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TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GREETINGS:

I, Howard B. Eisenberg, State Public Defender, and custodian of the official
records of said Board do hereby certify that the annexed rules relating to Chapter
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1978.
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file with this Board, and that the same is a true copy thereof, and of the whole of

such original.
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ORDER OF THE STATE PUBLIC DEFENDER BOARD

Pursuant to authority vested in the State Public Defender Board by Chapter

977 , Wis. Stats., the State Public Defender Board hereby adopts rules as follows:

Chapter SPD 1—Certification
Chapter SPD 2—Assignment Procedure
Chapter SPD 3—Indigency Criteria

Chapter SPD 4—Private Attorney Payment

A copy of the above rules is attached.
The rules contained herein shall take effect pursuant to authority granted

by Chapter 227, Wis, Stats.

Dated:__dlw% 13, 192% %( 6/%—(

HOWARD B. EISENBERG
State Public Defender
Office of State Publie Defender



Chapter SPD 1

CERTIFICATION

SPD 1.01 Annual review. (1) Each December the state public defender shall

contact every active member of the state bar of Wisconsin and inform each
attorney of the procedure for applying for certification under the provisions of s,
977.08. Such attorneys may be required to respond wifhin 30 days. Publication of a
notice in a publication of the state bar of Wisconsin may constitute such notice.

(2) Each December the state public defender shall contact every attorney
certified under s. 977.08, and ascertain which attorneys have died, left the state,
no longer engage in active practice, or no longer desire to remain on the certified
lists. Sucvh attorneys shall be removed from the certified lists.

(3) Each December every attorney certified under s. 977.08 shall submit to
the state public defender the hours of approved continuing legal education
completed and the titles of all such programs as required by SPD 1.04(4) of these

rules.

SPD 1.02 Certification of newly admitted attorneys. The state public defender

shall provide the Wisconsin supreme court and the state bar of Wisconsin wita
materials to insure that every person admitted to the state bar after January 1,
1978, is provided with information for applying for certification under s. 977.08.
Every person admitted to the state bar of Wisconsin may submit such certification

application within 30 days of admission to the bar.



SPD 1.03 Certification application. The state public defender shall prepare an

application to be completed by attorneys seeking certification as provided in s.

977.08(3).

SPD 1.04 Certification criteria. (1) An attorney shall be certified in the following

categories if he or she meets the following criteria:

(a) Misdemeanor, chapters 48, 51, and 55 representation, conditions of

confinement, appeal, and probation and parole revocation cases.

(i)  The attorney has requested certification;

(ii) The attorney has graduated from law school and is admitted to the state
bar of Wisconsin; and

(iif) The attorney has completed the continuing legal education requirements
as provided in sub. (4).

(b) ~ Felony cases.

(1)  The attorney has requested certification;

(ii) The attorney has graduated from law school and is admitted to the state
bar of Wisconsin;

(iii) The attorney has completed the continuing legal education requirements
as provided in sub. (4); and

(iv) Either
1. Has served one year as a prosecutor;
2. Has served one year as a public defender;
3. Has represented five defendants in misdemeanor cases; or
4. Has represented two defendants in felony cases.

(2) Attorneys employed by the state public defender shall meet the same

criteria as certified private attorneys.



(3) Exclusions. (a) No attorney may be excluded from certification based
upon the comments of the district attorney, judge, or county bar president;
however, an attorney may be excluded by the state public defender on the following
grounds:

(i) The attorney is disbarred, suspended, or has surrendered his license to

practice law in this state;

(ii) The attorney fails to meet the continuing legal education requirements

set forth in sub. (4); or

(iii) The attorney fails to meet the experience criteria set forth herein,

(b) The state public defender may exclude from a certified list any attorney
barred by statute from engaging in criminal representation,

(¢) Any attorney who is excluded from the certification list by virtue of the
exclusions set forth herein above shall be placed on the apprbopriate certification
list within 30 days after a submission of a written notification to the state public
defender that the attorney is no longer excluded, provided further that such
attorney had previously submitted a timely and properly prepared certification
application.

