CR 14-011

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD
DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD ) ADOPTING RULES

(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 14-011)

ORDER

An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to create chapter DE 8, relating to patient
dental records

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS

Statutes interpreted: ss. 146.81 (1) and (4), and 447.02, Stats

Statutory authority: ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., requires all examining boards to “...promulgate rules for its
own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains, and
define and enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not inconsistent with the
law relating to the particular trade or profession.”

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., authorizes all agencies to promulgate rules interpreting the

statutes it enforces or administers, when deemed necessary to effectuate the purpose of
such statutes.

Relatedstatute or rule: s. 146.81 (1) and (4), Stats.

Plain language analysis:

The proposed rule is to outline the minimum requirements for patient dental records. The
rule considers ss. 146.81 (1) and (4), Stats., whereby dentist is defined as a healthcare
provider and consequently required to maintain patient health records as specified in s.
146.81 (4). No additional requirements are proposed in this newly created chapter.
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SECTION 1. This section creates a new chapter, DE 8 patient dental records and
substantially mirrors the patient health records as specified in ch. Med 21, Wisc. Admin.
Code. Specific areas of compliance include: retention, confidentiality, destruction and
falsification of records.

SECTION 2. This section identifies when in the rule-making process the rule shall
become effective.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:

An Internet-based search of the U.S. Code and Federal Register did not reveal any laws
or proposals related to patient dental records, with the exception of the move to electronic
records for Medicaid patients in 2016.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
An Internet-based search of the four adjacent states revealed the following:

Ilinois: In lllinois, the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation oversees
dentists; no rules requiring patient dental records were found.

lowa: In lowa, chapter 27 of the lowa code, 650—27.11 (153,272C), relates to record
keeping. Patient dental records must be maintained for a minimum of six years after the
date of last examination, prescription, or treatment and for a minor for 6 years after the
age of majority. . Similar to other states, when electronic records are kept, a duplicate
hard copy record or use of an unalterable electronic record must be maintained.

Michigan: In Michigan, the Board of Dentistry rule, 1120 (R 338.11101 - 338.11821),
requires records to be maintained for 10 years after the last treatment. In addition
charting of dental procedures and a listing of medications administered are two additional
requirements unlike proposed in this rule.

Minnesota: In Minnesota, the related rule is 3100.9600, record keeping. This rule
requires records to be maintained for 7 years after the last treatment. In the case of a
minor patient, the records must be maintained for 7 years beyond the age of majority. In
addition an emergency contact, information related to any insurance coverage, and
providing an electronic backup are three additional requirements unlike proposed in this
rule.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
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Other than reviewing rule text contained in ch. Med 21, no factual data and analytical
methodologies were used to draft these rules.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effecton small business or in
preparation of economic impact analysis:

The issue of patient dental records was raised in the context of not having a record
retention policy and the impact on associated costs related to the amount of storage
dentists and firms are currently are maintaining. Section 146.81 (4), Stats., provides a
period for destruction of records 5 years after the date of the last entry, or for such longer
period as may be otherwise required by law.

Pursuant tos. IV, 3. a., Executive Order # 50, the rules herein were posted on both the state’s
and the department’s administrative rules websites for 14 days in order to solicit comments
regarding the rule’s potential economic impact on businesses, business sectors, professional
associations, local government units, or potentially interested parties.

It is expected that this proposed rule will result in a decrease expense at least in the cost

of hard-copy record storage. No specific data was collected or analyzed to come to this
conclusion or to determine an estimated cost savings.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effecton small business or in
preparation of economic impact report:

The agency posted these proposed rule for 14 days to solicit impact on small business; no
comments were received.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached.

Effect on small business:

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in
s.227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at Tom.Engels@ wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608.

Agency contact person:
Sharon Henes, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151,

P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8366; telephone 608.261.2377; email at
Sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.
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Rule text begins on the next page.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. Chapter DE 8 is created to read:

CHAPTER DES8
PATIENT DENTAL RECORD RETENTION

DE 8.01 Authority and purpose. The provisions in this chapter are adopted
pursuant to authority in ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and ch. 447, Stats., to govern the
practice of dentists in the maintenance, retention, and destruction of patient dental
records.

DE 8.02 Definitions. In this chapter:

(1) "Patient™ means a person who receives dental services from a licensed dentist
or dental hygienist.

(2) "Patient dental record” or “patient health care record" has the meaning given
in s. 146.81 (4), Stats.

Note: Section 146.81 (4) reads: "Patient health care records"” means all records related to the
health of a patient prepared by or under the supervision of a health care provider; and all records made by
an ambulance service provider, as defined in s. 256.01 (3), an emergency medical technician, as defined in
s.256.01 (5), or a first responder, as defined in s. 256.01 (9), in administering emergency care procedures
to and handling and transporting sick, disabled, or injured individuals. "Patient health care records"
includes billing statements and invoices for treatment or services provided by a health care provider and
includes health summary forms prepared under s. 302.388 (2). "Patient health care records" does not
include those records subjectto s.51.30, reports collected under s.69.186, records of tests administered
unders. 252.15 (59) or (5j), 343.305, 938.296 (4) or (5) or 968.38 (4) or (5), records related to sales of
pseudoephedrine products, as defined in s. 961.01 (20c), that are maintained by pharmacies unders.
961.235, fetal monitor tracings, as defined under s. 146.817 (1), or a pupil's physical health records
maintained by a schoolunders. 118.125.

