Filed March 30, 1971 4:15 6 m.

PSC 19

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

STATE OF WISCONSIN)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION)

I, John F. Goetz, Secretary of the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin and legal custodian of the official records of said Commission, do hereby certify under my signature and official seal of the Commission that the attached adopted rules, chapter PSC 19 (MC-1825), relating to procedures to be followed in handling loss and damage claims of intrastate for-hire motor carriers, were duly approved and adopted by order of March 9, 1971.

I further certify that the copy of the adopted rules attached hereto has been compared by me with the original on file in this Commission and that the same is a true copy thereof.

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin

March 30, 1971

Secretary

ORDER OF THE

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

ADOPTING RULES

Pursuant to authority vested in the Public Service Commission by Chapter 194, Wis. Stats., the Public Service Commission hereby adopts rules as follows:

Chapter PSC 19 of the WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE is adopted to read:

CHAPTER PSC 19

REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES TO BE FOLLOWED BY COMMON MOTOR CARRIERS AND OR PUBLIC CONTRACT MOTOR CARRIERS IN HANDLING LOSS AND DAMAGE CLAIMS INVOLVING INTRASTATE COMMERCE

PSC 19.01 Requirements and Procedures to be Followed in the Handling of Loss and Damage Claims. Every common motor carrier and/or contract motor carrier performing transportation authorized by an item to serve the public in intrastate commerce subject to the provisions of Chapter 194, Wis. Stats., upon the receipt of a notice in writing of loss of, or damage to, cargo during transportation shall:

- (1) Acknowledge receipt in writing within 15 days. Acknowledgment shall either inform the claimant that his notice has been accepted for processing as a claim or point out the deficiencies which prevent it from being recorded as a claim. Upon the receipt of an official and properly documented claim the carrier shall cause the date of receipt to be recorded on such claim.
- (2) Commence an investigation to determine whether the carrier acknowledges or denies liability for the loss or damage.

- (3) Maintain a separate consecutively numbered file on each claim for loss or damage and shall keep in the file all documents, acknowledgments, instruments, correspondence, memoranda and other writings relating to the claim. If a carrier keeps a single register of claims filed and records therein both interstate and intrastate claims, such procedure shall be acceptable. Such claim files shall be made available for inspection immediately upon request by any authorized law enforcement officer or Public Service Commission personnel.
- (4) Either acknowledge or deny liability for the loss or damage, in writing, outlining the reasons if denied in whole or in part, within 120 days after receipt of the original claim; provided that, if for reasons beyond the control of the carrier the claim cannot be processed and disposed of within 120 days after the receipt thereof, the carrier shall at that time advise the claimant in writing of the status of the claim and the reasons for the delay in making final diposition thereof and shall answer all further inquiries from the claimant or the Public Service Commission within 15 days after such inquiry is made of the carrier. Payment by the carrier shall not be withheld or postponed pending receipt of payment or acknowledgment of liability by connecting carriers except for good cause shown.

The rules contained herein shall take effect on May 1, 1971 as provided in section 227.026 (1) (intro. par.).

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Dated: March 30, 1971.

John F. Goe Secretary