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ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, TRADE AND CONSUMER
ADOPTING RULES

1 The state of Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and consumer, protection adopts

1

2 the following order to amend ATCP 10 .02(title) and (4); and to create ATCP 10.025,

3 10.68, 11 .58 and 11 .59; relating to fish farms, fish diseases and imports of live fish and

4 fish eggs .

Analysis Prepared by the Departmentt of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

Statutory authority : ss 93 .07(1), 95.60(4s)(a) to (e) and (5), Wis. Scats .
Statutes interpreted : ss. 93 .07(10) and 95.60 Wis. Stats .:

This rule implements s . 95.60, Stats ., by doing all of the following :

• Establishing fish farm registration requirements .

• Regulating imports of live fish and fish eggs .

• Establishing health standards for fish introduced intoo the waters of the state.

• Requiring persons to report certain fish disease findings to the department ..

The department prepared this rule in consultation with the Wisconsin aquaculture
industry and the Wisconsin department of natural resources .

Fish Farms

Annual Registration

Under , s. 95.60 , Stats., the department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection
(DATCP) must annually register fish farms in Wisconsin .. This new registration program
replaces an annual licensing program previously administered by the department of .
natural resources (DNR) .
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Who Must Register

Under this rule, a person (including the state of Wisconsin or an agency of the state)
operating a fish farm for any of the following purposes must hold an annual fish farm
registration certificate from DATCP :

• Hatching fish eggs or holding live fish for any of the following purposes ..

* Sale or distribution .
* Introduction into the waters of the state .
* Fishing.
* Use as bait or- fertilizer.
* Use as human food or animal feed .
* Education, demonstration or research .

• Holding live fish or fish eggs owned by another person .

Exemptions

There are some exemptions to the fish farm registration requirement . Under this rule, a
person may do any of the following without a fish farm registration certificate :

• Hatch or hold "ornamental" fish (including goldfishkoi, tropical freshwater, fish that
cannot survive in temperatures below 38°F, and saltwaterr fish) unless commingled
with non-ornamental fish or reared for bait, humann food or animal feed .

s

• Hold bait fish under a bait dealer license issued by the Wisconsin department of
natural resources (DNR) .

• Hatch or hold fish in a fully enclosed building solely for purposes of demonstration,,
education or research within that building, provided that no untreated water used to
hold those fish is discharged to waters of the state .

• Exhibit fish in a public forum for not more than 15 days, in a calendar year, or for a
longer period of time which the department authorizes in writing .

• Hold fish for not more than 30 days at a food processing plant, retail food
establishment or restaurant pending slaughter or sale to consumers at that facility,
provided the facility doesnot discharge to waters of the state any untreated water used
to hold or process those fish .

• Transport live fish or fish eggs to or from a fish farm :

Type 1 or Type 2 Registration
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This rule establishes 22 types of fish farm registration :

• Type 1 : The holder of a type I registration certificate may operate a fish farm . The
operator may not sell or distribute live fish, except to a food processing plant, retail
food establishment or restaurant . However, the operator may allow public fishing for
a fee .

• Type 2 : The holder of a type 2 registration certificate may operate a fish farm, and
may engage in any of the activities authorized under a type 1 certificate . In addition,
the operator may sell or distribute live fish from the fish farm .

Annual Expiration Date

A fish farm registration certificate expires on December 31 of the calendar year for which
it is issued.

Persons Operating 2 or More Fish Farms

A person who operates 2 or more fish farms must obtain a separate registration certificate
for each fish farm. A person mayy register 2 or more fish farms by filing a single annual
application and paying a single annual fee . There is no additional fee for additional fish
farms .

Applying for a Registration Certificate

To obtain or renew a registration certificate, a fish farm operator must file an application
with DATCP. The application must include :

The name, address and telephone number of the fish farm operator.

• The fish farm location.

• The required fee (see below) .

• The name, address and telephone number of the individuall responsible for
administering the fish farm on behalf of the operator, if other than the operator .

• Each species of fish hatched or kept at the fish farm .

A description of the fish farm, including fish farm facilities and activities .
• A statement indicating whether the operator seeks a type 1 or type 2 registration

certificate.
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• A fish farm health certificate (see below) . .

DATCP must grant or deny an application for a fish farm registration certificate within 30
days after the department receives a complete application „

Registration Fees

An operator must pay the following fee to register one or more fish farms :

• A total fee of $25.00 if the operator registers all of thefish farms as type 1 fish farms ..

• A total fee of $50 .00 if the operator registers any of the fish farms as a type 2 fish
farm .

The following persons are exempt from fish farm registration fees :

• A bona fide scientific research organization that is operating a fish farm solely for the
purpose of scientific research ..

• A primary or secondary school .

• The state of Wisconsin and its agencies .

A person applying for a fish farm registration certificate must pay, in addition to the
normal annual registration fee, a surcharge equal to the amount of that fee if DATCP
determines that, within 365 days prior to submitting an application, the applicant operatedd
a fish farm without a required registration certificate .

Type 1 Fish Farm; Annual Health Certificate

Under this rule, no person may obtain a type 1 fish farm registration certificate for any
calendar year beginning after December 31, 2001 unless one of the following applies :

• An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector has issued a health certificate for
that fish farm not earlier than January 1 of the preceding calendar year .

An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector has issued a health certificate,
not earlier than January 1 of the preceding calendar year, for each fish farm from
whom the fish farm operator received fish or fish eggs in the preceding calendar year ..

Health certificates issued for a type 1 fish farm (or its source fish farms) must comply
with the same requirements that apply to health certificates issued for type: 2 fish farms
(see below) ,.

Type 2 Fish Farm; Annual Health Certificate



• Violating ch. 95, Stats ., or department rules . .

• Violating the terms of the registration certificate . .

Interfering with inspection.

• Failing to keep or provide required records .

5

Under this rule, no person may obtain a type 2 fish farm registration certificate for any
calendar, year beginning after December 31, 2001 unless an accredited veterinarian or
certified fish inspector issues a health certificate for that fish farm not earlier than January
1 of the preceding calendar year .

The accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector must issue the annual health
certificate on a form provided by the department, based on a personal inspection of the
fish farm. The accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector must use inspection,
sampling and diagnostic methods specified by the department on the certification form .

An annual health certificate must certify that the fish farm is free of all of the following :

• Visiblee signs of infectious or contagious disease . .

• Whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD) if trout, salmon or other salmonids
are hatched or kept at the fish farm .

• Other diseases, if any, which the department specifies on thee certification form

The accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector who issues an annual health
certificate must file the original certificate with the department, and must provide at least
2 copies to the fish farm operator . . The fish farm operator must include a copy with the
operator's application for a fish farm registration certificate .

Denying, Suspending or Revoking a Registration Certificate

DATCP may deny, suspend or revoke a fish farm registration certificate for cause .
Grounds include :

~ Filing an incomplete or fraudulent application, or misrepresenting any information on
an application.

Recordkeeping

A fish farm operator must keep the following records related to fish or fish eggs which
the operator ships from or receives at the fish farm :
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• The name, address, and fish farm registration number if any, of the person from
whom the operator received, or to whom the operator, delivered fish or fish eggs

• The date on which the operator received or delivered the fish or fish eggs .

• The location at which the operator received or delivered the fish or, fish eggs .

• The size or class, quantity and species of fish or fish eggs received or delivered .

An operator must retain these records for at least 5 years , and must make them available
to the department, upon request, -for inspection and copying .

Fish Source

Under this rule, no person selling or distributing fish or fish eggs may misrepresent,
directly or by implication, the source or disposition of those fish or fish eggs . A person
transporting fish or fish eggs from a fish farm shall have documentary evidence showing
that the person obtained those fish from that fish farm . Evidence may include a bill of
sale, bill oflading, import permit, health certificate, certificate of veterinary inspection or
other document which identifies the fish farm .

