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SPD 1.01 Annual review. (1) The state public defender shall annually
notify each active member of the state bar of Wisconsin of the procedure
for applying for certification under the provisions of s, 977.08; Stats.
Publication of a notice in the publication of the state bar of Wisconsin
constitutes notiee, . .

{2) The state public defender shall annually update its certification list
under s. 977,08, Stats., regarding the availability of private attorneys to
be appointed to state public defender matters, e

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; r. and reer, (1) and (2), r. (3),
Register, November, 1984, No. 347, eff, 12-1-84, D

SPD 1.02 Certification of newly admitted afiorneys. The state public de-
fender shall provide the Wisconsin supreme court and the state bar of
Wisconsin with materials to insure that every person admitted to the
state bar after January 1, 1978, is provided with information for apply-
ing for certification under s, 977.08, Stats. ’

Histery: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. Register, November, 1984,
No. 347, eff. 12-1-84,

SPD 1.03 Certification application. The state public defender Shall pre-
pare an application to be completed by attorneys seeking certification as
provided in s. 977.08 (3), Stals,

History: Cr. Register, A'{xgust. 1978, No, 272, eff, 9-1-73.

8PD 1.04 Certification criteria, (1) An attorney shall be certified for mis-
demeanor and paternity cases if the attorney has requested certification
and the attorney is admitted to the state bar of Wisconsin.

(2) An attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a felony
g)ff:i'gnse bearing a maximum penalty of less than 20 years impr?sonment

(a) The attorney has requested certification;

(b) The attorney is admitted to the state bar of Wisconsin; and

(¢} Either, within the past 5 years:

1, Has served one year as a prosecutor;

2. Has served one year as a public defender;

3. Has been trial counsel alone of record in 5 misdemeanor cases
brought to final resolution; . - Lo

4, Has been trial counsel alone of record in 2 felony cases brought to
final resolution; or - .
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5. Has been trial counsel alone or with other trial counsel and handled
a significant portion of the trial in 2 cases, civil, criminal, or juvenile,
that have been tried to a jury to final resolution.

(2m) (a) Except as provided for in pars. (¢) and {d), an attorney shall
be certified for the types of cases specified in the following schedule if the
attorney has been certified for misdemeanors and has completed the indi-
cgted number of credits of state public defender prov1ded legal
education:

Type of Case - - _ ~Credits
Chapter 51 & 65 . ' .2
Juvenile-ss. 48.12 and 48.13, Stats. 4

Termination of Parental Rights 4 (plus completion of
. 4 eredits for juvenile
: ‘ _ o certification)
Probation & Parole Revocations ) 2 ’
Writs & Extradition 1

(b) 1. Paragraph (a) only applies to attorneys who seek certification
after January 1, 1993. However, except as provided under subd. 2, any
attorney who seeks eertification after January 1, 1993 shall be conditron-
ally certified under this subsection for 6 months if he or she agrees, in
writing, to complete the indicated number of eredits specified in par. {(a)
within § months of the date that he or she was conditionally certified,
Upon an attorney’s request, the state public defender may extend the
conditional certification for an additional 6 months,

2. Conditional certification under this subsection is not available for
attorneys who represent clients in termlnatton of parentai rights cases or
juvenile waiver cases.

(e) With the approval of the state public defender, an attorney may
substitute other aceredited training for state public defender prov1ded
legal education. o

(d) An attorney may be asmgned a revocation case, whether or not he
or she is certified for revocations, when that attorney hasa prlor pendmg
case with the same client, . )

{3) An- attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a felony
offense bearing a maximum penalty of 20 or more years imprisonment if:

(a) The attorney has requested certification;

(b} The attorney is admitted to' the state bar of Wisconsin; and -
(e) Bither, within the past § years: o

1. Has served 2 years as a prosecutor;

2. Has served 2 years as a public defender; or

3. Has been trial counsel alone or with other trial counsel and handled
a significant portion of the trial in § cases, civil, criminal, or juvenile,
that has been tried to a Jury to final resolution. ,

