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' STAT E OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
' : OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

“A RULE to repeal ss. Hy 30.02 to 30.04
and Hy 30.10 to 30.21, amend s. Trans
251.05, repeal and recreate Trans 251.06,
create chs. Trans 254 to 257 and 259 to 262

and repeal and recreate ch. Trans 269 and ORDER ADOPTING RULE

275, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relat- —o

ing to the issuing of permits for vehicles :

and loads exceeding the size and weight RECE'VED

limitations of ch. 348, Wisconsin Statutes. NGV 11990
Analysis Prepared by the Wiscdnsin Department of Tra hsportatioh Revisor of Statutes

. . Bureau
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: ss. 85.16(1), 227.11(2)(a), and 348.25(3), Stats.

STATUTES INTERPRETED: ss. 348. 25, 348.26, 348.27, 348.28, and 349.16,
Stats.

General Summary of Rule. The purpose of this rule is to recodify and update portions
of Chapter Hy 30. Portions of Ch. Hy 30 are repealed and Chs, Trans 254-257 and 259-262
are created in their place. When the recodification is complete, Ch. Hy 30 will be completely
repealed, and replaced by Chs. Trans 250 to 275 referring to all types of permits for oversize
and overweight vehicles or loads, as authorized by sections 348.25 to 348.27, stats.

The rule also repeals and recreates 2 chapters relating to oversize and overweight permits,
Chs. Trans 269 and 275.

In part this rule is in response to written and oral requests from trucking industry
associations, trucking companies, and recreational boaters for increased hours of operation, and
for reduction of what they considered burdensome and unnecessary requirements. It also meets
the department’s desire to make the primary reference materials more clear and more readily
accessible to permittees and enforcement personnel.

This rule also assists in the administration of recently enacted legislation. Finally, it
incorporates provisions for safety equipment which promote uniformity with nationally accepted
standards and with other states. :

In summary the rule:
(1)  Repeals certain sections of Chapter Hy 30,
(2)  Amends Chapter Trans 251,
(3)  Creates 8 chapters including Trans 254, 255, 256, 257 259, 260, 261 and 262,
(4)  Repeals and recreates Chapters Trans 269 and 275.

Substantive provisions in the rul



Consistent and extended hours of operation. With 2 exceptions, hours of operation for |

all permit types are made the same, and hours during which travel is allowed are extended. The
exceptions are that vehicles operating with garbage, refuse, and recyclable scrap permits, and
‘with raw forest products, fruits and vegetables permits may operate 24 hours a day, including
weekends and holidays.

Travel by oversize vehicles will continue to be generally prohibited on holidays, and

~during 4 to 11 pm on Sunday, and during 4 to 11 pm on summer Fridays. For vehicles longer

than 100 feet, wider than 14 feet, or higher than 13-1/2 feet, travel will continue to be
disallowed during darkness, and on Saturday afternoons and on Sundays.

Addition of routes. Overweight vehicles and oversize vehicles with permits which are
up to 11 feet wide, 13-1/2 feet high, and 100 feet long will now be allowed to travel on the
Milwaukee County Expressway. They will be prohibited from travel during the hours between
6-and 9 a.m. and between 3 and 6 p.m. Monday through Thursday; and between 6 and 9 a.m.
and between 3 and 11 p.m. on Friday and Sunday.

Elimination of some restrictions on hours of travel. Certain hours of travel restrictions
for oversize mobile homes are eliminated throughout the state. This will make these restrictions
for mobile home travel uniform with restrictions for travel by all other oversize/overweight
vehicles. "

This action includes lifting hours of travel restrictions for mobile homes in the counties
of Brown, Dane, Kenosha, Ozaukee, Racine, Rock, Waukesha; and in Milwaukee County except
for on the Milwaukee County Expressway as described just above. It includes lifting restrictions
within 10 miles of the the cities of Appleton, Ashland, Chippewa Falls, Eau Claire, Fond du
Lac, Hudson, Kaukauna, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Menasha, Neenah, Oshkosh, Sheboygan,
Stevens Point, Superior, Two Rivers, Watertown, Wausau, West Bend, Whitewater, and
Wisconsin Rapids. ‘

Warning lights, flags and signs. The requirements for warning lights, warning flags and
"oversize load" signs are changed slightly in order to conform to nationally recognized standards
of display. This provides for uniformity with other states, and reduces equipment cost and
inconvenience to permittees traveling in more than one state. Because operation during hours
of darkness will be allowed under some circumstances, requirements for additional warning
lighting are added.

Certain signs no longer required. The requirement to display a "transported by" sign at
the rear of mobile homes is eliminated.

Uniform speeds. Speeds are increased to permit travel at the posted speed, up from the
current 45 mph for most permit types. Where the shoulder is unpaved, however, vehicles 16
foot wide and greater are limited to 35 miles per hour.

Increased weight and length for telephone issue permits. In Chapter Trans 275, the

weight of vehicles which may receive permits by telephone are increased from 120,000 pounds

~



to 150,000 pounds. The length of vehicles which may receive permlts in this manner is
_mcreased from 95 feet to 100 feet.

Insurance. The casualty insurance requirement is eliminated. For larger over-
size/overweight vehicles, the required level of bodily injury and property damage liability
- insurance is raised from $600,000 to $1 million. For smaller oversize/overweight vehicles, the
required level is raised from $150,000 to $750,000. This latter higher level is equal to that
required of for-hire motor carriers carrying general commodities.

Insurance certification. The requirement that an applicant submit certification by an
insurance company of evidence of liability insurance is replaced by a provision allowmg the
department to require such certification. .

" Escort requirements. Provisions describing when the department will require escort
vehicles to accompany oversize/overweight vehicles are added.

~ Raw forest products, fruits and vegetables permit. Chapter Trans 259 is created to assist

in the administration of the permit type recently enacted for the transport of overweight raw
forest products, fruits and vegetables.

Recyclable scrap permit. Chapter Trans 269 is amended to include provisions of the
permit type recently enacted for the transport of recyclable scrap. _

Backhaul permit. Chapter Trans 262 is created to assist in the administration of the
permit type recently enacted for the transport of legal size loads on oversize vehicles when the
origin and destination are the same as for an oversize vehicle and load traveling under permit in
the opposite direction. '

Technical and editorial changes to promote improved clarity or specificity include:

(1)  Throughout, wording is changed to active voice and present tense, where appropriate.

(2)  Certain definitions are created or reworded.

(3)  The sections describing how application for permits and permit amendments may be made
is reworded.

(4)  The provisions for suspending and revoking permits are clarified and made more specific.

(5)  The provisions describing how loads and vehicles must be loaded to minimize oversize .
are reworded.

(6) The provisions describing the vehicle registration requirements of vehicles operating
under permrt are clarified.

(7y  The provisions describing the allowable overhangs on moblle homes are clarified.

Final Fiscal Estimate. The department estimates that there will be no direct fiscal impact
from this rulemaking upon the state and anticipates no effect upon the fiscal liabilities or
revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical, and adult
education school district, or sewerage district.



Copies of Rule. Copies of this rule are aVailablé without cost upon request to the Central |
Office Traffic, Room 601, P.O. Box 7916, Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7916, telephone (608)
266-2375. ’

Contact persons. Persons having questions about the rule may write or call Mr. Harry
O. Price, State Traffic Engineer, Room 601, P.O.Box 7916, Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7916,
telephone 608-266-2375; or Mr. Paul Bernander, Permit Unit Supervisor, Room 151, P.O. Box
7980, Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7980, telephone 608-266-7320. Legal questions may also be
addressed to Mr. Charles M. Kernats, Office of General Counsel, Room 115B, P.O. Box 7910,
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7910, telephone 608-266-8810. .

RULE TEXT

Under the authority vested in the state of Wisconsin, department of transportation, by s.
348.25(3), Stats., the department of transportation adopts a rule interpreting ss. 348.25, 348.26,
348.27, 348.28, and 349.16 relating to issuance of permits for vehicles and loads exceeding the
size and weight limitations of ch. 348, Stats. .

SECTION 1. Sections Hy 30.02 to Hy 30.05 and Hy 36.10 to Hy 30.21 are repealed.

SECTION 2. Section Trans 251.05(title) is amended to read: |

Trans 251.05(title) VEHICLE WEIGHT AUTHORIZED BY TRANSPORTATION OF
GARBAGE OR REFUSE PERMITS AND BY THE TRANSPORTATION OF SCRAP
PERMITS.

SECTION 3. Section Trans 251.05(1), (2) and (3) are amended to read:

(1) Unless otherwi_se provided in the approved permit, the gross weight imposed on the
highway by the wheels of any axle-group or by any axle or combination of 2 or more
consecutive axles within an axle-group on a vehicle or combination of vehicles being operated
under a transportation of garbage or refuse permit issued under s. 348.27(12), Stats., Qr_m& |

a transportation of scrap permit issued under s. 348.27(9r), Stats., may not exceed the lowest

of the following weights:



(2) Unless otherwise provided in the approved permit, the gross weight imposed on the
highway by the wheels of any _two‘consecutive axle-groups on a vehicle or combination of
veh—icles.being'operated undera transportation of garbage or refuse permit issued under s.
348.27(12), Stats., or under a"transp‘ortation of scrap permit issued undei' s. 348.27(%r), Stats. .
may not exceed the sum of the \;-s/eights authorized on the individual axle-groups under sub. (1).

(3) The overall gross weight irﬁposed on the highway by all of the wheels on a vehicle
dr pombinatign of vehicies béing Qperated ﬁnder a frahsportation of garbage or refuse permit
issued under s. 348.27(12), Stats., or undér a_transportation of scrap permit issued under s.
348.27(9r), Stats., may not exceed the maximﬁm.gross weight shown on the face of the permit

or the sum of the weighfs authorized on the individual axle-groups on the vehicle or combination
of vehicles under sub. (1), whichever is less.

SECTION 4. Section Trans 251.06 is repealed and fecreatéd to read:

Trans 251.06 VEHICLE WEIGHT AUTHORIZED BY TRAﬁSPORTATION OF RAW

FOREST AND AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS PERMITS. (1) Unless otherwise provided in

the approved permit, the gross weight imposed on the highway by any wheel, axle, or any group

of 2 or more consecutive axles of a vehicle or combination of vehicles being operated under a
~ transportation of raw forest and agricultural products permit issued under s. 348.27(9m), Stats.,
may not exceed the weights authorized in s. 348.15(3) by more than 12.5 percent.

(2) The overall gross weight imposed on the highway by all of the wheels on a vehicle
or combination of vehicles being operated under a transportation of raw forest and agricultural
products péfmit issue_d under s. 348.27(9m), Stats., may not exceed the maximum gross weight
shown on the face of .the permit or 90,000 pounds, whichever is less.’

SECTION 5. Chapters Trans 254 to 257 are created to read:



CHAPTER TRANS 254
- SINGLE TRIP PERMITS FOR
| OVERSIZE OR OVERWEIGHT VEHICLES OR LOADS

Tm‘ ns 254.7‘011 PURPOSE. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards and-v
procedures for tﬁé issuance of single trip oversize or overweight ‘permits,} pursﬁant to s.
348.26(2), Stats. |

Trans 254 ..02' DEFINI'IV‘IONS'.:*(l) Unless otherwise stated, the deﬁni.tions of words and
phrases in ss.A 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 apply to this chapter.

(2) As used iﬁ this chapter: |

@) "Iss.uing authority" means the department of transportation or the .ofﬁcer in charge of

maintenance of local highways.

Note: The officer in charge of maintenance of local highways varies from jurisdiction to
jurisdiction and may include the county highway commissioner; the city, town or
village engineer; and the head of a city, town, or village transportation or public
works department, or other person. '

(b) "Permit" means single trip oversize or overweight permits authorized under s.
348.26(2), Stats.

Trans 254.03 PERMIT APPLICATION. (1) An application for a permit shall bg
submitted to an issuing authority on a form approVed by the department, and in accordance with
s. 348.26, Stats.

(2) An application for a permit for the use of a state trunk highway shall be made to the
departmgnt in any of the foliowing ways:

| (a) In person, at the department’s central or district offices. .

(b) By mail, addressed to the department’s central office.

(c) By the telephone call-in procedure, described in ch. Trans 275.



(d) By authc;ﬁied permit service.

(3) An application for a permit for the use of a highway maintained by a local authority
shall be submitted to the applicable local authority in the manner prescribed by the local
authority. An application for a permit for the usé of a state trunk highway within the
geographical boundaries of a local authority shall be submitted to the applicable local authorify

in the manner prescribed by the local authority.

Note: Permit application procedures are in s. Trans 250.025.

Trans 254.04 PERMIT AMENDMENTS. (1) An application for an amendment to a
permit shall be made to the issuing authority which iss_ued the original permit.

(2) An application for an amendment may be made in the same manner as an application
fdr an original permit.

(3) The request shall specify the permit number of the I;ermit to be amended.

(4) A request for an extension of a permit may be made any time until the third day after
the expiration date of the permit.

(5) An issuing authority may grant only one extension to a permit.

(6) Except as provided in sub. (7), a permit issued for less than 2 weeks may be extended
not more than 2 weeks.

(7) An issuing authority may extend a permit not more tﬁan 2 additional weeks where

highway or other conditions remain unchanged, or as the issuing authority deems necessary.

Note: Limitations on the amendment of permits are in s. Trans 250.10.

Trans 254.05 ELIGIBILITY. (1) Any vehicle or vehicle and load to be considered as
operating under a permit shall satisfy requirements for a permit under s. 348.25, Stats.
(2) An issuing authority may not issue a permit for mobile homes or camping trailers

under this chapter.



(3) An issuing authority may not issue a permit for tranSpqrting loads or articles which

could reasonably be divided in a manner as to allow transporting of loads or articles in 2 or more
loads that are not oversize or overWeight, or both.

(4) An issuing authority may not issue a permit to transport more than one article if the
vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overweight.

Note: This section prohibits, among other things, the addition of an extra boom section to
a load that is transported under a permit for an overweight vehicle, load, or vehicle
and load. Transporting necessary blocking for a load, or transporting the necessary
blocking on an otherwise empty vehicle to and from the origin or destination of the
load is not prohibited.

" (5) An issuing authority may not issue a permit for a vehicle and load exceeding 100 feet
in overall length when the rear supporting axle is at or near the rear of the load unless the rear
support is separately steered..

(6) An issuing authority may issue a permit only for a vehicle equipped with pneumétic‘
tires.

(7) The issuance of a permit is not a guarantee of the sufficiency of any highway or
structure for the transporting of the vehicle, load, or vehicle and load.

(8) A permit may not authorize the operation of more than 2 vehicles in combination.

Note: This does not prohibit the use of dollies to support or assist in supporting one or
both ends of a trailer.

(9) A permit may authorize the operation of vehicle combinations consisting of a truck-
tractor and semi-trailer with an earth-mover being transported with its power unit resting on the
bed of a semi-trailer and its single rear axle trailing on the roadway behind the semi-trailer, in
which case the gross weight of the rear axle of the earth mover may not exceed 35,000 pounds.

Trans 254.06 VALIDITY. (1) A permit is valid only for the vehicle described in the

application and permit.



(2) An issuing authority may suspend a permit, or any of its conditioné, because of
. seasonal highway conditions.

Note: Examples of seasonal highway conditions include spring thaw, flooding and traffic
congestion.

(3) No condition of a permit may modify any law or regulation limiting loads because
- of local conditions, including load limits on bridges and highways, seasonal weight restrictions,
or load limits imposed because of construction.

| @) A_permit is not valid during periods when adverse weather or road conditions, such
as fog, smoké, heavy rain, snow or’ice, or wind velocity, impair the safe'ty"of a movement under
the permit.

(5) A permit may not be used in combinati.;m.with a multiple trip permit to authorize the
movement of an oversize or overweight vehicle, load, or vehiol'evand load.

(6) A permit is valid only on the route §peciﬁed in the.permit.

(7) A permit is valici only for the movement specified in the permit, which may include
the return trip on the reverse route if requested and approved, and which inciudes the movement
of the empty vehicle, whether or not ovérsize or overweight, to and from the place of pickup or
delivery of the permitted load. |

Trans 254.07 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle operating under a
permit shall be regisfered as required by Wisconsin Statutes, and shall be registered at not less
than the permit weight or at the maximum available registration weight, whichever is less.

'(2) All other operational permits required by the department, the office of the
commissioner of transportation, or other agencies having jurisdiction shall be obtained.

Trans 254.08 DRIVER AND OPERATING REQUIREMENTS. (1) The driver of a

vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the permit in the vehicle to which it applies and shall



have‘ the permit available for inspection by any police ofﬁcér, representative of the issuing
authority, or person in charge of the maintenance of the highway being used.

(2) The driver of a vehicle operating under a pemit shall, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distance of not less than 1,000 feet between the permitted vehicle and any
vehicle the driver is following, unless actually engaged in overtaking and passing another vehicle.

(3) The driver of a vehicle opérating under a permit shall allow traffic approaching or
overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so.

(4) The maximum speed of any vehicle with a lload 16 feet or wider operating on
highways without paved shoulders shall be 35 miles per hour.

(5) Except as provided in sub. -(4), or unless a lower speed is specified in the permit,» a
~ vehicle operating under a permit may be operated at the posted speed limit.

(6) The right wheels of thg towed unit may not leave the roadway, except to allow traffic

to pass.

Note: A "roadway" does not include paved or unpaved shoulders. s. 340.01(54), Stats.

Trans 254.09 MAXIMUM SIZE, WEIGHT AND LOADING LIMITATIONS. (1) The
maximum size, axle, axle combination, and total weight limitétions authorized by a permit may
not be exceeded.

.(2) Property transported under a permit shall be loaded to minimize its size and weight.

(3) An oversize vehicle used for transporting loads under a permit shall be reduced to

legal size whenever possible when being operated without load.
Note: Legal sizes are set forth in ch. 348 and s. 349.16, Stats.

