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STATE OF WISCONSIN 
BEFORE THE 
DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION & LICENSING 

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT 
OF REGULATION & LICENSING 

ORDER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF 
REGULATION & LICENSING REPEALING, 

AHENDING OR ADOPTING RULES 
(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 86-189) 

AN ORDER to repeal RL 25.05, RL 25.06(2)(d), (2)(e), and (2)(f), 
RL 25.07(1)(d), (l)(e) and (2), and RL 25.075(2); to renumber RL 25,05, 
RL 25.07(3) and RL 25.075(1); to am end RL 12.02(1), RL 25.02(3)(intro.), 
(3)(a)(intro.), (3)(b)(intro.) and (3)(c)(intro.), RL 25.05(1)(a), 
RL 25.07(2), RL"25.075 and RL 25.076; to repeal and recreate RL 25.02(2), 
RL 25.03, RL 25.04 and RL 25.10; and to create RL 12.015, RL 25.02(5), 
RL 25.06(1)(a)I.(intro.) and Chapter RL 26 of the Wisconsin Administrative 
~ode, relating to experience and education requirements and inactive status 
for real estate brokers and salespersons. 

ORDER 

Pursuant to authority vested in the Department of Regulation and Licensing 
in ss. 227.11,452.07,452.09, 452.10 and 452.12, Stats., the Department of 
Regulation and Licensing hereby repeals, renumbers, amends and creates 
rules, interpreting 1985 Wisconsin Act 305 and ss. 452.09 and 452.12(6), 
Stats., as follows: 

SECTION 1. RL 12.015 is created to read: 

RL 12.015 APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS. 
Each applicant for an original real estate broker's license or an original 
real estate salesperson's license shall submit evidence of eomplianee with 
the educational requirements of ch. RL 25. 

(2) EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT. (a) Each applicant for an original real 
estate broker's license shall verify that the applicant has obtained at 
least one year of experience as a salesperson under the direet supervision 
of a licensed broker. Verification shall consist of a statement by the 
applieant that the applicant has abtained the required experience, and 
shall contain the name of the supervising broker or brokers and the dates 
during which the applieant was employed as a salesperson. , 

(b) An applicant meets the requirements of par. (a) if the applicant 
notifies the department of employment under s. RL 17.04 and is, thereafter, 
employed as a salesperson for a cumulative period of not less than 365 days. 

(e) An applicant who is Or has been a real estate licensee in another 
state meets the requirements of par. (a) if the applicant has obtained at 
least one year of experience working as a real estate licensee under the 
direet supervision of a lieensed real estate broker. 



SECTION 2. RL 25.02(1) is amended to read: 

(1) Eaeh applieant for an original real estate broker's lieense shall 
present evidenee of attendanee at 68 90 hours of an edueational program 
approved by the department in aeeordanee with this ehapter. 

SECTION 3. RL 25.02(2) is repealed and reereated to read: 

(2) The edueational requirement in sub. (1) is not required of the 
following applieants: 

(a) An applieant who submits proof that the applieant has reeeived 
20 semester hour eredits in real estate or real estate related law eourses 
at an aeeredited institution of higher edueation. A quarter hour eredit 
equals 2/3 of a semester hour eredit. 

(b) An applieant who submits proof that the applicant is lieensed to 
practice law in the state of Wiseonsin. 

(e) An applieant who submits proof that the applieant has sueeessfully 
eompleted an equivalent edueational program that has been approved in 
advanee by the department. 

SECTION 4. RL 25.02(3) (intro), (3)(a)(intro), (3)(b)(intro) and 
(3)(e)(intro) are amended to read! 

(3) The 68 90 hours of edueational programs for applieants for an 
original real estate broker's lieense shall inelude: 

(a) Real property law (a total of 38 45 hours whieh shall inelude a 
substantial amount of time on eaeh of the following 17 topies)~ 

(b) Real estate appraising and finaneing (a total of ~5 22.5 hours 
whieh shall inelude a substantial amount of time on eaeh of the following 
5 topies)~ 

(e) Marketing real estate (a total of ~5 22.5 hours whieh shall 
inelude a substantial amount of time on eaeh of the following 7 topies)~ 

SECTION 5. RL 25.02(5) is created to read: 

(5) To qualify for approval, edueational programs shall have been 
eompleted within 5 years of applieation for a lieense, unIess the applieant· 
has been lieensed as a broker or salesperson within 5 years from the date 
of applieation. 

