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Order of the Office of the State Public Defender

The State Public Defender proposes an order amending PD 6.01, amending PD 6.015,
amending PD 6.02, creating PD 6.02, amending PD 6.025, creating PD 6.025(4),
amending PD 6.03(1) and (3), amending PD 6.04, repealing PD 6.04(2), renumbering
and amending PD 6.04(3)(4) and (5), creating PD 6.045, amending PD 6.05, creating
PD 6.055, amending 6.06, 6.07 and 6.08, relating to determining, collecting and
processing the payments received from persons as payment for legal representation.

Analysis prepared by the State Public Defender
The Office of the State Public Defender (SPD) provides constitutionally-mandated legal
representation to persons who meet financial eligibility standards. Those persons charged with
crimes, who do not qualify for State Public Defender Representation, but cannot afford to hire
an attorney, must be provided an attorney at county expense. This is commonly referred to as
a “Dean” appointment. See, State v. Dean, 163 Wis.2d 503 (CA 1991).

SPD eligibility standards have not been updated since 1987. Thus, with continued rise in the
cost of living, there has been an increase inthe number of individuals applying to the counties
for Dean appointments. Wisconsin counties reported spending nearly $7.6 million in 2008 to
appoint counsel for these indigent individuals.

Recognizing the financial burden to the counties, and need to revise the financial eligibility
criteria for SPD representation, 2009 Wisconsin Act 164, published March 29, 2010, mandated
that financial eligibility standards for public defender representation be consistent with income
guidelines of Wisconsin Works (W2). To carry out these changes, Act 164 directs the
Wisconsin State Public Defender Board to promulgate rules regarding the revised
determination of indigency. In promulgating these rules Act 164 directs the SPD to consider
the costs of effective representation for the type of case in which a person seeks
representation, and to consider a person’s assets in the manner described ins. 49.145
(Wisconsin Works).

Tying eligibility for representation to W2 (sec. 49.145(3)(a) Stats.) increases the number of
clients served by the State Public Defender Agency. An increase in the number of persons
who qualify for representation by the State Public Defender has a corresponding decrease in
the costs to counties. Act 164 shifts, to a large extent, the responsibility of providing
representation for the “working poor” from the counties to the State.

To implement the Act 164 changes, which go into effect June 19, 2011 , the SPD has drafted

revisions to Administrative Rules PD 3 (indigency criteria) and PD 6 (reimbursement of legal
fees).

Wisconsin Forward Award Mastery Recipient



August 8, 2020

Text of Proposed Rule
Chapter PD 6

SECTION 1. PD 6 (title) is amended to read:

CHAPTER PD 6, REIMBURSEMENT-OFLEGALFEES PAYMENT FOR STATE PUBLIC
DEFENDER REPRESENTATION

SECTION 2. PD 6.01 is amended to read:

PD 6.01 Repayment Payment ef-attorreycosts for legal representation. Except as pro-
vided in ss. PD 6.02 to 605 6.055, a person who is responsible for payment for legal

representation provided by the state public defender shall reimburse—the-state-public-defender

for contribute to the cost of the legal representation according to the following schedule:

Type of Case | Amount Type of Case | Amount
First Degree
Intentional $7500 Misdemeanor $240
Homicide
Other Class A or Parole/Probation
B Felony $1200 Revocation $240
Sexual-Predator Juvenile
Chapter 980 $1200 Felony/RRs $480
Proceedings Termination of
Parental Rights
Other Felony $480 Other Juveniles $240
Juvenile
Commitment
fincluding-ss- $120 Special $120
£e008 080 00 Proceeding
(Chapter 51)
Chapter 55 $480 Paternity $240
Appellate/tralCa $1200 Appellate/pleaC $480
tegory | ategory |l

SECTION 3. PD 6.015 (title), (1) (a), (b) and (c) are amended to read:

PD 6.015 Written notice of repayment payment obligation_for legal representation. (1)
The state public defender shall provide the following information in writing to all persons subject

to repayment payment for legal representation ef-atterney—eests under s. 977.075 (19), Stats.:
(@) The optional prepayrrent discount amount ins. PD 6.02.
(b) The maximum amount the person may be required to pay under the applicable fee
schedule ins. PD 6.01.
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(c) The schedule for periodic payments if the person does not pay the optional prepayment
discount amount.