Live Fish Imports

Annual Import Permit Required
s

Under this rule, a person importing live fish or fish eggs into this state for any of the
following purposes must have an annual import permit from DATCP :

• Introducing the live fish or fish eggs into waters of the state . .

• Using the live fish or fish eggs as bait .

Holding the live fish or hatching the fish eggs at a fish farm for which a registration
certificate is required under this rule .

Selling or~ distributing the live fish or fish eggs for any of the above purposes .

Import Permit; Exemptions

There are some exemptions to this import permit requirement. No permit is required to
import any of the following :



Import Shipments r

A single annual permit authorizes multiple import shipments, as long as the importer
complies with the terms of the permit. A copy of the annual permit must accompany
each import permit .,

Import Recipients

A person holding an import permit may import live fish or fish eggs to the following
persons, and no others :

• A person holding a current DATCP fish farm registration certificate :

• A person holding a current DNR fishh stocking permit.

• A person holding a current DNR bait dealer license .

• The DNR .
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• Live ornamental fish, or the eggs of ornamental fish, unless they are commingled with
non-ornamental fish or reared for bait, human food ox- animal feed :

• Live fish or fish eggs that will be held, for the remainder of their lives, in fully
enclosed buildings solely for purposes of display or research, provided the facility
does not discharge to waters of the state any untreated water used to hold those fish ,.

• Live fish imported directly to a food processing plant, retail food establishment or
restaurant where they will be held for not more than 30 days pending slaughter or sale
to consumers at that facility,, provided the facility does not discharge to waters of the
state any untreated water used to hold or process those fish ..

• Live fish or fish eggs imported and held for not more than . 30 days in fully enclosed
buildings pending : shipment out of state, provided the facility does not discharge to
waters of the state any untreated water used to hold those fish ,.

Live fish or fish eggs that are directly imported by DNR .

Issuing an Import Permit

The department may issue an import permit for all or part of a calendar year', based on a
permit application from the importer . An importer may, at any time, apply for an
amendment to an annual import permit .

Other persons identified by DATCP in the import permit .,
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Import Permit ; Contents

An import permit must specify all of the following :,

• The expiration date of the import permit ., An import permit expires on December , 31
of the year for which it is issued, unless DATCP specifies an earlier , expiration date .

• The name, address and telephone number of the permit holder ..

• Each species of fish or fish eggsthat the permit holder may import under the permit .,

• The size or class of fish of each species, and quantity offish or fish eggs of each
species, that the permit holder may import under the permit .

• The sources from whichthe permit holder may import fish or fish eggs under the
permit. The permit may incorporate, by reference, sources identified in the permit
application.

• The type of import recipients to which the permit holder may import fish or fish eggs
under the permit.

Applying for an Annual Import Permit

A person must . apply for an annual import permit on a form provided by DATCP . There
is no fee. A permit application must include all of the following :

• The applicant's name, address and telephone number .

• Each species of fish or fish eggs that the applicant proposes to import .

• The size or class of fish of each species, and the quantity of fish or fish eggs of each
species, that the applicant proposes to import .

• Every wild source from which the applicant proposes to capture and import fish or
fish eggs .

• The name, address and telephone number of every fish farm from which the applicant
proposes to import fish or fish eggs, and a copy of any annual health certificate issued
for that out-of-state fish farm under this rule (see below) .

• The type of import recipient to whom the applicant proposes to import fish or fish
eggs ..

Action on Permit Application

DATCP must grant or deny an import permit application within 30 days after it receives a
complete application .
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Denying, Suspending or Revoking an Import Permit

DATCP may deny, suspend or revoke an import permit for cause, including any of the
following :

• Filing an incomplete or fraudulent permit application, or misrepresenting any
information on a permit application . .

• Violating ch . 95, Stats ., or DATCP rules .

• Violating the terms of the import permit .

• Interfering with inspection .

• Failing to keep or provide required records .

Import Records

A person importing fish or fish eggs under a DATCP permit must keep all of the
following records related to each import shipment :

• The date of the import shipment .

• The wild source, if any, from which the importer obtained the imported fish or fishr
eggs.

• The name, address and telephone number of the fish farm, if any, from which the
importer obtained the imported fish or fish eggs .

• The name, address and telephone number of the person receiving the import shipment
if that person is not the importer . The importer must also record the recipient's fish
farm registration number, stocking permit number and bait dealer license number, if
any.

• The location at which the import shipment was received in this state .

• The.e size or class, quantity and species of fish or fish eggs included in the import
shipment .

An importer must retain these records for at least 5 years, and must provide them to
DATCP upon request. DATCP may suspend or revoke an import permit if the importer
fails to provide the required records .,

Health Certificate Required



10

Under this rule, no person may import any shipment of live fish or fish eggs into this state
unless one of'the following applies :

• The import shipment is accompanied by a health certificate issued for that particular
shipment (see below) ..

• The import shipment originates from a fish farm and all o f the following apply : .

* The shipment is labeled with the name and address of that fish farm .

* No fish or fish eggs in the import shipment were ever collected
from a wild source .

* An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector has issued an annual
health certificate for thatfish farm (see below), and has filed a copy with
DATCP.

* The importer has included a copy of the annual fish farm health certificate
with the importer's application for an annual import permit or, if DNR is
the importer, DNR has provided a copy of the annual fish farm health
certificate to the department.

Health Certificate for Individual Import Shipment

A health certificate issued for an individual import shipment must comply with all of the
following :

s
• An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector must issue the health certificate

in the state of origin, on a formn provided by the department, based on a personal
inspection of the import shipment . The accredited veterinarian or certified fish
inspector must use inspection, samplingg and diagnostic methods specified by the
department on the certification form .

• The health certificate must certify that the import shipment is free of all the
following:

* Visible signs of infectious or contagious disease .

* Infectious hematopoietic necrosis (IHN), viral hemorrhagic septicemia
(VHS) and whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD), if the import
shipment includes salmonids .

White sturgeon;iridovirus (WSI) if the import shipment includes
sturgeon.



~ The accreditedd veterinarian or certified fish inspectorwho issues the annual health
certificate must file the original certificate with the department, and must provide at
least 2 copies to the fish farm operator. The importer must include a copy with the
importer's application for an annual import permit .
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* Other diseases, if any, which the department specifies on the certification
form .

• The accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector who issues the health certificate
mustt file the original certificate with the department , and must provide at least 2
copies to the importer . The importer must include a copy with the import shipment .

Fish Imported from Fish Farm, Annual Health Certificate

An annual health certificate issued for an out-of-state fish farm , to .justify import
shipments from that fish farm, must comply with all the following :

• An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector must issue the annual health
certificate in the state of origin, on a form provided by the department, based on a
personal inspection of the fish farm . The accredited veterinarian or certified fish
inspector must use inspection, sampling and diagnostic methods specified by the
department on the certification form .

The annual health certificate must certify that the fish farm is free of all the following :

* Visible signs of infectious or contagious disease ..

* Infectious hematopoietic necrosis (IHN), viral hemor rhagic septicemia
(VHS) and whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD), if the health
certificate is used for imports of salmonids.

* White sturgeon riJovirus (WSI) if the health certificate is used forr
imports of sturgeon .

~` Other diseases, if any, which the department specifies on the certification
form .
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Health Standards For Fish Introduced Into Waters of the State

This rule establishes health standards for live fish and fish eggs introduced into waters of
the state .

Health Standards for Salmonids

Beginning on the effective date of this rule, no person may introduce salmonids into the
waters of the state unless an accredited veterinarian or certifiedd fish inspector issues a
health certificate for those salmonids, or for the fish farm from whichh they originate . (A
fish farm, health certificate may not be issued prior to January r of the preceding calendar
year.) The health certificate must certify that the fish (or the fish farm from which they
originate) are free of all the following :

Visible signs of infectious or contagious disease . .

• Whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD) :

• Other diseases , if any , which the department specifies on the certification form . .

Health Standards for Other Fish

Beginning on January 1 , 2002, no person may introduce any fish into the waters of the
state unless an accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector issues a health certificate
for those fish, or for the fish farmm from which they originate. (A fish farm health
certificate may not be issued prior4to January 1 of the preceding calendar year ..) The
health certificate must certify that the fish (or the fish farm from which they originate) are
free of all the following :

• Visible signs of infect ious or contagious disease .

• Whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD), if the fish are salmonids .

• Other diseases, if any, which the department specifies on the certification form .

Issuing a Health Certificate

An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector must issue a health certificate on a
form provided by the department, based on a personal inspection of the fish or fish farm.
The accredited veterinarian or certified fishh inspector must use inspection, sampling and
diagnostic methods specified by the department on the certification form and must file the
original certificate with the department.
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Knowingly Introducing Diseased Fish into Waters o f the State

This rule prohibits any person from introducing live fish or fish eggs into waters ofthe
state if that person knows, or, has reason to know, that those fish or fish eggs are infected
or show clinical signs of any reportable disease (see below) ..

Reportable Diseases

Under this rule, a person who diagnoses or finds evidence of any of the following
diseases must report that diagnosis.s or finding to DATCP, in writing or by telefax, within
10 days :

• Any aquatic animal disease that is foreign or exotic to Wisconsin .

Channel catfish virus (CCV) :.

Enteric septicemia of catfish (ESC) ..

• Infectious hematopoietic necrosis virus (IHN) .

White sturgeon iridovirus (WSI) .

• Myctobacteriosis infection . .

Proliferative kidney disease . `

• Streptococcus iniae .

Viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) .

• Whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD).

1 SECTION 1. ATCP 10.02(title) is amended to read :

2 ATOP 10.02(title) REPORTABLE DISEASES; GENERAL.

3 SECTION 2. ATCP;10.02(4) is amended; to read :
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1 ATCP 10.02(4) EXEMPTION. This section does not require a veterinarian to

2 report a diagnosis or finding made by the department or the Wisconsin department of

3 health and social family services .

4 SECTION 3. ATCP 10.025 is created to read :

5 ATCP 10 .025 REPORTABLE DISEASES; FISH. (1) REPORT

6 REQUIRED. A person who diagnoses or finds evidence of any of the following diseases

7 in this state shall report that diagnosis or finding to the department, in writing or by

8 telefax, within 10 days after making the diagnosis or finding

9 (a) Any aquatic animal disease that is foreign or exotic to Wisconsin.

10 (b) Channel catfish virus (CCV) .

11 (c) Enteric septicemia of catfish (ESC) .

12 (d) Infectious hematopoietic necrosis virus (IHN) .

13 (e) White sturgeon iridovirus (WSI) .
s

14 (f) Mycobacteriosis infection .

15 (g) Proliferative kidney disease (PKD) .

16 (h) Streptococcus iniae .

17 (i) Viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) .

18 (j) Whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD) .

19 (2) EXEMPTION. Subsection (1) does not require a person to report a diagnosis

20 or finding made by the department or the Wisconsin department of health and family

21 services. J

22 SECTION 4. ATCP 10.68 is created to read :



2 (a) "Certified fish inspector" means any of the following : .

3 1. An individual who is currently certified by the American fisheries society as a

4 fish health inspector or fish pathologist .

5 2. An individual whom a state authorizes and the department approves to certify,

6 on behalf of that state, the health of fish in that state .

7 (b) "Commingled" means kept or brought in contact with other fish or fish eggs

8 in any environment which permits direct contact between fish or use of the same water

system .

(c) "Fish farm" means a facility at which a person hatches fish eggs or holds live10

15

1 ATCP 10.68 FISH FARMS. (1) DEFINITIONS . In this section : :

9

11 fish.

12 (d) "Food processing plant" means a facility licensed under s . 97.29, Stats .

13 (e) "Individual" means a natural person.
s

14 (f) "Operator" means a person who owns or controls a fish farm . "Operator"

15 includes the operator's employees and agents .

16 (g) "Ornamenta.l fish" means goldfish, koi, tropical freshwater fish that cannot

17 survive in temperatures below 38°F, saltwater fish and other fish which the department

18 designatess in writing .

19 NOTE: You may obtain a current list of fish designated as "ornamental fish" by
20 contacting the department at the following address :
21
22 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
23 Division of Animal Health
24 P.O. Box 8911
25 Madison, WI 53708-8911
26 Phone: (608) 224-4872
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1
2 (h) "Person" means an individual , corporation, partnership, cooperative

3 association; limited liability company, trust , the state of Wisconsin or its agencies , or

4 other organization or entity .

5 (i) "Retail food establishment" means a facility licensed under s . 97 . . 30, Stats .

6 (j) "Restaurant" means a facility licensed under s . 254 .64, Stats .

7 (k) "Salmonid" means fish or fish eggs of the Salmonidae family . . "Salmonidae"

8 means fish or- fish eggs of the family that includes trout , salmon , grayling, char, Dolly

9 Vardon, whitefish, cisco and inconnu .

10 (1) Self-contained fish rearing facility" has the meaning given in s . 29.001(76),

11 Stats ~

12 (m) "Untreated water" means water that has not been rendered free of pathogens

13 by a method approved by the department .

14 (n) "Waters of the state" As the meaning given in s . 281 .01(18) , Stats .

15 (2) REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE REQUIRED. Except as provided in sub .

16 (3), a person operating a fish farm for any of thee following purposes shall obtain a

17 registration certificate for that fish farm:

18 (a) Hatching fish eggs or holding live fish for any of ' the following purposes :

19 1 . Sale or distribution .

20 2. Introduction into the waters of the state :

21 3. Fishing . .

22 4, . Use as bait or fertilizer .

23 5.. Use as human food or animal feed .



3
4
5
6
7
8
9

10
11
12
13
14
15
16 .
17
18
19
20

Toxicants required for fish farming operations may be used in self-
contained fish rearing facilities if there is no dischargee from the facility, or
if the discharge of the chemical is allowed under a Wisconsin Pollutant
Discharge Elimination System (WPDES) permit. Otherwise, a DNR
aquaticc pesticide use permit is required .: (See ss.29:088(2)(g),
29.601(5)(b) and . 283.31, Stats.) Pesticide applications must comply with
ch. ATCP 29, Wis . . Adm. Code, administered by the department of
agriculture, trade and consumer protection . There may be other federal,
state, or local regulations pertaining to the use of these toxicants .

21 (3) EXEMPTIONS. A person may do any of the following without a registration

22 certificate under sub . (2) : `
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1

2

6. Education, demonstration or research .

(b) Holdingg livee fish or fish eggs owned by another, person .

NOTE- A DNR fish stocking permit is not needed to stock fish into a fish farm
registered under sub . . (2). However, a DNR stocking permit is needed to
stock fishinto the waters of the state. (See s . 29.736, Stats.)

A DNR sport fishing license is not required to fish within a registered fish
farm . . Persons fishing at a registered fish farm do not need to comply with
season, size or bag limits . . (See s. 29 .001(27), Stats .)

23 (a) Hold, rear, sell or distribute live ornamental fish, or hatch the eggs of

24 ornamental fish, unless the ornamental fish or fish eggs are commingledd with non-

25 ornamental fish or fish eggs or are reared for bait, human food or animal feed .

26 (b) Hold live bait fish under a bait dealer license issued by the state of Wisconsin

27 department of natural resources under s . 29.509, Stats .

