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. ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
REPEALING, RENUMBERING, AMENDING AND CREATING RULES

To repeal HSS 1.03 (16) (b) 3 and 1.04 (2) (b); to renumber HSS 1.03
(16) (b) 4, 1.04 (2) (c) to (f) and 1.05 (13) (c) 1 b; to amend HSS 1.02
(6) (a) and (e), 1.03 (11) (b) 1, (13) and (18) (c), 1.04 (1) (intro.)
and (g) 1 and 2 and 1.05 (13) (c¢) 1 c, as renumbered; to repeal and
recreate HSS 1.01 (1) and (2) (e), (h) and (j), 1.03 (18) (a) and (21),
and 1.04 (1) (d) and (2) (a); and to create HSS 1.05 (13) (c¢) 1 b,
relating to the uniform system for charging fees for services,

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Social Services

The Department administers a uniform system of charging fees for
social services and mental hygiene services, including fees for residential
care, on the basis of the client's, spouse's or parent's ability to pay.

These are amendments to ch. HSS 1, the Department's rules for the
uniform fee system. They make several changes in how the parental
billing limit works —-- restricting its required applicability to parents
of children receiving treatment at state centers for the developmentally
disabled, updating the base year/rate from 1979/$5 a day to 1982/$6 a day
for these parents, making adjustments in that amount on the basis of
movement in the Milwaukee All-Urban Consumers' Price Index for Food and
Beverages, and permitting payment approval authorities to set payment
limits for parents of children receiving treatment at other facilities.
The amendments also change the name of 51 boards to county departments,
pursuant to 1985 Wisconsin Act 176; modify the definition of "family" to
include a foster child when the foster parent seeks day care for the
foster child, pursuant to 1983 Wisconsin Act 193; modify the definition
of "income" to clarify the difference between earned and unearned income,
to specify that educational grants are income when provided for living
expenses, and to count the foster care payment as income when the foster
parent is seeking day care or certain other services; delete references
to rate approval processes for general and special hospitals since those
programs have been discontinued; no longer require counties to submit
fees for review and approval by the Department's Division of Community
Services; when determining available income, include the amount paid
against the principal of business property but exclude depreciation on
business property and wages paid to dependent family members as expenses
deducted from gross income; repeal a provision that "group eligibles"
under Title 20 are presumed not to have an ability to pay because the
group eligibles concept is no longer in use; and permit the discharge of
liability by less than full payment for home or vehicle modifications
for a disabled client.



The Department's authority to repeal, renumber, amend and create
these rules is found in ss. 46.03 (18), 46.10 and 227.11 (2), Stats.
The rules interpret ss. 46.03 (18) and 46.10, Stats.

SECTION 1. HSS 1.01 (1) and (2) (e), (h) and (j) are repealed and
recreated to read: .

HSS 1.01 (1) AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE. This chapter is promulgated
under the authority of ss. 46.03 (18), 46.10 and 227.11 (2), Stats.,
to implement ss. 46.03 (18), 46.10, 48.837 (7), 48.839 (1) and 51.30 (4)
(b) 2, Stats. The chapter standardizes on a statewide basis the
determination of liability and ability to pay, and otherwise regulates
billing and collection activities, for care and services provided or
purchased by the department, a county department of social services, or
a county department established under s. 46.23, 51.42 or 51.437, Stats.

(2) (e) "Family" means an adult and that person's spouse, if any,
and any other person who meets internal revenue service standards as
their dependent, except that:

1. When a foster parent seeks child day care for a foster child
so that the foster parent may attend school or work, the foster child
shall be counted as a member of the foster parent's family; and

2. Any of the following persons shall not be included as a family
member in determining the ability to pay of any responsible party under
this chapter:

a. A family member who is receiving services in an out-of-home
placement;

b. A legal dependent living outside the household of the responsible
party for whom there is a court-ordered support or maintenance obligation;
or -

¢, An adult client residing in the home of his or her parent or
parents. This person is considered a separate family in determining
ability to pay under this chapter for any fee chargeable service that he
or she may receive. '

(h) '"Income" means gross earnings, including money, wages or
salary, net income from non-farm self-employment, net income from farm
self-employment, as well as unearned income, including social security,
dividends, interest on savings or on money loaned, income from estates
or trusts, net rental income or royalties, public assistance, pensions
or annuities, unemployment compensation, workers' compensation, maintenance
(alimony), child support, family support, veterans' pensions, educational
grants given for living expenses and, for foster parents receiving day
care services or funds under s. 46.98, Stats., foster care payments.

