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ORDER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION

The Wisconsin Department of Administration proposes an order to create Chapter
Adm 68.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Administration:

Statutory Authority: ss. 16.004(1), 218.11(2)(b) 1, 218.11(2)(b) 2, 218.12(2)(b) 1,
and 218.12(2)(b) 2, Stats.

Statutes Interpreted: ss. 218.01(5)(a), 218.11, and 218.12

Section 218.101, Stats., was created in 1991 Wisconsin Act 269, authorizing the
Department of Administration to administer subchapter VI of Chapter 218 as it
relates to manufactured/mobile home dealers and salespersons engaged in the sale of
primary housing units. This Chapter establishes the period, expiration date and fee
for licenses issued to manufactured home dealers and salespersons. It also
establishes the period, expiration date and fee for registration plates issued to dealers.

Manufactured /mobile homes dealers and salespersons have been regulated under the
" former chapter Trans 144 since the program was transferred to the Department of
Administration in July, 1992. Chapter Trans 144 is not being repealed by the
Department because it is currently used by Department of Transportation for the
regulation of recreational vehicle dealers and salespersons since they continue to be
licensed by the Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles.

TEXT OF RULE:
SECTIOﬁ 1: Chapter Adm 68 is created to read:

Chapter Adm 68

LICENSING PERIODS AND FEES FOR
MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS AND SALESPERSONS

Adm 68.01 PURPOSE. This chapter establishes the periods, expiration dates and
fees for licenses issued by the department under s. 218.11 and 218.12, Stats., to
manufactured home dealers and salespersons. It also establishes the periods,
expiration dates and fees for registration plates issued to dealers.

Adm 68.02 DEFINITIONS. Words and phrases in this chapter have the same
meaning as found in chs. 218 and 340, Stats., unless additional interpretations are

specified. In this chapter:

(1) “Branch” means a non-adjacent sales location in the same municipality.

(2) “Business license” means a license issued by the department under s. 218.11,
Stats., tc a mobile home dealer.

(3) “Department” means the department of administration.

(4) “Individual license” means a license issued by the department under s. 218.12,
Stats., to a salesperson.




(5) “Initial license” means a license issued to a person or business which does not
have a license at the time of application.

(6) “Manufactured home” or “home” means a mobile home which is transportable in
one or more sections, which in the traveling mode, is more than 8 feet 6 inches in
width or more than 45 feet in length, or when erected on site, is more than 340
square feet, and which is built on a permanent chassis and designed to be used as a
dwelling with or without permanent foundation when connected to the required
utilities, and includes the plumbing, heating, air-conditioning, electrical systems
contained in the manufactured home. Calculations used to determine the number of
square feet in a structure shall be based on the structure’s exterior dimensions
measured at the largest horizontal projections when erected on site. These
dimensions will include all expandable rooms, cabinets, and other projections
contacting the interior space, but do not include bay windows. For purposes of this
chapter, the measurement of length shall be determined in accordance with s.

348.07(3), Stats.

(7) “Sublot” means a non-adjacent display lot in the same municipality.

Adm 68.03 LICENSE PERIODS AND EXPIRATION DATES. (1) BUSINESS
LICENSES. (a) General licensing period and expiration dates. The license period for
a business license is 2 years. The department may issue licenses that start and

expire on the following dates:

Date Issued Date Expired

February 1 January 31

April 1 March 31 All expiration
June 1 May 31 dates are in the
August 1 July 31 second year after
October 1 September 30 the date the
December 1 November 30 license was issued.

(b) Initial business licenses. The department may issue initial business licenses that
go into effect on the dates other than the first day of an even numbered month. The
licenses shall expire before the end of two years and the expiration dates shall be as

follows:

Month Issued Expiration Date

December or January Last November 30 before the end of 2 yrs.
February or March Last January 31 before the end of 2 yrs.
April or May Last March 31 before the end of 2 yrs.
June or July Last May 31 before the end of 2 yrs.
August or September Last July 31 before the end of 2 yrs.
October or November Last September 30 before the end of 2 yrs.

(2) INDIVIDUAL LICENSES. (a) Licensing period. The department may issue a
salesperson license that remains valid until one of the following conditions occur:

1. The business license held by the person’s current employer expires.




2. The person ceases employment with a licensed dealer.

3. The person’s employer goes out of business.

4. The department suspends or revokes the person’s license.

(b) Transfer Licenses. A person whose salesperson license is invalidated by ceasing
employment with a licensed dealer may request the department to transfer their

salesperson license to a new employer without charge, as long as the department
receives the application before the new employer’s dealer license expires.

