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PREFACE

Section 48,65, Stats., requires that persons operating day care centers for children be li-
censed. The leglslatwe hlstOl',‘.’ of 5. 48.6h, Stats., clearly indicates that it not only inctudes
family and group day care centers but also day camps which s)rowde, for compensation, care
and supervision for 4 or more children under 7 years of age for less than 24 hours a day, There-
fore, the department has developed rules, some of which apply to all day eare centers includ-
ing day camps, while others recognize and make provision or certain unique differences in the
environmental and the programatic aspects of each type of care.

The statute also requires that the department establish rules which must be met in order to
qualify for a license and which protect and promote the health, safety and welfare of the chil-
dren in a day care center. Chapter HSS 55 represents the minémum level of acceptable care
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that a license may provide to children in a day care center in Wisconsin, These rules should
not be confused with accreditation by professional organizations which is based upon con-

formity with ideal rather than minimal standards, or with ¢ertification of day care providers
for purchase of services with public funds.

Clearly, the fact that a day care center islicensed in no way diminishes the responsibility of
parents {or vigilanee in seeing that their children are receiving care which proteets their physi-
cal well-being and encourages healthy intellectual and emotional development.

Whenever the rules in this chapter indicate that materials such as a request for a variance,
an application for licensure or a complaint about a center are to be sent to or may be requested
from the department, the specific deparimental agency to contact is the department’s re-
gional office serving the geographic area of the state in which the day care center is located. If
the regional office address is unknown to the day care center operator, a parent or other inter-
ested person, then he or she may get the address from the Office for Children, Youth and Fam-
ilies, Division of Community Services, P.0, Box 7851, Madison, WI 53707 (608-266-3026).

Subchapter I — General Provisions

HSS 55.01 Scope, Sections HSS 55.01 through 55.10 apply to all day
care centers for children.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, off, 11-1-84,

HSS 55.02 Authority and purpose. (1) AUTHORITY. Subchapters I, II,
IIT and IV are promulgated under the authority of s. 48.67, Stats.

{2) PurpoOsE, The purpose of this chapter is to protect and promote the
health, safety and welfare of children in day care centers in Wisconsin,

(3) CoNsSTRUCTION. This chapter shall be liberally construed to effect
the objectives in sub. (2).

(4) ExcePTION TO RULES. The department may grant a variance fo a
requirement of this chapter when it is assured that the health, safety and
welfare of the children served will not be jeopardized, A request for a
variance shall be in writing, shall be sent to the department, and shall
inelude justification for the requested action and an explanation of the
alternative provisions planned to meet the intent of the rule.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, ff, 11-1.84,

HSS 55.03 Applicability. This subchapter and subchs, I, III and IV
apply to all day care centers, whether the facility in which the child care
and supervision is provided is known as a day care center, family day
care, day camp, camp, day nursery, nursery school, preschool, head start
or by another designation, but they do not apply to:

{1) Group lessons to develop a talent or skilt, such as dance or music,

social gronp meetings and activities, group athletic activities and reli-

ious education classes where a child attends for 2 hours or less a day or b
ours or less a week;

(2) Care and supervision while the parents are on the premises and are
engaged in shopping, recreation or other non-work activities;

(8) Seasonal programs of 10 days or less duration in any 3-month per-
iod, including day camps, vacation bible school and holiday child care
DPrograms;

(4) Care and supervision in emergency situations; and
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(5) Care and supervision while the parent is employed on the premises
if the parent’s child receives care and supervision for no more than 3
hours a day.

Hlstory Cr. Register, Qctober, 1984, No. 346, off. 11-1-84; emerg, am. off, 4-22-85; am. Reg-
ister, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9-1-85,

HSS 55.04 Definitions. In subcehs. I, I1, III and IV:

(1) “Assistant child care teacher” means a child care worker who
works under the supervision of a child care teacher.

(2) “Base camp”’ means the permanent premises, public or private, on
which the day ecamp is operated.

(8) “Camp director” means the individual on the campsite who is
responsibile for the administration of the eamp, mcludmg program oper-
ations, business operations, food service, health service, and other sup-
portive services.

(4) “Care” means providing for the safety and the developmental
needs of a child in a group day care center, family day care center or day
camp. '

() “Child care teacher' means a child care worker who plans and im-
plements daily activities for a designated group of children.

{(6) *“Child care worker' means an adult in a group day care center who
meets the qualifications for child care teacher under s, HSS §5.32 (1) (¢)
or assistant child care teacher under s. HSS 55.32 (1) (d).

(7) “Compensation” means salary or wage or other material consider-
ation such as gifts or compensatory labor received for the care and super-
vision of children. “Compensation” does not include cooperative ar-
rangements made between 2 or more parents for the exchange of child
care and supervision, and the payments made by them for the actual cost
of equipment, supplies or facilities incidental to the operatlon of the co-
operative arrangements,

i {8) “Counselor’” means a staff member who works directiy with chil-
ren,

(9) “Day camp” or “camp’ means a licensed day care center that pro-
vides an experience in a seasonal program oriented to the out-of-doors for
periods less than 24 hours a day.

(10) “Day care center” or “center”” means a licensed facility where a
person, other than relative or guardian, provides care and supervision for
4 or more children under 7 yvears of age, for less than 24 hours a day and
for compensation.

(11) “Department’ means the department of health and social ser-
vices unless otherwise noted.

(12) “Family day care center” means a center that provides care and
supervision for 4 to 8 children.

(13) “Field trip"”’ means any experience a child has away from the
premises of the center while under the care of center staff,

(14) “Group’”” means a specific number of children who have the same
child care worker responsible for the children’s well-being and meeting
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the children’s basic needs and who are cared for in the same self-con-
tained room or area at the center.

(15) “Group day care center’” means a center that provides care and
supervision for 4 or more children,

(16) “Infant” means a child under one year of age.

(17) “Licensee” means the corporation, individual, partnership or
nonincorporated association or cooperative which has legal and financial
responsibility for the operation of a day care center and for meeting the
licensing rules.

(18) “Night care center” means a group day care center or family day
care cel:)ter which operates during any period of time between 7:00 p.m.
and 6:60 a.m,

(19) “Parent’” means either “parent” as defined in 5. 48.02 (13), Stats.,
or “guardian” as defined in s. 48.02 (9), Stats.

(20) “Parent cooperative” means a center organized by parents for
their preschool children in which the parents have decision-making au-
thority to establish and change policy, program and personnel practices.

(21) ““Parochial or private schooi’ means an educational program
which meets all the criteria specified under s, 118.165 (1), Stats,, or as
(Siget;mined by the superintendent of public instruction under s, 118.167,

(22) “Physician” has the meaning presecribed in s, 448,01 (5), Stats,

(23} “Premises” means a tract of land with buildings, structures or
shelters on it.

{24) “Provider” means an adult in a family day care center who works
with children,

(25) *Self-contained room or area” means a room separated by perma-
nent walls or an area separated by permanent or portable partitions or
dividers acting as a visual barrier which:

(a) Is reserved for a specific group of children; and

{b) Contains the indoor equipment and furnishings required for that
group.

(26) “Supervision of children” means guidance of the behavior and
activities of children for their health, safety and weil-being.

(27) “Supervision of stafi”” means guidance of the behavior and activi-
ties of center employees which may include provision of instruetions to
carry out activities for limited periods of time out of sight or hearing of
the supervisor,

(28) “‘T'oddler” means a child at least one year of age but less than 2
years of age.

(29} “Volunteer” means a person who agrees to give time, without
compensation, to provide transportation or to work with children in a
day care center.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, off, 11-1-84.
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HSS 55.05 Licensing administration, (1) LICENSING CATEGORIES, Day
care centers are divided for licensing purposes into the following catego-
ries:

(a) Family day care centers;
(b} Group day care centers; and
(¢) Day camps,

(2) LICENSING PROCEDURES. (a) A person making an inquiry to the
department about obtaining a day care license shaH be;

1. Provided with the relevant parts of this chapter;

2, Given other written materials or listings of publications about es-
tablishing a day care center;

3. Offered an opportunity to meet with a departmental representative
to discuss the materials;

4, Supplied with the necessary forms if lHeensing is desired; and

t.5. Assisted through the licensing process by a departmental represent-
ative,

Note: The licensure application form, DCS-102, may be obtained from any department re-
gional office,

(b} An applicant shall file an application and other materials required
for the specific category of day care center licensure and licensure re-
newal on forms provided by the department at least:

. L. Sixty days prior to the date proposed for the center to begin operat-
g,

2, Except for day camps, 30 days prior to the end of the current licens-
ing period;

3. Forty-five days prior to opening an additional center;
4, Thirty days prior to changing the address of the center; and
5, Thirty days prior to new ownership of the center,

(c) Day care centers shall include the following materials when sub-
mitting an application for licensure;

1. A clearly defined statement of purpose as it relates to the provision
of child care services;

2. A signed statement by the applicant or licensee accepting legal re-
sponsibility for complying with applicable parts of this chapter;

3. The articles of incorporation and by-laws if the eenter is organized
as a corporation, association or cooperative;

4, A signed authorization which permits the department to make
whatever investigation it considers necessary for the verification of perti-
nent application information;

b, Specifications regarding the center’s premises as follows:
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a. Family and group day care applicants shall submit a diagramatic
floor plan of the center, ineluding rcom dimensions and room usage, and
a diagram of the outdoor areas, including area dimensions, loeation and
enclosures;

b. Day eamp applicants shall submit a general description of the camp
area, geographic location and size of the base camp; and

¢. Day camps operating without a base camnp and having a program
conststing primarily of day trips shall submit the proposed itinerary of
day trips to the department,.

6. Group day care and day camp applicants shall include a written
delegation of administrative authority sighed by the licensee which out-
lines the organizational structure and designates, in a chain of command
form, those persons on the premises in charge of the center for all hours of
operation;

7. Family day care applicants shall include the names, addresses and
telephone numbers of 2 references other than relatives; and

8. Day camp applicants shall include:

a. A statement from the state laboratory of hygiene or a state ap-
proved laboratory indicating that the water source has been tested and
found to be safe; and

b. The name, address and telephone number of the person to be con-
tacted by the licensing representative for the pre-camp licensing review.

{d) Within 20 working days after receiving an application for initial
licensure, a departmental representative shall contact the applicant in
person or by phone and develop a check list for the applicant to utilize in
meeting pre-licensing requirements, including:

1. Necessary building inspections;

2. Required equipment, furnishings and supplies;

3. Reguirements for stafling and staff qualifications;

4, Required safety and sanitation equipment and supplies; and
5. Required written policies and procedures.

(e) When the applicant determines that all requirements on the check
list have been met, the applicant shall notify the departmental repre-
sentative.

(f) Within 20 working days after the notification under par. (e) the
departmental representative shall survey the day care center site to de-
termine whether the applicant has complied with all of the requirements.

(g) When the applicant is found to be in compliance with all require-
ments, the department shall issue a day care center license within &
working days from the date of completing the survey study.

(h) If the applicant is not in compliance, the department shall specify
in writing the areas of non-compliance and the applicant shall have an
opportunity to make the necessary changes and shall be re-surveyed
within 20 weorking days after notifying the departmental representative,
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{3) AMENDMENT TO LICENSE. A written request for an amendment to
the license shall be submitted to the department by the licensee before
changes are made in the conditions of the current license such as maxi-
mum number of children, age range of children, hours, days of the week,
months of the year in operation or change in the name of the center.

. {4) TERMS OF LICENSE, (a) The number of children under 7 years of age
in care of the center at any one time may not exceed the number for
which the center is licensed,

- {b) The age of children served may not he younger or older than the
age range specified in the terms of the license.

(e) The hours, days and months of a center’s operation may not exceed
those specified in the license.

{5) ADDITIONAL LICENSE. A licensee seeking leensure for an additional
center location shall demonstrate compliance with applicable parts of
this chapter in the operation of the existing center,

_ (6) CoNDITION OF LICENSURE. The department may refuse to grant a
license or may revoke a license if the licensee, applicant or proposed or
current employe or volunteer:

(a) Is the subject of a pending eriminai charge if the charge substan-
tial!y relates to the circumstances of caring for children or activities of
the center;

{b) Has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense the
circumstances of which substantially related to the care of children or
activities of the center;

(¢) Has been determined to have abused or ﬁeglected a child pursuant
to s, 48.981, Stats.; or

(d) Is the subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned his
or her child, has inflicted sexual or physical abuse on a child or has ne-
glected or refused, for reasons other than poverty, to provide necessary
care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shelter so as to seriously
endanger the physical health of a child,

(7} SUMMARY SUSPENSION OF A LICENSE, (a) Under the authority of s.
227,51 (8), Stats., the department may order the summary suspension of
a license and, therefore, the closing of a day care center following a find-
ing of imminent danger to the health, safety or welfare of the children in
care, A finding of imminent danger may be based on, but not iimited to,
the following:

1. Failure to provide environmental protections such as heat, water,
electricity or telephone service;

2. The licensee, employe or volunteer has been convicted of or has a
pending charge for a crime against life or bodily injury;

3. The licensee, employe or volunteer has been convicted of a felony,
misdemeanor or other offense or has a pending criminal charge which
substantially relates to the circumstances of caring for children or activi-
ties of the center; or
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4, The licensee, employe or volunteer is the subject of a current investi-
gation for alleged child abuse or neglect pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats,

Note: Examples of actions the depariment will consider in making determinations under s,
HSS 55.05 (6) and (7), are; abuse and neglect of children; sexual assault; abuse of residents of
facilities; crimes against life and bodily security; kidnapping; abduetion; arson of buildings or
property other than buildings; robbery; receiving property from children; erimes against sex-
ual morality, such as enticing a minor for immoral purposes or exposing minors te harmful
materials and inferfering with the custody of a child. The list is itlustrative. It is not al-inclu-
sive of the types of offenses that may be considered,

{b) An initial order to close may be a verbal order by a departmental
representative but shall be approved at a regional administrative level
before it becomes effective. The department shall within 72 hours of the
approval either permit the reopening of the center or initiate proceedings
in accordance with s, 227.51 (8), Stats., for the revocation of the license
to operate. A preliminary hearing on the revocation shall be provided
within 10 working days of the initial order to close.

{8) EFFECT OF NOTICE TO REVOKE OR DENY A LICENSE. The department
shall provide a center with a written 30-day notice of intent to revoke or
deny a license, Upon receipt of that notice and during any revocation or
denial procedures which may result, a day care center may not accept for
care any child not enrolled as of the date of receipt of the 30-day notice
without the written approval of the department.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84.

HSS 55.06 Complaints, All complaints concerning a licensed or illegally
operating day care center shall be submitted to the department by tele-
phone, letter or personal interview. Complaints will be investigated by a
licensing representative of the department, A written report of the find-
ings of the investigation will be sent to the complainant upon request.

History: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84,

HSS 55.07 Non-discrimination, confidentialily and reporting child abuse.
(1) DiSCRIMINATION PROHIBITED. The licensee shall ensure that the day
care center does not diseriminate on the basis of age, race, color, sex,
sexual orientation, creed, handicap, national origin or ancestry against:

(a) Any employe or applicant for employment, in regard to hire, ten-
ure or term, condition or privilege of employment as specified in the Fair
Employment Act. ss. 111.31 to 111.395, Stats.; or

(b) Any enrolled child and family or any applicant for enroliment in
regard to admission, privilege of enrollment or discharge condition ex-
capt where it is a reasonable and necessary age requirement specified
under this chapter.

(2) CONFIDENTIALITY OF RECORDS. The licensee is responsible for com-
pliance by the day care center with s. 48,78, Stats., and this subsection,

{(a) Persons having aceess to children’s records may not discuss or dis-
close personal information regarding the children and facts learned
about children and their relatives. This does not apply to:

1. The parent or a person authorized in writing by the parent to receive
such information; or

2. Any agency assisting in planning for the child when informed writ-
ten parental consent has heen given.
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(b) Day care centers shall make accessible to the parent, upon request,
all records and reports maintained on their child,

(¢) All records required by the department for licensing purposes are to
be available to licensing representatives,

(3) REPORTING CHILD ABUSE, (a) A lcensee who knows or has reason-
able cause to suspect that a child has been abused or neglected as defined
in s, 48.981 (1), Stats,, shall immediately contact the county welfare
ggency, or loeal law enforcement agency in compliance with s, 48.981,

tats.

{b) The licensee shall ensure that every child care worker who comes in
contact with the children at the day care center has received training in:

1. Child abuse and neglect laws;
2. Identification of children who have been abused or neglected; and

3.l The process for reporting known or suspected cases of child abuse or
neglect.

Nate: Failure of the licensee to report known or suspected incidents of child abuse or neglect
does not lessen the legal duty of the child care worker to report known or suspected cases of
child abuse or neglect.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1934, No. 348, eff, 11-1.84.

HSS 55.08 Peis and livestock. (1) Dogs and cats that are kept on the
premises of a day care center shall be vaccinated against diseases for
“H!}EIh vaccines are available and which present a hazard to the health of
children.

(2) Pets suspected of being ill or infested with external lice, fleas and
ticks or internal worms shall be removed from the center.

(3) In the event that an animal bites a child, the parent shall be noti-
fied and a veterinarian shall be contacted by center personnel to deter-
mine a course of action in the diagnosis of possible rabies in the animal,
Procedures for emergency care of children shall be followed. Parents
shall be notified of any action taken by the veterinarian,

{4) Turtles, skunks and poisonous reptiles are prohibited from being
kept on the premises of a day care center as pets in order to prevent
salmonella, rabies and poisoning,.

(6) Animal pens shall be kep{ clean.

{6) Pets shall be kept and handled in a manner which protects the well-
being of both children and pets.

(7) No pets may be in the food preparation areas.
(8) No horses or other farm animals may be quartered closer than 500
feet from the building in which the day care center is located.
History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84,
_HSS 55.09 Transportation. This subsection applies to all center-pro-
vided or center-contracted transportation of children, including both

regularly scheduled transportation to and from the center and field trip
transportation,
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(1) GENERAL. {a) The center shall assume responsibiiity for a child
between the time the child is picked up until the child is delivered to the
parent or to a responsible person designated by the parent.

(b) Center-provided transportation includes transportation in:
1. Center-owned or leased vehicles;

2. Volunteer or stafi-owned vehicles for which the volunteer or staff is
reimbursed for the use of the vehicle; and

3. Volunteer or staff-owned vehicles without reimbursement to the
owner for the use of the vehicle,

(e¢) Whenever the center contracts with a firm for the provision of
transportation, the center shall ensure that the firm complies with all
appiicable requirements of this subsection.

(d) When children are transported in school buses as defined in s.
340.01 (56), Stats., the school buses shall comply with ch. Trans 300.

(e) When regularly scheduled transportation is provided by the center,
the name of each driver, type of license held and the date of expiration of
the license shail be on file at the center. When services are contracted, the
name, address and telephone number of the contracting firm and the
name of a representative of the firm who may be contacted after hours
shall be on file at the center,

(£) The center shall maintain a written plan for regularly scheduled
transportation of children hetween the children’s homes and the center,
which shall include:

1. A list of children transported and the method of takmg daily attend-
ance;

2. The schedule of the transportation route;

3, The name and address of the person authorized to receive the child if
the child is dropped off at a place other than the child’s residence; and

4, Procedures to be followed when the parent or designated authorized
adult is not at home to receive the child.

(g.) The center shall have written safety precautions to be followed
when transporting handicapped children who have a limited ability to
respond to an emergency,

(h) Emergency information as required under s. HSS 55.31 (8) (a) l.e.
and d. and 2, shall be carried in the vehicle.

(1t) gmokmg is prohibited in the vehicle while children are being trans-
ported.

(2) DRIVER. (a) The driver of a center-operated or center-contracted
vehicle shall hold a valid Wisconsin operator’s license for the type of ve-
hicle being driven.

(b} The center shall have a copy of the staff member’s driving record
on file before that person may act as a driver. The driver shall;

1. Sign a waiver authorizing the administrator of the center to obtain a
copy of his or her driving record; or

Register, June, 1986, No. 366




DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVIIS}SES}Ss M
5

2. Provide the administrator with a copy of his or her driving record.

Note: Copies of driving records may be obtained from the Department of Transportation,
Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Driver Licensing, P.O. Box 7918, Madison, W1 53787,

(e) The driver of a vehicle shall be at least 18 years of age but under 70
veats of age and have at least one year of experience as a licensed driver.

(3) VEHICLE. (a) All center-provided or center-contracted transporta-
tton vehiecles shall be registered by the state of Wisconsin.

(b) Center-owned vehicles shall be in safe operating condition, and at
G-month intervals the licensee shall provide the department with evi-
dence of the vehicle’s safe operating condition on forms provided by the
department. .

Nole: Form DCS-52, Safety Inspection for Day Care Vehicles, may be obtained from any
department regional office. - :

{(e¢) Center-owned vehicles shall be equipped with a first aid kif.

{d} Al vehicles shall be clean, unciuttered, and free of obstructions on
the floors, aisles and seats.

{e) All vehicles shall be enclosed. Children may not be transported ina
truck except in the cab.

(f) When seat belts are available, children 4 years of age and older shall
wear them.

Nole: Section 347.48 (1), Stats,, in effect requires that most automobiles belonging to Wis-
consin residents be equipped with seat belts,

(g) When children under the age of 4 are being transported in a motor
vehicle each child shall be properly restrained in a child safety restraint
system or in a seat belt in accordance with s. 347.48, Stats.

(k) Doors shall be locked at ail times when the vehiele is moving.

(i) A copy of any aceident report shall be submitted to the department
within 5 days after the oceurrence of an accident involving a vehicle
transporting children,

{4) VEHICLE CAPACITY AND SUPERVISION. (a) Children may not be left
unattended in the vehicle,

{b) When children are transported in a vehicle there shall be at least
one adult supervisor in addition to the driver whenever there are more
than 3 children who are either under 2 years of age or who have a handi-
cap which limits their ability to respond to an emergency.

(e) There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the driver
when there are more than 19 children under 5 years of age in the vehicle,

(d) There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the driver
when there are more than 17 children & years and older in the vehicle.

{e) After transporting a child to his or her destination, the driver shall
wait until the child enters the building or is in the hands of a designated
authorized aduit.

(f) A seat shall be provided for each child. Allowable width in deter-
mining seating capacity is 12 inches for a child and 20 inches for an adult.
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{g) The driver or adult supervisor shall be responsible for seeing that
children remain seated while the vehicle is in motion,

(h) No more than 3 persons, including the driver, may occupy the
front seat of a vehicle.

(i) The driver of a center-owned vehicle shall conduct vehicle evacua-
tion drills initially and at 3-month intervals. The evacuations shall be
supervised and verified in writing by a staff person.

