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PREFACE

Section 48.65, Stats., requires that persons operating day care centers for chlldren be li-
censed. The legislative hlstory of 5. 418,65, Stats., clearly indicates that it not only includes
family and group day care centers but also day camps which provide, for compensation, care
and supervision for 4 or more children under 7 years of age for less than 24 hours a day. There-
fore, the department has developed rules, some of which apply to all day care centers Includ-
ing day camps, while others: recognize and make provision for certain umque dﬂferencw in the
envirohmental and the programatic aspects of each type of care. - T LN

The statute also requires that the department establish rules which must be met in order to
qualify for a license and which protect and promote the health, safety and welfare of the chil-
dren in a day care center, Chapter HSS 55 reprosents the ménirum level of acceptable care
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that a license may provide to children in a day care center in Wisconsin. These rules should
not be confused with accreditation by professional organizations which is based upon con-
{ormity with ideal rather than minimal standards, or wath certification of day care providers
for purchase of services with public funds. .o

Clearly, the fact thata day care center Is licensed in no way diminishes the responsibility of
parents for vigilance in seeing that their children are recelving eare which protects their phys:-
cal well-being and encourages hea.lthy mtellectual and emotlonal development

’ Whenever the rules in this chapter indicate that materials such asa request for a varian
an application for licensure or a complaint about a center are to be sent to or may be requmte&
from the department, the speclfic departmental agency to contact is the department s re-
gional office serving the geographic area of the state in which the day care center is focated, If
the regional office address is unknown to the day care center operator, a parent or other inter-
ested person, ‘then he or she may get the address from the Office for Children; Youth and Fam-
ilies, Dlvmon of Commumty Services, P.0. Box 7851, Madison, WI 53707 (608-266-3036),

Subchapter 1 — General Prov1s10ns

HSS 55 01 Scope. Sections HSS 55.01 through 55 10 apply to ail day
care centers for children. :

Hlstory. Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84.

HSS 55,02 Authorlty and purpose. (1) AUTHORITY: Subchapters 1, II
III and IV are promulgate under the authorlty of 5. 48 67, Stats.

(2) PuRPoSE. The purpose of this chapter is to protect and promote the
health, safety and welfare of clnldren in day care centers in Wisconsin,

“(3) CONSTRUCTION. Th1s chapter shall be hberally construed to effect
the obzectwes in sub. (2).

(4) EXCEPTION 70 RULES, The department may grant a variance to a
requirément of this chapter when it is assured that the health, safety and
welfare of the children served will not be jeopardized. A request for a
variance shall be in writing, shall be sent to the department, and shall
include justification for the requested action and an explanation of the
alternatwe provisions planned to meet the intent of the rule.

!-hslory. Cr Reglster, Qctober, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84.

HSS 55.03. Apphcab:hty This subchapter and suhchs II II1 and IV
“apply to all day care centers, whether the facility in which the child care
and supervision is provided is known as a day care center, family day
care, day camp, camp, day nursery, nursery school, preschool, head start
or by another desighation, but they do not apply to.

(1) Group lessons to develop a talent or skill, such as dance or muslc,
social group meetings and activities, group athletlc activities and reli-
ﬁlous education classes where a child attends for 2 hours or less a day or 5

ours or iess a week

{(2) Care and superwsmn whlle the parents are on the premises and are
erigaged in shopping, recreation or other non-work activities;

(3) Seasonal programs of 10 days or less duration in any . ‘8-month pe-
rlod including day camps, vaeation bible school and holiday child care
programs, L

(4) Care and superwsmn in emergency 31tuat10ns, and
Register, August, 1985, No. 366
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(6) Care and supervision while the parent is employed on the premises
if the parent’s child receives care and supervision for no more than 2
hours a day.

. History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84; emerg. am. eff. 4-22-85; am, Reg-
ister, August, 1985, No. 356, efi, 9-1-85.

HSS 55.04 Definitions, In subchs, I, I, IIT and IV:

(1) “Assistant child care teacher” means a child care worker who
works under the supervision of a child care teacher,

(2) “Base camp' means the permanent premises, public or private, on
which the day camp is operated.

(8) ““Camp director” means the individual on the campsite who is
responsibile for the administration of the camp, including program oper-
ations, business operations, food service, health service, and other sup-
portive services. ‘

Register, August, 1985, No. 3566







HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES 117
HSS 55

{c) When power tools and other tools Iare not in use, they shall be
stored in an area not aecessible to ehildren. '

(11) HORSEBACK RIDING. (a) This subsection shall apply whether the .
camp owns, rents, or leases horses.

(b) Children may ride horseback only under close supervision in a ring
or other enclosed area.

{c) The riding tack shall be maintained in good repair to provide maxi-
mutn safety for children, It shall be appropriate to the age, size, and abil-
ity of the rider.

. {d) Horseback riding shall be specifically covered by the camp’s liabil-
ity insuranee,

(12) DAY TRIPS, For day trips away from the base camp:

_ (a) Staff shall carry signed parental permission for the emergency med-
teal care of all children on the day trip;

(b) The counselor-child ratio under s. HSS 55.42 (8) (b) shall be main-
tained, except that the number of adults accompanying children away
from the base camp may be no fewer than 2;

. () A planned source of emergency medical care in the area to be vis-
ited shall be known to staff: and '

(d) A list of children participating in the day trip shall he maintainéd
by a counselor accompanying the children.

Hislory: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84,

Subchapter ¥ — Day Care Programs Es{ablished
by School Boards

HSS 55.50 Definitions, In this subchapter, “establish and provide”
means to fund the day care program and to control the daily operation of
the program.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 358, eff, 9-1-85.

HSS 55,51 Compliance with licensing standards. (1) A day care program
established and provided by a scheol board shall comply with applicable
standards under subehs, I, and II, IIT or IV governing the operation of
day care centers,

(2) The department shall inspect the day care program established and
provided by a school board and document in writing for the school board
whether or not the day care program complies with the applicable stan-
dards for day care centers under this chapter,. .

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9-1-85.
~

Sulichapter VI — Day Care Cerlification

HSS 55.55 Authority, purpose and applicability. (1) AUTHORITY AND
PURPOSE. This subchapter 1s promulgated pursuant to s. 46.03 (21),
Stats., and implements s. 48,661, Stats. It establishes standards for the
certification of persons who provide day care for 1 to 3 children or who

Register, Angust, 1985, No. 356
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are not otherwise required to be licensed as a day care center under s,
HSS 55.05, and whose services are purchased by county social service
departments with state community aid funds. The standards are in-
tended to protect the health, safety and welfare of children in the care of
these providers.

(2) APPLICABILITY, This subchapter applies to county agencies and to
all providers of day care who receive reimbursement from county agen-
cies and who are not required to be licensed under s, HS8 55,08, including
providers of day care for 1 to 3 children, providers of day care for a child
in the child’s home and providers of day care for school-age children.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85.
HSS 55,56 Definitions. In this subchapter:

{1) *“Certified day care” means day care not required to be licensed asa
day care center and which meets standards for purchase of care by
county agencies.

