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ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS 
Type of Estimate and Analysis 
 

 Original        Updated       Corrected 
Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number 
 
Chapter Trans 327, Motor Carrier Safety  
 
Subject 
 
Procedures for commercial driver’s to certify driving type, provide federal medical certificate to the 
department, and define procedures for downgrade of commercial driver’s license (interstate only) if no valid 
federal medical certificate is on file. 
 
Fund Sources Affected Chapter 20 , Stats. Appropriations Affected 
 

 GPR    FED    PRO    PRS   SEG  SEG-S 
 
20.395 (5)(CQ) 
 

Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule 
 No Fiscal Effect 
 Indeterminate  

 Increase Existing Revenues 
 Decrease Existing Revenues 

 Increase Costs 
 Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget 
 Decrease Costs 

 
The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply) 

  State’s Economy 
  Local Government Units 

 Specific Businesses/Sectors 
 Public Utility Rate Payers 

Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million? 
 

 Yes     No 
 
Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule 
 
Changes in federal regulations 49 CFR 383 and 384 require commercial drivers operating in interstate 
commerce to notify the department of their type of driving (interstate vs. intrastate / excepted vs. non-
excepted).  Additionally, interstate, non-excepted drivers must keep a valid copy of their federal medical 
certificate on file with the department.  Failure to maintain a valid certificate on file will result in a downgrade 
of their commercial operating privileges.   These changes are required, effective January 30, 2012. 
 
2011 Wisconsin Act 32 also created s. 343065 (3) which allows the department to downgrade any commercial 
driver’s license authorizing operation in interstate commerce if the driver does not file a current federal medical 
certificate.  In addition, this section requires the department to promulgate rules to define the downgrade 
process in accordance with the federal regulations, as well as to establish the process for reinstating a 
downgraded license after a valid federal medical certificate is received. 
 
Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local 
Governmental Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred) 
 
All commercial drivers operating in interstate commerce are already required to carry a valid federal medical 
card in their possession.  This rulemaking requires that these drivers (or their employers) notify us of their 
driving type.  In addition, drivers operating in interstate commerce are required to keep a copy of a valid federal 
medical certificate on file with the department. 
 
Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule 
 
Implementing this rule will ensure Wisconsin’s compliance with federal regulations.  Failure to comply with 
federal regulations could result in Wisconsin being found in non-compliance, per 49 CFR 384.  Penalties for 
non-compliance are up to 10% of federal highway funding annually (over $50 million), loss of MCSAP 



funding (about $4 million annually) and decertification of Wisconsin Commercial Driver’s License program.   
As such, the only alternative is to implement the rule. 
 
In addition, the rule helps ensure commercial drivers are medically competent. 
 
 
Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule 
 
Implementing this rule allows Wisconsin to remain in compliance with federal regulations on commercial 
driver’s licenses. 
 
Failure to comply with federal regulations could result in Wisconsin being found in non-compliance, per 49 
CFR 384.  Penalties for non-compliance are up to 10% of federal highway funding annually (over $50 million), 
loss of MCSAP funding (about $4 million annually) and decertification of Wisconsin Commercial Driver’s 
License program. 
 
 
Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government 
 
The federal government is requiring all states to comply with these requirements.  However, the states have 
some flexibility to determine how to downgrade their drivers.    
 
 
Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota) 
 
 

State Method for Certifying 
Driving Type 

Downgrade Process Reinstatement Process 

Iowa Drivers can self-certify 
in person, by mail, by 
fax, or via the web 

A courtesy letter will be 
sent prior to the 
expiration date of the 
federal medical 
certificate.  If no updated 
card is received, the 
driver will lose their 
commercial privileges 
immediately upon the 
expiration of the federal 
medical certificate. 

Drivers can get their 
commercial license back 
by self certifying they 
are no longer operating 
in interstate commerce, 
or by providing an 
updated federal medical 
certificate.  No fee is 
required. 

Michigan Drivers can self-certify 
in person, by mail, by 
fax, or via the web 

A courtesy letter will be 
sent 10 days prior to the 
expiration date of the 
federal medical 
certificate.  If no updated 
card is received, the 
driver will lose their 
commercial privileges 
immediately upon the 
expiration of the federal 
medical certificate. 

Drivers can get their 
commercial license back 
by self certifying they 
are no longer operating 
in interstate commerce, 
or by providing an 
updated federal medical 
certificate.  A $25 fee is 
required. 

Minnesota Drivers can self-certify 
in person, by mail, or by 
fax 

A courtesy letter will be 
sent 45 days prior to the 
expiration date of the 
federal medical 
certificate.  If no updated 
card is received, the 
driver will lose their 

Drivers can get their 
commercial license back 
by self certifying they 
are no longer operating 
in interstate commerce, 
or by providing an 
updated federal medical 



commercial privileges 60 
days after the expiration 
date of the federal 
medical certificate. 

certificate.  No fee is 
required. 

Wisconsin Drivers can self-certify 
in person, by mail, by 
fax, or via the web 

A courtesy letter will be 
sent 60 days prior to the 
expiration date of the 
federal medical 
certificate.  If no updated 
card is received, the 
driver will lose their 
commercial privileges 10 
days after the expiration 
date of the federal 
medical certificate. 

Drivers can get their 
commercial license back 
by self certifying they 
are no longer operating 
in interstate commerce, 
or by providing an 
updated federal medical 
certificate.  No fee is 
required. 

 
 
Please note: several attempts were made to contact Illinois.  No one responded to our repeated messages. 
 
Name and Phone Number of Contact Person 
 
Alison Lebwohl, 608-266-0054 
 
 


