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1 ORDER 

2 OF THE 

3 STATE OF WISCONSIN 

4 DEPAR~1ENT OF AGRICULTURE, TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 

5 ADOPTING, AMENDING OR REPEALING RULES 

6 To create Ag 6.01(4) and Ag 6.02(4); to amend Ag 10.02(1) 

7 (intro.), Ag 10.045(1), Ag 10.08 (intro.), and Ag 10.09(1); to 

8 renumber Ag 10.12(1) (intro.); to create Ag 10.12(1)(b); to amend 

9 Ag 10.17, Ag 10.26(1), Ag 10.27(1)(a), Ag 11.03(1)(a), Ag 14.08, 

10 Ag 16.02(1) (intro.), Ag 16.03(1) (intro.), Ag 23.03(2), 

11 Ag 23.04(2), Ag 25.06(2)(b), Ag 27.02, Ag 28.05(3), Ag 28.06(1), 

12 and Ag 29.04(3); to create Ag 29.06(4); to amend Ag 29.07(3); to 

13 create Ag 29.08(3)(c) and Ag 29.09(3); to amend Ag 29.10(3), 

14 Ag 29.16(7)(a), Ag 40.02(3), Ag 42.03(2), Ag 48.07(3), and 

15 Ag 48.11(1); to renumber Ag 48.12; to create Ag 48.12(2); and to 

16 amend Ag 80.04(1), Ag 86.03, Ag 87.03, Ag 88.03(2), Ag 107.02(1), 

17 and Ag 120.02(1); relating to time deadlines for department action 

18 on permit applications. 

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin De¥artment of 
Agriculture, Trade and Conswner Pro ection 

Under 1983 Wisconsin Act 91, which created s. 227.0105, 
Sta ts ., whenever an existing administra ti ve rule includes a 
requirement for a business to obtain a permit from a state agency, 
the agency mus t propose art amendment to the rule which is limi ted 
to specifying the number of business days within which the agency 
will make a determination on the permit application. The depart­
ment has interpreted s. 227.0105, Stats., as applying to all 
licenses or permits required by rule, even if the same license or 
permit is also required by statute. 

The department's rule will carry out the mandate of 
s. 227.0105, Stats. by amending existing department rules i"fhich 
contain permit requirements. The amendments will establish 
response deadlines for permit applications as follows: 
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Bu tterrnaker' s lic ense (Ag 6.01) ---.-----------------6 0 days 
Cheesemaker's license (Ag 6.02)--------------------60 days 
Cattle import permit (Ag 10.02)-------------------- 5 days 
Swine pseudorabies vaccination permit (Ag 10.045)-- 5 days 
Circus, rodeo and menagerie animals, import permit 

(Ag 10.08)---------------------------------------20 days 
Equine market registration (Ag 10.09)--------------60 days 
Permit to move diseased animals (Ag 10.12)--------- 5 days 
Permit to remove livestock from slaughtering 

establishment (Ag 10.17)------------------------- 5 days 
Feedlot permit (Ag 10.26)--------------------------60 days 
Quarantine feedlot permit (Ag 10.27)---------------60 days 
Livestock market permit (Ag 11.03)-----------------60 days 
Livestock brand certificate (Ag 14.08)-------------20 days 
Weather modification license (Ag 16.02)------------20 days 
Weather modification permit (Ag16.03)-------------20 days 
Nursery stock import permit (Ag 23.03)-------------20 days 
Plant pest import permit (Ag 23.04)----------------20 days 
\fuite pine blister rust, alternate host import 

pe rmi t (Ag 25.06) --------.::.-~-----------------·----2 0 days 
Potato rot nematode transportation permi t 

(Ag 27.02)------------------7--------------------20 days 
Approval to sell lime by volum~ (Ag 28.05)---------20 days 
Lime license (Ag 28.06)-------0--------------------20 days 
Pesticide special use permit (4g 29.04)------------60 days 
Pesticide emergency use permi tl (Ag 29.06 )----------20 days 
Pesticide experimental use perrr/it (Ag 29.07)-------60 days 
Pesticide special local needs ~egistration 

. (Ag 29.08)------------------~-------------------180 days 
Pesticide manufacturers and la~elers license 