(4) A load transported under a permit may not extend beyond the front of the power unit,

beyond the left fender line of the transporting vehicle, or more than six inches beyond the right

10



: fen&er of the transporting vehicle, unless the overhang is minimized by suitable positioning of
».'tlvle-l-o,ad _upbn the vehicle. |

(5) Loads consisting of more thaﬁ‘vone article, none of which are oversize, may not be
transported under the permit.
o (6) Vehicleé and loads which, when reasonably divided, would not be oversize or over-
weight, may not be transported under the permit. |

(7) Loads which, when reasonably repositioned on the transporting vehicle would not be
oversize or overweight, may not be transported under the permit. |

(8) Loads consisting of more than one article,.one or more of which are oversize, may
be transported under a permit only if:

(a) The vehicle and load is not overweight, and

(b) The other articles transported do not cause the vehicle and load to be oversize in any

manner differently from' the largest single article.

Note: For example, if a storage tank which is overwidth and overheight (but not
overlength) is the single largest article transported, then a toolbox which is not
wider, and is not higher, and does not make the vehicle and load overlength or
overweight may also be transported.
However, a beam placed crosswise which makes the overall width wider than the storage tank
" may not be transported as an additional article, Similarly, a heam placed lengthwise which
makes the vehicle and load overlength may not be transported as an additional article.

Finally, if the vehicle and load were overweight, then no additional article may be
transported.

(9) The load shall be properly secured and fastened to the transporting vehicle.
(10) Wheels on one side of a transporting vehicle may not carry more than 60% of the

total gross load.
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Trans 254.10 EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS. (1) LIGHTING. Anoversize vehicle,

or a vehicle with an oversize load operating during the hours of darkness, shall be equipped with
the fdllowing additional lamps:

(a) For a vehicle with a load which extends beyond the width of the vehicle:

. 1. At the outermost extremity of the foremost edge of the projecting load, an amber lamp
- visible from the front and side. |

2. At the outermost extremity at the rearmost edge of the projecting load, a red lamp
visible from the rear and side. | |

3. Any portion of an 6verwidth load extending beyond the width of the foremost or
rearmost edge of the vehicle or load, shali be marked with an amber lamp visible from the front,
both sides, and rear.

4. The overwidth portion of a load measuring 3 feet or less from front to rear, shall be
marked with an amber lamp visible frOm the front, both sides and rear, except that if the
overwidth projection is located at or near the rear if shall be marked by a red lamp visible from
front, side and rear. |

(b) For a vehicie with a load which extends more than 4 feet beyond the rear of the
vehicle:

1. On each side of the projecting load, 1 red lamp, visible from the side, located so as
to indicate maximum overhang.

2. On the rear of the projecting load, 2 red lamps, visible from the rear, 1 at each side;
and 2 red reflectors visible from the rear, 1 at each side, located so as to indicate maximum
width.

(¢) All required lamps shall be illuminated whenever a vehicle is operated during hours
of darkness. All lamps shall be visible at a distance of 500 feet.

12



(2) WARNING LAMPS. When required by a permit, warning lamps shall be operated -
as follows:

(a) All amber flashing or revolving warning lamps shall have a reflector at 1east six inches .
in diameter and shall be bright enough to be clearly visible and attention-attracting at a distance
of '500 feet under all conditions when the load is on the highway, except wilen visibility is ob-
structed by a hillcrest, a curve, or an object such as another vehicle.

(b) All warning lamps shali flash at a rate of 30 to 90 times pér minute,

(c) Strobe lamps may be used in lieu of flashing or revolving lamps'.

(d) Warning lamps may not be operated when a vehicle is not operating under the permit.

3) FLAGS.. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overlength, a single flag
shall be fastened at the extreme rear of the load if the overlengt__h or projecting portion is 2 feet
wide or less.

(b) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overléngth, 2 flags Shall be fastened at
the rear of the load to indicate maximum width if the overlength or projecting portion is wider
than 2 feet. | |

(c) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overwidth, a flag shall be fastened at |
each front and rear corner of the load. In addition, if any part of the load is more than 4 inches
wider than the width of load or vehicle at the front or rear, a flag shall be placed at the widesf
point of the load.

(d) Eabh flag shall be solid red or orange in color, and not less than 18 inches square.

(e) In order to wave freely, flags shall be securely fastened by at least one corner or

securely mounted on a staff.
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(4) SIGNS. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load, is more than 10 _fe;et Wide or
is overlength, 2 warning ;igns shall be displayed. One sign shall be fastened at the front of the
power unit and the other at either the rear of the towed unit or at the rear of the load.

(b) Each sign Shall state, in black letters on a yellow background, "OVERSIZE LOAD,"
and may not be less than 7 feet long and 18 inches high. The letters of the sign niay not be less
than 10 inches high with a brush stroke of not less than 1.4 inches.

(c) The sign message may not be displayed when the vehicle is not operating under the
permit. |

(5) HAZARD MARKERS. (a) When required by the conditions of a perrﬁit, black and
white or black and yellow diagonally striped reflectorized hazard markers, not less than 12 inches
wide by 36 inches high, shall be fastened to, or in front of and t?_ehind the load, so as to be fully
visible to traffic approaching from both the front and rear of the vehicle.

(b) All hazard markers shall be located at right angles to the centerline of the vehicle so
as to indicate the widest part of the load on each side of the vehicle.

Trans 254.11 TIMES OF OPERATION. (1) Except as otherwise speciﬁed in a permit,
a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load that is overweight, but not oversize, may opefatg 24 hours
a day, including weekends and holidays.

(2) Except as otherwise specified in a permit, no oversize vehicle or vehicie cofnbination
operating under a permit that is equal to or less than 12 feet in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, and
100 feet in length, may be operated: | |

(a) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Sunday.

(b) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Friday between the 4th Frida& in May and

Labor Day.
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(c) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on any holiday, or, when Independence Day falls
on Sunday, on the following Monday. | | |

(d) Between 4:00 p.m; and 11:00 p.m. on the day before any holiday, except that this
restriction does not apply to Independence Day when it falls on a Sunday.

(3) In additioh to the conditiéns provided in sub. (2), no oversize vehicle or vehicle
corﬁbination operating under a permit th_at e);ceeds 12 feet m width, 13 1/2 feet in height, or 100
feet inllength, may operate: | | |

(a) During the hours of darkness.

(b) During the period beginning at 12:00 nooﬁ on the day preceding and continuing until
sunﬁse on the day following every Sunday and holiday.

(4) In addition to the conditions provided in sub. (2) and: sub. (3), no oversize vehiclé or
vehicle combination may operate on any part of the Milwaul;eé county expressway system
constructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats., except on U.S. highway 45 between West Florist
Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and on interstate highway 94 between the Waukesha county
line and 108th Street:

() Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. and between 3:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. on Monday
through Thursday.

(b) Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. and between 3:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Friday
and Sunday.

(5) An issuing authority may issue a permit for times other than those specified in subs.
(D), @), (3), o‘r?(4), undei‘ extraordinary circumstances when, in the opinion of the issuing
authority, public health and welfare is better served, and may impoSe additional conditions to

promofe the safe operation of the vehicle and load.
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Tfans 254.12 ROUTE‘LIMI'.I‘ATIONS. (1) No vehicle, vehicle combination, or load
exceeding 16 feet in .width may be oberated or transported upon any portion of the national
system of interstate and defense highways unless the permit contains a special condition
aﬁthorizing movement »:yith a greater Width upon the interstate highway ‘system.

(2) No permit allowing the dimensions of a vehicle or load to exceed 11 feet iﬁ width,
13 1/2 feet in height or 100 feet in length is valid on any part of the Milwaukee county éxpress-
way system constructed_pufsuant to s. 59.965 , Stats., except on U.S. highway 45 between West
Florist Avenue and West Hémpton Avenue and on interstate highway 94 between the Waukesha
county line and 108th Street. |

3) Self-propélled, carry-all scrapers operating under a permit may not be operated on the
interstate highway system, the Milwaukee county expressway system, or on U.S. highway-41
between Green Bay and Milwaukee. |

(4) An oversize or overweight véhicle may n.ot be operated on a highway, whether loaded
or empty, at any time that the permit is not valid.

(5) A permit issued by the department for a movement which is partly on the state trunk
highway system and partly on other classes of highways is valid only on state highways.

Trans 254.13 POWER UNIT CHANGE. In the event of a breakdown or unavailability
of the power unit listed on the application and permit, another power unit may be substituted,
provided that the make and vehicle identification number, or license number and state, of the
substitute power unit are written on the permit. The issuing authority shall be advised by .
telephone prior to operating the substitute power unit with the oversize load. Changes in the
terms of the pérmit, other than the identification of the power unit, require a written request and

a written amendment to the permit authorizing the change. The driver of a vehicle operating
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ﬁnc_ier a_permit shall have thé amended permit in his or hei' possession pﬂor to the movement of
the load. |

| Trans 254.14 INSURANCE AND LIABILITY CONDITIONS. (1) In applying for and
‘accvepting a permit, a permittec .ag‘rees to: ' |
| (a) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resulting from operation
under the permit for which the permittee is legally responsible.

(b) Hold the state, its subdivisions, officers, employees and agents harmless from any
;:laim which may arise from operation over public highways under the permit.

(2) Whether or nc;t insurance, bond, or deposit as set forth in subsection ) is reqﬁired,
fhe permittee shall be liable for all damages which any highway or its appurtenances may sustain
by reason of any operation under the permit.

(3) An issuing authority may waive insurance requiremerits for permits issued to govern-
ment. -

(4) Where a certificate of insurance is required, no insurer may cancel the certificate of
insurance without providing the issuing authority 10 days advance written notice of the
cancellation. |

(5‘).An issuing authority may require a permittee to provide more bodily injury and
property damagé liaBility coverage than is set forth in sub. (6).

(6) The following insurance amounts are required:

(a) When the permitted load does not exceed 12 feet in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, or

100 feet in length and is not overweight by more than 25 percent:

Bodily injury liability-each person....... e $150,000  or $750,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident.......... ..$450,000 © combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $300,000 limit
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(b) When the permitted load exceeds the size or Weight limitations in par. (a):.

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $200,000 or $1,000,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $600,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $400,000 limit

(7) A permittee shall certify, and may be reqﬁired to present satisfactory written evidence,
that the amount of insurance coverage given in sub. (6), or 2 bond in a form satisfactory to the
issuing authority, will be in effect for the vehicle and load designated .in the permit while
operating on the public highway, unless this requirement is expressly waived by the issuiﬁg
authority. |

Trans 254.15 GENERAL CONDITIONS AND REQUIREMENTS. (1) A permittee
shall comply with all applicable statutes, ordinances, rules and policies of any state agency or
subdivision of the state, unless they are modified by the conditions of the permit.

(2) When a vehicle operating under a permit is ovérheigl;t, the permittee shall give prior
notice to the owners 6f overhead wires, cables, or other facilities which may be affected.

(3) A properly equipped escort vehicle as described in ch. Trans 252 shall accompany a
vehicle and load: |

~(a) When any part of a vehicle or load extends beyond the left of the roadway centerline .
on 2-way roadways,

(b) When any part of a vehicle of load extends beyond the left edge of the right hand lane
on highways with more than 2 lanes, or

(c) On a highway designated in the permit.

(4) A vehicle and load that does not require an escort vehicle may, when safe, move to
the left of the centerline or beyond the left lane line while crossing a bridge or railroad crossing,

but only after yielding to all other traffic.
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Trans 254.16 SPECIAL CONDITIONS (_1) When a load is transported under a permit,
the permittee may be required by an issuing authority to provide a traffic officer or flagperson
to direct traffic, 2 escorts, or police éscort. | |

(2) All loads 16 feet wide or wider shall have 2 préperly equipped escorts.

Trans 254.17 DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1). An
issuing authority may deny, suspend, or revoke a permit for good cause, pursuant to s.
348.25(7), Stats. Grounds for the denial, suspension,‘ or revocation of a permit include:

(a) Violation of any condition of a permit.

(b) Preventing an employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer from
performing his or her official duties, or inteffering witIn the lawful performance of his or her
duties.

(c) Physically assaulting an employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer
while pexlforming his or her official duties.

(d) Making a material misstatement in an application for a permit.

(e) Unauthorized alteration of a permit.

(f) Refusal or failure, without just cause, to produce required records.

(g) Payment of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this chapter.

(2) A permittee shall immediately return a suspended or revoked permit to the issuing
authority, after receiving notice from the issuing authority of the suspension or revocation of the

permit.

Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or permittee may request
a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats.
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CHAPI‘ER TRANS 255
MULTIPLE TRIP PERMITS FOR
OVERSIZE OR OVERWEIGHT VEHICLES OR LOADS

Trans 255.01 PURPOSE. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards and
procedures for the issuance of multiple trip oversize or oyerweight permits, pursuant to s.
348.27(2), Stats.

Trans 255.02 DEFINITIONS. (1) Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words and
phrases in ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 apply fo this chapter. |

(2) As used in this chapter:

(a) "Issuing authority" fneans the department of transportation.

(b) "Permit" means multiple trip oversize or overweight permits authorized under s.
348.27(2), Stats.

Trans 255.03_PERMIT APPLICATION. (1) An application for a permit Shall be
submitted to an issuing authority on a form approved by the department, and in accordance with
s. 348.27, Stats.

(2) An application for a permit for the use of a state trunk highway shall be made to the
department in any of the following ways:

(a) In‘ persen, at the department’s central or district offices.

(b) By mail, addressed to the department’s central office.

Note: Permit application procedures are in s. Trans 250.025.

Trans 255.04 PERMIT AMENDMENTS.F (1) An application for an amendment to a
permit shall be made to the issuing authority which issued the original permit.

(2) An application for an amendment may be made in the safne manner as an application

for an original permit.
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(3) The request shall specify the permit number of the pérmit to be amended.
Note: LimitzItions on the amendment of permits are in s. Trans. 250.10.
| Traris 255.05 : ELIGIBILITY. (1) Any vehicle or vehicle and' load to be ‘con'sidere‘d és 7

operating Undei' a permit shall satisfy requirements for a permIt imdcr 5. 348.25, .Stats. .

'(2) An -iséuihg authority may not issue a permit for mobile homes or camping trailers
under this chapter.r | | |

3 An issuing authority' may not issue a permit to transport loads or articles which could
‘}easonablby be divided In a manner as to allow. transporting of loads or érticles in 2 or more léads
that are not oversize or overweight, nor may the permit be issued for the transporting of more
than one arIicl‘e if the vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overweight.

Note: This section prohibits, among other things, the addition of an extra boom section to
a load that is transported under a permit for an overweight vehicle, load, or vehicle
and load. Transporting necessary blocking for a load, or transporting the necessary
blocking on an otherwise empty vehicle to and from the origin or destination of the
load, is not prohibited. _ E

4 Anvissuing authority may not issue a permIt for a vehicle and load exceeding 100 feet
in overall length when the rear supporting axle is at or near the rear of the load unless the rear
support is separately steered. |

(5) An issuing authority may issue a permit only for a vehicle equipped with pneumatic
tires.

(6) The issuance of a permit is not a guarantee of the sufficiency of any highway or
structure for the transporting of the vehicle, load, or vehicle and load.

(7) A permit may not authorize the operation of more than 2 vehicles in combination
except that a vehicle combination consisting of a truck-tractor and semi-trailer, operating under

a permit, may transport a 2-axle carry-all scraper with the axle of the scraper power unit resting
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on the bed of the sémi-trailer and the rear axle of the scraper resting on the roadway. The gross'l
weight of the rear axle of the scraper may not exceed 35,000 pounds.

“ Trans 255.06 VALIDITY. (1) A permit is valid only for the vehicle described in the
applieatien artd permit. |

| (2) An issuing authority may suspend a permit,. or any of 'its..conditions; becau‘se_ of

seasonal highway conditions. |

- (3)No vcondi.tion of a permit may modify any law or regulation limiting loads.‘because
ef local cenditiens, including load limits on bridges and -highways, seasonal weight rest_tictions,
or load timits imposed because of construction. |

(4) A permit is not valid during periods when adverse Weather or road condi.tions; such
as fog, smoke, heavy rain, snow or ice, or wind velocity, impair the safety of a movement under
the permit. .

(5) Operation under a permit includes the movement of an empty vehicle to and from the
place of pickup or delivery of the permitted load.

Trans 255.07 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle operating under a
permit shall be registered as required by Wisconsin Statutes, and shall be registered at not less
than the permit weight or at the maximum available registration weight, whichever is less.

(2) All other operational permits required by the department, the office of the commis-
sioner of transportation, or other agencies having jurisdiction shall be obtained.

Trans 255.08 DRIVER AND OPERATING REQUIREMENTS. (1)_The driver of a
vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the permit in the vehicle to which it applies and shall
have the permit available for in»spection by any police officer, representative of the issuing

~ authority, or person in charge of the maintenance of the highway being used.
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(2) The driver of a vehicié operating under a permit shall, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distance of not less than 1,000 feet between the permitted vehicle and any
vehicle the driver is following, unless actually engaged in overtaking and passing another vehicle.

(3) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall allow traffic approaching or
overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so. |

(4) The maximum speed of any vehicle with a load 16 feet or widér operating on high-
ways. without paved shoulders shall be 35 miles per hour.

~(5) Except as provided in sub."(4); or unless a lower speed is specified in the permit, a
vehicle operating under a permit may be operated at the posted speed limit.

(6) The right wheels of the towed unit may not leave the roadway, except to'allow traffic

to pass.

Note: - A "roadway" does not include paved or unpaved shoulders. s. 340.01(54), Stats.

Trans 255.09 MAXIMUM SIZE, WEIGHT AND LOADING LIMITATIONS. (1) The

maximum size, axle, axle combination, and total weight limitations authorized by a permit may
not be exceeded.
(2) Property transported under a permit shall be loaded to minimize its size and weight.
(3) An oversize vehicle used for transporting loads under a permit shall be reduced to

legal size whenever possible when being operated without load.
Note: Legal sizes are set forth in ch. 348 and s. 349.16, Stats.

