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Clearinghouse Rule 23-061 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
GENETIC COUNSELORS AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : GENETIC COUNSELORS 

GENETIC COUNSELORS AFFILIATED : AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING 
CREDENTIALING BOARD   : BOARD 

      : ADOPTING RULES 
      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE             ) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

PROPOSED ORDER 
 

An order of the Genetic Counselors Affiliated Credentialing Board to create Gen Couns 1 
to 5 relating to Genetic Counselors. 
 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------- 

ANALYSIS 
 
Statutes interpreted: subch. VIII ch. 448, Wis. Stats. 

 
Statutory authority: ss. 15.085 (5) (b), 448.9703, and 448.9705 (1), Stats. 

 
Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b) states that “[each affiliated credentialing board] shall promulgate 

rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trader or profession to which it 
pertains, and define and enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not 

inconsistent with the law relating to the particular trade or profession.” 
 
Section 448.9703 states that: “the board shall promulgate rules to do all of the following: 

(1) Adopt the National Society of Genetic Counselors code of ethics governing the 
professional conduct of genetic counselors. 

(2) Establish criteria for the approval of continuing education program and courses 
required for renewal of a genetic counselor license. 

(3) Establish requirements for an applicant seeking renewal of a genetic counselor 

license, including that an applicant has satisfied all of the following: 
(a) Successfully completed at least 30 hours of continuing education in the prior 

2-year period. 
(b) Maintained certification from and, if applicable, achieved recertification 

through the American Board of Genetic Counseling. 

(4) Adopt a definition of “temporary basis” for purposes of s. 448.9701 (2) (d) and 
(e).” 
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Section 448.9705 (1) states that: “the board may, by rule, provide for a temporary license 
to practice genetic counseling for an applicant who satisfies the requirements of s. 

448.9704 (1) other than the examination requirements under s. 448.9704 (1) (d) (2).” 
 

Related statute or rule: None. 
 
Plain language analysis: The objective of this emergency rule is to implement the 

statutory changes from 2021 Wisconsin Act 251 by creating chapters Gen Couns 1 to 5 as 
a new part of the Wisconsin Administrative Code. These new chapters cover the 

licensure, renewal, practice, and conduct requirements for Genetic Counselors. 
 
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None. 

 
Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of 

how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in 

drafting the proposed rule: N/A. 
 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 
Illinois: Genetic Counselors in Illinois are licensed through the Illinois Department of 

Financial and Professional Regulation. The Genetic Counselor Licensing Act governs the 
practice of genetic counselors in Illinois and includes statutory direction regarding genetic 
counselor examination, temporary licensure, endorsement, and grounds for disciplinary 

action [225 Illinois Compiled Statutes ch. 135].  
 

Genetic Counselors in Illinois are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education 
per 2-year license renewal cycle [Illinois Administrative Code Title 68 Part 1251 s. 
1251.100]. Part 1251 of the Illinois Administrative Code further details rules for genetic 

counselors in the areas of licensure, examination, and granting variances. [Illinois 
Administrative Code Title 68 Part 1251 s. 1251.10 to 1251.110]. 

 
Iowa: Genetic Counselors in Iowa are licensed through the Iowa Board of Medicine. 
Chapter 148H of the Iowa Code governs the practice of genetic counselors in Iowa and 
includes statutes on licensure and grants administrative rulemaking authority to their Board 

[Iowa Code ch. 148H]. 
 

Chapter 20 of the Medicine Board Section 653 of the Iowa Administrative Code further 
details rules for genetic counselors in the areas of licensure, practice, continuing education, 
and discipline. Each licensee is required to complete at least 30 hours of continuing 

education approved by the board per biennium. [653 Iowa Administrative Code ch. 20]. 
 

