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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAI. SERVICES Revisor of Statutes

AMENDING AND CREATING RULES . Bureau

To amend HSS 201.09(2) (a) and (3)(d), and to create
HSS 201.36, relating to eligibility for payment of child care
costs for former recipients of Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) who lost eligibility for AFDC due to an increase
in earned income, an increase in hours of employment or loss of
earned income disregards.

Analysis Provided by the Department of Health and Social Services

The Family Support Act (P.L. 100-485) amended Title IV-A of
the Social Security Act, 42 USC 601 et. seq., to require states
to provide for a period of eligibility for payment of child care
expenses when an Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
recipient loses eligibility for AFDC due to an increase in earned
income, an increase in hours of employment for AFDC-Unemployed
parent cases or loss of the earned income disregards. Under
s.49.50(6g), Stats., as created by 1989 Wisconsin Act 31,
beginning April 1, 1990, an AFDC recipient who loses eligibility
for AFDC for any of these reasons but needs child care to accept
or retain employment may be eligible for up to 12 months of
transitional child care benefits. If an AFDC case will be
closing for one of these reasons, the income maintenance agency
will notify a recipient of possible eligibility for transitional
child care. The former recipient must apply for those benefits
through the county human or social services agency. If the
family is determined eligible, the agency will issue a voucher,
which the former recipient can take to any child care provider.
The former recipient will be required to pay a copayment amount,
based on family income, to the child care provider. Transitional
child care benefits are only available to cover the cost of care
for a child under age 13 except in certain circumstances when the
cost of care of a child age 13 or older is covered.

The proposed rules identify who is eligible for transitional
child care benefits, how application for these benefits must be
made, and the role of the county human services or social
services agency administering the transitional child care program
in issuing these benefits. The rulemaking order also amends
S. HSS 201.09(3)(d) to require redetermination of AFDC
eligibility within 6 months of initial eligibility rather than
within 3 months of initial eligibility so that the rule is not
more stringent than s.49.19(5) (e), Stats.

The Department's authority to amend and create these rules
is found in s.49.50(6g), Stats., as created by 1989 Wisconsin
Act 31, and s.49.50(2), Stats. The rules interpret
s.49.19(5) (e), Stats., and s.49.50(6g), Stats., as created by
1989 Wisconsin Act 31.
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SECTION 1. HSS 201.09(2)(a) and (3)(d) are amended to read:

HSS 201.09(2) (a) Timely and adequate notice shall be sent to
applicants and recipients to indicate that AFDC has been
authorized or that it has been reduced, denied, terminated or
changed to a protective or vendor payment or payment by means of
electronic funds transfer under s.HSS 201.10(4) and, if it has
been terminated, that the AFDC group may be eligible for
transitional child care benefits under s. HSS 201.36. In this
subsection, "timely" means in accordance with s.49.19(3), Stats.
In this subsection, "adequate notice" means a written notice that
contains a statement of the action taken, the reasons for and
specific regulations supporting the action, and an explanation of
the person's right to request a hearing and the circumstance
under which aid will be continued if a hearing is requested. Aid
shall be continued in all circumstances except where it is not
required by federal regulation.

(3) (d) Within 96—days—6 months from the date initial
eligibility is determined and every 6 months thereafter.

SECTION 2. HSS 201.36 is created to read:

HSS 201.36 TRANSITIONAL CHILD CARE. (1) PURPOSE. This
section implements s.49.50(6g), Stats., which provides that an
individual whose AFDC case closes on or after March 31, 1990, due
to an increase in earned income, an increase in hours of
employment for AFDC-unemployed parent cases or loss of the earned
income disregards under s.49.19(5) (a), Stats., may be eligible
for a period of time for payment of child care costs necessary
for the individual to accept or retain employment.

(2) APPLICABILITY. This section applies to any person who
loses eligibility for AFDC due to an increase in earned income,
an increase in hours of employment for AFDC-unemployed parent
cases or loss of the earned income disregards under
$.49.19(5) (a), Stats., and who needs child care to accept or
retain employment.

(3) DEFINITIONS. 1In this section:

(a) "Eligibility period" means .the 12 month period that
begins with the first month of ineligibility for AFDC benefits.

(b) "Family" means the former AFDC group.

(c) "Transitional child care" means the program established
under s.49.50(6g), Stats., which pays a portion of child care for
a family for a period of time after that family loses eligibility
for AFDC under any of certain circumstances related to being
employed.
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(4) WHO MAY BE ELIGIBLE. A family may be eligible for a
period of 12 months beginning with the first month of
ineligibility for AFDC for payment of child care expenses if all
of the following conditions are met:

(a) Eligibility for AFDC ended because of increased
earnings, increased hours of employment for AFDC-unemployed
parent cases or loss of the earned income disregards under
S.49.19(5) (a), Stats.;

(b) The family was eligible for AFDC in at least 3 of the
last 6 months immediately preceding the month in which
ineligibility begins;

(c) Cchild care is needed to permit a member of the family to
accept or retain employment. Payment for child care is limited
to those children who are:

1. Under age 13;

2. Age 13 or older and meets one or more of the following
conditions as documented by the agency in the case record:

a. The child is physically or mentally incapable of caring
for himself or herself, as verified by a physician or a
psychologist; or

b. The child is under court supervision as verified by a
social worker or the court record; and

(d) The family resides in Wisconsin.

