Clearinghouse Rule 99-092

99-092

CERTIFICATE

STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

RECEIVED

REVISOR OF STATUTI BUREAU

SEP 21 1999

TO ALL WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GREETINGS:

I, Patrick D. Braatz, Director, Bureau of Health Professions in the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing and custodian of the official records of the Pharmacy Examining Board, do hereby certify that the annexed rules were duly approved and adopted by the Pharmacy Examining Board on the 20th day of September, 1999.

I further certify that said copy has been compared by me with the original on file in this office and that the same is a true copy thereof, and of the whole of such original.

12-1-99

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed the official seal of the board at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin this 20th day of September, 1999.

Patrick D. Braatz, Director, Bureau of Health Professions, Department of Regulation and Licensing

99-0**9**2

STATE OF WISCONSIN PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : ORDER OF THE PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 99-092) ORDER

An order of the Pharmacy Examining Board to *create* chapter Phar 16, relating to continuing education programs offered by a provider approved by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education at the time of the pharmacist's attendance, or other board approved programs.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing.

ANALYSIS

Statutes authorizing promulgation: ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and s. 450.02 (2g) (a), Stats., as created by 1997 Wisconsin Act 68.

Statutes interpreted: s. 450.085 (1), Stats.

This rule-making order of the Pharmacy Examining Board creates rules to implement the continuing education requirements for pharmacists to biennially renew their licenses, beginning on June 1, 2000. This continuing education requirement of pharmacists as a condition for license renewal was created by 1997 Wisconsin Act 68.

The rules provide that beginning with the June 1, 2000 renewal deadline, licensees shall be required to "certify" on their renewal applications that they have obtained the statutorily required 30 hours of continuing education during the previous biennium. The continuing education must consist of educational programs offered by a provider approved by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education at the time of the pharmacist's attendance, or other board approved programs.

The rules provide that pharmacists must maintain evidence of compliance for 3 years following the renewal date for the biennium for which 30 hours of credit are required for renewal of a license. For example, as set forth in a note to the rules, a pharmacist who renews his or her license on June 1, 2000, must retain proof of having obtained 30 hours of continuing education in the 2 years preceding renewal until June 1, 2003.

The continuing education requirement has 2 primary exceptions. First, it does not apply to an applicant for renewal of a license that expires on the first renewal date after the date on which the board originally granted the license. Second, it will not apply to individuals who have applied for and received waivers of the requirements from the board for reasons such as prolonged illness, disability, or other similar circumstances.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. Chapter Phar 16 is created to read:

CHAPTER PHAR 16

CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR PHARMACISTS

Phar 16.01 Authority and purpose. The rules in this chapter are adopted by the pharmacy examining board pursuant to the authority delegated by ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 450.02 (2g) (a), Stats.

Phar 16.02 Continuing education required; waiver. (1) Each pharmacist required to complete the continuing education requirement provided under s. 450.085, Stats., shall, at the time of making application for renewal of a license under s. 450.08 (2) (a), Stats., sign a statement on the application for renewal certifying that the pharmacist has completed at least 30 hours of acceptable continuing education programs within the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of his or her application for renewal. The 30 hours of continuing education for pharmacists first applies to applications that are submitted to the department to renew a license to practice pharmacy that expires on June 1, 2000. This subsection does not apply to an application for renewal of a license that expires on the first renewal date after the date on which the board initially granted the license.

(2) A pharmacist may apply to the board for waiver of the requirements of this chapter on grounds of exceptional circumstances such as prolonged illness, disability or other similar circumstances that the pharmacist indicates have prevented him or her from meeting the requirements. The board will consider each application for waiver individually on its merits.

Phar 16.03 Acceptable continuing educational programs. The board recognizes only those educational programs offered by a provider approved by the American council on pharmaceutical education at the time of the pharmacist's attendance, or other board approved programs.

Note: A list of board approved programs is available from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Bureau of Health Professions, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. As of August 9, 1999, the board has not approved any programs other than programs offered by a provider approved by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education.

Phar 16.04 Evidence of compliance. The board accepts as evidence of compliance with this chapter certification by a providing institution or organization that a pharmacist has attended and completed continuing education programs approved under the provisions of s. Phar 16.03. Certification may be the original, or verified copies of, documents certifying attendance and completion.

Phar 16.05 Retention requirement. The pharmacist shall retain evidence of compliance for 3 years following the renewal date for the biennium for which 30 hours of credit are required for renewal of a license.

Note: For example, a pharmacist who renews his or her license on June 1, 2000, must retain proof of having obtained 30 hours of continuing education in the 2 years preceding renewal until June 1, 2003.

Phar 16.06 Audit. The board may require any pharmacist to submit his or her evidence of compliance with the continuing education requirements to audit compliance.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Dated

Agency

Chairperson Pharmacy Examining Board

g:\rules\phar11.doc 9/2/99 State of Wisconsin



DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

CORRESPONDENCE/MEMORANDUM

- DATE: September 21, 1999
 TO: Gary Poulson Assistant Revisor of Statutes
 FROM: Pamela A. Haack, Paralegal
- Department of Regulation and Licensing Office of Administrative Rules



SUBJECT: Final Order Adopting Rules

Agency: PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD

Clearinghouse Rule 99-092

Attached is a copy and a certified copy of a final order adopting rules.

Please stamp or sign a copy of this letter to acknowledge receipt.

Thank you.