28 (c) Hold or rear live fish, or hatch fish eggs, in a fully enclosed building solely

29 for purposes of display or research within that building, provided that no untreated water

30 used to hold those fish or, fish eggs is discharged to waters of the state .



1 (d) Exhibit live fish in a public forum for not more than 15 days in a calendar,

5 plant, retail food establishment or restaurant pending slaughter or sale to consumers at

6 that facility,, provided that the facility does not discharge to waters of the statee any

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

18

2 year, or for a longer, period of time which the department authorizes in writing for a

3 specific exhibit.

4 (e) Hold live fish or fish eggs for not more than 30 days at a food processing

untreated water used to hold or process those fish or, fish eggs .

(f) Transport live fish or fish eggs to or from a fish farm .

(4) TYPE 1 OR TYPE 2 REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE . (a) Except as

provided in par. (b), a person required to hold a fish farm registration certificate under

sub. (2) may hold either a type l or type 2 registration certificate .

(b) A person may not sell or distribute live fish or fish eggs from a fish farm

without a type 2 registration certificate, except that a person holding a type 1 registration
s

certificate may do any of the following :

1 . Allow fishing at the fish farm, including public fishing for a fee .

2. Sell or distribute live fish or fish eggs to a food processing plant, retail food

establishment or restaurant at which the fish or fish eggs are held for not more than 30

days pending slaughter or sale to consumers at that facility, provided that the facility does

not discharge to waters of the state any untreated water used to hold or process those fish

or fish eggs .

3 . Move live fish between type 1 fish farms which that person operates in this

state .
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15
16
17
18
19
20
21 (7) APPLYING FOR A REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE . To obtain or renew a

19

1
2
3
4
5
6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

NOTE: A person holding a type 1 registration certificate may , at any time during
the registration year, convert that certificate to a type 2 certificate by
paying the additional fee under sub . (8) and complying with health
certification requirements under, ssub. (14) .

(5) ANNUAL EXPIRATION DATE . . A fish farm registration certificate under

sub. (2) expires on December 31 of the calendar year for which it is issued .

(6) PERSONS OPERATING 2 OR MORE FISH FARMS . A person who

operates 2 or more fish farmss shall obtain a separate registration certificate under sub. (2)

for each fish farm . A person may obtain annual registration certificates for 2 or more fish

farms by filing a single annual application under sub . (7) and paying a single annual fee

under sub. (8) . There is no additional charge for additional fish farms . A registration

certificate is not transferable between persons or locations .

NOTE: A person registering 2 or more fish farms may choose to register those
fish farms as type 1 or type 2 fish farms . The applicant submits only one
annuall application and pays only one annual fish farm registration fee .
There is no additionall chargee to register additional fish farms . . If anyy of
the fish farms is registered as a type 2 fish farm, the applicant must pay
the type 2 registration fee.

22 fish farm registration certificate under sub. (2), a fish farm operator shall file an

23 applicationn with the department . The operator shall file an application on a -form

24' provided by the department . An operator may, by filing ;a single application form, obtain

25 registration certificates for 2 or more fish farms . application shall include all of the

26 following: , :

27 (a) The name, address and telephone number of the fish farm operator .
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1 (b) The location of' each fish farm for which the operator seeks a registration

2 certificate . . The location shall include the county, township, section number and fire

3 number of the fish farm.

4 (c) For each fish farm under par . (b) , a statement indicating whether the operator

5 seeks a type 1 or type 2 registration certificate .

6 (d) Thee fee required under sub . . (8) .

7 (e) The name, address and telephone number of the individual responsible for

8 administering each of the fish farms under par . (b) on behalf of the operator, if the

9 individual administering that fish farm is not the operator ..

10 (f) The species of fish hatched or kept at each fish farm underpay. (b) .

11 (g) A description of each fish farm under par . (b), including fish farm facilities

12 and activities .

13 (h) A copy of each health certificate required under sub. (13) for a type 1 fish
r

14 farm or under sub. (14) for a type 2 fish farm . If an operator is registering a fish farm for

15 the first time, the department may issue a registration certificate before the operator files a

16 health certificate,: provided that the operator obtains and files the required health

17 certificate within 30 days after the department issues the registration certificate or within

18 30 days after the operator stocks :fish at the fish farm .

19 (i) Other relevant information required by the department .

20 NOTE: You may obtain a registration form by contacting the department at the
21 following address:
22
23 Wisconsin Department 'of Agriculture , Trade and Consumer Protection
24 Division of Animal Health
2 .5 P.,O. Box 8911
26 Madison, WI .5 .3708-8911



A fish farm operator may also need certain permits from the Wisconsin
department of natural resources (DNR) .. Contact DNR to find out about
DNR permit requirements . .

(8) REGISTRATION FEES . (a) Except as provided in par. (b), an operator shall

pay the following annual fee to obtain registrat ion certificates for one or more fish farms :

1 . A total fee of $25 if the fish farms axee all type 1 fish-farms .

2. A total fee of $50 if any of the fish farms is a type 2 fish farm .10

21

1
2
3

S
6
7

8

9

Phone : (608) 224-4872

11 (b) The following persons are exempt from registration fees under this

12 subsection:

13 1. A bona fide scientific researchh organization that is operating a fish farm solely

14 for the purposee of scientific research .

15 2. A primary or secondary school .

16 3. The state of Wisconsin and its agencies .
s

17 (c) A fish farm operator shall pay the full annual registration fee for a fish farm

18 registered for less than a full calendar year .

19 (d) An applicant for an annual fish farm registration certificate under sub . (2)

20 shall pay, in addition to the annual registration fee prescribed by this subsection, a

21 surcharge equal to the amount of that fee if the department determines that, within 365

22 days prior to submitting an application, the applicant operated a fish farm without a

23 registration certificate in violat ion of sub . (2) or, ((4)(b) . Payment of thee surcharge does

24 not relieve the applicant of any other civil or criminal penalty or liability that t may result

25 from the violation, not, does it constitute evidence of 'a violation ..
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1 (9) ACTION ON REGISTRATION APPLICATION. The department shall grant

2 or deny a registration application within 30 days after the applicant files a complete

3 application under sub. (7) .

4 (10) DENYING, SUSPENDING OR REVOKING A REGISTRATION

5 CERTIFICATE :. The department may deny, suspend or revoke a fish farm registration

6 certificate for cause, including any of the following :

7 (a) Filing an incomplete or fraudulent application, or misrepresenting any

8 information on an application .

9 (b) Violating applicable provisions of ch . 95, Stats ., this chapter, or ch. ATCP 11 .

10 (c) Violating the terms of the registration certificate .

i 1 (d) Preventing a department employe from performing his or her official duties,

12 or interfering with the lawfull performance of his or her, duties .

13 (e) Physically assaulting department employe while the employe is performing

14 his or her official duties .

15 (f) Refusing or failing, without just cause, to produce records under sub . (11) or

16 respond to a department subpoena.

17 (g) Paying a registration fee with a worthless check.

18 NOTE : The denial, suspension or revocation of a registration certificate is
19 subject to a right of hearing under ch . 227, Stats . , and ch. ATCP 1, Wis .
20 Adm. Code. The department will not deny registration to a new owner of
21 a fish farm merely because ownership has changed .
22
23 (11) RECORDKEEPINGo (a) A fish farm operator shall keep all of the

24 following records related to fish or fish eggs which the operator ships from or receives at

25 the fish farm .-
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1 1. The name , address , and fish farm registration number , if any , of the person

2 from whom the operator , received, or to whom the operator delivered fish or fish eggs . .

3 2. The date on which the operator received or delivered the fish or fish eggs .

4 3. The location at which the operator received or delivered the fish or fish eggs .

5 4. The size or class, quantity and species of fish or fish eggs received o r

6 delivered.

7 (b) An operator required to keep records under par . (a) shall retain those records

8 for at least 5 years and shall make them available to the department, upon request, for

9 inspection and copying ..