Hislory: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84,

HSS 55.10 Pools. A center which hasa pool, beach, or other swimming
place on its premises shall comply with:

(1} The requirements of ch. HS8.171; and
(8§2) American Red Cross standards as specified in s, HSS 56.44 (7) and

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No, 346, eff. 11-1-84,
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Subchapter 11 — Additional Requirements for Family Day Care
Centers

HSS 55.20 Scope. Sections HSS 55.20 to 55.27 apply to all family day
care centers, .

Hislory: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, off, 11-1-84.

hI}}SS 55.21 Operations requirements, (1) ADMINISTRATION. The licensee
shail;

. (a) Comply with all applicabie statutes under which the requirements
in this chapter are promulgated;

{b) Comply with all applicable requirements in this chapter;

{¢) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the submission of
a certificate of insurance reflecting current dates of coverage for;

1. General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of
not less than $25,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 for each
occurrence.

2. Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is provided, with
minimums no less than those specifted in s, 121.53, 8tats.; and

3. Non-owned vehiecle liability insurance when transportation is pro-
vided by other than center-owned vehicles; _

(d) Make written information available to parents on enrollment prac-
tices, including admission and termination of enrollment; fees and ab-
sences; health practices, including iliness and injuries; nutrition; daily
activities of the children; and diseipline;

(e) Display the day care license in a location where parents can see it
during the hours of operation; and

(f) Bnsure that all published statements, such as brochures and public-
ity, are accurate.

{2) REPORTS. The licensee shall report to the department:

(a) An accident resulting in the death or serious injury of a child while
at the center, within 48 hours after the occurrence, In this paragraph,
“ggﬁ}ous injury” means one requiring inpatient hospitalization of the
child;

{b) A catastrophe resulting in damage to the center, within 24 hours
after the occurrence; and

(¢) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by
the department,

(3) CHILDREN’S RECORDS. (a) The licensee shall maintain a current
written record at the center on each child enrolled and make it available
to the licensing representative. Each record shall include:

1, Enrollment information prescribed under s, HSS 55.81 (4) (a) 1.

2. Written consent from the parent for emergency medical care or
treatment;
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3. Authorization for the child to participate in and be transported for
field trips and other activities if these are part of the program;

4, Specific informed written consent from the parent for each incident
or participation by a child in any research or testing project. The family
day care center shall obtain and make available to the department and
the parents a statement indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the
speeific purpose and the proposed use of results with respect to each such
project; and

5, Documentation of the child’s most recent physical examination, im-
munization history and other matters relating to the child’s health.

(b) The licensee shall maintain a written record of the daily attend-
ance of each child for the length of time the child is enrolled in the pro-
gram,

(e) The licensee shall maintain a daily medieal log to record any inju-
ries received by a child or medication dispensed to a child.

1, 'Phe log shall be in a bound book with pages that are lined and num-
bered, The pages may not be removed,

. g Entries shall be in ink and dated and signed or initialed by the pro-
vider, '

History: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84,

h}ﬁ.‘}S 55.22 Day care provider. (1) QUAL!FICATIONS. (a) The provider
snati . o

1, Be at least 18 years of age; and

2. Have satisfactorily completed, or be enrolled in, 40 hours of early
childhood training which is approved by the department,

(b) The provider shall document 15 hours of training received each
year in child growth and development or early childhood education as
approved by the department. This training may include attendance at
training events, workshops, eonferences, independent reading, consulta-
tion with community resource people or observation in day care pro-
grams,

(¢) Family day care providers licensed to cave for infants and toddlers
shall receive 10 hours of training in infant and toddler care as approved
by the department within 6 months after accepting any infant or toddler
for care. The training shall be part of the required entry-level training or
shall be obtained through continuing eduecation.

(d) The provider shall not be employed in any other oceupation during
the hours of operation of the center.

(2) STAFFING AND GROUPING. (a) At no time may more than 8 children
under 7 years of age be in the care of the center. This total shall be deter-
mined as follows:

1, All children who are under 7 years of age shall be included in this
number; and '

2. When children who are 7 years of age or older and who are not mem-
bers of the provider's family are served in the same center with children
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under 7 years of age, they shall be included in determining the total
number of children to be served within the licensed capaeity.

(b) The maximum number of children that one provider may care for
is specified in Table 55.22.

TABLE 55.22

MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN FAMILY DAY CARE, PER
PROVIDER

Maximum Number
of Additional
Children in First
Maximum Number  Grade or Above in

Children Under  Children 2 through of Children Care for Fewer
2 Years of Age 6 Years of Age in a Group than 3 Hours a Day
0 8 8 1]
1 7 8 0
2 5 ki i
3 2 b 3
4 0 4 2

{e)} If the size of the group or age distribution of the children exceeds
the number that may be served by one provider, an additional provider
shall be present,

(d) No more than 3 children under one year of age may be served at
any one time by any one provider.

(e) A child or group of children shall have adult supervision at all
times, ' :

(£) A second adult shall be available within 5 minutes for emergencies.
There shall be a dated and signed statement with the name, address and
telephone number on file certifying the second person’s availability and
agreement to serve,

(g) In the event of the provider’s absence, the licensee shall ensure that
a substitute provider is on the licensed premises during any period that
enrolled children are present. The substitute provider may be the same
person as the person designated to be on-call for emergencies.

(h) The adult on call for emergencies and the substitute provider shall
receive an orientation to the operation of the home which includes:

1. The procedure for evacuation and other emergencies;

2. The location of the daily attendance sheet and emergency informa-
tion for children; and

3. The written information specified in HSS 55.21 (1) (d).

(i) Only a person 18 years of age or older may be left in sole charge of
the children.

{8) HEALTH. (a) Any person who works directly with children, except
volunteers, shall have a health examination within 6 months prior to be-
ginning work or within 30 days after beginning work. The report shall be
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dated and signed by a licensed physician, be on file in the center and
certify that:

1. The person is free from ilness detrimental to young children, includ-
ing tuberculosis: and '

2. The person is physically able to work with young chitdren.

(b) Staff, household members, volunteers, visitors or parents with
symptoms of illness or communicable disease or whose behavior gives
r?lg?é)nable concern for the safety of children shall not be in contact with
children.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84,

HSS 55.23 Heme. (1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. {a) Building, 1. The
licensee shall maintain a report of inspection which indicates that the
building has been approved for use as a family day center by an inspector
employed or certified by the department of industry, labor and human
relations. The home shall comply with all state and local building codes,

Note: Local authorities should be consulted to obtain any required zoning clearances or
building permits.

2. The space used by children shall be no less than 35 square feet (3.3
square meters) of usable floor space per child. This space excludes pas-
sageways, bathrooms, lockers, storage areas, the furnace room, that part
of the kitchen occupied by stationary equipment and furniture not in-
tended for children’s use.

3. The inside temperature may not be less than 67° F (20° C).

(b} Protective measures. 1. Steam radiators, electric fans, electric out-
lets, electric heating units and hot surfaces such as pipes shall be pro-
tected by sereens or guards.

2. Unvented space heaters shall be prohibited in reoms used by or ac-
cesstble to children.

3. Firearms, ammunition and other potentially dangerous items which
are located on the premises shall be under lock and key.

4. Materials harmfui to children, including power tools, flammable or
combustibie materials, insecticides, matches, drugs, and other articles
labeled hazardous to children, shall be in properly marked containers
and stored in areas inaccessible to children.

B. The fire extinguishers shall be operable at all times, inspected once a
year by a person qualified to do so and bear a label indicating their
present condition and the date of last inspection.

8. The provider and substitute shall be knowledgeable ahout the use of
the fire extinguishers,

7. Each center shall have an evacuation plan for fire, tornados and
other emergencies which shall be practiced monthly.

8. The center shall have at least one felephone with a list of emergency
telephone numbers such as the local reseue squad, fire department, police
department, law enforcement agency, child protective services and

- emergency medieal service posted by each telephone,
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9. Indoor and outdoor space shall be free from hazards, including but
not limited to abandoned automobiles and household appliances, uncov-
ered wells and cisterns, stacked lumber with exposed nails, and explo-
sives.

10. A motor vehicle at the home at all times or a public or private
rescue or emergency vehicle shall be immediately available in case of an
emergency.

11. Alcohol or non-preseribed controlled substances as specified in s,
161,01, Stats,, may not be consumed during hours of operation by the
day care provider.

(¢) Sanitation, 1. The premises shall be free from litter, in a sanitary
condition and in good repair.

2. Doorways and windows which are opened for ventilation shall be
sereened.

3. Furnishings, toys, cots, and other equipment shall be cleaned or
washed regularly and as often as they become soiled.

4. Household duties and domestic routines shall be limited to daily
maintenance of the home while children are present.

5. Potty chair receptacles shall be emptied, rinsed and disinfected im-
mediately after each use.

{d) Water, 1. A safe supply of drinking water shall be readily available
to the child at all times by use of disposable or individually labeled cups.
Cornmon use of drinking cups is prohibited.

2. When a public water supply is not available, a private well may be
used if it is approved by the department of natural resources, Water sam-
ples from an approved well shall be tested by the state laboratory of hy-
glene or a state-approved laboratory at least annually. The water supply
shall be found bhacteriologically safe prior to use. The report shall be
avallable to the department.

(2) FURNISHINGS. Furnishings shall be durable and safely constructed,
v.iit(}il no sharp, rough, loose or pointed edges. The furnishings shall in-
clude:

(a) Table space and sufficient seating for each child;

(b) Sfdrage space for equipment, cots, if used, bedding, children's
clothing and personal belongings.,

(e) A safe, washable, cot, bed or sleeping bag for each child one year of
age or older who naps or sleeps;

(d) A safe, washable crib provided for each child under one year of age
who naps or sleeps; and

(e) Low shelves for equipment used daily by the children.

(3) KITCHEN, {a) Equipment. Equipment and utensils for preparing,
serving, and storing feod shall be clean and equipped for the safe han-
dling of food.

{b) Dishwashing procedure. 1. Utensils and dishes shall be scraped,
sorted and prewashed under running water.
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) 2, F&r manual washing of dishes and utensils, a 3-step procedure shall
e used: S

a. Wash in water between 110 and i20° I (43 to 52° C), using an effec-
tive scap or detergent;

b. Rinse by immersing dishes and utensils in clean, hot water to re-
move soap or detergent; and :

¢. Sanitize by submerging dishes and utensils for at least 2 minutesina
solution of an approved sanitizer. : :

3. For mechanical washing of dishes and utensils in home type dish-
washer with a temperature setting of between 130° and 150° F, (54° to 66°
C.}, dishes and utensils shall be washed, using soap or detergent, and
rinsed in the dishwasher. Where dishwashers are equipped with auto-
matic sanitizers, the sanitizers shall be used. '

4, All dishes and utensils shall be air-dried in racks or baskets or on a
drain board. ' : C :

Naote: A list of approved sanitizers is available from the Section of Hotels and Restaurants,
Division of Health, P.O. Box 309, Madison, Wisconsin 53701, .- . L

(e) Food sources, 1, Food shall be from sources approved hy the depart-
ment and shall be clean, wholesome, free from spoilage, adulteration and
misbranding, and safe for human consumption.

2. Only milk and milk products which are pasteurized and meet the
Grade A 'milk standard of the department of agriculture, trade and con-
sumer protection may he served or used, :

3. Food in dented, bulging or legking cans, or cans without labels shall
not be used. '

- 4. No hermetically sealed, non-acid 61' low acid food which has been
processed in a place other than a commercial food proecessing establish-
ment may be used.

(d) Food storage, Food shall be stored at temperatures which will pro-
tect against spoilage.

1. Perishable and potentially hazardous food which includes all cus-
tard-filled and ereamed-filled pastries, mitk and milk products, meat,
fish, shellfish, gravy, poultry stuffing and sauces, dressings, salads con-
taining meat, fish, eggs, milk or milk products, or any other food or food
products likely to spoil quickly if not kept at the proper temperature
shall be continuously maintained at 40° F (4° C) or.below or 150° T (66°
C.) or above, as appropriate, except during necessary periods of prepara-
tion and service.

2, Each fet‘rigerator shall be maintained at 40° F (4° C.) or lower and
each freezer at 0° F. (-17° C.) or lower,

3. Each refrigerator and freezer shall be equipped with a clearly visi-
ble, aceurate thermometer,

4. Food shall be covered during refrigeration.

(&) Food handling. 1. Raw fruits and vegetables shall be washed before
serving or cooking,
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2. Food returned from individual plates or from dining tables shali be
discarded.

3. Leftover prepared food which has not been served shall he refriger-
ated promptly and used within 36 hours, or frozen immediately for later
use.

(4) WASHROOM AND TOILET FACILITIES. {a) There shall be at least one
toilet and one sink available for use by the children.

(b) Steps or blocks shall be provided if the washbasin or toilet is not
proportioned to the size of children.

{c) Soap, toilet paper, disposable paper or individually labeled towels
and a waste paper container shall be provided and accessible to chiidren,

Note: Information pertaining to plumbing requirements can be found in ¢h, ILHR 82.

(5) OUTDOOR SPACE. (a) This subsection applies to any center where
children are present for more than 3 hours a day.

(b) There shall be at least 75 square feet (7.0 square meters) of outdoor
play space for each child using the space at a given time.

{(¢) The outdoor space shall be well-drained and free of hazards.

(d) The houndaries of outdoor play space shall be defined in sucha way
as to protect children. A permanent enclosure not less than 4 feet (1.2
meters) high shall be provided where there are hazards nearby, including
but not limited to trafiic or bodies of water.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84,

HSS 55.24 Child. (1) PRoGRAM. (a) Planned activities shall be designed
to expose children to a variety of cultures and provide experiences in
which each child can:

1. Be successful and feel good about self;

2. Use and develop language;

3. Use large and small muscles;

4. Use materials and take part in activities which encourage creativity;

b. Learn new ideas and skills; and

6. Participate in imaginative play;

(b) The daily activities shall be planned according to the age and de-
velopmental level of the children in care and include a flexible balance of:

1. Daily indoor and outdoor activities;

2. Active and quiet play;

3. Protection from excess fatigue and overstimulation; and
4, Individual and group activities;

(e) Children shall be given individual attention on a one to one basis.
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(d) Cultural diversity shall be reflected in the program through the
inczi)rporation of a variety of languages, foods, celebrations and life-
styles.

{e) Television may be used only to supplement the daily plan for chil-
dren, No child may be required to wateh television.

(2) DiscIPLINE, (a) Each day care center shail have a written policy on
discipline of the children which provides for positive guidance, redirec-
tion and the setting of clear-cut limits, The policy shall be designed to
help each child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect for the
rights of others.

{b) Only a person meeting the qualifications of a provider may disei-
pline children. Discipline may not be delegated to older children or peers,

(e) Punishment which is humiliating or frightening to a child, includ-
ing but not limited to the following, is prohtbited:

1. Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking or inflicting any other form of
corporal punishment:

2. Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about the child or the
child’s family;

3. Binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a confined
space such as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle; or

4, Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps.

(d) Children shall not be punished for lapses in toilet training.

(3) EQUIPMENT. (a) Indoor and outdoor play equipment shall be pro-
vided and shall be:

1. Scaled to the size and developmental level of the children;

_ 2. Of sound construetion with no sharp, rough, loose or pointed edges,
in good operative condition, and anchored when necessary; and

3. Placed so as to avoid danger of aceident or collision and to permit
freedom of action.

(b) Various types of play equipment shall be provided to allow for
large and small muscle activity, dramatic play, creative expression and
intelleetual stimulation.

(¢) Suffieient indoor play equipment shall be provided to ailow each
child a choice of at least 3 activities invelving equipment when all chil-
dren are involved in using equipment.

(d) Sufficient outdoor play equipment shall be provided to allow each
child ?.t least one activity when all children are using equipment at the
same time,

Note: Lists suggesting kinds and numbers of equipment for centers are available from a de-
partment regional office on request,

(e) Equipment_and materials which reflect an awareness of cultural
and ethnic diversity shall be provided.
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{4) REST PERIODS, (a) During sessions lasting more than 4 hours, there
shall be a nap or rest period of one hour or longer for all children under 5
years of age.

{b) Children who do not sleep shall be permitted to get up and be
helped to have a quiet time through the use of equipment or activities
which do not disturb other children.

(¢) Each child shall be provided with a bed, cot, sleeping bag or erib
which is placed at least 2 feet (63.8 em) from the next bed, cot, sleeping
bag or crib. When sleeping bags are used, the child’s head may not rest
directly on the floor.

" 1, When the beds of family members are used by day care children, the
beds shall be completely covered with a separate sheet.

2. Each child using a bed, cot or crib shall be provided with an individ-
ually identified sheet and blanket which may be used only by that child
until it is washed.

3. Beds, cots, cribs, sleeping bags and bedding shall be stored in a clean
and sanitary manner.

4. There shall be a complete change of bed linen after each 5 uses or
immediately when wet or soiled and always after a change of occupancy.
Slee};:ling bags shall be washed or cleaned as often as needed and at least
weekly.

(d) Infants under one year shall sleep alone in cribs., Only. 2 related
children may share a double bed. No more than one child may occupy a
single size bed, cot or sleeping bag.

(6} MEALS AND SNACKS. (a) Food shall be provided based on the
amount of time children are present, as specified in Table 55,24,

TABLE 55.24
MEALS AND SNACKS TO BE SERVED TO CHILDREN IN
FAMILY DAY CARE CENTERS
Time Present Number of Meals and Snacks
2% to 4 hours 1 snack
4 to 8 hours 1 snack and 1 meal
8 to 10 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal
10 or more hours 2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks

(b) Food shall be served at flexible intervals, but no child may go with-
out nourishment for longer than 8 hours.

{e) Bach meal shall provide % of the daily nutritional requirements of
the child. Meal and snack patterns listed in pars. (d), (e) and (f) shall be
used in meal planning,

{d) Breakfast shall consist of at least one item from each of the follow-
ing categories:

1. Fruit or juice;

2. Cereal or whole grain or enriched bread product; and
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3. Grade A vitamin D milk.

(e) Noon or evening meals shall consist of at least one item from each
of the following categories:

1. Protein sources, such as meat, poultry, fish, egg, cooked d1 ied peas
or beans, cheese or peanut butter;

2. Two vegetables, or 1 vegetable and 1 frult, or 2 fruits
3. Cereal, or whole wheat or enriched bread products; and
4. Grade A vitamin D milk.

(fy Mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks shall con31st of at least one
of the following: milk or a milk produect, fruit, fruit juice, vegetable, pea-
nut butter or other protein, whole grain or enriched bread or cereal.
When only fruit juice is served, it shall be pure fruit juice.

() Enough food shall be prepared for each meal so that second por-
tions of vegetables or fruit, bread and milk are available to children,

(h) The food served shall:

1. Reflect a variety of cultures and ethnic diversity;

2. Be rhade known to parents; and

3. Be reported in writing to the department upon request.

(i) When bag lunches or other foods are provided by the parent, the
provider shall ensure that each child has a meal that provides % of the
dally nutritional requirements as specified in pars. (d) and (e).

(6) HEALTH. (a) Observation. 1. Each child upon arrival shall be ob-
served by the provider for symptoms of illness.

2, Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations, and burns
shall be noted on the child’s record.

() Isolatwn 1. A separate room or area shall be prowded for the care
of children who become ill,

2. When an-apparently ill child is observed in a center, the following
procedures shall apply:

a, A child with a sore throat, inflammation of the eyes, fever, lice, ring-
worm of the scalp, rash, vomiting, diarrhes or other illness or condition
hav:lng the potential to affect the health of other persons, shall be iso-
lated;

b. The child who has been isolated shall be provided with a bed, crib or
cot and sheet and blanket in a separate room or area with the day care
provider within sight and hearing of the child. The child shall be sepa-
1at§d from other children until the child can be removed from the center;
an

c. 'Arrangements shall be made with the parent or emergency contaet
person to remove the child from the center as soon as possible.

(¢) Communicable disease. 1. When a child is suspeeted of having a
communicable disease or condition listed in ch. HS8S 145, including but
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not limited to chicken-pox, German measles, infectious hepatitis, mea-
sles, mumps, peliomyelitis, scarlet fever, whoopmg cough, diphtheria or
meningitis, the loeal public heatth officer shall be notified.

2. Whenever it is determined that a child has a communicable disease,
the exposed children shall be watched for symptoms of the disease and
their parents shall be notified as specified in sub. (7).

3. A child may be readmitted without a statement from a physician
after a communicable disease only if the child has been absent for a per-
tod of time equal fo the longest usual incubation period for the disease as
specified by the department.

(d) Medication, 1. No pregcription or non-prescription medieations, in-
cluding aspirin, cough medicine or nose drops may be given to a child
except under the following conditions:

_a, A written authorization dated and signed by the parent is on file;

b. Preseription medication is in the original container, and labeled
with the child’s name, drug, dosage, directions for administering, date
and physician’s name;

¢. Non-preseription medication is labeled with the child’s name and
the request includes dosage and directions for administration; and

d. A written report including type of medication given, dosage, time,
date and the name of the person administering the medieation shall be
kept in the center's medical log as specified in HSS 55.21 (3) (¢).

2, Medication shall be stored so that it is not accessible to children.

3. Mediecation requiring refrigeration shall be kept in a separate, cov-
ered container clearly labeled “medication™,

(e) Personal cleanlingss. 1. Children’s hands shall be washed with soap
and running water before eating and after toileting. Children’s hands
and faces shall be washed after meals,

2. Persons wdrking with children shall wash their hands with soap and
running water before handling food and after assisting with toileting,.

3. Individual washeloths, combs and toothbrushes shall be kept ina
sanitary condition when used at the center.

4, Wet or soiled clothing shall be changed promptly from an available
supply of elean clothing.

b. Applicable rules under s. HSS 55.25 (4) shall apply when children 2
years and older need attention for diapering and toileting.

(£) Injuries, 1. Treatment for injuries shall be planned for and carried
out as follows: _

a, Written permission from the parents to cail the family physician or
refer the child for medical care in case of injury shali be on file at the
center. Parents shall be contacted as soon as possible after the emergency
has occcurred;

b. A planned source of emergency medical care, such as a hospital
emergency room, clinic or other constantly stafled facﬂ:ty shall be desig-
nated and made known to parents;
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¢. There shall be written precedures to be followed for bringing a child
to emergency medical care;

d. Each center shall have a supply of bandages, tape and bandaids;
e, Standard first aid practices shall be followed for serious injuries;

fci There shall be routine procedures for treatment of minor injuries;
an

g, Superficial wounds may be cleaned with soap and water only and
protected,

2. A record of the injuries shall be kept in the center medical log re-
quired under HSS 55.21 (8) (e).

(g) Physical examinalion. 1, Each child, including the provider’s chil-
dren in care, shall have an initial physical examination not more than 6
months prior {o, nor later than 3 months after admission to a center.

2, Fividence of the most recent physical examination shall be provided
by a report signed and dated by a physician.

