
 

 

 

ORDER OF THE OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE AND THE BOARD OF 

GOVERNORS OF THE PATIENTS COMPENSATION FUND CREATING A RULE 

 The office of the commissioner of insurance and the board of governors of the patients 

compensation fund propose an order to create Ins 17.40 (1), (2), (3), and (4), Wis. Adm. Code, relating 

to requiring primary insurers and self-insurers provide notice to the patients compensation fund of the 

filing of out-of-state medical malpractice action against insured Wisconsin health care provider within 

60 days of the primary insurer or self-insurer’s first notice of the filing of the action. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

ANALYSIS PREPARED BY THE OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE 

 

 Statutory authority:  ss. 601.41(3), 655.004, 655.27(2) and 655.27(5)(a)2., Stats. 

 Statutes interpreted:  ss. 655.27(5)(a)2. and 655.27(5)(b), Stats. 

 Section 655.27(5)(a) 2. of the Wisconsin statutes provides a person filing an action outside 
this state against a health care provider may recover from the patients compensation fund 
(“fund”) only if the fund is notified of the action within 60 days of service of process on the 

health care provider or the employee of the health care provider when the rules of procedure 

of the jurisdiction in which the action is brought do not permit naming the fund as a party.  

Section 655.27(5)(a) 2. further provides the board of governors may extend this 60 day time 
limit if it finds that enforcement of the time limit would be prejudicial to the purposes of the 
fund and would benefit neither insureds nor claimants. 

 Section 655.27(5)(b) provides it is the responsibility of the insurer or self-insurer for the 
health care provider who is also covered by the fund to provide an adequate defense of the 

fund, to act in good faith and in a fiduciary relationship with respect to any claim affecting 
the fund. 

 In several recent cases, primary carriers have not given timely notice to the fund of the 

commencement of an out-of-state medical malpractice action potentially affecting the fund.  
In three recent cases, a primary carrier provided an ongoing defense to three insured health 

care providers in three lawsuits filed outside the state of Wisconsin for over two years before 
notifying the fund of the existence of the suits.  In two of these cases, the primary carrier first 
provided notice to the fund only weeks before the trial date.  As is typical in cases filed 

outside Wisconsin, the fund had no notice from any other source of the existence of the suits 
before the primary carrier provided the fund notice of the suits. 



 This rule requires primary carriers and self-insurers to give written notice to the fund within 
60 days of the primary insurer or self-insurer’s first notice of the filing of an action outside 

this state, or within 60 days of service of process on the health care provider, or employee 
thereof, whichever is later.  The Insurance Commissioner and the Board have determined 

notice provided within the timeframe established by the rule is necessary to ensure the fund 
is able to timely investigate, respond as appropriate and defend itself against claims filed 
outside the state of Wisconsin that may affect the fund.  The Board, on the Legal 

Committee’s recommendation, has also determined it would never be “prejudicial to the 
purposes of the fund” nor would it ever impermissibly “benefit insureds or claimants” if the 

fund is provided its first notice of the filing of an action outside Wisconsin within 60 days of 
the primary insurer’s or self-insurer’s first notice of the filing of the action (as opposed to the 
60 day from service of process on the health care provider timeframe specified in the statute) 

so that allowing the later of the two timeframes in the rule fully comports with the language 
and intent of the statute.  

 The rule also specifies the failure of the insurer or self-insurer to give timely notice will 
result in the board of governors denying fund coverage for the claim unless the primary 
insurer or self-insurer demonstrates, and the board finds: a) the fund was not prejudiced by 

the failure to give timely notice, and b) it was not reasonably possible for the primary insurer 
or self-insurer to give notice within the time limit.  This standard of a finding of no prejudice 

and that it was not reasonably possible to give timely notice is patterned after a similar 
standard set forth in insurance statute s. 631.81, Wis. Stats.  The rule establishes a fair 
standard for the Board to apply when reviewing the circumstances of a particular case in 

which a primary insurer or self-insurer does not provide notice of an action filed outside the 
state within 60 days of service of process on the health care provider or within 60 days of the 

insurer or self-insurer’s first notice.  The rule also provides if the board of governors denies 
fund coverage under s. 17.40(3) of the rule, the failure to give notice constitutes a failure to 
act in good faith on the part of the insurer or self-insurer in violation of s. 655.27(5)(b), Wis. 

