
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 

ORDER OF THE 

 EDUCATIONAL APPROVAL BOARD 

AMENDING AND CREATING RULES 
 

The Wisconsin Educational Approval Board (EAB) proposes an administrative rule order to 

amend EAB 4.06 (2)(b) and create EAB 4.06 (2)(b)1. & 2.; relating to student protection fees 
paid by schools subject to the approval of the EAB.  

 

ANALYSIS PREPARED BY THE 

EDUCATIONAL APPROVAL BOARD 

 

RULE SUMMARY 
 

Statutes Interpreted:  Sections 38.50 (2), (3), (7) & (10), Wisconsin Statutes. 
 

Statutory Authority:  Sections 38.50 (2), (3), (10)(c)4. and 227.11 (2), Wisconsin Statutes. 
 

The EAB was required to promulgate administrative rules specifying a student protection fee 
under s.38.50 (10)(c)4.  This requirement is limited by s.38.50 (10)(cm), which requires the EAB 

to discontinue collecting student protection fees when the appropriation balance exceeds 
$1,000,000.  The related rule provisions are contained in s.EAB 4.06.  

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

 

Under s.EAB 4.06, schools regulated by the EAB are assessed a student protection fee.  The 
amount of the fee is currently based on a rate of $0.50 per $1,000 of adjusted gross annual school 

revenue as reported by the schools.  These fees are deposited into an appropriation under 
s.20.292(2)(gm) and are used to indemnify certain persons suffering loss from such events as a 
catastrophic school closure. 
 

This proposed rule would allow the EAB to assess a student protection at a rate based on a 

multiplier equal to the percentage of all schools’ total adjusted gross annual revenue needed to 
bring the appropriation under s.20.292 (2)(gm) to $500,000, but not to exceed $10,000 for an 
individual school. 

 
At the present time, the appropriation for this student protection fund contains $79,582.  Based 

on reported school revenues for the 2006 renewal year, it is estimated that the FY 06 fund 
balance will increase to approximately $141,300 as a result of the standard fee assessment.  This 
increase is based on total reported school revenues of approximately $123.5 million. 
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In addition, provisions contained in the 2005-07 biennial budget (2005 Wisconsin Act 25) will 
transfer $250,000 of retained earnings from the EAB’s general operating budget into the 

appropriation on June 30, 2006.  After the transfer, the estimated balance for the student 
protection fund will be $391,300. 

 
Because the fund balance is currently less than $500,000, the proposed rule would give the EAB 
the authority to assess a fee at a rate higher than the current rate of $0.50 per $1,000.  However, 

the rule does not require the board to assess the higher rate, and once the fund balance is in 
excess of $500,000, the board would be specifically prohibited from assessing a higher fee.  In 

addition, the EAB would be limited in assessing any individual school a student protection fee 
that exceeds $10,000. 
 

COMPARATIVE ANALYSIS 

 

A 2003 survey of state regulators conducted by the National Association of State Administrators 
and Supervisors of Private Schools (NASASPS) indicates that roughly one-half of states have 
established some type of student protection (or tuition recovery) fund.  In addition to a student 

protection fund, about one-third of states also require schools to be bonded.  Wisconsin falls into 
the latter category. 
 

A comparison of rules in adjacent states indicates that none currently have established student 
protection funds.  However, with the exception of Iowa, which only requires private schools to 

be registered, the other states require schools to be bonded.  Bonds in Minnesota range from 
$10,000 to $250,000.  Illinois requires bonds ranging from $10,000 to $1.4 million.  Information 

was not available for the state of Michigan.  Comparatively, bonds required in Wisconsin range 
from $1,000 to $25,000. 
 

Because the governance of postsecondary education is a responsibility of individual states, there 
are no existing or proposed federal regulations that are intended to be addressed in the activities 
regulated by this rule.   

 
IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESS 

 

The potential impact of this rule on small businesses is limited to the extent that such businesses 
meet the statutory definition of a school and are subject to the EAB approval.  The EAB 

currently approves 140 for-profit and non-profit postsecondary schools.  These schools consist of 
technical, career, distance-learning, and degree-granting institutions that offer more than 600 

degree and non-degree programs to over 30,000 Wisconsin adults annually.  Typical programs 
includes truck driving, massage therapy, home inspection, teacher licensure, IT certifications, 
CAD drafting, as well as traditional bachelor and master degrees. 

 
CONTACT INFORMATION 

 

The person responsible for the processing of this rule is David C. Dies, executive secretary for 
the Educational Approval Board.  Comments or questions regarding the rule may be directed to 

him at 608/266-1996 or <david.dies@eab.state.wi.us>. 
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TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION 1.  EAB 4.06 (2)(b) is amended to read: 
 

EAB 4.06 (2)( b) The fee shall be based on a rate of $0.50 per $1,000 of adjusted gross annual 
school revenue as reported in accordance with ss. EAB 4.01 (4) and 4.10 (2) (d) established as 
follows. 

 
SECTION 2.  EAB 4.06 (2)(b)1. and 2. are created to read: 
 

EAB 4.06 (2)(b)1.  Except as provided in subd. 2., at a rate of $0.50 per $1,000 of adjusted gross 
annual school revenue as reported in accordance with ss. EAB 4.01 (4) and 4.10 (2) (d). 
 

EAB 4.06 (2)(b)2.  If at any time the appropriation balance of s.20.292 (2)(gm) is less than 
$500,000, at a rate determined by the board based on a multiplier equal to the percentage of all 

schools’ total adjusted gross annual  revenue needed to bring the appropriation under s.20.292 
(2)(gm) to $500,000, but not to exceed $10,000 for an individual school. 
 

SECTION 3.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month 
following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register as provided in s.227.22(2) (intro.) 

Stats. 
 
Dated at Madison, Wisconsin, March 7, 2006 

 
STATE OF WISCONSIN 

EDUCATIONAL APPROVAL BOARD 
 

 
 

David C. Dies, Executive Secretary 