Note: '"Public assistance'" includes but is not limited to programs
such as aid to families with dependent children (AFDC), general relief,
relief to needy Indian persons (RNIP) and supplemental security income
(SSI).



(j) '"Parental payment limit' means the amount established or
approved by the department under s. HSS 1,03 (21) as the maximum daily
or monthly amount that parents may be billed for care or services provided
to their minor children.

SECTION 2. HSS 1.02 (6) (a) and (e) are amended to read:

HSS 1.02 (6) (a) For adult inpatient care and services or for
disability-related modifications of the home or vehicle of an adult
client, when 1#ebitity the remaining liability exceeds $1,000 or
discharge of liability at the maximum monthly payment rate would exceed
5 years, a responsible parties party may enter into an agreement
with the appropriate payment approval authority to pay a substantial
portion of the outstanding liability eutstemrdirg as a lump sum.

(e) The department may set annual minimum payment amounts for
services billable under par. (c) or (d). An annual minimum payment
may not exceed $1,000 unless there 1s a specific statutory mandate
for a higher amount. An annual minimum payment shall be applied to
the client's uninsured liability. Any uninsured liability beyond the
annual minimum payment shall be subject to the provisions of par.

(c) or (d), as applicable. For medical services, the department may
credit a family payment for an annual minimum payment up to the amount
the family pays for medical insurance in a year if the insurance pays

at least the amount of the credit. Where the statutes set. other minimum
amounts, bond amounts, deductibles or copayments, those provisions
supersede this paragraph. The department may also establish as a
minimum payment amount the actual deductible used by an insurer in
processing a claim,

SECTION 3. HSS 1.03 (11) (b) 1 and (13) are amended to read:

HSS 1.03 (11) (b) 1. The annual gross income of all family members
shall be determined and totaled except that the earned income of any a
child who is a £ui1 &ime full-time student or a part-time student but
not a fult time full-time employe shall be excluded. Income from
self-employment or rent shall be the total net income after expenses.
Depreciation on farm, business or rental property and wages paid to
members of the family shall not be treated as expenses for this purpose.
Actual principal payments on capital equipment and depreciated property
shall be allowed as an expense. The income of any family member in a
residential setting is treated separately under this ¥ule section.

(13) MINIMUM PAYMENT. The appropriate payment approval authority
may establish a minimum payment rate up to $25.00 per month or 3% of
gross income aeress—the-beard across-the-board for all persons or




families reeedwimg incurring liability for a fee chargeable service
whose maximum monthly payment as calculated according to subs subs. (2)
through (6) or (12) is less than the minimum rate. Where minimum rates
are used, all persons or families shall be expected to pay the applicable
minimum rate except where liability is waived according to s. HSS 1,02
(7) or where a minimum payment exceeds the available income of the
responsible party or parties. Minimum charges under this section may
also be set on a per unit basis, €{ergs for instance, per hours or per
day, etes) provided the charges do not accumulate to exceed $25.00 per
month or 3% of monthly income,

SECTION 4. HSS 1.03 (16) (b) 3 is repealed.
SECTION 5. HSS 1.03 (16) (b) 4 is renumbered HSS 1.03 (16) (b) 3.
SECTION 6. HSS 1.03 (18) (a) is repealed and recreated to read:

HSS 1.03 (18) EXCEPTIONS. (a) Parental payment limits set according
to sub. (21) shall be applied to billings to parents for each child
who receives care or services in a state center for the developmentally
disabled. The department may also approve parental payment limits set
according to sub. (21) which are requested by payment approval authorities
for any other care or services provided to children. When parents of a
child are divorced or separated, the total billed to both parents for
the care of a child may not exceed the one billing limit used for the
care or services received by the child. When a minor child and an adult
from one family receive services, the parental payment limit may not be
applied to billings for services to the adult. When used, parental
payment limits shall be applied as follows:

1. For outpatient psychotherapy normally covered by health insurance
and purchased or provided by county agencies, parents who provide
full insurance information and necessary authorizations for billing all
applicable insurance may not be billed a total amount per child per
month greater than the monthly parental payment limit per month for
each child who receives services;

