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1. Type of Estimate and Analysis   2. Date 

 Original  Updated  Corrected       

3. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number (and Clearinghouse Number if applicable)  

Chapter PI 34, Educator Licenses 

4. Subject 

Trade specialist licenses 

5. Fund Sources Affected 6. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected  

 GPR  FED  PRO  PRS  SEG  SEG-S       

7. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule 

 No Fiscal Effect  Increase Existing Revenues  Increase Costs  Decrease Costs 

 Indeterminate  Decrease Existing Revenues  Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget 

8. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply) 

 State’s Economy 

 Local Government Units  

 Specific Businesses/Sectors 

 Public Utility Rate Payers  

 Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A) 

9. Estimate of Implementation and Compliance to Businesses, Local Governmental Units and Individuals, per s. 227.137 (3) (b) 1., Stats. 

$0 

10. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Businesses, Local Governmental Units and Individuals Be $10 Million or more 
Over Any 2-year Period, per s. 227.137 (3) (b) 2., Stats.? 

 Yes  No 

11. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule 

The proposed rule seeks to amend ch. PI 34 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code to establish rules around eligibility, 
renewal, and requirements for individuals seeking a trade specialist permit. The intent of the rule is to clarify current 
statute with respect to the trade specialist permit under s. 118.19 (7) (a), Wis. Stats., and align this rule to statute and 
other code provisions. 

12. Summary of the Businesses, Business Sectors, Associations Representing Business, Local Governmental U nits, and Individuals 
that may be Affected by the Proposed Rule that were Contacted for Comments  

The department held a preliminary public hearing and comment period on the scope statement for the proposed rule. As 
provided in the hearing notice, any comment received during the preliminary public hearing and comment period are 
also considered for the development of this economic impact analysis. However, no comments were received to be 
considered in the development of this economic impact analysis. 

13. Identify the Local Governmental Units that Participated in the Development of this EIA 

None. 

14. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local 
Governmental Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be 
Incurred) 

State: The impact on the number of permits that may be issued as a result of this rule change is dependent on individual 
behavior and can’t be determined at this time. The economic impact is therefore indeterminate. 
 
Local: The proposed rule will establish rules around eligibility, renewal, and requirements for individuals seeking the 
permit. Additional clarity under this rule change may result in additional applicants seeking a license under this 
pathway. However, the impact on the number of additional applicants seeking a permit under this pathway as a result of 
this rule change is dependent on individual behavior and can’t be determined at this time. The economic impact is 
therefore indeterminate. 

15. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule  

Chapter PI 34 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code contains the current rules governing educator licensure 
promulgated by the department. Section 118.19 (7), Wis. Stats., contains the current requirements for obtaining a permit 
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to teach industrial arts and states that no certificate or license to teach industrial arts subjects may be issued unless the  
applicant has had 3 years of practical experience beyond apprenticeship or 4 years of institutional training in such 
subjects. Additionally, the state superintendent may issue a permit to teach industrial arts subjects if the applicant is 
certified by the technical college system board to teach an industrial arts or similar subject.  
 
This permit pathway is not currently reflected in ch. PI 34. Therefore, the proposed rule will establish rules around 
eligibility, renewal, and requirements for individuals seeking the permit. Without a rule change, the department would 
be required to implement existing rule and statute as they currently exist, which may create confusion for individuals 
seeking a permit through this pathway. 

16. Long-Range Implications of Implementing the Rule 

The proposed rule will establish rules around eligibility, renewal, and requirements for individuals seeking the permit. 
Additional clarity under this rule change may result in additional applicants seeking a permit under this pathway. 

17. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government 

Because educator licensure in the United States is typically governed by each state and local government, federal 
regulations are generally silent with respect to the issuance of teacher licenses. As a result, the requirements for teacher 
certification vary by state. 

18. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota ) 

Illinois: Illinois does not offer a comparable trade specialist permit. However, Ill. Admin. Code tit. 23 sec. 25.70 
through 25.81 govern the rules for endorsing individuals seeking an educator license in career and technical education. 
To qualify for an endorsement, applicants must provide evidence of completing 60 semester hours of college 
coursework from a regionally accredited institution or an accredited trade and technical institution. Additionally, they 
must demonstrate having accrued 2,000 hours of work experience outside the field of education in each area they intend 
to teach. Applicants can count educational experience hours toward the work experience requirement only if they were 
delivering instruction, were appropriately licensed or qualified to teach the course at the time and were not substituting 
except for the General Education program of study. Evidence of this work experience must be supported by written 
statements from former supervisors or, if supervisors are unavailable, by affidavits from the applicant describing the 
work experience. 
 
Iowa: Iowa does not offer a comparable trade specialist permit. Iowa Admin. Code r. 282-13.28(10) governs the 
minimum requirements for teaching endorsements, including teachers of industrial technology. To receive an 
endorsement, each applicant shall complete 24 semester hours in industrial technology to include coursework in 
manufacturing, construction, energy and power, graphic communications, and transportation. The coursework is to 
include at least 6 semester hours in three different areas. 
 
Michigan: Michigan does not offer a comparable trade specialist permit. Mich. Admin. Code R. 390.1161 governs the 
requirements for individuals seeking endorsements to teach career and technical education subjects, which includes 
vocational and occupational education. To receive an endorsement, an applicant must meet the requirements for a 
standard or professional teaching certificate and provide evidence of completion of a program with at least 6 semester 
credit hours of career and technical education coursework from an approved institution. They must also fulfill the 
specific program requirements defined by the state board for each career and technical education endorsement and 
possess two years of recent and relevant experience in the occupational area of the endorsement, as determined by the 
superintendent of public instruction. 
 
Minnesota: Minnesota does not offer a comparable trade specialist permit. Minn. R. 8710.8000 governs the 
requirements for individuals seeking endorsements to teach career and technical education subjects. To qualify for a 
license to teach career and technical education, applicants must satisfy one of the following criteria: hold an associates 
degree or higher in a field directly related to the desired licensure area, possess a professional certification relevant to 
the licensure field, or demonstrate five years of confirmed work experience in a field directly related to the licensure 
area. Additionally, applicants may need a job offer from a Minnesota public school district or charter school, or they 
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might need to fulfill additional requirements depending on the tier of licensure they are seeking. 

19. Contact Name 20. Contact Phone Number 

Carl Bryan, Administrative Rules Coordinator 
Department of Public Instruction  

(608) 266-3275 

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.  