(4) Aload tfansported under a permit may not extend beyond the front of the power unit,
beyond the left fender line of the transporting vehicle, or more than six inches beyond the right
fender of the transporting vehicle, unless the overhang is minimized by suitable positioning of

the load upon the vehicle.
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(5) Loads consisting of more than one article, none of which are oversize, may not be

transported under the permit.

(6) Vehicles and loads which, when reasonably divided, would not be oversize or over-

weight, may not be transported under the permit.

(7) Loads which, when reasonably repositioned on the transporting vehicle, would not be

oversize or overweight, may not be transported under the permit.

(8) Loads consisting of more than one article, one or more of which'are oversize; may
be transported under a permit ohly if:

(a) The vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is not overweight, and

(b) The other articles transported do not cause the vehicle and ‘load to be oversize in any

manner differently from the largest single article.

Note: For example, if a storage tank which is overwidth and overheight (blit not
overlength) is the single largest article transported, then a toolbox which is not
wider, and is not higher, and does not make the vehicle and load overlength or
overweight may also be transported.

However, a beam placed crosswise which makes the overall width wider than the
storage tank may not be transported as an additional article. Similarly, a beam

placed lengthwise which makes the vehicle and load overlength may not be transport-
ed as an additional article, ,

i

Finally, if the vehicle and load were overweight, then no additional article may be
transported.

(9) The load shall be properly secured and fastened to the transporting vehicle,
(10) Wheels on one side of a transporting vehicle may not carry more than 60% of the

total gross load.

Trans 255.10 EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS. (1) LIGHTING. An oversize‘véh-icle',

or a vehicle with an oversize load operating during the hours of darkness, shall be equipped with
the following additional lamps:

(a) For a vehicle with a load which extends beyond the width of the vehicle:
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1. At the outermost exfremity of the forerﬁost edge of the projecting load, an amber lamp
visible from the front and side.

2. Atthe o‘utermost extrerﬁity at the rearmost.edg.c of the projecting load, a red lamp
visible from the rear and side.

3. Any portion of an overwidth load extending beyond the wid‘th of the foremost or
rearmost edge of the vehicle or load shall be marked with an amber lamp visible from the front,
both sides, and rear.

4. If the overwidth portion of a load measures 3 feet or less from front to rear, that
bortion shall be marked with an amber lamp visible from the front, both sides and rear, except
that if the overwidth pfojection is locéted at or near the rear it shall be marked by a red lamp
visible from front, side and rear.

(b) For a vehicle with a load which extends more than 4 feet beyond the rear of the
vehicle:

1. On each side of the projecting load, one red lamp, visible from the side, located so
as to indicate maximum overhang. |

2. On thé rear of the projecting load, 2 red lamps, visible from the rear, one at each
side; and 2 red reflectors visible from the rear, one at each side, located so as to indicate
maximum width.

(¢) All required lamps shall be illuminated whenever a vehicle is operated during hours
of darkness. All lamps shall be visible at a distance of 500 feet. | | 7

(2) WARNING LAMPS. When required by a permit, warning lamps shali be operated
as follows:

(a) All amber flashing or revolving warning lamps shall have a reflector at least six inches
in diameter and shall be bright enough to be clearly visible and attention-attracting at a distance
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of SOO.Afeet under all conditions whén the load- is 6n the _highwéy, except when visibility is ob- |
structed by a hillcrest, a curve, or an object such as another vehicle.

(b) All wamning lamps shall flash at a rate of 30 to 90 times per minute.

(c) Strobe lamps may be used in lieu of flashing or revolving lamps.

(d) Warning lamps may not be operated when a vehicle is not operating under the permit.

(3) FLAGS. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overlength, a single flég
shall be fastened at the extreme rear of the load if the overlength or projecting portion is 2 feet
wide or less. |

(b) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overlength, 2 flags shall be‘ fastenéd at
the rear of the load to indicate maximum width if the overlength or projecting portion is wider
than 2 feet.

(c) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is ovemi&th, a flag shall be fastened at
each front and rear corner of the load. In addition, if any part of the load is moré than 4 inches
wider than the width of load or vehicle at the front or rear, then a flag shall be piaced at the
widest point of the load.

(d) Each flag shall be selid red or orange in color, and not less than 18 inches square.

(e) In order to wave freely, flags shall be securely fastened by at least one corner or
securely mounted on a staff.

(4) SIGNS. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is more than 10 feet widé' or
is overlength, 2 warning signs shall be displayed. One sign shall be fastened at the front of the
power unit and the other at either the rear of the towed unit or at the rear of the load. |

(b) Each sign shall state, in black letters on a yellow background, "OVERSIZE LOAD,"
and may not be less than 7 feet long and 18 inches high. The letters of the sign may not be less
than 10 inches high with a brush stroke of not less than 1.4 inches.

26



(c) The .sign. message may not be displayed when the vehicle is not operating under the
permit. |

6) HAZARD MARKERS. (a) When required by the conditions of a permit, black and
White or black and yellow diagonally striped reflectorized hazard markers, not less than 12 inches
Wide by 36 inches high, shall be fastened to, or in front of and behind the load, so as to be fully
visible to traffic approaching from both the front and rear of the vehicle.

(b) All hazard markers shall be locafed at right angles to the centerline of the vehicle so
as to indicate the widest part of the load on each side bf the vehicle.

Trans 255.11 TIMES OF OPERATION. (1) Except as otherwise specified in a permit, |
a véhicle, load, or vehicle and load that is overweight, but not oversize, may operate 24 hours
a day, including weekends and holidays.

(2) Except as otherwise specified in a permit, no oversize vehicle or vehicle combination
operating under a permit that is equal to or less than 12 feet in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, and
100 feet in length may operate:

@) Betwéen 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Sunday.

(b) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Friday betWeen the 4th Friday in May and
Labor Day.

(c) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on any holiday, or, when Independence Day falls
on Sunday, on the following Monday.

(d) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on the day before any holiday, except that this
restriction does not apply to Independence Day when it falls on a Sunday.

(3) In addition to the conditions‘provided in"sub. (2), no oversize vehicle or vehicle
combination operating under a permit that exceeds 12 feet in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, or 100
feet in length, may operate:
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(a) During the hours of darkness.

(b) During the period beginning at 12:00 noon on the day preceding and continuing until
sunrise on the day following every Sunday and holiday.

(4) In addition to the conditions provided in sub. (2) and sub. (3), no oversize vehicle or
vehicle combination may operate on any part of the Milwaukee county expressway system
constructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats., except on U.S. highway 45 between West Florist
Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and on interstate highway 94 between the Waukesha county
line and 108th Street:

@) Betweeﬁ 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. and between 3:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. on Monday
through Thursday. |

(b) Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. nor between 3:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on any
Friday and Sunday. ..

(5) An issuing authdr_ity may issue a permit for times other than those specified in subs.
(1), (2), (3), or (4), under extraordinary circumstances when, in the opinion of the issuing
authority, public health and welfare is better served, and may impose additional conditions to
promote the safe operation of the vehicle and load.

Trans 255.12 ROUTE LIMITATIONS. (1) No vehicle, vehicle combination, or load
e;(ceeding 16 feet in width, may be operated or trémsported upon any portion of the national
system of interstate and defense highways unless the permit contains a special condition
authorizing movement with a greater width upon the interstate highway system or portion
thereof.

(2) No permit allowing the dimensions of a vehicle or load tb exceed 11 feet in width,
13 1/2 feet in height or 100 feet in length is valid on any part of the Milwaukee county express-
Way system constructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats., except on U.S. highway 45 between West
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Florist Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and on interstate highway 94 between thé jWaukesha
county line and 108th Street.

(3) Self-propelled carry-all scrapers operating under a permit may not be operated on the
interstate highway system, the Milwaukee county expressway system, or on U.S. highway 41
from Green Bay to Milwaukee.

(4) An oversize or overweight vehicle may not be operated on a highway, whether loaded
or empty, at any time that the permit is not valid. |

(5) A permit authorizes thevu_se of any of the highways of the staté,A subject to the
limitations stated in the permit; |

(6) A permit is not valid for the operation of any vehicle upon class "B" highways, as
classified in accordance with s. 348.16, Stats., with gross weights exceeding those permitted by
statute on class "B" highways unless written permission has ﬁrs.t been obtained from the officer

in charge of the maintenance of the highway.

Trans 255.13 TRANSFERS. In the event of a breakdown or other‘ circumstance
requiring a change of the power unit identified on the permit, transfers to another ivehviclé, under
the control of the permittee, may be made following the »completion of a new applicafion‘ and the
issuance of a new permit. The wofds, "This is a transfer from permit ‘#_'," sha11 be written
on the bottom of the application. The original permit shall be sent to the issuing ahthoﬁty with
the transfer application. ;

Trans 255.14 INSURANCE AND LIABILITY CONDITIONS. (1) In app}yiné for and
accepting a permit, a permittee agrees to: :

(a) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resulting frém 6peration

under the permit for which the permittee is legally responsible.
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(b) Hold the state, its subdiv_isions, bfﬁcers,. employees émd agents harmless from any

claim which may arise from operation over public highways under the bermit.

| 2) Whether or not insurance, bohd, or deposit as set forth in subSeétion (7) is required,
the permittee shall be liable for all damages which any highway or its aﬁpurtenances may sustain
by reason of any operation under the permit.

(3) An issuing authority may waive insurance requirements for permits issued to govern-
.ment.

(4) Where a certificate of insurance is required, no insurer may cancel the certificate of
insurance withoﬁt providing the issuing authority 10 days advance written notice of the
cancellatioﬁ.

5) An issuing authority may require a permittee to provide more bodily injury damage
liability coverage than is set forth in sub. (6). |

(6) The following insurance amounts are required:

(a) When the permitted load does not exceed 12 feet in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, or
100 feet in length and is not overweight by more than 25 percent: |

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $150,000 or $750,000

Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $450,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident.......... $300,000 limit

(b) When the permitted load exceeds the size or weight limitations in par. (a):

‘Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $200,000 or $1,000,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $600,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident.......... $400,000 limit

(7) A permittee shall certify, and may be required to present satisfaétory written evidence,
that the amount of insurance coverage given in sub. (6), or a bond in a form satisfactory to the

issuing authority, will be in effect for the vehicle and load designated in the permit while
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operating on the public high_way; unless this requirement is expressly waived by the'issuing
authority. o _ | |

Trans 255.15 GENERAL COND_ITIONSAND REQUIREMENTS. (1) A permittee |
shall comply with all applicable statutes, ordinances, rules and policieé of any state agency or '
subdivisibn of the state, ﬁnless they are _modiﬁed by thé conditions of the permit.

'(2) When a vehicle Qperﬁting under a p_ermit is overheight, the permittee shall give prior
ngtice to the‘owners of 0vérhead wires, cablés, or other facilities which may be affected.’

(3) A properly equipped escdrt vehicle as described in ch. Trans 252, shall accompany
a vehicle and load: |

(a) When any part of a vehicle or load extends beyond the left of the roadway centerline
on 2-way roadways,

(b) When any bart of a vehicle or load, ex;ends beyond. the left edge of the right hand
lane on higlhways‘ with more than 2 lanes, or |

(c) On a highway designated in the permit.

(4) A vehicle and load that does not require an escort vehicle may, when safe, move to
the left of the centerline or beyond the left lane line while crossing a bridge or railroad crossing,
but only after yielding to all other traffic. |

Trans 255.16 'DENIAL SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1) An

issuing authority may deny, suspend, or revoke a permit for good cause, pursuant to
s. 348.25(7), Stats. Grounds for the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit include:
(a) Violation of any condition of a permit.
(b). PreVenting an employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer frpm
performing his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful performance of his or her
duties.
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(© Physicaliy _asséulting an employee of an iSsuing» authority or a law enforcement officer
while per_formiﬂg his or her official duties.

(ci) Makir'lgba méterial Ihisstatement in an application for a permit.

(e) Unéuthorized iltefation of a pérmit;

(f) Refusal or failure, without just cause, to produce reciuired records.

(g) Péyment of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) _Vic.)lationr of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this chapter.

(2) A permittee shall immediately return a suspended or revoked permit to the'iss_ixing '

authority after receiving notice from the issuing authority of the suspension or revocation of the

permit.
Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or permittee may request

a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats.
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CHAPTER TRANS 256
SINGLE TRIP TRAILER-TRAIN PERMITS

Trans 256.01 PURPOSE. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards and
procedures for the issuance of single trip trailer-train permits, pursuant to s. 348.26 (3), Stats._

Trans 256.02 DEFINITIONS. (1) Unless otherwise stated, the def_initions‘of words and
phrases in ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 apply to this chapter.

(2) As used in this chapter:

(a) "Issuing authority"” mean§ the department of transportation, or the officer in charge
of maintenance of local highways.

Note: The officer in charge of maintenance of local highways varies from jurisdiction to
Jlll'lSdlCthl‘l and may include the county highway commissioner; the city, town or
village engineer; and the head of a city, town, or vnllage transportation or public
works departmment, or other person.

(b) "Permit" means single trip trailer-train permits authorized under s. 348.26 (3), Stats.
Trans 256.03 PERMIT APPLICATION. (1) An application for a permit' shall be
| submitted to an issuing authority on a form approved by the department, and in accordance with
s. 348.26, Stats.

(2) An application for a permit for the use of a state trunk highway shall be made to the
department in any of the following ways:

(a) In person, at the department’s central or district ofﬁcés.

(b) By mail, addressed to the department’s central office.

(c) By the telephone call-in procedure, described in ch. Trans 275.

(d) By authorized permit service.
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(3) An application for a permit for the use of a highwﬁy maintained by zi local authority‘
shall be submitted to the ﬁpplicable local authority in the mannér prescribed by the local
authority. An application for a permit for the use of a state trunk highway within the
geographical boundaries of a local authority shall be submitted to the applicable local authority

in the manner prescribed by the local authority.

Note: Permit application procedures are in s. Trans 250.025.

Trans 256.04 PERMIT AMENDMENTS. (1) An application for an amendment to a
permit shall be mﬁde to the issuing authority which issﬁed the original permit.

(2) An application for an amendment may be made in the same manner as an application
for an oﬁginal permit.

(3) The request shall specify the permit number of the permit to be amended.

(4) A request for an extension of a permit may be made.:;my time until the 3rd day after
the expiration date of the permit.

(5) An issuing authority may grant only one extension to a permit.

(6) Except as provided in sub. (7), a permit issued for less than 2 weeks may be extended
not more than 2 weeks.

(7) An issuing authority may extend a permit not more than 2 additional weeks where
highway or other conditions remain unchanged, or as the issuing-authority deems necessary.

Note: Limitations on the amendment of permits are in s. Trans 250.10.

Trans 256.05 ELIGIBILITY. (1) Any vehicle or vehicle and load to be considered as
operating under a permit shall satisfy the requirements for a permit under s. 348.25, Stats.

(2) An issuing authority may issue a permit for empty trailer trains that are not reasonably
divisible for purposes.of movements to or from vehicle manufacturing, maintenance, repair,

staging or terminal facilities.
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(3) An issuing authority may not issue a permit for wagons-bused‘in connection with
seasonal agricultural industries.

(4) A permit may not authorize the operation of more than 3 vehicles in combination.

(5) An issuing authority may issue a pefmit only for a vehicle equipped with pneumatic
tires.

(6) The issuance of a permit is not a guarantee of the sufficiency of any highway or
structure for ,the transporting of the vehicle, load, or vehicle and load.

Trans 256.06 VALIDITY. (1) A permit is valid only for the route specified in the
permit, which may include the return trip on the reverse route if requested and approved, and
which includes the movement of the empty .vehicle, vwhether or not oversize or overweight, to
and from the place of pickup or delivery of the permitted load.

(2) A permit is valid only for the vehicle described in tile application and permit.

(3) A permit is valid only on the route specified in the permit.

(4) An issuing authority may suspend a permit, or any of its conditions, because of

seasonal highway conditions.

Note: Examples of seasonal highway conditions include spring thaw, flooding, and traffic
congestion.

(5) No condition of a permit may modify any law or regulation limiting loads because
of local conditions, inclﬁding load limits on bridges and highways; seasonal weight restrictions,
or .load limits imposed because of construqtion. |

(6) A permit is not valid during periods when adverse weather or road conditions, such
as fog, smoke, heavy rain, snow or ice, or wind velocity, impair the safety-of a movement under

the permit.
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(7) A permit may not be used in combina?ionl with a multiple tnp permit to authorize the’
movement of an oversizé vehicle, load, or vehicle and load.

Trans 256.07 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle operating under a
permit shall be registered as required by Wisconsin Statutes, aﬁd shall be registered at not less
- than the permit weight or at the maximum available registration weight, whichever is less.

(2) All other operational permits required by the department, the office of the commis-
sioner of transportation, or other agencies having jurisdiction shall be obtained.

Trans 256.08 DRIVER AND OPERATING REQUIREMENTS. (1) The driver of a
vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the perrﬁit in the vehicle to which it applies and shall |
have the permit available for inspection by any police officer, representative of the issuing
authority, or person in charge of the maintenance of the highway being used.

(2) The driver of a vehicle operating under av permit ;hall, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distémce of not less than 1,000 feet between the vehicle with the permit
and any vehicle the driver is following, unless actually engaged in overtaking and passing another
vehicle.

(3) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall allbw traffic approaching or
overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so.

(4) Unless a lower speed is specified in the permit, a vehicle operating under a permit
rﬁay be operated at the posted speed limit.

(5) The right wheels of the towed unit may not leave the roadway, except to allow traffic

to pass.

Note: A "roadway" does not include paved or unpaved shoulders. s. 340.01(54), Stats.
Trans 256.09 MAXIMUM SIZE AND LOADING LIMITATIONS. (1) The maximum

size limitations authorized by a permit may not be exceeded.
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2) Thé .totalnlength of trailer-trains consisting of. truck-tractors, tractors, trailers, or semi-
trailers opefating 'under the terms of a permit, and the number of vehicles in the trailer-train
authorized by the issuing authority may not be exceeded.

_ (3) The overzﬁl length of the train of vehicles ﬁay not exceed lOO feet.