Michigan: Genetic Counselors in Michigan are licensed through the Michigan Department 
of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. Part 170 of The Public Health Code Act 368 governs 
the practice of genetic counselors in Michigan. This section of the Michigan Compiled 

Laws includes requirements for genetic counselors regarding licensure, practice, continuing 
education, and standards of practice. The Michigan Board of Medicine is also responsible 

for the regulation of Genetic Counselors in Michigan. The board may require each licensee 
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to provide evidence of completion of at least 75 hours within the three years immediately 
preceding the application for license renewal [Michigan Compiled Laws ss. 333.17091 to 

333.17097]. 
 

Minnesota: Genetic Counselors in Minnesota are licensed through the Minnesota Board of 
Medical Practice. Chapter 147F of the Minnesota Statutes includes requirements for scope 
of practice, licensure requirements, grounds for disciplinary action, and continuing 

education. Genetic Counselors in Minnesota must either meet the licensure standards or 
provide evidence of completion of at least 25 hours of National Society of Genetic 

Counselors (NSGC) or American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG) approved 
continuing education within the two years preceding renewal [Minnesota Statutes ch. 
147F]. 

 
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The Board reviewed the statutory changes from 2021 Wisconsin Act 251 and 
promulgated rules as needed for the profession. While promulgating these rules, the 

Board referenced Wisconsin Administrative Code chs. MPSW 20, OT 4 and 5, PA 3, 
and Pod 2 and 8, among other sources. 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 
The proposed rule will be posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on 

economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local 
government units, and individuals. 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Jennifer.Garrett@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-6795. 
 

Agency contact person: 
Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and 
Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, 

Wisconsin 53708-8366; telephone 608-267-7139; email at 
DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 

 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 
Comments may be submitted to Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, 

Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. 
Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8366, or by email to 

DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received on or before the public 
hearing, held on December 4, 2023, to be included in the record of rule-making 
proceedings. 

  

mailto:DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov
mailto:DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov
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------------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------------ 
TEXT OF RULE 

 
SECTION 1.  Chapters Gen Couns 1 to 5 are created to read: 

 
Chapter Gen Couns 1 

AUTHORITY, ADOPTION OF STANDARDS, AND DEFINITIONS 

 

Gen Couns 1.01 Authority. The rules in chapters Gen Couns 1 to 5 are adopted by the 

genetic counselors affiliated credentialing board pursuant to the authority delegated by ss. 
15.85 (5) (b) and 448.9703, Stats. 
 

Gen Couns 1.02 Adoption of Standards. The National Society of Genetic Counselors 
(NSGC) code of ethics, issued in April 2017, is incorporated by reference into chs. Gen 

Couns 1 to 5. 
Note: Copies of the above standards are on file in the office of the department and 
the legislative reference bureau. A copy of the NSGC code of ethics can be 

retrieved from: https://nsgc.org. 
 

Gen Couns 1.03 Definitions. As used in chapters Gen Couns 1 to 5: 
(1) “Board” means the genetic counselors affiliated credentialing board. 

(2) “Genetic counseling” has the meaning given in s. 448.970 (3), Stats. 

(3) “Genetic counselor” means an individual who is licensed by the board to practice 

genetic counseling. 

(4) “Temporary basis” means three months from the date you submit notification to 

the board. After those three months, regular licensure is required. This definition 

does not apply to those individuals who hold a temporary license under s. 

448.9705, Stats. 

 

 
Chapter Gen Couns 2 

LICENSE TO PRACTICE GENETIC COUNSELING 

 

Gen Couns 2.01 Initial Licensure. Except as provided in sub. (2), the board shall grant a 

license as a genetic counselor to an applicant who does all of the following: 
(1) Submits all of the following: 

(a) A completed application form. 

Note: Instructions for applications are available from the department of safety 
and professional services’ website at http://dsps.wi.gov. 

(b) The fee determined by the Department under s. 440.05 (1), Stats. 

(c) Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, Stats., evidence satisfactory to the 
board that the applicant does not have an arrest or conviction record. 

