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CERTIFICATE 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF HIGHWAYS 

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GREETINGS: 

I, Secretary of the Highway Commission, and custodian 

of the official records of said commission do hereby certify 

that the annexed rules relating to the control of outdoor 

advertising signs, were duly approved and adopted by this 

commission on September 20, 1976. 

I further certify that said copy has been compared by 

me with the original on file in this commission and that the 

same is a true copy thereof, and of the whole of such 

original. 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have 
set my hand at the Hill Farms State 
Office Building in the City of 
Madison, this eO day of 
oC~t~A A.D. 1976. 

JlTh' W. Fuller, Secretary 
Highway Commission 



ORDER OF THE HIGHWAY COMMISSION 
ADOPTING, AMENDING AND REPEALING RULES 

Pursuant to authority vested in the Highway Commission 
by section 84.30 (14), Wis. Stats., the Highway Commission 
hereby repeals, amends, and· adopts rules as follows: 

1. Section Hy 19.001 of the Wis. Adm. Code is amended 
to read: 

Hy 19.001 GENERAL. Pursuant to authority contained in 
see~fefi-8473e seetions 84.30 and 86.19, Wis. Stats., as 
~ee~ea~ed-ey-efta~~e~-i97T-iaws-ef-i97iT the highway eommission 
adopt~ the following rules ~W±sõ-Adffi7-eede-seeefefis-i9õeei 
~fi~etl~fi-i97i4t to apply to signs along and visible from the 
interstate or federal-aid primary systems of highways in 
Wisconsin. ~fi-~fiese-~tl~eS7-eefflfflfssfefi-ffieafiS-fi±~ftway-eemm±ss±efi7 
These rules are so closely associated with the Wisconsin 
statutes, and make such extensi ve referenee to seetio·n 84.30, 
Wis. Stats., that it is essential t6 refer to both these rules 
and the law in order to apply the coritrois. Re~e~efiees-~e 
see~fefi-8473eT-Wfs7-S~a~s77-~e~e~-~e-see~fefi-84õ3e-~fte~ee~ 
as-~e~ea~ed-afid-~e-e~ea~ed-ey-efia~~e~~~97T-~aws-e~-~97iõ 

2. Seetion Hy 19.005 of the Wis. Adm. Code is adopted 
to read: 

By 19.005 DEFINITIONS. (1) "Back-to-back", "side-by­
side", "bottom-on-top" and "V-shaped" signs means signs 
which are physieally contiguous and which share a common 
structure, in whole or in part, or are loeated not more than 
15 feet apart at their nearest point in ca·ses of "back-to­
back" or "V-shaped" signs. 

(2) "Commission" means the highway commission. 

(3) A sign shall be presumed to be designed, erected or 
intended to be read ·from the main-traveled way if an adver­
tising message on the sign is readable from the main-traveled 
way by a person having normal visual. aeuity traveling at 
the speed limit. 

(4) ~Zoned" includes the estab1ishment of districts without 
restrictions on use. 



3. Section Hy 19.006 of the Wis. Adm. Code is 
adopted to read: 

Ry 19.006 LICENSING. The licensing requirement under 
section 84.30 (10), Wis. 'Stats., applies to persons who erect 
or maintain on-property signage as weIl as to persons who 
erect or maintain öff-premise advertising signs. Persons 
who erect or maintain signs for the purpose of advertising 
their own business are not subject to the licensing require­
ment. The licensing requirement does not apply to persobs 
who erect 2 or less signs during the calendar year. Any 
person whoviolates the licensing requirement shall be 
required to forfeit not less than $500 nor more than $lOQO. 
Violations shall be referred to the proper district attorney 
for p~osecution.· 

4. Section Hy 19.03 (title) and (intro.) of the Wis. 
Adm. Co de is amended to read: 

Hy 19.03 (title) DIRECTIONAL AND OFFICIAL SIGNS. 
(intro.) The following standards apply to directional and 
e~he~ official signs and notices which are e~eeeed-aftd 
maift~aifted-w±tft±ft-669-~eee-e~-~fte-ftea~ege-ed~e-e~-ehe-~i~he 
ef-way-e~-a-hi~hway-eft-the-±ftee~seaee-e~-~ede~a~-a±d-p~±ma~y 
sys~ems7-aftd-wh±eh-a~e visible from {he main traveled way 
of such an interstate or primary highway. These standards 
do not apply to directional and e~he~ official signs erected 
on the highway right-of-way. 

5. Section Hy 19.03 (1) (g) 2 of the Wis. Adm. Co de 
is amended to read: 

Hy 19.03 (1) (g) 2. Contain safeey-sie~afts-e~ public 
service messages, which shall occupy not less than 69% 50% 
of the area of the signs; ---

6. Sections Hy 19.05 and 19.06 of the Wis. Adm. Code 
are repealed. 

7. Section 19.08 (1) of the Wis. Adm. Code is 
amended to read: 

,Hy 19.08 (1) No change shall result in signing which 
violates afty-e~-ehe-e~±ee~±a-±ft section 84.30 ~~e~~-~9~~t, 
Wis. Stats., or these rules. Any sign which is found to 
be in non-compliance will be required to be altered to 
conform, or removed, at the expense of the owner thereof. 



"8. Seetion 19.09 of the wis. Adm. Code is repealed and 
reereated to read: 

Hy 19.09 REMOVAL OF ILLEGAL SIGNS. Any sign ereeted 
after October 1, 1972, without a permit having been granted 
therefor, and any noneonforming sign whieh subsequently 
violat~s seetion 84.30, Wis. Stats., or these rules, shall 
be subjeet to removal as an illegal signe Upon removal of 
an illegal sign, the owner of the sign shall be given 30' 
days in whieh to salvage the sign upon payment of aetual 
reasonable eosts ineurred in removing the signe If not 
salvaged, the sign may be disposed of as the eommission 
deems appropriate. 