SECTION 6. RL 25.03 is repealed and reereated to read: 

RL 25.03 EDUCATIONAL REQUlREMENTS OF APPLICANT FOR AN ORIGINAL REAL 
ESTATE SALESPERSON'S LICENSE. (1) Eaeh applieant for an original real 
estate salesperson's lieense shall present evidenee of attendanee at 45 hours 
of an edueational program approved by the department in accordanee with 
this ehapter. 
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(2) The educational requirement in sub. (1) is not required of an 
applicant who submits proof that the applicant has received 10 semester 
hour credits in real estate or real estate related law courses at an accredited 
institution of higher education. A quarter hour credit equals 2/3 of a 
semester hour credit. 

(3) The 45 hours of educational programs for applicants for an original 
real estate salesperson's license shall cover real property law (a total of 
45 hours which shall include a substantial amount of time on each of the 
following 17 topies): 

1. Real estate licensing and the licensing law. 

2. Legal.environment, law of agency and civil rights and securities. 

3. Contractual aspects of listings. 

4. Law of contracts as they relate to sellingo 

5. Offer, acceptance, and closing. 

6. Descriptions of real estate. 

7. The land contract and options. 

8. Deeds. 

9. Mortgages. 

10. Analysis of sellerts property rights. 

11. Leases, and landlord-tenant law. 

12. Real estate trust funds. 

13. The law against discrimination in housingo 

14. Legal aspects of financing. 

15. Consumer protection. 

16. Co de of ethics. 

17. Recent changes in real property law. 

(4) An applicant who has held a real estate license in another state 
within the 12-month period prior to filing an application for an original 
real estate salesperson's license may satisfy the requirements of sub. (3) 
if the applicant submits evidence of attendance at educational programs in 
another state which are substantially in compIianee with requirements in 
sub. (3). 

(5) To qualify for approval educational programs shall have been 
completed within 5 years of application for a license unIess the applicant 
has been licensed as a broker or saIesperson within 5 years of application. 
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SECTION 7. RL 25.04 is repealed and recreated to read: 

RL 25.04 EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS OF APPLICANT FOR AN ORIGINAL REAL 
ESTATE BROKER'S LICENSE WHO RAS BEEN A LICENSED REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON AND 
WHO RAS COMPLETED THE REQUIREMENT IN RL 25.03. An applicant for an original 
real estate broker's license who has been a licensed real estate salesperson 
and who has completed the educational requirement for an original real 
estate salesperson's license shall be permitted to apply those hours toward 
the 90-hour requirement under s. RL 25.02. The applicant shall submit to 
the department evidence of attendance at the additiona1 hours needed to 
meet the 90-hour requirement. 

SECTION 8. RL 25.05 is repealed. 

SECTION 9. RL 25.055 is renumbered as RL 25.05 and RL 25.05(1)(a) 
(title) as renumbered is amended to read: 

RL 25.05(1)(a)(title) 90-hour and 45-hour requirements. 

SECTION 10. RL 25.06(1)(a)1.(intro.) is amended to read: 

1. 'Education and experience.' Instructors of non-credit programs 
shall be approved by the department. Instructors shall be experienced in 
the subject which they are teaching; the bÖlird department may limit its 
approva1 to specific content areas set forth in ss. RL 25.02(3) and ~S~95t51 
25.03(3). Instructors shall possess at least one of the following minimum 
qualifications: 

SECTION 11. RL 25.06(2)(d), (2)(e), and (2)(f), RL 25.07(1)(d), 
(l)(e) and (2) are repealed. 

SECTION 12. RL 25.07(3) is renumbered RL 25.07(2) and RL 25.07(2) as 
renumbered is amended to read: 

(2) Asehool shal1 maintain for 5 years records sufficient to establish 
the attendance record submitted for non-credit 6S-höttr 90-hour and 39-hötlr 
45-hour programs lind eönEinHing edHefi~iön prögrlim~. 