(4) Continuing legal education. Commencing January 1, 1979, any attorney

certified under these rules shall complete seven hours of continuing legal education
each calendar year in courses approved by the executive board of the eriminal law

section of the state bar of Wisconsin,

SPD 1.05 Appeal of certification decisions. (1) The state public defender shall send

each attorney who has submitted a certification application the final certified list

for each county in which the attorney has applied.



Upon request by that attorney, the state public defender shall inform the
attorney excluded from a participating list of the reasons for the exclusion from a
particular list and the manner by which he may appeal the decision or reapply for
recertification,

(2) Any attorney may appeal the state public defender's certification decision
by mailing a letter of appeal to the state public defender within 30 days of the
notice of exclusion. The aggrieved attorney shall state in such letter the
certification from which he or she has been excluded. Such letter may also state
the reasons the attorney believes such exclusion was improper.

(3) Upon receipt of such appeal letter, the state public defender shall place
the matter on the agenda of the next state public defender board meeting unless
such meeting is less than 10 days from the receipt of the appeal letter, in which
case the matter may be scheduled for the following meeting. The state public
defender shall, at least 10 days prior to hearing, inform the aggrieved attorney of
the time and place of the board meeting at which the appeal will be considered.

(4) The state public defender shall transmit to the board and the aggrieved
attorney all material relied upon in reaching the certification decision, including
the certification application and all written comments received under s. 977;08(3).

(5) The aggrieved attorney may request that the state public defender
reproduce and submit to the board such reasonable material as the attorney deems
relevant to the appeal. The hearing before the board shall be considered a "class 3"
proceeding and is governed by ss. 227.07 to 227.09.

(6) The state public defender board may deliberate the matter in executive
session pursuant to the provisions of s, 19.85(1)(a). The board shall issue a written
decision either affirming, reversing, or in some way modifying the certification

decision of the state public defender. Such written decision shall be mailed to the



aggrieved attorney within five days of the board meeting and shall be signed by an

officer of the board.

(7) The board's written decision shall constitute findings of fact and

conclusions of law within the meaning of s. 227.10.

SPD 1.07 Voluntary removal. Any attorney may request to be removed from any

certified list for a specified period of time, and the state public defender shall
remove such attorney for the period specified and shall then return the attorney to

the list without further application.

SPD 1.08 Access to files, (1) The state public defender shall not disclose to any

person except the subject, any comments made by any judge, district attorney, or
county bar president in accordance with s. 977.08(3), unless ordered to do so by the

public defender board or a court.

(2) Only certified lists, board proceedings and decisions under these rules

shall be considered public documents and open to public inspection.
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Chapter SPD 2

ASSIGNMENT PROCEDURE

SPD 2.01 Definitions. (1) "Emergency assignment" means any situation in which
counsel is required on a legal holiday, Saturday, or Sunday, between 5:00 p.m. and
7:30 a.m., or on less than one hour's notice,

(2) "Regular assignment" means any situation in which counsel is required
other than under (1).

(3) "Blind draw" shall mean a procedure such that the person assigning the
case does not know in advance whether the case will be assigned to a staff attorney
or to a private attorney. It shall consist of a tab system for each county
proportionately reflecting the percentage ratio assigned to that county by the
board under s, 977.02(6). No system for each county shall contain more tabs than
the immediate preceding year's indigent caseload.

(4) "Board" means the state public defender board.

SPD 2.02 Emergency assignment procedure. (1) In any emergency situation the

representative Qf the state public defender shall assign the attorney who is located
the nearest to where counsel is required and who is available to provide
representation, whether such attorney is a staff public defender or private
attorney.

(2) Unless the interests of justice require otherwise, the person shall be
provided regular counsel under SPD 2.03 and the attorney who provides emergency

representation need not continue on the case and need not be permanently assigned.




(3) If it subsequently appears that the person afforded emergency
representation is not entitled to publiely compensated counsel, that person shall be
required to compensate the state public defender for such services at the hourly

rate established by the board for that county.