SECTION 4. PD 6.02 (title), (1) and (2) are amended to read:
PD 6.02 Rrepaywent Discount option. (1) A client may elect to prepay pay, within 60 days

of appointment of counsel by the state public defender, the optional prepayment discount
amount for the-cest-ef representation specified in the following prepaymentfee schedule:

Type of Case | Amount Type of Case | Amount
First Degree
Intentional $600 Misdemeanor $60
Homicide
Other Class A or Parole/Probatio
B Felony $120 A Revocation $60
Sexual-Predator

PR
CE Ha te.r 98} 0 $120 Termination of $60
=hapier Jou Parental Rights
Proceedings

Special
Other Felony $60 Proceeding $30
Chapter 980 Paternity $60
Post= Appellate Il $60
Proceeding $30 Appellate | $120

(2) If a client pays the optional prepayment discount amount under sub. (1), the client is not
liable for any additional payment for public defender legal counsel for that case.

SECTION 5. PD 6.02 (3) is created to read:

(3) The 60 day time period in sub. (1) may be extended for good cause.

SECTION 6. PD 6.025 (1), (2) (a), and (3) are amended to read:

PD 6.025 Determination of ability to pay. (1) The state public defender shall determine

whether persons subject to repayment payment ef-attorney—costs for legal representation have
the ability to pay all, or part of, the costs of representation. A person with ary-Hcome-orassets

—excess—of-the—payment-amount-specified—in—s—4919-(11) (a)-1-; income in excess of the
amount specified in s. 49.001 (5),Stats., or assets available to pay the costs of legal
representation under s. PD 3.03 (2) has the ability to pay some amount toward these costs.
The state public defender may defer the determination of ability to pay until after the time
period for payment of the optional prepayment discount amount specified in s. PD 6.02 has
expired.
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(2) The state public defender may determine that a person has the ability to pay under any of
the following circumstances:

(@) The person is determined to have famiy-+trcome-and-assetsin-excess-ofthepayment
amount-specifiedins—49-19 (11} (a)1-Stats— income in excess of the amount specifiedin s.
49.001 (5), Stats., or assets available to pay the costs of legal representation under s. PD 3.03
(2), as recreated in Clearinghouse Rule 10-133.

(3) The state public defender may periodically review a person’s ability to pay and may rely
upon information obtained from employment and tax records to determine ability to pay. When
a person originally unable to repay pay atterney—cests for legal representation is later deter-
mined to have the ability to pay, the state public defender shall send notice of a periodic
payment schedule to the person’s last known address.

SECTION 7. PD 6.025 (4) is created to read:

PD 6.025 (4) This section does not apply to persons subject to reimbursement under s. PD
6.05 or 6.055.

SECTION 8. PD 6.03 (1) and (3) are amended to read:

PD 6.03 Multiple related charges. (1) If multiple related charges for one client are issued on
separate complaints, the state public defender erdesighee may waive the reimbursement fee
for cases opened under any of the following circumstances:

(3) Waiver of reimbursement fees under this section applies both to the reimbursement fee
under s. PD 6.01 and the optional prepayment discount amount under s. PD 6.02.

SECTION 9. PD 6.04 (intro) is amended to read:

PD 6.04 Multiple appointments on the same case. When the same case results in multiple

state public defender appointments of counsel for a client for any of the following reasons, the
client shall not be charged ene+reimbursement an additional fee for the case:

SECTION 10. PD 6.04 (2) is repealed.

SECTION 11. PD 6.04 (3), (4) and (5) are renumbered PD 6.04 (2), (3) and (4) and amended to
read:

PD 6.04 (2) The client requested substitution of counsel unders—RD2.04.

(3) The client retained a private attorney who withdrew before completion of the case.

(4) The client’s-ease was remanded-for granted a new trial after areversal the judgment was
vacated on ineffective assistance of counsel grounds.

