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CERTIFICATE

STATE OF WISCONSIN _ ;
SS.
EDUCATIONAL APPROVAL BOARD )

I, David R. Stucki, Executive Secretary of the Educational Approval Board and custodian
of the official records of the board, certify that the Educational Approval Board duly
approved and adopted on December 7, 1987, the annexed rules relating to application and
renewal fees required of for-profit postsecondary schools.

I further certify that I have compared this copy with the original on file in the offices of
this agency and that the same is a true copy of the original, and of the whole of the orig-
inal. :

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto
set my hand at 310 Price Place, in the city of
Madison, this 7th day of December, 1987,

L\ j/%—zjt.(/q ’

David R. Stucki
Executive Secretary
Educational Approval Board

RECEIVED

DEC 9 1987
O ey /
> Revisor of Salite
Bureau
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ORDER OF THE EDUCATIONAL APPROVAL BOARD
RENUMBERING, AMENDING AND CREATING RULES

RECEIVED

DEC 9 1987
Revisor of Statutes
reay

The Wisconsin Educational Approval Board adopts an order to renumber EAB 2.11 (7)

through (9), to renumber and amend EAB 2.11 (1) through (6), to amend EAB 2.02 (3),

and to create EAB 2.11 (1), relating to application and renewal fees required of for-

profit postsecondary schools.

Analysis by the Educational Approval Board

Statutory Authority: s. 38.51 (3) and (10) (c), Stats., as affected by 1987 Wis. Act 27

Statutes Interpreted: s. 38.51 (10) (b) and (c), Stats., as affected by 1987 Wis. Act 27

These amendments revise the fees contained in s. EAB 2.11, Wis. Adm. Code, which

interprets s. 38.51 (10) (b) and (c), Stats., as affected by 1987 Wisconsin Act 27, and are

similar, but not identical, to the provisions contained in an emergency rule which the

Educational Approval Board adopted on July 31, 1987.

Under the provisions of 1987

Wisconsin Act 27, fees paid by proprietary schools must cover all costs of the examina-

tion and approval of those schools.

The amendments to s. EAB 2.11 increase the following application fees:

Type of Application

Initial School Approval
Renewal of School Approval
Course of Instruction
Teaching Location

Change of Ownership

Old Fee New Fee
$200 $400
$200 varies
$300 varies
$ 40 $100
$150 $200
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New subsection (1) to EAB 2.11 defines terms used in the section.

The rule prior to the changes made by the emergency rule provided for a uniform annual
fee ($200) for application for renewal of approval of a school. The revised permanent
rule provides for a fee payable in two or three installments. The first payment, due no
later than September 1 when applying for renewal of approval for the following calendar
year, is a fixed amount of $200 for an active school and $50 for an inactive school. The
second payment, due the following March 1, varies according to the size of the school, as
measured by the adjusted gross annual school revenues from sales to Wisconsin students.
Section 38.51 (10) (c), Stats., as repealed and recreated by section 682f of 1987 Wisconsin
Act 27, requires the board to give consideration to a variable fee structure based on the
size of a proprietary school. The third payment, required only of inactive schools that
resume active status during a calendar year, is due on the date of resumption of active

status.

The rule prior to the emergency rule provided for a uniform ($300) application fee for
approval of a course of instruction. The amount of the fee required by the revised rule
depends upon the educational objective of the course of instruction: $300 for a course of
instruction not leading to a degree, $500 for a course of instruction leading to an asso-
ciate degree and $1,200 for a course of instruction leading to a degree other than an
associate degree. The new fees reflect the costs of evaluating and approving courses of
instruction, including the higher costs for the more complex courses of instruction lead-
ing to degrees. The rule also provides for reduction in the fee if a course of instruction
meets certain criteria, and reflects the reduced costs to the board when another state
agency has already reviewed the course to determine if the course meets occupational

licensing requirements.
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The increased fees for renewal of school approval will apply to applications for renewal
of approvals which expire on or after the effective date of the amended rules. For all
other applications, the increased fees will apply to applications which are received on or

after the effective date of the amended rules.

SECTION 1. EAB 2.02 (3) is amended to read:

(3) RENEWAL OF APPROVAL. (a) Except as provided in par. (b), a school approved
to operate or do business in the this state shall, after June 30 but no later than Sep-
tember 1 of each year, apply for renewal of approval on forms furnished by the board
and shall submit with the forms the fee required by s. EAB 2.11 {3} (4).

(b) A school need not apply for renewal of approval in for the calendar year in which
the school paid in full the fees required by s. EAB 2.11 €2} (3).

SECTION 2. EAB 2.11 (1) is renumbered (2) and is amended to read:

(2) APPLICABILITY. The fees listed in this section shall apply to:

(a) For renewals of scheol apprevaly te ary Any application for renewal of an

approval which expires on or after duly 1y 1987 the effective date of this section.