SPD 2.03 Regular assignment procedure. (I) As soon as it is brought to the

attention of a representative of the office of the state public defender that a
person who claims or appears to be indigent is entitled to and/or has requested
counsel, a person designated by the state public defender shall contact that person
for the sole purpose of assisting that person in completing the indigency
questionnaire, and a staff or designated attorney will determine whether that
person is entitled to publicly compensated counsel under the criteria established by
Chapter SPD 3.

(2) If the person is eligible for publicly compensated counsel, a representa-
tive of the state public defender shall determine by blind draw as to whether the
case is to be assigned to a staff attorney or local private counsel.

(3) If the case is to be assigned to a staff attorney, a representative of the
state public defender shall notify the supervising attorney in the appropriate office
of the state public defender who shall designate a certain attorney to represent
that person.

(4) If the case is to be assigned to local private counsel, a representative of
the state public defender shall immediately contact the attorney whose name
appears on the top of the appropriate certification list and assign that attorney to
represent that person., If that attorney cannot accept the assignment, the next
attorney on the list shall be contacted and the first attorney's name shall be placed
on the bottom of the list as required by s. 977.08(3)(¢). If the attorney accepts the

assignment, that attorney's name shall be placed on the bottom of the list,



SPD 2.04 Person's right to refuse specific attorney. (1) A person may request that

the attorney assigned to represent him or her be discharged and that another
attorney be assigned, and the state public defender shall honor such request,
provided:

(a) It is the only such request made by the person in that case; and,

(b) Such change in counsel will not delay the disposition of the case or
otherwise be contrary to the interests of justice,

(2) In the event the court or public defender authorizes an attorney to
withdraw as counsel, the state public defender shall assign the attorney who next
appears on the top of the appropriate certification list and place the original
attorney's name on the top of that list., In the event the attorney discharged is a

staff publie defender, another staff public defender shall be assigned the case.

SPD 2.05 Conflict cases. The state public defender shall not represent more than

one person at trial charged in the same case or any client whose interests conflict
with any other client. Such cases shall be assigned to private local counsel and

compensated as part of the private bar percentage as determined by s, 977.02(6).

SPD 2.08 Countles in which private counsel may be certified. Attorneys may be

certified only in those counties in which they reside or maintain their principal
office, provided, however, in counties in which there are less than five attorneys on
any certification list, those attorneys residing or maintaining their principal office
in one or more adjacent counties may also be certified for that county. In cases of

conflict, attorneys certified in adjoining counties may be appointed.
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SPD 2.07 Public representation after case commenced by retained counsel. (1) If

it is necessary for a person to obtain publicly compénsated counsel after having
retained counsel because of the lack of sufficient funds, the attorney who was
originally retained may be assigned and publicly compensated if:

(a) The court finds that the interests or administration of justice will be
severely damaged by a change in counsel; or

(b) The retained attorney is certified to provide such representation; and,

1. It appears that the attorney had a reasonable expectation of
receiving his or her entire fee when he or she was retained;

2. Such necessity for publicly compensating this retained counsel
has occurred no more than once in the preceding 12 months; and,

3. The client and attorney consent.

(2) Such case shall be computed as part of the private bar percentage estab-
lished under s. 977.02(6).

(3) Under no circumstances shall the state public defender compensate
counsel for services rendered prior to the effective date of assignment by the state
public d’efender.

(4) In the event a representative of the state public defender is appointed as
counsel, such case shall be computed as part of the state public defender

percentage established under s. 977.02(6).

SPD 2.08 Court's right to review indigency determination. (1) Any person

determined by the state public defender not to be eligible for publicly compensated
counsel may request that the court having jurisdiction over the case review the

state public defender's indigency determination.
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(2) After affording the defendant and a staff attorney of the state public
defender the opportunity to be heard, such court may order the state public
defender to provide representation, and the state public defender shall assign
counsel, _ |

(3) Such court-ordered representation shall not preclude a finding of partial
indigency and the requirement that the person make partial payment to the state

public defender.

