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Phar 3.01 Display of certificates. Registered pharmacists and as­
sistant pharmacists shall not permit their certificates to be displayed 
in any place of business except where they are actually employed in 
their professional capacity. 

Hi"tor~': Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57. 

Phar 3.02 Report change of position or address. (1) Any registered 
pharmacist 01' registered assistant pharmacist changing his position 
01' business address must notify the pharmacy board of such changes 
within 30 days. 

(2) The owner of a pharmacy shall report any change of profes­
sional personnel-pharmacist, assistant pharmacist, apprentice (in­
tel'll) within 30 days. 

(3) The change of a designated registered "pharmacist in charge" 
must be reported within 5 days of such change to the board of phar­
macy office by the owner of the store. However, immediate coverage 
by another pharmacist is required 01' the pharmacy must be closed. 

History: Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57. 

Phar 3.03 Prescribing in code. A pharmacist may not enter into any 
arrangement with a physician which results in the latter prescribing 
in code in such a way as to be intelligible only to a pharmacist in 
a designated pharmacy. The filling of such a prescription shall be 
grounds for disciplinary action. 

History: Cr. Reg'ister, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57. 

Phar 3.04 Reciprocity. Applications for license by reciprocity shall 
not be accepted unless the applicant has been a pharmacist in another 
state for at least one year subsequent to examination, and provided 
all otherconditiolls of section 151.02 (6), Wis. Stats., have been met. 
The one-year requirement herein specified will be waived in the case 
of applicants from other states having reciprocal relations with Wis­
consin where such states do not make such requirements in the case 
of Wisconsin applicants for license by reciprocity. 

History: Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57. 

Phar 3.05 "Pharmacist" synonymous with "druggist". The board 
construes the word "pharmacist" as used in the Wisconsin statutes 
to include and to be synonymous with the word "druggist." 

History: Cr. Register, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57. 
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Phar 3.06 Rules and regulations for apprentices (interns) in phar­
macy. Any person who has successfully completed the sophomore year 
in a college of pharmacy may apply for registration as an apprentice 
(intern) in a pharmacy for practical experience training. Application 
forms are to be secured from the board secretary. The following con­
ditions should be understood by the employer, preceptor and the 
apprentice (intern): 

(1) PRACTICAL EXPERIENCE. Candidates for the state pharmacist 
examination shall file satisfactory proof with the board of having 
had at least a calendar year of legal practice and experience in a 
retail pharmacy, drug store, or hospital under the direction and 
supervision of a registered pharmacist. Foul' academic years of 
9 months each are required. The remainder of the 48 months (or 12 
months) must be practice and experience in a retail pharmacy or drug 
store under the direction and supervision of a registered pharmacist, 
which practice and experience shall be predominantly work directly 
related to the selling of drugs, preparing and compounding of phar­
maceutical preparations and physicians' prescriptions, and keeping of 
records and making of reports required under state and federal stat­
utes. The said practice and experience shall include an aggregate of 
12 calendar months commencing not earlier than the close of the 
sophomore college year. Credit for such periods of practice and ex­
perience shall be allowed in the discretion of the board in accordance 
with such regulations as it may from time to time adopt. There shall 
be a fee of $1 for registration of apprentices. 

(2) MINIMUM HOURS. A minimum of 2,000 hours is required. These 
may not be accumulated in less than a calendar year. A minimum 
of 35 hours per week constitutes full-time training. 40 hours are the 
maximum number of credit hours allowed in any week. 

Note: Employment and training hours are not to be interpreted as being 
the same. An apprentice (intern) may work in excess of his training hours. 

(3) EMPLOYMENT BASIS. Apprenticeship (internship) must be on 
a full-time employment basis not concurrent with school registration. 

(4) REGISTRATION FORM. Apprentices (interns) cannot receive 
credit for practice until the apprentice form for registration has 
been approved by the state board of pharmacy. 

(5) POCKET CARD. When the application for registration is ap­
proved, a pocket card bearing a serial number will be issued and 
mailed to the applicant. This card is to be carried on the apprentice's 
(intern's) person and shown on request of a representative of the 
state board of pharmacy. 

(6) RECORD BOOKS. (a) This should be in the form of a profes­
sional diary covering all duties listed under "Duties of an Appren­
tice (Intern)." The mere pasting in of copies of prescriptions, labels, 
etc. is not sufficient. 

(b) The training record books will be supplied by the state board 
of pharmacy for a nominal fee to at least cover the cost of the book 
and the postage which amount is payable at the time of registration. 

(c) The training record book must be signed on the last page by 
the preceptor and the signature will be considered verification of the 
type of training described therein. 
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(d) The record book of professional experience must be available 
for inspection by the board at the drug store or pharmacy during 
the working hours of the intern. 

(e) A pharmacist may not sign more than one intern's training 
book or affidavit for anyone period. 

(f) Record books must be submitted to the state board of pharmacy 
office as indicated in subdivisions 1, 2, 3, of subsection (i). 

(g) A record book need be submitted for only the first 9 months 
of the 12 months of training. 

(h) Correspondence relative to the record books should be between 
the intern and the office of the state board. 

(i) A training record book must be presented within 5 days as 
designated: 1. At the end of each of the 3 quarterly periods of 
tl'aining. 

2. Each time there is a change of preceptor, employer, or both. 
3. At the time any training period of any length is terminated for 

any reason. 

(7) DUTIES OF APPRENTICES (INTERNS). The apprentice (intern) 
record book must be kept on a daily basis and must include each of 
the following in a diary form when encountered. (a) Record the 
number and type of prescriptions compounded 01' dispensed under the 
direct supervision of the pharmacist. 

(b) Give a complete writeup on one prescription each day includ­
ing the following details: 1. Give the pharmaceutical operations 
performed. 

2. Give statement of details, such as type of preparation, therau­
peutic indications, composition, technique involved, labeling, chemical 
reactions and incompatibilities encountered. 

3. Give citation of applicable sections of state and federal laws 
pertaining to the prescription dispensed. Example: Narcotics, exempt 
narcotics, dangerous drugs, poisons. 

(c) Abstract a minimum of 2 reading assignments during each 
week of training, citing the source of the articles read. 

(d) Record of experience in selling professional items. (Prescrip­
tion and sick room accessories, and associated items.) 

(e) Outline of the general operation and arrangement, and stock 
control of the drug store. 

(8) CHANGE OF EMPLOYMENT. Change of employment before the 
required year of training has been completed requires reregistration 
by the apprentice (intern) and registration by the new preceptor. 
Registration may not begin under the new preceptor until record 
books have been filed relative to all previous training. 

(9) RULES FOR PRECEPTORS. (a) No affidavit will be mailed to the 
preceptor until the record book is satisfactory to the extent that some 
credit may be allowed by the board committee on the evaluation of 
such record book. 

(b) Affidavit forms are mailed directly to the preceptor only. No 
affidavit will be credited unless certified to by the preceptor on a form 
provided by the office of the Wisconsin State Board of Pharmacy. 
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(c) Each pharmacist preceptor may train only one apprentice 
. (intern) at a time and such pharmacist must be employed in the drug 
store 01' pharmacy on a full-time basis. 

Note.' All professional work must be personally supervised by a registered 
pharmacist at all times. 

APPRENTICES (INTERNS) AND THEIR PRECEPTORS :MAY FEEL 
FREE '1'0 CONTACT 'I'HE STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY OFFICE AT 
ANY TIl\IE. 

History: Cr. Reg'ister, December, 1956, No. 12, eff. 1-1-57. 
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