Filed June 10, 1975 Hy 30 1:30 pm. 6. L. Pala

CERTIFICATION

I, Rebecca Young, Highway Commission Secretary, do hereby certify that the attached is a true and exact copy of an order adopted and approved by the Commission on June 4, 1975.

Rebecca Young

Highway Commission Secretary

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin this _____ day of June 1975.

ORDER OF THE STATE HIGHWAY COMMISSION AMENDING RULES

Pursuant to authority vested in it by Sections 348.26 and 348.27, Wisconsin Statutes, the Commission hereby, creates, repeals and amends portions of Chapter Hy 30, Wisconsin Administrative Code as follows:

Section Hy 30.02(5)(s) is renumbered Hy 30.01(3)(e)30 and is amended to read:

Hy 30.01(3)(e)30. The maximum speed of a towed units from 12 feet to 14 feet, inclusive, in width shall be 35 miles per hour on two-lane roadways designated as requiring an escort vehicle with the towed unit. The maximum speed of a towed unit all vehicles being operated under any permit issued pursuant to this Chapter, except for permits issued pursuant to Section Hy 30.12, transported on other highways, including escorted towed units on highways having two or more lanes for traffic going in the same direction as the towed unit, shall be 45 miles per hour, but the speed of a towed unit shall be reduced as necessitated by roadway, traffic, wind and weather conditions, unless another speed is specified in the permit or is required for obedience to a lower speed limit established by statute or indicated by official signs. so that The right wheels of the towed unit will shall not leave the paved portion of the roadway.

Section Hy 30.02(5) intro. is amended to read:

Hy 30.02(5) GENERAL CONDITIONS. Single trip permits are issued subject to the general conditions set forth in Wisconsin Administrative Code section Hy 30.01 (3) (e), 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 and 29, and 30 and the following:

Section Hy 30.02(5)(e)3b is amended to read:

Hy 30.02(5)(e)3b For movements between sunrise and 7:00 A.M. and between 8:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M. in the following counties and urban areas:

- (I) Brown, Dane, Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Rock and Waukesha Counties.
- (II) Within 10 miles of the corporate limits of the Cities of Appleton, Ashland, Chippewa Falls, Eau Claire except on Interstate Highway 94, Fond du Lac, Hudson except on Interstate Highway 94, Kaukauna, La Crosse except on Interstate Highway 90, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menasha, Neenah, Oshkosh, Sheboygan, Stevens Point except on U.S.H. 51, Superior, Two Rivers, Watertown, Wausau except on U.S.H. 51, West Bend, Whitewater, and Wisconsin Rapids.

Section Hy 30.02(5)(h) is amended to read:

Hy 30.02(5)(h) On two-lane, two way roadways, an escort vehicle, when required, shall precede a mobile home or modular building section over 12 feet wide being moved under a permit by a distance sufficient to give advance warning of the wide load to vehicles coming from the opposite direction. Where the road narrows because of a bridge or for any other reason, or at a sharp turn or other point of special hazard because of the width or length of the towed unit, the driver of the escort vehicle shall slow or stop, as necessary, to give adequate warning to oncoming traffic, utilizing hand flagging methods as necessary with a clean, bright red flag at least 16 18 inches square. On one-way roadways, an escort vehicle, when practicable, should follow the towed unit at a distance of several hundred feet with its required flasher(s) and sign facing to the rear.

Section Hy 30.02(5)(m) is amended to read:

Hy 30.02(5)(m) Two clean bright red flags in good condition shall be mounted on the front bumper of each escort vehicle and each towing vehicle, one on each side. The flags shall be not less than $\frac{16}{18}$ inches square and shall be supported on a short staff, so as to wave freely.

Section Hy 30.03(1)(a)2 is amended to read:

Hy 30.03(1)(a)2 The form shall specify that the applicant certifies that to the best of his knowledge and belief the statements contained in the application are true and correct, that he has read and understands the conditions which are a part of the application, that he will have the required insurance in effect while transporting under a permit, and that if granted a permit he will comply with all terms and conditions which apply to the movement. The form shall provide space for the signature of the applicant or his authorized agent and for the date of application. The form shall provide space for showing the amount of the permit fee and other charges, if any, and for the authorized representative of the Commission to acknowledge receipt thereof.