(d) Evidence satisfactory to the board of one of the following: 

  

https://nsgc.org/
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1. Successful completion of the academic and clinical requirements of and 

developed the practice-based competencies required by a degree-granting 

program in genetic counseling that is accredited by the Accreditation Council 

for Genetic Counseling or the American Board of Medical Genetics and 

Genomics. 

2. Successful completion of a degree-granting program outside of the United 

States that the board determines is substantially equivalent to a program 

described in sub. (d) 1. 

(e) Evidence satisfactory to the board of having successfully passed an examination 

administered by the American Board of Genetic Counseling or the genetic 

counseling examination administered by the American Board of Medical 

Genetics and Genomics. 

(f) Evidence of current certification with the American Board of Genetic 

Counseling. 

(2) The board may waive the requirements of subs. (1) (d), (e), and (f) if the applicant 

holds an unexpired genetic counselor license issued by another state, territory, 

foreign country, or province and the requirements for licensure and for renewal of 

a genetic counselor license of such other state, territory, foreign country, or 

province are deemed by the board to be substantially equivalent to the 

requirements for licensure and for renewal of a genetic counselor of this state. 

 

Gen Couns 2.02 Temporary Licensure. (1) The board may issue a temporary license to 

an applicant who has completed all of the following: 
(a) Submits a completed application for licensure and a completed application for a 

temporary license. 

Note: Instructions for applications are available from the department of safety and 

professional services’ website at http://dsps.wi.gov. 
(b) Pays the fee determined by the Department under s. 440.05 (1), Stats. 

(c) Submits evidence of completion of the education requirements from Gen Couns 

2.01 (d). 

(d) Submits evidence of current active candidate status with the American Board of 

Genetic Counseling. 

(2) A person granted a temporary license to practice genetic counseling under this 

section shall practice at all times under the supervision and direction of a licensed 

genetic counselor or physician. 

(3) Except as provided in sub. (4), a temporary license issued under this section expires 

upon granting of a license under s. 448.9704 (1), Stats. or on whichever if the 

following dates occurs first: 

(a) The date that is one year after the date on which the temporary license was 
granted. 



  Page 6 

(b) 30 days after the results of the examination under s. 448.9704 (1) (d) 2 Stats. 
taken by the applicant have been issued by the American Board of Genetic 

Counseling. 
(4) The board may grant a one time renewal of a temporary license, for a period 

specified by the board, if the person maintains active candidate status with the 
American Board of Genetic Counseling. 

(5) The board may require an applicant for the renewal of a temporary license to appear 

before a member of the board for an interview. 
 

Gen Couns 2.03 Reciprocal Credentials for Service Members, Former Service 

Members, and their Spouses. A reciprocal license shall be granted to a service member, 
former service member, or the spouse of a service member or former service member 

who the board determines meets all of the requirements under s. 440.09 (2), Stats. subject 
to s. 440.09 (2m), Stats. The board may request verification necessary to make a 

determination under this section. 
 
Gen Couns 2.04 Title Protection. No person may designate themselves as a genetic 

counselor or use or assume the title “genetic associate,” “genetic counselor,” “licensed 
genetic counselor,” or “registered genetic counselor, or append to the person’s name the 

letters “G.A.,” “G.C.,” “L.G.C.,” or “R.G.C.,” or use any insignia or designation that 
would imply that the individual is licensed or certified or registered as a genetic 
counselor, or claim to render genetic counseling services unless the person is licensed by 

the board. 
 

Gen Couns 2.05 Exceptions. A license to practice genetic counseling is not required for 
any of the following if the person does not claim to be a genetic counselor: 
(1) Any person who is lawfully practicing within the scope of a license, permit, 

registration, or certification granted by this state or the federal government. 
(2) Any person assisting a genetic counselor in practice under the direct, on-premises 

supervision of the genetic counselor. 
(3) A student of genetic counseling assisting a genetic counselor in the practice of 

genetic counseling if the assistance is within the scope of the student’s education 

and training. 
(4) Pursuant to s. 448.9701 (2) (d), Stats., a person who is licensed to practice genetic 

counseling in another state or country and who is providing consulting services in 
this state on a temporary basis. The person must notify the board that they will be 
providing consulting services and the nature and date of those services. The person 

must receive authorization from the board to provide consulting services on a 
temporary basis prior to the beginning of the time period they are providing those 

consulting services. 
(5) Pursuant to s. 448.9701 (2) (e), Stats., a person who is not licensed to practice 

genetic counseling in another state or country and who is providing consulting 

services in this state on a temporary basis, if the person satisfies all of the 
following: 