2.. For other services normally covered by health insurance,
parents who provide full insurance information and necessary authorizations
for billing all applicable insurance may not be billed more than the
daily parental payment limit per day for each child who receives service;

3. For residential care not normally covered by health insurance,
the following applies:

a. When a child is in care for less than 21 days in a calendar
month, the parents may not be billed more than the daily parental
payment limit per day for that child's care;



b. When a child is in care for more than 20 days in a calendar
month, the payment approval authority shall adopt-an agency policy for
parental payment limits according to either the daily or monthly
limit. The limit chosen shall apply uniformly to all parents;

c. When the daily limit is used, the agency may prorate daily
billings for all families served by the agency according to their
ability to pay. Under this prorating approach, the billing shall
be the lesser of the daily limit or the family's monthly payment
amount determined by s. HSS 1.03 (12) or (13) multiplied by 12 and
divided by 365; and

Note: For example, if the maximum monthly payment for a family is
$80, the daily rate would be $2.63 ($80 x 12 + 365 = §2.63).

d. As an alternative to subpar. c, when the daily limit is used,
an agency may bill all parents the daily limit for each day of care up
to their monthly payment rate determined according to sub. (12) or (13).

SECTION 7. HSS 1.03 (18) (c) is amended to read:

HSS 1.03 (18) (c) When residential care is provided under ch.
48, Stats., and there is a support order under eh+-52-e¥ s. 49.90,
Stats., or ch., 767, Stats., which was in existence before the ch. 48
disposition, the billing amount to parents for residential care shall
not be less than the previously ordered amount attributable to the child
client. This provision supersedes maximum billing limitations ef in
subs. (12), (13), emrd (13m), (18) (a) and (21).

SECTION 8. HSS 1.03 (21) is repealed and recreated to read:

HSS 1.03 (21) PARENTAL PAYMENT LIMIT. Parental payment limits
shall be determined as follows:

(a) For care in the department's centers for the developmentally
disabled, the daily parental limit shall be $6.00, subject to adjustment
by the department under par. (b). For all other care care or services
the department may approve daily parental payment limits at amounts
which the department determines to be administratively feasible, but not
higher than the cost-based fee for the service;

(b) The daily parental payment limit for care in the department's
centers for the developmentally disabled shall be adjusted upward or
downward in direct proportion to movement in the Milwaukee all-urban
‘consumer price index for food and beverages, published by the U.S.
department of labor. The adjustment shall be rounded downward to the
nearest whole dollar. The base date for computing the adjustments
shall be the date of the last published consumer price index for
Milwaukee in 1982. The base dollar amount shall be $6.00 per
day. This adjustment shall be computed at the end of each calendar
year and shall be effective the following July 1; and



(¢) The monthly parental payment limit shall be determined by
multiplying the appropriate daily limit by 365 and dividing the product
by 12.

SECTION 9, HSS 1.04 (1) (dintro.) is amended to read:

HSS 1.04 (1) APPLICABILITY. With respect to client services for
which responsible parties incur liability and may be billed, each
facility operated by the department, a county department of social
services, e¥ a bea¥d county department established under s. 46.23,

51.425 or 51.437, ex¥ 46723 Stats.}, or an agency providing services
pursuant to a contract in-exeess-e£f-$10;000-per-yea¥ with the department,
a county department of pubtie-welfare-er social servicesy or a beard
county department established under s. 46.23, 51.425 or 51.437, e%
46+235 Stats., shall establish a fee or set of fees as follows if
required by the appropriate fee approval authority in par. (g):

SECTION 10. HSS 1.04 (1) (d) is repealed and recreated to read:

HSS 1.04 (1) (d) Calculating fees. A division, a county department
of social services, a county department established under s. 46,23,
51.42 or 51.437, Stats., or a private firm under contract to a division or
county department responsible for the calculation of the facility
or service fees may use forms provided by the department for the
calculation of unit rates. Budgeted costs shall be segregated among
cost centers based on groupings of programs which have significantly
different costs. A single facility fee may be used if the facility
does not provide services of a disparate nature with assoclated wide
discrepancies in cost. Multi-service facilities providing services
which are not covered by the uniform fee system may not include costs
for those services in their calculations of fees.