(2) “Certified day care operator” means an individual, corporation,
partnership or non-incorporated association or cooperative which has le-
gal and financial responsibility for the operation of the day care program
and for meeting the certification rules,

{8) “County ageney’’ means a county department of social services or
a county department of human services.

(4) “Department”’ means the Wisconsin department of health and so-
cial services. :

(8) “EPSDT” means early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treat- '

ment, a health screening and referral program for children from low-in-
gz;ntg families under 42 CFR 441.50 to 441,90 and ss, 49.46 and 49.47,

(6) “Family day care center’ means a day care center licensed under
subchs, I and IT,

(7) “Family day care provider' means a person providing care for pre-
school or school-age children or both outside their homes for less than 24
hours a day and who is not required to be licensed under s, 48,65, Stats,,
because the provider is caring for fewer than 4 children under 7 years old
who are unrelated to the provider, . - :

(8) “Group day care center” means a day care center licensed under
subchs. I and III1.

(9 “Infant” means a child under one year of age. .

(10) “In-home provider” means a person caring for a child in the
child’s own home.

(11) “Parent” means a parent as defined in s, 48.02 (13), Stats, ora
guardian as defined in s, 48,02 (9), Stats,

(12} *‘Parochial or other private school-operated day care program”
means & program providing care and supervision for less than 24 hours a
day for 4 or more children under the age of 7 and which is exempt from
being licensed as a day care center under s, 48,65, Stats,

Register, August, 1985, No. 366
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(13) “Provider” means a persen who provides day care for children.

(14) “School-age day care program” means a program providing care
and supervision for less than 24 hours a day for 7 or more school-age -
children who are at least 7 years of age but less than 12 years of age and
gt}:g] is exempt from being licensed as a day care center under s. 48.65,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85,

HSS 55.57 Conditions for purchase of services. A county agency may
purchase day care only from a family day care center licensed by the
department under subchs, I and II, a group day care center licensed by
the department under subchs. I and III, a day camp licensed by the de-
partment under subehs, I and IV, a day care provider certified b{ a
county agency under this subchapter or a day care program established
and provided by a public school board. ‘

History: Or. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85,

HSS 55,58 Certification. (1) BASIS FOR CERTIFICATION, In order to bhe
certified, a day care provider shall be exempt from having to be licensed
under subchs. I, and IT, ITI or IV and shall comply with the appropriate
si;]anc‘l;ards for the type of certifted provider that are specified in this sub-
chapter, : o

(2) TYPES OF CERTIFIED PROVIDERS, The following types of day care
?roviders shall be certified as a condition for receiving county day care
unds: .

(a} Family day care providers and in-home providers. Family day care
and in-home providers are required to meet the standards under s. HSS
55.61 and may care for preschool children or up to 6 school-age children
or a combination of preschool and school-age children consistent with
Table 55.61 (5). -

{b) School-uge day care programs. School-age day care programs are
required to meet the standards under s. HSS 55.62; .

(e} Private and parochial school-operated day care programs. Private and
parochial school-operated day care programs are required to meet the

standards referred to under s, HSS 66.63; and - ¢

{(d) Other day care programs. Other day care programé identified under
s. HSS 56.03 (1), (2) and (8) for which a license is not reguired are re-
quired to meet the standards referred to under s. HSS 56.63.

{8) APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION. (a) Form. Application for certifi-
cation shall be made on a form available from the county agency in the
provider's county. The applicant shall submit the completed form to
that county agency. St

(b) References.. The applicant shall submit with the application the
names and addresses of persons who can attest to the applicant's good
character and ability to care for children. The county agency shall re-
quire references of all applicants and shall contact references by phone or
letter before certifying an applicant. L

(¢) Compliance with standards and certification, The county agency
'shall process all certification applications as follows:

Register, August, 1985, No. 356
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1, If the application is for certification under sub. (2) (a), the county
agency shall ensure that the applicant is in compliance with all standards
under s, HS8 55.61 prior to issuing a certificate.

2. If-the application is for cerification under sub. (2) (b) or (e), the
county agency shall refer the application to a licensing representative in
the department’s regional office. The licensing representative shall deter-
mine whether the applicant is in compliance with all standards under s,
HSS 55.62 or meets current day care center standards set out in subchs. I
and II or III, as applicable, and report back to the county ageney. The
county agency may issue a certificate based on the licensing representa-
tive's report. . . :

(d) Approval, Within 60 days after receiving a completed application
for certification or recertification, the county agency shall either approve
the application and issue a certificate or deny the application. If an appli-
cation is denied, the county agency shall give the applicant the reasons,
in writing, for denial. .

(4) CATEGORIES OF CERTIFICATION. Certification of a provider by a
county ageney shall be provisional, regular or limited as follows:

(a) Provisional cerfification. Provisional certification shall be issued for
the purpose of determining whether a provider is able to come into com-
pliance with designated standards prior to granting regular certification.
Provisional certification shall be the initial stage of regular certification,

_ shall be restricted to 6 months, and may not be renewed;

(b} Regular cerlification. Regular certification may be issued only after

the provider has demonstrated compliance with all certification stan-

dards during the 6-month provisional certification, Regular certification
shall be for a period of one year and shall be renewed annually upon ap-
plication and if the provider continues to comply with the certification
standards; or

(c) Limiied cerlification. In order to meet emergency or short-term
needs, limited certification may be issued to a provider for no more than
30 consecutive days and not more than 3 fimes in any 12-month period.
The department may designate particular standards in this subchapter
that may be waived by a county agency for this category of certification
provided that the health, safety and welfare of children in the care of the
provider will not be adversely affected.

{5) EXCEPTIONS TCO PARTICULAR CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS, A
county agency may grant an exception to any standard in s, HSS 55,61,
55.62 or 55.63 if the county agency is convinced that an alternative
means meets the intent of the requirement.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No, 356, eff, 9-1-85,

HSS 55.59 Sanctions. (1) The county agency shall deny, suspend, re-
voke or refuse to renew certification and discontinue payment for care if
the certified day care operator, day care program employe, provider, as-
sistant to the provider, substitute provider or person living in the family
day care provider's home: ;

{a) Is the subject of a pending criminal charge if the charge substan--

tially relates to the circumstances of caring for children or the activities
of the home; or .

Register, August, 1985, No. 356
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(b} Has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offenise the
circumstances of which substantially relate to the care of children or ac-
tivities of the home,

(2) The county agency may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew
certification and discontinue payment for care if the certified day care
operator, day care program employe, provider, assistant to the provider,
iubstitute provider or person living in the family day care provider’s

ome; -

(a) Has been determined to have abused or neglected a child pursuant
to s. 48.981, Stats.; or .

{b) Is the subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned his
or her child, has inflicted emotional damage or sexual or physical abuse
on a ehild or has neglected or refused, for reasons other than poverty, to
provide necessary care, food, clothing, medical or dental eare or shelter
80 as to seriously endanger the physical health of a child.

