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STATE OF WISCONSIN 
Safety and Professional Services -  

MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING  
AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD 

 
CR 13-094 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING :                     ORDER OF THE 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  :     MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPY 

MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPY, :  PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING AND  
PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING AND : SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD 
SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD :                   ADOPTING RULES 

      :      CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 13-094 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

ORDER 
 
An order of the Marriage & Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work 

Examining Board to amend MPSW 3.11(5) relating to temporary credential. 
 

 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

ANALYSIS 
 

Statutes interpreted:  § 457.14(2), Wis. Stats. 
 
Statutory authority:  §§ 15.08(5)(b), Wis. Stats. 

 
Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The examining board shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the 
trade or profession to which it pertains, and define and enforce professional conduct and 

unethical practices not inconsistent with the law relating to the particular trade or profession.   
 

Related statute or rule:  § 457.14(2), Wis. Stats. 
 
Plain language analysis: 

 

The Social Worker Section issues a temporary certificate or license when all the licensure 

requirements are met with the exception of the examination.  The statute states that a temporary 
certificate or license may be renewed once by that section of the examining board.  This 
amendment will bring the rule into conformity with the statute. 

 
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

 
None 
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Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 
Illinois:   Illinois no longer issues a temporary social worker credential. 
 

Iowa:     Iowa does not have a temporary social worker credential. 
 

Michigan:     Michigan grants a two year limited license to engage in the 2 year postdegree 
experience to those who have completed the educational requirements for licensure.  A limited 
license is renewable for not more than 6 years.  Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.18509(2). 

 
Minnesota:    Minnesota may grant a temporary license to practice social work to applicants 

who have completed the education and examination to those unlicensed or to applicants in 
emergency situations if licensed in another jurisdiction.  This temporary license expires after six 
months.  Minnesota also may grant a temporary license to an applicant who completed education 

from a program in candidacy status with an accrediting body or for an applicant to teach social 
work at an academic institution in Minnesota.  These temporary licenses expire after 12 months.  

There is no provision indicating a renewal of the temporary license.  Minn. Stat. § 148E.060 
 
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

The factual data and methodology was to change the rule to be consistent with the statute. 

 
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

 
This rule merely conforms the rule to the statute and there is no effect on small business.  

 
This rule was posted for public comment on the economic impact of the proposed rule, including 

how this proposed rule may affect businesses, local government units and individuals, for a period of 

14 days. No comments were received relating to the economic impact of the rule.  
 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 

 
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 

227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by 
email at Tom.Engels@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 
 

Agency contact person: 
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Sharon Henes, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 
Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 

8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone (608) 261-2377; email at 
Sharon.Henes@wisconsin.gov. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------- 
TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION 1.  MPSW 3.11(5) is amended to read: 
 

MPSW 3.11(5) The temporary credential expires upon notification of successful completion of 
the examination or expiration of the 9 month period, whichever is earlier.  The temporary 
credential may not be renewed once. 

 
SECTION  2.  EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day 

of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 
227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 
 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
 

 
Dated _________________  Agency __________________________________ 

       Member of the Board 
       Marriage & Family Therapy,  
              Professional Counseling and Social  

                     Work Examining Board 

 