Stats. 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 SECTION 1.  Section Ins 17.40 is created to read: 

 Ins 17.40  Notice to fund of filing of action outside this state.  (1) PURPOSE.  This 

section implements s. 655.27(5)(a) and (b) Stats. relating to the requirement that the fund be 

notified of an action filed outside this state within 60 days of service of process on the health 

care provider or the employee of the health care provider and relating to the duty of the insurer 

or self-insurer of the provider to provide an adequate defense of the fund and act in good faith 

and in a fiduciary relationship with respect to any claim affecting the fund. 

 (2) PRIMARY INSURER OR SELF-INSURER TO GIVE NOTICE TO FUND.  A 

primary insurer or self-insurer for a health care provider or employee of a health care provider 

shall notify the fund in writing within 60 days of the insurer or self-insurer’s first notice of the 

filing of an action outside this state alleging medical malpractice against its insured health care  



provider or the employee of its insured health care provider or within 60 days of service of 

process on the insured health care provider or employe thereof, whichever is later.  The notice 

shall provide at a minimum the names and addresses of the parties plaintiff and defendant, the 

court in which the action is filed, the case number, and copies, if available, of the complaint in 

the action and answer filed on behalf of the defendant provider. 

 (3) FAILURE TO GIVE NOTICE. If the primary insurer or self-insurer fails to give 

notice to the fund as required in sub. (2), the board shall deny fund coverage for the action filed 

outside this state unless the primary insurer demonstrates, and the board finds, all of the 

following:  

 (a) the fund was not prejudiced by the failure to give notice as required, and 

 (b) it was not reasonably possible to give notice within the time limit. 

 (4) FAILURE TO ACT IN GOOD FAITH.  If the board denies coverage pursuant to sub. 

(3), then failure to give notice to the fund of the filing of an action outside this state as required 

in sub. (2) constitutes a failure to act in good faith on the part of the insurer or self-insurer in 

violation of s. 655.27(5)(b) Stats. 

 SECTION 2.  These changes will take effect on the first day of the month after 

publication, as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats. 

 

 
 
 

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin, this           day of                            , 2003. 
 

 
 
 __________________________________________ 

 Jorge Gomez 
 Commissioner of Insurance   

 
 
 

 
 



 2002 Session      
 LRB or Bill No./Adm. Rule No.        

   ORIGINAL  UPDATED Ins. 17.40 

FISCAL ESTIMATE  CORRECTED  SUPPLEMENTAL 

DOA-2048 N 

Amendment No. if  Applicable         

      
Subject 

Relating to the reporting of claims with the Patients Compensation Fund that are filed outside the state of 
Wisconsin 
 

Fiscal Effect 

 State:   No State Fiscal Effect 

 

 Check columns below  only if  bill makes a direct appropriation  Increase Costs - May be possible to Absorb 

  or affects a sum suff icient appropriation.      Within Agency's Budget    Yes         No 

  

   Increase Existing Appropriation   Increase Existing Revenues  

   Decrease Existing Appropriation   Decrease Existing Revenues   Decrease Costs 

   Create New  Appropriation  

 Local:  No local government costs   

1.   Increase Costs 3.  Increase Revenues 5. Types of Local Governmental Units Affected: 

  Permissive  Mandatory   Permissive  Mandatory  Tow ns  Villages  Cities 

2.  Decrease Costs 4.  Decrease Revenues  Counties  Others _____ 

   Permissive  Mandatory   Permissive  Mandatory  School Districts  WTCS Districts 

Fund Sources Affected 

  GPR  FED  PRO PRS  SEG  SEG-S 

Affected Ch. 20 Appropriations 

 

 

 

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate 

 

 The Patients Compensation Fund (Fund) is a segregated fund.  The proposed rule has no fiscal effect to the Fund or 

GPR. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Long-Range Fiscal Implications 

 

None 

 

Agency/Prepared by:  (Name & Phone No.) 

PCF/Theresa Wedekind (608)266-0953 

   Authorized Signature/Telephone No. 

  (608) 266-0102 

Date 

April 1, 2003 

 

 