9.Seetion 19.10 of the Wis. Adm. Code is repealed and 
reereated to read: 

Hy 19.10 REMOVAL OF NONCONFORMING SIGNS~ (1) Non­
eonforming signs, as defined by seetion 84.30 (5), Wis. 
Stats., shall be eliminated in aeeordanee with seetion 
84.30, Wis. Stats., and these rules. Compensation for 
removal of a noneonforming sign shall be paid in aeeordanee 
with seetions 84.30 (6) to (8), Wis. Stats., provided the 
sign has eomplied with the eonditions' in sub. (2). 

(2) In order to lawfully maintain and eontinue a noneon­
forming sign, or a so-ealled grandfathered sign under see. 
84.30 (3) (d)! Stats., the following eonditions apply: 

(a) The sign must have been aetually in existenee at 
the time the applieable state law beearne effeetive, exeept 
where a permit for the eonstruetion of a sign was granted by 
the state prior to the effeetive date of the state lawand 
the sign owner aeted in good faith and expended sums in 
reliance theron. This exeeption shall not apply in instanees 
where large numbers of permits were applied for and issued 
to a single sign owner, obviously in antieipation of the 
passage of a state eontrol law. 

(b) There must be existing pr~perty rights in the sign 
affeeted by the state law. 

"(e) The sign may be sold, leased, or otherwise trans­
ferred without affeeting its status, but its loeation may 
not be ehanged. A noneonforming sign removed as aresult of 
a right-of-way taking or for any other reason may be reloeated 
to a eonforming area but cannot be re-established at a new 
loeation as a noneonforming ilse. 

(d) The sign must have been lawful on the effeetive 
date of the state lawand must eontinue to be lawfully 
maintained. 



(e)· The signomust remain substantia11y the same as it 
was on the effective date of the state law, and may not be 
en1arged. Reasonab1e repair and maintenance of the sign, 
inc1uding a change of advertising message, is not a ehange 
whieh wou1d terminate norieonforming rights. Customary 
maintenanee eeases and a substantial ehange oeeurs if 
repairs or maintenance, exc1uding message ehanges, on a sign 
exceed$ 50% of the rep1aeement costs of the sign. 

(f) The sign may eontinue as long as it is not destroyed, 
abandoned or diseontinued. A sign sha11 be considered 
destroyed if it is damaged in excess of 50% of its rep1acement 
eost. Any sign destroyed by criminal or tortious aets may 
be rep1aced upon a showing by the sign owner that the sign 
was so destroyed. and upon written approva1 from the distriet 
offiee. App1ieations for rep1acement signs sha11 be submitted 
to the district offiee. If the distriGt office fai1s to send 
notice of its decision within 10 days after it reeeives an 
app1ieation, the sign owner may assume that r~p1aeement has 
been approved. As an a1ternative to rep1acement, the 
distriet office and sign owner may negotiate for the aequisition 
of the sign which was so destroyed. Approva1s of rep1aeements 
sha11 contain such terms and eonditions as are necessary to 
ensure that the rep1aeement sign is essentia11y the same as 
the sign destroyed. A sign is abanddned or diseontinued if 
for a period of 12 months or 10nger it is composed of 
obso1ete advertising matter or is without advertising matter 
or is in need of substantia1 repair, provided that any 
period of invo1untary diseontinuanee whieh occurs during the 
period a highway is e10sed sha11 not be considered. A sign 
is abandoned if the name of the owner does not appear thereon 
and if the name and address of the eurrent owner are not 

• readi1y ascertainab1e from reeords on fi1e with the eommission. 

(3) Sinee the provisions of sub. (2) ref1eet the law of 
this state with respeet to the treatment of noneonforming 
uses and the derivative policy of the eommission with 
respeet to noneonforming signs, the adoption of sub (2) 
sha11 not be eonstrued to affeet the app1icabi1ity. ör 
va1idity of such state law or derivative policy prior to the 
adoption of sub. (2). 

10. Seetion Hy 19.14 (intro.) of the Wis. Adm. Code is 
amended to read: 

Hy 19.14 PERMITS FEES. Signs ereeted after Mareh 18, 
1972 and found to comp1y with section 84.30 ~Re~.-i9~it 
Wis. Stats., and with these ru1es, wi11 be permitted upon 
payment of a permit issuanee fee. This permit issuance fee 
sehedu1e·may be adjusted by the commission as necessary to 
offset administrative costs, but is initia11y estab1ished as 
fo110ws: · 



11. Section Hy 19.20 of the Wis. Adm. Co de is adopted 
to read: 

Hy 19.20 HEARINGSi TRANSCRIPTS. Hearings concerning 
sign removal notices under section 84.30 (11), Wis. Stats., 
or the denia1 or revocation of a sign permit or 1icense 
sha11 be conducted as are hea ring s in contested cases under 
chapter 227, Wis. Stats. The decision of the hearing 
examiner in such matters shal1 be considered the decision of 
the highway commission, and is subject to judicial review 
under chapter 227, Wis. Stats. Any person requesting a 
transcript of the proceedings from the commission shall pay 
$1.00 per page for the transcript. 

The ru1es, amendments and repea1s contained herein 
sha11 take effect as provided in sec. 227.026 (1) (intro.), 
Wis. Stats. 

Dated this t?C? day of September, 1976. 

ul1er, Secretary 
Commission 