(8) The county agency may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew
certification and discontinue payment for care if:

(a) The provider is not in compliance with certification standards
under 8. HSS 55.61, 55.62 or 55.63, as appropriate; or

(b} The provider’s references or other community information does
not support the provider's declaration that he or she is able to provide an
acceptable level of child care. ‘ ’

History: Cr., Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eif, 9-1-85,

HSS 55.60 Appeal. If a county agency denies, suspends, revokes or
refuses to renew a certification, the county agency shall notify the pro-
vider in writing and give reasons for the action. The action is reviewable
pursuant to ch. 68, Stats., which provides for administrative review of
the decisions of loeal agencies.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No, 3586, eff. 9-1-85,

HSS 55.61 Standards for family day care and in-home day care. (1)
QUALIFICATIONS OF PROVIDERS, (a) Age and abilily, 1. The provider shall
be at least 18 years of age and shall be physicaily and emotionally able to
provide responsible child care, '

2, The provider shall ensure that any person assisting in the care of
children is at least 16 years of age and is physically and emotionally able
tp provide responsible child care. :

3, The provider shall ensure that any substitute provider is at least 18
yﬁgall('ls of age and is physically and emotionally able to provide responsible
child care.

4, The provider and any person assisting in the care of the children
shall be required to sign a statement affirming that he or she has not been
convicted or is not a subject of a pending criminal charge as specified
under s. H88 5§5.69 (1).

(b) Health examination, Within 3 months after provisional certifica-
tion, as a condition for maintaining certification, the provider and any
other adult in daily contact with the children shail submit a statement

-from a physician certifying that a physical examination, including a fest

Register, August, 1985, No. 3566
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for tuberculosis, was completed within the previous 12 months and that
the provider or other adult is essentially free from medical conditions
which might endanger children in the care of the provider, except as pro-
vided under s. 118,25 (2) (b), Stats.

{(¢)-Training. A certified provider shall be enrolled in or have com-
pleted at least 10 hours of department-approved child care training
within 6 months after provisional certification, The county agency may
require up to 10 additional hours of department-approved training
within that period, .

(d) Insurance. A certified day care operator shall have insurance cover-
age, as follows:

1. General liability insurance with limits of not less than $25,000 for
ea((:ih person and total limits of not less than $75,600 for each occurrence;
an : : :

2. Vehicle liability insurance when transportation is provided for other
than emergency purposes, with minimums of not less than $10,000 prop-
erty damage, $75,000 for each person and $150,000 for each aceident,

' (2) THE HOME IN FAMILY DAY CARE. The provider’s home and outside
play areas shall meet the following requirements:

(a) Each floor level used for child care shall have at least one unblocked
exit and at least one smoke detector, :

(b) Al areas used for child care shall have adequate ahd safe heat, light
and ventilation;

{¢) The home shall be free of hazards and the following items shall be

kept inaccessible to the children:
© 1, Medications and drugs;
2, Cleaning supplies, poisons and insecticides;
3. Guns, knives, scissors and sharp objects;
4. Matches, cigarette lighters and flammable liquids;
5. Plastic bags; and
6. Litter and rubbish;

(d) Indoor and outdoor areas used for-child care shall include sufficient
space for play and for activities which meet the developmental needs of
the children in care;

{e) Outdoor play areas shall be free of hazards and shalt be fenced or
ghe provider shall take special measures to ensure the safety of the chil-
ren;

{f) Pets that are kept in the home shall be tolerant of children and
vaccinated against rabies;

{g) The home shall have at least one telephone in working order with a
list of emergency numbers posted by each telephone, including numbers
for the reseue squad, police, fire station, emergency medical care and
poison control cenfer;

Reglster, August, 1985, No. 356
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(h) The provider shall use an enrollment form which ineludes:
1, The parents’ home and work phone numbers;
2. The parents’ signed consent for emergency medical care; and

3. A name and number to call if the child requires emergency medical
care;

(i) The provider shall maintain ﬁrst—aid supplies and shall wash super-
ficial wounds with soap and water before bandaging;

(j) The home shall be kept clean, uncluttered and free of msects and
rodents;

(k) Bathrooms, including toilets, sinks and potty chairs, shall be kept
clean and in good working condltxon, '

(1) When a public water supply is not available, the well water shail be
tested and found to be bacteriologically safe by the state laboratory of
hygiene or a state-approved lahoratory at least annually;

{m) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation, serving and
clean-up shall be kept clean and sanitary; and

{n) Children may not share cups, eating' utensils, washcloths or towels,

(3) THE HOME FOR IN-HOME CARE. When a provider cares for children
in the children’s own home, the provider shall comply with requirements
in sub, (2) (e}, (e}, (h), (i} and (m).

(4) CHILD HEALTH CARE. (a) Except for school-age children, the pro-
vider shall have a current report of a health examination by a licensed
i)hyswran or a Christian Science pratltloner on file for each child as fol-
ows:

1. For a child under 2 years of age, a report of a physical examination
performed within the past 6 months; and

2. For a child 2 years of age or older, a report of a physical examination
performed within the past 2 years,

(b) If a child is participating in the early and periodic screening diag-
nosis and treatment (EPSDT) program or other department-approved
heatlth sereening program, the requirement of par. (a) shall be considered
me

‘ (¢} The provider shall have on file a wrltten record signed by the par-
ents of each pre-school child, verifying that the child has been immu-
nized in comphance with s. 140 06 (16), Stats., and ch. HSS 144,

(d} The provider may administer medication to a child only in accord-
ance with written and signed permission from the child’s parent.

(8) MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN. (a) In this subsection, “the pro-
vider's own children’” means the provider’s natural children, foster chil-
dren and relatives who are children and reside 24 hours a day with the
provider, A provider’s own children 7 years old and older may not be
coun%gt)i in determining the maxlmum number of children ailowed under
par.
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(b) Asindicated in Table 55.61 (5), a certified provider of day care may
take care of no more than 3 children under the age of 7 in addition to the
prc&vider's own children and other children ages 7 {o 11 at any one time,
and:

1. No more than a total of § children;

2, No more than a total of 5 children if 3 of the children present are
under the age of 2;

3. No more than a total of 4 children if 4 of the children present are
under the age of 2; and

4, No more than a total of 3 children if all 3 are under one year of age.