DE 8.03 Minimum standards for patient health care record retention.
Patient health care records on every patient administered shall be maintained for a period
of at least 10 years after the date of the last entry, unless otherwise required by state or
federal law.

DE 8.04 Confidentiality of patient health care records. All patient health care
records shall remain confidential as provided in s. 146.82, Stats.

Page 4


http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/15.08(5)(b)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/227.11(2)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/146.81(4)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/256.01(3)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/256.01(5)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/256.01(9)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/302.388(2)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/51.30
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/69.186
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/252.15(5g)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/252.15(5j)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/343.305
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/938.296(4)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/938.296(5)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/968.38(4)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/968.38(5)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.01(20c)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.235
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/146.817(1)
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.125

Note: Section 146.82, Stats.,reads: “146.82 (1) CONFIDENTIALITY. All patient health care
records shall remain confidential. Patient health care records may be released only to the persons
designated in this section or to other persons with the informed consent ofthe patientor of a person
authorized by the patient. This subsection does not prohibit reports made in compliance with s. 253.12 (2),
255.40, or 979.01; records generated or disclosed pursuantto rules promulgated unders. 450.19; testimony
authorized unders. 905.04 (4) (h); or releases made for purposes of health care operations, as defined in 45
CFR 164.501, andas authorized under 45 CFR 164, subpartE.

DE 8.05 Preservation or destruction of patient health care records. The
preservation or destruction of patient health care records shall be in compliance with s.
146.819, Stats.

Note: Section 146.189, Stats.,reads: “146.819 Preservation or destruction of patient health
care records. (1) Except asprovided in sub. (4), any health care provider who ceases practice or business
as a health care provider or the personal representative of a deceased health care provider who was an
independent practitioner shall do one of the following for all patient health care records in the possession of
the health care provider when the health care provider ceased business or practice or died:

(a) Provide for the maintenance of the patient health care records by a person who states, in
writing, that the records will be maintained in compliance with ss. 146.81 to 146.835.

(b) Provide for the deletion or destruction of the patient health care records.

(c) Provide for the maintenance of some of the patient health care records, as specified in par. (a),
and for the deletion or destruction of some of the records, as specified in par. (b).

(2) If the health care provider or personal representative provides for the maintenance of any of
the patient health care records under sub. (1), the health care provider or personal representative shall also
do at least one of the following:

(a) Provide written notice, by 1st class mail, to each patient or person authorized by the patient
whose records will be maintained, at the last-known address of the patient or person, describing where and
by whom the records shall be maintained.

(b) Publish, underch. 985, a class 3 notice in a newspaperthatis published in the county in which
the health care provider's or decedent's health care practice was located, specifying where and by whom the
patient health care records shall be maintained.

(3) If the health care provider or personal representative provides for the deletion or destruction
of any of the patient health care records undersub. (1), the health care provider or personal representative
shall also do at least one of the following:

(a) Provide notice to each patient or person authorized by the patient whose records will be deleted
or destroyed, that the records pertaining to the patient will be deleted or destroyed. The notice shall be
provided at least 35 days prior to deleting or destroying the records, shall be in writing and shall be sent, by
1st class mail, tothe last-known address of the patient to whom the records pertain or the last-known
address of the person authorized by the patient. The notice shall inform the patient or person authorized by
the patient of the date on which the records will be deleted or destroyed, unless the patient or person
retrieves them before that date, and the location where, and the dates and times when, the records may be
retrieved by the patient or person.

(b) Publish, underch. 985, a class 3 notice in a newspaperthatis published in the county in which
the health care provider's or decedent's health care practice was located, specifying the date on which the
records will be deleted or destroyed, unless the patient or person authorized by the patient retrieves them
before that date, and the location where, and the dates and times when, the records may be retrieved by the
patient or person.

(4) This section does not apply to a health care provider thatis any of the following:

(@ A community-based residential facility or nursing home licensed under s. 50.03.

(b) A hospital approved unders. 50.35.

(c) A hospice licensed under s.50.92.

(d) A home health agency licensed under s. 50.49 (4).

(f) A local health department, as defined in s.250.01 (4), that ceases practice or business and
transfers the patient health care records in its possession to a successorlocal health department. *
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/253.12(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/255.40
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/979.01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/450.19
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/905.04(4)(h)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cfr/45%20CFR%20164.501
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cfr/45%20CFR%20164.501
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cfr/45%20CFR%20164
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/146.819(4)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/146.81
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/146.835
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/146.819(1)(a)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/146.819(1)(b)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/146.819(1)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/ch.%20985
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/146.819(1)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/ch.%20985
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/50.03
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/50.35
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/50.92
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/50.49(4)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/250.01(4)

SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on
the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register,
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

Dated Agency

Chairperson of the Board
Dentistry Examining Board
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