STATE OF WISCONSIN MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING	: PROPOSED ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE	: MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK
MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK	: THERAPY AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING
THERAPY AFFILIATED	: BOARD ADOPTING RULES
CREDENTIALING BOARD	: (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 21-001)

PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board to amend MTBT 2.03 (1) (intro.) and create MTBT 2.035, relating to reciprocal credentials for service members, former service members, and their spouses.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS

Statutes interpreted:

Section 440.09, Stats.

Statutory authority:

Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides an affiliated credentialing board, such as the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board, "shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains . . ."

Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides that "[t]he department or credentialing board, as appropriate, may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section."

Related statute or rule:

Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service members.

Plain language analysis:

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as amended by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service members.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:

None.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

Illinois:

The Illinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and their spouses (20 ILCS 5/5-715). "Service member" includes a person whose active duty service concluded within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued to a service member or the spouse of a service member may be renewed.

Iowa:

Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the Iowa Department of Public Health provide for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active duty service member (645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a spouse of an active duty service member may be renewed.

Michigan:

The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an active duty service member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months and may be renewed for one additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee continues to meet the requirements for temporary licensure and needs additional time to fulfill the requirements for initial licensure.

Minnesota:

The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual who is an active duty military member, the spouse of an active duty military member, or a veteran who has left service in the 2 years preceding the date of license application (2019 Minnesota Statutes, Section 197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified individual to perform regulated professional services for a limited length of time as determined by the applicable licensing board. During the temporary license period, the individual must complete the full application procedure as required by applicable law.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of s. 440.09, Stats., as amended by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143, and obtaining input and feedback from the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact analysis:

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and individuals. No comments were received.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached.

Effect on small business:

These rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats. The Department's Regulatory Review Coordinator, Dan Hereth, may be contacted by calling (608) 267-2435.

Agency contact person:

Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8366; telephone 608-261-4472; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or by email to DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received at or before the public hearing to be held at 9:00 a.m. on March 16, 2021, to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. MTBT 2.03 (1) (intro.) is amended to read:

MTBT 2.03 (1) (intro.) An Except as provided under s. MTBT 2.035, an applicant for a license on the basis of a similar license, registration, or license in another state or territory of the United States or another country shall submit all of the following to the board:

SECTION 2. MTBT 2.035 is created to read:

MTBT 2.035 Reciprocal credentials for service members, former service members, and their spouses. A reciprocal license to practice massage therapy or bodywork therapy shall be granted to a service member, former service member, or the spouse of a service member or former service member who the board determines meets all of the requirements under s. 440.09 (2), Stats. Subject to s. 440.09 (2m), Stats., the board may request verification necessary to make a determination under this section.

SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

This Proposed Order of the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board is approved for submission to the Governor and Legislature.

Dated _____

Agency _____

Chairperson Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board