Tahle 55.61 ﬁ) '
MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN CERTIFIED DAY CARE
1— CHILDREN 2 YEARS OF AGE AND OLDER

Maximum
Number of
Provider's Additional Maximum Total
Children Under 7 Children Under 7 Nuinber of

Years of Age Years of Age  Additional Children Ages 7 to 11 Children *

0 § - Additional Chitdren 6
1 3 Agesttoll 8
2 3 May be Cared 6
3 3 For As Long As The 6
4 2 Maximum Total Number [}
b ! of Children Is Not 6
6 0 Exceeded 6

* The maximum total does not include the provider’s own children 7 years of age and older. '

IT— LEMITATIONS ON GROUP SIZE WHEN CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 2
) YEARS ARE PRESENT

Numbgr of Children Under the
Age of 2 Years Maximum Total Number of Children *

P GO D bk 2
LoX g Y

3 (all under I year)

-«

" * The total does not include the provider's own children 7 years of age and older,

(6) PROVIDER INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN. The prbvider shall
interact with the children in a earing and positive manner and:

(a) Shall protect children in care from danger and be aware of where
each child is at all times;

{b) Shall make known to interested parents and the county agenc
whether he or she is prepared and equipped to care for handicapped,
abused, neglected or other children with special care needs;

{¢) May not hit, spank, pinch, shake or inflict any other form of
corporal punishment on the child, or use any discipling which is
frightening to the child; and

(d)} May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make derogatory
remarks about the child or the child’s family.
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& AC‘PIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT. (a) The provider shall zmplement a
program of learning and play activities. Activities shall include; -
1, A halance of active and gquiet play for each child dally;

2. Both indoor and, weather permitting, outdoor activities for each
child daily;

3. Opportunities for each chiid to play with a variety of toys and
equipment:

4. Opportunities for each child to be involved in a variety of activities
during a week;

5, Activities specifically for children under 1 year of age, 1f these
children are present; and

6, Activities specifically for children from 1 to 2 years of age and for
children 2 years and older, if these children are present.

(b} Television may be used only to supplement the daily p]an for
children. No child may be required to watch television,

(8) TRaNSPORTATION, When transporting children the provider shall
ensure that:

(a) The driver of the vehicle holds a valid Wisconsin operator’slicense;
(b) The vehicle is registered in Wisconsin;

(¢) Each child under the age of 4 is properly restrained in a child safety
restraint system or in a seat belt in accordance with s, 847.48, Stats,; and

{d} Children 4 years of age or older wear seat belts when seat belts are
available,

(9) MEALS AND SNACKS. The provider shall enéure that each child
receives proper nourishment while in day care as follows:

. (a) Each child shall be served one meal or snack at least once every 3
ours; :

(b) Each child in attendance for 4 or more hours shall be served a noon
or evening meal which consists of a protein food, fruit and vegetable, a
cereal or bread produet and pasteurized grade A vitamin D milk; and

{¢)} Each infant who is unable to hold his or her own bottle shall be held
for bottle feeding. Bottles may not be propped

(10) Rrsr. The provider shall ensure that each child has a clean,
comfortable and safe place to rest as follows:

(a) Each child shall be allowed to have undisturbed rest or a nap, when
needed in a place that is clean, safe and comfortable; and

(h) Each child shalt have a personal clean sheet or blanket or both and
pillowcase if a pillow is used,

(11} PROVIDER AND PARENT COMMUNICATION. The provider shall
ensure ongoing comtnunication with a child’s parent by:

(a) Allowing parents to V1S|t and observe the program of child care
during any hours that care is being provided;
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(b) Talking to each child’s parent at least once a week about his or her
child’s development, activities, likes and dislikes;

(¢) Developing written information which specifies the charge for day
care and the expected frequency of payment for the service; and

(d) Making a copy of the applicable certification standards available
to each parent.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 366, ff. 9-1-85.

HSS 55.62 Standards for school-age programs. School-age day care
programs shall meet the following standards in order to be certified:

(1} PERSONNEL. {a) Director. Bach school-age day care program shall
have a person designated as director., The director shall:

1. Be at least 21 years of age; and

2, Have had at least one year of child care or administrative experience
with preschool or school-age children or have completed 40 classroom
hours of training in at least one of the following areas; child development,
early childhood education, elementary eduecation, child guidance,
physical education, recreation or other department approved tratning;

(b} Program leader. A program leader shall be designated by the
program director to plan and implement the daily activities for a
designated group of children. The program leader shall:

1. Be at least 18 ifears old;
2. Have completed high school or its equivalency;

3. Have had 80 working days experience working with school-age
children; and

4, Have completed 20 classroom hours of training in at least one of the
following areas: child development, early childhood education,
‘elementary education, child guidance, physical education, recreation or
other department-approved training; '

(e} Program assistant. A program assistant shall:
1. Work under the supervision of a program leader;
2. Be at least 18 years old; and

8. Have completed or be enrolled in 10 classroom hours of training in at
least one of the following areas: child development, early childhood
education, elementary edueation, child guidance, physical education,
recreation or other department approved training;

(d) Substitutes, In the absence of a regular staff member, there shall be
a similarly qualified substitute who is at least 18 years old, but when the
regular staff member is not expected to be absent for more than 3 daysa
person not meeting the educational qualifications under par. (a), (b) or
(c) 1_‘131ag'1 substitute for the regular staff member if a qualified person is not
available.

(e) Staff records. The school-age day care program shall maintain a
yec?rg for each employe which is available fo the county agency and
includes: '
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1, The name, address, date of birth, education, position, names and
addresses of employers in previous work experience in child care, the
name, address and telephone number of a person to be notified in an
emergency, and a statement signed by the employe affirming that he or
she has not been convicted or is not the subject of a pending eriminal
charge as specified under s. HSS 55.69 (1);

2. Evidence of a physical examination within 6 months before
beginning work or within 30 days after beginning work, except as
provided under s. 118.25 (2) (b), Stats, The report shall be dated and
signed by a physician and shall ecertify that the person is free from iilness
dﬁjclr&mentaldto children and is physically able to work with young
children; an

3. Documentation of educational qualifications for the position,

(2) ORIENTATION. Each program shall develop and implement an
orientation program which shali be given to all new staff and volunteers
in ]théa first week that they are at the center, This orientation shall
include:

{a) Review of heaitil. nutrition and discipline policies;

{b) Review of plans for evacuation and other emergencies;
(¢) Training in emergéncy procedures and use of first-aid;
(d) Review of all applicable parts of this chapter;

(e) Review of the program’s activity schedules;

(f) Training in the recognition of signs of child abuse and neglect and
explanation of responsibilities for reporting suspected cases of child
abuse or neglect;

(g) Explanation of job responsibilities and job descriptions; and
{(h) Training in the recognition of childhood illnesses.:

(8) Faciuity. (a) General rules. 1. Local authorities shall be consulted
to obtain any required zoning clearances or building permits,

2, There shall be a report of inspection which indicates approval of the
building by the department of industry, labor and human relations or by
a certified agent of that department. The building shall comply with
applicable state and local building codes.

* (b) Indoor space. 1. The space used by children shall be no less than 35
square fea (3.3 sq. meters) of usable floor space per child.

2. The indoor area shall be free of hazards, and items that may be
harmful to children such as medications, drugs, poisons, insecticides,
weapons, matches, cigarette lighters and flammable liquids shall be kept
out of reach of the children. :

{¢) Outdoor space. Where children are present for more than 3 hours a
day, there shall be at-least 75 sq, feet (7.0 square meters) of outdoor play
space on the premises for each child using the space at a given time. The
outdoor space shall be well-drained and free of hazards.

'(4) CHILD HEALTH CARE. (a) Within 90 days after a child is enrolled,
the program shall have on file reports of ealth examinations by a
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licensed physician or Christian Science practitioner completed on the
child within the previous 3 years.

(b) The program shall isolate any ill c¢hild and contaet the parent or
designated responsible person as soon as possible to arrange for removal
of the child from the program.