(3) REGISTRATION PLATES. The department may register and issue plates to
business licensees for periods concurrent with the license periods described in this

section.

Adm 68.04 LICENSE AND REGISTRATION PLATE FEES. (1) The department shall
collect the fees established in the following table from applicants before issuing their

licenses or registration plates.

Type of License Type of Fee Amount
Manufactured home dealer License $100
Registration--2 plates $230
Additional plates $ 25
: Replacement plates $ 25
Branch License $100
Sublot License $ 50
Salesperson License $ 8

(2) When the department issues a salesperson license for less than the employer’s
business license period, it may reduce the license fee by $4 for each full year
reduction in the salesperson license period. )

Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rule:

There are currently 158 licensed mobile home dealers who employ less than 25
individuals. We are unable to determine the gross annual sales for each mobile home

dealer.

2. Reason for failing to include in the rule any of the methods specified in
s. 227.114(2), Stats.:

The proposed rule increases the licensing fee by an average of $40 per year in order to
increase revenue to fully fund the program. In response to concerns raised, the
department revised the fee increases to affect all dealers equally.

3. Summary of issues raised by small businesses during the hearing of the rule, any
changes in proposed rule as a result of alternatives suggested by small businesses
and the reasons for rejecting any alternatives suggested by small businesses:




Attached is a summary of all comments received and the Department’s response to
each comment.

4. Reporting, bookkeeping, and other procedures required for compliance with the
rule: '

None.

5. Nature and cost of other measures and investments that will be required for

compliance with the rule:

None.

6. Additional cost, if any, to the agency of administering or enforcing a rule which
includes any of the methods specified under s. 227.114(2), Stats.:

None.

7. Impact on public health, safety and welfare, if any, caused by including in the
rule any of the methods specified under s. 227.114(2), Stats.:

None.

This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month commeqcing after the date of
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Regz ed in s.
227.22(2)(intro)., Stats.
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1996 Session

LRB or Bilt No /Adm. Rule

O ORIGINAL B UPDATED ADM 66-68
FISCAL ESTIMATE O CORRECTED 00 SUPPLEMENTAL Amendment No. if applicable
DOA-2048 (R10/92)
Subject

Transfer of mobile home regulation administrative rules from DOT to DOA under the Division of Housing, including increase of dealer fees

Fiscal Effect
State 0 No State Fiscal Effect
Check columns below only if bill makes a direct appropriation
or affects a sum sufficient appropriation.
{J Increase Existing Appropriation increase Existing Revenues
0 Decrease Existing Appropriation 0 Decrease Existing Revenues O Decrease Costs

[3 Create New Appropriation

0 Increase Costs - May be possible to absorb
Within Agency's Budget [J Yes O No

Local. O Ne local government costs

1. O Increase Costs 3.0 Increase Revenues 5. Types of Local Governmental Units
affected:
0 Permissive  [J Mandatory O Permissive O Mandatory 1 Towns O villages {1 Cities
{J Counties [l Others ___
O Decrease Costs ) 4. [J Decrease Revenues O School Districts [1 VTAE Districts
(J Permissive ] Mandatory {0 Permissive [0 Mandatory

Fund Sources Affected Affected Ch. 20 Appropriations
OGPR JFED DO PRO ®PRS O SEG [0 SEG-S s. 20.505(7)(ji)

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

The regutation of mobile home dealers was transferred from the DOT to DOA, Division of Housing (DOH), beginning fiscal 1993 in an effort to centraiize
mobile nome programs under ona office. Since then DOA has had untii iow to carry oui the routine, administrative matter of transferring the
administrative rules from DOT to DOA Three DOT chapters covered the regulation of mobile home dealers: Traris 140, 141, & 144, To accomplish the

transfer three new DOA rules are created under this proposal: Adm 86, €7, & 68.

The new AGm rule language is identical to the language used under the cid Trans chapters with the exception of Chapter Adm 68, which defines the fees

that dealers must pay  The new rule propeses a dealer fec increase

Since DGH took over the responsibility of administering the mobile home dealer program the fund has been inadequately funded due to insufficient fee
revenue to cover the costs necessary to administer the pregram. Fund shortfalls in FY 93 and FY 95 have been prevented through cost shifts or by
using limited GPR funds. To eliminate the annuaf program funding deficiency, the new rule proposes that dealer fees be increased

Under the existing rule dealers with two salespeople would pay $266, under the new rule they would pay $346, or an additional $80 every two years. On
average the change results in an additicnal $40 per year per dealer Assuming 158 dealers, DOH estimates that the rew fees would generate an
additional $6.320 annually (158 x 40), which is the amount needed to meet the costs required to administer the program based on FY 98 projections.

