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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES)

I, Timothy F. Cullen, Secretary of the Department of Health and
Social Services and custodian of the official records of the Department,
do hereby cértify that the annexed rules relating to the period of
certification for providers of day care for children were duly approved
and adopted by this Department on September 28, 1987.

I further certify that this copy has been compared by me with the
original on file in the Department and that this copy is a true copy

of the original, and of the whole of the original.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto

set my hand and affixed the official seal

of the Department at the State Office
Building, 1 W. Wilson Street, in the city

of Madison, this 28th day of September, 1987.

AP~ A/V(KL_/

Timothy F. Cullen, Secretary
Department of Health and Social Services

SEAL:
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ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
AMENDING RULES

To amend HSS 55.58(4) (b), relating to day care for children,

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Social Services

This rule change extends the period of certification from one year to two years
for persons who provide day care for 1 to 3 children or who provide day care for
school age children but are not required to be licensed as a day care center
under s. 48.65, Stats., and whose services are purchased by county social
service departments with state community aid funds.

Making the period of certification 2 years instead of one year will
significantly reduce the paperwork, staff time and related costs incurred by
both county agencies responsible for issuing certifications and day care
providers applying for certification and going through the certification
process.,

The Department's authority to adopt these rules is found in s. 46.03(21), Stats.
The rules interpret s. 48.651, Stats.

~SECTION 1. HSS 55.58(4)(b) is amended to read:

HSS 55.58(4)(b) Regular certification. Regular certification may be issued
only after the provider has demonstrated compliance with all certification
standards during the 6-month provisional certification. Regular certification
shall be for a period of eme year 2 years and shall be remnewed
ennueltly upon application emd if the provider continues to comply
with the certification standards; or

The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of the
month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided
in s. 227.22(2), Stats.

Wisconsin Department of Health and
Social Services

s
Date: Sept. 28, 1987 By: / 1%7\

Timothy F. Cullen
Secretary

Seal:



State of Wisconsin \ DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin 53702

Tommy G. Thompson Timothy F. Cullen

Governor

Secretary
Mailing Address:
Post Office Box 7850
September 28, 1987 Madison, W1 53707

Mr. Orlan Prestegard

Revisor of Statutes

7th Floor - 30 on the Square
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

Dear Mr. Prestegard:

As provided in s. 227.20, Stats., there is hereby submitted a
certified copy of HSS 55.58(4)(b), administrative rules relating
to the period of certification for providers of day care for

children.

These rules are also being submitted to the Secretary of State
as required by s. 227.20, Stats.

Sincerely,

| L

TimotHy F. Cullen
SECRETARY

Enclosure