(¢) The provider may administer medication to a child only in
accordance with written and signed permission from the chiid’s parent.

(d) Pets that are kept on the premises shall be tolerant of children and
vaccinated against rabies,

(b) STAFFING AND GROUPING, (a) At least one person meeting the
qualifications of a program leader shall supervise each group of children.

(b) The maximum number of children in a group and the ratio of
program staff to children may not exceed the following:

1. There shall be no more than 32 children in a group; and
2. There shall be at least one staff member for every 16 children,

(¢) Children who are relatives of staff are counted in the group size and
ratio caleulations.

{(d) In a program with 10 or more children present, there shall be at
least 2 adults available at all times on the premises,

(6) EMERGENCIES. (a) There shall be a phone in working order to
which the staff has access and a list of emergency phone numbers posted
on or near the phone. The list shall include numbers for the rescue squad,
police, fire station, emergency medical care and poison control center,

(b) The programs shall have on file:
1. The parents’ home and work phone numbers;
2, The parents’ signed consent for emergency care;

3. A name and number to call if the child requires emergency medical
care; and

4. Information about any allergies, physical problems and special
nlelzedsh tlléle child may have and other special care information concerning
the child. :

{¢) The program shall maintain first-aid supplies and staff shall wash
superficial wounds with soap and water before bandaging,.

('7) SANITATION. (a) The premises shall be kept clean, uncluttered and
free of insects and rodents.

(b) Bathrooms, including toilets and sinks, shall be kept clean and in
good working condition,

(e) When a public water supply i3 not available, the well water shall be
tested and found to be bacteriologically safe by the state laboratory of
hygiene or a state-approved laboratory at least annually,

(d) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation, serving and
clean-up shall be kept clean and sanitary.
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(e) Children may not share cups, eating Gtensils, washeloths or towels.

(8) STAFF INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN, Staff shall interact with the
children in a caring and positive manner and: }

(a) Shall protect children in their care from danger and be aware of
where each child is at all times;

{b) May not hit, spank, pinch, shake or inflict any other form of
corporal punishment on the Chlld of use any discipline which is
frightening to the child; and

(e) May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make derogatory
remarks about the child or the chiid’s family,

(9) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT. {a) The program shali lmplement a
schedule of activities which include:

1. A variety of activities which ensure that each child is involved daily
in a balance of active and quiet play; )

2. Both indoor and, weather permitting, outdoor activities for each
child daily;

3. Opportunities for each child to use a varlety of materials and
equipment; and

4, Opportunities for each child to be involved in a variety of activities
during a week and to seleet and plan his or her own activities,

(b) Television viewing, if part of the activities, may not exceed one
hour a day per child and shall be appropriate for the children in care.

(10) MBALS AND SNACKS. (a) A program operating for less than 4 hours
shall ensure that each child Is served a snack.

(b} A program operatmg 4 or more hours shall ensure that each chlld is
served one meal and one snack at least once every 3 hours.

(¢) For each child served a noon or evening meal, that meal shall
consist of a protein food, fruit and vegetable, a cereal or bread product
and pasteurized grade A vitamin I milk.

(d) Snacks shall consist of at least one of the following: milk or a milk
product, {ruit, fruit juice, vegetable, peanut butter or other protein,
w}vlhole grain or enrlehed bread or cereal, When only fru1t juiceis served, it

all be pure fruit juice.

(11} TRANSPORTATION. (a)} The program shall have a written
agreement signed by a parent or guardian which specifies how the child
will be transported to and from the program, -

(h) A driver for this program shall hold a valid Wisconsin operator's
license of whatever type is required,

{¢) Any vehtc]e used by the program to transport children shall be
registered in Wisconsin.

(d) When safety belts aie available in a vehicle, they shall be worn by
children.
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(12) Rest. The provider shall ensure that each child has a clean,
comfortable private place to rest or relax when needed.

(13) PROVIDER AND PARENT COMMUNICATION. The program shall
ensure ongoing communication with a child’s parent by:

{a) Allowing paren'ts to visit and observe the program of child care at
any time during the hours of operation;

(b) Staff communicating with each child’s parent at least once a week
about his or her child’s development, activities, likes and dislikes;

(¢} Staff develbping written information about the service which
specifies the charge for day care and the expected frequency of payment
for the program; and

(d) Making a copy of the applicable certification standards available
to each parent.

(14) INSURANCE. The program shall provide documentation of
insurance coverage by the submission of a certificate of insurance
reflecting current dates of coverage for:

(a) General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of
not less than $25,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 for each
occurrence;

(b) Vehicle liability insurance when transportation is provided, with
minimums no less than those specified in 5. 121.53, Stats.; and

(¢) Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transportation is .

provided by other than center-owned vehicles,
Hislory: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No, 366, eff, 9-1.85,

HSS 55.63 Standards for programs operated by parochial and other
private schools, A day care program operated by a parochial or other
private school iz exempt under s, 48,65 (2) (b), Stats., from having to be
licensed as a family or group day care center. However, in order to be
certified by a county agency to provide day care as a condition for
receiving county day care funding, a day care program operated by a
parochial or other private school shall comply with the standards
established under this chapter for either family or group day care
centers, as appropriate.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85.

Subchapter VII — Day Care Program Administration and Funding

HS8 55.70 Authority, purpose and applicabilily. This subchapter is
promulgated under the authority of s. 46.98 (5) (e), Stats, It provides
definitions, procedures and standards for the administration of s, 46.98,
Stats., which concerns the distribution to county agencies of state com-
munity aid funds for day care for children, the use of those funds by
county agencies and the eligibility of parents for publicly funded day
care for their children. This subchapter applies to the department,
county agencies, providers of day care, whether licensed or certified, and
eligible parents,

Hisiory: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, fi, 9-1-85,
Register, Augnst, 1985, No, 356
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HSS 55.71 Definitions. The definitions in subchapter VI apply to this
subchapter, except the definition of “parent’ under s, H88 55.56 (11). In
addition, in this subchapter:

(1) “AFDGC” means aid to families with dependent chlldren, a public
assistance program under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act of 1935,
as amended, and ss, 49.19 to 49.41, Stats.

(2) “Center slots” or “slots” means the munber of places for children
within the licensed capacity of a day care center.

(8) “Day care price’’ means the amount regularly dharged by a pro-
vider to a parent who pays for the day care services out of his or her
personal funds.

{4) “Day care system” means a network of licensed family day care
centers, family day care providers, and in-home day care providers cen-
trally organized, coordinated and administered as a unit, an extension of
another day care center, or part of a training or educational programof a
umvermty, a vocational technical school, a county agency or a commu-
nity ageney concerned primarily with child care. :

(5) “Family” means one or more adults and children, if any, related by
blood or law and residing in the same household. Where adults other
than spouses reside together, each is considered a separate family, An
emanecipated minor and child living under the care of an individual is
considered a one-person family,

(6) “Formula” means a prescnbed method for determining funding
allocations.

