STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION DOA-2049 (R09/2016) DIVISION OF EXECUTIVE BUDGET AND FINANCE 101 EAST WILSON STREET, 10TH FLOOR P.O. BOX 7864 MADISON, WI 53707-7864 FAX: (608) 267-0372

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES Fiscal Estimate & Economic Impact Analysis

Type of Estimate and Analysis ☐ Original ☐ Updated ☐ Corrected		2. Date	
3. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number (and Clearinghou	se Number if	applicable)	
Chapter PI 34, Educator Licenses		,	
4. Subject			
Substitute Teaching			
5. Fund Sources Affected 6. Chapter 20		20, Stats. Appropriations Affected	
☐ GPR ☐ FED ☐ PRO ☐ PRS ☐ SEG ☐ SEG-S			
7. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule			
☐ No Fiscal Effect ☐ Increase Existing Revenues	☐ Increase		
☐ Indeterminate ☐ Decrease Existing Revenues	☐ Could At	osorb Within Agency's Budget	
8. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply)		_	
☐ State's Economy ☐ Specific Businesses/Sectors			
☐ Local Government Units ☐ Public Utility Rate Payers ☐ Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A)			
9. Estimate of Implementation and Compliance to Businesses, Loc			
\$0		(-)(-)	
10. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Businesses, L Over Any 2-year Period, per s. 227.137 (3) (b) 2., Stats.? ☐ Yes ☐ No	ocal Governn	nental Units and Individuals Be \$10 Million or more	
This proposed rule updates ch. PI 34 of the Wisconsin Adm a result of 2021 Wisconsin Act 236. The proposed rule we greater clarity and alignment to current rule, including what also align the name of this license to the terminology used in	ill also defir is meant by statute.	ne terms used in statutory language to provide y hours of classroom observation. The rule will	
12. Summaryof the Businesses, Business Sectors, Associations Rethat may be Affected by the Proposed Rule that were Contacted. The department held a preliminary public hearing and commprovided in the hearing notice, any comment received during also considered for the development of this economic impact analyses.	d for Comment ent period on the preliment analysis.	nts n the scope statement for the proposed rule. As minary public hearing and comment period are	
13. Identify the Local Governmental Units that Participated in the Dev None.	elopment of	this EIA	
14. Summary of Rule's Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific E Governmental Units and the State's Economy as a Whole (Incurred)			
State: The proposed rule will conform ch. PI 34 with the c will be consistent and will have the effect of providing cla effect to the state as a result of this rule.			
Local: No fiscal effect.			
15. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implement This proposed rule is designed to bring s. PI 34.032 into align define observed classroom experience and enrollment for the also align the name of this license and definitions of educator	nment with of purposes of	changes to statute as a result of Act 236 and f this section in rule. The proposed rule would	

Without a rule change, ch. PI 34 would be inconsistent with current statute and create confusion for permit applicants.

DIVISION OF EXECUTIVE BUDGET AND FINANCE 101 EAST WILSON STREET, 10TH FLOOR P.O. BOX 7864 MADISON, WI 53707-7864 FAX: (608) 267-0372

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES Fiscal Estimate & Economic Impact Analysis

16. Long-Range Implications of Implementing the Rule

The proposed rule will conform ch. PI 34 with the changes in statute as a result of Act 236. Rule and statute will be consistent and provide clarity to licensure applicants. Additionally, the proposed rule will define observed classroom experience and enrollment for the purposes of the rule.

17. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government

Because education in the United States is typically governed by each state and local government, federal regulations are generally silent with respect to teacher licensure. As a result, the requirements for substitute teacher licensure vary by state.

18. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota)

Illinois: The Illinois State Board of Education administers licensure for applicants seeking to obtain educator licensure in Illinois. Short-term substitutes are allowed to substitute teach no more than five consecutive days per licensed teacher in the same school. In order to receive this license an individual must have an associates degree or higher of have at least 60 semester hours of coursework completed at the 100 level or higher and complete a training provided by the school board.

Iowa: The Iowa Board of Educational Examiners administers licensure for applicants seeking to obtain educator licensure in Iowa. Iowa requires an individual to serve as a short-term substitute teacher if they have at least 60 semester hours or have an associates degree or higher and have completed a substitute authorization course. They are limited to substitute teaching for 10 days in a row in a 30-day period.

Michigan: The Michigan Department of Education administers licensure for applicants seeking to obtain educator licensure in Michigan. A daily substitute permit allows an individual to serve in a position for no more than 90 days. The individual may only be used in daily intermittent assignments when a teacher is temporarily unavailable. The individual must have at least 60 credits with a grade of C or better from a regionally accredited two or four-year institution. Permits are granted to employing schools, not individuals. Michigan Department of Education (MDE) has established administrative rules in accordance with MCL 380.1531 to authorize permits for both general education, as well as authorizations within CTE programs, and Special Education Approvals within the Michigan Administrative Rules for Special Education (MARSE).

Minnesota: The Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board administers licensure for applicants seeking to obtain educator licensure in Minnesota. A short-call substitute licensure candidate must hold a minimum of a bachelor's degree. Minnesota candidates that have completed student teacher through a teacher preparation program, but do not yet have a bachelor's degree awarded may apply. The student teaching grade must be posted on the transcripts. In lieu of a bachelor's degree, a candidate may evidence five years of work experience, an associates degree, or a professional certification from an approved certifying organization that is directly aligned to a Career and Technical (CTE) or Career Pathways licensure field. The short-call substitute license is valid for three years, expires on June 30 of the expiration year and may be renewed an unlimited number of times.

19. Contact Name	20. Contact Phone Number
Carl Bryan, Administrative Rules Coordinator	(608) 266-3275
Department of Public Instruction	

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.