiction in the United States.

(c) Fhatthe The jurisdiction in which he-er-she the applicant is licensed required
the licensee applicant to be a graduate of a school or educational program approved by
the licensing jurisdiction or of a school or educational program that the licensing
jurisdiction evaluated for educational equivalency.

(d) Fhat-he-orshe The applicant has actively practiced as a physical therapist or
physical therapist assistant, under the license issued by the other licensing jurisdiction in
the United States, for at least 3 years immediately preceding the date of his—e+her
application.

SECTION 2. PT 1.03 (3) (d) (Note 2) is repealed.

SECTION 3. PT 1.03 (4) is created to read:

PT 1.03(4) Arreciprocal license to provide physical therapy services shall be
granted to a service member, former service member, or the spouse of a service member
or former service member who the board determines meets all of the requirements under
s. 440.09 (2), Stats. Subject to s. 440.09 (2m), Stats., the board may request verification
necessary to make a determination under this subsection.

SECTION 4.  EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register,
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)
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