(5) An attorney shali be certified for appellate cases 1f
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(a) The attorney has filed a brief in the Wisconsin supreme court or
Wisconsin court of appeals in no less than one felony case or 2 misde-
meanor cases within the 3 years immediately precedmg the application
for certification, and has completed the contmumg legal education re-
quired by these rules; or

(b} The attorney has completed 3 credits of state-public-defender-
provided legal edueation on appellate procedure; or

(e¢) The attorney has any other equivalent appellate experience
deemed satisfactory to the chief of the appellate division, inciuding ap-
peliate briefs submitted in other jurisdictions, detailed trial level brief-
ing, or other approved work, and has completed the continuing legal edu-
cation required by these rules,

{6) The state public defender may develop specialized lists within
subs, (1) to (5), which may be based on additional certification criteria to
be developed by the state public defender. Specialized lists within sub.
(3) for cases requiring exceptional expertise may be developed w1th the
approval of the state public defender.

(7} Attorneys employed by the state public defender shall meet erite-
ria equivalent to certified private attorneys.

(8) {(a) An attorney may be excluded by the state public defender on
the following grounds:

1. The attorney is disbarred, suspended, or has surrendered a license fo
practice law in this state;

2, The attorney fails to meet the educatlon or experlence eriteria set
forth herein.

{b) The state public defender may exclude from a certified list any at-
torney barred by statute from engaging in criminal representation.

{e) Any attorney who is excluded from the certification list by virtue of
the exclusions set forth herein above shall be placed on the appropriate
certification list within 30 days after a submission of a written notifica-
tion to the state public defender that the attorney is no longer disquali-
fied, provided further that such attorney had previously submitted a
timely and properly prepared certification application.

(9) Any attorney certified under ch. SPD 1 shall complete 6 hours of
continuing legal education each calendar year in courses approved by the
state public defender. This requirement shall apply beginning with the
first full calendar year following graduation from law school, The state
public defender shall establish procedures to monitor compliance thh
this requirement.

Hlstor Cr., Reglster, May, 1978, No. 269, eff. 6-1-78; am, Register, August, 1978 No. 272,
eff, 9-1- g r. and recr. (1}, renum, (2) to (4) to be (5) to {Tyand am. (7}, cr. (2) to (4), Regls—
ter, August, 1981, No; 308, eff. 9-1-81; am, (1) (intre.) and (c), (2) (¢} and (d) 5., (3) (¢} and
(d} 3., renum, {4)to {7) to be (B}, (7)s (8) and (9) and am. (8} (a) (intre.) and 2. and (9), cr. {4}
and (6), Register, November, 1984, No. 847, eff. 12-1-84; am. () (a) , Register, April, 1998,
No. 412, eff, 5-1-90; correction in (9) maade under s. 13, 93 {(2m) (b) 4, Stats Register, April,
1590, No. 4121, and recr. (1), am, (2) th), {3) (b), (B) (b}, (7), (B) (a) (mtro ), (e} and (a), 1.

(2) (c), (8} (¢), (4) and (8) (a) 2., renum, (2} {d) (intro.), (3) (d) (intro.) dnd (8) (a) 8. to be (2)
(c) {infro, ), (3) (e) (intro.) and (8) {a) 2, and am., cr. {2m), Register, October, 1992 Nao. 442,

Register, October, 1992, No, 442
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" SPD 1.05 Appeal of certification decisions. (1) The state public defender
shall notify each attorney who has submitted a certification application
of the countiés or county and categories for which the attorney is eligible,
Uponreéequest by that attorney, the state public defender shall inform the
attorney excluded from a particular list of the reasons for the exclusion
from a particular list and the manner by which the attorney may appeal
the decision or reapply for recertification. S L S

(2) Any attorney may appeal the state public defender’s certification
decision by mailing a letter of appeéal to the state public defender within
30 days of the notice of exclusion, The attorney shall state in the letter
the certification from which the attorney has been excluded. The letter
may ‘also state the reasons the attorney believes the exelusion was
improper. o SR

(3} Upon receipt of an appéal letter, the state public defender shall
place the matter on the agenda of the next state public defender board
tieeting unless that meeting isless than 10 days from the receipt of the
‘appeal letter, in which case the matter may be scheduled for the follow-
ing meeting. The state public defender shall, at least 10 days prior to
hearing, inform the attorney of the time and place of the board meeting
at which the appeal will be considered. SRR S

(4) The state public defender shall transmit to the board and the attor-
-ney all material relied upon in reaching the.certification decision, includ-

ing the certification application and all written comments received under
5. 977.08 (3).

