DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION L “9190-37
rans

Chapter Trans 119

COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE OPERATOR ALCOHOL
USE RESTRICTIONS

Trans 119,01 Definitions Trans 119.03 Personssubject to out of ser-
Trans 119.02 Twenty-four hour out of ser- vice orders
vice orders

Trans 119,01 Definitions. (1) The words and phrases defined in ss,
340.01, 343.01, and 343.04, Stats., have the same meaning in this chapter
unless a different definition is specifically provided in this chapter,

(2) Non-commercial motor vehicle means a motor vehiele that is not a
commercial motor vehicle.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1990, No. 420, eff, 1-1-91.

Trans 119.02 Twenty-four hour ou( of service orders. (1) If a person
refuses to submit to chemical testing under s. 343,305, Stats,, or is issued
2 citation for a violation of s. 846.63 (7), Stats., an out of service order
shall be issued notifying the operator that commercial motor vehicle op-
eration is prohibited for the 24 hour period folowing issuance of the out
of service order,

(2) If the arresting officer takes possession of the operator’s license
under s. 343.305 (7) (b), Stats., and the operator’s driving status is valid,
the officer shall tssue the operator a 24 hour temporary driving receipt for
the operation of non-commercial vehicles. The driving receipt shall be
subject to the same restrictions as the license taken by the officer.

(3) The arresting officer shall forward copies of the out of service order,
chemical test results and temporary driving receipt, if any, to the depart-
ment within 5 days of issuing the out of service order. Chemical test re-
sults may be forwarded to the department at the time they become avail-
able if they are not available within the 5 days following issuance of the
citation and they are not forwarded with the other documents,

Nole; s, 346.63(7), Stats., is Wisconsin’s absolute sobriety statute for commercial motor
vehicle aperators. An officer is reguired to take the operator's license if the operator refuses
chemieal tests under 5. 343.305, Stats., or has a BAC in excess of .10 under s. 343,305 (7},
Sta(t]s.h'l‘he officer may take the operator’s license for violation of s. 346,63 (7), Stats. Form
used: MV3546.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1990, No. 420, eff. 1-1-91:

Trans 119.03 Persons subject {o out of service orders. Under s, 343.245
(3) (b) 8, Stats., a person is subject fo an out of service order if the person
operates a motor vehicle in violation of s. 346,63 (7) (a), Stats,, or in
violation of any federal or state law or regulation for which the person
could be issued an out of service order.

Note: This rule is adopted to clarify the drafters intent that an employer is subject to s.
343,245 sanctions if the employer orders or allows an emplaye to operate a commercial motor
vehicle when the employe would violate Wisconsin’s “‘not-a-drop™ law if the employe oper-

ated a commercial motor vehiele, It is not intended to limit the scope of s, 343.245 (3) (b) 3,
Stats,

History: Cr. Register, December, 1990, No. 420, eff, 1-1-91,
Register, December, 1990, No. {20
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