3. Each child 2 years of age and older shall have a subsequent physical
examination by a physician at least once every 2 years,

. 4. Each child under 2 years of age shall be given a physical examina-
tion by a physician at least once every 6 months after admission.
Note: Children participating in the early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment

program (EPSDT) or other screening programs approved by the department meet the re-
quirements of this paragraph.

(h} I'mmunization. A record of Immunizations for each child shall be
ﬁgisnﬁii:ed to document compliance with s, 149,05 (16}, Stats., and ch.

. {7) PARENTS. (a) Parents shall be given an explanation of the operat-
ing practices and the program of the center before the child is admitted.

{b) Parents of an enrolled child shall be notified:
1. Immediately if the child becomes ill or is seriously injured; and

2. When they pick up the child or when the child is delivered if the
child has incurred a minor injury.

{c) The center shall permit parents to visit and observe during the
hours of operation.

(d) The provider shall communicate with the parent regarding the
child’s adjustment to the program and his or her growth and develop-
ment,

(e} A copy of the applicable parts of this chapter shall be made avail-
able to parents.

(f) Parents shall be informed that the center maintains a medical log.
Entries regarding a particular child shall be made accessible to the
child’s parents upon request,
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HSS 55.25 Additional requirements for infani and toddler care. Family
day care centers providing care and supervision to infants and toddters
shall comply with the additional requirements of this section.

{1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. (a) Information obtained on preadmis-
sion enrollment forms shall be used to individuoalize the program of care
for each child. At least once every 2 months the provider and the child’s
parents shall discuss the child’s development and routines. Any changes
shall be noted in writing on the special intake forms and dated.

{b) Infants and toddlers are restricted to first floors and ground floors
having direct grade-level exits.

(e} Safety gates shall be provided at stairways,

(2) DALY PROGRAM, (a) Each child shall be allowed to form and follow
his or her own patterns of sleeping and waking periods.

(b) Emphasis in activities shall be given to play as a learning and
growth experience,

1. Throughout the day, each infant and toddler shall receive physical
contact and attention such as being held, rocked, talked to, sung to and
taken on walks inside and cutside the center.

2. Routines related to activities such as bedtime, feeding, diapering
and toileting shall be used as opportunities for language development
and other learning experiences.

3. When a non-walking child is awake, the provider shall change the
child’s position and location periodically. ;

4, The non-walking child shall be given opportunities during each day
to move freely by creeping and crawling in a safe, clean, open, warm and
uncluttered area.

5. The children shall be encouraged to play with a wide variety of safe
toys and objects,

6. Infants and toddlers shall be taken outdoors for part of each day
except during inclement weather or when health reasons indicate other-
wise,

(e) Transportation of infants and toddlers shall be in accordance with
requirements under s. HSS 55.09.

(8) FEEDING. (a) Each infant and toddler shall be fed on his or her own.
feeding schedule,

(b) Food and formula brought from home shall be labeled with the
child’s name and refrigerated if required.

(e) If formula is provided by the center, it shall be of the commercially
prepared, iron-enriched, ready-to-feed type.

(d) When formula is discontinued, the center shall provide and use
Grade A vitamin D milk for children over one year of age and Grade A
vitamin ID whole milk for children one year and under, Use of other types
of milk shall be based on the written recommendations of the child’s phy-
sician,
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(e) Leftover milk or formula shall be discarded after each feeding. Bot-
tles shall be rinsed after use. .

(f) Drinking water shall be offered to the infant and toddler several
times datly.

(2) A child unable to hold a bottle shall be held whenever the hottle is
given. Bottles may not be propped.

(h) Commercial baby food containers which are opened and foods pre-
pared in the center which are stored shall be covered, dated and refriger-
ated. If not used within 24 hours, leftover food shall be discarded.

(i) A child too young to sit in a high chair or feeding table shall be held
or placed in an infan{ seat while being fed. Wide-base highchairs with
safety straps or feeding tables with safety straps shall be provided for
those children not developmentally able to sit at tables and chairs.

(j} The children shall be encouraged to experiment with self-feeding
with hands and spoons or both, Eating utensils and cups shall be scaled
to the size and developmental level of the children,

(k) A variety of nourishing foods shall be offered ineluding cereai, veg-
etables, fruit, eggs and meat according to the child’s developmental level
and the parent’s feeding plan, except that no child may be forced to eat.

(4) DIAPERING AND TOILETING ACTIVITIES, (a) Wet and soiled diapers
and e¢lothing shall be changed promptly.

{b) There shall be a supply of dry, elean elothing and diapers sufficient
in guantity to meet the needs of each infant,

‘(¢)- A child shall be changed on a surface which is individual fo the
child or is cleaned with a gerinicidal solution after each use.

(d) If cloth diapers are used, they shall be supplied by the parent
Soiled diapers shall be rinsed and placed in labeled plastic bags which are
kept separate from other clothing and sent home daily,

(e} If disposable diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be placed in a
plastic-lined covered container.

{f) Soiled diapers shall be removed from containers as needed or at
least daily for washing or disposal, Containers shall be washed and disin-
feeted daily.

d () Soiled infant clothing shall be placed in a container separate from
tapers.

(h) The hands of the provider shall be washed with soap and running
Lvater before and after each diapering or assistance with toileting rou-
ines.

{i) The application of lotions, powders or salves to the child during
diapering may be done only at the specific direction of the parent or phy-
sician,

(J) A child shall be washed during diapenng with a disposable wash-
cloth or fabrie washeloth which maf' be used only once before being dis-
carded or washed. Washcloths shall be individual to each child.
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(k) Washcloths and towels shall be provided for face and handwash-
ing. Washeloths and towels shall be individual to each child and separate
from washeloths used for diapering.

(1) Toilet training shall be planned cooperatively between the day care
provider and the parent.

Hisfory: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84.

HSS 55.26 Additional requiremenis for night care, Family day care cen-
ters providing care and supervision to children during any time between
7:00 p.m. and 6:00 a,m, shall comply with the additional requirements of
this section.

(1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. (a) No provider may take care of chil-
dren for more than 12 hours in any 24-hour period.

éb) The parent or the center shall provide each child in night care with
individually Iabeled sleeping garments, a washeloth, a towel, a tooth-
brush al;ldl, gf the child wishes, a special toy or blanket which has meaning
to the child,

(e) The provider shall work with the child’s parent to coordinate the
plan for the time the child spends at the center with the family sehedule.

(c%() School-age children shall have an opportunity for reading or school
work.

(e) The provider shall be knowledgeable about special techniques of
evacuating sleeping children in an emergency.

{f) The provider shall be awake at all times including when children
are sleeping.

(2) FEEDING. (a) Breakfast shall be served to all children in eare for the
night, unless the parent specifies otherwise.

(b} A nighttime snack shall be available to all children in care.

() Bach child present at the time the evening meal is scheduled shall
be served dinner.

{3) PERSONAL CLEANINESS, (a) Children shall have a shower, tub or
sponge bath as needed for body cleanliness. When a bathtub is used,
fresh water shall be provided for each child and the tub shall be cleaned
after each use.

(b) Children shall be closely supervised while bathing.

(4) SLEEPING. {a) Children who attend the center for the evening hours
blut who do not spend the whole night shall be given an opportunity to
sleep.

{b) Sleeping routines for individual children shall be established based
on information provided by the parents.

{e) A separate bed, erib or cot shall be provided for each child in night
care, with sheets and blankets individual to each child,

(d) A supply of extra sleeping garments and bedding shall be main-
tained for emergencies and accidents.
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(e) Rubber sheets shall be provided for children whose enrollment in-
formation indicates a tendency to bedwetting.

(f) Pillows with pillow cases shall be available for children who choose
to use them.

() Children under 2 years of age in night care shall sleep in cribs.

(k) The provider shall work with parents to ensure consistency be-
tween the family and center hedtime routines,

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, off. 11-1-84,

HSS 55.27 Additional requirements for care of school-age children. Fam-
ily day ecare centers serving children who regularly attend programs for
part of the day in a facility other than the center shall comply with the
additional requirements of this section.

(1) PrRoGRAM. (a} The center shall have a written agreement signed by
the parent or guardian which outlines the plan for transporting the child
to and from the center.

(b) The center shall have a planned program which provides a change
of pace from the school through provision of:

1_. Rest and quiet areas;
2. Recreational activities, including outdoor and active play; and
3. Freedom for children to select and plan their own activities.

(2) MBALS AND SNACKS. School-age children who are present in the day
care center shall be served meals and snacks at the time meals or snacks
are served,

(a) When breakfast is served, it shall be made available to those chil-
dren who have not had breakfast.

(b) Scheol-age children present at mid-day shall be served lunch, and
those present in the evening shall be served dinner,

(e) School-age children present after school shall be served a snack.,
History: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No, 346, eff, 11-1-84.
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Suhchapter III — Additional Requirements
for Group Day Care Centers

HSS 55.30 Scope. Sections HSS 55.30 to 55.87 apply to all group day
care centers.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84.

HSS 55.31 Operational requiremenis, (1) ADMINISTRATION. The H-
censee shall:

{a) Comply with all applicable statutes under which the regquirements
in this chapier are promulgated;

{b) Comply with all applicable requirements in this chapter;

(¢) Designate, in writing, a Wisconsin resident who is responsible for
ensuring compliance with all applieable requirements in this chapter, if
the licensee resides in another state;

(d) Meet, upon request, with the department representative on mat-
ters pertaining to licensing;

(e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the submission of
a certificate of insurance reflecting current dates of coverage for:

1, General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of
not less than $25,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 for each
oceurrence;

2. Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is provided, with
minimums no less than those provided in s. 121,53, Stats; and

3, Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transportation is pro-
vided in other than center-owned vehicles;

(f) Develop written policies on the following subjects, submit them to
the department for review and implement them;

1. Termination of enrollment of children;
2. Fee payment and refund; and

3. Personnel policies, including job deseription, hours of work, lunch
and break times, holidays, vacations, sick leave, leave of absence, salary
range, probationary period, performance evaluation, grievance proce-
dure and diseiplinary process;

{g) Develop written policies on the following subjects, submit them to
the department for approval and implement them as approved:

1. Admission, health, education, nutrition and discipline;
2. Transportation when provided;

3. Plans for evacuation and other emergencies;

4. In-service training; and

5. Orientation of new staff and volunteers;

(h) Display the day care license near the entrance or in some other
conspicuous area of the center that is accessible to the public; and
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(i) Ensure that all published statements such as brochures and publie-
ity are accurate.

(2) REPORTS, The licensee shall report to the department:

(a} An aceident resulting in the death or serious injury of a child while
ai the center within 48 hours after the occurrence. In this paragraph,
“seri(})luﬁi injury” means an injury requiring inpatient hospitalization of
the child;

{b) A catastrophe resulting in damage to the building, within 24 hours
after the occurrence;

(e) A change in the board chairperson or administrator of a day care
center within 30 days after the change;

Sid) A change of any program service at least b days prior to the change;
an

(e) Btatistical data required by the department on forms provided by
the department,

(3) STAFF RECORDS. The licensee shall:

(a) Maintain a file on each employe which is available for examination
by the licensing representative and which includes:

1. The name, address, date of hirth, education, position, previous work
experience in child care including reason for termination, and the name,
address, telephone number of persons to be notified in an emergency and
a signed statement affirming that he or she has not heen convicted or is
not the subject of a pending eriminal charge as specified under s. HSS
B5.05 (6) or (7);

2, Evidence of the most recent physical examination as required under
HS8 56.32 (1) (g); and

3. Documentation of educational ﬁualiﬁcations for the position, orien-
tation and inservice training as specified in HSS 55.32 (1) and (2);

{b) Have a listing at the location where the employe works of the
name, address and telephone number of the persen to be notified in the
event of an emergency to the employe.

(4) CHILDREN’S RECORDS. (a) The licensee shall maintain an up-to-
date written record at the center on each child enrolled and make it avail-
able to the licensing representative. Each record shall include:

1, Pre-admission and enrollment information consisting of:
a. The name and birth date of child;

b. Full names of the parents:

¢. The child’s home address and telephone number;

d. Address and telephone number where a parent can be reached while
the child is in care;

e. Name, address, telephone number and relationship to the child of a
person to be notified in an emergency, when a parent cannot be reached
immediately;
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f. Name, address and telephone number of a physician or medical facil-
ity caring for the child;

g. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons other than a
parent authorized to call for the child or authorized to accept the child
who is dropped off;

h. First day of attendance and termination date; and

i, For infants and toddlers, an up-to-date statement from the parent
about the speeific habits of eating, sleeping, toileting, communication
and comforting;

2. Written consent from the parent for emergency medical care or
treatment;

- 8, Authorization from the parent to transport the child to and from the
center, when transportation is provided;

4, Authorization from the parent for the child to participate in and be
transported for field trips and other activities if these are part of the cen-
ter’s program;

5, Specific informed written consent from the parent for each incident
of participation by a child in any research or testing project. The day
care center shall obtain and make available to the department and to the
parent a statement indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the spe-
cific purpose and the proposed use of results with respect to each such
projeet; and

6. Documentation of the most recent physical examination, immuni-
zation history, and other matters relating to the child's health.

(b) The licensee shall maintain a written record of the daily attend-
ance of each child for the length of time the child is enrolled in the pro-
gram. For children in irregular or drop-in care, the hours of arrival and
departure shall be recorded.

(¢) The licensee shall maintain a daifiy medical log to record any inju-
ries received by a child or medication dispensed to a child.

1. The log shall be in a bound hook with pages that are lined and num-
bered. The pages may not be removed.

2. Entries shall be in ink and dated and signed or initialed by the per-
son making the entry,

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84,

HSS 55.32 Personnel, (1) RESPONSIBILITIES AND QUALIFICATIONS OF
STAFF, (a) Person with administralive responsibility. 1. The licensee shall
designate a person or persons to be the administrator or administrators
responsibile for the center’s management, ineluding personnel, finances,
and physical plant maintenance,

2, A designated administrator shall

a. Be at least 21 years of age; and
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b. Have completed high school or its equivalent as determined by the
department of public instruction, or hold a certificate, credentials or a
diploma from a post secondary early childhood training program.

h3i Prior to assuming the position, a person designated as administrator
shall:

a. Have had one year experience as a manager or have satisfactorily
completed 40 hows of training in business or program administration;
and

b. Have had one year of experience as a program director as described
in par, (b), or as a primary child care worker, or have satisfactorily com-
pleted 40 hours of department-approved training in early childhood edu-
cation.

.4. A person may meet the requirements of subd. 3 if, prior to assuming
the position, he or she has completed the administrative training or expe-
rience requirement and is eurrently enrolled in the early childhood edu-
cation fraining, or has completed the early childhood education training
or experience and is currently enrolled in the administative training,

5. Within each subsequent year after assuming the position, an admin-
istrator shall complete 15 additional hours of early childhood education,
business or program administration as approved by the department.
This training shall be in addition to the in-serviee training required
under sub. {2).

6. When administrative responsibility for the management of the cen-
ter is the designated responsibility of the board of a parent cooperative,
the qualification requirements as specified in subds. 2, 8, 4 and 5 do not

apply.

7. Accumulated hours of training beyond what is required at the entry
level, as specified in subd. 3, shall be counted toward meeting each subse-
guent year’s requirement specified in subd. 5.

(b) Program director responsibilities, 1. The licensee shall designate a
person or persons to be the program director or program directors re-
sponsible for supervision of the planning and implementation of the pro-
gram and for directing the orientation and in-service training of staff,

2. A designated program director shall:
a, Be at least 21 years of age; and

b. Have completed high school or its equivalency as determined by the
department of public instruction, or hold a certificate, eredentials or di-
ploma from a post-secondary early childhood training program which is
approved by the department.

3. Prior to assuming the position of program director in a center or
multi-center agency lHeensed to serve 40 or fewer children at any one time
and operated by the same licensee, the person shall:

a. Have completed 120 working days experience as a hali-time worker
or 80 working days experience as a full-time worker providing direct
child care as a child eare worker or volunteer in a licensed day care cen-
ter, kindergarten or early childhood program approved by the depart-
ment, or have been certified by the Wisconsin department of public in-
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struction as a nursery school teacher or an exceptional educational needs
tea:}cher or show evidence of meeting the qualifications for certification;
an

b. Have earned 2 years of documented credit at an institution of higher
education with at least 3 credits equivalent to early childhood education,
or have satisfactorily completed 80 hours of department-approved train-
ing in early childhood education,

Note: Full-time work experience is considered provision of ¢hild care for 4 or more hours &
day and hali-time work experience s considered provision of child care for under 4 hours but
at least 2 hours a day.

4, Prior to assuming the position of program director in a center or
multi-center agency licensed to serve 41 or more children at any one time
and operated by the same licensee, the person shalk

a. Have completed 2 years of experience as a child care teacher meeting
the qualifications of par. (¢) in a licensed day care center, kindergarten or
early childhood program approved by the department; and

b. Have earhed 2 years of documented credit at an institution of higher
edueation with at least 12 eredits equivalent to early childhood educa-
tion, or have satisfactorily completed 160 hours of training in early child-
hood education approved by the department.

5. The person designated as program director under subd. 3 or 4 shall
each year after assuming the position complete 15 additional hours of
training in early childhood education as approved by the department.
'(I‘zi)ﬁs training is in addition to the in-service training required under sub,

6. Accumulated hours of training beyond the entry level requirement
specified in subds, 8.b. and 4.b. shall be counted toward meeting the an-
nual training requirement specified in subd. b.

(c) Child care teacher. 1. A child care teacher shall plan and implement
the daily activities for a designated group of children.

2. A person who is a child care teacher shall:
a. Be at least 18 years old; and

b. Have completed high school or its equivalency as determined by the
department of publie instruction, or hold a certificate, credentials or di-
ploma from a post-secondary early childhood training program approved
by the department.

h3i}Prior to assuming the position, the person whois a child care teacher
shalh

a. Have worked for 120 days half-time or 80 days full-time providing
direet child care as a child eare worker or volunteer in a licensed day care
center, kindergarten or early childhood program approved by the de-
partment; or be certified by the Wisconsin department of public instruc-
tion as a nursery school teacher or as an exceptional educational needs
teaé:her or show evidence of meeting the qualifications for certification;
an

b. Have earned 2 years of documented credit in an institution of higher
education with at least 8 eredits equivalent to early childhood education,
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or have satisfactorily completed 80 hours of department-approved train-
ing in early childhood education, have Child Development Association
(CDA) credentials, or have satisfactorily completed another depart-
ment-approved competency program.

4. Each year after assuming the position, a child care teacher shall
complete 15 hours of additional training in early childhood education as
approved by the department. This training is in addition to the in-ser-
vice training required under sub. (2).

5. Accumulated hours of training beyond the entry level requirement
specified in subd. 3.b. shall be counted toward meeting the annual train-
ing requirement specified in subd. 4.

(d) Assistant child care teacher. 1. An assistant child care teacher shall:

a. Work under the supervision of a child care teacher with a group of
children;

b. Be at least 18 years old;

¢. Have satisfactorily completed or be enrolled in 40 hours of training
as approved by the department; and

d. Within one year after assuming the position, and within each subse-
quent year, complete 15 additional hours of training in early childhood
education as approved by the department, This training shall be in addi-
tion fo the in-service training required under sub. (2),

2. A parent serving as an assistant child care teacher in a parent coop-
erative may be exempted from the training requirements specified in
subd. 1. Volunteers in a parent cooperative shall have at least 4 hours of
tzi'aining in day care programming and procedures before working in the
classroom.

(e) Substitutes. 1. When a regular staff member is absent, there shall be
a similarly qualified substitute; or

2, In the event the regular staff member’s absence is not anticipated to
exceed 5 days, a person not meeting the educational qualifications ma
serve as a substitute child care worker if a qualified person is not avail-
able. The substitution may not exceed 5 consecutive days.

(f} Volunteers. 1, Volunteers shall participate in orientation as re-
quired in sub. (2) {a).

2. Volunteers who are included in determining stafi-to-child ratios
shall meet the requirements of the position they are filling.

3. Volunteers not included in determining staff-to-child ratios shall
have at least four hours of training in day care programming and proce-
dures before working in the classroom.

4, The program director shall;
a. Designate a staff member to coordinate the volunteer program; and

b. Keep on file a schedule of the hours of the volunteers who are in-
cluded in determining staff-to-child ratios,
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(g) Health qualifications. 1, All persons who work directly with chil-
dren, except volunteers, shall have 5 health examination within 6 months
prior to beginning work or within 30 days aiter beginning work. The re-
port, dated and signed by a physician, shall be on file in the center and
shall certify that:

a. The person is free from illness detrimental to children, including tu-
berculosis; and

b. The person is physically able to work with young children.

2. No staff member, volunteer, visitor or parent with symptoms of ill-
ness, communicable disease or whose behavior gives reasonable concern
for the safety of children may be on the premises of the center.

3. No person with a health history of typhoid, paratyphoid, dysentery
or other diarrheal disease may work in a center until it is definitely deter-
mined by appropriate tests that such person is not a carrier of this dis-
ease,

(2) ORIENTATION AND IN-SERVICE TRAINING, (a) Each center shall de-
velop and implement a written orientation program which all new staff
and regularly scheduled volunteers shall complete within their first week
at the eenter. This orientation shall include:

1. Review of the applicable parts of this chapter;

2. Review of the center policies;

3. Training in emergency procedures, including first aid;
4. Job responsibilities in relation to the job description;
b. Training in the recognition of childhood illnesses;

6. Schedule of activities; and -

7. Review of ¢hild abuse and neglect laws.

(b) Centers shall develop and implement an annual in-service training
plan which may include use of staff meeting time which is set aside for
training. The center shall provide training, at a ratio of 2 hours per
month for each month of program operation, Training methods shall in-
clude, but are not limited to, one or more of the following:

1, Discussion or materials concerning child growth and development
gnd t?aély childhood education which are available for and may be used
y staff; .

2. Presentations by community resouree people; and
3. Attendance at conferences or workshops.

(¢) The center shall provide food service personnel with orientation
and in-service training in kitchen sanitation, food handling and nutri-
tion.

(3) STAFFING AND GROUPING, {a) At least one child care teacher shall
supervise each group of children.

{b) Each child shall be closely supervised by a chiid care worker.
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{(¢) The maximum number of children in a group and the ratio of child
care workers to children may notf exceed those specified in table 55.32,

TABLE 55.32

MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE AND MINIMUM NUMBER OF CHILD
CARE WORKERS IN GROUP DAY CARE CENTERS

Minimum Number of Maximum Number
Age of Child Care Workers of Children
Children to Children In a Group
Birth to 2 years 1:4 8
2 years to 2% years 1:6 12
2% years to 3 years 1:8 16
3 years to 4 years 1:10 20
4 years to 5 years 1:13 24
b years to six years 1:17 32
6 years and over 1:18 a2

(d) Maximum group size does not apply to field trips, outdoor play
areas, and fhose areas reserved exclusively for napping and eating, but
staff-to-child ratios shall be maintained in these settings,

(e) When there is 2 mixed-age group, the staff-to-child ratio shall be
adjusted on a prorata basis, according to age.