10 (12) FISH SOURCE. (a) No person selling or distributing fish or fish eggs may

11 misrepresent, directly or by implication, the source or disposition of those fish or fish

12 eggs.

13 (b) A person transporting fish or fish eggss from a fish farm shall have
r

14 documentary evidence showing that the person obtained those fish from that fish farm .

15 Evidence may include a bill of sale, bill of lading, import permit, health certificate, .

16 certificate of veterinary inspection or other document which identifies thee fish farm .

17 (13) ' TYPE I FISH FARM; ANNUAL . HEALTH CERTIFICATE. (a) No

18 person may obtain a type 1 fish farm registration certificate for any calendar year

19 beginning after December 31, 2001 unless one of the following applies :

20 1. An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector has issued a health

21 certificate for that fish farm not earlier than January 1 of the preceding calendar year .,
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1 2. An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector has issued a health

2 certificate, not earlier than January 1 of the preceding calendar year, for each fish farm

3 from which the fish farm operator received fish or fish eggs in the preceding calendar

4 year.

5 (b) Health certificates issued under par . (a) shall comply with the same

6 requirements that apply to health certificates issued for type 2 fish farms under sub . (14) .,

7 (c) A fish farm operator shall includee copies of all health certificates required

8 under par. (a) with the operator' s application for an annual fish farm registration

9 certificate under sub . (7) .

10 (14) TYPE 2 FISH FARM; ANNUAL HEALTH CERTIFICATE . (a) No

11 person may obtain a type 2 fish farm registration certificate for any calendar year

12 beginning after December 31, 20Qd unless an accredited veterinarian or certified fish .

13 inspector issues a health certificate for that fish farm not earlier than January 1 of the

14 preceding calendar year . The accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector shall issue

15 the health certificate on a form provided by the department, based on a personal

16 inspectionn of the fish farm . The accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector shall

17 use inspection, sampling and diagnostic methods specified by the department on the

18 certification form .

19 NOTE: To obtain a health certification form, contact the department at the
20 following address:
21
22 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
23 Division of Animal Health
24 P..O. Box 8911



6 2. That salmonids at the fish farm are free of whirling disease (Myxobolus

7 cerebralis, or WD) , if any salmonids are hatched or, kept at the fish farm .

8 3. That fish at the fish farm are free of other diseases, if any, which the

9 department specifies on the certification form . .

(c) An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector who issues a health

certificate under this subsection shall file the original certificate with the department,, and

shall provide at least 2 copies to tlIse fish farm operator. A fish farm operator shall include

a copy of the certificate with thee operator's application for an annual fish farm

registration certificate under sub. (7).

24

25

1 Madison, WI 53708-8911
2 Phone :. (608) 224-4872

3 (b) A health certificate under par. (a) shall certify all of the following :

4 1. That fish at the fish farm are free of visible signs of infectious or, contagious

5 disease .

10

11

12

13

14

15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22

23

NOTE: A certification form whichh specifies disease inspection,
sampling and diagnostic procedures under sub. (14)(a), or additional
disease certification requirements under sub. (14)(b)3 ., constitutes an
order under s. 93 ,07(,10), Stats . , which is reviewable under ch : 227, Stats .,
and ch. ATCP 1 unless the department has adopted those requirements by
rule. If a health certification does not comply with instructions on the
certification form, the certification is invalid .

SECTION 5. ATCP 11 .58 and 11 .. .59 are created to read :
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1

2 ATCP 11.58 FISH IMPORTS. (1) DEFINITIONS . In this section ::

3 (a) "Certified fish inspector" means any of the following :

4 1., ' An individual who is currently certified by the American fisher ies society as a

5 fish health inspector or fish pathologist.

6 2. An individual whom a state authorizes and the departmentt approves to certify ,

7 on behalf of that state, thee health of fish in thatt state .

8 (b) "Commingled" means kept or brought in contact with other fish or fish eggs

9 in any environment which permits direct contact between fish or use of the same water

10 system ..

11 (c) "Fish farm" means a facility at which a person hatches fisheggs or holds live

12 fish .

13 (d) "Food processing plant" means a facility licensed under s . 97.29, Stats .r

14 (e) "Individual" means a natural person.

15 (f) "Operator" means a person who owns or controls a fish farm . "Operator"

16 includes the operator's employees and agents .

17 (g) "Ornamental fish" means goldfish, koi, tropical freshwater fish that cannot

18 survive in temperatures below 38°F, saltwater fish and other fish which the department

19 designates in writing :

20 NOTE: You may obtain a current list of fish designated as "ornamental fish" by
21 contacting the department at the following address:
22
23 Wisconsin Department 'of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
24 Division of Animal Health
25 P.O.. Box 8911
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1 Madison, WI .53708-8911
2 Phone:: (608) 224-4872
3

4 (h) "Person" meanss an individual, corporation , partnership, cooperative

5 association , limited liability company , trust, the state of Wisconsin or its agencies , or

6 other organization or entity.

7 (i) "Retail food establishment" means a facility licensed under s . 97.30, Stats .

8 (j) "Restaurant" means a facility licensed under s . 254.64,. Stats .

9 (k) "Salmonid" means fish or fish eggs of the Salmonidae family .. "Salmonidae"

10 means fish or fish eggs of the family that includes trout, salmon, grayling, char, Dolly

11 Vardon, whitefish, cisco and inconnu .

12 (1) "Untreated water" means water that has not been rendered free of pathogens

13 by a method approved by the department .

14 (m) "Waters of the state" has the meaning given in s . 281 .01(18), Stats .s

15 (n) "Wild source" means waters in this state that are not registered as fish farms,

16 or waters outside this state that are not fish farms.

17 ; (2) ANNUAL IMPORT PERMIT REQUIRED . Except as provided in sub . (3),

18 no person may import live fish or fish eggs into this state for any of the following

19 purposes except under an annual import permit from the department :

20 (a) Introducing the live fish or fish eggs into waters of the state .

21 (b) Using the live fish or fish eggs as bait .

22 (c) Holding the live fish or hatching the fish eggs at a fish farm for which a

23 registration certificate is required under s . ,ATCP 10 .:68(2)::



3
4
5
6
7
8
9

10
11
12

• Live fish or fish eggs of species that are not native to Wisconsin .. (See
s .. 29 .735(1) , Stats)

• Live rough fish or rough fish eggs, except goldfish, dace and suckers .
(See s . 29.407(4), Stats . )

28

1

2

(d) Selling or, distributing the live fish or, fish eggs for any of the purposes under,

pars ., (a) to (c) .

NOTE. . A person importing any of the following must also obtain an importation
permit from the, state of Wisconsin department of natural resources
(DNR) :,

13 An application for an import permit under this section also serves as an
14 applicationn for a DNR import permit. The department will forward the
15 permit application to DNR if DNR permit requirements apply .
16
17 Under s. 29.736, Stats ., no person may use imported fish or fish eggs to
18 stock waters of the state without a stocking permit from DNR (unless the
19 stocking is subject to an exemption tinder 's. 29.736, Stats.) . An import
20 permit application under: this section does not serve as an application for a
21 DNR stocking permit. .
22
23 (3) EXEMPTIONS. No permit is required under sub . (2) 'to import any of the

s

24 following:

25 (a) Live ornamental fish or the eggs of ornamental fish, unless the ornamental

26 fish or fish eggs are commingled with non-ornamental fish or fish eggs, or , are reared for

27 bait, human food or animal feed .

28 (b) Live fish or fish eggs that will be held, for the remainder of their lives, in

29 fully enclosed buildings solely for purposes of d isplay or research, provided that no

30 untreated water used to hold those fish orfish eggs is `discharged to waters of the state .