@) No vehicle in a trailer-train may be overheight or overwidth. )

" Trans 256.10 FLAG REQUIREMENTS. (1) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load
is }oy'erlex.lgth, 2 flags shal.l.'be fastened at the rear corners of the vehicle.
(2) anh flag shall be solid red or orange in color, and not less than 18 inchesl_square.

(3) In order to wave freély, flags shall be securely fastened by at least one corner or
securely mounted on a staff.

Trans 256.11 TIMES OF OPERATION. (1) Except as otherwise specified in a permit,
no vehicle or vehicle combination operaéirig under a permit ma.y operate:

(@) Béfween 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Sunday.

() Bet§veen 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Friday between the 4th Friday in May and
Labor Day.

(c) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on any hbliday, or, when Independence Day falls
on Sunday, on the following Monday. |

(d) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on the day before any holiday, except that this
restriction does not apply to Independence Day when it falls on a Sunday.

(2) An issuing authority may issue a permit for times other than those specified in sub.
(1), under extraordinary circumstances when, in the opinion of the issuing authority, public
health and welfare is better served, and may impose additional conditions necessary to promote

the safe operation of the vehicle and load.
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‘Trans 256.12 ROUTE LIMITATIONS. (1) A permit issued by the department for al
' mbvemént which is partly on the state trunk highway system and partly on other classes of
" highways is valid only on state trﬁnk highwayS. ,

(2) An oversize vehicle or vehicle-train may not be operéted on Va vhighWay' ;1t any tixﬁe |
that a permit is not valid. | | |

Trans 256.13 POWER UNIT CHANGE. In the event of a breakden or unavailability
of thé~p§wer' unit listed on the application and permit, another power uhi_t may be substituted,
provided that the make and vehicle identification number, or license number and state, of the
substitute power unit are written on the permit. The issuing autvhorityr snail be advised by
telephone pfior to operating the substitute power unit with the oversize load. Changesbin the
terms of the permit, othér than the identification of the power unit, require a written request and
a written amendment to the permit authorizing the change. Tl.l'e driver of a vehicle operating
under a permit shall have the amended permit in his or her possession prior to the movement of
the load. _

Trans 256.14 INSURANCE AND LIABILITY CONDITIONS. (1) Inapplying for ahd
accepting a permit, a permittee agrees to:

(a) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resulting from oberation ‘
under the permit for which the permittee is legally responsible.

(b) Hold the state, its subdivisions, officers, employees and agents harmless from any
claim which may arise from operation over public highways under the permit.

(2) Whether or not insurance, bond, or deposit as set forth in sub. (7) is required, the
permittee shall be liable for all damages which any highway or its appurtenances may sustain by

reason of any operation under the permit.
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(3) An issuing authority may waive insurance requirements for permits issuéd to go?gm-
ment.

(4) Where a certificate of insurance is required, no insurer may cancel the certiﬁc_até of.
insurance without providing the issuing authority 10 days advance written notice c;f the
cancellation,

(5) An issuing authority may require a permittee to provide more bodily injury ahd
property damage liability coverage than is set forth in sub. (6).

(6) The following insurance amounts are required:

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $150,000 or $750,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $450,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $300,000 limit

(7) A permittee shall certify, and may be required to present satisfactory written evidence,
that the amount of insurance coverage given in sub. (6), or a b(.md in a form satisfactory to the
issuing authbrity, will be in effect for the vehicle and load designated in the permit while
operating on a public highway, unless this requirement is expressly waived by the issuing
authority. .

Trans 256.15 GENERAL CONDITIONS AND REQUIREMENTS. A permittee shall
comply with all applicable statutes, ordinances, rules and policies of any state agency .or

subdivision of the state, unless they are modified by the conditions of the permit.

Trans 256.16 DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1) An
issuing authority may deny, suspend, or revoke a permit for good cause, pursuant‘ to
s. 348.25(7), Stats. Grounds for the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit include:

(a) Violation of any condition of a permit.

39



®) Preventing an employee of an issuing authoﬁfy or a laW ehforcément officer from
performing his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful performéhce of his or her
duties.

(c) Physically assaulting an employee of an issuing authority or a law énforcément officer
while performing his or her official duties.

(d) Making a material misstatement in an application for a permit.

~ () Unauthorized alteration of a permit.

(f) Refusal or failure, without just cause, to produce required records.

(g) Payment of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this chapter.

(2) A permittee shall immediately return a suspended or revoked permit to the issuing
authority after receiving notice from the issuing authority of theJ .suspension or revocation of the
. permit.

Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or permittee may request
a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats. ; '
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CHAPTER l'IfRANS 257
POLE AND PIPE TRANSPORTATION PERMITS

Trans 257.01 PURPOSE, The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards vand
procedures for the issuance of pole and pipe transportation permits, pursuant to s. 348.27(5),
Stats. | | |

Trans 257,02 DEFINITIONS. (1) Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words and
phrases in ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 appty to this chapter.

2) A»s used in this chapter: |

(a) "Issuing authority” means the department of transportation.

®) "'Permit" means pole and pipe transportation permits authorized under s. 348.27(5),
Stats.

Trans 257.03 PERMIT APPLICATION. (1) An apﬁlication for a permit shall be
submitted to an issuing authority on a form approved by the department, and in aceordance with
s. 348.27, Stats.

(2) An application for.a permit for the use of a. state trunk highway shall be made to the
department in any of the following ways:

(a) In person, at the department’s central or district offices.

(b) By me.il, addressed to the department’s central office.

Note: Permit application procedures are in s. Trans 250.025.

Trans 257.04 ELIGIBILITY. (1) Any vehicle or vehicle and load to be considered as
operating under a permit shall satisfy the requirements for a permit under s. 348.25, Stats.

(2) An issuing authority may issue a permit only to: -

(a) Public service corporations.

(b) Pipeline companies or operators.
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©) Municipé.l utilities.

'(d) Public utility cooperatives.

(3) An issuing authority may not issue a permit to a contractor, or to the owner of a
vehicle under lease to, any of the business ehtities listed in sub. (2). |

(4) An issuihg authority may issue a permit only for articles which are overlength.'

(5) A permit may not authorize the operation of more than 2 vehicles in combinatiori,

(6) An issuing authority may issu¢ a permit only for a thicle equipped with pneumatic -
tires. |

(7) A permit is not a guafantee of the sufficiency of any highway br' structure for the
transporting of the vehicle, load, or vehicle and load. |

Trans 257.05_VALIDITY. (1) An issuing authority may suspend a permit, or any of}its |
conditions, because of seasonable highway conditions. | |

Note: Examples of seasonal highway conditions include spring thaw, flooding, and traffic
congestion.

(2) No condition of a permit may modify any law or regulation limiting loads because
of local conditions, including load limits on bridges and highways, seasonal weight restrictions,
or load limits imposed because of construction.

(3) Operation under a permit includes the movement of an empty vehicle, to and from
the place of pickup or delivery of the permitted load.

Trans 257.06 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle operating under a-
permit shall be registered as required by Wisconsin statutes, and shall be registered at not less
than the permit weight or at the rﬁaximum aQailable fegistration weight, whichever is less.

(2) All other operational permits required by the department, the office of the commis-

sioner of transportation, or other agencies having jurisdiction shall be obtained.
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Trans 257.07 DRIVER AND OPERATING REQUIREMENTS. (1) The driver of a

vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the permit in the vehicle to which it applies and shall
have the permit ‘available for inspection by any ‘police officer, representative of the issuing
authority, or person in charge of the maintenance of the highway being used.

(2) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distance of not less than 1,000 feet between the vehicle with the permit
and any vehicle the driver is following, unless actually engaged in overtaking and passing another
-vehicle.

(3) The driver of a véhicle operating under a permit shall allow traffic approaching or
- overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so.

)] Unless.a lower speed is specified in the permit, a vehicle operating under a permit
- may be operated at the posted speed limit. |
(5) The right wheels of the towed unit may not leave the roadway, except to allow traffic

to pass.

Note: A "roadway" does not include paved or unpaved shoulders. s. 340.01(54), Stats.

Trans 257.08 MAXIMUM SIZE AND LOADING LIMITATIONS. (1) The maximum
sizé limitations authorized by a permit may not be exceeded.

(2) Property transported under a permit shail bé loaded to minimize its size and weight.

(3) An oversize vehicle used for transporting loads under a permit shall be reduced to

legal size whenever possible when being operated without load.
Note: Legal sizes are set forth in ch. 348 and s. 349.16, Stats.

(4) A load transported under a permit may not extend beyond the front of the power unit,

beyond the left fender line of the transporting vehicle, or more than six inches beyond the right
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~ fender of the transporting vehicle, unless the overhang is minimized by suitable positioning ot"

the load upon the vehicle.

(5) Loads consisting of more than one article, none of which are oversize, may not be
transported under the permit.

(6) Vehicles and loads which, when reasonably divided, would not be oversize or over-
weight, may not be transported under the permit.

(7) Loads which, when reasonably repositioned on the transporting vehicle would not be
oversize or overweight., may not be transported under the permit.

(8) Loads consisting of more than one article, one or more of which are oversize, may

be transported under a permit only if:
(a) The vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is not overweight, and
(b) The additional articles transported do not cause the 'vehicle and load to be oversize

in any manner'differently form the largest single article.

_ Note:  For example, if a storage tank which is overwidth and overheight (but not
overlength) is the single largest article transported, then a toolbox which is not
wider, and is not higher, and does not make the vehicle and load overlength or
overweight may also be transported.,

However, a heam placed crosswise which makes the overall width wider than the
storage tank may not be transported as an additional article, Similarly, a beam
placed lengthwise which makes the vehicle and load overlength may not be transport-
ed as an additional article,

Finally, if the vehicle and load were overweight, then no additional article may be
transported.

(9) The load shall be properly secured and fastened to the transporting vehicle.
(10) Wheels on one side of a transporting vehicle may not carry more than 60% of the

total gross load.
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Trans 257.09 EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS. (1) LIGHTING. An overlength

vehicle or load, operating during the hours of darkness, which extends mére than 4 feet beyond
the rear of the vehicle shall be equipped with the followihg additibnal .'lamps.'

(a) On each side of the projecting load, one red lamp, visiblé from the side, located so
as to indicate maximum overhang.

(b) On the rear of the projecting load, 2 red lamps, visible from. the rear, one at each
side; and 2 red reflectors visible from the rear, one at each side, located so as to indicate -
maximum width.

© ‘All required lamps shall be illuminated whenever the vehicle is operated during hours
of darkness. All lamps shall be visible at a distance of 500 feet.

(2) FLAGS. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and !oad is overlength, a single flag
shall be fastened at the extreme rear of the load if the overlengtlh or projecting portion is 2 feet
wide or less.

(b) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle; and load is overlength, 2 flags shall b¢_ fastened at
the rear of the load to indicate maximum width if the overlength or :proljecting portion is wider
than 2 feet.

(¢) Each flag shall be solid red or orange in color, and not less thﬁn 18 inches square.

(d) In order to wave freely, flags shall be securely fastened by at least one corner or
securely mounted on a staff.

Trans 257.iO TIMES OF OPERATION. Except as otherwise :sﬁeciﬁed in a permit, a
vehicle or vehicle combination operating under a permit may operate 24 ﬁours a day, including

weekends and holidays.
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Trans 257.11 ROUTE LIMITATIO_NS. (1) A permit issued by an issuing authority
authorizes the use of any of the highways_ in the staté, sﬁﬂjwt to the limitations stated.in the
permit. |

(2) No permit, allowing the dimensions of a vehicle or load to exceed 11 feet in width,
13 1/2 feet in height, or 100 feet in length, is valid on any part of the Milwaukee county
expréssway system constructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats. ,-except on U.S. highway 45 between
West Florist Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and from the West end of the expressway to
108th Street. | |

(3) An overlength vehicle may not be operated on the highway, whether loaded or empty,
at any time that a permit is not valid.

Trans 257.12 GENERAIL CONDITIONS ANb REQUIREMENTS. A permittee shall
comply with all applicable of the statutes, ordinances, rules and policies of any state agency or
subdivision of the state, unless they are modified by the conditions of the permit.

Trans 257.13 DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1) An
issuing authority may deny, suspend, or revoke a permit for gbod cause, pursuant to
s. 348.25(7), Stats. Grounds for the denial, suspension, ‘or‘revocation of a permit iné:lude:

(a) Violation of any condition of a permit. |

(b) Preventing an employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer from
performing his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful performance of his or her
duties.

(c) Physically assaulting an employee of an issuing éu_thority or a law enforcement officer
while performing his or her official duties.

(d) Making a material misstatement in an application for a permit.

(e) Unauthorized alteration of a permit.
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(t) Refusal or failﬁre, without just cause, to produce required records.

(g) Payment of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or thiS chapter. o

(2) A permittee sﬁ‘ai_l immediately femm a suspendeci or revoked perﬁ)it to the iSsuing'
a_ﬁthority after receiving notice from the issuing authofity of the suspension ‘or revocation 6f fhe;

permit.

Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or permittee may request
‘ - a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
" 348.25(9), Stats.
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- SECTION 6. Chapters Trans 259 to 262 are created to read:
CHAPTER TRANS 259
RAW FOREST PRODUCTS, FRUITS OR VEGETABLES PERMITS
.Tran§‘ 259,01 PURPOSE. The purpose of this chapter is to esta'blish‘standard‘s and
procedures for the issuance of raw foreSt product#, fruits or Vegétablés permits, pursuant to s.

- 348.27(9m), Stats.

‘Trans 259.02 DEFINITIONS. (1) Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words and

| phrases bin ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 apply to this _ch:ipter.
| (2) As used in this chapter: |

(a) "Fruit or vegetable" means the edible part of a .plant cultivated for humén bconsumption
and the inedible part of plants which are commonly harvested and sold with the edible part, and
includes sweet corn but does not include field corn, grains, nugs, herbs, and spices.

| (b) "Issuing authority” means department of transportation.

(c) "Permit" means raw forest, fruits or vegetables permits authorized under s.
348.27(9m), Stts.

(d) "Raw forest products” means forest products not altered by a manufacturing procéss
off the land from which they are taken, and includes logs, pilings, posts, poles and cordwbod'
products, pulpwood, fuel wood and Christmas trees.

Trans 259.03 PERMIT APPLICATION. (1) An application for a permit shall be
submitted to an issuing authority on a form approved by the department, and in accordance with
s. 348.27, Stats.

(2) An application for a permit for the use of a state trunk highway shall be made to the

department in any of the following ways:
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(a) In person, at the department’s central or district offices.

(b) By mail, addressed to the department’s central office. .

Note: Permit application procedures are iﬁ s. Trans 250.025.

Trans 259.04 ELIGIBILITY. (1) Any vehicle or vehicle and load to be considered as
operating under a permit shall satisfy the requirements for a permit under s. 348.25, Stats.

(2) An issuing authority may issue a permit only for an overweight vehicle or an
overweight vehicle combination.

(3) A permit may be issued for the transportation of raw forest products only from the
land on which they are cut but not from another location where they are further altered by any
nianufa&uﬁrig process. Operation under a permit may include movement from a 10¢ati6n where
raw forest products are stored but not processed.

(4) A permit may be issued for the trahsportation of fn;its or vegetables from the field
to storage .o,r processing facilities.

(5) An issuing authority may issue a permit only for a vehicle equipped with pneumatic
tires.

(6) A permit is not a guarantee of the sufficiency of any highway or structure for the
transporting of the vehicle, load, or vehicle and load.

Trans 259.05 VALIDITY. (1) A permit is valid only for the vehicle described in the

application and permit.

(2) No condition of a permit may modify any law or regulation limiting loads because
of local conditions, including load limits on bridges and highways, seasonal weight restrictions,
or load limits imposed because of construction.

(3) An issuing authority may suspend a permit, any of its conditions, due to seasonal

highway conditions.
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Note: Examples of seasonal highway conditions include spring thaw, flooding, and traffic
congestion. ‘

(4) Operation under a permit includes the movement of an empty vehicle to and from the
place of pickup or delivery of the permitted load.

Trans 259.06 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle or operating under
a permit shall be registered as required by Wisconsin statutes, and shall be registered at not less
than the permit weight or at the maximum available registration weight, whichever is less.

| (2) All other operational permits required by the department, the office of the commis-
sioner- of transportation, or other agéncies having jurisdiction shall be obtained.

Trans 259.07 DRIVER AND OPERATING REQUIREMENTS. (1) The driver of a
vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the permit in the vehicle to which it applies and shall
have the permit available for inspection by any police officer, representative of the issuing
authority, or person in charge of the maintenance of the highwéy being used.

(2) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distance of not less than 1,000 feet between the vehicle with the permit
and any vehicle the driver is following, unless actually engaged in overtaking and passing another
vehicle.

(3) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall allow traffic approaching or
overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so.

(4) Unless a lower speed is specified in the permit, vehicle operating under a permit may
be operated at the posted speed limit.

(5) The right wheels of the towed unit may not leave the roadway, except to allow traffic

to pass.

Note: A "roadway" does not include paved or unpaved shoulders. s. 340.01(54), Stats.
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Trans 259.08 MAXIMUM SIZE, WEIGHT AND LOADING LIMITATIONS. (1) The
maximum axle, axle combination, and total weight lirhitations authorized by a permit may not
be exceeded.

(2) Wheels on one side of Ihe transporting vehicle may not carry more than 60% of th¢

total gross load.

Trans 259.09 TIMES OF OPERATION. Except as otherwise speciﬁed in a permit, a

vehicle, load, or vehicle and load that is overweight may operate 24 hours a day, including
weekends and holidays.

Trans 259.10 ROUTE LIMITATIONS. A permit is valid on all public highways in the
state whicII are not posted for ‘weight limits, except that a permit is not valid on the national

system of interstate and defense highways.

Trans 259.11 TRANSFERS. In the event of a breékdown or other circumstance
requiring a change of the power unit identified on the permit, transfers to another vehicle, under
the control of the permittee, may be made following the completion of a new application and the
issuance of a new permit. The words, "This is a transfer from permit #___," shall be written
on the bottom of the application. The original permit shall be sent to the issuing authority with
the transfer application.