() "Income means money, wages or saiary, net income from non-
farm self-employment, net income from farm self-employment, social se-
curity, dividends, interest on savings or bonds, income from estates or
trusts, net rental income or royalties, public assistance or weifare pay-
ments, pensions and annuities, unemployment compensation, worker’s
compensatton, alimony and other maintenance payments, child support
and veteran pensions.

(8) *Income-eligible” means meeting the income standard as deter-
mined annually by the department under s, HSS 56.76 (6).

(9) “Parent” has the meaning prescribed in s, 46.98 (1) (¢), Stats,,
namely, a parent, guardian, foster parent, legal custodian Or person act-
ing in place of a parent. In this subsection, “person acting in place of a
parent” means a person to whom the child is related in one of the ways
listed in s, HSS 201,17 (1).

{10) “Provider” or “‘day care provider’’ means a person who provides
child day care services for compensation,

(11} “Rate” means the maximum amount a county agency will pay for
day care,

(12) “Special need” means special emotional, behavioral, or physical
and personal needs of a child requmng more than the usual amount of
care and supervision for the child’s age.

(13) “Voucher” means an authorization for reimbursement.

Hiatory: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No, 8586, eff. 9-1-85. : .
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HSS 55.72 Department responsibilities. (1} GENERAL. The department
ghall maintain oversight responsibility for administration of the day care
licensing and certification programs.

{2) RATE APPROVAL. The department shall review and approve the
method employed by counties for determining reasonable and customary
day care rates as required under ss, HSS 55.73 (6) and 55,74.

. (3) ASSISTANCE TO COUNTIES. The department shall provide informa-
tion and technical assistance to county agencies regarding state and
county administration of day care programs,

(4) INFORMATIONAL MATERIALS, The department shall develop pam-
phlets, brochures and other informational materials for distribution to
counties, day care providers and the general public relating to day care
and the certification and licensing programs.

(8) UNMET NEEDS, The department sh;all periodically study and deter- _

mine the unmet day care service needs in the state and develop plans to
foster day care services to meet those needs,

(6) ALLOCATION OF FUNDS, The department shalil distribute day care -

funds to county agencies through a formula which shall be developed
each year in accordance with the following procedures:

{a) A statewide day care allocation committee shall develop a recom-
mended formula initially and shall review the formula annually and
make recommendations to the department, The allocation committee
shall include representatives from hoth major political parties of the sate
legislature, county agencies, county associations, day care providers, day
care associations, community representatives and department staff; and

{b) The recommended formula shall be reviewed by the department’s
day care and child development advisory committee which shall com-
ment to the department on the adequacy of the formula. - ‘

(7) RaTe REVIEW. (a) The department shall annually review each
county’s day care rates and rate-setting method, and shall approve or
disapprove the county agency’s rates based on the following criteria;

1. The rate-setting method is in accordance with rate-setting require-
ments specified under ss, HSS 55.73 (6) and 556.74; and

2. The rate-setting method. documents that the maximurn allowable
rate permits all eligible parents a reasonable choice of day care providers,

(b) The department may grant a variance to a requirement under s.
HSS 55.74 if the department is convinced that an alternative means
meets the intent of the requirement. .

Hislory: Cr.rRegister, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9-1-85.

HSS 55.73 County agency responsibilities. (1) GENERAL, Each county
agency shall be responsible for the administration of the county’s day
care program in accordance with the requirements set forth in sub-
chapter V and this subchapter. _ .

(2} RATE-SETTING METHOD. The county agency shall submit a written

statement to the department in accordance with s, HSS §5.74, which de-

scribes the method by which the county agency has determined reason-
Register, August, 1985, No. 356
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able and customary rates and the maximum rate that the county will
allow for the purchase of day care services,

(8) AUTHORIZED PROVIDERS, {a) The county agency may purchase day
care services from or provgde vouchers for the purchase of day care ser-
vices from only the following providers:

IV1. Providers licensed by the department under subchs, I and II, TII or

2, Providers certified by the county agency under standards specifted
in s. HSS 56.61, 55.62 or 55.63; or .

3. Programs established and provided by a school board under s.
120,13 (14), Stats.

(b) The county agency may not purchase services or issue vouchers for
day eare services provided by a person legally responsible for a child.

(¢). The county agency may set policies prohibiting the purchase of
services or issuance of vouchers for day care services provided by a rela-
tive living in the child’s household.

{4) INFORMATION TO PROVIDERS. The county ageney shall distribute
brochures to day care providers regarding basic child care, certification
and licensing requirements.

(6) EXPENDITURES OF DAY CARE FUNDS. The county agency shall ex-
pend state-aliocated day care funds in accordance with s, 46.98 (3) and
(4), Stats., and s, HSS 55.75.

(6) PROVISION AND PURCHASE OF SERVICE. The county agency shall
provide day care services directly, provide day care services by con-
tracting with day care providers, or provide vouchers to parents for the
purchase of day care services. The county agency:

(a) Shall use a portion of its day care funds and may use all of its day
care funds to provide vouchers to eligible parents, as follows:

1. The county agency shall offer a voucher to each eligible parent to the
extent that allocated funds are available; -

2. A voucher shall be in writing and shall authorize a parent to obtain
stipulated day care services from a provider under sub. (3); and

3. The voucher shall set 2 maximum amount of authorized reimburse-
ment which is the lesser of the county maximum rate or the provider's
charge, minus the payment that the parent is required to make under s,
HSS 65.77 (2).

(b) The county agency shall reimburse the day care provider for ser-
vices authorized and provided, whether under contract with the county
agency or through vouchers, and shall pay for absences up to 20% of the
authorized monthly units of service. Counties may reimburse providers
for absences exceeding 20% of the authorized monthly units of service
only when the day care is for parents with erisis or respite needs.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No, 356, eff, 9-1-85.

HSS 55.74 Establishing county day care raies. (1) DAY GARE PURCHASED
BY CONTRACT. If a county agency contracts directly with a day care pro-
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vider, the rates for the provider shall be defermined by a negotiated
agreement between the provider and the county, within allowable costs
" as determined by the department,

(2) DAY CARE PURCHASED BY VOUCHERS. (a) General. If a count;
agency provides day care by offering parents vouchers, the agency shai{
annually set reasonable and eustomary maximum day care rates in ac-
cordance with procedures and policies set forth in this subsection.

(b) Survey. The county agency shall annually contact all full-time li-
censed group day care centers and family day care centers in the county
to determine the day care prices they charge to the general community..

() Groups. The county agency shall set separate maximum rates for
the following 3 groups of children:

1. Infants and toddlers under 2 years old; /
2. Preschoolers age 2 up to school age; and
3. Children 6 through 11 years old receiving care before or after school.

(d) Types of care, The rates for each of the 3 groups under par (¢) shall
be set separately for the following types of care:

1, Licensed group day care centers;
2. Licensed family day care centers; and
3. Certified family day care providers and in-home providers.