Note #1: An example of services of a disparate nature is services
provided by psychiatrists in comparison with services provided by social
workers,

Note #2: A form that may be used to calculate unit rates is CD-143,
Uniform ‘Fee Application, which is available along with instructions for
filling it out from the Bureau of Collections, P.,0. Box 7853, Madison,
Wisconsin 53707,

SECTION 11. HSS 1.04 (1) (g) 1 and 2 are amended to read:

HSS 1.04 (g) 1. Provided services. €Eeunty-departments-eof-seetal
serviees—and-boards—established-under—s+-5%+425-53+4375-0r-46+235~5kats+s
shatti-submit-fees-for-provided-servieces—-for-review-and—approval—in
eomptianee-with-proecedures-established-by-the-departmentis-division-of



community-servieess——~Fhe—division-of-community-serviees-shatl-inform
ageneteg-submitting—fees-of-their-aceeptanee—or-rejection—exeept—where
anether-form-of-approvai-is—-set-by-1aws Divisions, county departments

of social services, and county departments established under s. 51.42,
51.437, or 46.23, Stats., shall approve rates for facilities they operate
exeept. This subdivision does not apply where another form of approval
is set by law.

2. Contracted services. The administrative unit of a purchasing
agency authorized to enter into contracts or agreements for purchased
services shait may approve the feefs) fee or fees for sueh purchased
services. Any fee approval shall occur before execution of the contract
or agreement and the approved fee€s} fee or fees shall be part of the
contract. If the purchaser chooses not to approve fees under this
subdivision, fees shall be established in accordance with sub. (2)

(a).

SECTION 12. HSS 1.04 (2) (a) is repealed and recreated to read:

HSS 1.04 (2) EXCEPTIONS. (a) Contracted services. Facilities
providing services pursuant to contracts or agreements with a division,
a county department of social services or a county department established
under s, 46.23, 51.42 or 51.437, Stats., where the purchaser chooses
not to approve fees under sub. (1) (g) 2, shall establish fees which
are equal to the facility's usual and customary charge. Contracted
facilities shall inform the purchasing authority of the usual and customary
charges and of any changes in fees that take place during the contract
period.

SECTION 13. HSS 1.04 (2) (b) is repealed.

SECTION 14. HSS 1.04 (2) (c) to (f) are renumbered HSS 1.04 (2) (b)
to (e).

SECTION 15. HSS 1.05 (13) (c¢) 1 b is renumbered 1.05 (13) (c) 1 c.
SECTION 16. HSS 1.05 (13) (¢) 1 b is created to read:

HSS 1.05 (13) (¢) 1 b.  Small claims court for delinquent balances
of $1,000 or less.

SECTION 17. HSS 1.05 (13) (¢) 1 ¢, as renumbered, is amended to read:

HSS 1.05 (13) (c) 1 ¢ office-of-administrative—rutes—-and-hearings
{eotteetion—and-deportation—ceunselyy-Wisconsin-department-of-heatth
and-seeiat-serviees-threugh-referral-te—the The department's bureau
of collections.




The repeals and rules contained in this order shall take effect on
the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin
Administrative Register, as provided in s. 227.22 (2), Stats.

Wisconsin Department of Health and
Social Services

Dated: November 3, 1987 By: //iZQ;;;/lfgzc/gl(:/\\\,

Timothy F. Cullen, Secretary

Seal:



Tommy G. Thompson

Governor

State of Wisconsin \ DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin 53702

ﬁg&ngéﬁg VE@ Timothy F. Cullen
NOV 4 ]987 Secretary

R@ ; Mailing Address:
November 3, 1987 Visor of Sfatut . Post Office Box 7850
BUI‘eau es Madison, W| 53707

Mr. Orlan Prestegard
Revisor of Statutes

7th Floor - 30 on the Square
Madison, Wisconsin 53702

Dear Mr. Prestegard:
As provided in s. 227.20, Stats., there is hereby submitted a
certified copy of HSS 1, administrative rules relating to

the uniform system for charging fees for services.

These rules are also being submitted to the Secretary of State
as required by s. 227.20, Stats.

These rules directly affect agencies of county government. They
will not directly affect small businesses as defined in s. 227.114
(1)(a), Stats.

Sincerely,

" tW’Mf/ -
imothy F. Cu

Nen
SECRETARY

Enclosure