(Ag 29.09)------------------1--------------------20 days 
Registration of pesticide commercial applicators 

(Ag 29.10)---------------------------------------20 days 
Registration of pesticide distributors and dealers 

(Ag 29.10)---------------------------------------20 days 
Pesticide commercial applicator certification 

(Ag 29.16)---------------------------------------20 days 
Canning factory temporary operating permit 

(Ag 40.02)---------------------------------------20 days 
Canning factory license (Ag 40.02)-----------------40 days 
Cold storage warehouse license (Ag 42.03)----------40 days 
Permi t to transpo rt lungs or lung lobes wi thout 

denaturing (Ag 48.07)----------------------------10 days 
Vehicle permits to animal food processor, renderer, 

or dead animal collector (Ag 48.11)--------------20 days 
Vehicle transfer station permits for unloading or 

reloading dead animals (Ag 48.12)----------------40 days 
Grade A dairy plant license (Ag 80.04)-------------40 days 
Grade A farm permit (Ag 80.04)---------------------40 days 
Grade A permit for milk condensing or milk drying 

plant (Ag 86.03)--~------------------------------40 days 
Grade A cottage cheese permit (Ag 87.03)-----------20 days 
Permi t for use of \Visconsin cheese logotype 

(Ag 88.03)-----------------------------------~---20 days 
Milk weighers and samplers license (Ag 107.02)-----60 days 
Permit to install or relocate scales (Ag 120.02)---20 days 
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1 Pursuant to authority vested in the state of Wisconsin 

2 department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection by 

3 s. 227.0105(1), Stats., 'the state of Wisconsin department of agri~ 

4 culture, trade and consumer protection runends and creates rules 

5 interpreting s. 227.0105(1), Stats., as follows: 

6 SECTION 1: Ag 6.01(4) is created to read: 

7 (4) The department shall approve or disapprove an applica-

8 tion for a buttermaker's license within 60 business days after the 

9 date of applica tion, provided that the application is accompanied 

10 by all requisite information and documentation. 

11 SECTION 2: Ag 6.02(4) is created to read: 

12 (4) The department shall approve or disapprove an applica-

13 tion for a cheesemaker's license within 60 business days after the 

14 date of application, provided that the application is accompanied 

15 by all requisite information and documentation. 

16 SECTION 3: Ag 10.02 (1) . (in tro .) is amended to read: 

17 Ag 10.02(1) (intro.) PERMIT; INTERSTATE HEALTH CERTIFICATE. 

18 No person shall import cattle or American bison into this state 

19 unless premovement authorization for entry has been granted by the 

20 department and the animals are accompanied by an interstate health 

21 certificate. The department shall grant or deny premovement 

22 authorization within 5 business days after a request for premove-

23 ment authorization has been made to the department, provided that 

24 the request is accompanied by all requisite information and 

25 documentation. 

26 SECTION 4: Ag 10.045(1) is amended to read: 

27 Ag 10.045(1) No person shall vaccinate swine for 
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1 pseudorabies without first obtaining a permit from the department. 

2 Permits may be granted only to veterinarians licensed in this 

3 state and then only for'the vaccination of swine in infected or 

4 high risk herds. Infected or high risk herds are herds which have 

5 been determined by the department to have been infected with or 

6 exposed to swine pseudorabies. The department shall grant or deny 

7 a vaccination permit within 5 business days after a request for a 

8 vaccination permit has been made to the department, provided that 

9 the request is accompanied by all requisite information and 

10 documentation. 

