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SPD 1.01 Annual review. (1) The state public defender shall annually
notify each active member of the state har of Wisconsin of the procedure
for applying for certification under the provisions of s. 977.08, Stats.
Publication of a notice in the publication of the state bar of Wisconsin
constitutes notice. ’

(2) The state public defender shall annually update its certification list
under s, 977.08, Stats., regarding the availability of private attorneys to
be appointed to state public defender matters.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; r. and recr. (1) and (2), r, (3),
Register, November, 1884, No. 347, eff. 12-1-84,

SPD 1.02 Certification of newly admitied attorneys. The state public de-
fender shall provide the Wisconsin supreme court and the state bar of
Wisconsin with materials to insure that every person admitted to the
state bar after Janunary 1, 1978, is provided with information for apply-
ing for certification under s, 977.08, Stats.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. Register, November, 1984,
No. 347, eff. 12-1-84. )

SPD 1.03 Certificaiion application. The state public defender shall pre-
pare an application to be completed by attorneys seeking certification as
provided in s. 977.08 (3), Stats,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, ff. 3-1-78.

SPD 1.04 Certification criteria. (1) An attorney shall be certified for mis-
demeanor, chs. 61, and 55, Stats., representation, conditions of confine-
ment, paternity, and probation and parole revocation cases if:

(a) The attorney has requested certification;
(b) The attorney is admitted to the state bar of Wiseonsin; and

(¢) The attorney has completed the continuing legal education re-
quirements as provided in sub. {9).

(2) An attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a felony
pfffense bearing a maximum penalty of less than 20 years imprisonment
if;

(a) The attorney has requested certification;

(b) The attorney is admitted to the state bar of Wisconsin;

(¢) The attorney has completed the continuing legal education re-
quirements as provided in sub, (9); and

(d) Either;
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1. Has served one year as a prosecutor;
2. Has served one year as 2 public defender;

3. Has been trial counsel alone of record in 5 misdemeanor cases
brought to final resolution;

4, Has been trial counsel alone of record in 2 felony cases brought fo
final resolution; or

b. Has heen trial counsel alone or with other trial counsel and handled
a significant portion of the trial in 2 cases, civil, criminal, or juvenile,
that have been tried to a jury to final resolution.

{8) An attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a felony
offense bearing a maximum penalty of 20 or more years imprisonment if:

(a) The attorney has requested certification;
" (b) The attorney is admitted to the state bar of Wisconsin;

(¢) The attorney has completed the continuing legal education re-
quirements as provided in sub. (9); and

(d) Either;
_ 1, Has served 2 years as a prosecutor;
: 2'. Has served 2 years as a public defender; or

3. Has been trial counsel alone or with other trial counsel and handled
a significant portion of the trial in § cases, civil, eriminal, or juvenile,
that has been tried to a jury to final resolution.

{4) An attorney shall be certified for ch. 48, Stats,, representation in
aceordance with sub. (1) for non-delinquency cases. Delinquency cases
shall follow the eriteria in subs. (1) to (3} according to the most serious of
the charges forming the basis of the delinquency petition.

(58) An attorney shall be certified for appellate cases if:

(a) The attorney has filed a brief in the Wisconsin supreme court or
Wisconsin court of appeals in no less than one felony case or 2 misde-
meanor ¢ases within the 8 years immediately preceding the application
for certification, and has completed the continuing legal education re-
quired by these rules; or

(b) The attorney has attended in person or by video tape, a presenta-
tion which covers in detail the Wisconsin Rules of Appellate Procedure
which has been approved in advance by the chief of the appellate unit of
the state public defender’s office, and has also completed the continuing
legal education required by these rules; or

{¢) The attorney has any other equivalent appellate experience
deemed satisfactory to the chief of the appellate division, including ap-
pellate briefs submitted in other jurisdietions, detailed trial level brief-
ing, or other approved work, and has completed the continuing legal edu-
cation required by these rules.

{6) The state public defender may develop specialized lists within
subs. (1) to (5), which may be based on additional certification criterta to
be developed by the state public defender, Specialized lists within sub.
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(8) for cases requiring exceptional expertise may be developed with the
approval of the state public defender.

(7) Attorneys employed by the state public defender shall meet the
same criteria as certified private attorneys,

(8) (a) No attorney may be excluded from certification based upon the
comments of the district attorney, judge, or county bar president; how-
ever, an attorney may he excluded by the state public defender on the
following grounds:

1, The attorney is disbarred, suspended, or has surrendered a license to
practice law in this state;

2, The attorney fails to meet the eontinuing legal education require-
ments set forth in sub. (9); or

3. The attorney fails to meet the experience criteria set forth herein,

(b) The state public defender may exclude from a certified list any at-
torney barred by statute from engaging in eriminal representation.

{c) Any attorney who is excluded from the certification list by virtue of
the exclusions set forth herein above shall be placed on the appropriate
certification list within 30 days after a submission of a written notifica-
tion to the state public defender that the attorney is no longer excluded,
provided further that such attorney had previously submitted a timely
and properly prepared certification application.