Trans 259.12 INSURANCE AND LIABILITY CONDITIONS. (1) Irapplying for and
accepting a permit, a permittee agrees to:

(2) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resulting from operation
under the permit for which the permittee is legally responsible.r |

(b) Hold thé state, its subdivisions, officers, employees and agents harmless from any

claim which may arise from operation over public highways under the permit.
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(2) Whether or not insurance, bond, or deposit as set forth in sub. (7) is required, the

permittee shall be liable for all damage which any highway or its appurténances may sustain by
-reason of any operation under the permit.

(3) An issuing authority may waive insurance requirements for permits issixéd to govern-
ment.

(4) Where a certificate of insurance is required, no insurer may cancel the certificate of
insurance without providing the issuing authority 10 days advance written notice of the
cancellation. |

(5) An issuing authority may réquire a permittee to provide more bodily injury damage
liability coverage than is set forth in sub. (6).

(6) The following insurance amounts are required:

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $150,000  or $750,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident.......... ..$450,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........$300,000 limit

(7) A permittee shall certify, and may be required to present satisfactory written evidence,
that the amount of insurance coverage given in sub. (6), or a bond in a form satisfactory to the
issuing authority, will be in effect for the vehicle and load designated in the permit while
operating on the public highway, unless this requirements is expressly waived by the issuing
authoritj.

Trans 259.13 GENERAL CONDITIQNS AND REQUIREMENTS. A permittee shall
comply with all applicable statutes, ordinances, rules and policies of any state agency or
subdivision of the state, unless they are modified by the conditions of the permit.

Trans 259.14 DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1) An
issuing authority may deny, suspend, or revoke a permit for good cause, pursuant to
s. 348.25(7), Stats. Grounds for the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit include:
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'(a) Violation of any condition of a permit.

' (b) Preventing an employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement ofﬁcér from
‘ ‘performing his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful >performance of his or her
duties. | | | | | | |

(c) Physically assaulting an employee of an issuing. authority or arlawr e_:nforcement officer
while performing his or‘her'ofﬁcial duties.

(d) Méiéing a material misstatement in an application for a permit. - -

" (e) Unauthorized alteration of a permit. |

(f) Refusal ér failure, without just cause, to produce required recordé;

(2 Rayment‘of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this chapter.

(2) A permittee shali immediately return a suspended c;r revoked permit to the issuing
'authority, after receiving notice from the issuing authority of the suspension or revocation of the

permit.

Note; If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or pennitteé may request
a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats.
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CHAPTER TRANS 260
SINGLE TRIP PERMITS FOR

MOBILE HOMES AND MODULAR BUILDING SECTIONS

Trans 260.01 PURPOSE. The purpose of this chapter is to establish Standards and
procedures for the issuance of single trip mobile home and modular bﬁilding sectioh permits,
pursuant to 348.26(4), Stats. |

Trahs 260.02 DEFINITIONS. (1) Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words and
phrases in ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Trans 25002 apply to this chapter.

"(2) As used in this chapter: .

(a) "Issuing authority” means the department of transportation.

(b) "Permit" means single trip mobile home and modular building section permits
authorized under s. 348.26(4), Stats.

Trans .2§0.03 PERMI;I" APPLICATION. (1) An application for a permit shall be
submitted to an issuing authority on a form approved by the department, and in accordance with
sl. 348.26, Stats.

(2) An application for a permit for the use of a state trunk highway .shall be made fo the
department in any of the following ways: : o

(a) In person, at the department’s central or district offices.

(b) By mail, addressed to the department’s central office.

(c) By the telephone call-in procedure, described in ch. Trans 275.

(d) By authorized permit service.

Note: 7 Permit application procedures are in s. Trans 250.025.

Trans 260.04 PERMIT AMENDMENTS. (1) An application for an amendment to a

permit shall be made to the issuing authority which issued the original permit.
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(2) An application for an amendment may be made in the same manher-"as an application
for an original permit.

(3) The request shall specify the permit number of the permit to be amended.

(4) A request for an extension of a permit may be made any time until the 3rd day after
the expiration date of the permit. ‘

. (5) An issuing authority may grant only one extension to a permit.

(6) Exéept as provided in sub. (7), a permit issued foi‘ less Ithan 2 weeks‘may be extended
not more than 2 weeks. :

(7) An isSuing authority may extend a permit not more than 2 additional weeks where

highway or other conditions remain unchanged, or as the issuing authority deems necessary.
Note: Limitations on the amendment of permits are in s. Trans 250.10.

Trans 260.05 ELIGIBILITY. (1) Any vehicle or vehihle and load to be considered as
opefating under a permit shall satisfy the requirements fdr a permit under s. 348.25, Stats.

(2) A permit is not a guarantee of the sufficiency of any highway or structure for the
transpo;‘ting of the vehicle, load, or vehicle and load. |

(3) A permit may not authorize the operation of more than 2 vehicles in‘ combination.

Trans 260.06 VALIDITY. (1) A permit is valid only for the route ‘si)eciﬁed in the
permit, which may include the return trip on the reverse route if requested and approved, and
which includes the movement of the empty vehicle, whether or not oversize or‘overweight, to
and from the place of pickup or delivery of the permitted load. |

(2) A permit may not be used in combination with a multiple trip permit‘;to authorize the
movement of an oversize load.

(3) A permit is valid only for the vehicle described in the application and permit.
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(4) An issuing authority may suspend a permit, or any of its conditions, because of

seasonal highway conditions.

.Note: Examples of seasonal highway conditions include spring thaw, flooding, and traffic
congestion, :

(5) No condition of a permit may modify any law or regulation limiting loads because
of local conditions, including load limits on bridges and highways, seasonal weight restrictions,
or load limits imposed because of construction. |

(6) A permit is not valid during periods wheh adverse wéathér or road conditions, such
as fog, smoke, heavy rain, show or ice, or wind velocity, ifnpair the safety of a movement under
the permit. |

N

Trans 260.07 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle operating under a

permit shall be registered as required by Wisconsin statutes, and shall be registered at not iéss
than the permit weight or at the maximum availableregiétration .weight, whichever is less.

(2) All other operational permits required by the department, the office of the commis-
sioner of transportation, or other agencies having jurisdictiop sh;clll be obtained.

Trans 260.08 DRIVER AND OPERATING REQUEIREMENTS. (1) The driver of a
vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the permit in the vehiclg to which the permit applies
and shall have the permit available for inspection by émy polic_eiéfﬁcer, representative of the
issuing authority, or person in charge of maintenance of the high\&ay being used.

(2) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shail, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distance of not less than 1,000 feet betwee;n the vehicle with the permit
and any vehicle the driver is foHowing, unless actually engaged ip o:vertaking and passing another

vehicle,
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(3) The driver of a vehicle opetating under a permit shall allow traffic approaching or
overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so.

(4) Unless a lower spéed is specified in the permit, a vehicle operating under a permit
may be operated at the posted speed limit.

| Trans 260.09 MAXIMUM SIZE AND I;OADING LIMITATIONS. (1) A mobile home
or modular building section may extend beyond the front, the left and right sides, and the rear
of the undercarriage, if the errhang is minimized.

(2) Wheels on one side of a transporting vehicle may not carry more ﬁhan 60% of the
total gross load.

3) The width authorized by a permit refers to the outside-to-outside dimension of the
walls of the towed unit. Windowsills, door knobs, and other.hardware, clearance lights and
other similar proti'usions may extend not mbre than siﬁ( inches beyond the walls of thé towed
unit.

(4) A permit issued for a towed unit having an outside-to-outside dimension of the walls
not exceeding 14 feet plus roof overhang of not more than‘ 2 feet on the right side of the towed
unit are subject to the permit conditions applying to 14 foot wide mobile homes and modular
building sections.

(5) A permit issued for a towed unit having an outside-fo-éutside dimension .of the walls
not exceeding 14 feet plus roof overhang of not more than 2 feet on the left sidé of the towed
unit are subject to the conditions applying to 16 foot wide mobile homes and modular building
sections.

(6) A permit issued for a towed unit having an outside-to-outside dimension of the walls

not exceeding 14 feet plus roof overhang of not more than 6 inches on each side of the towed
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unit are subject to thé p.ermit.convditions applying to 14 foot wide mobile homes and modular
building sections. | |

(7) The total overall width, the totai wall-to-wall widthr,‘ and the tofal wall-to-wall a.nd.
roof overhang dimensions shall be given in the application for a permit. |

(8) Vehicles and loads which when reasonably divided .would notv be oversize or over-
weight may not be transported under the permit. |

(9) Loads which, when reasonably repositioned on the msmmng vehicle, wo'ﬁld nbt be
oversize or overweight, may flot bbe transported under the péimit'. | | |

Trans 260.10 EQUIPMENT REC QUIREMENTS. (1) LIGHTING. Anoversize vehicle,
or a vehicle with an oversize load operating \during the hours of darkness, shall be equipped with
the following additional lamps: |

(a) For a vehicle with a load which extends beyond the width of. the vehicle;

1. At the outermost extremity of the foremost edge of the projecting load, an amber lamp
visible from the front and side. | 4

2. At the outermost extremity. at the rearmost edge of the projecting load, a red lamp
visible from the rear and side.

3. Ariy portion of an overwidth load extending beyond the. width of the foremost or
rearmost edge of the vehicle or load, shall be markcd with an amber lamp visible from the front,
both sides, and rear. |

4. If the overwidth portion of the load measures 3 feet or less from front to rear, that
portion shall be marked with an .amber lampi visible from the front, both sides and rear, except
that if the overwidth projéction is located at or near the rear it shall be marked by a red lamp

visible from front, side and rear.
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(b) For a vehicle with a load which extends more tﬁan 4 feet beyond the rear of the
vehicle:. '

1. On each side of the projecting load, one red lamp, visible from the side, located so
as to indi-cate maximum overhang.

2. On the rear of the projecting load, 2 red lamps, visible from the rear, one at each
side; and 2 red reflectors visible from the rear, one at each side, located so as to indicate
maximum width.

(c) All required lamps. shall be illuminated whenever a vehicle is operated during hours
of darkness. All lamps shall be visible at a distance of 500 feet.

2) WARNING LAMPS. When required by a permit, warning lamps shall be operated
as follows:

(@) All mobile homes and modular building sections over 12 feet in width shall have an
operating amber flashing or revolving warning lamp a minimum of 8 feet above the réadway- at
the rear of the towed unit near its center point, visible 500 feet to the rear, or 2 such operating
amber flashing or revolving warning lamps, at the left and right rear extremities of the towed
unit locate(i a minimum of 8 feet above the roadway and visible 500 feet to the rear.

(b) All amber flashing or revolving warning lamps shall have a reflector at least six inches
in diameter and shall be bright enough to be clearly visible and attention-attracting at a distance
of 500 feet under all conditions when the load is on the highway, except when visibility is ob-
structed by a hillcrest, a curve, or an object such as another vehicle.

(c) All power units, when transporting a mobile home or modular building section over
8 1/2 feet in width shall have 2 amber flashing or revolving warning lamps mounted above the

cab. Flashers shall be mounted at least 8 feet above the roadway and shall be visible to the
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front. Whexi 2 lamps are provided, they shall be mounted at the same level, shall be separated
laterally as much as possible, and shall flash simultaneously.

(d) All warning lamps shall flash at a rate of 30 to 90 times per minute.

(e) Strobe lamps may be used in lieu of flashing or revolving lamps.

(f) Warning lamps may not be operated when a vehicle is not operating under the permit.

(3) FLAGS. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overlength, a single flag
shall be fastened at the extreme rear of the load if the overlength or projecting portion is 2 feet
wide or less.

(b) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load overlength, 2 flags shall be fastened at the
rear of the load to indicate maximum width if the overlength or projecting portion is wider than
2 feet.

(c) When a vehicle, load, or véhicle and load is overwidth, a flag shall be fastened at
each front and rear corner of the load. In addition, if any part of the load is mere than 4 inches
wider than the width of load or vehicle at the front or rear, a flag shall be placed at the widest
point of the load.

(d) Each flag shall be solid red or orange in color, and not less than 18 inches square.

(e) In order to wave freely, flags shall be securely fastened by at least one corner or
securely mounted on a staff.

(4) SIGNS. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is more than 10 feet in wide
or is overlength, 2 warning signs shall be displayed. One sign shall be fastened at the front of
the power unit and the other at either the rear of the towed unit or at the rear of the load.

(b) Each sign shall state, in black letters on a yellow background, "OVERSIZE LOAD,"
and may not be less than 7 feet long and 18 inphes high. The letters of the sign may not be less
than 10 inches high with a brush stroke of not less than 1.4 inches.
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(c) The sign message‘may not be displayed when fhc_éjvehicle is not operating »und'er the
permit.

(5) TRUCK WEIGHT AND TIRES. Unless 6theryvi§é speciﬁed in ﬁ permit:

(a) A vehicle towing a mobile home or modular building section more than 8 1/2 feet in
width but less than 12 feet in widt'h shall -be a truck of not less than 16,000 pounds
manufactﬁrer’s gross vehicle weight rating. The power unit shall be equipped with dual wheels
on the drive axle and the minimum size of the fireS shall be‘ 10 ply 8.25 x 20, or equivalent.

(b) A vehicle towing a mobile home or modulaf building section 12 feet in width, but not
.more than 16 feet in width, shall be a truck of not less than 19,200 pounds manufacturers’ gross
Vehicle weiéﬁt rating. The poWer unit shall be equipped with dual wheels on the drive axle and
the minimum size of the tires shall be 10 ply 8.25 x 20, or equivalent.

(6) MUDGUARDS. Mobile home and modular building sections and the power unit
operating under a permit shall be equipped with rear fenders or mudguards of such material and
éonstfucted and placed as to restrict to a minimum the splgshing of Water,. mud, stones, and other
material which may be thrown up by the rear wheels. If mﬁdguards are provided, they shall be
at least as wide as the tire and shall cover the tire or multipie tires they are guarding starting at
the top from a line drawn vertically through the center of thé axle and extending rearward and
downward so that the fender or mudguard under any coﬁditioh of operation or loading of the
vehicle has a ground clearance of not more than 1/3 of the ‘hc‘)‘vrizontal distance from the center

of the rearmost axle to the fender or mudguard.

Trans 260.11 TIMES OF OPERATION. (1) Ei(cept éls otherwise specified in a permit,
no vehicle, or vehicle combination operating under a perrﬁit that is equal to or less than 12 feet |
in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, and 100 feet in length, may operate:

(a) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Sunday.
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(b) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 pm on Friday between the 4th Friday in May and
Labor Day. ..

(c) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. od any holiday, or, when Independence Day falls
on Sunday, on the following Monday. |

- (d) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on the day before any holiday, except that this
restriction does not apply to Independence Day when it falls on a Sunday.

(2) In addition to the conditiods provided in sub. (1), no vehicle combination operating
under a permit than exceeds 12 feet in Width,. 13 1/2 feet in height, or 100 feet in length, may
be operated:

(2) During the hours of darkness.

(b) During the period beginning at 12:00 nodn on the day preceding and continuing until
sunrise on the day following every Sunday and holiday.

(3) In addition to the conditions provided in subs. (1) and (2), no ovdrsize vehicle or
vehicle combination may operate on any part of the Mi]waukee county expressway system
constructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats.,{ex'cept on U.S. highway 45 betwpen West Florist
Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and on interstate highway 94 between the Waukesha county
line and 108th Street: |

(a) Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m: and .between 3:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. on Monday
through Thursday.

(b) Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. and between 3:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Friday
and Sunday. B

(4) An issuing authority may issue a pérmit for times other than those specified in subs.

(1), (2), or (3), under extraordinary circumstances when, in the opinion of the issuing authority,
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public health'and welfare is better served, and may impose additional conditions to promofe the
g 'safe‘operat'ionlof the vehicle and load‘. _ |

Trans 260.12 ROUTE LIMITATIONS. (1) A permit is valid oﬁly on the route specified
'.in_ the permit... _ o

(2) No permit allowing the dimensions of a vehicle or ioad to exceed llfeet in width,
.13 1/2 feet in height or 100 feét in length is valid on any part of the Milwaﬁkee county
-expressway system .c.c}.nstructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats., except on U.S. highway 45 between
West Flori5t Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and on interstate highway 94 between the
Waukesha couhty_ line an& 108th Street. |

(3) A permit issued by an issuing authority authorizes the use of any of the highways of
the state, subject to the limitations stated in permit.

(4) An oversize vehicle méy not be operated on a highway, whether bloaded or empty, at
any'ti‘me that the permit is not valid. |

Trans 260.13 POWER UNIT CHANGE. In the event of a breakdown or unavailability
of the power ﬁnit listed on the application and permit, another power unit may be substituted,
provided that the make and vehicle identification number, or license numbér and state, of the
substitute power unit are written on the permit. The issuing authority shall bé advised by
telephone prior to operating the substitute power unit with the oversizé lbad‘. Changes in the
terms of the permit other than the identification of the power unit require a written request and
a written amendment to the permit authorizing the change. The driver of a vehicle operating
under a permit shall have the amended permit in his or her possession prior to the movement of
the load.

Trans 260.14 INSURANCE AND LIABILITY CONDITIONS. (1) In applying for and
accepting a permit, permittee agrees to: | |
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(a) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resulti’ng from operation |
- under the permit for which the permittee is legally responsible.

(b) Hold the state, its subdiyisidns, officers, employees and agents harmless from any
claim which may arise from operation over public highways uridér the permit. |

(2) Whether or not insurance, bond, or dépoéit as set forth in sub. (7) is required, the
permittee shall be liaﬁle for all damages which any highway or its apbuﬁenances may sﬁstain by
. réason' of any opération undgr the permit.

(3) An issuing authority may waive insurance requirements for permits issued to govern-
ment. |

(4) Where a certificate of insurance iS required, no insurer may cancel the »certiﬁ.cate of
insurance without providing the issuing authority 10 days advance written notice of the |
cancellation. ) |

(5) An issuing authority may require a permittee to provide more bodin injury and
property damage liability coverage than is set forth in sub. (6).