(5) ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION. (a) The agency shall send a
notice as provided under s. HSS 201.09(2)(a) to an individual who
loses eligibility for AFDC due to an increase in earned income,
an increase in hours of employment for AFDC-unemployed parent
cases or loss of the earned income disregards under
$.49.19(5) (a), Stats., regarding possible eligibility for
transitional child care benefits.

(b) If the family wishes to apply for transitional child
care benefits, application shall be ‘made to the agency on a form
developed by the department. The agency shall determine
eligibility for transitional child care benefits within 30 days
after receiving the application and shall send a notice of
decision to the family as provided in s. HSS 201.09(2)(a). The
notice of decision shall include information regarding the
applicant's right to a fair hearing, which shall be governed by
procedures under s. PW-PA 20.18 [ch. HSS 225] except that
application for a fair hearing shall be made within 45 days after
the effective date of the action being appealed, and information
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regarding the applicant's right to apply for day care funds under
S.46.98(4) (d), Stats., and s. HSS 55.75 if determined 1ne11g1ble
for transitional child care benefits.

(c) If the family is determined eligible for transitional
child care benefits, the agency shall issue a voucher monthly to
the family to cover child care costs minus the copayment amount
determined under sub.(7) (a)2. The voucher amount may not exceed
the maximum rate set by the county and approved by the department
under s.46.98(4)(d), Stats., and s. HSS 55.72(2) and (7).

(6) ELIGIBILITY PERIOD. Transitional child care benefits
are available for the 12 month period beginning with the month in
which the family was first ineligible for AFDC. The family may
apply for transitional child care benefits at any time within
that 12 month period. The period of eligibility for transitional
child care benefits shall begin on the first day of the month of
application if child care is necessary. If the family applies
after the first month of AFDC ineligibility and requests
retroactive transitional child care benefits, the agency shall
pay benefits retroactive to the first month of AFDC ineligibility
if the agency determines that eligibility for transitional child
care existed.

(7) CONTINUING ELIGIBILITY. (a) To maintain eligibility for
transitional child care benefits, the family shall:

1. Need child care to permit a family member to accept or
retain employment;

2. Pay a copayment amount to the child care provider. This
amount shall be determined by the agency based on the family's
ability to pay as determined under s.46.98(4) (b), Stats., and
s. HSS 55.77. The family may appeal the copayment amount in
accordance with the procedures under s. PW—-PA 20.18 [ch. HSS 225]
except that application for a fair hearing shall be made within
45 days after the family is notified of the copayment amount.
Eligibility for initial or continuing transitional child care
benefits shall exist if the family pays the copayment amount
determined by the agency pending the fair hearing decision. If .
the family prevails in the fair hearing, the agency shall
reimburse the family for the overpayments; and

3. Report changes in circumstances as required under
s. HSS 201.07 which may affect eligibility for transitional child
care benefits.

(b) Eligibility for transitional child care benefits shall
end if the caretaker relative:

1. Fails to cooperate with the local child support agency
as provided in s. HSS 201.18(2);



2. Quits a job without good cause as provided in
s. HSS 201.14(3)(d).

(c) If the caretaker relative leaves a job for good cause
and finds another job, the family may be eligible for the
remaining portion of the 12 month eligibility period if the
family meets the requirements in sub. (4).

(d) If the caretaker relative leaves employment without good
cause as provided in s.HSS 201.14(3) (d), reestablishes
eligibility for AFDC and subsequently eligibility for AFDC ends
for a reason under sub. (4)(a), the family may be eligible for a
full 12 month period of transitional child care benefits if the
family meets the eligibility requirements in sub. (4).

(8) TERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY. (a) Eligibility for
transitional child care benefits ends when:

1. The caretaker relative leaves employment without good
cause as provided in s.HSS 201.14(3)(d). The family is not
eligible for any remaining portion of the 12 month eligibility
period;

2. The family fails to meet a condition under sub. (4) or
(7): or

3. The eligibility period ends.

(b) The agency shall send a notice which meets the
requirements under s. HSS 201.09(2) (a) to a family when the
period of eligibility for transitional child care benefits ends.
The notice shall include information regarding the family's right
to appeal the decision as provided in s. PW-PA 20.18
[ch. HSS 225], except that application for a fair hearing shall
be made within 45 days after the effective date of the action
being appealed, and information about applying for day care funds
under s.46.98(4) (d), Stats., and s. HSS 55.75 if determined
ineligible for transitional child care benefits.
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The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin
Administrative Register as provided in s.227.22(2), Stats.

Wisconsin Department of
Health and Social Services
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Dated: October 15, 1990 By: %ﬁ) Mflf"ﬁ

Patricia A. Goodrich

- Secretary
SEAL: -

RECEIVED
OCT 151990

Revisor of Statutes
Bureau