11 SECTION 5: Ag 10.08 (intro.) is amended to read: 

12 Ag 10.08 (intro.) CIRCUS, RODEO AND MENAGERIE ANIMALS, 

13 IMPORT. No circus, rodeo and menagerie' animals shall be impo rted 

14 into this state without first obtaining a permit from the depart-

15 mente The department shall grant or deny an import permit within 

16 20 business days after a request for an import permit has been 

17 made to the department, provided that the request is accompanied 

18 by all requisite information and documentation. The permit shall 

19 be valid for the calendar year for which it is issued. The 

20 department shall issue permits for such import provided: 

21 SECTION 6: Ag 10.09(1) is amended to read: 

22 (1) REGISTRATION. Livestock markets, other than markets 

23 licensed under s. 95.70, Stats., open to the public for trading in 

24 equidae on which facilities are maintained for the yarding, feed-

25 ing, and watering of equidae prior to sale, may make application 

26 on approved forms with the department for the registration of the 

27 livestock market. Upon receipt of a registration certificate and 
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1 number from the department, the market may operate as a registered 

2 livestock market under s. Ag 10.075. The department shall grant 

3 or deny a registration application within 60 business days after 

4 the application has been filed with the department, provided that 

5 the application is accompanied by all requisite information and 

6 documentation. 

7 SECTION 7: Ag 10.12(1) (intro.) and (a) through (h) are 

8 renumbered Ag 10.12(1)(a) (intro.) and 1 through 8. 

9 SECTION 8: Ag 10.12(1)(b) is created to read: 

10 (b) The department shall grant or deny a movement permit 

11 

12 

13 

14 

under this subsection within 5 business days after a permit 
! 

request is made to the department'frovided that the request is 

accompanied by all requisite inform~tion and documentation. 
I 

SECTION 9: Ag 10.17 is amende9 to read: 

15 Ag 10.17 REMOVAL OF LIVESTOCKiFROM SLAUGHTERING ESTABLISH-
I 

No person shall remove any livestock from a slaughtering 16 MENTS. 

17 establishment, except those which are removed and shipped directly 

18 to another such slaughtering establishment, or are removed under 

19 special permit issued by the department. The department shall 

20 grant or deny a permit request within 5 business days after the 

21 request is made to the department, provided that the request is 

22 accomQanied by all requisite information and documentation. 

23 SECTION 10: Ag 10.26(1) is amended to read: 

24 (l) Application for approval of a feedlot shall be made in 

25 writing to the department and shall contain a description of the 

26 premises by county and township and section number. The depart-

27 ment shall grant or deny a permit application within 60 business 
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1 days after a permit application is filed with the department, pro-

2 vided that the a2plication is accompanied by all requisite infor-

3 mation and documentation. Permits shall expire June 30 of each 

4 year following issuance. 

5 SECTION 11: Ag 10.27(1)(a) is amended to read: 

6 (1) (a) Quarantine feedlots may be operated under an annual 

7 permit from the department. Applications shall be submitted on 

8 department forms and shall include the location of the feedlot by 

9 county and township and section number. No permits shall be 

10 issued, renewed or continued in force unless the feedlot is con-

11 structed, maintained and operated in accordance with the require-

12 ments of this section. The department shall grant or deny a per-

13 mit application within 60 business days after a permit application 

14 is filed with the department, provided that the ~plication is 

15 accompanied by all requisite information and documentation. 

16 SECTION 12: Ag 11.03(1-)(a) is amended to read: 

17 (1) (a) No premises shall be approved for use as a livestock 

18 market unless it has been inspected by the department and found to 

19 be in a condition that will make cleaning and disinfection practi-

20 cable. All barns and adjacent pens and alleys for holding live-

21 stock shall have floors constructed of cement or other impervious 

22 material. Such floors shall be so constructed as to enable drain-

23 age. A clean water supply, under pressure, shall be available at 

2~ the premises. The department shall grant or den~proval of a 

25 livestock market within 60 business da~ after a request for 

26 approval has been made to the department, provided that the 

27 application is accompanied by all requisite information and 
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1 documentation. 

2 SECTION 13: Ag 14.08 is amended to read: 

3 Ag 14.08 LIVESTOCK BRAND CERTIFICATE: No brand shall be 

4 effective until approved and recorded and an official brand cer-

5 tificate is issued by the department. The department shall grant 

6 or deny a request for an official brand certificate within 

7 20 business days after the request is made to the department, pro-

8 vided that the request is accompanied by all requisite information 

9 and documentation, including the proposed brand design. 