(6) The following insurance amounts are required:

(a) When the permitted power unit and mobile home or modular bﬁilding section

combination does not exceed 12 feet in width, and 13-1/2 feet in height or 100 feet in length:

Bodily injury lability-each person.............. $150,000  or $750,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $450,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $300,000 limit

(b) When the permitted load exceeds the size limitations in par. (a):

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $200,000 or $1,000,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $600,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $400,000 limit

(7) A permittee shall certify, and may be required to present satisfactory written evidence,
that the amount of insurance coverage given in sub. (6), or a bond in a form satisfactory to the
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issuing authority, will be in effect for the vehicle and load designated in the permit while
operating on the public highway, unless this requirement is expressly waived by the issuing
authority.

’f‘rans 260.15 GENERAL CONDITIONS AND REQUIREMENTS. (1) A pérmittee
shall comply with all applicable statutes, ordinances, rules and policies of any state agency or
subdivision of the state, unless they are modified by the conditions Qf the permit.

- (2) When a vehicle operating under a permit is overheight, the permittee shall give prior
notice to th;: owners of overhead wires, cables or other facilities which may be affected.

(3) A properly equipped escort veﬁicle as des’éribed in ch. Trans 252 shall accompany a
vehicle and load:

(a) When any part of a vehicle or load extends beyond the left of the roadway centerline
~ on 2-way roadways, |

(b) When any part of a vehicle or load extends beyond the left edge of the right hapd lane
on highways with more than 2 lanes, or

(c) On a highway designated in a permit.

“) A vehicle and load that does not require an escort vehicle may, when safe, move to
the left of the centerliﬁe or beyond the left lane line while crossing a bridge or railroad crossing,
but only after yielding to all other traffic.

Trans 260.16 SINGLE TRIP 16 FOVOT WIDE MOBILE HOME AND MODULAR
BUILDING SECTIONS. (1) On routes other than on state trunk highways, a permit for a 16
foot wide mobile home or modular building section may be issued only upon presentation of
written approval from the authority maintaining the highway, or oral approval in the form of a

telephone call from the authority maintaining the highway to the department.
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(2) When transporting a 16 foot wide mobile home, the power unit shall be stopped when
necessary by the driver to allow traffic to pass from either direction’ without delay.

.(3) The wheels of a 16 foot wide mobile home or undercarriage shall be operated as cldse
to the right edge of the shoulder as possible in order to provide minimum interference with the .
left lane of traffic. However, to minimize damage to the shoulder in the area immediately adja-
cent to the pavement, the right wheels may not be operated on the shoulder within 2 feet of the
edge of the pavement except to cross this area.

(4) The maximum speed of a 16 foot Wide mobile home or modular building section
operating on highways without paved shoulders shall be 35 miles per hour.

(5) In addition to the amber flashing or revolving lambs specified in s. Trans 260.10(2),
each 16 foot wide mobile home or modular building section shall be equipped with a similar
lamp visible from tﬁé front of the vehicle when operated on 2-;;vay roadways.

(6) A permittee shall certify, and may be required to present satisfactory written evidence, -
that the amount of insurance coverage given in s. Trans 260.14(6)(b), 6r a bond in a form
satisfactory to the issuing authority, will be in effect for the vehicle.and load designated in the
permit while operating on the public highway, unless this requirement is expressly waived by the
issuing authority.

Trans 260.17 DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1) An
issuing authority may deny, suspend, or revoke a permit for good cause, pursuant to
s. 348.25(7), Stats. Grounds for the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit include:

(a) Violation of any condition of a permit.

(b) Preventing an employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer from
performing his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful performance of his or her
duties.

66



(c) Physically assaulting an elﬁployee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer
while performing his or her official dhtieg.

(d) Making a material r_nisstétement in an application for a permit.

(e_:) Unauthorized aiteration of a permit.

(f) Refusal or failure, without just cause, to bfoduce required records.

®) Paymeﬁt of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Violatiqn of any other applicabfé'provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this chapter.

(2) A permittee shall immediately return a suspended or revoked permit to the irssuin_g‘
authority aftér receiving notice from the issuing authority of the suspension or revocation of the
perrhit. :H

Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or permittee may requét
a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats.
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CHAPTER TRANS 261
'MULTIPLE TRIP PERMITS FOR
MOBILES HOME AND MODULAR BUILDING SECTIONS

Tran§ 261.01 PURPOSE. The purpose of this chapter is fo establish standards and
procedures fdr the issuance of multiple trip mobile home and modular building section permits, -
pursuant to s, 348.27(7), Stats. B

Trans 261 .02 DEFINTTIONS. (1) Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words »ahd
phrases in ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 épply to fhis chapter. } |

2) As used in this lchapter: | | |

* (@) "Issuing authority” means the department of transportation.

(b) "Permit" means multiple trip mobile home and modular building seqtion permits

authorized under s. 348.27(7), Stats. |
| Trans 261.03 PERMIT APPLICATION. (1) An application for a permit shall be

submitted to an issuing authority on a form approved by the department, and in accordance with
s. 348.27, Stats. | |

(2) An application for a permit for the use of a state trunk highway shall be made to the
department in any of the following ways: |

(a) In person, at the department’s central or district offices.

(b) By mail, addressed to the department’s central office.

Note: Permit application procedures are in s. Trans 250.025.

Trans 261.04 PERMIT AMENDMENTS. (1) An application for an amendment to a
permit shall be made to the authority which issued the original permit.

2) An'application for an amendment may be made in the same manner as an application
for an original permit.
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(3) The request shall specify the permit number of the permit tokbe arﬁended.

Note: Limitations on the amendment of permits are ins. Trans 251.10.

Trans 261.05 ELIGIBILITY. (1) Any vehiclé or vehicle and load »to be gonsid_eréd as -
operating under a permit shall ‘satisfy the requifements for.a pe'rnﬁt undex_' s. 348.25, Stats.

(2) A permit is hot a guarantee of thé sufficiency of any ﬁighway. or structure for the
transporting of the véhicle, load, or vehicle and load. |

(3) A permit may not authorize the operation of more than 2 vehicles in combination.

(4) A permit for a power unit used to transport' an ovefsize mobile home may be issued
only to rhobile home transportation companies, licensed mobile _h_ome' manufacturers and licensed

dealers over highways in the ordinary course of their business.

Trans 261,06 VALIDITY. (1) A permit is valid only for the vehicle described in the
application ‘and bermit. |

(2) An issuing authority may suspend a permit, or any of its conditions, because of
seasonal highway conditions.

Note: Examples of seasonal highway conditions include spring thaw, flooding, and traffic -
congestion, '

(3) No condition of a permit may modify any law or regglation limiting loads because
of local conditions, including load limits on bridges and highways, seasonal weight restrictions,
or load limits imposed because of construction.

(4) A permit is not valid during periods when adverse weather or road conditions, such
as fog, smoke, heavy rain, snow or ice, or wind velocity', impair the safety of a movement under.
the permit.

5) Opération under a permit includes the movement of an empty vehicle to and from the

place of pickup or delivery of the permitted load.
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Trans 261.07 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle opérating under a

permit shall be registered as required by Wisconsin statutes, and shall be registeréd at not less
than the permit weighbt or at the maximum available registration weight, whichever is less.

(2) All other operational permit,s»req'uired by the department, fhe office of the commis-
sioner of transportafibn, or other agencies having jurisdictidn shall be obtained.

Trans 261.08 DRIVER AND OPERATING kEQQIREMENTS. (1) The driver of a
vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the approved permit in the vehicle to which it applies
and shall have the permit available for inspectiont by any police officer, representative of the
issuing authority, or person in charge of mainten'aﬁc'e-of thg'highway being used.

(2) The driver of ;i vehicle operating undér a permit shall, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distance of not less than lv,OQO feet between the vehicle with the permit
- and any vehicle the driver is following, unless actually engaged in. overtaking and passing another
vehicle.

(3) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall allow traffic apprqaching or
overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so. | |

(4) Unless a lower speed is specified in the permit, a v'ehicle operating under a permit'
may be operated at the posted speed limit. | o

Trans 261.09 MAXIMUM SIZE AND LOADING LIMITATIONS. (1) A mobile home
or modular building section may extend beyond the front, the left and right sides, and the rear
of the undercarriage, if the overhang is minimized.

(2) Wheels on one side of a transporting vehicle may not carry more than 60% of the -

total gross load.
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(3) The width authorized by a permit refers to the outsidegto-out_side. dimension of the
walls of the towed unit. Windowsills, door knobs, and other hafdware, clearance lights and
other similar protrusions may extend not more than 6 inches beyOnd the walls of the towed unit.

(4) A permit issued for a towed unit having an outside-to-outside dimension of the walls
not exceeding 14 feet plus roof overhang of }xot more thaﬁ 2 feet on the right side of the towed
unit are subject to the permit conditions applying to 14 foot wide mobile homes and modular
~ building sections. |

| (5) A permit issued for a towed unit having an outsidé—to-outside dimension of the walls
not exceeding 14 feet plus roof overhang of not more than 2 feet on the left side of the towed
unvit, are subject to the conditions applying to 16 foot.wide mobile homes and modular building
sections.

(6) A permit issued for a towed unit having an outside-to-outside dimension of the walls
not exceeding 14 feet plus roof overhang of ﬁot more than 6 inches on each side of the towed
unit, are subject to the permit conditions applying to 14 foot wide mobile homes and modular
building sections. -

(7) The total overall width, the total wall-to-wall width, (and the total wall-to-wall and
roof overhang dimensions shall be given in the application for a _péfmit.

(8) Vehicles and loads which, when reasonably divided;. would not be oversize or over-
weight, may not be transported under the permit.

(9) Loads which, when reasonably repositioned on the tranSp;)rting vehicle, would not be
oversize or overweight, may not be transported under the permi;. |

Trans 261.10 EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS. (1) LiGHTING. An oversize vehicle,
or a vehicle with an oversize load operating during the hours of darkness, shall be equipped with
the following additional lamps:
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(a) For a vehicle with a lbad which extends beyoﬁd_ the width of the vehicle:

1. At the outermost extremity of the foremost édge of the projecting load, an amber lamp
visible from the front and side.

2. At the outermost extremity at the rearmést edge of the projecting load, a red lamp
visible from the rear and side. - | |

3. Any portion of an overwidth load extending beyond the width of the foremost or
rearmost edge of the vehicle or load, shall be marked ‘with an amber lamp visible from tﬁe front,
both sides, and rear. | |

4. If the overwidth portion of the load measures 3 feet or less from front to rear, that
portion shall be marked with an amber lamp visible from the front, both sides and rear, except
that if the overwidth projection is located at or near the rear it shall be marked by a red lamp
visible from front, side and rear. |

(b) For a vehicle with a load which extends more than 4 feet beyond the rear of the
vehicle:

1. On each side of the projecting load, one red lamp, vfsible from the side, located so
as to indicate maximum overhang. '

2. On the rear of the projecting load, 2 red lamps, visible from the rear, one at each
side; and 2 red reflectors visible from the rear,.one at each side, located so as to indicate
maximum width.

(c) All required lamps shall be illuminated whe’hevef a vehicle is operated duﬁng hours
of darkness. All lamps shall be visible at a distance of 500 feet.

(2) WARNING LAMPS. When required by a permit, warning lamps shall be operated

as follows:
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(@) All mobile horﬁes and modular building sections over 12 feét in width shall have an
operating amber flashing or revolving waming lamp a minimum of 8 feet above the roadway at
the rear of the towed ﬁnit near its center point, visible 500 feet to the rear, or 2 such 'o‘perfllting
amber ﬂas_hing or revolving warning lamps, at the left and right rear extremities of the towed
unit located a minimum of 8 feet above the roadwéy and visible 500 feet to the rear.

(b) All amber flashing or revolving warning lamps shall have ﬁ reflector at least six inche_s
in diameter and shall be bright enough to be clearly visible and attention-attracting at a distance
of 500 feet under all conditions when the load is on t_he highway, 'excépt When Visibility is ob-
structed by a hillcrest, a curve, or an object such as another vehicle. |

(© A;ll power units, when transporting a mobile home or modulaf building section over
8 1/2 feet in width shall have 2 amber flashing or revolving waming lamps mounted above the -
cab. Flashers shall be mounted at least 8 feet aboi'e the roadway and shall be visible to the
front. When 2 lamps are provided, they shall be mounted at the same level, shall be separated
laterally as much as possible, and shall flash simultaneously. | |

(d) All warning lémps shall flash at a rate of 30 to 90 times per m‘inute.

(e) Strobe lamps may be used in lieﬁ of flashing or revolving lamps.

(f) Warning lamps may not be operated when a vehicle is not opefating under the permit.

(3) FLAGS. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overlength, a single flag
shall be fastened at the extreme rear of the load if the overlength or projecting portion is 2 feet
wide or less. |

(b) When a vehicle, load, ’or vehicie ahd load is overlength, 2 flags shall be fastened at
the rear of the load to indicate maximum width if the overlength or projecting portion is wider

than 2 feet.
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(c) When alvehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overwidth, a ﬂag -shall be féstehed at'
each front and rear corner of the load. In addition, if any part Qf the load is more than 4 inch.és o
wider than the width of load or vehicle at the front or rear, a flag shall be placed at the widest
point of the load.

(d) Each flag shall be solid red or orange in color, and not- less than 18 inches square.

() In order to wave freely, flags shall be securely fastened by at least one corner or
securely mounted on a staff. |

(4) SIGNS. (a) When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is more than 10 feet wide or
is overlehgth, 2 warning signs shall be displayed. One sign shall be fastened at the front of the
power unit and the other at either the rear of the towed unit or at the rear of the load. -

(b) Each sign shall state, in black letters on a yellow background, "OVERSIZE LOAD,"
and may not be less than 7 feet long and 18 inches high. The leif.ters of the sign may not be less
than 10 inches high Qith a brush stroke of not less than 1.4 inches.

(c) The sign message may not be displayed when the vehicle is not operating under the
permit.

(5) TRUCK WEIGHT AND TIRES. Unless otherwise provided in a permit:

(a) The vehicle towing a mobile home or modular building section more than 8 1/2 feet
in width but less thah 12 feet in width shall be a truck of not less than 16,000 pounds
manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating. The power unit. shall be equipped with dual wheels
on the drive axle and the minimum size of the tires shall be 10 ply 8.25 x 20, or equivalent.

(b) The vehicle towing a mobile home or modular building section 12 feet in width, but
not more than 16 feet in width,vshall be a truck of not less than 19,200 pounds manufacturers’
gross vehicle weight rating. The power unit shall be equipped with dual wheels on the drive axle
and the minimum size of the tires shall be 10 ply 8.25 x 20, or equivalent.

74



(6) MUDGUARDS. Mobile home and modular building sections and the power .unit
operating a permit shall be equipped with rear fenders or mudguards of such material and
constructed and placed as to restrict to a minimum the splashing of water, mud, stones, and other.
‘material which may be thrown up by the rear wheels. If mudguards are provided, they shall be
at least as wide as the tire and shall cover the tire or multiple tires they are guarding starting ﬁt
the top from a line drawn vertically through the center of the axle and extending rearward and
downward so that the fender or mudguard under any condition of operation or loading of the
vehicle has a groﬁnd clearance of not more than 1/3 of the horizontal distance from the center
of tbe rearmost axle to the fender or mudguard.

Trans 261.11 TIMES OF OPERATION. (1) Except as otherwise specified in a permit,
no vehicle or vehicle combination opergting under a permit that is equal to or less than 12 feet
in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, and 100 feet in length, may op.erate:

(a) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Sunday. _

(b) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p:m. on Friday between the 4th Friday in May and
Labor Day.

(c) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on any holiday, or, when Independence Day falls
on Sunday, on the following Monday.

(d) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on the day before any holiday, except that this
restriction does not apply to Independence Day when it falls on a Sunday.

(2) In addition to the conditions provided in sub. (1), no vehicle or vehicle combination
operating under a permit that exceeds 12 feef in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, or 100 feet in
length, may operate:

(a) During the hours of darkness.
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(b) During the period beginning at 12:00 noon on the day preceding and continuing until
sunrise on the day following every Sunday and holiday. | |

(3) In addition to the conditions provided in subs. (1) and (2), no oversize thicle or
vehicle combination may operate on any part of the Milwaukee county expressway system
constructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats., except on U.S. highway 45 between West Florist
Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and on interstéte highway 94 between the Waukesha county
| line and 108th Street:

(a) Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. and between 3:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. on Monday
through Thursday.

(b) Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. and between 3:00 pm and 11:00 p.m. on Friday
and Sunday.

(4) An issuing authbrity may issue a permit for times otix.er than those specified in subs.
(1), (2), or (3), under extraordinary circumstances when, in the opinion of the issuing authority,
public health and welfare is better served, and may impose additional conditions to promote the
safe operation of the vehicle and load.

Tran§ 261.12 ROUTE LIMITATIONS. (1) No permit allowing the dimensions of a |
vehicle or load to exceed 11 feet in width, 13 1/2 feet in height or 100 feet in length is valid on
any part of the Milwaukee county expressway system constructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats.,
except on U.S. highway 45 between West Florist Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and on
Interstate highway 94 between the Waukesha county line and 108th Street.

(2) A permit issued by the department authorizes the use of any highways of the state,
subject to the limitations stated the permit.

(3) An oversize vehicle may not be operated on a highway, whether loaded or empty, at
any time that a permit is not valid.
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Trans 261.13 TRANSFlERS. In the évent of a breakdown or other circumstance
requiring a change of the power unit stated on thc;,‘ permit, transfers to another vehicle, ur_lder the
control of the permittee, may be made following the completion of a new application and the
issuance of a new permit. The words, "This 1s a.transfer from permit #_," shall be written
on the bottom of the application. The original permit shall be sent to the issuiﬁg authority with
the transfer application.