31 (c) Live fish imported directly to a food processing plant, retail food

32 establishment or restaurant where they will be held for not more than 30` days pending
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1 slaughter or sale to consumers at that facility , provided that the facility does not discharge

2 to waters of the state any untreated water used to hold or process those fish or fish eggs ..

3 (d) Live fish or, fish eggs imported and held for not more than 30 days in fully

4 enclosed buildings pending shipment out of this state , provided that no untreated water

5 used to hold those fish or fish eggs is discharged to waters of the state .

6 (e) Live fish or fish eggs that are directly imported by the Wisconsin department

7 of natural resources.

8 -> (4) ISSUING AN ANNUAL IMPORT PERMIT . The department may issue an

9 import;permit under sub . (2) for all or , past of a calendar year , based on an application

10 under sub. (9). A permit holder may, at any time , apply under sub . (9) for an amendment

11 to an existing permit .

12 (5) COPY MUST ACCOMPANY IMPORT SHIPMENT. Every import

13 shipment under sub. (2) shall be accompanied by a copy of the import permit which

14 authorizes that shipment .

15 (6) IMPORT RECIPIENTS. A person holding an import permit under sub . (2)

16 may import live fish or fish eggs to the following persons, and no others :

17 (a) A person holding a current fish farm registration certificate, under s . ATCP

18 10.68, which authorizes that person to hold live fish or fish eggs of the type imported ..

19 (b) The state of Wisconsin department of natural resources .



17 (d) The size or class of fish of each species, and the quantity of fish or fish eggs

18 of each species, that the permit holderr may import under the permit ..

~0

1 (c) A person holding a current fish stocking permit, under s . 29 .:736, Stats ., which

22 authorizes that person to stock live fish or, fish eggs of the type imported .

3 (d) A person holding a ..current bait dealer, license under s . 29.509, Stats., which

4 authorizes that person to hold live fish or, fish eggs of the type imported .

5 (e) Other persons identified by the department in the permit .

6 (7) UNAUTHORIZED IMPORTS. No person holding an import permit under

7 sub. (2) may violate the terms of the permit or exceed the authorization granted in the

8 permit . A permit is not transferable between importers ,.

9 (8) IMPORT PERMIT; CONTENTS . . An import permit under sub . (2) shall

10 include all of the following :

11 (a) The expiration date of Pe import permit . An import permit expires on

12 December 31 of the year for which it is issued , unless the department specifies an earlier

13 expiration date.

14 (b) The name, address and telephone number of the permit holder .

15 (c) Each species of fish or fish eggs that the permit holderr may import under the

16 permit.



13 (d) Every wild source from which the applicant proposes to capture and import

14 fish or fish eggs .,

31

1 (e) The sources from which the importer may import live fish or , fishh eggs under

2 the permit . The permit may incorporate , by reference , sources identified in the permit

3 application under sub . (9) .

4 (f) The type of import recipient under sub ., (6) to which the importer may import

5 live fish or fish eggs under the permit .

6 (9) APPLYING FOR A PERMIT . A person seeking an import permit under sub .

7 (2) shall apply on a form provided by the department . There is no fee. A permit

8 application shall include all of the following :

9 (a) The applicant's name, address and telephone number .

10 (b) Each species of fish or fish eggs that the applicant proposes to import .

11 (c) The size or class of fish of each species, and quantity of fish or fish eggs of
r

12 each species, that the applicant proposes to import . .

15 (e) The name, address and telephone number of every fish farm from which the

16 applicant proposes to import fish or fish eggs, and a copy of any health certificate issued

17 for that fish farm under sub . (16) .

18 (fl The type of import recipient under sub (6) that the applicant proposes to

19 import fish or fish eggs to .

20
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1 NOTE:. You may obtain an application form by contacting the department at the
2 following address :
3
4 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture , Trade and Consumer Protection
5 Division of Animal Health
6 P. 0 . Box 8911
7 Madison, WI. 53708-8911
8 Phone: (608) 224-4872 .

9 (10) ACTION ON PERMIT APPLICATION. The department shall grant or

10 deny a permit application under sub. (9) within 30 days after the department receives a

11 complete application .

12 NOTE.. The department may impose conditions on an import permit , pursuant to
13 s,. 93 .06(8), Stats .

14
15 (11) DENYING, SUSPENDING OR REVOKING AN IMPORT PERMIT. The

16 department may deny, suspendd or revoke an import permit under sub . (2) for cause,

17 including any of the following :
r

18 (a) Filing an incomplete or fraudulent permit application, or misrepresenting any

19 information on a permit application .

20 (b) Violating applicable provisions of ch. 95, Stats . , this chapter or ch „ ATCP 10.

21 (c) Violating the terms of the import permit, or exceeding the import

22 authorization granted by the permit .

23 (d) Preventing a department employe fromm performing his or her official duties,

24 or interfering with the lawful performance of his or her duties . .

25 (e) Physically assaulting a department employe while the employe is performing

26 his or her, official duties .
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1 (f) Refusing or failing , without just cause, to produce records under sub . (12. ) or -

2 respond to a department subpoena ..

3 NOTE:: The denial , suspension or revocation of an import permit is subject
4 to a right of hearing under ch . 227, Stats ., and ch„ ATCP 1 , Wis . . Adm..
5 Code. .
6

7 (12) IMPORT RECORDS. . (a) A person, including the Wisconsin department of

8 natural resources , that imports fish or fish eggs under sub . (2) shall keep all of the

9 following records related to each import shipment :

10 1. The date of the import shipment .

11 2. The wild source, if any, from which the importer obtained the imported fish or

12 fish eggs .

13 3. The name, address and telephone number of the fish farm from which the

14 importer obtained the imported fish or fish eggs, if the importer obtained them from a fish

15 farm. `

16 4. The name, address and telephone number of the person receiving the import

17 shipment if that person is not the importer . The importer shall also record the recipient's

18 fish farm registration number under s . ATOP 10.68, stocking permit number under s .

19 29.736, Stats .,, or bait dealer license number under s . 29.509, Stats ., if any .

20 NOTE: See sub . (6) .

21 5. The location at which the import shipment was received in this state .

22 6. The size or class, quantity and species of fish or fish eggs included in the

23 import shipment ..
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1 (b) A person required to keep records under, par . (a) shall retain those records for

2 at least 5 years and shall make them available to the department , upon request, for

3 inspection and copying .

4 NOTE: An import permit holder must keep and provide records under sub .. (12) ,
5 regardless of whether the importer, is located in this state or another state .
6 The department may deny, suspend or revoke an import permit under sub.
7 (11) if the importer fails to keep records, or fails to provide them to the
8 department upon request,.
9
10 (13) IMPORTING DISEASED FISH . No person may import any live fish or fish

11 eggs into this state if that person knows, or has reason to know, that those fish or fish

12 eggs are infected or show clinical signs of any reportable disease under s . ATCP 10.025 .,

13 (14) HEALTH CERTIFICATE REQUIRED. No person may import any .. .,

14 shipment of livefish or fish eggs into this state unless one of the following applies :

15 (a) The import shipment is accompanied by a health certificate issued for that
s

16 shipment under, sub . . (15) .

17 (b) The import shipment originates from a fish farm and all of the following

18 apply:

19 1. The import shipment is labeled ' with the name and address of that fish farm .

20 2. No fish or fish eggs in the import shipment were ever collected from a wild

21 source .



1 3. An accredited veterinarian or, certified fish inspector has issued an annual

2 health certificate for that fish farm under sub . (16), and has filed a copy of that certificate

3 with the department.

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

4. The importer has filed a copy of the annual fish farm health certificate with the

importer's permit application under sub . (9) or, if the state of Wisconsin department of

natural resources is the importer, the department of natural resources has filed a copy of

the annual fish farm health certificate with the department before importing fish to this

state in any calendar year .