(e} Mazimum rates]for licensed day care centers. The maximum rates for
licensed eenters shall be set as follows:

1. Maximum rates for licensed group day care centers shall he set so
that at least 76% of the {ull-time, 40.or more hours per week, group day
care center slots in the county can be purchased at or below the maxi-
mum rate. The number of slots attributed to a center shal be equal to
the center’s licensed capacity;

2, Maximum rates for licensed group day care centers shall be set so
that at least 75% of the group day care center slots for before and after
school day care in the county can be purchased ator below the maxnmum
rate; )

3, Maximum rates for licensed family day care centers shall ensure
that at least 76% of the full-time, 40 or more hours per week, family day
care center slots in the county can be purchased at or below the maxi-
mum rates. The number of slots attributed to a center shall be equal to
the center’s licensed capacity;

4. Maximum rates for licensed family day care centers shall be set so
that at least 75% of the family day care center slots for before and after
school day care in the county can be purchased at or below the maximum
rate;

b.In determxmng whether 75% of the full-time day care slots ¢an be
purchased at or below the maximum rate, the county may exclude only
day care centers which operate less than b days a week or 5 hoursa day or
ghich receive funding from a board established under s, 51.42 or 51.437, -
tats.; -
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6. Reduced maximum rates may not be set for siblings served by group
or family day care centers; and

7. Separate maximum rates may be set for day care for part of the day.
at group and family day care centers using the same method required
under this paragraph.

(f) Mazximuwm rates for certified family day care. The maximum rates for
certified family day care shall be set as follows:

1. The maximum rate for certified family day care shail be no less than
76% of the maximum rate for licensed family day care centers unless
another rate is justified by the county agency through a survey of provid-
ers or users of certified or uncertified family day care, Rates for siblings in
certified family day care shall be no less than 76% of the rate for the first
child enrolled by the family;

2. A graduated system of rates may be established for certified family
day care providers based on the training and experience of the providers;

3. In-home care may be purchased only in the following circumstances:
a. A child has a special need; '

b. Licensed or certified care is not available within a reasonable geo-
graphic area; or :

¢. Three or more children are being cared for.

(g) Maximum rates for ceriified in-home eare. The maximum rates for
certified in-home care shall be as follows:

1. An in-home provider caring for a child for 15 or more hours a week
shall be paid in accordance with the state’s minimum wage law; or

2, An in-home provider caring for a child for less than 15 hours a week
shall be paid in accordance with the maximum rates for certified family
care under par. (f). -

. (h) Mazimum rafes for other day care praﬁiders. The maximuimn rates for
licensed group day care eenters under par, (¢) shall also apply to the fol-
Iowing other providers:

1. Day care programs established and provided by a school board;
2, Certified sehool-age day care programs; and

3. Certified parochial and other private school-operated day cdre pro-
grams,

(i) Higher rates for crisis or respile needs, Rates which are higher than
the maximums allowed under this section may be set for day care pro-
vided to children of parents with crisis or respite needs to cover costs of
counseling and other support services for parents provided directly, or
purchased by, day care providers and for training of day eare providers.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85,
HSS 55.75 Use of day care funds. Day care funds distributed under s.
46.98, Stats., may be expended by a county only to fund services that

iiirectly or indirectly benefit parents eligible under s, HSS 55.76, as fol-
ows:
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(1) SERVICES THAT DIRECTLY BENEFIT PARENTS, Counties shall expend
day care funds to provide day care services for parents eligible under s.
HSS 55,76 through the use of vouchers issued to parents or contracts
with providers for purchase of services; and

(2) SERVICES THAT INDIRECTLY BENEFIT PARENTS, Department ap-
proval is required for counties to expend day care funds:

(a) To purchase day care or child development-related activities which
indirectly serve children receiving day care services, including equip-
ment loan services, library services, training services, program consulta-
tion and information and referral;

(b) To pay for the costs of higher rates under s. HSS 55.74 (2) (i) for
cougselmg and other support services for parents with crisis or respite
needs;

(e¢) To pay full or partial salaries for 'A‘FDG recipients employed by
day care centers or systems; i

-(d) T'o pay for start-up, maintenance or expansion of day care services
or factlities; or

(e) To pay for services to enhance or improve the quality of day care
services, including education and training for day care providers,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85.

HSS 55.76 Parent eligibility. (1) NeED. To be eligible for day care
funds, a parent shall have a need for day care services for a child under
the age of 12 and shall meet eligibility eriteria under sub, (2), (8), or (4).

' (2) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR WORKING PARENTS OR PARENTS SEEKING
WORK. A parent who is working or seeking work is eligible if:

(a) The parent is working, is a recipient of aid to families with depen-
dent children (AFDC) and has monthly day care expenses exceeding the
child care disregard limit under AFDC. These parents are eligible for
funding of day care costs which are above the disregard limit up to the
county maximum day care rate;

(b) The parent is income-eligible and is in paid employment, including
migrant or seasonal labor; or

(e} The parent is an AFDC recipient or income-eligible and is actively
seeking work, This parent is eligible for the funding of a maximum of 20
hours of day care a week for 60 working days for time related to activities
involved in seeking employment,

(3) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR PARENTS IN TRAINING OR EDUCATIONAL
PROGRAMS,.(a) A parent who is in training or an educational program is
eligible if the parent is an AFDC recipient or income-eligible, maintains
passing grades and is recognized as a student in good standing in an ac-
ceptable training or edueational program designed to lead direetly to
paid employment,

(b) An acceptable training or educational program includes:
1. An accredited program leading to a high school diploma or a high

school equivalency degree, including English as a second language or ba- |

sic education;
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2. An accredited program leading to vocational or technical certifica-
tion or a diploma;

3. An accredited program that is part of a logical progression of train-
ing or education leading to paid employment;

4. A vocational rehabilitation program;

5. An aceredited program leading to an undergraduate college degree;
or

6. A publicly funded job experience or job training program,

(e) A parent possessing a bachelor of science or arts degrpe ar equiva-
lent is eligible for a maximum period of one year and only if the parent:

1. Needs further education or training necessary for entry into the job
market;

2. Has been out of the work force for at least 2 years or has been laid off
within the last 6 months;

3. Is available for work; and
4, Has been actively seeking work.

(d) A county agency may require that the training or educational pro-
gram be related to the occupational goal stated in an employability plan
developed in cooperation with Wisconsin job service,

(e) For the purpose of eligibility, a parent shall be limited to a total of
2 training or educational programs, whether or not completed, unless the
programs are part of a logical progression of training or education lead-
ing to paid employment.

(f) Day care funding eligibility for training or educational purposes
shall be limited to a combined total of 48 months in training or education
which need not be consecutive months, Part-time training shall be pro-
rated to be equivalent to 48 months of full-time training. ‘

(4) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR PARENTS WITH CRISIS OR RESPITE NEEDS,
A parent mesting eligibility criteria under this subsection is eligible to
receive funds for day care costs without regard to income. Eligibility for
a parent with erisis or respite needs shall be determined by the county
agency based on the following criteria:

(a) A member of the family is receiving protective services;

{b) There is a risk of child abuse or neglect in the family, or a risk of a
healtt:;h or social condition which may adversely affect the child’s develop-
ment;

Nofe: Examples of family situations which might constitute risk include drug or aleohol

abuse, mental health problems, family viclence, acute financial stress and recent divoree or
separation, .