Elevisor inserts actual effective date]
(b) Fer all other applicationsy to Any other applications which the board receives

received on or after July 1, 1987 the effective date of this section. [l_:levisor inserts

actual effective date:f

SECTION 3. EAB 2.11 (1) is created to read:

(1) DEFINITIONS. In this section:

(a) "Adjusted gross annual school revenues" means the amount remaining after sub-
tracting from gross annual school revenues the amount of refunds actually made to
»Wisconsin students or their sponsors during the same fiscal year for which the school

reported the gross annual school revenues.
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(b) "Gross annual school revenues" means the total revenues recognized in the
school's method of accounting during the past fiscal year from the sale of goods and
services to Wisconsin students, unreduced by any costs of the sales. It includes all
revenues from tuition and fees, and charges for books, supplies and equipment,
whether the sources of those revenues were Wisconsin students or sponsors of Wiscon-
sin students. It includes revenues from room and board charges to Wisconsin students
required to use room and board facilities which the school provided. It also includes
all revenues from contracts with third parties to provide school goods and services to
Wisconsin students or groups of Wisconsin students, such as job training partnership
act contracts, or contracts with employers to provide training to their employees.

(c) "Inactive" means the board-recognized status of a school which is not currently
soliciting enrollments, advertising for students, or providing instruction, but which
continues to provide non-instructional services to former students to whom the school
is obligated.

(d) "Past fiscal year" means a twelve-month period ending on a date no earlier than
fourteen months before the date of the submission of the financial information
requested on the application for renewal of approval.

(e) "Sponsors" includes any individual, agency, association, corporation or partner-
ship which makes a payment on behalf of a student or awards a loan, grant or scholar-
ship to a student.

(f) "Students" means those persons who have pursued, are pursuing, or have stated
an intent to pursue any course or course of instruction offered by the school.

(g) "Wisconsin students" means students (regardless of stated permanent residence)
at any Wisconsin location of the ‘school, plus any other students who at the time of
enrollment considered Wisconsin to be their state of residence. Students at school

locations outside Wisconsin and students enrolled in correspondence courses are
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Wisconsin students if they gave Wisconsin as their state of residence at the time of
enrollment.

SECTION 4. EAB 2.11 (2) through (6) are renumbered (3) thfough (7) and are
amended to read:

(3) APPLICATION FEES FOR INITIAL SCHOOL APPROVAL. A school which is not
approved to operate or do business in the this state and which is applying for approval
shall pay a fee of $200 $400, plus:

(a) A fee for each course of instruction the school wishes to advertise, offer or
teach in the this state, as provided in sub. (&4 (5) and

(b) A fee for each teaching location, other than the main location of the school as
listed on the application for approval, in which the school wishes to use in the state

enroll Wisconsin students, as provided in sub £5) (6).

(4) APPLICATION FEES FOR RENEWAL OF SCHOOL APPROVAL. (a) A renewal

of approval of a school shall be valid for one calendar year. Except as provided in par.

(b), a school approved to operate or do business in the state shally after Jure 30 but Re

\
later than September 1 of each yeary pay an annual fee of $200 applying for renewal of

approval shall pay an application fee in payments as provided in pars. (c) and (d).

(b) A school that has not done business in this state in violation of s. 38.51 (10),

Stats., prior to the effective date of approval need not pay the annual fee otherwise

requited by par. (a) first payment in the calendar year in which the school paid in full

the fees required by sub. {2} (3), but may defer that payment until March | of the

following year.

(c) A school requesting active status shall make a first payment, in the amount of

'$200, no later than the September | prior to the calendar year for which the school is

applying for renewal of approval, and shall make a second payfnent, in the amount

determined as provided in par. (g), no less than six months after the first payment was
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due.

(d) A school requesting approved inactive status shall make a first payment in the

amount of $50, no later than the September 1 prior to the calendar year for which the

school is applying for renewal of approval and shall make a second payment, in the

amount determined as provided in par. (g), no less than six months after the first

payment was due. If the school resumes active status during the calendar year for

which the school is applying for renewal of approval, the school shall make a third

payment. The third payment shall be in the amount of $50 for each full calendar

month and any portion of a calendar month which is remaining in the calendar year as

of the date of resumption of active status, and shall be due by the date of resumption

of active status.

(e) The board shall base the second payment on the size of the school. The size of

each school shall be measured by the school's adjusted gross annual school revenues, as

reported to the board on the application for renewal of approval or as estimated by

the board under par. (h). The total of the second payments due from all approved

schools, as determined by the board by the December 31 prior to the due date for the

second payments, shall recover that portion of the costs of examining and approving

schools subject to s. 38.51 (10), Stats., which is not recovered by the total of the first

payments plus the total of receipts from all other fees in this section and in s. EAB

3.02. The amount to be recovered by the total of the second payments shall be based

on the annual budget of the board for the regulation of schools subject to s. 38,51 (10),

adjusted by:

1. Subtracting the total revenue estimated to be received during the current fiscal

year from schools and solicitors in payment of all other application fees, including the

first payments of the renewal fee under par. (b) through (d),

2. Subtracting any positive balance in excess of $5,000 in the board's fee revenue
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account carried over from the previous fiscal year, to the extent that the balance still

exists and remains usable by the board,

3. Adding an amount equal to the absolute value of any negative balance in the

board's fee revenue account at the end of the previous fiscal year, and

4. Adding the amounts of any additional costs required by law, regulation, execu-

tive order or collective bargaining agreement which were not known or taken into

consideration when the annual budget was determined.