(c) The importt shipment consists solely of any of the following:

1 . Live ornamental fish, or the eggs of ornamental fish,.:unless the ornamental fish

or fish eggs are commingled with non-ornamentall fish or fish eggs, or are reared for bait,

human food or animal feed.
s

2. Live fishh or fish eggs that will be held, for the remainder of their lives, in fully

enclosed buildings solely for purposes of display or research, provided that no untreated

water used to hold those fish or fishh eggs is discharged to waters of the . state.

16 3. Live fish imported directly to a food processing plant, retail food establishment

17 or restaurant where they will be held for not more than 30 days pending slaughter or sale

18 to consumers at that facility, provided that the facility does not discharge to waters of the

19 state any untreated water used to hold or process those fish or fish eggs .

35



6 (a) An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector shall issue the health

7 certificate in the state of origin, on a form provided by the department, based on a

8 personal inspection of the import shipment . The accredited veterinarian or certified fish

9 inspector shall use inspection, sampling and diagnostic methods specified by the

10 department on the certification form.

11 NOTE: To obtain a health certification form, contact the department at the
12 following address:
13
14 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
15 Division of Animal Health
16 P.O. Box 8911
17 Madison, WI 53708-8911
18 Phone: (608) 224-4872

19 (b) The health certificate under par. (a) shall certify that the import shipment is

20 free of all the following :

36

1 4. Live fish or fish eggs imported and held for not more than 30 days in fully

2 enclosed buildings pending shipment out of this state , provided that no untreated water

3 used to hold those fish or fish eggs is discharged to waters of the state .

4 (15) HEALTH CERTIFICATE; INDIVIDUAL SHIPMENT. The following

5 requirements apply to a health certificate under sub . (14)(a) :,

21 1. Visible signs of infectious or contagious disease .

22 2. Infectious hematopoietic necrosis (IHN), viral hemorr hagic septicemia (VHS)

23 and whirlingdisease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD), if the import shipment includes "

24 salmonids .,



4 . Other diseases, ifany, which the department specifies on the certification form ..2

3 (c) The accredited veterinarian or, certified fish inspector who issues the health

4 certificate shall file the original certificate with the department, and shall provide at least

5 2 copies to the importer .

NOTE: A certification form which specifies disease inspection ,
sampling and diagnostic procedures under sub . (I 5)(a), or additional
disease certification requirements under sub . (15)(b)4 ., constitutes an order
under s . 9 :3.07(10), Stats., which is reviewable under ch . 227, Stats., and
ch. ATCP 1 unless the department adopts those requirements by rule .
If a health certification does not comply with instructions
on the certification form , the certification is invalid .

(16) FISH IMPORTED FROM FISH FARM ; ANNUAL HEALTH14

15 CERTIFICATE. The following requirements apply to an annual fish farm health

16 certificate under sub. (14)(b)3 . : r

17 (a) An accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector shall issue the annual

18 health certificate in the state of origin, on a form provided by the department, based on a

19 personal inspection of the fish farm . The accredited veterinarian or certified fish

20 inspector shall use inspection, sampling and diagnostic methods specified by the

21 department on the certification form .

22
23
24
25
26
27
28
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1 3 .. White sturgeon iridovirus (WSI) if the import shipment includes sturgeon ..

6
7
8
9

10
11
12
13

NOTE: To obtain a health certification form, contact the department at the
following address :

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Division of Animal Health
P , .O : Box 8911
Madison , WI 5 :3708-8911



Phone' (608) 224-4872

(b) The annual health certificate shall certify that the fish farm is free of all the

1

2

3 following :

4 1. Visible signs of infectious or contagious disease .

5 2. Infectiouss hematopoietic necrosis (IHN), viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS)

6 and whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD), if the health certificate is used for

7 imports of salmonids .

8 3. White sturgeon iridovirus (WSI) if the health certificate is used for imports of

9 sturgeon .

(c) Thee accredited veterinar ian: or certified fish inspector who issues the annual

health certificate shall file the ori ginal certificate with the department;, and shall provide

at least 2 copies to the fish farm operator .

NOTE: A certification form which specifies disease inspection,
sampling and diagnostic procedures under sub . (16)(a), or additional
disease certification requirements under sub. (16)(b)4 ., constitutes an order
under s . 93.07(l 0), Stats., which is reviewable under ch . 227, Stats ., and
ch. ATCP 1 unless the department adopts those requirements.s by rule. If a
health certification does not comply with instructions on the certification
form, the certification is invalid .

24
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10

11

12

13

14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21

22

23

4. Other diseases, if any, which the department specifies on the certification form .

ATCP 11.59 HEALTH STANDARDS FOR FISH INTRODUCED INTO

WATERS OF THE STATE. .: . (1) DEFINITIONS . In this section :

(a) "Certified fish inspector" means any of the following :



1 1. An individual who is currently certified by the American fisheries society as a

2 fishh health inspector or, fish pathologist .,

3 2. An indiv idual whom a state authorizes and the department approves to certify ,

4 on behalf of that state, the health of fish in that state .

5 (b) "Fish farm" means a facil ity at which a person hatches fisheggs or holds live

6 fish.

7 (c) "Individual" means a natural person .

8 (d) "Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, cooperative

9 association, limited liability company, trust, the state of Wisconsin or its agencies, or

10 other organization or entity .

11 (e) "Salmonid" means fish or fish eggs of the Salmonidae family . "Salmonidae"

12 means fish or fish eggs of the family that includes trout , salmon, grayling, char, Dolly

13 Vardon, whitefish, cisco and inconnu .
4

14 (f) "Waters ofthe state" has the meaning given in s. 29.73b(1)(c); Stats.

15 (2) HEALTH CERTIFICATE REQUIRED . (a) No person may introduce live

16 salmonids into waters of the state after the effective date of this rule [revisor inserts

17 effective date ] , and no person may introduce other live fish or fish eggs into waters of the

18 state after December 31, 2001, unless an accredited veterinarian or certified fish inspector

19 doess one of the following :

20 1. Issues a:health certificate for those fish or fish eggs .
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1 2. Issues a health certificate, not earlier than January 1 of the calendar year -

4 NOTE: See fish stocking regulations under s .. 29.736, Stats . In addition to fish
5 stocked from private fish farms, this subsection also pertains to fish
6 stocked by the Wisconsin department of natural resources .

7 (b) A fish health certificate under par. (a) shall certify that the fish or fish eggs, or

8 the fish farm from which they originate, are free of all the following :

2. Whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD), if the health certificate is10

11 used for introducing salmonids .

12 3. Other diseases, if any, which the department specifies on the certification form .

s

13 (.3) ISSUING A HEALTH CERTIFICATE . (a) An accredited veterinarian or

18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
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2 preceding the year in which the fish are introduced into waters of the state, for the fish

3 farm from which those fish or fish eggs originate . .

9 1 . Visible signs of infectious or contagious disease .

14

1 .5

16

17

certified fish inspector shall issue a health certificate under sub . (2) on a form provided by

the department, based on a personal inspection of the fish or fish farm . The accredited

veterinarian or certified fish inspector shall use inspection, sampling and diagnostic

methods specified by the department on the certification form .

NOTE: To obtain a health certification form, contact the department at the
following address :

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Tradee and . Consumer Protection
Division of Animal Health
P.O. Box .8911
Madison, WI 53708-8911
Phone : (608) 224-4872



1 (b) An accredited veterinarian or ' certified fish inspector who issues a health

4 state.

NOTE: A certification form which specifies disease inspection,
sampling and diagnostic procedures under sub: (3)(a), or additional
disease certification requirements under sub . (2)(b)3 ., constitutes an order
under s . 93.07(10), Stats., which is reviewable under ch . 227, Stats ., and
ch. ATCP 1 unless the department adopts those requirements by rule . If a
health certification does not comply with instructions on the certification
form, the certification is invalid.