(a) Current certification by the American Board of Genetic Counseling or the 
American Board of Medical Genetics and Genomics. 
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(b) Submits notification to the board that they will be providing consulting services 
and the nature and date of those services. 

(c) Receives authorization from the board to provide consulting services on a 
temporary basis prior to the beginning of the time period they are providing those 

consulting services. 
 

 

Chapter Gen Couns 3 

LICENSE RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT 

 

Gen Couns 3.01 License Renewal and Continuing Education. (1) A licensee shall 
renew their license as specified by ss. 440.03 (9) (a) and 440.08 (2) (a), Stats. 

(2) A licensee shall complete a renewal application approved by the board and 
return it with the required fee prior to the date specified by ss. 440.03 (9) (a) and 440.08 

(2) (a), Stats. 
Note: Instructions for renewal applications can be found on the department of 
safety and professional services’ website at http://dsps.wi.gov. 

(3) Except as provided under subsection (4) and specified by s. 440.08 (2) (a), Stats., 
a licensee shall attest to the completion of the following: 

(a) At least 30 hours of continuing education approved by the National Society of 
Genetic Counselors. 

(b) Current certification with the American Board of Genetic Counseling. 

(4) Section (3) does not apply to the first scheduled renewal date under s. 440.08 (2) 
(a) 37m., Stats. following the date a license is issued. 

(5) Licensees shall retain certificates of continuing education attendance for a 
minimum of four years to be provided to the board upon request. 
 

Gen Couns 3.02 Reinstatement. (1) A licensee who fails for any reason to be licensed 
as required under this chapter may not exercise the rights or privileges conferred by any 

license granted by the board. 

(2) Failure to renew a license as specified in s. Gen Couns 3.01. shall cause the 
license to lapse. A licensee who allows the license to lapse may apply for reinstatement 

of the license by the board, subject to s. 440.08 (4), Stats., as follows: 
(a) If the licensee applies for renewal of the license less than five years after its 

expiration, the license shall be renewed upon payment of the renewal fee. 
(b) If the licensee applies for renewal of the license more than five years after its 

expiration, the board shall make an inquiry to determine whether the applicant is 

competent to practice under the license in this state and shall impose any 
reasonable conditions on the renewal of the license. This paragraph does not 

apply to licensees who have unmet disciplinary requirements or whose licenses 
have been surrendered or revoked. 

(3) A licensee who has unmet disciplinary requirements and failed to renew a license 

within five years of the renewal date or whose license has been surrendered or revoked 
may apply to have a license reinstated if the applicant provides all of the following: 

(a) Evidence of completion of requirements under s. Gen Couns 3.02 (2) (b) if the 
licensee has not held an active Wisconsin license in the last five years. 

http://dsps.wi.gov/
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(b) Evidence of completion of disciplinary requirements, if applicable. 
(c) Evidence of rehabilitation or a change in circumstances, warranting 

reinstatement of the license. 
 

 
Chapter Gen Couns 4 

PRACTICE AND SUPERVISION 

 

Gen Couns 4.01 Scope of Practice. (1) “Genetic counseling,” as defined in s. 448.970 

(3), Stats., means to do any of the following: 
(a) Obtain and evaluate individual, family, and medical histories to determine 

genetic risk for genetic or medical conditions and diseases in a patient, a 

patient’s offspring, and other family members. 
(b) Discuss the features, natural history, means of diagnosis, genetic and 

environmental factors, and management of risk for genetic or medical conditions 
and diseases. 