SECTION 13. RL 25.075(1) is renumbered RL 25.075 and amended to read: 

RL 25.075 ATTENDANCE REQUlRE~ffiNTS FOR NON-CREDIT COURSES. Students 
shall attend all the required hours and receive substantia11y all the 
required contents, before a certificate of attendance may be granted for 
satisfying any of the requirements in ss. RL 25.02(3) and 25.03(3). Schools 
may make arrangements for make-up elasses to enable students to meet the 
attendance requirements. 

SECTION 14. RL 25.075(2) is repealed. 

SECTION 15. RL 25.076 is amended to read: 

RL 25.076 CORRESPONDENCE COURSES. Correspondence courses do not 
satisfy educational requirements in this chapter except to satisfy requirements 
in 8~ ss. RL 25.02(2)(a) and (c) and 25.03(2). 
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SECTION 16. RL 25.10 is repealed and reereated to read: 

RL 25.10 FORMS. The following forms are available from the Bureau of 
Direet Lieensing and Real Estate, Department of Regulation and Lieensing, 
Room 281, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI53708: 
(1) Applieations for approval of non-eredit programs. 

(a) Applieations for approval of instruetors for 90-hour and 45-hour 
programs. 

(b) Applieations for reapproval of 90-hour and 45-hour programs. 

(2) Certifieates of approval of non-eredit programs. 

(a) Approval of programs and instruetors. 

(b) Approval of additional instruetors. 

(3) Certifieates of attendanee at non-eredit programs. 

(a) Certifieate for 90 hours in s. RL 25.02(3). 

(b) Certifieate for 45 hours in s. RL 25.02(3)(b) and (e). 

(e) Certifieate for 45 hours in s. RL 25.02(3)(a) or 25.03(3). 

(d) Certifieate for 22.5 hours in s. RL 25.02(3)(b). 

(e) Certifieate for 22.5 hours in s. RL 25.02(3)(e). 

(4) Applieation for approval of eredit eourses. 

(5) Report for review of approved programs. 

SECTION 17. Chapter RL 26 is ereated to read: 

RL 26 INACTlVE LICENSES. 

RL 26.01 REGISTRATION AS AN INACTlVE LICENSEE. (1) Applieation for 
an inaetive lieense shall be made on the lieense renewal form issued by the 
department. 

(2) Registration as an inaetive licensee shall be effeetive on January 1 
of the odd-numbered year following reeeipt of the lieensee's eompleted 
applieation. 

RL 26.02 INACTIVE LICENSEES PROHIBITED TO PRACTICE REAL ESTATE. 
(1) An inaetive lieensee may not engage in any eonduet whieh requires a 
lieense under ch. 452, Stats. 

(2) Inaetive lieensees are not considered to be lieensees within the 
meaning of S. 452.01(5), Stats. 
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(3) Inaetive lieensees may be investigated and diseiplined for conduet 
whieh oeeurred when the lieensee held an aetive lieense. 

RL 26.03 REINSTATEMENT OF ORIGINAL LICENSE. (1) An inaetive lieensee 
shall be reinstated to aetive lieensure upon submission of a eompleted 
applieation for reinstatement, payment of the reguired fee under s. 440.05(1), 
and sueeessful eompletion of the examination reguirement in sub. (2). 

(2) (a) If the applieant for reinstatement has been an inaetive 
lieensee for less than 5 conseeutive years, the applieant must pass an 
examination given by the department whieh emphasizes changes in Wiseonsin 
real estate law whieh have oecurred during the approximate period of the 
applicant's inactive status. 

(b) If the applicant for reinstatement has been an inaetive lieensee 
for 5 eonseeutive years or more, the applicant must pass the complete 
examination given by the department to applieants for original licensure. 

EFFECTlVE DATE: This rule shall take effeet on June 1, 1987. 

Dated this C;3~day of ~ , 1986. 

By: ~d~ 

BN: \ID: rj t 
RULESI-E 
12/16/86 

Barbara Niehols, Seeretary 
Wisconsin Department of Regulation & Lieensing 
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