Long-Range Fiscal implications
None.

Authorized Signature/Telephone No. Date
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Paul McMahon ©-1359

Agency/Prepared by: (Name & Phone No.)
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Ryarn Gili, 5-6497
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Summary of DOA Public Hearing
For Adm 66, 67 and 68
April 24, 1987

In attendance: Scott Slattery, Wisconsin Manufactured Housing
Association (WMHA , appearing in opposition.

Mark Saunders, Lee Martinson, Terri Lenz and Gary Gorlen of DOA.

Listed below is a summary of the testimony presented by Mr. Slattery
of the WMHA and the Department’s responses.

Comments regarding Adm 66

1. The former Trans 140 referenced that the rule applied to mobile
home dealers who were selling recreational vehicles - in 218.11(3)
- in licensing for mobile homes relating to the sale of
recreational vehicles. The question was raised whether the
Department is creating a whole new body of regulation for the
industry or if it a transfer of regulations?

Department’s Response to No. 1: The regulations in Trans 140 for the
mobile home program transferred to the Department of Administration
from the Department of Transportation. The Department is adopting new
standards based on the former Chapters Trans 140, 141 and 144.

2. A member of the WMHA indicated that they sell both modular and

manufactured homes and if they sell only modular homes, there is
no financial requirement in Adm 66. Is there any public policy
rationale for t

reating manufactured homes differently than
modulars?

Department’s Response to No. 2: The Department of Commerce, Division
of Safety and Buildings regulates modular homes and the manufacture of
“ manufactured homes” pursuant to Chapter 101 of the Wisconsin
Statutes. The Department of Administration regulates and licenses
dealers of manufactured home. In short, the Department has no
jurisdiction over modular homes. This is the scheme provided by the
Legislature which the Department must follow.

3. In Adm 66.03(1), the word “ may” was changed to “ shall” making
it mandatory to provide all of the items listed on the financial

sheet. What is the reason for this change?

Department’s Response to No. 3: The Department has determined that

applicants must provide all of the items listed in Adm 66.
through (g), in order to properly evaluate applicants; therefore, the

has been changed to “ shall” to make this information

P~ e AN S
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4. Adm 66.08 references only mobile home dealers. Suggest adding
mobile or manufactured home to be consistent with the rest of the

code.

Department’s Response to No. 4: The words “ mobile home” have been
deleted in Adm 66.08. The section now applies to ™ dealers” as
defined in Adm 66.02(8).

5. In Adm 66.09(2), the Department eliminated the option of a bond.
The Association believes that under certain circumstances there
may be a need for a bond in order to pay off judgments. An
example would be a long-time dealer who has substantial assets but
because of how the books are handled, it shows little or nc net
worth. The Association would like to go to bonding.

Department’s Response to No. 5: The Department agrees that the
bonding option would be a good idea if there was also a review process
for claims and a hearing examiner for handling disputed claims.
However, the department is not equipped for a bonding process and,
therefore, suggests another option for responding to this concern.

The Department has amended Adm 66.09(2) (a) to reduce the financial
statement requirements for the number of homes sold and net worth

requirements.

Comments Regarding Adm 67

1. In Adm 67.03, the language regarding relocation was eliminated and
placed in Adm 67.07. The Association requests moving the language

regarding relocation back to Adm 67.03.

Department’s response to No. 1: The rule has been amended as

requested.

2., In Adm 67.04(1) {f), homes that go onto private property do not pay
a sales tax but it is put into a use tax. The dealer can’t
disclose the sales tax per DOR regulations. In addition, there is
no title or title fees for homes on private property.
adding * if applicable” to the sales tax and titling section.

Recommends

Department’s response to No 2: The requested language has besn added

to this section.

3. Adm 67.04(4), includes a section regarding “ cooling off period”
which appears to create a 3 day right to cancel on any sale (such
as a park listing). Recommend moving language to Adm §7.07(S)
under “ temporary sales locations.”




Department’s response to No. 3: The rule has been amended as
requested.