{c) The child is at-risk of out-of-home placement;

(d) The parent is hospitalized or otherwise unable to provide adequate
care to the child; : )
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. (e) The parent or foster parent needs respite services because of stress
involved in caring for a child with developmenta! disabilities or serious
problematic behavior;

{£) The parent is under the age of 18;
(g) The parent lacks adequate parenting skills; or
(h) There is a high level of stress in the family.

(5) ELIGIBILITY PRIORITIES. County agencies may give first priorit
for child day care services to parents with erisis or respite needs if fund-
ing is insufficient to meet the needs of all eligible parents, but county
agencies may not set additional priorities for eligibility. .

(6) INCOME ELIGIBILITY, A parent is income-eligible if standard family
income is within the income standard set annually by the department.
The income standard shall be based on the state median income and may
not be lower than 70% of the state median income,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 3586, eff, 9-1-85.

HSS 55,77 Parental choice and parenis’ payment, (1) PARENTS’ CHOICE
OF PROVIDER. Parents may choose the particular licensed or certified day
care provider for their child, except that a county agency may select the
provider when the eare is for crisis or respite purposes and parents may
use in-home day care only with the approval of the county agency.

(2) COSTS CHARGED TO PARENTS, (a) Parents shall be required to make
payments for day care services provided directly or by voucher or
purchased by the county agency, in accordance with a payment schedule
and procedures developed by the department under s. HSS 1.03. Pay-
ments shall be required of parents whose family income is equal to.or
greater than 50% of the state median income except that payments for
crisis or respite day care may be waived by the county agency.

{b) Parents using vouchers for the payment of day care services may
receive day care services from a provider whose rate,is higher than the
. eounty maximum rate and pay the difference between the provider's rate
and the county maximum rate in addition to payments required under

par, {a). \

(¢) If a county agency purchases day care services by contract with a
provider, biliing and collection procedures shall be subject to ch, HSS 1.
If a county ageney purchases day care services by means of a voucher
issued to the parents, billing and collection of the parents’ payment
under par. (b) is the responsibility of the provider. _

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No, 356, eff. 9-1-85.

Subcﬁapter'V!lI — Start-up Grants

HSS 55,80 Siari-up grants (o assure availability of child care. (1) GEN-
ERAL INFORMATION. (a} Stafement of tntend. This section regulates the
expenditure of funds appropriated to provide start-up grants for newly
%Jgating centers, including grants for expansion of existing centers in

isconsin,

(b) To whom the rules apply. The rules in this section apply to all per-

sons, groups and day care centers making application for start-up grants, .

Register, August, 1985, No. 366
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{¢) Bxceplions o rules. The department may make an exception to any
of the rulesfor approvmg start-up grants when it is assured that granting
the exception is beneficial to the health; safety and welfare of children.

(d) Definitions. The definitions in s. HSS 55.05 (4) apply. In addition;

1, “*Child care” means day care for children and includes group care,
family care and in-home care.

2. “Division” means the dmsmn of community servxces of the depart-
ment

3. “Family care” means the care of a child in a family home other than
the child’'s own home by a responsible person other than the child’s par-
ents for a period of time less than 24 hours.

4, “In-home care” means care in the child’s own home by someone
other than the child’s parents on a routine planned basis for a period less
than 24 hours.

5. “Newly operating center” means a day care center which has been
in operation for a period of less than one year or an existing center mak-
ing grant application for expansion purposes.

6. “‘Satellite system” means family day care homes, in-home care pro-
viders or a combination of both which are centrally organized, ¢coordi-
nated, and administered as a unit in themselves or as an extension of
another center or as part of the educational or training program of an
aceredited school of social work or school of early childhood education.

7. *Start-up grants’ means money payments or a planned series of
money payments to an approved applicant to be used for development or
expansion of needed child care services. The grants are not loans.

(2) APPLICATION FOR START-UP GRANTS. {a) Appllcatlon shall be made
on a form provided by the department,

(b) Application shail be open to:

1. Individuals or groups planning to establish voluntary non-profit or
proprietary child care services;

2, Individuals or groups submitting proposals for:

a. A new center;

b. Expansion of an existing center or group of centers;

¢. An innovative program for special needs of the children; or

b %h Satellite systems of family care, in-home care or a combination of
oth. .

3. Newly operating centers which are experiencing financial difficulties.
(¢) The individual, group or center making application shall;

1. Document the need for the specific service to be prowded in the area
proposed in the plan; and

2, Submit written assurance to the department that the service to be
provided will meet the requirements for lxcensmg of the day care centers
for children under this chapter.
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{d) Application from newly operating centers experiencing financial
difficulties shall also inelude:

1. Decumentation of expenditures and income for the total period of
operation giving special details of financial problem area;

2. Documentation of need for the service including the target group of
parents and children;

3, A detailed operating budget for any period of operation as requested
by the department, )

Note: A copy of the application form can be obtained by writing: Bureau of Human Re-
.«éoa%gzes, Division of Community Services, One West Wilsen, PO, Box 7851, Madison, WI
(3) USE OF START-UP GRANTS. (a) Grants may be used to:

1. Finance a specific purchase or budget item related.to oberating
costs, including but not limited to:

“a. Structural changes to meet licensing and building codes;
b. Necessary equipment to heginlor improve operations; and

¢. Salary of a staff person or persons for a period not to exceed 12
months;

2., Finance a percentage of the tdtal operating budget for a 12-month
period or less; or

3. Substitute for continuation of an in-kind contribution made for a
limited period of time which would need to be met by the budget before
the program is in full operation, including but not limited to;

a. In-kind donation of free rent by a church, ageney or building owner
for a limited period of time; and

b. Voluntary services of staff,

(b) Start-up grants may not be vsed for a service which could be
funded from other community, state or federal sources. This does not,
however, preclude the collaborative us of those funds with start-up and
improvement grant funds to meet the beginning of a needed service.

(4) TME 1aMIT. No subsidy from a start-up grant may extend beyond
a 12-month period. .

(5) START-UP GRANTS FOR SATELLITE SYSTEMS OF DAY CARE, (a) Appli-
cations proposing to develop a satellite system of family care, in-home
care, or a combination of both shall be accepted only from:

1. An existing center;

2, A licensed agency broviding services to parents and children who
may need child care;

3. A county department of social services;

4, An accredited college or university offering training in social work or _

early childhood education; or
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5. A corporate community coordinating group concerned primarily
with child care.

(b) The satellite system shall have centralized administration which
shali include: ’ :

1, Recruitment, evaluation and training of the families which will be
part of the system;

2, Ongoing training to upgrade the system itself and the quality of the
care given;

3. A person who coordinates and supervises the care families in the
system and gives or makes available consultation to them on a planned,
ongoing basis;

4, An evaluation and approval of each child served and a central file of
pertinent data on each child and family; and

5. Centralized bookkeeping.

History: Cr, Register, May, 1983, No. 329, eff, 6-1-83; renum, from HSS 55,50, Register,
August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85.

Nexi page is numbered 122-1
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