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STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY 

The Wisconsin Department of 
Transportation adopts an order to amend 

TRANS 103.02(4) and (5); and create 
TRANS 103.03(2)(note) and 103.10, 
relating to habitual traffic offenders 

 
 

ORDER ADOPTING RULE 

 
 
 Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

 
 Statutes interpreted:  Ch. 351, Stats. 

  
Statutory authority:  ss.  85.16 and 227.11(2), Stats. 

 
 Explanation of agency authority:  Section 85.16(1), Stats., grants the Department 

broad authority to “make reasonable and uniform orders and rules deemed necessary to 

the discharge of the powers, duties and functions vested in the department.”  Similar 
authority is granted to the Department under s. 227.11(2), Stats. 

 
 The Department administers the Habitual Traffic Offender law, Ch. 351, Stats.  The 
Department reviews the driver records for all drivers and determines whether a person 

qualifies as a habitual traffic offender.  If the Department concludes a person qualifies as a 
habitual traffic offender, the Department revokes the person’s operating privilege for 5 

years as required by s. 351.025, Stats. 
 
 Ch. Trans 103 has been promulgated by the Department to carry out this 

administrative task. 
 
 Related statute or rule:  Ch. 351, Stats. 

 
 Plain language analysis:  The Department administers the Habitual Traffic 

Offender law, Ch. 351, Stats.  The Department reviews the driver records for all drivers 
and determines whether a person qualifies as a habitual traffic offender.  If the Department 

concludes a person qualifies as a habitual traffic offender, the Department revokes the 
person’s operating privilege for 5 years as required by s. 351.025, Stats. 
 

 2005 Wis. Act 25 amended Ch. 351, Stats., to change the definition of “habitual 
traffic offender” as used in that chapter.  Under prior law, any offense resulting in the 

assessment of demerit points or other moving violation could be counted as a “minor 
offense” under the HTO law.  Accumulation of 12 such offenses resulted in a mandatory 
5-year HTO revocation of driving privileges.  

 
 Under the law as amended by 2005 Act 25, only violations of the rules of the road 

enumerated in Ch. 346, Stats., and offenses specifically identified in s. 351.02(1)(a), 
Stats., count as “minor offenses.”  Persons who commit a combination of 12 or more 
“minor” and “major offenses” are deemed “Habitual Traffic Offenders.” This rule makes 
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minor changes to Ch. Trans 103 to make it consistent with the new definition of “minor 
offense” enacted in Act 25. 

 
 Drivers who accumulate 4 or more “major offenses” also have their operating 

privileges revoked as habitual traffic offenders.  Neither the statutory amendments made 
by 2005 Wis. Act 25 nor this rulemaking would alter that mechanism. 
 

 2005 Act 25 gave DOT authority to count or not to count offenses reported to DOT 
before the effective date of the law for purposes of making determinations of HTO status. 

The Department has counted all offenses reported prior to that effective date for purposes 
of implementing the new law. As a result, courts are being inundated with requests to 
reopen old cases and then re-report them to DOT.  This activity results in WisDOT being 

legally obliged to re-calculate the person’s HTO status and often to release the person’s 
HTO revocation.  In addition, individuals are petitioning circuit courts for review of HTO 

determinations under the provisions of Ch. 351, Stats. 
 
 This mechanism is administratively inefficient in two respects.  First, it results in 

time consuming case-by-case work by courts.  Second, it requires DOT to deal with 
individual HTO cases on a one-by-one basis.  DOT can reassess all drivers’ status at one 

time through the use of its computer systems.  Courts have asked the Department to do 
this, and the Department believes doing so will be a more efficient mechanism for both the 
courts and the Department. The rule making will permit the Department to do so. 

 
 As a result of this rule making, all persons’ HTO status will be determined according 

to the same rules, rather than having different requirements for persons whose convictions 
were reported before and after the effective date of 2005 Wis. Act 25.  Drivers whose 
licenses may be reinstated after reassessment will be required to post proof of financial 

responsibility for the future as their driver record requires, without consideration of the 
reassessed and withdrawn habitual traffic offender revocation.  The Department believes 

this will be fairer to all individuals affected by the HTO law. 
 
 This rule making also makes clear that the Department will continue to count all 

major violations as minor violations, regardless of whether the violations are for violations 
of statutes outside Ch. 346.  Thus, great bodily harm and homicide by intoxicated use of a 

vehicle, violations of ss. 940.25 and 940.09, Stats., will be counted as both major and 
minor offenses under Ch. Trans 103. 
 

 Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal 
regulation:  There is no existing or proposed federal regulation requiring states to 

impose an HTO law. 
 
 Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States: 

 
 Michigan:  A review of Michigan traffic statutes did not reveal a similar law to 

Wisconsin’s Habitual Traffic Offender Law, Ch. 351, Stats., in that state. 
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 Minnesota:  Under s. 171.18(4), MN Stats., the Minnesota commissioner of public 

safety may suspend the driver license of a “habitual traffic offender” for up to 1 year 

(Wisconsin revokes for 5 years).  The commissioner determines which offenses shall be 
counted in that state by rule.  This system is more similar to Wisconsin’s demerit point 

system than Wisconsin’s Habitual Traffic Offender law.  Minnesota does not appear to 
have a 5-year license revocation for habitual violations like Wisconsin. 
 