10 SECTION 14: Ag 16.02(1) (intro.) is amended to read: 

11 (1) (intro.) LICENSE APPLICATION. Applications for profes-

12 sional weather modification licenses shall be submitted on forms 

13 prescribed by the department, accompanied by the required fee, no 

14 later than ~ 20 business days before the applicant plans to use 

15 the license. The dep~tmentshall grant or deny a license appli-

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

cation within 20 business days after the application is filed with 

the department, provided that the application is accompanied by 

all requisite information and documentation. In addition to other 

information required by the department, applicants shall provide 

the following information concerning the applicantts educational 

background, professional reputation and knowledge of or experience 

in weather modification: 

SECTION 15: 

(1) ( in tro • ) 

Ag 16.03(1) (intro.) is amended to read: 

PERMIT APPLICATION. Applications for a weather 

modification permit shall be submitted on forms prescribed by the 

department no later than ~ 20 business days before the applicant 

plans to use the permit and be accompanied by the required fee. 
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1 The department shall grant or deny a permit application within 

2 20 business days after the application is filed with the depart-

3 ment, provided that the 'application is accompanied by all requi-

4 site information and documentation. In addition to information 

5 required under s. 93.35(6)(b), Stats., the applicant shall provide 

6 the following: 

7 SEOTION 16: Ag 23.03(2) is amended to read: 

8 (2) Applications for a permit to import uninspected nursery 

9 stock shall be made to the department in writing. The department 

10 may require prior inspection as a condition of entry or deny the 

11 application if in its judgment a serious plant pest hazard exists. 

12 The department shall grant or deny a permit application within 

13 20 business days after the application is filed with the depart-

14 ment, provided that the request is accompanied by all requisite 

15 information and documentation. 

16 SECTION 17: Ag 23.04(2) is amended to read: 

17 (2) Applications shall be made on forms prescribed by the 

18 department identifying the species or variety of plant pests to be 

19 moved, the origin and destination of the shipment, and a statement 

20 of intended use. The department shall grant or deny a permit 

21 application within 20 business days after the application is filed 

22 with the department, provided that the application is accompanied 

23 by all requisite information and documentation. 

24 SECTION 18: Ag 25.06(2)(b) is amended to read: 

25 (2)(b) Applications for permits shall be made to the ~~ 

2 6 ± n d U 8- t r yo D :J:.v.-i-s ion , :ge-p"~tm eB t ef Ag-:e-i-e-t:l-J:.t..a.p.e,--H-:J:.±-l.-F-a-PIfl-&--S..t.&t-e 

27 ~~iee ~~Bg, Madison, ~&nsin· 537~ department, and shall 
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1 include the names and addresses of the consignee and consignor, 

2 the number and kind of plants or plant parts to be shipped or 

3 transported, and the planting destination within such control area 

4 counties. Permits will not be issued for planting within estab-

5 lished protection and control zones or within infective distances 

6 of protected pine. The department shall grant or deny a permit 

7 application within 20 business days after the application is filed 

8 with the department, provided that the application is accompanied 

9 by all requisite information and documentation. 

10 SECTION 19: Ag 27.02 is amended to read: 

11 Ag 27.02 LIVING ORGANISM. No person shall move or transport 

12 any living specimen of the potato rot nematode or of any soil or 

13 plant materials containing such organism wi thout a permi t from the 

14 department. Permit may be granted only for experimental work or 

15 .. research by governmental agencies, educational institutions ,or 

16 private laboratories engaged in plant pest research. The depart-

17 ment shall grant· or deny ayermi t application wi thi.n 20 business 

18 days after the application is filed with the department, provided 

19 that the application is accompanied by all requisite information 

20 and documentation. 

21 SECTION 20: Ag 28.05(3) is amended to read: 

22 (3) The department shall grant or deny a request for 

23 approval under sub. (2) within 20 business days after the request 

24 is filed with the department, provided that the request is accom-

25 panied by all requisite information and documentation. Unless 

26 otherwise specified in the notice of approval, all approvals for 

27 sale by volume shall expire on December 31 of each year. In the 
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1 event of any change in vehicle usage or other data specified under 

2 sub. (2) during the period for which approval was granted, the 

3 department shall be notified of such fact and a supplemental 

4 request for approval shall be submitted within 15 days afte~ such 

5 change. All temporary replacement vehicles used shall be marked 

6 to show cubic yard capacity as required by s. 94.66, Stats. 