(f) The board shall determine the rate in dollars per thousand dollars of adjusted

gross annual school revenue for the calendar year in which the second payment is due

by dividing the amount in dollars which the board must recover from the total of the

second payments for the same calendar year, determined as provided in par. (e), by the

total of the actual and estimated adjusted gross annual school revenues in thousands of

dollars of all schools which have applied for renewal of approval for the calendar

year. The formula is stated algebraically as follows:

M = A/R

where M = the rate in dollars per thousand dollars of adjusted gross annual school

revenue

the amount in dollars which the board shall recover from the total of

2=
il

the second payments for the same calendar year, determined as pro-

vided in par. (e)

R = the total in thousands of dollars of the actual and estimated adjusted

gross annual school revenues of all schools which have applied for

renewal of approval for a calendar year

(g) The board shall determine the amount of the second payment for each school by

multiplying the adjusted gross annual revenues of the school in thousands of dollars, as

reported to the board on the application for renewal of approval or as estimated by
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the board under par. (h), by the rate in dollars per thousand dollars of adjusted gross

annual school revenue determined as provided in par. (f). The formula is stated alge-

braically as follows:

a=rxM.

where a = the amount of the second payment for a specific school

= the adjusted gross annual revenues of that school in thousands of dollars,

as reported to the board on the application for renewal of approval or

as estimated by the board under par. (h)

M = the rate in dollars per thousand dollars of adjusted gross annual school

revenue determined as provided in par. (f)

The board may adjust the amount of each second payment by rounding the payment to

the nearest whole dollar.

(h) If a school fails or refuses to provide the board with reliable information by

which the board may determine the amount of the second payment, the board may

revoke the approval of the school or may use other means to compare the school with

other schools by size, estimate the adjusted gross annual revenues of the school and

require a second payment based on the estimated adjusted gross annual revenues of

the school. The board may also request the department of justice or any district

attorney to take action under any other applicable provision of law.

(5) APPLICATION FEES FOR APPROVAL OF COURSES OF INSTRUCTION. A
school shall pay an application fee of $300 when (a) When applying for approval of a

course of instruction, a school shall pay the following fee:

I. $300, if the course of instruction for which the school seeks approval does not

lead to a degree.

2. $500, if the course of instruction for which the school seeks approval leads to an

associate degree,
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3. $1,200, if the course of instruction for which the school seeks approval leads to a

degree other than an associate degree.

(b) The fees specified in par. (a) shall be reduced by 75 per cent if all of the follow-

ing conditions are met;

1. The course of instruction prepares students to meet the occupational licensing

requirements of an agency of this state.

2, The course of instruction has been reviewed by the agency referred to in subd.

1.

3. The agency referred to in subd. 1 has notified the board in writing that success-

ful completion of the course of instruction will meet the educational requirements for

initial licensure in the occupation.

(6) APPLICATION FEE FOR APPROVAL OF TEACHING LOCATIONS. A school
shall pay an application fee of $40 $100 when applying for approval of a teaching loca-
tion.

(7) CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP OR CONTROL. (a) Approval of a school terminates
at the time when the ownership or control of the School changes from that indicated
on the most recent application the school filed with the board.

(b) An approved school shall notify the board of any proposed change of ownership
or control.

(c) The prospective owner or owners shall submit to the board prior to the effective
date of the transfer an application reflecting the change of ownership or control. The

school shall submit with the application shall be accempanied by a fee of $150 $200,

plus:
1. A fee, as provided in sub. {4 (5), for each course of instruction listed on the
application which, at the time the school files the application, is not approved by the

board; and



2. A fee, as provided in sub. £3) (6), for each teaching location listed on thé applica-
tion which, at the time the school {iles the application, is not approved by the board as
a teaching location of the school.

(d) A school may request an interpretation from the board as to the application of
this subsection to a contemplated change of ownership or control.

SECTION 5. EAB 2.11 (7) through (9) are renumbered (8) through (10).

NOTE TO REVISOR: Please substitute the following for the first sentence of the note

following s. EAB 2.11:

Note: A person who desires to apply for initial approval of a school, for renewal of
approval of a school, for approval of a course of instruction, for approval of a teaching
location, or for approval of a school after a change of ownership or control may obtain"
any of the following forms by writing the Educational Approval Board at P. O. Box
7874, Madison, W1 53707, or by telephoning (608) 266-1996.

Also, please change references to forms to read "Form EAB l.(number)," rather than

"EAB form l.(number)."
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The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following

publication in the administrative register, as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Dated: December 7, 1987 Age@* Educational Approval Board

David R. Stuckl, Executive Secretary
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