Section Hy 30.03(1)(b) is amended to read:

Hy 30.03(1)(b) Application for single trip permit by wire communication service. The commission designates the following described form as acceptable for use in applying for a single trip permit by wire communication service:

The application shall be directed to the division of highways at its main office in Madison, Wisconsin, shall provide space for the applicant to describe the load, the origin and terminus of the trip, the highways to be used, and make, type, license number, (if no license number, then the serial number) and dimensions of the towing and towed vehicles, and the number of axles on each. The form shall also provide space for the overall dimensions of vehicle and load, the gross weight on each axle, the axle spacing, the name and address of the owner of the load, the name and address of the owner and or lessee of the transporting equipment, and of the permittee's insurance company, the number and expiration date of the insurance policy, the number of hours the load will be on the road, the total miles to be traveled, the proposed date of movement, the place to which the permit is to be sent, and the name and address of the applicant. The form shall also provide space for the wire communication's service to certify that the required permit fee and other charges, if any, for permit review and issuance will be paid to the commission.

Section Hy 30.04(3) intro. is amended to read:

Hy 30.04(3) General Limitations on Issuance of Annual Permits. The issuance of annual permits shall be subject to the general limitations stated in Wis. Adm. Code sections Hy 30.01(3)(c) 1, 2 and 3 -4-, and the following:

Section Hy 30.04(3)(c) is repealed.

Section Hy 30.04(5) intro. is amended to read:

Hy 30.04(5) GENERAL CONDITIONS. Annual permits are issued subject to the general conditions set forth in Wis. Adm. Code sections Hy 30.01(3)(e) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, and 29, and 30 and the following:

Section Hy 30.05(1)(b) is created to read:

Hy 30.05(1)(b) The form shall provide space for showing the amount of the permit fee, and for the authorized representative of the commission to acknowledge receipt thereof.

Section Hy 30.06(5) intro. is amended to read:

(5) GENERAL CONDITIONS. General permits are issued subject to the general conditions set forth in Wis. Adm. Code sections Hy 30.01(3)(e) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 20, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 27, 29 and 30 and the following:

Section Hy 30.08(5) intro. is amended to read:

Hy 30.08(5) GENERAL CONDITIONS. Industrial interplant permits are issued subject to the general conditions set forth in Wis. Adm. Code sections Hy 30.01 (3)(e) 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 22, 25, 26-and 27, 29 and 30 and the following:

Section Hy 30.09(1)(b) is renumbered Hy 30.09(1)(c).

Section Hy 30.09(1)(b) is created to read:

Hy 30.09(1)(b) The form shall provide space for showing the amount of the permit fee, and for the authorized representative of the commission to acknowledge receipt thereof.

Section Hy 30.10(5) intro. is amended to read:

(5) GENERAL CONDITIONS. Pole and pipe transportation permits are issued subject to the general conditions set forth in Wis. Adm. Code sections Hy 30.01(3)(e) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 20, 21, 22, 23-and 24, and 30 and the following:

Section Hy 30.11(1)(b) is renumbered Hy 30.11(1)(c)

Section Hy 30.11(1)(b) is created to read:

Hy 30.11(1)(b) The form shall provide space for showing the amount of the permit fee, and for the authorized representative of the commission to acknowledge receipt thereof.

Section Hy 30.12(5)(a) is amended to read:

Section Hy 30.12(5)(a) Vehicle transportation permits are valid for both vehicles of a vehicle combination, one of which is the "haulaway" towing vehicle described in the application.

Section Hy 30.13(1)(a) is amended to read:

Section Hy 30.13(1)(a) Information to be required on application. The application shall be submitted in duplicate, shall be directed to the division of highways, and shall state that the application is made for a vehicle transportation permit for a vehicle combination specifically constructed for transporting motor vehicles, as provided in section 348.27(5), Wis. Stats. The form shall provide space for the applicant to indicate the make, manufacturer's serial number, type-of-vehicle, length-of-vehicle-(when-empty-and-leaded), the maximum-number-of vehicles-carried-on-the-permitted-vehicle, overall length of vehicle combination and load, the name and address of the owner and/or lessee of the transporting equipment, and-the-name-and-address-of-his-insurance-company, and-the-number-and-expiration-date-of-his-insurance-policy. The form shall also specify that the applicant understands that any vehicle transportation permit granted will be subject to the conditions which are a part of the application and that he accepts those conditions. The form shall provide space for the name and address of the applicant and the date of the application.