7 SECTION 21: Ag 28.06(1) is amended to read: 

8 (1) LICENSE REQUIREMENT. No person may engage in the busi-

9 ness of selling or distributing liming material in this state 

10 without first obtaining a license from the department, as provided 

11 under s. 94.66(2), Stats. No license is required of persons 

12 engaged solely in the sale or distribution of liming materials 

13 obtained from a licensee, except that persons who commingle liming 

14 materials having different neutralizing indexes, or which are 

15 obtained from two or more licensees, shall not sell or distribute 

16 the commingled materials without a license from the department. 

17 The department shall grant or deny a license application within 

18 20 business days after the application is filed with the depart-

19 ment, provided that the application is accom~ed by all re~ 

20 site information and documentation. 

21 SECTION 22: Ag 29.04(3) is amended to read: 

22 (3) STANDARDS FOR ISSUING PERMITS; GENERAL. Permits may be 

23 issued under this section only when, in the judgment of the 

24 department, adequate controls can be established to assure that 

25 the pesticide will be used with relative safety and without unrea-

26 sonable hazard to persons, property, wild animals or the environ-

27 mente As a condition to the issuance of permitsL the department 
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1 may require that the pesticide be used only by or under the direct 

2 and immediate supervision of government officials engaged in pest 

3 control work, certified applicators, or other qualified personnel. 

4 ~he department shall grant or deny a permit application within 

5 60 business days after the application is filed with the 

6 department, provided that the application is accompanied by all 

7 requisite information and documentation. 

8 SECTION 23: Ag 29.06(4) is cr~ated to read: 

9 (4) ACTION ON PERMIT APPLICATION; TIME LIMIT. The depart-

10 ment shall grant or deny an application for an emergency use per­

Il mit within 20 business days after the application is filed with 

12 the department, provided that the application is accompanied by 

13 all requisite information and documentation. 

14 SECTION 24: Ag 29.07(3) is amended to read: 

15 (3) STANDARDS FOR ISSUING PERMITS. The department may issue 

16 permits only for bona fide experimental uses under the supervision 

17 of persons qualified by training and experience to engage in pes-

18 tic ide research, when in the department's judgment the proposed 

19 experimental use presents no significant hazard to persons, prop-

20 erty, wild animals or the environment, and includes adequate con-

21 troIs and safeguards to prevent actual hazards. The department 

22 shall grant or deny a permit application within 60 business days 

23 after the a~plication is filed with the department, provided that 

24 the application is accompanied by all re~ite information and 

25 documentation. 

26 SECTION 25: Ag 29.08(3)(c) is created to read: 

27 (3)(c) The department shall grant or deny an application for 
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1 registration to meet a special local need within 180 business days 

2 after the application is filed with the department, provided that 

3 the application is accompanied by all requisite information and 

4 documentation. 

5 SECTION 26: Ag 29.09(3) is created to read: 

6 (3) ACTION ON LICENSE APPLICATION; TIME LIMIT. The depart-

7 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

ment shall grant or deny a-license application by a pesticide man-

ufacturer or labeler within 20 business days after the application 

is filed with the department, provided that the application is 

accompanied by all requisite information and documentation. 

SECTION 27: Ag 29.10(3) is amended to read: 
' .. " ' . \ ' 

(3) REGISTRATION PROCEDURES.IPersons required to register 
" I 

under this section shall register ok forms furnished by the 
, I 

! 
department, to include the name and 'address of the applicator or 

I 

seller and business locations 'from ~hich sales are made or from 
I 

16 which business operations are conducted. Changes in business 

17 names or locations shall be reported to the department within 

18 ~ 20 days after date of change. If a registration certificate is 

19 required by this section, the certificate shall be issued by the 

20 department within 20 business days after the department receives a 

21 completed registration form, unless the certificate is suspended 

22 or revoked by the department under this section. 

23 SECTION 28: Ag 29.16(7)(a) is amended to read: 

24 (7)(a) A certification card shall be issued by the depart-

25 ment to a private or commercial applicator when the applicator has 

26 satisfied all the conditions required for certification. Persons 

27 claiming to have satisfied the applicable certification require-



13 

1 ments may submit a request for certification to the department. 