(4) INTRODUCING DISEASED FISH. No person may introduce live fish or

5
6
7
8
9

10
11

12

r
r l ~~

Dated this ~ day of 19 ~,
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2 certificate under, sub. (2) shall file the original certificate with the department, and shall

3 provide at least 2 copies to the person introducing the fish or fish eggs into waters of the

13 fish eggs into waters of the state if that person knows, or has reason to know, that those

14 fish or fish eggs are infected or show clinical signs of any reportable disease under s .

15 ATOP 10.025 .

r
16 EFFECTIVE DATE: The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the

17 first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, as

18 provided in s . 227.22(2)(intro .), Stats .

STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT
OF AGRICULTURE, TRADE AND
CONSUMER PROTECTION

f

By .~ °

Ben Brancel, Secretary



State of Wisconsin
Tommy G .. Thompson, Governor

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Ben Bxancel, Secretary

TO: Gary Poulson - Revisor of Statutes Office
131 West Wilson Street, Suite 800

FROM: Ben Brancel Secret a~'~`"~'-r-- ~`

2811 Agriculture Drive, Madison, WI 53718-6777 PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911 - 608-224-5012 Fax: 608-224- .5045

DATE: April 12, 1999

SUBJECT: Clearinghouse Rule No . 98-123, Chapters 10 and 11, Relating to Fish Farms,
Fish Diseases and Imports of Live Fish and Fish Eggs

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection hereby submits the following
information for filing with the above rule .

Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

General Overview

This rule establishes policies and procedures for the department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection to implement 1997 Wisconsin Act 27 which transferred the primary
authority for regulating fish farms from the department of natural resources to the department of
agriculture, trade and consumer protection .

This rule will affect small businesses in Wisconsin . It includes provisions which relate to small
businesses engaged in farming fish and importing live fish and fish eggs into Wisconsin .

Fish Farm Registration

The statute requires that any person who operates a fish farm must annually register the fish farm
with the department . This rule identifies two categories of fish farms that must register and
imposes annual registration fees, as follows :

Type 1 ($25 annual fee) : The holder of a type 1 registration certificate may operate a fish
farm. The operator may not sell or distribute live fish, except to a food processing plant,
retail food establishment or restaurant . However, the operator may allow public fishing for a
fee .



Beginning in 2002, the requirement for an annual health certificate for all registered fish farms
will increase the costs of operating a fish farm . The requirement for an annual health certificate
is a statutory requirement. The department provided a phase-in time with its rule designating a
date of after 12/31/01 to obtain a health certificate .. Therefore, the rule does not cause additional
expense. Rather, it mitigates expense caused by the statute . The weight of this expense will be
offset in the future with better fish health leading to increased production and marketability of
product due to higher fish health standards .

Type 2 ($50 annual fee): The holder of a type 2 registration certificate may operate a fish
farm and may engage in any of the activities authorized under a type 1 certificate In
addition, the operator may sell or distribute live fish and fish eggs from the fish farm

All private fish hatcheries previously licensed by the department of natural resources in 1997
were eligible for renewal with the department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection
under the department's fish farm emergency rule in 1998 . This rule establishes a permanent
registration system for fish farms In registering, fish farm operators will need to complete a
form providing owner and custodian name and address and fish farm information such as the
species of fish kept on the fish farm and a description of the fish farm .

The rule requires fish farm operators to maintain records for at least five years relating to all fish
and fish eggs which the operator receives from or delivers to another person, including the
names, addresses and fish farm registration numbers, if applicable, of the parties involved, the
date and location of each transaction and the size or class, quantity and species of fish or fish
eggs involved in each transaction .

The rule also requires that a person obtaining a registration certificate for any calendar year
beginning after December 31, 2001, must have a health certificate issued by an accredited
veterinarian or certified fish inspector for the fish farm not earlier than January 1 of the preceding
calendar year . This annual health certificate must certify that the fish farm is free of all visible
signs of infectious or contagious disease, whirling disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD), if
trout, salmon or other salmonids are kept on the fish farm and any other disease which the
department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection specifies on the health certification
form. A type 1 fish farm may meet this requirement by obtaining health certificates, issued not
earlier than January 1 of the preceding calendar year, for each fish farm from whom the type 1
fish farm operator received fish or fish eggs in the preceding calendar year .

About 2,400 fish farms scattered across Wisconsin will be affected by the fish farm requirements
in this rule . These farms were previously licensed by the department of natural resources, by
completing an annual license application form, paying an annual fee ($5, $25 or $50 depending
upon the classification) and submitting year end reports on business operations. Under the
department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection, the proposed annual fees are $25 for a
type 1 and $50 for a type 2 registration . Most small business fish farms will have no change in
fees. Recordkeeping requirements will be less burdensome for fish farm operators since they
will only be required to maintain records and not file yearend reports .



The department of natural resources required a person importing live fish and fish eggs to acquire
a permit and for salmonid fish or fish eggs, to provide health certification for five specific
diseases . The department of agriculture,, trade and consumer protection is requiring a permit and
health certification for all imports of live fish or fish eggs . The fish or fish eggs must be certified
free of the diseases listed above . The requirement of health certification might increase the cost
of importing live fish and fish eggs from out-of-state fish farms and will increase the cost of
importing from wild sources, since this requirement did not exist before. It is assumed the
source of the fish and fish eggs will pass the cost of the certification on to the importer . Health
certification for imports will offer some degreee of assurance that a healthy product is being

Live Fish Imports

The statute requires any person who brings live fish or fish eggs into this state for the purpose of
introduction into the waters of the state, of use as bait or of rearing in a fish farm to have an
annual permit issued by the department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection . Under this
rule, the permit may authorize multiple import shipments, thereby minimizing the paperwork that
small businesses are required to complete . A copy of the permit must accompany every import
shipment. There is no fee for an import permit given by the department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection. In addition, the statute states a person importing non-native species must
also obtain a permit from the department of natural resources.

In requesting an import permit, a person will need to complete a form providing name and
address information of the requester, fish farm registration number, if applicable, the size or
class, quantity and species of fish or fish eggs to be imported, the type of import recipient the
fish will be imported to and source location information.

The rule requires a person who imports live fish or fish eggs to obtain a health certificate for each
shipment of fish, if the fish originate from a wild source, or an annual health certificate, if the
fish originate from an out-of-state fish farm . Issued by an accredited veterinarian or certified fish
inspector, the health certificate must certify that the shipment or fish farm is free of all the
following :

• Visible signs of infectious or contagious disease .

Infectious hematopoietic necrosis (IHN), viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) and whirling
disease (Myxobolus cerebralis, or WD), if the health certificate is for salmonid imports .

• White sturgeon iridovirus (WSI) if the health certificate is for sturgeon imports .

• Other diseases, if any, which the department specifies on the health certification form .

The rule requires a person importing live fish or fish eggs to maintain records for at least five
years relating to each import shipment, including the import source, the import date and
destination, and the size or class, quantity and species of fish or fish eggs imported .



On March 9, the Assembly Committee on Agriculture notified the department that they were
requesting a meeting with the department . On April 8, the 30 day review period for the
committee expired with the committee taking no further action on the rule . The Senate
Committee on Agriculture, Environmental Resources and Campaign Finance Reform did nott
take any action on the rule during its review period .

imported which will result in savings for fish farms in the long run and reduced risks of diseased
fish being released into the waters of the state . The requirement to maintain import records will
add minimal costs since these records are standard business operational records .

Comments from Legislative Committees

On February 8, 1999, this department transmitted the above rule for legislative committee
review. On February 9, the rule was assigned to the Assembly Committee on Agriculture and on
February 10, the rule was assigned to the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Environmental
Resources and Campaign Finance Reform .
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