(f) When infants and toddlers are part of a mixed-age group, the size of
the group may not exceed the maximum number of children that would
be allowable for the youngest member of the group.

(g) When children 2 years and older are part of a mixed-age group, the
size of the group shall be determined by the number of children that can
be cared for by 2 child care workers as determined by the staff-to-child
prorata requirement under (e).

Note: Worksheets for prorating staff-to-child ratios for mixed-age groups are available from
the department upon request,

(k) When 8 or fewer children are present in the center, there shall be a
second adult available within 5 minutes for emergencies. The center shall
keep a signed and dated statement, including address and telephone
number, certifying the person’s availability and agreement to serve.

(1) In a center with 9 or more children present, there shall be at least 2
adults available at all times in the building, At least one of these aduits
s}flaillllllng a child care worker directly involved in the supervision and care
of children.

(j) When 9 or more children are on a field trip there shall be at least 2
adults accompanying the children and at least one of the adultsshall bea
child care worker.

(k) Suppert staff, such as elerieal, housekeeping and food service staff,
may only be considered in determining the staff-to-child ratio;
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1. During those hours when they give full attention to the care and
supervision of children; and

2. If they meet the qualifications of child eare worker,

(1) Child care workers shall be free of all other non-classroom duties
during the hours they are working directly with children.

(m) Children of staff members who attend the center or who are on the
premises for supervision and care shall be included in determining group
size and staff-to-child ratio,

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No, 346, eff, 11-1-84,

HSS 55.33 Physical plant and furnishings. (1) BUILDING. (a) The li-
censee shall maintain a report of inspection of the building, which speci-
fies that the building has been approved for use as a group day center by
an inspector employed or certified by the department of industry, labor
and human relations, The building shall comply with applicable state
and loeal building codes.

Note: Local authorities should be consulted to obiain any required zoning clearances or
building permits.

(b) The department shall be given written notice of proposed construe-
tion, remodeling of existing space or change in rooms to be used by chil-
dren prior to the initiation of such changes.

{(¢) Space designated for use by the children may only be used by chil-
dren and staff and may not be used for other purposes while the center is
open.

{d) The inside temperature may not be less than 7° F. (20° C).

(2) PROTECTIVE MBASURES, (a) Steam radiators, electric fans, electric
outlets, electrical heating units and hot surfaces, such as pipes, shall be
protected by screens or guards.

(b) Unvented space heaters are prohibited.

{¢) No potentially dangerous hazards, firearms, ammunition, explo-
sives, abandoned automobiles and household applicances, uncovered
wells or cisterns and stacked lumber, may be kept on the premises,

(d) Materials harmful to children, including power tools, lammable or
combustible materials, insecticides, matches and all other articles la-
beled hazardous or poisonous shall be in properly marked containers and
stored in areas inaccessible to children.

(e) A motor vehicle at the center at all times or a public or private
emergency vehicle shall be immediately available in case of an emer-
gency,

(f} The center shall have a telephone or access to a telephone on the
premises during hours of operation, and a list of emergeney telephone
numbers, including numbers for the local rescue squad, fire department,
law enforcement agency, child protective services and emergency medi-
cal service, shall be posted at each telephone. In this paragraph, “tele-
phone” does not include pay telephones requiring payment to reach the
operator or telephones in locked rooms,
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{g) Stairs, walks, ramps and porches shall be maintained in a safe con-
dition and free from the aceumulation of water, ice and snow.

(h) Smoking shall be permitted during hours of operation only in
rooms or areas not used by children,

(i) Aleoholic beverages and non-prescribed controlled substances, as
specifted in 5, 161.01, Stats., may not be consumed on the premises of the
day care center during hours of operation or while ehildren are present.

() Children may not be allowed in an area where power tools are in
use.

(3) EMERGENCIES. (a) Each center shall have a written plan for re-
sponding to fires, tornadoes and other emergencies. The center shall:

1. Post the plan and practice implementation of the plan monthly;

2, Inform all stafi members of their duties in the event of such an emer-
gency; and

3. Keep a written record of dates and times of the monthly practice.

(4) FIRE PROTECTION. (a)} Fash fire extinguisher on the premises shall
be operable at all times, inspected once a year by a qualified person, and
shall bear a label indicating its present condition and date of the last
inspeetion,

(b) All staff members shall be instructed in and knowledgeable about
the use of the fire extinguishers. .

(e) Exits and exit passageways shall have a minimum clear width of 8
feet and be unobstructed by furniture or other objects,

(d) Extension cords may not be used in place of permanent wiring,

(e} No more than 2 electrical appliances may be plugged into any one
wall outlet.

(f) The door to the basement and furnace reom shall be closed.
{g) Areas under stairs may not be used for storage.

(h) All exit lights shall be lit at all times.

(i) Fire alarms and smoke detectors shall be tested weekly.

{b) SANITATION. (a) The premises shall be free from litter, clean and in
good repair,

. {(b) 1. There shall be no flaking or detériorating paint on exterior and
interior surfaces in areas acecessible to children.

2. No lead-based paint or other toxic finishing material may be used.

(e¢) Garhage containers in the building shall be covered, watertight and
emptied daily or more often as needed. Compactors need not be emptied
daily. Garbage and refuse stored out of doors shall be kept in leak-proof
containers equipped with tight-fitting covers and shall be disposed of as
necessary to prevent decomposition or overflow.

(d) Furnishings, toys, cots and other equipment shall be washed or
eleaned when they become soiled.
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{e) 1. Toilet rooms and fixtures shall be in a sanitary, odor free condi-
tion at all times,

2. Potty chair receptacles shall be emptied, rinsed and disinfected im-
mediately after each use,

{f) Windows that are used for ventilation shall be sereened.

(g) The premises shall be maintained in a manner which prevents the
entrance or harborage of vermin,

(6) WATER. (a) A safe supply of drinking water shall be readily avail-
able to children at all times from a drinking fountain of the angle jet type
or by use of disposable cups, Common use of drinking cups is prohibited.

(b) When a public water system is not available, a private well may be
used if it is approved by the department of natural resources, Water sam-
ples from an approved well shall be tested at the state laboratory of hy-
giene or a state approved laboratory at least annunally, The water supply
shall be found bacteriologically safe prior to use. The report shall be
available to the department upon request.

(7) INDOOR SPACE. {a) The space used by children shall be no less than
35 sq. ft. (3.8 sq. meters) of usable floor space for each child exclusive of
passageways, bathrooms, lockers, office, storage areas, isolation
quarters, staff room, furnace room, parts of rooms occupied by station-
ary equipment and areas not at all times available to children including
areas used exclusively for large musele activity, napping or eating,

(b) There shall be additional storage space for cots, bedding, supplies
and surplus equipment.

(8) FURNISHINGS. {a) Furnishings shall be durable and safely con-
structed, with no sharp, _rough, loose or pointed edges.

(b) Tables and seating shall be sealed to the proper height and size for
the children's comfort and reach.

(¢} In centers where meals are served, there shali be table space for
each child and seating sufficient to serve the children cared for in a group.

(d) Shelves shall be provided for the equipment and supplies in rooms
used by children. Equipment and supplies shall be arranged in an orderly
fashion so that children may select, use and replace items.

(e) Each child shall have storage space for clothing and personal be-
longings. For children 2 years of age and older, the space for outergar-
ment storage shall be at child level,

“(£) A safe, washable cot, bed or sleeping bag shall be provided for each
child one year and older who naps or sleeps. There shall be a safe, wash-’
able crib provided for each child under one year who naps or sleeps.

(9) K11cHENS, (a) Fouipment. 1. Equipment and utensils used for pre-
paring, serving and storing food shall be clean and equipped for safe han-
dling of food. :

2, All equipment and utensils shall have smooth, hard surfaces, be eas-
ily cleanable, in good repair, durable, non-toxie, free of cracks, seams,
chips and roughened areas, and shall be capable of being maintained in a
clean and sanitary condition.
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3. Food preparation tables shall be durable, and surfaces shall be
smooth, non-absorbent and easily cleanable,

4. After cleaning, utensils shall be stored in a clean, dry place and pro-
tected from contamination.

5, Single-service utensils shall be non-toxie, stored in a clean, dry
place, kept covered, and may not be reused, .

(b} Dishwashing procedures. 1. All kifchen utensils and food contact
surfaces used in preparation, storage and food service shall be thoroughly
cleaned and sanitized after each use.

2. All utensils and dishes shall be scraped, sorted and prewashed under
running water.

b 3. Fgr manual washing of dishes and utensils, a 3-step procedure shall
¢ used;

a. Wash in water between 110° and 125° F. (43° to 52° C.), using an
effective soap or detergent.

b. Rinse by immersing dishes and utensils in clean, hot water to re-
move soap or detergent; and

¢. Sanitize by submerging dishes and utensils for at least 2 minutes in a
solution of a sanitizer approved by the department,

4.1 For mechanical washing of dishes and utensils, the following shall
apply:

a. Wash at 130° to 150° F, (54° to 66° C.) for at least 20 seconds, using
an effective cleaning agent;

b. Rinse and sanitize at 180° F, (82° C.) for 10 seconds or more, using
automatic rinse injector; and

c¢. Readily-visible temperature gauges shall be located in the wash
compartment of all mechanical dishwashers and in the rinse water line of
spray-type mechanical dishwashers or in the rinse tank of an immersion-
type dishwasher; or

d. For mechanical washing of dishes and utensils in hometype dish-
washers with a temperature setting of between 130° and 150° F. (54° to
66° C.), dishes and utensils shall be washed and rinsed in the dishwasher
and sanitized by submerging dishes and utensils for at least 2 minutes in
a solution of a sanitizer approved by the department,

5. All dishes and utensils shall be air-dried in racks or baskets or on
drain boards,

Note: A list of approved sanitizers 1s available from the Hotels and Restaurants Section,
Division of Health, P.0O. Box 308, Madison, Wisconsin, 53701,

(c) Food sources. 1. Food shall be from sources approved by the depart-
ment and shall be clean, wholesome, free from spoilage, free from adul-
teration or misbranding and safe for human consumption.

2. Only milk and milk products which are pasteurized and meet the
Grade A miltk standards of the Wisconsin department of agriculture,
trade, and consumer protection may be served or used.
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. 3. No food prepared for meals shall be served on the premises unless it
is prepared on the premises or in another location licensed by the appro-
priate agency.

4, Food in dented, bulging or leaking cans, or cans without labels may
not be used.

b. No hermetically sealed, non-acid and low-acid food which has been
processed in a place other than a commereial food processing establish-
ment may be used,

(d) Food storage. 1. Food shall be stored at temperatures which protect
against spoilage,

a. Perishable and potentially hazardous food which includes all cus-
tard-filled and cream-filled pastries, milk and milk products, meat, fish,
shellfish, gravy, poultry stuffing and sauces, dressings, salads containing
meat, fish, eggs, milk or milk products, and any other food or food prod-
uets likely to spoil quickly if not kept at the proper temperature shall be
continuously maintained at 40° I, {4° C.) or below or 150° I, (66° C.) or
abgve, as appropriate, except during necessary periods of preparation
and service.

b. Each refrigeration unit shall be maintained at 40° F. (4° C.) or
%ower and each freezing unit shall be maintained at 0° F, {-17° C.} or
ower.

¢. Fach cold storage facility shall be equipped with a clearly visible
accurate thermometer.

d. Food shall be covered while refrigerated.

2. Foods not requiring refrigeration shall be stored in clean, dry, venti-
lated and lighted storerooms or areas.

a. Dry bulk foods, such as flour, sugar, cereals and beans shall be stored
in metal, glass or food-grade plastic containers with tight fitting covers
and shall be labeled. In this paragraph, “food-grade plastic” means any
material used in the construction of dishes or utensils which has been
igund not harmful to human health by the national sanitation founda-

ion.

b, Food stored in the basement shall be stored at least 8 inches (20.32
cm) above the floor, and food stored in other areas shall be stored high
enough above the floor to provide air circulation and facilitate cleaning.

¢, Foods shall be stored in a clean, ventilated place protected from con-
tamir_lation by sewage, waste water backiflow, condensation, leakage or
vermin,

(e) Cleaning aids. 1. Poisonous and toxic materials, including cleaning
supplies, bleaches and insecticides, shall be labeled and stored in cabinets
used for no other purpose.

2, Cleaning aids such as mops, brooms and buckets shall be clean and
shall be stored outside of food preparation or food storage areas,

(1) Food hendling. 1. Raw fruits and vegetables shall be washed before
being served or cooked.
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2, Food returned from individual plates or {from dining tables shall be
discarded.

3. Leftover prepared food which has not been served shall be refriger-
ated promptly and used within 36 hours, or frozen immediately for later
use, ‘

4, Food delivery vehicles shall be equipped with clean containers or
cabinets to store food while in transit. Containers for cold foods shall be
capable of maintaining the temperature at or below 40° F. (4° C.), and
containers for hot foods shall be capable of maintaining the temperature
at or above 150° T, (66° C.).

(g) Food service personnel. 1. Food service personnei include any person
who participates in preparation of breakfast, lunch or dinner,

2. Food service personnel shall:
a. Be at least 18 years of age;

b. Wear clean clothing and effective hair restraints such as hair nets or
caps; and

¢, Wash their hands before starting work, hefore and after handling
food, and _after using the toilet.

(10) WASHROOM AND TOILET FACILITIES, {a) The center shall provide
the number o_f washbasins and toilets specified in table 556.33.

TABLE 55.33
NUMBER OF WASHBASINS AND TOILETS REQUIRED IN GROUP
: , DAY CARE CENTERS
Maximum Number of
Children for Which
the Center is Number of Number of
Licensed Toilets Washhasing
Qor 10 I 1
11 to 25 2 I
26 to 40 3 2
41 io 55 4 2
56 to 70 5 3

'(b) When a center is licensed for more than 70 children, one additional
toilet shall be provided for each additional 15 children or fraction thereof
and washbasins shall be provided in the ratio of one for every 2 toilets
and urinals or fraction thereof, Urinals may be substituted for up to % of
the total required toilets. :

(e) Children under the age of 30 months need not be included when
determining the required fixtures; however, in all cases, at least one toilet
and one washbasin shall be provided.

(d) When potty ehairs are used for children under 30 months of age the
potty chairs shall be provided in a ratio of one for every 4 children or
fraction thereof.
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(e) Steps or blocks shall be provided if the washbasins and toilets are
not proportioned to the size of the chiidren,

{f) Soap, toilet paper, disposable paper towels or individually labeled
clean cloth towels and a wastepaper container shall be provided and ac-
cessible to children,

(g) Toilet room door locks shall be openable from the outside and the
opening device shall be readily accessible to the staff,

Note; Information pertaining to plumbing requirements can be found in ch. ILHR 82,

(11) OUTDOOR SPACE. {a) This subsection applies to any center where
children are present for more than 3 hours a day.

(b) There shall be at least 75 square feet (7.0 square meters) of outdoor
play space on the premises for each child using the space at a given time.
The total outdoor space shall accommodate not less than one third of the
licensed capacity or a minimum of 750 square feet {70 square meters),
whichever is greater.

(¢} The outdoor space shall be well-drained and free of hazards,

(d) The boundaries of outdoor play space shall be defined in such a way
as to protect the children, A permanent enctosure not less than 4 feet (1.2
meters) high shall be provided where there are hazards nearby, including
but not limited to traffic or bodies of water.

History: Or, Register, October, 1984, No. 346, off, 11-1-84.

HSS 55.34 Program. (1) PROGRAM PLANNING AND SCHEDULING. (&)
Each group day care center shall have a written program of activities
planned according to the developmental level of each group of children
and intended to expose children to a variety of cultures. The program
shail provide each child with experiences which will encourage:

1, Self-esteem and positive self-image;

2, Social interaction;

3. Self-expression and communication skills:
4. Creative expression;

5. Large and small muscle development; and
6. Intellectual growth.

{b) "fI‘he program schedule shall be planned to provide a flexible bal-
ance ol.

1. Active and quiet activities;
2. Individual and group activities; and
3. Indoor and outdoor activities,

{e) Television may be used only to supplement the daily plan for chil-
dren. No child may be required to watch television.

(d) Routines such as toileting and eating, and intervals between activi-
ties, shall be planned to avoid keeping children waiting in lines or assem-
bled in large groups.
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(e) The program shall provide:
1. Reasonable regularity in eating, napping and other routines;

2, Daily periods when a variety of experiences are concurrently avail-
able for the children to select their own activities; and

3. Protection from excess fatigue and overstimulation,

(f) Children shall be given individual attention on a one-to-one basis
by staff members.

() A vériety of cultures shall be reflected in the program through in-
corporation of different languages, foods, celebrations and lifestyles,

(h) When a center is open in the early morning and late afternoon, the
center shall plan activities which meet the individual needs of the chil-
dren during those time periods by:

1, Providing opportunities to rest and eat; and

2. Using materials or providing activities which for the most part do
not duplicate materials or activities planned for the major part.of the
program,

" (1) The program, as implemented, shall reflect the center’s writtén pro-
gram plan of activities and educational policy,

{2) DIsCIPLINE. (a) Each day care center shall have a written policy on
the discipline of children which provides for positive guidance, redirec-
tion and the setting of clear-cut limits. Disciplinary policy shall be de-
signed to help the child develop selfi-control, self-esteem and respect for
the rights of others. '

{b) Only a child care worker meeting the gualifications of a child care
teacher or assistant child care teacher may discipline children, Discipline
shall not be delegated to older children or peers.

{¢} Punishment which is humiliating or frightening to a child is prohib-
ited. Examples of prohibited punishment include:

1, Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking or inflicting any other form of
corporal punishment;

2. Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about the child or the
child’s family;

3. Binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a eonfined
space such as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle; and

4, Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps.
(d) Children shall not be punished for lapses in toilet training.

53) EqQuiPMENT. (a) Indoor and outdoor play equipment shall be pro-
vided and shall be:

1. Scaled to the size and developmental level of the children;

2. Of sound construction with no sharp, rough, loose, or pointed edges
and in good operative condition, anchored when necessary; and

Register, June, 1986, No. 366




DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVI]%ES}&;% 111

3. Placed so as to avoid danger of accident or collision and to permit
freedom of action.

(b) Equipment and supplies shall be provided according to the follow-
ing criteria:

1, Child development shall be fostered through selection of a variety of
equipment to:

a. Provide for large muscle development;

b. Provide for construetion activities and for the development of ma-
nipulative skills;

¢. Encourage social interaction;
d. Provide for intellectual stimulation; and
e, Encourage creative expression;

2, Sufficient indoor play equipment shall be provided to allow each
child a choice of at least 3 activities involving equipment when all ¢hil-
dren are involved in using equipment; and

3, Sufficient outdoor play equipment shall be provided to allow each
child at least one activity involving equipment when all children are in-
volved in using equipment; and

4, Equipment and materials which reflect an awareness of cultural and
ethnic diversity shall be provided.

Note: Lists suggesting kinds and numbers of play equipment for centers are availablefroma
department regional office on request.

(4)REST PERIODS, {a) During sessions lasting more than 4 hours, there
shall be a supervised nap or rest period of approximately one hour or
longer for all children under 5 years of age.

(b) Children who de not sleep shall be permitted to get up and be
helped to have a quiet time through the use of equipment or activities
which will not disturb other children.

(¢) Each child shall be provided with an individual bed, cot, sleeping
bag or crib which is placed at least 2 feet (63.8 em.) from the next bed,
cot, crib or sleeping bag. When sleeping bags are used, the child’s head
shall not rest directly on the floor.

(d) Beds, cots, cribs, sleeping bags and bedding shall be individually
it%e'rgtiﬁed toensure that each child uses the same items between washings
of items.

(e) Each child using a bed, cot or erib shall be provided with an indi-
vidual sheet and blanket,

(f) A complete change of bedding shall be made aiter each 5 uses or
immediately when wet or soiled and always upon a change in occupancy.
Sleelx()ling bags shall be washed or cleaned as often as needed and at least
weekly.

{g) Beds, cots, cribs, sleeping bags and bedding shall be stored in a
clean and sanitary manner, -
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(B) MEALS AND SNACKS.(a) Food. 1. Food shall be provided as specified
in Table 55.34, based on the amount of time children are present.

TABLE 55.34
MEAL AND SNACK REQUIREMENTS FOR EACH CHILD IN
GROUP DAY CARE CENTERS
Time Present Number of Meals Snacks
2% to 4 hours ' I snack
4 to 8 hours 1 snack and 1 meal
8 to 10 howrs 2 snacks and 1 meal
190 hours or more 2 meals and 2 or 8 snacks

2. Center-provided transportation time shall be included in determin-
ing the amount of tirne children are present for the purposes of subd. 1.

3. Food shall be served at flexible intervals, but no child shalt go with-
out nourishment for longer than 3 hours.

4, Meal and snack patterns listed in subds. 5, 6 and 7 shall be used in
meal planning. Each meal shall provide of the daily nutritional require-
ment of the child.

5. Breakfast shall consist of at least one item from each of the following
categories:

. a. Fruit or juice;
b. Cereal, whole grain or enriched bread product; and
d. Grade A vitamin D milk.

6. Noon and evening meals shall consist of at least one item from each
of the following categories:

a. Protein sources, such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs, cooked dried peas
or beans, cheese or peanut butter,

b, 2 vegetables or 1 vegetable and 1 fruit, or 2 fruits;
¢. Cereal, or whole grain or enriched bread products; and
d. Grade A vitamin D milk.

7 Mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks shall consist of at least one
of the following: milk or a milk produet, fruit, fruit juice, vegetable, pea-
nut bhutter or other protein, whole grain or enriched bread or cereal.
When only fruit juice is served, it shall be pure fruit juice.

8. Menus shall:

a. Be posted in the kitchen and in a conspicuous place accessible to
parents;

b. Be planned at least one week in advance, dated and kepton file for 3
months;

¢. Be available for review by the department;
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d. Include diverse types of foods; and
e. Reflect a variety of cultures and ethnic diversity.

9. Any changes in the menu as planned shall be recorded on the copies
of the menu kept on file and posted for parents,

10. Enough food shall be prepared for each meal to enable children to
have second portions of vegetables or fruit, bread and milk.

11. When bag lunches or other foods are provided by a parent, the
center shall ensure that each child has a meal that provides % of the
child’s daily nutritional requirements as specified in subds. 5. and 6.

12, Special diets, including nutrient concentrates and supplements,
may be served only upon written instruction of the child’s physician and
upon request of the parent.

13. Cooks, staff members, child care workers, and substitutes having
direct contact with the children shall be informed about food allergies
and other allergies of specific children.