(c) Identify, coordinate, and order genetic laboratory tests as appropriate for genetic 

assessment. 
(d) Integrate genetic laboratory test results with personal and family medical history 

to assess and communicate risk factors for genetic or medical conditions and 
diseases. 

(e) Explain the clinical implications of genetic laboratory tests and other diagnostic 

studies and their results. 
(f) Evaluate a patient’s or family’s response to the condition or risk of recurrence 

and provide patient-centered counseling and anticipatory guidance. 
(g) Provide written documentation of medical, genetic, and counseling information 

for families and health care professionals. 

 
Gen Couns 4.02 Standards of Practice. Genetic counselors shall adhere to the 

minimum standards of practice of genetic counseling that have become established in the 
profession, including but not limited to the following areas: 
(1) REFERRALS. Referrals are not required but may be accepted from licensed health 

care professionals. Patients may also self-refer for genetic counseling services. 
(2) INFORMED CONSENT. (a) Any genetic counselor who provides services to a patient 

shall inform the patient about the availability of reasonable alternatives and about the 
benefits and risks of these options. The reasonable genetic counselor standard is the 
standard for informing a patient under this section. The reasonable genetic counselor 

standard requires disclosure only of information that a reasonable genetic counselor 
would know and disclose under the circumstances.  

(b) The genetic counselor’s duty to inform the patient under sub. (a) does not 
require disclosure of any of the following: 

 1. Detailed technical information that in all probability the patient would not 

understand. 
 2. Risks apparent or known to the patient. 

 3. Extremely remote possibilities that might falsely or detrimentally alarm the 
patient. 
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4. Information in emergencies where failure to provide information would be 
more harmful to the patient than not giving information. 

 5. Information in cases where the patient is incapable of consenting. 
6. Information about reasonable alternatives for any condition the genetic 

counselor has not included in their diagnosis at the time the genetic counselor 
informs the patient. 

(c) A genetic counselor’s patient record shall include documentation that reasonable 

alternatives have been communicated to the patient and informed consent has been 
obtained from the patient as required under sub. Gen Couns 4.02 (2) (a). 

(3) RECORDKEEPING. (a) When patient healthcare records are not maintained by a 
separate entity, a genetic counselor shall ensure patient health care records are 
maintained on every patient for a period of not less than 10 years after the date of the 

last entry, or for a longer period as may be otherwise required by law. 
(b) A patient health care record shall contain all of the following clinical health care 

information which applies to the patient’s medical condition: 
1. Pertinent patient history. 
2. Pertinent objective findings related to examination and test results. 

3. Assessment or diagnosis. 
4. Recommendations for the patient. 

(c) Each patient health care record entry shall be dated, shall identify the genetic 
counselor, and shall be sufficiently legible to allow interpretation by other 
healthcare practitioners. 

 
Gen Couns 4.03 Supervision. (1) TEMPORARY LICENSEES. A person with a temporary 

license authorized in s. Gen Couns 2.02 shall practice under the supervision of a licensed 
genetic counselor or physician. The supervising licensed genetic counselor or physician 
shall be available to the temporary licensee either in-person or via electronic contact 

methods at all times while performing genetic counseling services. 
(2) UNLICENSED ASSISTANTS. An unlicensed person assisting in the practice of a 

licensed genetic counselor shall practice under the supervision of that licensed genetic 
counselor. The supervising licensed genetic counselor or physician shall be available to 
the unlicensed assistant either in-person or via virtual supervision methods at all times 

while assisting in the practice of genetic counseling. Supervisory duties for unlicensed 
assistants may not be delegated to other staff unless they are also licensed as a genetic 

counselor or a physician. 
(3) GENETIC COUNSELING STUDENTS. A genetic counseling student may practice under 
the supervision of a licensed genetic counselor or physician as long as that practice is 

within the scope that student’s genetic counseling education and training. The supervising 
licensed genetic counselor or physician shall be available to the genetic counseling 

student either in-person or via immediate virtual supervision methods. Genetic 
counseling students shall be supervised at all times while present in the facility they are 
practicing in.  
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Chapter Gen Couns 5 

UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

 
Gen Couns 5.01 Unprofessional Conduct. “unprofessional conduct” includes the 

following, or aiding or abetting the same: 
(1) Violating or attempting to violate subch. VIII of ch. 448, Stats., or any provision of a 
rule or order of the board. 

