1. Type of Estimate and Analysis ⊠ Original □ Updated □Corrected	2. Date 03/28/22	
3. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number (and Clearinghouse Number if applicable) HAS 4 and 6		
4. Subject Relating to Audiometric Testing and Reciprocal Licensure		
5. Fund Sources Affected □ GPR □ FED ⊠ PRO □ PRS □ SEG □ SEG-S	6. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected s. $165.20(1)(g)$	
7. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule         Image: No Fiscal Effect       Increase Existing Revenues         Image: Indeterminate       Image: Decrease Existing Revenues	<ul> <li>☑ Increase Costs</li> <li>☑ Decrease Costs</li> <li>☑ Could Absorb Within Agency's Budget</li> </ul>	
8. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply)         State's Economy       Specific Businesses/Sectors         Local Government Units       Public Utility Rate Payers         Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A)		
9. Estimate of Implementation and Compliance to Businesses, Local Governmental Units and Individuals, per s. 227.137(3)(b)(1).		
\$0		
<ul> <li>10. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Businesses, Local Governmental Units and Individuals Be \$10 Million or more Over Any 2-year Period, pers. 227.137(3)(b)(2)?</li> <li>Yes X No</li> </ul>		
11. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule The proposed rule updates audiometric requirements and creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as created by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service members.		
<ul> <li>12. Summary of the Businesses, Business Sectors, Associations Representing Business, Local Governmental Units, and Individuals that may be Affected by the Proposed Rule that were Contacted for Comments.</li> <li>The proposed rule will be posted on the Department of Safety and Professional Services' website for 14 days to solicit comments from businesses, representative associations, local governmental units, and individuals that may be affected by the rule.</li> </ul>		
13. Identify the Local Governmental Units that Participated in the Development of this EIA. $N\!/\!A$		
<ul> <li>14. Summaryof Rule's Economic and Fiscal Impacton Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local Governmental Units and the State's Economyas a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)</li> <li>No economic or fiscal impacts are anticipated for specific businesses, sectors, ratepayers, local governments, or the state's economy as a whole. A total of \$763.16 in one time costs and an ongoing fiscal impact of \$3,4000 are anticpated to be absorobed within the operating budget of the Department of Safety and Professional Services.</li> </ul>		
15. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule The benefit to implementing the rule is to update audiometric standards and reflect s. 440.09, Stats., as created by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143. If the rule is not implemented, it will not reflect audiometric updates or those requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service members.		
16. Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule The long range implication of implementing the rule is reflecting the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service members.		
1		

17. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government None

18. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota) Illinois: The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) regulates speech-language pathologists and audiologists under the Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology. Certification is provided to individuals who have demonstrated they possess a masters' or doctoral degree from a speech pathology or audiology program and pass the Praxis examination or provide a Certificate of Clinical Competence in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology awarded by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association's Clinical Certification Board. (225 ILCS 110/8)

Temporary licenses may be renewed one time only for a 12-month period for individuals serving full-time in the Armed Forces; in an incapacitating illness documented by a currently licensed physician; or any other similar extenuating circumstances. (225 ILCS 1465.41)

In 2019, the Illinois Legislature passed legislation expediting professional licensure for service members and spouses who are active-duty members or whose active-duty service concluded within the preceding 2 years before application. In part, this law states that, once an active member of the military (or their spouse) has submitted all required documents and fee as part of a completed license application, it will be reviewed within 60 days. (20 ILCS 5/5-715)

State of Illinois governance citations regarding audiometric standards, equipment or practices could not be located.

Iowa: The Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) regulates speech pathologists and audiologists under the Board of Speech Pathology and Audiology. In Iowa, licensure is provided to those demonstrating proof of either a masters' degree in speech pathology or a doctoral degree in audiology, or the equivalent of one of these degrees and the official completion of at least 400 hours of supervised clinical training, and completion of the Praxis examination (645 IAC 645.303(147))

In Iowa, veterans with an unrestricted professional license in another jurisdiction may apply for licensure by passing any required licensure examination provided credit for examinations previously passed. Licenses are granted if the applicant if the applicant is licensed in the same or similar profession in another jurisdiction whose licensure requirements are substantially equivalent to those required in Iowa, unless the applicant is ineligible for licensure based on other grounds, for example, the applicant's disciplinary or criminal background. If an applicant has not passed the required examination(s) for licensure, the applicant may not be issued a provisional license, but may request that the licensure application be placed in pending status for up to one year or as mutually agreed to provide the applicant with the opportunity to satisfy the examination requirements. (645 IAC—20.3(272C))

State of Iowa governance citations regarding audiometric standards, equipment or practices could not be located.

Michigan: The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (MDLRA) regulates speech pathologists and audiologists under the Board of Speech-Language Pathology and the Board of Audiology, respectively. License credentials are provided to individuals who possess a master's degree in speech pathology or a master's degree or doctoral degree in audiology. Those seeking an initial speech pathology license must have performed at least 1,260 hours of postgraduate clinical experience. All those seeking speech-language and audiologist credentials must pass the Praxis examination. (MCL 338.3)

In Michigan, active-duty service members, veterans, spouses, or their qualifying dependents may obtain an initial health profession, occupational license, or certification of registration in a profession or occupation for which they hold a

license or registration in another state or country, including waiving the fee for the initial health profession license or registration fee. (MCL 339.411(11)

State of Michigan governance citations regarding audiometric standards, equipment or practices could not be located.

Minnesota: Minnesota speech pathologists and audiologists are regulated by the Minnesota Department of Health, with input from the Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist Advisory Council. License credentials are provided to individuals who possess a master's degree in speech pathology or a master's degree or doctoral degree in audiology, including passing the Praxis examination. (2021 MN Statutes, Section 148.515)

In Minnesota, expedited and temporary professional licenses may be provided for those who are currently active-duty members, spouses of those who are active-duty members, or veterans of the military. (MN Statutes, Section 197.4552)

In November 2020, the Minnesota Department of Health Hearing Dispenser Certification Examination adopted ANSI 3.6 guidelines for hearing screening audiometer use and calibration to allow for pure tone audiometry and threshold screening. (MN Hearing Dispenser Certification Examination Standards, 2021)

19. Contact Name	20. Contact Phone Number
Dana Denny	(608) 287-3748

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.

# ATTACHMENT A

1. Summaryof Rule's Economic and Fiscal Impact on Small Businesses (Separatelyfor each Small Business Sector, Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

2. Summary of the data sources used to measure the Rule's impact on Small Businesses

3. Did the agency consider the following methods to reduce the impact of the Rule on Small Businesses?

Less Stringent Compliance or Reporting Requirements

Less Stringent Schedules or Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting

Consolidation or Simplification of Reporting Requirements

Establishment of performance standards in lieu of Design or Operational Standards

Exemption of Small Businesses from some or all requirements

Other, describe:

4. Describe the methods incorporated into the Rule that will reduce its impact on Small Businesses

5. Describe the Rule's Enforcement Provisions

6. Did the Agency prepare a Cost Benefit Analysis (if Yes, attach to form)

🗆 Yes 🛛 No