4. Recommend adding the words “ if applicable” in Adm 67.07(6) (c),
because the MV 1 and MV 11 title and registration forms do not
need to be completed for realty transactions, which are over 50%
of the sales, and title fees are not assessed.

Department’s response to No. 4: The requested language has been added
to this section.

5. In Adm 67.07(7), recommend deleting the word ™ books” and making
he word ™ record” plural.

Department’s-response to No. 5: The language has been amended as

requested.

Comments regarding Adm 68

The Association reviewed the fees and it appears there is a
segregation of programs but they are co-mingled. It‘appears there is
some evidence that the dealer program has a smaller pool of revenues.
The Association would like the Department to justify the large

increase.

The Association objects to the large increase in salesperson fees from
$8 to $50. The Association used Steenberg Homes as an example of a
dealership with a large number of salespeople who would be impacted
more. They also used the example of modular housing which doesn’t
have licensing fees for salespersons. The Association stated that if
there is a large increase in the registration and plates, it would
impact everyone equally, not just larger businesses with a higher
number of salespeople. The Association also stated that the increase
in branch and sublots is acceptable because it is outside of the

regular scope of licensing.

The Association requests the Department to review the current amounts
and bring them in line with normal increases. Most groups use the
Consumer Price Index or other indexes for references.

The Association observed that the Department’s mobile home programs
combined have $100,000 in revenue and as a whole, they are running at
a surplus. The industry just saw an increase in park fees and they
feel many are getting socked. They request further justification for

increases.

The Association is looking for evidence that general program revenue
monies were used to supplement the mobile home programs and request




documentation to that effect. If such documentation exists, they
would support the licensing function.

Department’s response. The Mobile Home Program has been running a
deficit since the program was transferred from the Department of
Transportation. General purpose revenues have been supplementing the
program and staffing has been reduced to ensure continued operation.
Attached is a memo dated April 4, 1997, from Bev Tucker to John
Eldredge, which provides a summary of the Mobile Home Program revenue

and expenditure history.

In response to the concerns raised, the department revised the
proposed fee schedule to reflect a higher increase in the dealer
registration fee (original amendment was $200, now $230) and dropped
the salesperson fees (original amendment was $50, now $26). These

changes will result in a decrease in revenues of $1,422 from the

original amendment request. The fee increase will affect dealers

across the board.




Summary of Written Comments
on Adm 66, 67 and 68
and Department’s Response

1. Change the term “ mobile home” to " manufactured home.”
Department’s Response to No. 1: “ Mobile home” is the term used and
defined by the Legislature in s. 218.10, Wis. Stats. However, for
clarification, the rules include a definition for ™ manufactured
home .” See sections Adm 66.02(7), 67.02(6) and Adm 68.02(6).

2. The 3 day cooling off period should only apply to manufactured
homes sold away from the dealership.

Department’s Response to No. 2: The language relating to the cooling
off period has been moved to Adm 67.07(5), in order to clarify that it
applies only to sales away from the dealership, such as expos and

trade shows.

3. Object to the proposed hike in license and registration fees.

Department’s response to No. 3: The Mobile Home Program has been
running a deficit since the program was transferred from the
Department of Transportation. General purpose revenues have been
supplementing the program and staffing has been rasduced to ensure
continued operation. Attached is a memc dated April 4, 1997, from Bev
Tucker to John Eldredge, which provides a summary of the Mobile Home
Program revenue and expenditure history.

The department has revised the original fee schedule to reflect a
higher increase in the dealer registration fee (original amendment was
$200, now $230) and dropped the salesperson fees (original amendment
was $50, now $26). These changes will result in a decrease in
revenues of $1,422 from the original amendment request. The fee
increase will affect dealers across the board.
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SECRETARY

January 30, 1998

Mr. Gary Poulson Douglas LaFollette
Revisor of Statutes Secretary of State

131 W. Wilson Street, Suite 800 30 W. Mifflin St., 10th Fl.
Madison, WI 53703 Madison, WI 53703

TRANSMITTAL OF RULE ADOPTION - ADM 68

RE: Licensing Periods and Fees for Manufactured Home Dealers and Salespersons

Dear Messrs. Poulson and LaFollette:

Pursuant to s. 227.20, Stats., agencies are required to file a certified copy of every rule
adopted by the agency with the Officers of the Secretary of State and the Revisor of
Statutes.

Enclosed, please find a rule certificate form, the order of adoption and rule in final
draft form,.as well as the fiscal estimate and final regulatory flexibility analysis.
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