Section Hy 30.13(1)(b) is created to read:

Hy 30.13(1)(b) The form shall provide space for showing the amount of the permit fee, and for the authorized representative of the commission to acknowledge receipt thereof.

Section Hy 30.14(5) intro. is amended to read:

(5) GENERAL CONDITIONS. Trailer-train permits are issued subject to the general conditions set forth in Wis. Adm. Code sections Hy 30.01(3)(e) 1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 17, 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26-and 27, and 30 and the following:

Section Hy 30.15(1)(b) is renumbered Hy 30.15(1)(c).

Section Hy 30.15(1)(b) is created to read:

Hy 30.15(1)(b) The form shall provide space for showing the amount of the permit fee, and for the authorized representative of the commission to acknowledge receipt thereof.

Section Hy 30.16(5) intro. is amended to read:

Hy 30.16(5) GENERAL CONDITIONS. Mobile home annual permits are issued subject to the general conditions set forth in Wisconsin Administrative Code section Hy 30.01(3)(e) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, and 20 and the following:

Section Hy 30.17(1)(b) is renumbered Hy 30.17(1)(c).

Section Hy 30.17(1)(b) is created to read: The form shall provide space for showing the amount of the permit fee, and for the authorized representative of the commission to acknowledge receipt thereof.

Section Hy 30.20 is created to read:

- Hy 30.20 Charges for permits. (1) Pursuant to authority contained in s. 348.25(8), Wis. Stats., the commission does hereby establish the procedures, conditions and schedules under which fees shall be charged for the various types of permits issued pursuant to Sections Hy 30.02, 30.04, 30.06, 30.08, 30.10, 30.12, 30.14 and 30.16, Wis. Adm. Code.
- (2) The standard charge for each permit if issued pursuant to Hy 30.02 or 30.14 shall be \$1.00, and if issued pursuant to Hy 30.04, 30.06, 30.08, 30.10, 30.12 or 30.16 shall be \$3.00.
- (3) The fee shall accompany the application and shall be retained by the Department of Transportation only if a permit is issued upon the basis of that application.
- (4) The same fee shall be charged for the renewal of an annual permit as for the original annual permit, but no charge shall be made for the cancellation of an annual permit.
- (5) The same fee shall be charged for a change in an annual permit requiring that it be reissued to the permittee as is made for the original permit.
- (6) No charge shall be made to any department of the state nor to any county, town or municipality, nor to any branch of the United States government or the Armed Services, for any type of single trip or annual permit issued to any of them in their name.
- (7) No charge shall be made for a change in any type of permit necessitated by an error made by a state employee in the issuance of the permit.
- (8) The same fee as for the original permit shall be charged for an addendum to or change in an issued single trip permit (such as a change in routing, description of load, etc.), or for the authorized extension of a single trip permit to allow its use after the first date of expiration, or for a single trip permit issued following the revocation or revision of a permit.

- (9) All charges for the transmission of an application or a permit, other than by U.S. Mail, are in addition to the permit fee, and are the responsibility of the applicant/permittee.
- (10) Any application for a permit to move a load which is so large or heavy as to necessitate review of specific highways structures will require payment of a charge of \$4.00 in addition to the basic single trip permit fee of \$1.00. An additional charge of \$5.00 per hour will be made for the actual time spent by Division of Highways' Bridge Section personnel if more than two (2) man-hours are necessary to review the application.
- (11) A charge of \$1.00 per district will be made for any permit for the movement of a vehicle or load which by reason of its size or weight must be reviewed by one or more district offices.
- (12) In the case of mobile home annual permits and vehicle transportation permits (in which the permit is issued for the towing vehicle but includes the towed vehicle), only the \$3.00 fee which applies to the towing vehicle shall be charged.



State of Wisconsin \ DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION



June 5, 1975

DIVISION OF HIGHWAYS 4802 SHEBOYGAN AVENUE MADISON, WISCONSIN 53702

Mr. James J. Burke Revisor of Statutes 411 West Capitol Madison, Wisconsin

Dear Mr. Burke:

Administrative Rules Wisconsin Department of Transportation Division of Highways

We transmit herewith one certified copy of an order amending the rules of the Division of Highways. This order was adopted by the Commission on June 4, 1975, and is herewith filed with the Secretary of State and the Revisor of Statutes in compliance with Section 227.023, Wisconsin Statutes.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Young

Highway Commission Secretary

RY:klc

CC: The Honorable Douglas LaFollette