SPD 2.09 Special types of representation, In the following types of cases private

local counsel may be assigned from the indicated certification lists:

(1) Probation, parole, or juvenile aftercare revocation cases — from the
certified list relatlhg to the original offense,

(2) Extradition cases — from felony certification list.

(3) Habeas corpus cases (prior to conviction) — from certified list relating to
the originai offense,

(4) Habeas corpus cases (after conviction) — from appellate certification

list,

(5) Post-Conviction motion cases — from appellate certification list,

(8) Civil or criminal contempt cases — from misdemeanor or felony certifi-
cation list,

(7) Extraordinary remedy cases — from felony or appellate certification list,
depending on nature of case.

(8) Mental reexamination cases — from civil commitment certification list,
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SPD 2.10 Written notice of assignment. (1) As soon as a regular assignment of

counsel is made, the representative of the state public defender shall provide the
clerk of court having jurisdiction over that case, in writing, the name, address, and
telephone number of the attorney providing representation.

(2) In cases assigned to local private counsel, the representative of the state
public defender shall send that attorney written confirmation of the assignment
showing:

(a) The effective date of the assignment;

(b) The type of case, including the court and case number (if known);

(e) The client's full name, address, and present location;

(d) Information regarding compensation as provided in Chapter SPD 4 of

these rules.

SPD 2.11 Appellate representation. (1) Appellate representation shall be con-

sidered a separate case and reassigned under SPD 2.03 of these rules,

(2) The state public defender shall assign to independent private counsel any
case in which a staff attorney of the state public defender's office provided trial
representation and it is arguable that the client was not afforded effective repre-

sentation,

SPD 2.12 Investigative and expert services for private attorneys. (1) The state

public defender shall make available to private attorneys assigned under these
provisions the services of staff investigators. In the event a staff investigator is

not available or is providing services in a conflicting case, the state public defender
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shall authorize the private attorney to retain such investigatory services as may
reasonably be required, and such investigator shall be compensated by the state
public defender.

(2) If a private attorney assigned under these provisions finds it necessary to
retain expert assistance who will not be compensated by a court, the attorney shall
apply to the state public defender for permission to retain such expert assistance.
The state public defender shall approve such request unless the state public
defender and the chairperson of the board or a board member designated by the
chairperson find that such request or the anticipated fee is unreasonable, The state

public defendant shall compensate the assistance approved under this provision.
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Chapter SPD 4

PRIVATE ATTORNEY PAYMENT

SPD 4.01 Billing form, At the time a private attorney is assigned a case by the
state public defender pursuant to SPD 2.03, the state public defender shall furnish
thé attorney with a billing form to be submitted when the case is concluded. The

torm shall include an itemized listing of the service provided and the expenses

incurred.

SPD 4.02 Submission of bill. At the conclusion of the case, the private attorney

shall submit the billing form to the Madison office of the state public defender for
payment of legal services and expenses according to the hourly rate established by
the board. The state public defender shall promptly review the bill as required by

8. 977.08(4) and promptly authorize payment,

SPD 4.03 Appeal. (1) Any attorney may appeal the state public defender's
reduction of any submitted bill by mailing a letter of appeal to the state public
defender within 30 days of receipt:of the reduced payment. During the pendency of
the appeal the attorney may negotiate the check for the reduced payment without
walver of the right to appeal.

(2) Upon receipt of such appeal letter, the state public defender shall place
the matter on the agenda of the next state publie defendef board meeting unless
such meeting is less than 10 days from the receipt of the appeal letter, in which

case the matter may be scheduled for the following meeting. The state publie



_17_

defender shall, at least 10 days prior to hearing, inform the aggrieved attorney of
the time and place of the board meeting at which the appeal will be considered.

(3) The aggrieved attorney may request that the state public defender
reproduce and submit to the board such reasonable material as the attorney deems
relevant to the appeal. The hearing before the board shall be considered a "class 3"
proceeding and is governed by ss. 227.07 to 227.09.