{b) Food and food service, 1. Staff shall sit at the table with the children
during mealtime,

2. Meals shall be served with time ailowed for socialization,
3. Children shall be encouraged to serve themselves,

4, Food shall not be used as a punishment or reward.

5. Children shall not be forced to eat.

(6) HEALTH. (a) Observation. 1. Fach child upon arrival at the center
shall be observed by a staff person for symptoms of iliness.

2. Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations or burns
shall be noted on the child’s record and reported immediately to the per-
son in charge of the center.

(b) Isolation. An isolation area shall be provided for the care of chil-
dren who become ill. If the area is not a separate room, it shall be sepa-
rated from space used by other children by a partition, sereen or other
means,

(¢) I child procedure, The following procedures shall apply when an
apparently ill child is observed in the day care center:

1. Children with a sore throat, inflammation of the eyes, fever, lice,
ringworm of the scalp, rash, vomiting, diarrhea, or other illness or condi-
tioi1 haaving the potential to affect the health of other persens shall be
isolated;

2. The child shall be provided with a bed, erib, or cot, sheet and blan-
ket in the isolation room or area with a staff within sight and hearing of
the child, except that for sessions of 4 hours or less a kindergarten mat
may be provided for the isolation room instead of a bed, crib or cot. Isoia-
tion shall be used until the child ean be removed from the center;

3. The child’s parent, or a designated responsible person when a parent
cannot be reached, shall be contacted as soon as possible after the iliness
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is discovered. Arrangements shall be made for the removal of the child
from the center; and

4, Children who are ill may be transferred to a center or program com-
ponent licensed for the care of ill children when all of the following condi-
tions are met:

a. The parent consents;

b. The written health policy of the center allows ill children to remain
at the center; and

¢. Medieal consultation from a physician or local health department is
a}\;g}gable to the center in establishing policy for the management of ill
children,

(d) Communicable disease. 1. When a child is suspected of having
chickenpox, German measles, infectious hepatitis, measles, mumps, poli-
omyelitis, scarlet fever, whooping cough, diphtheria, meningitis or other
reportable communicable disease under ch, HSS 145, the local public
health officer shall be notified,

2, Whenever it is determined that a child has a communicable disease,
the exposed children shall be watched for symptoms of the disease and
their parents shall be notified as specified in sub. (7).

3. A child may be readmitted without a statement from a physician
after having had a communicable disease only if the child has been ab-
sent for a period of time equal to the longest usual ineubation period of
the disease as specified by the department.

(e) Medication. 1. No prescriptive medication or non-prescriptive
medieation including but not limited to aspirin, cough medlcmq or nose
drops, may be given to a child except under the following conditions:

a. A signed, dated, written authorization of the parent is on file;

b. Prescription medication is in the original container and labeled with
the child’s name, name of drug, dosage, directions for administering,
date and physician’s name;

¢. Non-prescriptive medication is labeled with the child’s name in-
cludes the dosage and directions for administering; and

d. A written report including type of medication given, dosage, time,
date and the name of the person administering the medication shall he
ggpglir(: 4t)hEa (;hild's record and the center medical log required under HSS

. ).

2. Medications shall be stored so that they are not accessible to the
children.

3. Medications requiring refrigeration shall be kept in the refrigerator
in a separate, covered container clearly labeled “medication”.

(f) Personal cleanliness. 1. Children’s hands shall be washed with soap
and running water before eating and after toileting, Children’s hands
and faces shall be washed after meals. .
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2. Persons working with the children shall wash their hands with soap
and running water before handling food and after assisting with toilet-
ing,

3. Individual washcloths, combs, and toothbrushes shall be kept in a
sanitary condition when used at the center.

4. Wt or soiled clothing shall be ehanged promptly from an available
supply of clean clothing,

5. Applicable rules under 5. HSS 55.35 (4) shall apply to children 2
years and older who require attention for diapering and toileting.

() Injuries. 1. Treatment of children who are injured shall be planned
for and carried out as follows:

a. Written permission from the parents to call the family physician or
refer the child for medical care in case of injury shall be on file at the
center. Parents shall be contacted as soon as possible after an injury has
oceurred;

b. A planned source of emergency medical eare, such as a hospital
emergeney room, clinic or other constantly staffed facility, shall be desig-
nated and made known to staff and parents;

¢, There shall be written procedures to be followed for bringing the
child to emergency medical care;

d. Each center shall have a supply of bandages, tape, and bandaids; .
e. Standard first aid practices shall be followed for serious injuries;

f(i There shall be routine procedures for treatment of minor injuries;
an

' g. Superficial wounds may be cleaned with soap and water only and
protected.

2. A record of injuries shall be kept in the child’s permanent file and in
the center mediecal log required under s, HSS8 55.31 (4) (e).

3. Records of injuries shall be reviewed by the director with staff at
least twice each year in order to determine that all possible preventive
measures are being taken,

(h} Physical examination. 1, Each child shall have an initial physieal
examination not more than 6 months hefore or Iater than 8 months after
admission to a center.

2. Evidence of the child’s most recent physical examination shall be
provided by a report signed and dated by a physician.

8. Bach child 2 years of age and older shall have a subseguent physical
examination hy a physician at least once every 2 years.

4, Each child under 2 years of age shall be examined by a physician
every 6 months after admission.

Note: Children participating in the early and periodic screening diagnosis and treatment
{EPSD'D) grogram or other sereening program approved by the departient meet the require-

ments of this paragraph.
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(1) Immumnization. 1. A record of immunizations for each child shall be
ﬂggltlamed to document compliance with s. 140,05 (16), Stats., and ch,
44

(7) PARENTS. (a) Parents of enrolled children shall be notified:

1. When their child has been exposed to a communicable disease which
has been diagnosed or suspected;

2, Immediately, if the child becomes ill or is seriously injured;

3. When they pick up the child or when the child is delivered to the
parents if there is a minor injury; and

4, Of the date, time and destination of field trips which require the use
of a vehicle,

{b) The eenter shall permit parents to visit and observe during the
hours of operation.

(¢) The center shall make epportunities available at least twice each
vear for parent and staff communication regarding the child’s adjust-
ment to the program, and his or her growth and development,

(d) I religious training is part of the center program, reference to the
religious component shal be included in any publicity and in the educa-
tion policy. This information shall be shared with parents.

(e) A copy of the applicable parts of this chapter and a copy of the
child eare policies of the center shall be made avaijlable to the parents,
Personnel, training or orientation policies need not be included.

(f) Parents shall be informed that the center maintains a medical log.
Entries regarding a partieular child shall be made accessible to the
child’s parents upon request.

{8) MISCELLANEOUS ACTIVITIES. A center which includes in its pro-
gram watercraft, riflery, archery or horseback riding shall comply with
the applicable requirements under s, HSS 55.44 (8), (9), and (11)

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84.

HS8 55.35 Additional requirements for infant and toddler care, Group
day care centers providing care and supervision to infants and toddlers
shall comply with the additional reguirements of this section.

{1) GENERAL REQUIRMENTS, (a) Prior to admission, an interview shall
be conducted with the child’s parent or guardian o obtain written infor-
mation which will aid child-caring staff in individualizing the program of
caria fé)r each child as specified in HSS 55.31 (4) (a) 1.i. Information shall
include: :

1. Schedule of meals and feeding;

2. Types of food introduced and time-table for new foods;
3. Toilet and diapering procedures;

4, Sleep and nap schedule;

5, Child’s way of communicating and being comforted; and

6. Developmental and health history.
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{b) Admission information for infants and toddlers shall be on file in
the room or area to which the child is assigned and shall be known to the
¢hild care worker.

(¢) At least every 2 months after admission, child care staff and par-
ents shall discuss the child’s development and routines with revisions
noted in writing and dated.

(d) Each group of infants and toddlers shall have at least one regularly
assigned child care worker to care for them in order to assure consistency
and stability: of relationship.

{e) ‘I'he regularly assigned child care teacher and assistant child care
teacher for each group of infants and toddlers shall have a minimum of 10
hours of training in infant and toddler care approved by the department
within 6 months atter assuming the position. This training may be part
of the required entry-level training, or may be obtained through in-
gervice or continuing education.

(f) Infants and toddlers are restricted to first floors and ground floors
having direct grade-level exits,

(2) DAILY PROGRAM. {a) Kach child shall be allowed to form and follow
“his or her own pattern of sleeping and waking periods.

{b) Emphasis in activities shall be given to play as a learning and
growth experience.

1. Throﬁghout the day, each infant and toddler shall receive physical
contact and attention such as being held, rocked, talked to, sung to and
taken on walks inside and outside the center, :

2. Routines relating to activities such as bedtime, feeding, diapering
and toileting shall be used as opportunities for language development
and other learning experiences.

3. While a non-walking child is awake, the child care worker shall
change the child’s position and location periodically.

4, The non-walking ehild shall be given opportunities during each day
to move freely by creeping and crawling in a safe, clean, open, warm and
uncluttered area.

5. Infants and toddlers shall be encouraged to play with a variety of
safe toys and objects, :

6. Infants and toddlers shall be taken outdoors for part of each day
except during inclement weather or when health reasons indicate other-
wise.

{c) An adult-size rocking chair or other adult-size chair shall be pro-
vided for each child eare worker.

(d) The space occupied by permanently erected cribs shall be excluded
izlll _c%gtermining the 35 square feet (3.3 meters) space requirement for each
child,

(e} Transportation of infants and toddlers shall be in accordance with
requirements under s. HSS 55.09.

Register, June, 1986, No. 366




118 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
HSS 55

(3) FEEDING. {a) Each infant and toddler shall be fed on his or her own
feeding schedule.

(b) Food and formula brought from home shall be labeled with the
child’s name and refrigerated if required.

(e) If formula is provided by the center, it shall be of the commereially
prepared, iron-enriched, ready-to-feed type.

(d) When formula is discontinued, the center shall provide and use
Grade A vitamin D milk for children over one year of age and Grade A
vitamin D whole miik for children one year and under. Use of other types
qf milk shall be based on the written recommendations of the child’s phy-
sieian.

(e) Leftover milk or formula shall be discarded after each feeding, Bot-
tles shall be rinsed after use.

(f} Drinking water shall be offered to the infant and toddler several
times daily.

(g) A child unable to hold a bottle shall be held whenever a bottle is
given. Bottles may not be propped.

(h) Commercial baby food containers which are opened and foods pre-
pared in the center which are stored, shall be covered, dated and refriger-
ated, H not used the next day, leftover food shall be discarded,

(i) A child too young to sit in a high chair or feeding table shall be held
or placed in an infant seat while being fed. Wide-based highchairs with
safety straps or feeding tables with safety straps shall be provided for
those children not developmentally able to sit-at tables and chairs,

(i} Children shali be encouraged to experiment with self-feeding with
their hands and spoons. Eating utensils and cups shall be scaled to the
size and developmental level of children.

(k) A variety of nourishing foods shall be offered to each child, includ-
ing cereal, vegetables, fruit, eggs and meat according to the child’s devel-
opmental level and the parent’s feeding schedule, except that no child
may be forced to eat,

(4) DIAPERING AND TOILETING ACTIVITIES, (a) Toilet training shali be
planned cooperatively between the child’s assigned child eare worker and
the parent so that the toilet routine established is consistent between the
center and the child’s home, except that no routine attempts may be
made to toilet-train a child under 18 months of age.

(b)Y Wet and soiled diapers and clothing shall be changed promptly.

{¢) There shall be a supply of dry clean clothing and diapers sufficient
to meet the needs of each child.

{d) A child shall be changed on a surface which is individual to the
child or is cleaned with a germicidal solution after each use.

{e) H center-supplied cloth diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be
rinsed in toilets of the water flush type and placed immediately in a
plastic-lined covered container, Diapers shall be washed by a commereial
diaper laundry service.
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_(f) If parent-supplied cloth diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be
rinsed and placed in labeled plastic bags which are kept separate from
other clothing and sent home daily.

(g) If disposable diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be placed in a
plastic-lined covered container,

(h) Soiled diapers shall be removed from containers as needed or at
least daily for washing or disposal. Containers shall be washed and disin-
fected daily.

(1) Soiled infant clothing shall be placed in a container separate from
diapers.

(j) The child care worker shall wash his or her hands with soap and
running water before and after each diapering or assistance with toileting
routines,

_(k) The application of lotions, powder or salves to the child during
diapering may be done only at the specific written direction of the parent
or physician. The directions shall be recorded and posted in the diapering
area,

(1) Each self-contained classroom or area serving infanis or toddlers
who are diapered shall have a sink with hot and cold running water in or
immediately adjacent to the room or area.

(m) A child shall be washed before diapering with a disposable or
fabrhic ﬁ‘{ﬁfhc]oth which is used once. Washeloths shall be individual to
each child.

{n) Washcloths and towels shali be provided for face and handwash-
ing. Washcloths and towels shall be individual to each child and separate
from washeloths used for diapering,

History: Or. Register, October, 1984, No, 346, eff. 11-1-84,

HSS 55.36 Additional requiremenis for night care. Group day care cen-
ters which operate during any period of time between 7:00 p.m. and 6:00
a.m. shall comply with the additional requirements of this section.

(1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS, (a) Night care may be provided only in
centers which offer self-contained classrooms,

(b) The maximum of 30 children may be admitted at any cne time to a
center offering night care.

{c) When the same premises are used for the operation of bot_h day care
and night care, the number of children during overlapping shift periods
may not exceed the maximum licensed capacity of the center.

(d) The time that a child attends the center may not exceed 12 hours
during any 24-hour period,

{e)} Minimum staff-child ratios and group sizes as specified in s, HSS
56.32 (8) shall be maintained.

{f) At no time may there be fewer than 2 adults on the premises while
children are sleeping.

(g) Every child shall be within the sight or sound of a child care
worker.
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(h) A1l child care workers on duty shall remain awake during night
care,

(1} The parent or center shall provide each child in night care with an
individually labeled sleeping garment, a washcloth and towel, a tooth-
brtilsh and, hlf the ehild wishes, a special toy or blanket which has meaning
{o him or her.

(2) PROGRAM. (a) T'he child care staff shall work with the child’s parent
to coordinate a plan for the time the child spends at the center with the
family schedule,

(b} A center offering night care shall provide a self-contained class-
room away from sleeping children where the awake child can engage in
activities,

(¢) An evening and morning schedule of program activities shall be
planned for the hours that children are awake,

(c%{) School-age children shall have an opportunity toe read or do school
WOrK.

(3) PREVENTIVE MEASURES. (a) Child care staff shall be given training
in special techniques of evacuating slesping children in an emergency,

(b) Centers operating during hours of darkness shall provide emer-
gency lighting, such as an operable flashlight, for each self~contained
room used by children.

(4) FEEDING. (a) Breakfast shall be served to all children i in care for the

night, unless the parent specifies otherwise.
(b) A nighttime snack shall be available to all children in care.

{e) ach child present at the time the evening meal is scheduled shall
be served dinner,

{5) PERSONAL CLEANLINESS, (a) Children shall have a shower, tub or
sponge bath as needed for body cleanliness. When a bathtub is used,
fresh water shall be provided for each child and the tub shall be cleaned
after each uvse.

(b) A child care worker shall be in the room while children are bathing.

(6) SLEEP. (8) Children who attend the center for the evening hours
but not the whole night shall have an opportunity to sleep, as needed.

(b) Sleep routines for individual children shall be based on information
provided by the parents,

(e} A bed, erib or cot and sheets and blankets, individual to each child,
shall be provided in night care,

1. Pillows with pillow cases shall be available to children who choose to
use them,

2. The center shall mamtam a supply of extra sleeping garments and
bedding for emergencies and accidents,

3. Rubber sheets shall be provided for children whose enrollment infor-
mation indicates a tendency to bedwetting.
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(d) Children under 2 years of age in night care shall sleep in cribs,

{e) Child care staff shalt work with parents to ensure consistency bhe-
tween the family and night care center bedtime routines.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No, 348, eff, 11-1-84,

HSS 55.37 Additional requirements for care of school-age children.
Group day care centers serving children who regularly attend programs
for part of the day in a facility other than the center shall comply with
the additional requirements of this section.

{1) PROGRAM. () The center shall have a written agreement signed by
the parent or guardian which outlines the plan for transporting the child
to and from the center,

{b} The center shall have a planned program which provides a change
of pace from the school through proviston of:

1. Rest and quiet areas;
2. Recreational activities, including outdoor and active play; and
3. Freedom for children to select and plan their own activities,

(e} When children 7 years of age and older are served in the same cen-
ter with children under 7 years of age, the program for children 7 years of
age and over shall not infringe on the required space, equipment, staff or
bathroom facilities for the younger children, '

(2) STAFF QUALIFICATIONS. When a center provides care exclusively
for children enrolled in a kindergarten or elementary school, the qualifi-
cations of the program director or teacher may include experience and
credits earned in elementary education, physical education or recreation
in place of the educational requirements.specified in s, HSS 55,32 (1).

(3) MEALS AND SNACKS. School-age children who are present in the day
eare center shall be served meals and snacks at the time meals or snacks
are served. '

{a) When breakfast is served, it shall be made available to those chil-
dren who have not had breakfast,

(b) School age children present at mid-day shall be served lunch, and
those present in the evening shall be served dinner.

() School age children present after school shall be served a snack,
History: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84,
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Suhchapter IV — Additional Requirements
For Day Camps For Children

HSS 55.40 Scope. Sections HSS 55,40 to 55.44 apply to ali licensed day
camps for children,

History: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No, 846, eff, 11-1-84,

HSS 55,41 Operational requirements. (1) ADMINISTRATION, The 11-
censee shall:

(a) Comply with all applicable statutes under which the requlrements
in this chapter are promulgated;

(b) Comply with all applicable reguirements in this chapter;

(¢) Designate, in writing, a Wisconsin resident who i is responsible for
ensuring compliance with the applicable requirements in this chapter, if
the licensee resides in another state;

(d) Meet, upon request, with the licensing representative on matters
pertaining to licensing;

(e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the submission of
a certificate of insurance reflecting current dates of coverage for:

1. General liability insurance which provides coverage with Limits of
not less than $26,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 for each
ogeurrence;

2, Vehicle liability insurance, when transportatmn is provided, with
minimums no less than those specified in s. 121,63, Stats.; and

3. Non-owned vehiele liability insurance when transportation is pro-
v1ded by other than camp-owned vehicles;

(f) Develop written policies on the following subjects, submit them to
the department for review and implement them:

1. Termination of enrollment of children;
2. Fee payment and refund; and
3. Personnel policies, job descriptions, and terms of employment; and

(g) Develop written policies on the following subjects, submit them to
the department for approval and implement them as approved:

1. Admission, health, nutrition and discipline;

2. Program objectives and a description of activities designed to carry
out the program objectives;

3. Transportation, when provided;

4. Plans for evacuaton and other emergencies;

5, In-service training and orientation of staiff and volunteers; and
6. Supervised swim pian, if applicable.

(h) Make available to the parents, on request, a cop fl of the applicable
parts of this chapter and a copy of the child care policies of the camp.
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Personnel, in-service training and orientation policies need not be in-
cluded;

(i) Ensure that all published statements such as brochures and public-
ity are accurate; and

(§) Include a reference to the religious component in any publicity and
program objectives if religious training is part of the camp program. This
information shall be shared with parents,

(2) ReEPORTS. The licensee shall report to the department:

{a) An accident resulting in the death or serious injury of a child while
at a camp, within 48 hours after the gecurrence, In this paragraph, “seri-
Gﬁ‘si énjury” means an injury requiring inpatient hospitalization of the
child;

(b) A catastrophe which damages the base camp, within 24 hours after
the occurrence:

(c) A change in the board chairperson of the day camp, within 30 days
of the change;

Eid) A change of the day camp director, within 7 days of the change;
an

{e) Statistical data required by the department 611 forms provided by
the department,

(3) STAFF RECORDS, The licensee shall:

(a Mgintain a file on each employe which is available for examimation
by the licensing representative and which includes:

1. The employe's name, address, date of birth, education, position,
previous experience in child care and a signed statement affirming that he
or she has not been convicted or is not the subject of a pending criminal
charge as specified under s. HSS 55.05 (6) or (7);

2. Documentation of any pertient certification or training required for
the position; and

(b) Maintain a listing at the base camp of the name, address, and tele-
phone number of the person to be notified in the event of an emergency
involving an employee,

(4) C;{ILDREN’S RECORDS, (a) The licensee shall maintain an up-to-
date written record on each child enrolled at the camp and make the
r§cgrd available to the licensing representative, Each record shall in-
clude:

1. Pre-admission and enrollment information consisting of:
a. The name and birthdate of the child;

b. Full names of parents;

¢. The child’s home address and telephone number;

d. Address and telephone number where a parent can be reached while
the child is in care;
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e. Name, address, telephone number and relationship to the child of
the person to be notified in an emergency, when a parent cannot be
reached immediately;

f, Name, address and telephone number of the physician or medical
facility caring for the child;

g. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons authorized to
cali for the child; and

h. Dates of camp session in which the child is enrolled; and
2. Consent {from the parent for emergency medical care or treatment;

3. Authorization from the parent to transport the child to and from the
camp, when transportation is provided;

4, Authorization from the parent for the child to participate in and be
transported for field trips and other activities, if these are part of the
camp program;

5. Specifie written informed consent from the parent for each incident
of participation by a child in any research or testing project. The day
camp shall obtain and make available to the department and fo the par-
ent a statement indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the specific
purpose and the proposed use of results with respect to each project;

6. The child’s health history and any other matters relating to the
child’s health; and

7. The daily attendance of the child for the length of time the child is
enrolled in the program,

(b) The licensee shall maintain a daily medical log recording any inju-
ries received by a child or medication dispensed to a ehild,

1, The log shall be in a bound book with pages that are hned and num-
bered. The pages may not be removed.

2. Entries shall be in ink and dated and signed or initialed by the per-
son making the entry,

History: Cr. Register, Cctober, 1984, No. 846, eff, 11-1-84,

HSS 55.42 Personnel, (1) STAFF: PAID AND VOLUNTEER, (a} Each day
czﬁngp shall have a person designated as camp director on the premises at
all times,

(b) The camp director shall be at least 21 years of age and shall meet
one of the following criteria:

1. Have at least 2 years of supervisory or administrative experience in
an organized camp or children’s program; or

2. Have a bachelor’s degree in outdoor education, recreation, social
work, psychology, child development or education or in another camp-
related field.

(¢) Paid counselors who are counted in determining the counselor-to-
child ratio shall have completed high school or the equivalent as deter-
mined by the department of public instruction.
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(d) Paid or volunteer counselors who are considered in determining
counselor-to-child ratio shall be at least 18 years of age.