2 The department shall grant or deny a request for certification 

3 within 20 business days after the request is made, provided that 

4 the request is accompanied by all requisite information and 

5 documentation. 

6 SECTION 29: Ag 40.02(3) is amended to read: 

7 (3) Upon application-for a license to operate a cannery the 

8 department may issue a temporary operating permit to the applicant 

9 ~pepate tae frame as provided by stat~~ s. 97.28(5), Stats. A 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

i 
I 

department or, if a temporary operating permit is issued, prior to 

expiration of the temporary operating permit. 

18 SECTION 30: Ag 42.03(2) is amended to read: 

19 (2) A license to operate a cold storage warehouse will be 

20 granted by the state department of agriculture, trade and consumer 

21 protection for a period of one year only, after an examination of 

22 the warehouse has been made and the warehouse is found to be in 

23 proper sanitary condition and otherwise properly equipped for its 

24 intended use and upon the payment of the required fee, said fee 

25 made payable to the state treasurer. The department shal~an~ 

26 or deny a license application within 40 business ~~s after the 

27 application is filed with the department, provided that the 
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1 application is accompanied by all requisite information and 

2 documentation. 

3 SECTION 31: Ag 48.07(3) is amended to read: 

4 (3) No person shall may transport lungs or lung lobes, 

5 inedible animal fat or other inedible products, unless naturally 

6 inedible by humans, without denaturing unless -&It&ft the person has 

7 applied' for and received from the department a numbered permit ~ 

8 ~ authorizing shipment of ~ the productsL and transports ~ 

9 the products in conformity with this section. The department 

10 shall grant or deny a permit application within 10 days after the 

11 application is filed with the department, provided that the appli-

12 cation is accompanied by all requisite information and documenta-

13 tion. The numbered permit assigned by. the department shall be ,is 

14 a continuing nontransferable permit~ and shall peffia4n The permit 

15 remains in effectL unless suspended or revoked by the departmentL 

16 -&P until the peps-e-n-&&s4-g-ned sue-h-m±m-fl-e..p.e-G permit holder ceases 

17 operations. 

18 SECTION 32: Ag 48.11(1) is amended to read: 

19 (1) Vehicle permits under s. 95.72(7)(c), Stats., may be 

20 issued for the operation of vehicles which are used by an animal 

21 food processor, renderer, a dead animal collector or their 

22 employes. The licensee or person to whom the vehicle permits are 

23 issued shall be held strictly accountable at all times for the 

24 operation of vehicles. The owner-operator, business partner or 

25 principal officer of a corporation or cooperative shall be respon-

26 sible for the conduct of business in conformity with the standards 

27 in this chapter. The department shall grant or deny an applica-



1 tion for a vehicle permit within 20 business days after the appli-

2 cation is filed with the department, provided that the application 

3 is accompanied by all requisite information and documentation. 

4 SECTION 33: Ag 48.12 is renumbered Ag 48.12(1). 

5 SECTION 34: Ag 48.12(2) is created to read: 

6 

7 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

16 

(2) The department shall grant or deny a request for a per-

mit to operate a vehicle transfer station within 40 business days 

after the request is made to the department, provided that the 

request is accompanied by all requisite information and 

documentation. 

SECTION 35: Ag 80.04(1) is amended to read: 
I 
I. 
I 

(1) Before the issuance of anioriginal grade A dairy plant 

license or farm permit, the departmJnt shall inspect the plant or 

dairy farm to determine compliance Jith the requirements of this 
I 

chapter. The department shall gran~ or deny an application for a 
i 

grade A dairy plant license or farm :permit within 40 business days 

17 after the application is filed with the department, provided that 

18 ~he application is accompanied by all requisite information and 

19 documentation. After the issuance of a license or permit, each 

20 dairy farm and transfer station shall be inspected at least once 

21 every 6 months. Grade A dairy plants other than transfer stations 

22 shall be inspected at least once every 3 months. If a violation 

23 of any requirement is found to exist on an inspection a second 

24 inspection may be made as necessary, but not before 3 days to 

25 determine compliance. Any violation of the same requirement on 

26 reinspection shall constitute grounds for the immediate suspension 

27 of the license or permit, with right of hearing before the 
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1 department if requested in writing within 10 days. Hearings, if 

2 requested, shall be conducted as expeditiously as possible. 

