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STATE OF WISCONSIN )
: )
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE)

I, Robert D. Haase, Commissioner of Insurance and custodian of
the official records of this Office, certify that the attached rule-making
order affecting ss. Ins 18.07, 18.08, 18.10, 18.12, and 18.14,

Wis. Adm. Code, relating to creating a penalty for an insurer's failure to
pay an assessment to the Health Insurance Risk Sharing Plan on time, was

issued by this Office ongll,@dpu<mkq Sl[&%l
/

I further certify that I have compared this copy with the

original on file in this Office and that it is a true copy of the whole of

the original,

- '
Dated at Madison, Wisconsin, this 5 day of <41&ML&1LALV,(Q71~4.

Robert D. Haase
Commissioner of Insurance
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ORDER OF THE OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
AMENDING AND CREATING A RULE
To amend Ins ss. Ins 18,07 (5) (d), 18.08 (2), 18.10 (2) and (3),
18.12 (4) Note and (5) (a) 1 and 2, b and (b); and to create Ins ss,., 18.10
Note and 18.14, relating to creating a penalty for an insurer's failure to pay

an assessment to the health insurance risk-sharing plan on time.

ANALYSIS PREPARED BY THE OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE
Statutory authority: ss. 601.41 (3) and 619.135 (1) (c), Stats.
Statutes Interpreted: s. 619.135 (1), Stats.

1991 Wisconsin Act 39 requires an insurer that cancels a person's

" health insurance coverage, substantially reduces or limits coverage or

increases the person's premium by 50% or more to pay an assessment of $1,750

to the health insurance risk-sharing plan (plan) if, as a result of the
insurer's action, the person becomes eligible for and obtains coverage from
the plan. An assessment must be paid within 30 days after the insurer
receives a notice of the assessment from the commissioner of insurance

(commissioner).

The act requires the commissioner to establish a penalty for late
payment. This rule creates a penalty of $250, plus an additional $250 for
each week the violation continues. The penalty applieé to all late payments
basea on notices received by policyholders on and after August 15, 1991, the

effective date of Act 39.

722R1



Both the assessments and penalties are credited to the appropriation

used for premium subsidies and deductible reductions for low-income persons in

the plan,

The rule also makes various technical corrections in the

administrative code chapter governing the plan.

SECTION 1. 1Ins 18,07 (5) (d) is amended to read:
Ins 18,07 (5) (d) The annual report of the board to standing

ecommiteees the chief clerk of each house of the legislature required by

s. 619,15 (2), Stats., and s. Ins 18.08 (2) shall include a section describing
premium rate setting in detail. In order to fulfill this requirement, the
board may appoint an actuarial committee under the powers granted to the board
in s. 619.15 (5), Stats., and s. Ins 18.08 (3) (d) and (e).

SECTION 2, 1Ins 18.08 (2) is amended to read:

Ins 18.08 (2) ANNUAL REPORT. The board shall make an annual report
to the members of the plan and to stending-committees-en-kealeh-and-insurance

im the chief clerk of each house of the legislature pursuant to s. 619.15 (2),

Stats.
SECTION 3. 1Ins 18.10 (2) and (3) are amended to read:

Ins 18.10 (2) FORM OF NOTICE REQUIRED. “Wisconsin HIRSP Health

Insurance Risk-Sharing Plan®,"” an informational pamphlet prepared by and

available-through the Office-of-the-Gommissioner—-of~Insurance office of the

commissioner of insurance and endorsed by the board, shall satisfy the notice

requirements set forth in s. 632.785 (1), Stats. Any other notice given in
accordance with s. 632,785 (1), Stats., shall substantially conform to this
pamphlet in type size and readability and shall be subject to the prior

approval of the commissioner of insurance,
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(3) STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR REJECTION, TERMINATION, CANCELLATION OR
IMPOSITION OF UNDERWRITING RESTRICTIONS. The insurer's rejection,
termination, cancellation or imposition of underwriting restrictions under
s. 632,785 (1), Stats.,, shall, pursuant to s. 632.785 (2), S;ats., state the
specific medical reason for the insurer's action.

SECTION 4, 1Ins 18.10 Note is created to read:

Ins 18.10 Note: The form referenced in subsection (2), MGAC113, may
be obtained from the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, P. O. Box 7873,
Madison, WI 53702-7873.

SECTION 5, 1Ins 18.12 (4) Note is amended to read:

Ins 18.12 (4) Note: A person may obtain the supplemental
application for premium and deductible reduction at no charge either at the
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, P, O. Box 7873, Madison,

Wisconsin 5370#5~123-West-Washingten-Avenue 53707-7873, or ét Mutual of Omaha
Insurance Company, P, O. Box 31746, Omaha, Nebraska 68131 (1-800-228-7044).
The form is numbered Form 8116HIRSP APP SUPP.

SECTION 6. Ins 18.12 (5) (a) 1 and 2. b and (b) are amended to read:

Ins 18.12 (5) (a) 1. At the time of plan application. 1In this
case, for purposes of the premium reduction, the administering earrirer
carrier shall bill the applicant the reduced premium unless the first premium
payment is submitted with the application. If the first premium payment is
submitted with the application, the applicant shall reeteve receive a refund
of the reduced portion of the premium., Deductible reductions take effect upon
issuance of the policy.

2. b. If eligibility for the deductible reduction is established
within 31 days after the effective date of the policy, the new policyholder

shall receive a refund of a portion of the deductible paid by the policyholder

prior to establishing eligibility. The amount of the refund shall be the
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difference between the deductible paid by the policyholder and the deductible
as reduced by any reduction to which the policyholder is entitled. 1If
eligibility is not established within 31 days after the effective date of the
policy, the policyholder shall receive mo refund. 1In this c;se, the
policyholder shall establish eligibility at least 60 days before the palicy's
renewal date, and the deductible reduction shall take effect on Janurary
January 1 of the year commencing after the pteteyls policy's renewal date.

(b) Persons who are existing policyholders as of March 31 shall apply
annually by May 1 in order to be eligible for the reductions for the year
beginning on July 1, For premium reductions, if the application is not
postmarked by May 1, then the application shall be postmarked at least 60 days
prior to the policyholder's next policy renewal date in order for the
corresponding premium notice to reflect the reduced premium. An existing
policyholder who is first determined to be etigbte- eligible for a premium
reduction shall receive a refund on a pro rata basis fbr the time period
between July 1 of each calendar year and the next renewal date. Deductible
reductions under this paragraph take place on January 1 of the year following
establishment of eigibiiity eligibility. Under this subsection, the
administering carrier shall treat any individual who becomes a policyholder
after March 31 as a new policyholder,

SECTION 7. 1Ins 18,14 is created to read:

Ins 18.14 PENALTY FOR LATE ASSESSMENT PAYMENT. An insurer that
violates s. 619.135 (1) (b), Stats., is subject to a penalty of $250. Each
week the violation continues is a separate offense.

SECTION 8. INITIAL APPLICABILITY. This rule first applies to

penalties for late payment of assessments based on notices under s. 619.12

(am), (b) and (c), Stats., received on August 15, 1991,
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SECTION 9., EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule will take effect on the first

day of the first month after publication, as provided in s. 227.22 (2)

(intro,.,), Stats.

’ o
Dated at Madison, Wisconsin, this «5 day of éébébu“ioi [19% .

BTN

Robert D. Haase
Commissioner of Insurance
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