(9) Any attorney certified under ch. SPD 1 shall complete 7 hours of
continuing legal edueation each calendar year in courses approved by the
state public defender, This requirement shall apply beginning with the
first full ealendar year following graduation from law school, The state
public defender shall establish procedures to monitor compliance with
this requirement.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1978, No. 269, eff. 6-1-78; am. Register, Augnst, 1978, No. 272,

eff, 9-1-73; r. and reer, (1), renum, (2) to (4) to be (5) to (7) and am. (7}, cr. (2) to (4}, Regis-

ter, August, 1981, No. 308, off, 9-1-81; am. (1) (intre.) and (c), (2) (¢) and (d) 5., (3} {¢) and

(&) 3., renum. (4) to (7) to be (), (T), (8} and (9} and am. (8) (a) {intro.) and 2.and (9), er. {(4)

and (6), Register, November, 1984, No, 347, eff, 12-1-84; am, (5) {a) , Register, April, 1990,

%%04113, ei.l g-l—BD; correction in (9) made under s, 13.93 (2m) (b) 4, Stats,, Register, April,
, No. 412

SPD 1.05 Appeal of cerfification decisions, (1) The state public defender
shall notify each attorney who has submitted a certification application
of the counties or eounty and eategories for which the attorney is eligible.
Upon request by that attorney, the state public defender shall inform the
attorney excluded from a particular list of the reasons for the exclusion
from a particular list and the manner by which the attorney may appeal
the decision or reapply for recertification.

(2) Any attorney may appeal the state public defender’s certification
decision by mailing a letter of appeal to the state public defender within
30 days of the notice of exclusion. The attorney shall state in the letter
the certification from which the attorney has been excluded. The letter
may also state the reasons the attorney believes the exclusion was
improper.

(3) Upon receipt of an appeal letter, the state public defender shall
place the matter on the agenda of the next state public defender board
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meeting unless that meeting is less than 10 days from the receipt of the
appeal letter, in which case the matter may be scheduled for the follow-
ing meeting, The state public defender shall, at least 10 days prior to
hearing, inform the attorney of the time and place of the board meeting
at which the appeal will be considered.

(4) The state public defender shall transmit to the board and the attor-
ney all material relied upon in reaching the certification decision, includ-
in% theotéél(‘ti)ﬁcation application and all written comments received under
s. 977.08 (8).

(5) The attorney may request that the state public defender reproduce
and submit to the board material relevant to the appeal. The hearing
before the board shall be considered a “class 3" proceeding and is gov-
erned by ss. 227.44 to 227.46, Stats.

(6) The state public defender board may deliberate the matter in exec-
utive session pursuant to the provisions of s, 19.85 (1) (a), Stats. The
board shall issue a written decision either affirming, reversing, or modify-
ing the certification decision of the state public defender, The written
decision shall be matled to the attorney within 20 days of the board meet-
ing and shall be sighed by an officer of the beard.

(7) The board’s written decision shall constitute findings of fact and
coneclusions of law within the meaning of s, 227.47, Stats.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. (1) to (6), Register, Novem-
ber, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1-84; corrections in (5) and (7}, made under s. 13.93 (2m} (b) 7,
Stats., Register, April, 1990, No, 412,

SPD 1,06 Removal from certification lists for cause. (1} Any interested
party may request, in writing, that an attorney, previously certified to
accept cases from the state public defender, be removed for cause. Upon
receipt of a request, the state public defender shall conduet an investiga-
tion thereof. Upon a finding of cause, the state public defender may sus-
pend the attorney from certification or may refer the attorney to the
state public defender board with a recommendation for removal.

(2) Upon a recommendation for removal, or following the suspension
of any attorney and the state public defender’s recommendation for re-
moval, the board shall review the investigation and recommendation.
Upon request of the attorney prior to its review of the state public de-
fender’s investigation and recommendation, the board shall conduet a
hearing at which time the attorney in question may be heard and pro-
duce evidence in defense thereof. Upon a finding of cause, the board may
remove the attorney, The board shall render a decision within 60 days of
the hearing.

(3) Any attorney removed for cause may petition a eircuit court for
review of the decisions of the state public defender board pursuant to the
provisions of ch. 227, Stats.

(4) The state public defender board may send a copy of its findings and
order to the state bar of Wisconsin or to the district attorney of the
county where the action arose for any further action or investigation as
may be appropriate,
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(5) The board may, in its discretion, appoint any number of its mem-
bers to conduct the hearing and to report its findings and recommenda-
tions to the entire board for its decision.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1981, No, 308, eff. 9-1-81; am. (1) and (2), Register, Novem-
ber, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1-84,

SPD 1.07 Voluntary removal. Any attorney may request to be removed
from any certified list for a specified period of time, and the state public
defender shall remove the attorney until notified in writing by the attor-
ney that the attorney wishes to be placed back on the list.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am, (1), Register, November,
1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1-84.

SPD 1.08 Access (o files, {1) The state public defender may not disclose
to any person except the subject, any comments made by any judge, dis-
triet attorney, or county bar president ir accordance with s. 977.08 (3),
Stats,, unless ordered to do so by the public defender board or a court.

(2) Only certified lists, board proceedings and decisions under these
rules shall be considered public documents and open to public inspection.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1978, No, 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. (1), Register, November,
1984, No. 347, eff, 12-1-84,
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