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STATE OF WISCONSIN 
PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD 
PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 
      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 21-028) 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
PROPOSED ORDER 

An order of the Pharmacy Examining Board to amend Phar 2.02 (1) and Phar 2.05 (intro), and to 
create Phar 2.06, relating to reciprocal credentials for service members, former service members, 
and their spouses. 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted:   

Section 440.09, Stats. 

Statutory authority:   

Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides that an examining board “[s]hall promulgate rules for its 
own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains, and define and 

enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not inconsistent with the law relating to the 
particular trade or profession.” 

Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides that “[t]he department or credentialing board, as appropriate, 
may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.” 

Related statute or rule:   

Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service 
members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service 

members. 

Phar 2.02 specifies the application procedures for original licensure as a pharmacist. 

Phar 2.05 specifies the application procedures for those licensed in another state. 
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Plain language analysis: 

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as amended by 2019 

Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal 
credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members 

and former service members. 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None. 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois:  The Illinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and their 
spouses (20 ILCS 5/5-715). “Service member” includes a person whose active duty service 

concluded within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued to a service 
member or the spouse of a service member may be renewed.   

Iowa:  Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the Iowa Department of Public Health 

provide for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active duty service 
member (645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a spouse of an active 

duty service member may be renewed. 

Michigan:  The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an active 
duty service member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months and may be 

renewed for one additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee continues to meet the 
requirements for temporary licensure and needs additional time to fulfill the requirements for 

initial licensure. 

Minnesota:  The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual who is an 
active duty military member, the spouse of an active duty milita ry member, or a veteran who has 

left service in the 2 years preceding the date of license application (2019 Minnesota Statutes, 
Section 197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified individual to perform regulated 

professional services for a limited length of time as determined by the applicable licensing board. 
During the temporary license period, the individual must complete the full application procedure 
as required by applicable law. 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of s. 440.09, Stats., as amended 

by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143, and obtaining input and feedback from the Pharmacy Examining 
Board. 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic 

impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and 
individuals. No comments were received. 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 
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Effect on small business: 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 

227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by 
email at Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 

Agency contact person: 

Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8306; 

telephone 608-267-7139; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

Comments may be submitted to Kassandra Walbrun, Administrative Rules Coordinator, 
Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison 
Yards Way, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or by email to 

DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received at or before the public hearing 
to be held on April 29, 2021 at 11:00 AM to be included in the record of rule-making 

proceedings. 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

TEXT OF RULE 

SECTION 1.  Phar 2.02 (1) is amended to read: 

Phar 2.02 (1) Except as provided in s. Phar 2.06 (2), each applicant for original licensure as a 

pharmacist shall submit all of the following: 

SECTION 2.  Phar 2.05 (intro.) is amended to read: 

Phar 2.05 Application procedure for persons licensed in another state. Except as provided in s. 

Phar 2.06 (2), each applicant licensed as a pharmacist in another state shall submit all of the 
following: 

SECTION 3.  Phar 2.06 is created to read: 

Phar 2.06 Application procedure for service members, former service members, and their 

spouses.   (1)  In this section: 

 (a) “Former service member” has the meaning given in s. 440.09 (1) (a), Stats. 

 (b) “Service member” has the meaning given in s. 440.09 (1) (b), Stats. 

 (c) “Spouse” has the meaning given in s. 440.09 (1) (c), Stats. 

(2) Each applicant for reciprocal licensure as a pharmacist shall submit all of the following, 
notwithstanding the items submitted under ss. Phar 2.02 and 2.05: 

 (a)  A completed application form with the signature of the applicant. 

 (b) A fee as determined by the department under s. 440.05 (2), Stats. 

 (b)  A statement that the applicant resides in this state. 

(c)  Documentation that the applicant is a service member, former service member, or the 
spouse of a service member or former service member.  If an applicant is unable to 
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provide the documentation, the applicant may submit an affidavit to the board stating that 
the applicant is a service member, former service member, or the spouse of a service 

member or former service member. 

(d)  Evidence the applicant is in good standing with the governmental authorities in every 

jurisdiction outside this state that have granted the applicant a license, certification, 
registration, or permit that qualifies the individual to perform acts authorized under a 
pharmacist license granted by the board. 

 (Note): Applications forms are available from the department of safety and professional 
services’ website at www.dsps.wi.gov. 

(3)  A license granted under this section expires on the renewal date specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a) 
55., Stats., except that if the first renewal date specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a) 55., Stats., after the 
date on which the license is granted is within 180 days of the date on which the license is 

granted, the license expires on the second renewal date specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a) 55., Stats., 
after the date on which the license is granted. 

SECTION  4.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of 
the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 
(2) (intro.), Stats. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ------------------------------ 
(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
         

This Proposed Order of the Pharmacy Examining Board is approved for submission to the 

Governor and Legislature.  
 
 

Dated _________________  Agency __________________________________ 
       Chairperson  

       Pharmacy Examining Board 
 