(e} In the absence of a regular staff member, there shall be a similarly
qualified substitute,

(2) STAFF TRAINING. (a) Each day eamp shall develop a written pre-
camp training program plan, a copy of which shall be submitted to the
department. The plan shall include, but is not limited to, the following:

1. A review of the applicable parts of this chapter;

2. A review of camp policies and procedures;

3. Job responsibilities in relation to job descriptions;

4, Training in the recognition of illness of children;

5. Daily aetivity plans and schedules;

6. Emergency first aid;

7. The emergency plan required under s, HSS 55.43 (2);

S.tTraining in the use of fire extinguishers and other fire-fighting equip-
ment;

9. Training in the recognition of local poisonous plants and snakes; and
10. Child abuse and neglect laws.

(b) All paid and volunteer counselors who are counted in determining
the counselor-to-child ratio shall have pre-camp training. The pre-camp
training program shali be for a minimum of 3 camp days or 18 hours and
shall include orientation at the base camp.,

(e) Campers’ parents serving as staff may be exempted from the 3
camp days or 18 hour pre-camp training when the following conditions
are met;

1. The parent receives 4 hours of training in day camp programming
required under par. (a), including orientation at the base camp; and

2. The parent works under the supervision of a staffi person who has
met the requirements specified in par. (b).

{d) The camp director shall plan and implement staff meetings which
will provide ongoing supervision and in-service training for the staff.

(8) STAFFING. (a} Each child shall be closely supervised af all times,

{b) There shall be a ratio of at least one counselor to every 4 children
under 4 years of age, There shall be a ratio of at least one counselor to
every 6 children 4 years of age. ‘There shall be a ratio of one counselor to
every 12 children b and 6 years of age, When there is a mixed-age group,
the stafi-to-child ratio shall be adjusted on a prorata basis, according to
age. -

Note: Worksheets for prorating staff-to-child ratios for mixed age groups are available from
the department upon request.

{e¢) The counselor-to-child ratio shall be exclusive of maintenance staff,
program specialists and counselors in training.
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{d) The camp director may not leave the base camp during the hours of
operation unless another qualified person is at the base eamp. This per-
son shall be identified in a written delegation of administrative authority
and shall be authorized to make decisions,

(e) When 9 or more children are present at the base eamp, there shall
be at least 2 adults available at all times and at least one of the adults
shall be a counselor,

(£) When children 7 years of age and older are served in the same unit
with children under 7 years of age, the ratio of counselors to all children
u} (;;he unit shall be consistent with the requirements for the under 7 year-
old ratio,

(4) HEALTH QUALIFICATIONS, No staff member, volunteer, visitor or
parent with symptoms of communieable disease or physieal iliness, or
whose behavior gives the camp director reason to be concerned for the
safety of the children, may be allowed on the premises of the day camp.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, ef. 11-1-84,
HSS 55.43 Base camp and facilities. (1) SITE AND BUILDING. (&) The

base camp shall provide natural resources that allow for an outdoor liv-
ing experience.

- {b) On-site or off-site shelters shall be provided for use during inclem-
ent weather for ongoing camp activities.

(¢} The base camp shall be located in an area that has good drainage.

Nete: Local authorities should be consulted to obtain any required zoning clearances or
building permits. :

(d) Buildings and shelters on sites used or construeted primarily for
day camp purposes shall compli\; with chs, ILHR 60 to 64 and an inspec-
tion report shall be filed with the department.

{e) All buildings and structures used by children for day camp pur-
poses shall have not less than 2 plainly marked exits,

(2) SAFET&'. (a) Protective measures. 1. Each camp shall have a written
plan for dealing with emergency situations, including but not limited to
fire, natural disaster, lost campers, lost swimmers, accident and illness,

2. Staff shall be informed of and knowledgeable about the following:
a, His or her duties in the event of an emergency;
b. Evacuation routes; and

¢. The location of the nearest telephone. A list of emergency telephone
numbers shall be immediately available to staff.

8, All equipment and facilities used by the children and staff, whether
owned by the camp or not, shall be in safe operating condition and not
present undue risk to children.

4. No aleohol or non-preseribed controlled substances as defined i1_1 8.
161.01, Stats. may be consumed on the premises of the day camp during
hours of operation.
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5, All hazards, including abandoned refrigerators with doors, open
grease traps, unsafe fences, and abandoned excavations, shall be elimi-
nated or provided with protective devices.

6. Substanees which may be toxic if ingested, inhaled, or handled, in-
cluding drugs, chemicals and pesticides, shall be clearly Iabeled and
stored in areas not accessible to children,

7. A motor vehicle shall be available at all times for emergency trans-
portation,

(b) Fire protection. 1. All fire protection facilities and equipment shall
be inspected and maintained in working order by a qualified person.

2. Flammable and combustible liquids shall be in plainly marked con-
tainers and stored in areas accessible only to designated adults.

8. Before camp opens, written notification of the camp operation shall
be given to the nearest fire department or forest ranger service for protec-
tion in case of fire,

4, Any permits reguired for operation of ineinerators of for cpen fires
shall be secured,

b, The clearing around open fires shall be free of burnable materials for
a radius of 6 feet,

(3) SANITATION. (a) General. 1, The premises shall be free of litter, safe
and clean.

2. Furnishings and other equipment shall he clean.
3. Toilet facilities shall be in sanitary condition,

4. Painted exterior and interior surfaces accessible to children shall be
finished with lead-free paint or other non-toxic material.

5. Garbage containers in the building shall be covered, watertight and
emptied daily. Garbage and refuse stored out-of-doors shall be kept in
rigid leak-proof containers equipped with tight-fitting covers and hauled
away as necessary to prevent decomposition and overflow at the site,

4 6. The areas around garbage and rubbish containers shalt be clean and
ry.

7. Solid waste disposal sites on the premises must be licensed by the
department of natural resources.

(b) Insect, rodent, and weed control, 1, The growth of brush, weeds,
grass and plants shall be controlled in the central camp area to prevent
the harborage of noxious insects and rodents and other animals,

2. The central camp area shall be maintained to prevent growth of
rag\lvc]eled, poison ivy and other noxious plants considered detrimental to
health,

3.- Buildings and structures shall be maintained to control inseet and
rodent harborage and infestations,

(e) Food preparalion, service and siorage. 1, When food is provided and
served by the day camp, s. HSS 55.33 (9) shall apply.
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2. Equipment and utensils used for preparing, serving and storing food
shall be clean and facilities equipped for the safe handling of food,

3. Washable dishes provided by the camp shall have smooth hard sur-
faces which are free of open seams, cracks, chips and roughened areas,
The dishes shall be stored in such a manner as not {o expose them {o
contamination.

4, Single-service utensils and food containers shall be made from non-
toxic materials and shall not be reused.

5. Milk shall be maintained at or below 40°F (8°C).

(d) Waler. 1. A supply of safe drinking water shall be available to chil-
dren at all times from disposable cups, individually labeled cups or angle
jet type drinking fountains. Common use of drinking cups is prohibited.

2. When a public water system is not available, a private well may be
used if it is approved by the department of natural resources. Water sam-
ples from an approved well shall be tested at the state laboratory of hy-
giene or a state-approved laboratory at least annually and at least 2
weﬁaks p;‘ior to the camp opening. The water supply shall be bacteriologi-
cally safe,

8. Where running water is not available, a covered drinking water
container suitable for pouring or equipped with a faucet shall be pro-
vided. Dipping into water from the container is prohibited. The
container shall be cleaned daily. The water souree shall be a public water
supply or as specified in subd. 2.

(e) Washrooms and toilet facitities. 1. Handwashing and toileting facili-
ties shall be provided and accessible to children.

2. Single-use disposable towels or individually labeled clean cloth tow-
els shall be provided and accessible to children.

3. Soap, toilet paper and wastepaper container shall be provided and
accessible to children.

4. Outdoor toilets, when used, shall be construeted according to the
requirements of s. ILHR 52.63.

5. If devices other than plumbed toilets or outdoor toilets are used,
tlll)ey sh?lll be subject to local ordinances and required permits shall be
obtained.

8. Plumbing shall comply with all applicable sections of ch, ILHR 82,

_T. Liquid waste disposal shall be connected to a public sewer, if avail-
all:lel. If not available, liquid waste disposal shall be in accordance with
ch. ILHR 82.

History: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff, 11-1-84.

HSS 55.44 Program, (1) PROGRAM PLANNING AND IMPLEMENTATION. (a)
Each day camp shall have a program of activities planned according to
the developmental level of each group of children and intended to expose
children to a variety of eultures. The program shall provide each child
with experiences which encourage:

1, An appreciation and understanding of the natural environment;
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2, Large and small muscle development;
3. Learning of skills;

4. Self-esteem and positive self-image;
§. Opportunities for recreation; and

6. Social interaction in'a group setting.
(b) The program shall:

1. Protect the children from excessive fatigue and from overstimula-
tion; and

2. Encourage spontaneous activities,

(2) DI1sCIPLINE, {a) Fach day camp shall have a written policy on dis-
cipline of children which provides for positive gnidance, redirection and
the setting of clear-cut limits, The policy shall be designed to help each
ch}illd develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect for the rights of
others,

(b) Only staff specified under s. HSS 55.42 (2) (b) and {¢) may disci-
pline a child. Diseipline may not be delegated to older children or peers,

(¢) Punishment which is humiliating or frightening to a child is prohib-
ited. Examples of prohibited punishment include:

1. Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking or inflicting any other form of
corporal punishment;

2, Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about the child or the
child’s family;

3. Binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a confined
space such as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle; and

4, Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps.
(d) Children shall not be punished for lapses in toilet training.

(3) EQuirMENT. (a) The camp shall provide program equipment in a
variety and quantity which will allow stafi to implement activities out-
lined in the written policy on program objectives and activities required
under s, HSS 65.41 (1) (g) 2.

(b) All equipment shall be:
1. Scaled to the developmental level, size and ability of the children;

. 2, Of sound construction with no sharp, rough, loose or pointed edges,
in good operating condition, anchored when necessary; and

3. Placed to avoeid danger of accident and collision and to permit free-
dom of action.

(4) REST. When a sesston is more than 4 hours in length, there shall be
a rest period or period of quiet activities of approximately one hour for
all children under 5 years of age.

(8) Foob. (a) Food shall be provided accordance with Table 5b.44
which is based on the amount of time children are present.
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TABLE 55.44
MEAL AND SNACK REQUIREMENTS FOR EACH CHILD AT

A DAY CAMP

Time Children Are Present Number of Meals and Snacks

2% to 4 hours 1 snack

4 to 8 hours 1 snacks and 1 meal

8 to 16 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal

10 hours or more 2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks

(b) Camp-provided transportation time shall be included in determin-
ing the total number of hours a ehild is present for the purpose of par. (a).

{¢) Food allergies of specific children shall be reported to cooks, coun-
selors and substitutes having direct contact with children,

{(d) The meal and snack patterns listed below shall be used in meal
planning. Each meal shall provide % of the daily nutritional require-
ments of the child.

(e) Noon or evening meals shall consist of at least one item from each
of the following categories:

1. Protein sources, such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs, cooked dried peas
or beans, cheese or peanut butter;

2. Two vegetables, or 1 vegetable and 1 fruit, or 2 fruits;
3. Cereal, or whole grain or enriched bread; and
4, Grade A vitamin D milk,

(f) Mid-morning and mid-afternoon snaeks shall consist of at least one
of the following: milk or milk produet, fruit, fruit juice, vegetable, pea-
nut butter or other protein, whole grain or enriched bread or cereal.
When only fruit juice is used, it shall be pure fruit juice.

(g) When a bag lunch or other food is provided by the parent, the camp
shail ensure that each child has a meal that provides % of the daily nutri-
tional requirements for a child of that age.

. (h) Children’s hands shall be washed with soap and water before eat-
ing,

(6) HEALTH. (a) Observelion. 1. Each child upon arrival at the camp
shall he observed by a staff person for symptoms of illness,

2, Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations or burns
shall be noted on the child’s record and reported immediately to the
camp director.

(b) Supervision, There shall be an adult at the camp at all times who is
responsible for health supervision. The adult shall be a registered nurse,
physician or a person holding a current certificate from the American
Red Cross standard first aid and personal safety course.

{c) Isolation. 1. There shall be an isolation or first aid area for the care
of children who become ill.
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2. When an apparently ill child is observed in the day camp, the follow-
ing procedures shall apply:

a. A child with a sore throat, inflammation of the eves, fever, lice, ring-
worm of the scalp, rash, vomiting, diarrhea, or other illness or health
corédition shall be isolated until the child can be removed from the camp;
an

b. ‘The child’s parent, or a designated responsible person when parents
cannot be reached, shall be contacted as soon as possible after the ilness
is discovered to take the child from the camp.

(d) Communicable disease, 1. When a child is suspected of having
chicken pox, German measels, infectious hepatitis, measles, munps, pol-
iomyelitis, scarlet fever, whooping cough, diphtheria, meningitis, or any
other communicable disease under ch, HSS 145, the local health officer
shall be notified.

2, Whenever it is determined that a child has a communicable disease,
the exposed children shall be watched for symptoms of the disease and
their parents shall be notified of the children’s exposure.

3. A child may be readmitted without a statement from a physician
after having had a communicable disease only if the child has been ab-
sent for a period of time equal to the longest usual incubation period of
the disease as specified by the department.

(e) Medication. 1, No prescription or non-prescription mediecation, in-
cluding but not limited to aspirin, cough medicine, or nose drops, may be
given to a child except under the following conditions:

a. A signed, dated, written authorization of the parent is on file;

b. Prescription medication is in the original container and lapeled with
the child’s name, name of drug, dosage, directions for administering,
date and physician’s name;

¢. Non-prescriptive medication is labeled with the child’s name and
the request, signed by the parent, includes the dosage and directions for
administering; and

d. A written report which includes the type of medication given, dos-
age, time, date and name of the person administering the medication
shall be kept in the child’s record and in the medical log which shall meet
specifications of s, HSS 55.41 (4) (b). )

2. All medications shall be stored so that they are not accessible to the
children.

3. Medications requiring refrigeration shall be kept in the refrigerator
in a separate, covered container clearly labeled “medication.”

(f) Injury. 1. Written procedures for the treatment of children who are
in accidents or otherwise injured shall be available and made known to
staff and shall be carried out as follows:

a. Written permission from the parent to call the family physician or
refer the child for medical care in case of injury shall be on file at the
camp. ‘This permission shall be used only when the parent or the desig-
nated responsible person cannot be reached;
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b. Prior to the opening of camp, a planned source of emergency medi-
cal care, such as a hospital emergency room, clinie or other constantly
staffed medical facility, shall be designated and made known to staff and
parents;

¢. There shall be written procedures to be followed for bringing a child
to emergency medical care;

d. First aid equipment shall be available at a designated location in
each cottage or other living unit and at the first aid area;

. First aid equipment shall be taken on all out-of-camp trips;
f. Standard first aid practices shall be followed for serious injuries;

%. There shall be routine procedures for treatment of minor injuries;
an

h, Superficial wounds may be cleaned with soap and water only and
protected.

2. A daily record of injuries shall be kept in the medical log.

3. Records of injuries shall be reviewed by the camp director and staff
as part of the in-service training to determine that all preventive mea-
sures are being taken.

(g) Health history. A written health history which includes dates of
immunization, allergies, limitations that would affect activities and
other health conditions shall be obtained from the parent before the first
gay t(;t;?t' camp. This shall be kept on file at the base camp and be available

o staff.

{7) WATERFRONT. (a) Swimming area, 1. Beaches, pools and other
swimming areas used by campers shall be Iocated, constructed, equipped
and operated according to the requirements of ch. IS8 171,

2. The source and bacteriological, chemiecal, physical and biological
quality of water at pools and beaches used by day eamp children shall
meet the requirements of ch, HSS 171,

3. Swimming pools shall be enclosed with a fence. Al gates shall be
locked when waterfront staff are not on duty.

4, The swimming area used by a day camp shall have designated areas
for non-swimmers, intermediate swimmers, advanced swimmers and di-
vers,

(b) Waterfront staff. 1. Each day camp offering swimming, boating, ca-
noeing, or other aquatic activities shall desighate a staff person as water-
front director, The waterfront director shall:

a, Be 18 years of age or older; and

b. Hold a Red Cross water safety instructor’s certificate or a compara-
ble Boy Scout or national YMCA certificate.

2. The camp shall maintain a ratio of one person with a current Red
Cross lifesaving certificate per 26 children in the water, except where a
public swimming place has life-saving personnel on duty, While children
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are in the water, staff-to-child ratios under s, HSS 55.42 (3) (b) shall be
maintained by staff who can swim.

3. The waterfront director or an equally qualified person shall be on
duty at all times whenever children are in the water.

(e) Swimming procedures. 1, The swimming ability of each child shall
i)e igletermined and recorded through the use of an American Red Cross
est,

2. Children shal} be restricted to swimming areas within their swim-
ming classifieation.

3. A written plan approved by the department for the supervision of
swimmers shall be developed, implemented and made known to staff,
‘The plan shall include:

a. A system of checking persons in and out of the water; and

; b. Emergency procedures to be carried out when a swimmer cannot be
ounda,

(d) Boating prohibited in swimming areas. Except in an emergency, no
rowboat, canoe, motor hoat or other craft, except a lifeboat used by life-
guards, is permitted in a swimming area, pursuant to s. 80,68 (7), Stats:

(e) Supervision of walerfront activities, Children shall be clogely super-
vised when they are participating in fishing and shoreline activities.

(8) WATERCRART. (a) All water craft shall comply with eh. NR 5.

(b) Each occupant of a watercraft shall wear a type I or I1 coast guard-
approved personal flotation device which is appropriate to the weight of
the person wearing it,

{e¢) There shall be at least one adult in each watercraft who is a compe-
tent swimmer as determined by the waterfront director.

{d) Children who have not completed beginning swimming shall be
limited to the use of the rowboats only.

{9) RIFLERY AND ARCHERY. Riflery and archery may not be part of the
program for children under 7 years of age. When riflery and archery are
ineluded in the program for older children, the following precautions for
the protection of children under 7 years of age shall be observed:

(a) The archery or rifle range may be used only under the supervision
of an adult instructor;

(b) Other program activities shall be in an area away from the desig-
nated archery or rifle range. The range shall be fenced in with rope or
wire and marked with danger signs or flags;

(¢) Rifles, ammunition, and archery equipment shall be stored under
lock and key when not in use; and

(d) Unfired cartridges and arrows collecfed in cleaning the range shall
lf:e éeturned to the instructor and not thrown into the trash or kept by the
nger,

( (10) TooLs, (a) Power tools shall not be used by children under 7 years
of age,
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(b} Children under 7 years of age shall not be allowed in areas where
power tools are in use.

(e) When power tools and other tools are not in use, they shall be
stored in an area not accessible to children.

(11} HORSEBACK RIDING. (a) This subsection shall apply whether the
camp owns, rents, or leases horses,

(b) Children may ride horseback only under close supervision in a ring
or other enclosed area.

~ (e) The riding tack shall be maintained in good repair to provide maxi-
mum safety for children, It shall be appropriate to the age, size, and abil-
ity of the rider.

(d) Horseback riding shall be specifically covered by the camp’s liabil-
ity insurance,

(12) Day TRiPs. For day trips away from the base eamp:

(a) Staff shall carry signed parental permission for the emergency med-
ical care of all children on the day trip;

(b) The counselor-child ratio under 8. HSS 55.42 (3) (b) shall be main-
tained, except that the number of adults accompanying children away
from the base camp may be no fewer than 2;

(e) A planned source of emergency medical care in the area to be vis-
ited shall be known to staff; and

(cf) A list of children participating in the day trip shall be maintained
by a counselor accompanying the children,

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No, 346, eff. 11-1-84,

Subchapter V — Day Care Programs Established
by School Boards

HSS 55.50 Definitions. In this subchapter, “establish and provide”
means to fund the day care program and to control the daily operation of
the program,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1.85.

HSS 55.51 Compliance with licensing standards. (1) A day care program
established and provided by a school board shall comply with applicable
standards under subchs. I, and I, III or IV governing the operation of
day care centers.

{2) The department shall inspect the day care program established and
provided by a school board and document in writing for the school board
whether or not the day care program complies with the applicable stan-
dards for day care centers under this chapter,

Hislory: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 856, eff, 9-1-85,
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Subchapter VI — Day Care Certification

HSS 55,55 Authorily, purpose and applcability. (1) AUTHORITY AND
PURPOSE, This subchapter is promulgated pursuant to s, 46,03 (21),
Stats,, and implements s, 48.651, Stats, It establishes standards for the
certification of persons who provide day care for 1 to 3 children or who
are not otherwise required to be licensed as a day care center under s.
HSS 55.05, and whose services are purchased by county social serviee
departments with state community aid funds, The standards are in-
tended to proteet the health, safety and welfare of children in the care of
these providers.

(2) APPLICABILITY. This subchapter applies to county agencies and to
all providers of day care who receive reimbursement frfom county agen-
ctes and who are not required to be licensed under s, HSS 55.05, including
providers of day care for 1 to 3 children, providers of day care for a child
in the child’s home and providers of day care for school-age children.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, off. 9-1-85.
HSS 55.56 Definitions, In this subchapter:

(1) “Certified day care’ means day care not required to be licensed asa
day care center and which meets standards for purchase of ecare by
county agencies,

(2) “Certified day care operator” means an individual, corporation,
partnership or non-incorporated association or cooperative which has le-
gal and financia! responsibility for the operation of the day care program
and for meeting the certification rules,

(3) “County agency” means a county department of social services or
a county department of human services.

(4} “Department’ means the Wisconsin department of health and so-
cial services. :

(6) “EPSDT” means early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treat-
ment, a health screening and referral program for children from low-in-
gome families under 42 CFR 441.50 to 441.90 and ss, 49.46 and 49.47,

tats,

(6) “‘Family day care center”” means a day care center licensed under
subehs, I and I1,

(7) “Family day care provider” means a person providing care for pre-
school or school-age children or both outside their homes for less than 24
hours a day and who is not required to be licensed under s. 48.65, Stats.,
because the provider is caring for fewer than 4 children under 7 years old
who are unrelated to the provider, :

(8) “Group day care center” means a day care center licensed under
subchs, T and II1.

(9) “Infant” means a child under one year of age.

(10) “In-home provider” means a person caring for a child in the
child’s own home.

(11) “Parent” means a parent as defined in 8. 48.02 (13), Stats., or a.
guardian as defined in s, 48.02 (9), Stats.
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(12) “Parochial or other private school-operated day care program”
meaits a program providing eare and supervision for less than 24 hours a
day for 4 or more children under the age of 7 and which is exempt from
being licensed as a day care center under s. 48.65, Stats,

(18)-“Provider” means & person who provides day care for children,

(14) “School-age day care program’ means a program providing care
and supervision for less than 24 hours a day for 7 or more school-age
children who are at least 7 years of age but less than 12 years of age and
‘évhigsh is exempt from being licensed as a day care center under s. 48.65,

tats,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9-1-85.