Trans 261.14 INSURANCE AND LIABILITY CONDITIONS. (1) In applying for and
accepting a permit, a permittee agrees to:

(a) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resulting from operation
under the ﬁ;mit for which the permittee is legally responsible.

(b) Hold the state, its subdivisions, ofﬁce‘rs,‘ employees and agents harmless from any
claim which may arise from operation over public highways ur;der the permit.

(2) Whether or not insurance, bond, or deposit as set forth in sub. (7)-is fequired, the
permfttee shall be liable for all damages which any highway or its appurtenances may sustain by
reason of any operation under the permit. |

(3) An issuing authority may waive insurance requirements for permits issued to govern-
ment. :

(4) Where a certificate of insurance is reqﬁired, no insurer may cancel the certificate of
insurance without providing the issuiﬁg authority 10 days advance written notice of the
cancellation. |

(5) An issuing authority may require a pefmittee to provide more bodily injury damage
ﬁab’ility coverage than is set forth in sub. (6). |

(6) The following insurance amounts are required:
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(a) When the permitted power unit and mobile home or modular building section

combination does not exceed 12 féét in width, and 13 1/2 feet in height or 100 feet in length:

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $150,000 or $750,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $450,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $300,000 limit

(b) When the permitted load exceeds the size limitations in par. (a):

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $200,000 or $1,000,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $600,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $400,000 limit

(7) A permittee shall cgrtify, and may be required to bresent vsatisfactory written evidence,
that the amount of insurance coverage given in sub. (6), or a bond in a form satisfa,ctofy to the
issuing authority, will be in effect for the vehicle and load designated in the permit while
operating on the public highwéy, unless this requirement is expressly waived by the issu@ng
authority. | | |

Trans 261.15 GENERAL CONDITIONS AND REQUIREMENTS. (1) A permittee
shall comply with all applicable statﬁtes, ordinances, rules and policies of any state agency or
subdivision of the state, unless théy are modified by the conditions of the permit.

(2) When a vehicle operating‘under a permit is overheight, the f)ermittee shall give prior
notice to the owners of overhead wifes, cables or other facilities which may be affected.

(3) A properly equipped'escoft vehicle as described in ch. Trans 252 shall accompany a
vehicle and load: | |

(a) When any part of a vehicle or load extends beyond the left of the roadway centerline
on 2-way roadways,

(b) When any part of a vehicle or load extends beyond the left edge of the right hand lane
on highways with more than 2 lanes, or

(c) On a highway designated in a permit.

78



% A vehicle and load that does not require an escort vehicle may, when safe, move to
the left Qf the centerline or beyond the left lane line while crossing a bridge or railroad crossing,
but only after yielding to all other traffic. o | R _ o |

Trans 261.16 DENIAL, ‘SUSPENSION OR REVOCATIO‘N' OF PERMIT. (1) An
issuing authority may deny, suspend, or revoke a permit fbr _ g@ cause, pursuant to
s. 348.25(7), Stats. Grounds for the denial, suspénsion, or revocatiéﬁ of a permit include:

'é.) Violation of any condition of a permit.

(b) Preventing an employee of an issuing authority .or a 1a§v’ enforcement officer from
pei'forming his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful performance of his or her
duties.

(c) Physically assaulting an employee of an issuing authority 6r a law enforcement officer -
while performing his or her official duties. o

(d) Making a material misstatement in an application for a permit.

(e) Unauthorized alteration of a permit.

() Refusal or failure, without just cause, to produce réquired 'récords.

(g) Payment of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, ‘Stats., or this chaptér.

(2) A permittee shall immediately return a suspended or revoked permit to the issuing
authority after receiving notice from the issuing authority of the suspension or revocation Qf the

permit.
Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or permittee may request

a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats.
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CHAPTER TRANS 262
BACKHAUL PERMITS
Trans 262.01 PURPOSE. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards and

procedures for the issuance of backhaul permits, puréuaﬁt to s. 348.26 (6), Stats.

Trans 262.02 DEFINITIONS, (i) Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words and
phrases in ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2), Stats., and s. Tréﬁs?S0.0Z apply to this chapter.

| (2) As used in this chaptér:

(a) "Backhaul" means to transport différent loads by the same motor vehicle on the trip
to its original destination and on its return trip.

(b) "Issuing authority" means the department of transportatiori.

(c) "Permit” means a backhaul permit authorized under s. 348.26 (6), Stats.

Trans 262.03 PERMIT APPLICATION. ('1) An apl;iication for a permit shall bé
submitted to an issuing authority on a form approved by the department, and in accordance with
s. 348.26, Stats.

(2) An application for a permit for the use of a state trunk highway shall be made to the
department in any of the following ways: | |

(2) In person, at the department’s central or district offices. |

(b) By mail, addressed to the department’s central office.

(c) By the telephone call in—procedure,‘described in ch. Trans 275.

(d) By authorized permit service.

Note: Permit application procedures are in s. Trans 250,025.
Trans 262.04 ELIGIBILITY. (1) An issuing authority may issue a permit for the
transportation of a legal size and legal weight load on an oversize vehicle or combination of

vehicles, provided that the vehicle or comibination of vehicles has a multiple or single trip
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oversize permit for the tfansportation of an oversize load in the direction opposite to the backhaul

permit and actually transports an oversize load in that direction.

Note: Legal sizes are set forth in ch, 348 and s. 349.16, Stats.

Note: As an example, if an overwide crawler tractor is transported under permit between
a storage area and a job site, then a backhaul permit may be issued for the
transportation of an industrial air compressor in the opposite direction.

The overwide crawler must actually be transported. The 2 trips must be part of the
same round trip by the permitted vehicle. The transportation of the air compressor
may be in either direction, but must be in the direction opposite to that of the
movement of the crawler. The transportation of the air compressor may precede or
follow in time the transportation of the crawler tractor.

(2) A permit may not authorize the operation of more than 2 vehicles in combination.

(3) An issuing authority may issﬁe a permit only for a vehicle equipped with pneumatic
tires.

(4) A permit is not a guarantee of the sufficiency of any highway or structure for :the
transporting of the vehicle, load, or vehicle and load..

Trans 262.0S VALIDITY. (1) A permin is valid only for the vehicle described in the
application and permit.

(2) A permit is valid only on the route specified in the permit.

7(3) An issuing authority may suspend a permit, or any of its conditions, because of

seasonal highway conditions.

Note: Examples of seasonal highway conditions include spring thaw, flooding, and traffic
congestion,

(4) No condition of a permit may modify any law or regulation limiting loads because
of local conditions, including load limits on bridges and highways, seasonal weight restrictions,

or load limits imposed because of construction.
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(5) A permit is not valid during periods when adverse weather or road conditions, such
as fog, smoke, heavy rain, snow or ice, or wind velocity, impair the safety of a movement under
the permit. ‘

Trans 262.06 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle operating under a
permit shall be registered as required by Wisconsin statutes, and shall be registered at not less
than the permit weight or at the maximum available registration weight, whichever is less.

(2) All other operational permits required by the depaft.ment, the office of the commis-
sioner of transportation, or other agencies having jurisdiction shall be obtained.

Trans 262.07 DRIVER AND OPERATING REQUIREMENTS. (1) The driver of a
vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the bermit in the vehicle to which applies and shall
have the permit available for inspection by any police officer, representative of the issuing
authoritf, or person in charge of the maintenance of the highw.ay being used.

(2) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall carry proof that transportation
of an oversize or overweight load has been made to the origin 6_f the backhaul movement or will
be made from the destination of the backhaul movement. This proof may be a freight bill, a bill
of lading, or similar document, or a signed order from the employer ordering the driver to
transport a specific oversize load between specified locations.

(3) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distance of not less than 1,000 feet between the vehicle with the permit
and any vehicle the driver is following, unless actually engaged in overtaking and passing another
vehicle.

4) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall allow traffic approaching or

overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so.
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(5) Unless a lower speéd is speciﬁed‘ in the permit, a vehicle operating under a permit
may be operated at the postea speed limit.

(6) The right wheels of the towed unit may not leave the roadway, except to alldw traffic
to pass.

Note: A "roadway" does not include: paved or unpaved shoulders. s. 340.01(54), Stats.

Trans 262.08 MAXIMUM SIZE, WEIGHT AND LLOADING LIMITATIONS. (1)_A:

load transported under a permit may not be overweight.

(2) A load transpor_ted under a permit may not be oversize;

flfra’hs 262.09 EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS. (1) FLAGS.l (a) When a vehicle or
trailer is 6Verlength, a single flag shall be fastened at each of the rear corners of the trailer.

(b) When a vehiclé or trailer is overwidth, a flag shall be fastened at the Ieft and right
extremities of both the front and rear of the vehicle or trailer, :whichever is widef.

(c) Each flag shall be solid red or orange in color, and not less than 18 inches square.

(d) In order to wave freely, flags shall be securely fastened by at least one corner or
securely mounted on a staff.

(2) SIGNS. (a) When a vehicle or trailer is more than 10 feet wide or is overlength, 2
warning signs shall be displayed. One sign shall be fastened at the front of the power unit and
the other at either the rear of the towed unit or at the rear of the load.

(b) Each sign shall state, in black letters on a yellow background, "OVERSIZE LOAD,"
and may not be less than 7 feet long and 18 inches high. The letters of the sign may not be less
than 10 inches high with a brush stroke of not.less' than 1.4 inches.

(c) The sign message may not be displayed when the vehicle is not operating under the

permit.
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MMMMQER_AI&N (1) Except as otherwise speciﬁed ina pefmit‘,
no vehicle or vehicle combination operating under a permit that is equal to or less than 12 feet
in width, 13 1/2 feet in height, or 100 feet in length, may operate:

(a) Between 4:00lp.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Sundéy..

(b) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Friday between the 4th Friday in May and
Labor Day.

(c) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on any holiday, or, when Indepe.ndence Day falls
on Sunday; on the following Monday. | |

(d) Bétween 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on the day before axiy holiday, except that this
restriction does not apply to Independence Day when it falls on a Sunday.

2) In addition to the conditions provided in sub. (1), no vehicie or vehicle combination
operating under a permit that exceeds 12 feet in width, 13 l/é feet'.in height, or 100 feet in
length, may operate: |

(a) During the hours of darkness.

(b) During the period beginning at 12:00 noon on the Vday preceding and continuing until
sunrise on the day following evéry Suncday and holiday.

(3) In addition to the conditions provided in subs. (1) and (2), no oversize vehicle or
vehicle combination may 6perate 6n any part of the Milwaukee county expressway system
constructed pursuant to s. 59.965, Stats., except on U.S. highway 45 between West Florist
Avenue and West Hampton Avenue and on interstate highway 94 between the Waukesha county
line and 108th Street:

(a) Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. and betweeh 3:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. on Monday

through Thursday.
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(b) Between 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. and between 3‘:00 pm and 11:00 p;m. .on Friday
and Sunday.

(4) An issuing authorit_y‘may issué a permit for times éther than those Spéciﬁed in subs.
(1), (2), or 3), unaer extraordinar§ circumstances whe_n, in the opinion of the issuing authority,b
public health and welfare is bettef served, and may impose additional conditions to promoté the
safe operation of the vehicl¢ and load.

Trans 262.11 POWER UNIT CHANGE. In the event of a breakdown or unavailabilify
of the power unit listed on the applicaﬁori and pefmit, _another power unit may be substituted,
provided thgt the make and vehicle identification nﬁmber, or license number and state, of the
substitute pbwer unit are written on the permit. The issuing authority shall be adCiSe& by
telephone prior to operating the substitute power unit with the permitted load. Changes in the
' terrr;s of the permit other than the identification of the power ur'lit require a written request and
a written amendment to the permit authorizing the change. The driver of a vehicle operating
under a permit shall have the amended permit in his or her possession prior to the movement of
the load.

Trans 262.12 INSURANCE AND LIABILITY CONDITIONS. (1).In applying for and
accepting a permit, a permittee agrees to: | |

(a) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resulting from operation
under the perrhit for which the permittee is legally responsible.

(b) Hold the state, its subdivisions, officers, employees and agénts harmless from any
claim which may arise from operation over public highways under the permit.

(2) Whether or not insurance, bond, or deposit as set forth in sub. (7) is required, the
permittee shall be liable for all damages which any highway or its appurtenances may sustain by
reason of any operation under the perrﬂit.
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(3) An issuing authority may waive .insurance requirements for permits issued to gove_m-'
ment. |

(4) Where a certificate of insurance is required, no insurer may cancel the certificate of
insurance without pr‘oviding the i'ss,uivngv authority. 10 days advancé written notice of the
cancel’lzition. | |

(5) An issuing authority may require a permittee to provide more bodily injury damage
liability coverage than is set forth in sub. (6).

(6) The following insurance ’afhounts are required:

(a) When the permitted vehicle or vehicle combination does not exceed 12 feet in width,

13 1/2 feet in height, or 100 feet in length and is not overweight:

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $150,000 or $750,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $450,000 - combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $300,000 limit

(b) When the permitted vehicle or vehicle combination exceeds the size limitations in

par. (a):
Bodily injury liability-each person....-......... $200,000 or $1,000,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $600,000 combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $400,000 - limit

Trans 262.13_GENERAL CONDITIONS AND REQUIREMENTS. (1) A permittee

shall comply with all applicable statutes, ordinances, rules and policies of any state agency or
subdivision of the state, unless they are modified by the conditions of the permit.
(2) When a vehicle operating under a permit is overheight, the permittee shall give prior
notice to the owners of overhead wires, cables, or other facilities which may be affected.
Trans 262.14 DENIAL, SUSPENSION _OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1) An
issuing authority may deny, suspend, or‘ revoke a permit for good cause, pursuant to
s. 348.25(7), Stats. Grounds for the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit include:
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(a) Violation of any condition of a permit.

(b) Preventing an employee of an issuing authqrity or a law enforcement officer from
performing his or her official duties, or interferi,ng_w'ith the lawful performance of his or her
duties. |

(c) Physically assaulting an employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer
while performing his or her official duties.

(d) Making a material misstatement in an application for a permit.

() Unauthorized alteration of a permit.

® Rgfusal or failure, without just cause, to produce required records.

(€3] Péyment of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this chapter.

@) A permitfee shall immediately return a suspended o.r- revoked permit to the issuing
authority, after receiving notice from the issuing authority of the suspension or revocation of the

permit,

Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revéked, an applicant or permittee may request
a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats, '
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SECTION 7. Chapter Trans 269 is repealed and recreated to read:
CHAPTER TRANS 269
TRANSPORTATION OF GARBAGE OR REFUSE PERMI;TS
© A
TRANSPORTATION OF RECYCLABLE SCRAP PERMITS

Trans 269.01 PURPOSE AND SCOPE. The purpose of this chapter is to establish
standards and procedures for the issuance of transportation of garbage or refuse permits, pursuant
to s. 348.27(12), Stats., and transportation of recyclable Scrap perinits, pursuant to s. 348.27(9r),
Stats. 7

Trans 269.02 DEFINITIONS: (1) Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words and
phrases in ss. 340.01 and 348.01(2); Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 apply to this chapter.

(2) As used in this chapter: )

(a) "Garbage" means discarded materials resulting from the handling, processing, storage
and consumption of food.

(b) "Issﬁing authority" means the departmer;f of transportation.

(c) "Permit" means transportation of garbage, refuse; or recyclable scrap permits
authorized under s. 348.27(9r) and s. 348.27(12), Stats.

(d) "Recyclable-scrap" means metallic or non-metallic material in waste for which there
exists a commercially demonstrated processing or manufacturing technology whiéh uses the
material as a raw material, and which is transported for use as such a raw material.

(e) "Refuse"” means any combustible and non-combustible rubbish including, but not
limited to, paper, wood, metal, glass, cloth and products thereof; litter and street rubbish, ashes;
and lumber, concrete, and other debris resulting from the construction or demolition of
structures.
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® "Self—compactor equipped vehicle" means a vehicle that is:

1. Specifically designed, constructed and used for the pick-up, tfansportation,' and
disposal of garbage, refuse or both; and B |

2. Equipped and used with:

a. A blade, platé, orr other device that mechanically compacts the Ioad.

b. A separate garbage or refuse container that is designed, construcied, and used with
an intégral or separate blade, plate, or other device that mechanically corﬁpacts the load.

Trans 269.03 PERMIT APPLICATION. (1) An apblicatibn for a permit shall be
submitted to an issuing authority on a form approved by the depai'tment, and in accordance with
s. 348.27, Stats.

(2) An application for a permit for the use of a stﬁte trunk -highway shall be made to the
department in any of the folloWing ways: " - |

)

(a) In person, at the department’s central or district offices.

(b) By mail, addressed to the department’s central office. .
Note: Permit application procedures are in s. Trans 250,025,

Trans 269.04 PERMIT AMENDMENTS. (1) An application for an amendment to é
permit shall be made to the issuing authority which issued the original permit.

(2) An application for an amendment may be made in the same manner as an application
for an original permit.

(3) The request shall specify the permit number of the permit to be amended.

Note: Limitations on the amendment of permits are in s. Trans 250.10.

Trans 269.05 ELIGIBILITY. (1) Any vehicle or vehicle and load to be considered aS

operating under a permit shall satisfy the requirements for a permit under s. 348.25, Stats.
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(2) An issuing authority may issue a permit only for the transpor‘tat.ioh'bf | g.arba_ge'v ornf '7
refuse, in a self-compactor equipped vehicle or for the transpor_tatiqn of recyclabié scrap ThlS )
includes the transportation of tools and equipment necéssary for the safe and efﬁcier_i’t pick;up ‘.. .
and diséharge of the garbage or refuse, br recyclable scrép, and for the return of the vellllicle‘
when empty. |

(3) An issuing authority may issue a perfnit only' for a thicle equipped wiﬁh pneumatic
tires, | |

| (4)’ An issuing authority may- issue a permif only for inOtor trucks, truck tractors, or road
tractors. | | | |

(5) A permit authorizes the towing of not more than one trailer or semi-trailer. A permit
may not authorize the operation of more than 2 vehicles in combination.