3 SECTION 36: Ag 86:03 is amended to read: 

4 Ag 86.03 PERMITS. The operator of any milk condensing- or 

5 milk drying plant desiring to use the "Grade A" label on any con-

6 densed milk products manufactured by ~ ~he plant operator shall 

7 make application for a Grade A permit on a form prescribed by the 

8 department. The department shall grant or deny a permit applica-

9 tion within 40 business days after the application is filed with 

10 the department, provided that the application is accompanied by 

11 all requisite information and documentation. 

12 SECTION 37: Ag 87.03 is amended tb read: 

13 Ag 87.03 PERMITS. Any person desiring to use the Grade A 

14 label on any cottage cheese manufactured by ir}ffi that person shall 

15 . make application for a Grade A permit on a form prescribed by the 

16 department. The department shall grant or deny a permitapplica-

17 tion within 20 business days after the application is filed with 

18 the department, provided that the application is accompanied by 

19 all requisite information and documentation. 

20 SECTION 38: Ag 88.03(2) is amended to read: 

21 (2) Permits shall be issued without the payment of any fee 

22 and be valid for a period of 2 years after date of issuance, and 

23 may be renewed for like periods upon expiration thereof and quali-

24 fication of the applicant. The department shall grant or den~ 

25 permit application within 20 business da~fter the application 

26 is filed with the department, provided that the application is 

27 accompanied by all requisite information and documentation. Per-
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1 mits may be denied, suspended or revoked if the logotype is used 

2 contrary to the requirements of this chapter or the permit holder 

3 uses or aids or abets the use of the logotype on cheese not manu-

4 factured in this state. Registrants shall at all times keep the 

5 department informed of any changes in plant operations affecting 

6 use of the logotype. 

7 SECTION 39: Ag 107.02(1) is amended to read: 

8 (1) In addition to the initial examination required for the 

9 issuance of an original milk weighers and samplers license under 

10 s. 98.146, Stats., the applicant may be required to demonstrate 

11 competency to perform the weighing and sampling functions, either 

12 on the department's premises or in a field examination. The 

13 department shall grant or deny a license application within 

14 60 business days after the application is received by the depart-

15 ment, provided that the application is accompanied by all requi-

16 site information and documenta_tion. The applicant shall, as a 

17 condition to the first biennial license renewal satisfactorily 

18 pass a second and more comprehensive examination as prepared by 

19 the department. 

20 SECTION 40: Ag 120.02(1) is amended to read: 

21 (1) No scale service company or other person shall install 

22 or relocate a scale without a written permit from the department. 

23 Application for such permi t shall be made in writing on forms 

24 provided by the department. A copy of the construction plan for 

25 installing or relocating a scale shall accompany each application 

26 for a permit, unless a master set of construction plans f~lly set-

27 ting forth construction details has been filed with the department 
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1 and are separately identified by plan numbers. Applications may 

2 describe a construction plan by referring to its plan number if 

3 such plan has been approved by and is on file with the department. 

4 Any deviations from construction plans on the master set shall be 

5 separately described in any application. No permit shall be 

6 issued for plans not meeting the requirements of this chapter, 

7 except as provided under s. Ag 120.04. No scale service company 

8 or other person may deviate from minimum requirements on plans 

9 approved under permit without the express approval of the depart-

10 ment in writing. The department shall grant or deny a permit 

11 application within 20 business days after the application is filed 

12 with the department, provided that the application is accompanied 

13 by all requisite information and documentation. 

14 SECTION 41: The rules contained in this order shall take 

15 effect on the first day of the month following publication in the 

16 Wisconsin administrative register, as provided in 

17 s. 227.026(1) (intro.), Stats. 

18 Da ted this 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 
JKM/T3/18/sP/D3 

24 9/20/85-12 

25 

26 

27 

24th day of September, 1985. 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, TRADE 
AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 

By :.-e~, ~1J-f"" 