HSS 55.57 Conditions for purchase of services. A county agency may
purchase day care only from a family day care center licensed by the
department under subchs. I and 11, a group day care center licensed by
the department under subchs. I and I11, a day camp licensed by the de-
partment under subchs. T and IV, a day care provider certified by a
county agency under this subchapter or a day care program established
and provided by a publie school board,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 366, eff, 3-1-85,

HSS 55.58 Ceriification, (1) BASIS FOR CERTIFICATION. In order to be
certified, a day care provider shall be exempt from having to be licensed
under subehs. I, and 1T, I1I or IV and shall comply with the appropriate
s%an(%ards for the type of certified provider that are specified in this sub-
chapter.

(2) TYPES OF CERTIFIED PROVIDERS, The following types of day care
})1 oglde:s shall be certified as a condition for receiving county day care
unds:

(a) Family day care providers and in-home providers. Family day care
and in-home providers are required to meet the standards under s, H88
55.61 and may care for preschool children or up to 6 school-age children
or a combination of preschool and school-age children consistent with
Table 55.61 (6).

(b) School-age day care programs. School-age day care programs are
required to meet the standards under s, HSS 55.62;

() Private and parachial school-operated day care programs. Private and
parochial school-operated day eare programs are required to meet the
standards referred to under s. HSS 56.63; and

(d) Other day care programs. Other day care programs identified under
s, HSS 55,08 (1), (2) and (8) for which a license is not required are re-
quired to meet the standards referred to under s. HSS 55.63.

(8) APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION, (a) Form. Application for certifi-
cation shall be made on a form available from the county agency in the
provider’s county. The applicant shall submit the completed form to
that county ageney.

{b) References. The applicant shall submit with the application the
names and addresses of persons who can attest to the applicant’s good
character and ability to care for children., The county agency shall re-
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quire references of ali applicants and shall contact references by phone or
letter before certifying an applicant.

(¢) Compliance with standards and cerlification. The county agency
shall process all certification applications as follows:

1. If the application is for certification under sub. (2} (a), the county
agency shall ensure that the applicant is in compliance with ali standards
under 5, HSS 55,61 prior to issuing a certificate.

2. If the application is for eerification under sub. (2) (b) or {c}, the
county agency shall refer the application £o a licensing representative in
the department’s regional office. The licensing representative shall deter-
mine whether the applicant is in compliance with all standards under s.
HSS 55,62 or meets current day care center standards set out in subehs, I
and IT or IT1, as applicable, and report back to the county agency. The
county agency may issue a certificate based on the licensing representa-
tive's report.

(d) Approval, Within 60 days after receiving a completed application
for certification or recertification, the county agency shall either approve
the application and issue a certificate or deny the application. I an appli-
cation is denied, the county agency shall give the applicant the reasons,
in writing, for denial.

(4) CATEGORIES OF CERTIFICATION. Certification of a provider by a
county agency shall be provisional, regular or limited as {ollows:

(a) Provisional certificalion, Provisional certification shall be issued for
the purpose of determining whether a provider is able to come into com-
pliance with designated standards prior to granting regular certification,
Provisional certification shall be the initial stage of regular certification
shall be restricted to 6 months, and may not be renewed; .

(b) Regular certification. Regular certification may be issued only after
the provider has demonstrated compliance with all certification stan-
dards during the 6-month provisional certification. Regular certification
shall be for a period of one year and shall be renewed annually upon ap-
plieation and if the provider continues to comply with the certification
standards; or

(¢) Limiled certification. In order to meet emergency or short-term
needs, limited certification may be issued to a provider for no more than
30 consecutive days and not more than 3 times in any 12-month period.
The department may designate particular standards in this subchapter
that may be waived by a county agency for this category of certification
provided that the health, safety and welfare of children in the care of the
provider will not he adversely affected.

(6) EXCEPTIONS TO PARTICULAR CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS, A
county ageney may grant an exception to any standard in s. HSS 56.61,
55,62 or 55.63 if the county agency is convinced that an alternative
means meets the intent of the requirement,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9-1-85.
HSS 655.59 Sanciions. (1) The county agency shall deny, suspend, re-

voke or refuse to renew certification and discontinue payment for care if
the certified day care operator, day care program employe, provider, as-
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sistant to the provider, substitute provider or person living in the family
day care provider's home:

(a) Is the subject of a pending criminal charge if the charge substan-
tially relates to the circumstances of caring for children or the activities
of the home; or

{b) Has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense the
circumstances of which substantially relate to the care of children or ac-
tivities of the home,

(2) The county agency may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew
certification and discontinue payment for care if the certified day care
operator, day care program employe, provider, assistant to the provider,
%ubstitute provider or person living in the family day care provider’s

ome:

(a) Has been determined to have abused or neglected a child pursuant
to s. 48.981, Stats.; or

(b) Is the subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned his
ot her child, has inflicted emotional damage or sexual or physical abuse
on a child or has neglected or refused, for reasons other than poverty, to
provide necessary care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shelter
s0 as to seriously endanger the physical health of a child,

(8) The county agency may deny, suspend, revoke or refuse to renew
certification and discontinue payment for care if:

(a) The provider is not in compliance with certification standards
under s. HSS 55.61, 55.62 or 55.63, as appropriate; or

(b) The provider's references or other community infermation does
not support the provider's declaration that he or she is able to provide an
acceptable level of child care.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, §-1-85,

HSS 55.60 Appeal. If a county agency denies, suspends, revokes or
refuses to renew a certification, the county agency shall notify the pro-
vider in writing and give reasons for the action, The action is reviewable
pursuant to ch. 68, Stats., which provides for administrative review of
the decisions of local agencies.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85,

HSS 55.61 Standards for family day care and in-home day care, (1)
QUALIFICATIONS OF PROVIDERS, (a) Age and ability, 1, The provider shall
be at least 18 years of age and shall be physically and emotionally able to
provide responsible child care,

2. The provider shall ensure that any person assisting in the care of
children is at least 16 years of age and is physically and emotionally able
to provide responsible child care.

3., The provider shall ensure that any substitute provider is at least 18
yﬁ?ﬁ}s of age and is physically and emotionally able to provide responsible
child care.

4, The provider and any person assisting in the care of the children
shall be required to sign a statement affirming that he or she has not been
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convicted or is not a subject of a pending criminal charge as specified
under s. HSS 55.69 (1).

(b) Healih examination. Within 3 months after provisional certifica-
tion, as a condition for maintaining certification, the provider and any
other adult in daily contact with the children shall submit a statement
from a physician certifying that a physical examination, including a test
for tuberculosis, was completed within the previous 12 months and that
the provider or other adult is essentially free from medical conditions
which might endanger children in the care of the provider, except as pro-
vided under s. 118.25 (2) (b), Stats,

(¢) Training. A certified provider shall be enrolled in or have com-
pleted at least 10 hours of department-approved child care training
within 6 months after provisional certification, The county agency may
require up to 10 additional howrs of departmeni-approved training
within that period.

(2) THE HOME IN FAMILY DAY CARE. The provider’s home and outside
play areas shall meet the following requirements:

{a) Each floor level used for child care shall have at least one unblocked
exit and at least one smoke detector,

(b) All areas used for child care shall have adequate and safe heat, light
and ventilation;

(¢) The home shall be free of hazards and the following items shall be
kept inaccessible to the children;

1. Medications and drugs;

2. Cleaning supplies, poisons and insecticides;

3, Guns, knives, scissors and sharp objects;

4, Matches, cigarette lighters and flammable Hquids;
5. Plastic bags; and

6. Litter and rubbish;

(d) Indoor and outdoor areas used for child care shall include sufficient
space for play and for activities which meet the developmental needs of
the children in care;

(e) Qutdoor play areas shall be free of hazards and shall be fenced or
t&he provider shall take special measures to ensure the safety of the chil-
ren;

(f) Pets that are kept in the home shall be tolerant of children and
vaccinated against rabies;

() The home shall have at least one telephone in working order witha
list of emergency numbers posted by each telephone, including numbers
for the rescue squad, police, fire station, emergency medical care and
poison control center; :

(h) The provider shall use an enrollment form which includes:

1. The parents’ home and work phone numbers;
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2. The parents’ signed consent for emergency medieal care; and

3. A name and number to eall if the child requires emergency medical
care;

(i) The provider shall maintain first-aid supplies and shall wash super-
ficial wounds with soap and water before bandaging;

(j} The home shall be kept clean, uncluttered and free of insects and
rodents;

(k) Bathrooms, including toilets, sinks and potty chairs, shall be kept
clean and in good working condition;

(1) When a public water supply is not available, the well water shall be
tested and found to be bacteriologically safe by the state laboratory of
hygiene or a state-approved laboratory at least annually;

{m) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation, serving and
clean-up shall be kept clean and sanitary; and

(n) Children may not share cups, eating utensils, washecloths or towels,

(3) THE HOME FOR IN-HOME CARE, When a provider cares for children
in the children’s own home, the provider shall comply with requirements
in sub. (2} (e}, (e}, (h), (i) and (m),

_(4) CHILD HEALTH CARE. (a) Except for school-age children, the pro-
vider shall have a current report of a health examination by a licensed
})hysician or a Christian Science pratitioner on file for each child as fol-
ows:

1. For a child under 2 years of age, a report of a physical examination
performed within the past 6 months; and

2, For a child 2 years of age or older, a report of a physical examination
performed within the past 2 years,

(b) If a child is participating in the early and periodic sereening diag-
nosis and treatment (EPSDT) program or other department-approved
health screening program, the requirement of par. (a) shall be considered
met,

(¢) The provider shall have on file a written record, signed by the par-
ents of each pre-school child, verifying that the child has been immu-
nized in compliance with s. 140.05 (16), Stats., and ch. HSS 144.

{d) The provider may administer medication to a child only in accord-
ance with written and signed permission from the child’s parent.

(5) MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN. (a) In this subsection, “the pro-
vider's own children’ means the provider’s natural children, foster chil-
dren and relatives who are children and reside 24 hours a day with the
provider, A provider's own children 7 years old and older may not be
countiz)(;l in determining the maximum number of children allowed under
par. (b).

(b) Asindicated in Table 55,61 (B), a certified provider of day care may
take care of no more than 3 children under the age of 7 in addition to the
pr(évider's own children and other children ages 7 to 11 at any one time,
and:
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1. No more than a total of 6 children;

2, No more than a total of 5 children if 8 of the children present are
under the age of 2;

3. No more than a fotal of 4 children if 4 of the children present are
under the age of 2; and

4, No more than a total of 3 children if all 3 are under one year of age.

Table 55.61 Si?
MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN CERTIFIED DAY CARE
I— CHILDREN 2 YEARS OF AGE AND OLDER

Maximum
Number of
Provider's Additional Maximum Total
Children Under 7 Children Under 7 Number of

Years of Age Years of Age  Additional Children Ages 7 to 11 Children *

Additional Children
Ages 7T to 11

May be Cared

For As Long As The
Maximum Totzl Number
of Children Is Not
Exceeded

M wN—o
=38 SRS RN )
SO RaS

* The maximum total does not include the provider’s own chifdren 7 years of age and older.

IE — LIMITATIONS ON GROUP SIZE WHEN CRILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 2
YEARS ARE PRESENT

Number of Children Under the

Age of 2 Years Maximum Total Number of Children *
] 6
1 6
2 6
3 B
4 4
3 (all under 1 year) 3

* The total does not include the provider's own children 7 years of age and older,

. (6) PROVIDER INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN. The provider shall
interact with the children in a caring and positive manner and:

(a) Shall protect children in care from danger and be aware of where
each child is at all times;

(b) Shall make known to interested parents and the county agency
whether he or she is prepared and equipped to care for handicapped,
abused, neglected or other children with special eare needs;

(c) May not hit, spank, pinch, shake or inflict any other form of
corporal punishment on the child, or use any discipline which is
frightening to the child; and

(d) May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make derogatory
remarks about the child or the child’s family.

(7) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT, (a) The provider shall implement a
program of learning and play activities. Activities shali include:

1. A balance of active and quiet play for each child daily;
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2. Both indoor and, weather permitting, outdoor activities for each
child daily;

3. Opportunities for each child to play with a variety of toys and
equipment;

4. Opportunities for each child to be involved in a variety of activities
during a week;

5, Activities specifically for children under 1 year of age, if these
children are present; and

6. Activities specifically for children from 1 to 2 years of age and for
children 2 years and older, if these children are present.

(b) Television may be used only to supplement the daily plan for
children, No child may be required to watch television.

(8) TRANSPORTATION. When transporting children the provider shall
ensure that:

(a) The driver of the vehicle holds a valid Wisconsin operator’s Heense;
(b) The vehicle is registered in Wisconsin;

{c) Each ehild under the age of 4 is properly restrained in a child safety
restraint system or in a seat belt in accordance with s. 847.48, Stats.; and

(d) Children 4 years of age or older wear seat belts when seat belts are
available.

(9) MEALS AND SNACKS. The provider shall ensure that each child
receives proper nourishment while in day care as follows:

. (a) Each child shall be served one meal or snack at least once every 3
ours;

(b} Bach child in attendance for 4 or more hours shall be served a noon
or evening meal which consists of a protein food, fruit and vegetable, a
cereal or bread product and pasteurized grade A vitamin D milk; and

(¢) Each infant who is unable to hold his or her own bottle shall be held
for bottle feeding. Bottles may not be propped.

(10) REsT. The provider shall ensure that each child has a clean,
comfortable and safe place to rest as follows:

{a) Each child shall be allowed to have undisturbed rest or a nap, when
needed, in a place that is clean, safe and comfortable; and

(b) Each child shall have a personal clean sheet or blanket or both and
pillowease if a pillow is used,

(11) PROVIDER AND PARENT COMMUNICATION, The provider shall
ensure ongoing comrnunication with a child’s parent by:

(a) Allowing parents to visit and observe the program of child care
during any hours that care is being provided;

(b) Talking to each child’s parent at least once a week about his or her
child’s development, activities, likes and dislikes;
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(e) Developing written information which specifies the charge for day
care and the expected frequency of payment for the service; and

(d) Making a cop.y of the applicable certification standards available
to each parent,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, off, 9-1-85; emerg. r. (1) (d), ff, 11-5-85; 1. (1)
(d), Register, April, 1986, No. 864, eff, 5-1-86.

HSS 5562 Siandards for school-age programs. School-age day care
programs shall meet the following standards in order to be certified;

(1) PERSONNEL.. (a) Direclor. Each sechool-age day care program shall
have a person designated as director, The director shall:

1. Be at least 21 years of age; and

2, Have had at least one year of child care or administrative experience
with preschool or school-age children or have completed 40 classroom
hours of training in at least one of the following areas: child development,
early childhood education, elementary edueation, child guidance,
physical education, recreation or other department approved training;

(b) Program leader. A program leader shall be designated by the
program director to plan and implement the daily activities for a
designated group of children. The program leader shall:

1. Be at least 18 years old;
2. Have completed high school or its equivaleney;

3. Have had 80 working days experience working with school-age
children; and :

4, Have completed 20 classroom hours of training in at least one of the
following areas: child development, early childhood education,
elementary education, child guidance, physical education, recreation or
other department-approved training;

{c) Program assistani, A program assistant shall:
1. Work under the supervision of a program leader;
2. Be at least 18 years old; and

3. Have completed or be enrolled in 10 classroom hours of training in at’
least one of the following areas: child development, early childhood
education, elementary education, child guidance, physical education,
recreation or other department approved training;

(d) Substitutes. In the absence of a regular staff member, there shali he
a similarly qualified substitute who is at least 18 years old, but when the
regular staff member is not expected o be absent for more than 3 daysa
person not meeting the educational qualifications under par. (a), (b) or
(e} r‘rlaaf),rl substitute for the regular staff member if a qualified person is not
available.

(e) Staff records, The school-age day care program shall maintain a
reeord for each employe whieh is avatlable to the county agency and
includes:
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1. The name, address, date of birth, education, position, names and
addresses of employers in previous work experience in child care, the
name, address and telephone number of a person to be notified in an
emergency, and a statement signed by the employe affirming that he or
she has not been convicted or is not the subject of a pending criminal
charge as specified under s, HSS 55.59 (1):

2. Evidence of a physical examination within 6 months before
beginning work or within 30 days after beginning work, except as
provided under s. 118,25 (2) (b), Stats, The report shall be dated and
signed by a physician and shall certify that the person is free from illness
detrimental to children and is physically able to work with young
children; and

3. Documentation of educational qualifications for the position.

(2) OriENTATION. Each program shall develop and implement an
orientation program which shall be given to all new staff and volunteers
in Ithg first week that they are at the center. This orientation shall
include:

(a) Review of health, nutrition and discipline policies;

(b) Review of plans for evacuation and cther emergencies;
(¢} Training in emergency procedures and use of first-aid;
(d) Review of all applicable parts of this chapter;

(e) Review of the program’s activity schedules;

{f) Training in the recognition of signs of child abuse and neglect and
explanation of responsibilities for reporting suspected cases of child
abuse or neglect;

(g) Explanation of job responsibilities and job deseriptions; and
(h) Training in the recognition of childhood illnesses.

(3) FaciLITy, (a) (eneral rules. 1. Local authorities shall be consulted
to obtain any required zoning clearances or building permits.

2. There shall be a report of inspection which indicates approval of the
building by the department of industry, laber and human relations or by
a certified agent of that department. The building shall comply with
applicable state and loecal building codes.

(b) Indoor space. 1, The space used by children shall be no less than 35
square fee (3.3 sq. meters) of usable floor space per child.

2. The indoor area shall be free of hazards, and items that may be
harmful to children such as medications, drugs, poisons, insecticides,
weapons, matches, cigarette lighters and flammable lquids shall be kept
out of reach of the children.

() Ouldeor space. Where children are present for more than 3 hours a
day, there shall be at least 76 sq. feet (7.0 square meters) of outdoor play
space on the premises for each child using the space at a given time. The
outdoor space shall be well-drained and free of hazards.
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(4) CHILD HEALTH CARE. (a) Within 90 days after a child is enroiled,
the program shall have on file reports of health examinations by a
licensed physician or Christian Science practitioner completed on the
child within the previous 3 years.

(b) The program shall isolate any ill child and contact the parent or
designated responsible person as soon as possible to arrange for removal
of the child from the program.

(¢) The provider may administer medication to a child only in
accordance with written and signed permission from the child’s parent.

{d) Pets that are kept on the premises shall be tolerant of children and
vaceinated against rabies.

(b) STAFFING AND GROUPING. (a) At least one person meeting the
qualifications of a program leader shall supervise each group of children.

(b) The maximum number of children in a group and the ratio of
program stafl to children may not exceed the foHowing:

1. There shall be no more than 32 children in a group; and
2. There shall be at least one staff member for every 16 children.

(c) Children who are relatives of stafl are counted in the group size and
ratio calculations.

{d) In a program with 10 or more children present, there shall be at
least 2 adults avatlable at all times on the premises,

(6) EMERGENCIES. {a) There shall be a phone in working order to
which the staff has access and a list of emergency phone numbers posted
on or near the phone. The list shall inelude numbers for the rescue squad,
police, fire station, emergency medical care and poison control center,

(b} The programs shall have on file:
1. The parents’ home and work phone numbers;
2. The parents’ signed consent for emergency care;

8. A name and number to call if the child requires emergency medical
care; and

4, Information about any allergies, physical problems and special
nﬁedsh tlltlie child may have and other special care information conecerning
the child. :

(¢) The program shall maintain first-aid supplies and staff shall wash
superficial wounds with soap and water before bandaging.

{7) SANITATION. (a) The premises shall be kept clean, uncluttered and
free of insects and rodents.

{(b) Bathrooms, including toilets and sinks, shall be kept clean and in
good working condition.

(e) When a public water supply is not available, the well water shall be
tested and found to be bacteriologically safe by the state laboratory of
hygiene or a state-approved laboratory at least annually.

Register, June, 1986, Ne. 366




146 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
HB88 55

(d) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation, serving and
clean-up shall be kept clean and sanitary.

(e) Children may not share cups, eating utensils, washeloths or towels,

(8) STAFF INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN, Staff shall interact with the
children in a caring and positive manner and:

(a} Shall protect children in their care from danger and be aware of
where each child is at all times;

{b) May not hit, spank, pinch, shake or inflict any other form of
corporal punishment on the child, or use any discipline which is
frightening to the child; and

{e) May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make derogatory
remarks about the child or the child’s family.

(9) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT. (a) The program shall implement a
schedule of activities which include:

1. A variety of activities which ensure that each child is involved daily
in a balance of active and quiet play;

2, Both indoor and, weather permitting, outdoor activities for each
child daily;

3. Opportunities for each child to use a variety of materials and
equipment; and

4, Opportunities for each child to be involved in a variety of activities
during a week and to select and plan his or her own activities.

{b) Television viewing, if part of the activities, may not exceed one
hour a day per child and shall be appropriate for the children in care.

(10) MEALS ANDSNACKS. (a) A program operating for less than 4 hours
shall ensure that each child is served a snack.

(b) A program operating 4 or more hours shall ensure that each child is
served one meal and one snack at least once every 3 hours.

(e} For each child served a noon or evening meal, that meal shall
consist of a protein food, fruit and vegetable, a cereal or bread product
and pasteurized grade A vitamin D milk,

(d) Snacks shall consist of at least one of the following: milk or a milk
product, fruit, fruit juice, vegetable, peanut butter or other protein,
whole grain or enriched bread or cereal. When only fruit juice is served, it
shall be pure fruit juice,

(11) TrANSPORTATION. (a) The program shall have a written
agreement signed by a parent or guardian which specifies how the child
will be transported to and from the program.

(b) A driver for this program shall hold a valid Wisconsin operator's
license of whatever type is required,

{c} Any vehicle used by the program to transport children shali be
registered in Wisconsin.
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(d) When safety belts are available in a vehicle, they shall be worn by
children.

(12) REsT. The provider shall ensure that each child has a clean,
comfortable private place to rest or relax when needed.

(13) PROVIDER AND PARENT COMMUNICATION. The program shall
ensure ongoing communication with a child’s parent by:

(a) Allowing parents to visit and observe the program of child care at
any time during the hours of operation;

(b) Staff communiecating with each child’s parent at least once a week
about his or her child’s development, activities, likes and dislikes;

(c) Staff developing written information about the service which
specifies the charge for day care and the expected frequency of payment
for the program; and

(d) Making a copy of the applicable certification standards available
to each parent.

