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Clearinghouse Rule 22-030 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILIATED 

ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILIATED : CREDENTIALING BOARD 
CREDENTIALING BOARD   : ADOPTING RULES 

      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE             ) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

PROPOSED ORDER 

An order of the Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board to amend AT 2.01 and 2.02 
(intro.); and create AT 2.03, relating to reciprocal credentials for service members, former 

service members, and their spouses. 
 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

Section 440.09, Stats. 

Statutory authority: 

Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides an affiliated credentialing board “[s]hall promulgate rules 

for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains. . .” 

Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides that “[t]he department or credentialing board, as appropriate, 

may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.” 

Related statute or rule: 

Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service 
members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service 
members. 

 
Plain language analysis: 

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as amended by 2019 

Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal 
credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members 

and former service members. 
 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 
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None. 
 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois: The Illinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and their 

spouses (20 ILCS 5/5-715). “Service member” includes a person whose active duty service 
concluded within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued to a service 
member or the spouse of a service member may be renewed.   

Iowa: Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the Iowa Department of Public Health 
provide for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active duty service 

member (645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a spouse of an active 
duty service member may be renewed. 

Michigan: The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an active 

duty service member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months and may be 
renewed for one additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee continues to meet the 

requirements for temporary licensure and needs additional time to fulfill the requirements for 
initial licensure. 

Minnesota: The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual who is an 

active duty military member, the spouse of an active duty military member, or a veteran who has 
left service in the 2 years preceding the date of license application (2020 Minnesota Statutes, 

Section 197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified individual to perform regulated 
professional services for a limited length of time as determined by the applicable licensing board. 
During the temporary license period, the individual must complete the full application procedure 

as required by applicable law.  

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of s. 440.09, Stats., as amended 
by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143, and obtaining input and feedback from the Athletic Trainers 
Affiliated Credentialing Board. 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic 
impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and 
individuals. No comments were received. 

 
Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

A fiscal estimate and economic impact analysis are attached. 

Effect on small business: 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 
227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email 
at Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 

 
Agency contact person: 
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Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8366; 

telephone 608-267-7139; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

Comments may be submitted to Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department 

of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison Yards Way, 

P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or by email to DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov.  

Comments must be received on or before the public hearing on September 28, 2022 at 9:00 a.m., 

to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------- 

TEXT OF RULE 

SECTION  1. AT 2.01 is amended to read: 

 AT 2.01 Applications. An applicant for a license shall file an application and must pay 

the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1), Stats. An applicant for a license who does not comply with a 
request for information related to the application within one year from the date of the request 

shall file a new application and pay the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1), Stats. 

SECTION  2. AT 2.02 (intro.) is amended to read: 

 AT 2.02 (intro.)  In addition to satisfying the requirement of s. 448.953, Stats., Except as 

provided under s. AT 2.03, an application for licensure shall satisfy the requirements of s. 
448.953, Stats., and include all of the following: 

SECTION  3. AT 2.03 is created to read: 

 AT 2.03  Reciprocal credentials for service members, former service members, 

and their spouses. A reciprocal athletic trainer license shall be granted to a service member, 

former service member, or the spouse of a service member or former service member who the 
board determines meets all of the requirements under s. 440.09 (2), Stats. Subject to s. 440.09 

(2m), Stats., the board may request verification necessary to make a determination under this 
section. 

  Note: Applications for reciprocal licensure may be obtained from the department of 

safety and professional services at (608) 266-2112 or from the department’s website at 
http://dsps.wi.gov. 

SECTION  4. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day 
of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 
227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- - 
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