(b) The atlorney may request that the state public defender reproduce
and submit to the board material relevant to the appeal, The hearing
before the board shall be considered a “class 3" proceeding and is gov-
erned by ss. 227.44 to 227.46, Stats. :

(6) The state public defender board may deliberate the matter in exec-
utive session pursuant to the provisions of s. 19.85 (1) (a), Stats. The
board shall issue a written decision either affirming, reversing, or modify-
Jing the certification decision of the state public defender. The written
«decision shall be maileq to the attorney within 20 days of the hoard meet-
ing and shall be signed by an officer of the board. DR

© (7) The board’s written decision shall constitute fndings of fact and
conclusions of law within the meaning of s. 227.47, Stats. R
History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, cff. 9-1-78; am. {1) to (6), Register, Novem-

ber, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1-B4; corrections in {5) and (7); made under s, 13.93 (2m) (b) 7,
Stats.; Register, April, 1930, No. 412, - S .

'SPD 1.06 Removal from certification lists for cause. (1)-Any interested
party, or the assigned counsel chief on his er her own motion, may. re-
quiest, in writing, that an attorney, previously eertified to accept cases
from the state public defender, be removed for cause. Upon receipt of'a
request, the state public defender shall conduct an investigation thereof,
Upon a finding of cause, the state public defender may suspend the attor-
‘ney from certification or may refer the attorney to the state public de-
fender board with a recommendation for removal. : :

(2) Upon a recommendation for removal, or following the suspension
of any attorney and the attorney’s request for review, the board shall
review the investigation and recommendation. Upon request of the at-
torney prior to its review of the state public defender’s investigation and

Register, October, 1992, No. 442
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recommendation, the board shall conduet a hearing at which time the
attorney in question may be heard and produce evidence in defense
thereof. Upon a finding of cause, the board may remove the attorney or
confirm the suspension, The board shall render a decision within 60 days
of the hearing.

(3) Any attorney removed for cause may petition a cirenit court for
review of the decisions of the state public defender board pursuant to the
provisions of ch. 227, Stats.

{5) The board may, in its discretion, appoint any number of its mem-
bers to conduet the hearing and to report its findings and recommenda-
tions to the entire board for its decision.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1981, No. 308, eff. 9-1-81; am. (1) and (2}, Register, Novem-

llmgr,l 199284. No. 347, eff. 12-1-84; am. (1) and (2), 1. {4), Register, Qctober, 1992, No. 442, eff.

SPD 1.07 Voluntary removal. Any attorney may request to be removed
from any certified list for a specified period of time, and the state public
defender shall remove the attorney until notified in writing by the attor-
ney that the attorney wishes to be placed back on the list, If an attorney
is inactive for more than 3 years, the attorney shall reapply for
certification,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No, 272, eff, 9-1-78; am. (1), Register, November,
1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1-84; am, Register, October, 1992, No, 442, eff, 11-1.92,

SPD 1.08 Access to files. (1) The state public defender may not disclose
to any person except the subject, any comments made by any person who
has initiated or responded to an inquiry relating to the fitness of an attor-
ney for certification, unless ordered to do so by the public defender board
or a court,

(2) Only certified lists, board proceedings and decisions under these
rules shall be considered public documents and open to public inspection.

History: Gr. Register, August, 1978, No, 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. (1), Register, November,
1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1-84; am, {1), Register, October, 1992, No. 442, ff, 11-1-92.
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