(14) INSURANCE. The program shall provide documentation of
insurance coverage by the submission of a certificate of insurance
reflecting current dates of coverage for:

(a) General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of
not less than $25,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 for each
occurrence;

{b) Vehicle liability insurance when transportation is provided, with
minimums no less than those specified in s. 121,53, Stats.; and

(e) Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transportation is
provided by other than center-owned vehicles,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No, 356, eff. 9-1-85,

HSS 55.63 Standards for programs operated by parochial and other
private schools. A day care program operated by a parochial or other
private school is exempt under s. 48.65 (2) (b), Stats,, from having to be
Heensed as a family or group day care center. However, in order to be
certified by a county agency to provide day care as a condition for
receiving eounty day care funding, a day care program operated by a
parochial or other private school shall comply with the standards
established under this chapter for either family or group day care
centers, as appropriate.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9-1-85.

Subchapter VII — Day Care Program Administration and Funding

HSS 5570 Authority, purpose and applicability. This subchapter is
promulgated under the authority of s, 46,98 (5) (e), Stats, It provides
definitions, procedures and standards for the administration of s. 46.98,
Stats., which coneerns the distribution to county agencies of state com-
munity aid funds for day care for children, the use of those funds by
county agencies and the eligibility of parents for publicly funded day
care for their children, This subchapter applies to the department,
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county agencies, providers of day care, whether licensed or certified, and
eligible parents,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85,

HSS 55.71 Definitions. The definitions in subchapter VI apply to this
stubchapter, except the definition of “parent’ under s. HSS 556.56 (11}. In
addition, in this subchapter:

(1) “AFDC” means aid to fam'ﬂiés with dependent children, a public
assistance program under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act of 1935,
as amended, and ss. 49,19 to 49.41, Stats.

{2) “Center slots” or “'slots’” means the number of places for children
within the licensed capacity of a day care center.

(3) “Day care price” means the amount regularly charged by a pro-
vider to a parent who pays for the day care services out of his or her
personal funds.

{4) “Day care system” means a network of licensed family day care
centers, family day care providers, and in-home day care providers cen-
trally organized, coordinated and administered as a unit, an extension of
another day care center, or part of a training or educational programof a
university, a vecational technieal school, a county ageney or 2 commu-
nity agency concerned primarily with child care,

{5) “Family” means one or more adults and children, if any, related by
blood or law and residing in the same household. Where adults other
than spouses reside together, each is considered a separate family, An
emancipated minor and child living under the care of an individual is
considered a one-person famity.

(6) “Formula” means a prescribed method for determining funding
allocations.

(7) “Income” means money, wages or salary, net income from non-
farm self-employment, net income from farm self-employment, social se-
curity, dividends, interest on savings or bonds, income from estates or
trusts, net rental income or royalties, public assistance or welfare pay-
ments, pensions and annuities, unemployment compensation, worker’s
compensation, alimony and other maintenance payments, ehild support
and veteran pensions.

(8) “Income-gligible” means meeting the income standard as deter-
mined annuaily by the department under s. HSS 65.76 (6).

{9) “Parent” has the meaning preseribed in s. 46,98 (1) (c), Stats.,
namely, a parent, guardian, foster parent, legal custodian or person act-
ing in place of a parent. In this subsection, “person acting in place of a
parent” means a person to whom the child is related in one of the ways
listed in s, HSS 201.17 (1).

(10) “Provider” or “day care provider’ means a person who provides
child day care services for compensation.

(11) “Rate’” means the maximum amount a county agency will pay for
day care,
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(12) “Special need” means special emotional, behavioral, or physical
and personal needs of a child reguiring more than the usual amount of
care and supervision for the child’s age.

(13) “Voucher” means an authorization for reimbursement.
History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No, 356, eff. 9-1-85.

HSS 55.72 Department responsibilities. (1) GENERAL. The department
shall maintain oversight responsibility for administration of the day care
licensing and certification programs,

(2) Rat® APPROVAL. The department shall review and approve the
method employed by counties for determining reasonable and customary
day care rates as required under ss. HSS 56.73 (6) and 55.74.

. (3) ASSISTANCE TO COUNTIES. The department shall provide informa-
tion and technical assistance to county agencies regarding state and
county administration of day care programs.

(4) INFORMATIONAL MATERIALS, The department shall develop pam-
phlets, brochures and other informational materials for distribution to
counties, day care providers and the general public relating to day care
and the certification and licensing programs.

_(5) UNMET NEEDS, The department shall periodically study and deter-
mine the unmet day care service needs in the state and develop plans to
foster day care services to meet those needs.

{6) ALLOCATION OF FUNDS, The department shall distribute day care
funds to county agencies through a formula which shall be developed
each year in accordance with the following procedures:

(a) A statewide day care allocation committee shall develop a recom-
mended formula initially and shall review the formula annually and
make recommendations to the department, The aIlocatio_n commitiee
shall include representatives from both major political parties of the sate
legislature, county agencies, eounty associations, day care providers, day
eare associations, community representatives and department staff; and

(b} The recommended formula shall be reviewed by the department’s
day care and ehild development advisory committee which shall com-
ment to the department on the adequacy of the formula.

(7) RATE REVIEW, {a) The department shall annually review each
county’s day care rates and rate-setting method, and shall approve or
disapprove the county agency's rates based on the following criteria;

1. The rate-setting method is in acecordance with rate-setting require-
ments specified under ss. 1SS 55,73 (6) and 55.74; and

2. The rate-setting method documents that the maximum allowable
rate permits all eligible parents a reasonable choice of day care providers.

(b) The department may grant a variance to a requirement under s.
HSS 55.74 if the department is convinced that an alternative means
meets the intent of the requirement.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9.1-85,

HSS 55,73 Counly agency responsibilities, (1) GENERAL, Each cpunty
agency shall be res{)onsible for the administration of the county’s day
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care program in accordance with the requirements set forth in sub-
chapter V and this subchapter,
(2} RATE-SETTING METHOD. The county ageney shall submit a written
statement to the department in accordance with s, HSS 55.74, which de-

seribes the method by which the county ageney has determined reason-
able and customary rates and the maximum rate that the county will

allow for the purchase of day care services.

(3) AUTHORIZED PROVIDERS. {a) The county agency may purchase day
care services from or provide vouchers for the purchase of day care ser-
vices from only the following providers:

IV1. Providers licensed by the department under subehs, I and 11, III or
. 2. Providers certified by the county agency under standards specified
in s, HSS 55.61, 55.62 or 55.63; or

3. Programs established and provided by a school board under s.
120.13 (14), Stats. g

(b) The county agency may not purchase services or issue vouchers for
day care services provided by a person legally responsible for a child.

(¢} The county agency may set policies prohibiting the purchase of
services or issuance of vouchers for day care services provided by a rela-
tive living in the child’s household.

(4) INFORMATION TO PROVIDERS, The county agency shall distribute
brochures to day care providers regarding basie child care, certification
and licensing requirements.

(5) EXPENDITURES OF DAY CARE FUNDS. The county agency shall ex-
pend state-allocated day care funds in aceordance with s, 46,98 (3) and
(4), Stats., and s, HSS 55.75. :

(6) PROVISION AND PURCHASE OF SERVICE. The county ageney shall

provide day care services directly, provide day care services by con-
tracting with day care providers, or provide vouchers to parents for the

purchase of day care services, The county agency:

{a) Shall use a portion of its day care funds and may use all of its day
care funds to provide vouchers to eligible parents, as follows:

1. The county agency shall offer a voucher to each eligible parent to the
extent that allocated funds are available;

2. A voucher shall be in writing and shall authorize a parent to obtain
stipulated day care services from a provider under sub, (3); and

3. The voucher shal set a maximum amount of authorized reimburs?-
ment which is the lesser of the county maximum rate or the provider’s
charge, minus the payment that the parent is required to make under s.
HSS 55.717 (2).

(b) The county agency shall reimburse the day care provider for ser-
vices authorized and provided, whether under contract with the county

agency or through vouchers, and shall pay for absences up to 20% of the
authorized monthly units of service, Counties may reimburse providers

Register, June, 1986, No, 366




DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SER.VII(ES]?_;,S.‘;55 151

for absences exceeding 20% of the authorized monthly units of service
only when the day care is for parents with crisis or respite needs.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff, 9-1-85.

HSS 55.74 Establishing couniy day care rates, (1) DAY CARE PURCHASED
BY CONTRACT, If a eounty agency contraects directly with a day care pro-
vider, the rates for the provider shall he determined by a negotiated
agreement hetween the provider and the county, within allowable costs
as determined by the department.

(2) DAY CARE PURCHASED BY VOUCHERS., (a) General. If a county
agency provides day care by offering parents vouchers, the agency shall
annually set reasonable and custemary maximum day care rates in ac-
cordance with procedures and policies set forth in this subsection,

{b) Sursey. The county ageney shall annually contact all full-time Ii-
censed group day care centers and family day care centers in the county
to determine the day care prices they charge to the general community.

(e) Groups, The county agency shall set separate maximum rates for
the following 3 groups of children:

1. Infants and toddlers under 2 years old;
2, Preschoolers age 2 up to school age; and
3, Children 6 through 11 years old receiving care before or after school.

(d) Types of care, The rates for each of the 8 groups under par. (¢) shall
be set separately for the following types of care:

1. Licensed group day care centfers;
2. Licensed family day care centers; and
3. Certified family day care providers and in-home providers,

(e) Mazximum rales for licensed day care centers. The maximum rates for
licensed centers shall be set as follows:

1, Maximum rates for licensed group day care centers shall be set so
that at least 75% of the full-time, 40 or more hours per week, group day
care center slots in the county can be purchased at or below the maxi-
mum rate. The number of slots attributed to a center shall be equal to
the center’s licensed capacity;

2. Maximum rates for Heensed group day care centers shall be set so
that at least 76% of the group day care center slots for before and after
school day care in the county can be purchased at or below the maximum
rate;

3. Maximum rates for licensed family day care centers shali ensure
that at least 75% of the full-time, 40 or more hours per week, family day
care center slots in the county can be purchased at or below the maxi-
mum rates. The number of slots attributed to a center shall be equal to
the center's licensed capacity;

4, Maximum rates for licensed family day care centers shall be set so
that at teast 756% of the family day care center slots for before and after
school day care in the county can be purchased at or below the maximum
rate;
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5, In determining whether 75% of the full-time day care slots can be
purchased at or below the maximum rate, the county may exclude only
day care centers which operate less than § days a week or 5 hoursa day or
'évtl;li(;:sh receive funding from a board established under s, 51.42 or 51.437,

6. Reduced maximum rates may not be set for siblings served by group
or family day care centers; and

7. Separate maximum rates may be set for day care for part of the day
at group and family day care centers using the same method required
under this paragraph,

(f) Maximum rates for certified family day care. The maximum rates for
certified family day care shall be set as follows:

1, The maximum rate for certified family day care shall be no less than
75% of the maximum rate for licensed family day care centers unless
another rate is justified by the county ageney through a survey of provid-
ers or users of certified or uncertified family day care, Rates for siblings in
certified family day care shall be no less than 75% of the rate for the first
child enrolled by the family;

2. A graduated systetn of rates may be established for certified family
day care providers based on the training and experience of the providers;

3. In-home care may be purchased only in the following circumstances:
a. A child has a special need;

b. Licensed or certified care is not available within a reasonable geo-
graphic area; or

¢. Three or more children are being cared for.

{g) Maximum rafes for cerlified in-home care, The maximum rates for
certified in-home care shall be as follows:

1. An in-home provider caring for a child for 15 or more hours a week
shall be paid in accordance with the state’s minimum wage law; or

2, An in-home provider caring for a child for less than 15 hours & week
shall be paid in aceordance with the maximum rates for certified family
care under par. ().

. (h) Maximum rates for other day care providers. The maximum rates for
licensed group day care centers under par. (e) shall also apply to the fol-
lowing other providers:

1. Day care programs established and provided by a school board;
2. Certified school-age day care programs; and

3. Certified parochial and other private school-cperated day eare pro-
grams.

(i) Higher rates for crisis or respite needs, Rates which ave higher than
the maximums allowed under this section may be set for day care pro-
vided to children of parents with crisis or respite needs to ecover costs of
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counseling and other support services for parents provided directly, or
purchased by, day care providers and for training of day care providers.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 3586, eff, 9-1-85.

HSS 55.75 Use of day care funds, Day care funds distributed under s,
46,98, Stats., may be expended by a county only to fund services that
directly or indirectly benefit parents eligible under s. HSS 55.76, as fol-
lows:

(1) SERVICES THAT DIRECTLY BENEFIT PARENTS, Counties shall expend
day care funds to provide day care services for parents eligible under s.
HSS 55.76 through the use of vouchers issued to parents or contracts
with providers for purchase of services; and

(2) S_ERVICE;S 'THAT INDIRECTLY BENEFIT PARENTS. Department ap-
proval is required for counties to expend day care funds:

(a) To purchase day care or child development-related activities which
indirectly serve children recelving day care services, including equip-
ment loan services, library services, training services, program consulta-
tion and information and referral;

(b) To pay for the costs of higher rates under s. HSS 56.74 (2) (i) for
counseling and other support services for parents with erisis or respite
needs; :

(e) To pay full or partial salaries for AFDC recipients employed by
day care centers or systems;

{d} To pay for start-up, maintenance or expansion of day care services
or facilities; or

(e) To pay for services to enhance or improve the quality of day care
services, including education and training for day care providers.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No. 356, «ff. 3-1-85,

HSS 55.76 Pareni ecligibility. (1) NEED. To be eligible for day care
funds, a parent shall have a need for day care services for a child under
the age of 12 and shall meet eligibility criteria under sub. (2), (3}, or (4).

(2) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR WORKING PARENTS OR PARENTS SEEKING
WORK. A parent who is working or seeking work is eligible if:

{a) The parent is working, is a recipient of aid to families with depen-
dent children (AFDC) and has monthly day care expenses exceeding the
child care disregard limit under AFDG, These parents are eligible for
funding of day care costs which are above the disregard limit up to the
county maximum day care rate;

{b) The parent is income-eligible and is in paid employment, including
migrant or seasonal labor; or

(e) The parent is an AFDC recipient or income-eligible and is actively
seeking work. This parent is eligible for the funding of a maximum of 20
hours of day care a week for 60 working days for time related to activities
involved in seeking employment,

(3) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR PARENTS IN TRAINING OR EDUCATIONAL
PROGRAMS. (a) A parent who is in training or an educational program is
eligible if the parent is an AFDC recipient or income-eligible, maintains
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passing grades and is recognized as a student in good standing in an ace-
ceptable training or educational program designed to lead directly to
paid employment.

(b) An acceptable training or educational program includes:

1. An accredited program leading to 4 high school diploma or a high
school eguivaleney degree, including English as a second language or ba-
sic education;

2. An aceredited program leading to vocational or technical certifica-
tion or a diploma;

3. An aceredited program that is pari of a logical progression of train-
ing or education leading to paid employment;

4. A vocational rehabilitation program;

5. An aceredited program leading to an undergraduoate college degree;
or

6. A publicly funded job experience or job training program,

(e A parent possessing a bachelor of science or arts degree or equiva-
lent is eligible for a maximum period of one year and only if the parent:

1. Needs further education or training necessary for entry into the job
market;

2. Has been out of the work force for at least 2 years or has been laid off
within the last 6 months:

3. Is available for work; and
4, Has been actively seeking work,

(d) A county agency may require that the training or educational pro-
gram be related to the occupational goal stated in an employability plan
developed in cooperation with Wisconsin job service.

(e) For the purpose of eligibility, a parent shall be limited to a fotal of
2 training or edueational programs, whether or not completed, unless the
programs are part of a logical progression of training or education lead-
ing to paid employment.

(f) Day care funding eligibility for training or educational purposes
shall be limited to a combined fotal of 48 months in training or education
which need not be consecutive months, Part-time training shall be pro-
rated to be equivalent to 48 months of full-time training,

(4) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR PARENTS WITH CRISIS OR RESPITE NEEDS.
A parent meeting eligibility eriteria under this subsection is eligible to
receive funds for day care costs without regard to income, Eligibility for
a parent with crisis or respite needs shall be determined by the county
agency based on the following criteria; '

{a) A member of the family is receiving protective services;
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{b) There is a risk of child abuse or neglect in the family, or a risk of a
healih or social condition which may adversely affect the child’s develop-
ment;

‘Note: Examples of family situations which might constitute risk include drug or aleohol
abuse, mental health problems, family violence, acute financial stress and recent divoree or
separation.

(e} The child is at-risk of out-of-home placement;

(d) The parent is hospitalized or otherwise unable to provide adequate
care to the child;

. {e) The parent or foster parent needs respite services hecause of stress
involved in caring for a child with developmental disabilities or serious
problematic behavior;

(f) The parent is under the age of 18;
(g) The parent lacks adequate parenting skills; or
(h) There is a high level of stress in the family.

(5) BLIGIBILITY PRIORITIES, County agencies may give first priority
for child day care services to parents with crisis or respite needs if fund-
ing is insufficient to meet the needs of all eligible parents, but county
agencies may not set additional priorities for eligibility.

(6) INCOME BLIGIBILITY. A parent is income-eligible if standard family
income is within the income standard set annually by the department,
The income standard shall be based on the state median income and may
not be lower than 70% of the state median income,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9-1-85.

HSS 55.77 Parental choice and parents’ payment. (1) PARENTS’ CHOICE
OF PROVIDER. Parents may choose the particular licensed or certified day
care provider for their child, except that a county agency may select the
provider when the care is for erisis or respite purposes and parents may
use in-home day care only with the approval of the county agency.

(2) CosTs CHARGED TO PARENTS. (a) Parents shall be required to make
payments for day care services provided direetly or by voucher or pur-
chased by the county agency, in accordance with a payment schedule
and procedures developed by the department under s. HSS 1,08, Pay-
ments shall be required of parents whose family income is equal to or
greater than 50% of the state median income except that payments for
crisis or respite day care may be waived by the county agency.

{b) Parents using vouchers for the payment of day care services may
receive day care services from a provider whose rate is higher than the
county maximum rate and pay the difference between the provider's rate
and t(he)a county maximum rate in addition to payments required under
par. (a).

(e) If a county ageney purchases day care services by contract with a
provider, hilling and collection procedures shall be subject to ch, HSS 1.
If a ecounty agency purchases day care services by means of a voucher
issued to the parents, billing and collection of the parents’ payment
under par. {(b) is the responsibility of the provider.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff. 9-1-85.
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Suhbchapter VIII — Stari-up Grants

HSS 55.80 Start-up grants to assure availability of child care. {1} GEN-
ERAL INFORMATION, (a) Stalemen! of infent. This section regulates the
expenditure of funds appropriated to provide start-up grants for newly
c\;ﬁp{grating centers, ineluding grants for expansion of existing centers in

isconsin.

(b) T'o whom the rules apply. The rules in this section apply to all per-
sons, groups and day care centers making application for start-up grants.

(¢} Exceptions to rules. The department may make an exception to any
of the rules for approving start-up grants when it is assured that granting
the exception is beneficial to the health, safety and welfare of children,

(d) Definitions. The definitions in s. HSS 55.05 (4} apply. In addition:

1. “Child eare” means day care for children and includes group care,
family care and in-home care.

2. “Division’” means the division of community services of the depart-
ment,

3. “Family eare” means the care of a child in a family home other than
the child’s own home by a responsible person other than the child's par-
ents for a period of time less than 24 hours.

4. “In-home care” means care in the child’s own home by someone
other than the child’s parents on a routine planned basis for a period less
than 24 hours.

6. “Newly operating center’’ means a day care center which has been
in operation for a period of less than one year or an existing center mak-
ing grant application for expansion purposes.

6. “'Satellite system’ means family day care homes, in-home care pro-
viders or a combination of both which are centrally organized, coordi-
nated, and administered as a unit in themselves or as an extension of
another center or as part of the educational or traininﬁ program of an
accredited school of social work or schoo! of early childhood edueation.

7. “Start-up grants” means money payments or a planned series of
money payments to an approved applicant to be used for development or
expansion of needed child care services, The grants are not loans,

(2} APPLICATION FOR STAR®-UP GRANTS. (a) Application shall be made
on & form provided by the department.

(b) Application shall be open to:

1. Individuals or groups planning to establish voluntary non-profit or
proprietary child care services;

2. Individuals or groups submitting proposals for:
a. A new center;
b. Expansion of an existing center or group of centers;

¢. An innovative program for special needs of the children; or
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b d].1 Satellite systems of famnily care, in-home care or a combination of
oth.

3. Newly operating centers which are experiencing financial difficulties.
(¢) The individual, group or center making application shall:

1. Document the need for the specific service to be provided in the area
proposed in the plan; and

2, Submit written assurance to the department that the service to be
provided will meet the requirements for licensing of the day care centers
for children under this chapter.

{d) Application from newly operating centers experiencing financial
difficuities shall also include:

1. Documentation of expenditures and income for the total period of
operation giving special details of financial problem area;

2. Doeumentation of need for the service including the target group of
parents and children;

3. A detailed operating budget for any period of operation as requested
by the department,
Note: A copy of the application form can be obtained by writing: Bureau of Human Re-

?3%6;3' Division of Community Services, One West Wilson, P.O. Box 7851, Madison, WI

(8) USE OF START-UP GRANTS, (a) Grants may be used to;

1. Finance a specific purchase or budget item related to operating
costs, including but not limited to:

a. Structural changes to meet licensing and building codes;
b. Necessary equipment to begin or improve operations; and

¢. Salary of a staff person or persons for a period not to exceed 12
months;

2, Finance a percentage of the fotal operating budget for a 12-month
period or less; or

3. Substitute for continuation of an in-kind contribution made for a
limited period of time which would need to be met by the budget before
the program is in full operation, including but not limited to:

a. In-kind donation of free rent by a church, agency or building owner
for a limited period of time: and

b. Voluntary services of staff.

(b} Start-up grants may not be used for & service which could be
funded from other community, state or federal sources, This does not,
however, preclude the collaborative us of those funds with start-up and
improvement grant funds to meet the beginning of a needed service.

(4) TivE LiviT, No subsidy from a start-up grant may extend beyond
a 12-month period.
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(b} START-UP GRANTS FOR SATELLITE SYSTEMS OF DAY CARE. (a) Appli-
cations proposing to develop a satellite system of family care, in-home
care, or a combination of both shall be accepted only from:

1. An existing center;

2. A licensed agency providing services to parents énd children who
may need child care:

3. A county department of social services;

4. An aceredited college or university offering training in social work or
early childhood education; or

5. A corporate community coordinating group concerned primarily
with child care.

{b) The satellite system shall have centralized administration which
shall include:

1. Recruitment, evaluation and training of the families which will be
part of the system;

2. Ongoing training to upgrade the system itself and the quality of the
care given;

3. A person who coordinates and supervises the care families in the
system and gives or makes available consultation to them on a planned,
ongoing basis;

4. An evaluation and approval of each child served and a central file of
pertinent data on each child and family; and

5. Centralized bookkeeping.

Histery: Cr. Register, May, 1983, No. 329, eff. 6-1-83; renum, from HSS 65.50, Register,
August, 1985, No. 356, eff, §-1-85,
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