(6) The issuance of a permit is not a gua’rﬁnteebf the‘.sufficiency of any highway or
structure for the transporﬁng of the vehicle, load, or vehicle and loéd. _

Trans 269.06 VALIDITY. (1) A permit is valid only for the vchicle.déscribed in the
application and permit.

(2) An issuing authority may suspend a permit, or any of its c_:onditidhs, because of
seasonal highway conditions. |

Note: Examples of seasonal highway conditions include spring thaw, flooding, and traffic
congestion. '

(3) No condition of a permit may modify any law or regulation limiting loads because
of local conditions, including load limits on bridges and highways, seasonal weight restrictions,

or load limits imposed because of construction.
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4) Nd condition of a ﬁermit may modify or supersede ény action by a town under s.
60.54, Stats., to designate town highways as appropriate for the transportation of solid waste,
or to prohibit the use of ofher town highways for that purpose.

(5) A permit issued for an overlength vehicle is not valid during periods wﬁen adverse
weather or road conditions, such as fog, smoke, heavy rain, snow or ice, or v;rind velocity,
impair the safety of a movement under the permit.

6) Operation under a permit includes the movement of an empty vehicle to and from the
placé of pickﬁp or delivery of the permitted load.

Trans 269.07 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. (1) A vehicle operating under a
| permit shall'Be registeréd as required by Wisconsin statutes, and shall be registered at not less
than the permit weight 'or at the maximum available registration weight, whichever is less. .

(2) All othef operational permits required by the depart'ment, the office of the commis-
sioner of transportation, or other agencies having jurisdiction shall be obtained.

Trans 269.08 DRIVER AND OPERATING REQUIREMENTS. (1) The driver of a
vehicle operating under a permit shall carry the approved permit in the vehicle to WhiCh it applies
and shall have the permit available for inspection by any police officer, representative of the
issuing authority, or person in charge of the maintenance of the highway being operated.

(2) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall, whenever reasonable and
practicable, maintain a distance of not less than 1,000 feet between the vehicle with the permit
and any vehicle the driver is following, unless actually engaged in overtaking and passing another
vehicle.

(3) The driver of a vehicle operating under a permit shall allow traffic approaching or

overtaking the permitted vehicle to pass, where it is safe to do so.
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C)) Unl_ess a lower speed is specified in thé permit, a vehicle operating under a permit
may be operated at the posted speed limit.

(5) The wheels of a vehicle or combination of vehicles being operatéd under a permit may
nbt leave the roadway except while the vehicle or combination of vehiéles is stopped or at speeds

less than 15 miles per hour immediately prior to-or following a stop.

Note: - A "roadway" does not include paved or unpaved shoulders. s. 340.01(54), Stats.

Trans 269.09 MAXIMUM SIZE AND LOADING LIMITATIONS. The maximum size

axle, axle combination, and total weight limitations authorized by a permit may not be exceeded.

Trans 269.10 TIMES OF OPERATION. (1) Except as otherwise specified in a permit,

a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load that is overweight; but not oversize, may operate 24 hours
a day, including weekends and holidays.

2 Exéept as otherwise specified in the permit, no \.;ehicle or vehicle combination
operating under a permit that is overlength may be operated:

(a) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Sunday.

(b) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on Friday betWeexi the 4th Friday in May and
Labor Day.

(c) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on any holiday, or, when Independence Day falls
on Sunday, on the following Monday.

(d) Between 4:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m. on the day before any holiday, except that this
restriction does not apply to Independence Day when it falls on a Sunday.

(3) An issuing authority may issue a permit for times other than those specified in sub.
(1) or (2), under extraordinary circumstances when, in the opinion of the issuing authority,
public health and welfare is better served, and may impose additional conditions necessary to

promote the safe operation of the vehicle and load.
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Trans 269.11 ROUTE LiMITATIONS. (1) A permit issued by the department
authorizes the use of any of the highways of the state, subject to the limitations stated in the
permit.

(2) A permit is not valid on any part of the national system of interstate and defense
highways in Wisconsin. |

Trans 269.12 TRANSFERSQ. In the event of a breakdown or other circumstance
requiring a change of the power unit identified on the permit, transfers to another 'vehicle, under
the control of the permittee, rhay be vmade following the completion of a new application and the
issuance of a new permit. The words, "This is a transfer from _permit #__ " shall"be written
on the bottoﬁx of the application. The original permit shall be sent to the issuing authority with
the transfer application. .

Trans 269.13 INSURANCE AND LIABILITY CONDITIQNS. (1) In applying for and
accepting a pefmit, the permittee agrees to:

(@) Pay any claim for any bodily injury or property damage resultihg from operation
under the permit for which the E.per'mi‘tt'ee is legally responsible.

(b) Hold the state, its subdivjs;ions, officers, employees and agents harmless from any
claim which may arise from operatior; over public highways under the permitr

(2) Whether or not insuré.nce,.: bond, or deposit as set forth in sub. (7) is required, the
permittee shall be liable for all damagés which any highway or its appurtenances may sustain by
reason of any operation under the v_pe{r‘mit.

(3) An issuing authority may x;;vaive insurance requirements for permits issued to govern-

ment.
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(4) Where a certificate of insurance is required, no insurer may canéel the certificate of
insurance without pr&iding the issuing authority 10 days advance written notice of the
cancellation.

(5) An issuiné authority may require a permittee to provide more bodily injury damage
liability coverage than is set forth in spb. (6). |

(6) The following insurance amounts are required:

Bodily injury liability-each person.............. $150,000  or $750,000
Bodily injury liability-each accident............ $450,000 = combined single
Property damage liability-each accident........ $300,000 limit

(7) A permittee shall certify, and may be required to present satisfactory written evidence,
that the amount of insurance coverage given in sub. (6), or a bond in a form satisfactory to the
issuing authority, will be in effect for the vehicle and load designated in the permit while
operating on the public highway, unless this requirement is eJ;pressly waived by thé issuing
authority. » |

Trans 269.14 GENERAL CONDITIONS AND REQUIREMENTS. A permittee shall
comply with all épplicable statufes, ordinances, rules and policies of any state agency or

subdivision of the state, unless they are modified by the conditions of the permit.

Trans 269.15 D..ENIAL SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1) An
issuing authority may deny, suspend, or revoke a permit for gnod cause, pursuant to
s. 348.25(7), Stats. Grqunds for the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit include:

(a) Violation of any condition of a permif.

(b) Preventing"ar’l employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer from
performing his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful performance of his or her

duties.
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(¢) Physically assaulting an employee of an issuing authoﬁfy ora law enforcemeut officer
while peri'orming his or hervofficial duties.

b(d) Making a material misstatement in ‘an application for a permit.

(e) UnauthoriZeci alteratiori of a Iigrmit. | . |

(i)_ Refusal or failuré, without j’ust cause, to produqé requiied records.

~ (g) Payment of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this chapter.

(2)»Av permittee shall immediately return a suspende‘d‘ or revoked permit to the issuing
authority, afier receiving notice from the issuing authority of the suspenvsion or revocation of the
permit, |

Note: If a permit is denied, suspended, or revoked, an applicant or permittee may request
a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats. '
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SECTION 8. Chapter Trans 275 is repealed and recreated to read:
CHAPTER TRANS 275 -
APPLICATION FOR AND ISSUANCE OF
SINGLE TRIP PERMiTS BY TELEPHONE
Trans 275.01 PURPQSE. 'fhe purpose of this chapter is tb establish procedures for the
application and issuance of single trip permits by telephone as authorized under s. 348.26(1m),
Stats. » |
Trans 275.02 DEFINITIONS. Unless otherwise stated, the definitions of words and
phrases in ss. Trans 340.01 and Trans 348.01(2),, Stats., and s. Trans 250.02 apply to this
chapter. | -

-

Trans 275.03 PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO USE TELEPHONE PROCEDUR_E.
. (1) The department may accept an application for a single trip .permit by telephéne from, and
may issue ar permit to, only a person who has received prior approval from the department to use
the telephone procedure. |

(2) An applicat.ion for prior approval to use the telephone procedure shall be submitted
to the department of transportation, motor cﬁnier pérmit unit, p.d. box 7980, Madisé_n,
Wisconsin 53707-7980, on a form approved the deparfrhent. An ai)pliéation shall include:

(a) An acknowledgement that, if apiJroval is granted, the applicant will pay all permit fees
within 21 days after receipt of the department’s invoice.

(b) The address to which invoices and other correspondence concerning permits issued
by telephone may be sent. An applicant may request separate invoices. The department shall
assign a separate account number to each address.

Trans 275.04 BOND. (1) An applicant for prior approvalvvfor use of the telephone
procedure shall deposit with the department a surety bond guaranteeing payment of fees for
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permits issued by the department by telephohe to the applicant. The amount of the bond shall
be not less than twice the total fees which the applicant esﬁmates may be incurred in any
calendar month. The form of the bond and the surety shall be in a form approvéd by the
department.

(2) Any bond filed with the department under this sectioﬁ shall contain a clause stating
that the bonding company shall notify the department at least 30 daysvprior to the effective date
of any suspension, revocation or cancellation of a bond. No suspension, revocation or
cancellation of a bond under this section is effective until 30 days after the date it is received by
the department.

(3) Any bond filings, notices of suspension, revocafion or cancellation of bonds and any
correspondenée relating to bonds shall be submitted to the department of transportation, motor
carrier permit unit, p.o. box 7980, Madison, Wiscqnsin 53707-7980.

(4) In lieu of a bond, an applicant may deposit a sum of money not less than twice the
total fees which the applicant estimates may be incurred in any calendar month. The deposit may
be in the form of cash, certified check, cashiers check, corporate check or personal check. The
invoice and payment provisions of ss. Trans 275.08 and 275.09 apply to an applicant utilizing
this subsection. A deposit made under this subsection shall be returned to the applicant upon the
applicant’s request, less any unpaid invoices. An applicant’s authority to use the telephone
procedure shall be immediately terminated upon the department’s receipt of a request for the

return of the deposit.

Note: The department does not have a standard form for this bond. Standard forms
normally used by bonding companies should be used.

Trans 275.05 AUTHORIZATION CODE. (1) An applicant shall select an authorization

code consisting of any combination of letters or numerals, or both, and shall consist of any 5
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digits, but may not include the numeral zero. An applicant shall notify the department in writing
of the code selected before applying for any permit. If more than one address has been
designated under s. Trans 275.03(2)(c), different authdrization codes shall be selected for each
address.

(2) When a permit is requested by telephone, the department shall ask the caller for the
authorization code' and no permit may be issued unless the authorization code is cofrectly
provided.

(3) After an application is approved, an applicant may éhangé the authorization cbde at
any time by notifying the department in writing of the new authorization code for each account
number assigned under s. Trans 275.07(1). |

Trans 275.06 CALLER CODE. In addition to assigning an authorization code to each
account, an applicant may assign up to 35 caller codes to indivi;iuals who are authorized by an
applicant to request permits on the applicant’s behalf. Each caller code shall consist of a éingle
letter or single numeral from 1 to 9. If caller codes are assigned, the department’s invoices shall

show the caller code for each permit used.

Naote: The caller codes are infended to assist the applicant in reviewing the invoices and
permits issued. The department will not determine the validity of a caller code
before issuing permits.

Trans 275.07 APPROVAL FOR USE OF TELEPHONE PROCEDURE. Upon receipt
of an application to use the telephone procedure which complies with ss. Trans 275.03 and
275.04, the department may approve the application and may notify the applicant in writing.
If an application is approved, the department shall:

(1) Assign an account number for each billing addreés the applicant has requested and
notify the applicant of the number or numbers.

(2) Notify the applicant of the telephone number to be used in applying for permits.
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(3) Fumnish .the applicant with a supply of approved forms to be used when a permit is
issued by telephone. | |

‘Tra'ns 275.08 INVOICES. The department shall mail monthly invoices fo each applicant -
issued a permit during the preceding billing period. All invoices shall include the pérmit number
of each permit issued, the cailer code, if any, of the person who requested the permit, the fee
for each permit, and the total amount payable to the departmént._ | |

Trans 275.09 PAYMENT OF INVOICES. An applicant shall pay each invoice within
21 days of its Vr_eceipt. o .

Trans 275.10 LIMITATIONS ON APPLYING FOR PERMITS. (1) Applications ny
telephone for single trip permits may be received by the departmen't between 7:45 a.m. and 3:30l
p.m. Monday through Friday except on New Year’s Day, Dr. ‘Martin. Luther King Jr.’s Day,
Good Friday afternoon, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day,
Christmas Eve Day, Christmas Day, and New Year’s Eve Day. When any of these holidays fall
on Sunday and is celebrated on the following Monday, permit apﬁlicatibns may not be received
on the day celebrated as the holiday.

(2) Approved applicants may apply for single trip permits by telephone pro\:ided the
overall size and weight of the loaded vehicle or vehicles do not exceed:

(a) Length of 100 feet for a combination of vehicles.

(b) Length of 80 feet for a trailer, semi-trailer, mobile home, or modular building
section.

(¢) Length of 50 feét for a éingie motor vehicle, except 60 feet for a mobile crane.

(d) Width of 14 feet.

(e) Height of 15 feet.

(f) Gross weight of 150,000 pounds.
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~(3) The department may decline to accept applications for more tha_n 2 permits during a

single telephone call.

Note: This provision is intended to allow the department to free its telephone lines for use -
_ by other applicants during periods of high workloads. If workload is low and other
telephone lines are free, additional applications may be accepted.

(4) An approved applicant may only apply for permits for loads to be carried on a vehicle

which is owned, leased or controlled by the applicant and not on a vehicle which is controlled
by any other person. Application may be madevonly' by the applic’ax_ﬁ or its authorizéd en;ploye', |
but not by. any other ageht. | | |

S A perm.it which is requested by télephone may be issued only by felephone.

(6) No permit which is requested by any means other than by telephone may be issued
by telephone.

(7) The department may not accept collect telephdne cails.

Trans 275.11 PERMIT APPLICATION PROCEDURE. | (1) To request a single trip
permit, an applicant shall telephone the department using the number provided under s. Tran§
275.07(2) and shall providg: the assigned account number. All éalls may be tapé-recorded by the
department. |

(2) When requested by the department as required under s. Trans 275.05 (2), an applicant
shall provide any required authorization éode and caller code.

(3) When requested by the department, an applicant shall provide all other information ‘
regarding the proposed transportation as shown on the department’s permit application form.

(4) When a permit is issued, the applicant shall copy all relevant information dictated by
the department, on the form provided under s. Trans 275.07 (3), and shall sign and date the

form.
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Trans 275.12 PERMIT RETRANSMITTAL. An applicant may retransmit an approved

permit by telephone provided that the person to whom it is retransmitted copies it on the form
provided under s. Trans 275'.07(3), or may transmit the ‘permit' by facsimile.

Trans 275.13 P_ERMIT TO BE -ClIARRI.ED.' A copy of the permit, on the form provided
under s. Trans 275;07(3), shall be camed in the vehicle to which it applies whenever it is
operated under the pérmit. | | |

Trans 275.14 DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF PERMIT. (1) The

department may deny, susperid, or re-‘yoke. apprdval- to use the telephone procedure, pursuant to
s. 348.25(75, Stats. Grounds for the._denial, suspension, or revocation of approval to use the
telephone procedure include: |

(a) Violation of any condition of a permit.

(b) Preventing an employee of an issuing authority or a law enforcement officer from

‘performing his or her official duties, or interfering with the lawful performance of his or her

" duties.

(c) Physically assaulting an employee of an issuing authqrity‘ or a law enforcement officer
while performing his or her official duties.

(d) Making a material misstatement in an application fora permit.

(e) Unauthorized alteration of a permit.

(f) Refusal or failure, without just cause, to produce required records.

(g) Payment of an application fee with a worthless check.

(h) Cancellation, suspension, revocation,or expiration of a bond.

(1) Violation of any other applicable provision under ch. 348, Stats., or this chapter.
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(2) A permittee shall immediately return a suspended or revoked approval form to the
issuing authority, after receiving notice from the issuing authority of the Suspension or revocation

approved to use the telephqne procedure.

Note: If apprdval is denied, suspended, or révoked an applicant or pérmittee may request
a hearing before the office of the commissioner of transportation, pursuant to s.
348.25(9), Stats

Trans 275.15 PERMIT SERVICES. For persons whose business is obtaining permits
for others and who have entered into a contract with the department for placing communication
equipment in the departmént’s office and guaranteeing payment of fees, the department may

waive the requ1rements of ss. Trans 275.04 and 275. 10(4)

END OF RULE TEX

J -

Effective Date: This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month. followi'ng
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as prov1ded in s. 227 22(2)(intro.), Wis.
Stats.

Signéd. at Madison, Wisconsin, this Seth day
of October, 1990.

'6'/ Ronald R Fiedler, P.E.

Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation

RECEIVED
NOV 11990

Revisor of Statutes
Bureau
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LM Tommy G. Thompson Ronald R. Fiedler, PE OFFICE OF GENERAL COUNSEL
Governor Secretary P. O. Box 7910

Madison, WI 53707-7910

October 30, 1990

RECEIVED

' Mr. Gary Poulson NOV 11990
Assistant Revisor of Statutes
‘ tes
119 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. Revisor of SIa

2nd FlOOI' AR
Madison, Wisconsin 53703

RE: CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 90-25
In the Matter of the Adoption of TRANS 250-275, Wisconsin Administrative Code,

relating to the issuing of permits for vehicles and loads exceeding the size and weight
limitations of ch. 348, Wisconsin Statutes

Dear Mr. Poulson:

Enclosed for filing, pursuant to s. 227.20, Wis. Stats., is a certified copy of CR 90-25,
an administrative rule relating to the above-mentioned matter. This rule is submitted by the

Wisconsin Department of Transportation.

Sincerely,

.

Enclosures

cc: Tom Walker
Linda Thelke
Sandy Beaupre
Marv Schaeffer
Harry Price

Hill Farms State Transportation Building, Room 115B; 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin; Telephone (608) 266-8810; FAX (608) 267-6734
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