(4) The state public defender board may deliberate the matter in executive
session pursuant to the provisions of s, 19.85(1)(a). The board shall issue a written
decision either affirming or in some way modifying the decision of the state public
defender. Such written decision shall be mailed to the aggrieved attorney within
five days of the board meeting and shall be signed by an officer of the board.

(5) The board's written decision shall constitute findings of fact and
conclusions of law within the meaning of s. 227.10.

(6) In the event the board increases the amount to be paid to the attorney,
the state public defender shall immediately authorize such payment and request

that the state treasurer issue such payment as soon as possible.
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Chapter SPD 3

INDIGENCY CRITERIA

SPD 3.01 General rule. A person shall be eligible for the assignment of publicly

compensated counsel if the anticipated cost of retaining counsel exceeds the

erson's available assets.
P

SPD 3.02 Cost of retained counsel, (1) The "anticipated cost of retaining counsel,"

which shall constitute attorneys fees only, shall be determined by this schedule:

In counties In counties
in which in which
hourly rate is hourly rate is
$40 or more less than $40

Ist or 2nd degree murder $3500 $3000
Other armed felony 2200 1800
Drug related felony 1600 1200
Other felony 1600 1200
Traffic misdemeanor 400 300
Other misdemeanor 500 400
Juvenile 500 400
Civil commitment 565 450
Appeal to court of appeals 2000 1500

(2) Beginning in July, 1979, and every July thereafter, the state public
defender shall survey the attorneys certified under s. 977.08, and the board may

revise the schedule of the "anticipated cost of retaining counsel."

SPD 3.03 Computation of available assets. (1) A person's "available assets" shall

be determined by adding together:

(a) The person's liquid assets as defined in s. 977.07(2);
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(b) The amount which could be raised by a loan on the person's non-liquid
assets as provided in s. 977.07(2), which, unless otherwise apparent, shall be
computed as one-fourth the person's equity in such property; and,

(¢) The amount of income or other money the person anticipates receiving
during the pendency of the case, and subtracting from that sum the amount
required to provide the necessities of life for that person and those dependent on
that person, during the pendency of the case.

(2) The "amount required to provide the necessities of life, means 150% of
the standards specified in s, 49.19(11)(a)l, plus other specified, emergency, or
essential costs and the cost of posting bond to obtain release.

(3) The state public defender shall annually review the indigency standards
specified herein and revise those standards as required.

(4) For the purposes of this section felony and appellate cases are pending for

eight months, all other cases for four months.

SPD 3.035 Consideration of need for expert services. (1) If it appears probable at

the time the indigency determination is made that it will be necessary to retain
expert assistance in a case, the anticipated cost of retaining such assistance shall
be added to the "anticipated cost of retaining counsel" under SPD 3.02.

(2) If a person has retained counsel, but subsequently finds that he or she
lacks sufficient assets to both retain counsel and the necessary assistance:

(a) That person may apply for public representation after commencement of

the case under SPD 2.07; or
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(b) That person and the retained counsel may apply to the state public
defender for compensation for such assistance, provided, however, that:
l. The person gives a sworn statement under SPD 3.05; and
2. The need and cost of such assistance is approved under SPD

2.12(2).

SPD 3.04 Partial payment, (1) If the person has insufficient assets to retain

counsel, the state public defender shall provide counsel under s. 977.08, and may
require the person to make payments to the state in partial payment of legal fees,
provided however, that such payments shall not exceed the actual value of the legal
services provided as determined by the rate set by the state public defender board.
Such payment agreement shall be in writing in conformity to s. 977.07(7).

(2) If a person is confined to an institution and is not required to pay for the
necessities of life, that person shall be required to remit all assets over $200 in
partial payment of legal fees.

(3) The state public defender may reduce the payments for legal fees under
this section if it appears, by sworn statement of the person, that the person's
financial status has sufficiently changed to warrant reduction in the payments or

that the interests of justice require such reduction.

SPD 3.05 Sworn statement. All persons provided with publicly compensated

counsel shall be required to give a sworn statement of their assets, liabllities, and

expenses. Such statement shall be a public document.