SECTION 12. PD 6.045 is created to read:

® Page 4



August 8, 2020

PD 6.045 Reimbursement from clients with changed circumstances. (1) The state public
defender may, subject to s. 977.075 (3m), Stats., assess a payment amount in excess of the
applicable amount in s. PD 6.01 if the client is responsible for payment under s. 977.075,
Stats., and after counsel is appointed by the state public defender, does not meet the financial
criteria specified ins. PD 3.03.

(2) In assessing a payment amount under sub. (1), the state public defender shall consider
the costs of providing the client with representation and the point in the applicable proceeding
at which the client no longer met the financial criteria specified ins. PD 3.03.

SECTION 13. PD 6.05 is amended to read:

PD 6.05 Reimbursement from parents of juveniles. (1) Pursuant to ss. 48.275 (2) (b) and
938.275 (2) (b), Stats., when the court orders reimbursement by the parent of a juvenile, the
amount of the reimbursement fee shall be the amount specified in the fee schedule in s. PD
6.01, subject to the following:

(@) The parent may request, within 30 days of the reimbursement order, that the state public
defender determine whether the parent is indigent. If the parent does not make this request or
if the parent is determined not to be indigent, the reimbursement fee shall be the amount
specified in the fee schedule ins. PD 6.01.

(b) If the parent is determined to be partially indigent pursuant to s. PD 3-:838«(31)(b)3.03 (7),
currently Clearinghouse Rule 10-133, the reimbursement fee shall be-eguivalentto-20% not
exceed 25% of the applicable-cost-ofretaining-counsel-n-the-case;as-setforth amount
specified in the applicable schedule ins. PD 3:02{(1)6.01. If the parent is determined to be indi-
gent, no reimbursement fee shall be assessed.

(2) The state public defender shall report to the court that ordered reimbursement the result of
the indigency determination and the amount of the reimbursement fee to be assessed.

(3) If reimbursement by both parents is ordered, the parents are jointly and severally liable for
the obligation. The maximum amount for which both parents are obligated is the amount of the
reimbursement fee under s. PD 6.01.

SECTION 14. PD 6.055 is created to read:

PD 6.055 Reimbursement from persons represented in civil commitment or chapter 55
proceedings. (1) Except as provided in sub. (2), when the court orders reimbursement under
s. 51.605 (1) or 55.107 (1), Stats., from a person for whom the state public defender has
appointed an attorney in a proceeding under ch. 51 or 55, Stats., the amount of the reimburse-
ment shall be the amount specified in the schedule in s. PD 6.01 for a commitment, if the case
was filed under ch. 51, Stats., or for a ch. 55, Stats., case, whichever is applicable.

(2) Upon the court’s request at or after the conclusion of the proceedings, the state public
defender shall conduct a determination of indigency and report the results of the determination
to the couirt.

(@) If the state public defender is unable to obtain the necessary financial information or if the
person is determined not to be indigent, the reimbursement shall not exceed the amount
specified in the applicable schedule ins. PD 6.01.

(b) If the person is determined to be partially indigent as provided ins. PD 3.03 (8), the
reimbursement shall not exceed 25% of the amount specified in the applicable schedule in s.
PD 6.01.
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(c) If the person is determined to be indigent, no reimbursement may be assessed under s.
51.605 or 55.107, Stats.

SECTION 15. PD 6.06, 6.07, and 6.08 are amended to read:

PD 6.06 Referral to department of administration. The state public defender shall refer to
the department of administration a collection account of a person who has been determined
able to pay, anrd has not paid the optional prepayment discount amount, H-the—persen has
been given a monthly payment schedule and has missed a monthly payment by more than ten
days.

PD 6.07 Representation regarding repayment payment of attorney fees. The state public
defender shall not provide representation to a person on the issue of the repayment payment
amount owed to the state public defender.

PD 6.08 Reports on status of collections. The state public defender shall submit quarterly
reports to the joint committee on finance and to the department of administration regarding the
collection of payments ordered under ss. 48.275 (2), 51.605, 55.107, 757.66, 938.275, 977.06,
977.075, and 977.076, Stats. These reports shall include the amount collected and the amount
of accounts receivable referred to the department of administration during each reporting
period.

This rule shall take effect on June 19, 2011.

Dated: Agency:

Dan Berkos, Chair
Wisconsin State Public Defender Board
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