(2) Knowingly making or presenting or causing to be made or presented any false, 
fraudulent, or forged statement, writing, certificate, diploma, or other item in connection 

with any application for licensure. 
(3) Practicing fraud, forgery, deception, collusion, or conspiracy in connection with any 
examination for licensure. 

(4) Engaging in false, fraudulent, deceptive or misleading billing practices. 
(5) Giving, selling, buying, bartering, or attempting to give, sell, buy, or barter any 

license. 
(6) Engaging or attempting to engage in practice under any license under any given 
name or surname other than that under which originally licensed to practice in this or 

any other state. This subsection does not apply to change of name resulting from 
marriage, divorce, or order by a court of record. 

(7) Any practice or conduct which may constitute a danger to the health, welfare, or 
safety of a patient or public. 
(8) Practicing or attempting to practice under any license when unable to do so with 

reasonable skill and safety to patients. 
(9) Practicing or attempting to practice under any license beyond the scope of that 

license. 
(10) Offering, undertaking, or agreeing to treat or cure a disease or condition by a secret 
means, method, device, or instrumentality or refusing to divulge to the board upon 

demand the means, method, device, or instrumentality used in the treatment of a disease 
or condition. 

(11) Representing that a manifestly incurable disease or condition may be or will be 
permanently cured; or that a curable disease or condition can be cured within a stated 
time, if this is not the case. 

(12) Knowingly making any false statement, written or oral, in practicing under any 
license, with fraudulent intent; or obtaining or attempting to obtain any professional fee 

or compensation by any form of fraud or deceit. 
(13) Willfully divulging a privileged communication or confidence entrusted by a 
patient or deficiencies in the character of the patient observed in the course of 

professional attendance, unless lawfully required to do so. 
(14) Engaging in uninvited, in-person solicitation of actual or potential patients who, 

because of their particular circumstances, are vulnerable to undue influence; or engaging 
in false, misleading or deceptive advertising. 
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(15) Having a license or other credential granted by another state or any agency of the 
federal government which becomes limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked, or having 

been subject to other adverse action by a state licensing authority or any agency of the 
federal government including the denial or limitation of an original credential, or the 

surrender of a credential, whether or not accompanied by findings of negligence or 
unprofessional conduct. 
(16) Conviction of any crime the circumstances of which substantially relate to the 

practice of genetic counseling. A certified copy of judgement of a court record showing 
such conviction, within this state or without, shall be presumptive evidence. 

(17) Aiding or abetting the unlicensed practice of genetic counseling. 
(18) Violating or aiding and abetting the violation of any law or administrative rule or 
regulation the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of genetic 

counseling. 
(19) Failing to report to the board or to institutional supervisory personnel any violation 

of the rules of this chapter by a licensee. 
(20) Engaging in inappropriate sexual contact, exposure, gratification, or other sexual 
behavior with or in the presence of a patient. For purposes of this subsection, an adult 

receiving genetic counseling services shall continue to be a patient for 2 years after the 
termination of professional services. If the person receiving genetic counseling services 

is a minor, the person shall continue to be a patient for the purposes for this subsection 
for 2 years after the termination of services, or for 2 years after the client reaches 18 
years of age, whichever is longer. 

(21) Discriminating on the basis of age, race, color, biological sex, gender, gender 
identity, religion, creed, national origin, ancestry, ethnicity, disability or sexual 

orientation by means of service provided or denied. 
 
SECTION 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the 

first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, 
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  