 Illinois:  In Illinois, a driver’s license will be suspended if the driver is convicted of 

three traffic violations committed within any 12-month period.  Drivers under age 21 at the 

time of arrest will be suspended if convicted of two traffic violations within any 24-month 
period.  Drivers under age 18 are required to successfully complete a driver remedial 
education course to reinstate their driving privileges.  In addition, such drivers may be 

required to submit to a complete driver’s license examination to be re-issued a driver’s 
license.  The length of the suspension varies according to the seriousness of the traffic 

offenses.  This system is more similar to Wisconsin’s demerit point system than 
Wisconsin’s Habitual Traffic Offender law.  Illinois does not appear to have a 5-year 
license revocation for habitual violations like Wisconsin. 

 
 Iowa:  In Iowa, a driver who is convicted of 3 serious offenses in a 6-year period or 

6 minor offenses in a 2-year period is subject to a 2-year to 6-year license revocation as a 
habitual traffic offender. The driver is ineligible for an occupational license for one year.  
Iowa counts all traffic offenses reported to its driver licensing authority identically and does 

not distinguish between violations of the rules of the road, equipment violations, and other 
violations of the traffic code.  Iowa Code ss. 321.555 through 321.562. 

 
 Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the 
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen:  Approximately 15,000 

drivers are currently revoked as Habitual Traffic Offenders under Wisconsin law.  DOT 
estimates that if all drivers’ status are reassessed consistent with the requirements of 2005 

Wis. Act 25’s amendments to the HTO law, that approximately 10,000 to 12,000 drivers 
will no longer be subject to a 5-year revocation and may be eligible to reinstate their 
operating privileges earlier than otherwise anticipated. 
 
 Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small 

businesses:  This rulemaking is not anticipated to affect small business in any fashion as 

it does not regulate or impose requirements upon businesses. 
 
 Effect on small business:  This rule making will have no effect upon small 

businesses, except to the extent that it permits some employees to reinstate driver 

licenses.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail 
at andrew.ruiz@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585. 
 

 Fiscal effect and anticipated costs incurred by private sector:  The Department 

expects no significant fiscal effect from implementing this regulation.  The Department will 

incur data processing costs to recalculate the HTO status of persons currently revoked 
under the HTO laws.  These costs, however, will undoubtedly be less than the costs of the 
Department and courts dealing with these cases on a one-by-one basis. 
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 Agency Contact Person and Copies of Rule:  Copies of the rule can be 

obtained, without cost, by writing to Kent Buehler, Department of Transportation, Bureau 
of Driver Services, Citations and Withdrawal Section, Room 305, P. O. Box 7917, 

Madison, WI  53707-7917.  You may also contact Mr. Buehler by phone at (608) 266-
9901.   

 

TEXT OF RULE 

 
SECTION 1.  Trans 103.02(4) and (5) are amended to read: 

 Trans 103.02(4) "Major offense" means a conviction for any offense specified in 

s. 351.02(1) (a), Stats., or for an offense under any valid ordinance enacted by a local 

authority under s. 349.06 or any law enacted by a federally recognized American Indian 

tribe or band in this state which are in strict conformity with the offenses described in  

s. 351.02(1) (a), and any federal law which is in substantial conformity with the offenses 

described in 351.02(1) (a). 

 (5) "Minor offense" means a conviction under ss. 346.63(2m), 346.63(5)(a) ch. 

346, Stats., or for any offense specified in s. 351.02(1)(b), Stats., that is not a major or 

petty offense, or for an offense under any valid ordinance enacted by a local authority 

under s. 349.06 or any law enacted by a federally recognized American Indian tribe or 

band in this state which are in strict conformity with such ch. 346 offenses, and any 

federal law which is in substantial conformity with such ch. 346 offenses. 

NOTE: ss. 351.032(1)(b) and (c). 
 

 SECTION 2.  Trans 103.03(2)(note) is created to read: 

 Trans 103.03(2)(note) Any major offense counts under this provision. 

 SECTION 3.  Trans 103.10 is created to read: 

 Trans 103.10  Implementation of 2005 Wis. Act 25.  (1) Offenses that cannot 

be counted as minor offenses under s. 351.02(1)(b), Stats., as amended by 2005 Wis. 
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Act 25, may not be counted as minor offenses under this chapter regardless of violation 

date, conviction date, or the date the conviction was reported to the department. 

(2) The department may reassess the driver license status of any person who 

has been classified as a habitual traffic offender prior to the effective date of this 

chapter…[revisor insert date] so that all drivers’ classifications are determined in 

accordance with this chapter.   

(END OF RULE TEXT) 

 
 Effective Date.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), 

Stats. 
 

      Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this ____ day of 
July, 2006. 

 

 
 
      ______________________________________ 

      FRANK J. BUSALACCHI 
      Secretary 

      Wisconsin Department of Transportation 


