STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION
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I, State Superintendent of the Department of Public Instruction

and custodian of the official records of said Department, do hereby

certify that the annexed rule relating to an audiologist and special

3-year license, reduction of credits for certain special education

licenses and the authorization of a portfolio review process was duly

approved and adopted by this Department on the first déy of the month

following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.

I further certify that said copy has been compared by me with the

original on file in this Department and the same is a true copy

thereof,

and of the whole of such original.

Rewégpcéfygﬁﬁes

Bureay;

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I hereunto set
my hand and affixed the official seal
of the Department at General Executive
Facility %GEF) 3, 125 South Webster
Street, P.O. Box 7841 in the city of

Madlson, this :Q day of May,
1993.

Ao Mo, @wﬂf‘“

Lée Sherman Dreyfus
Interim State Superlnten
State Department of Publlc Instructlon
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ORDER OF THE -
STATE SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION
AMENDING RULES
" The state superintendent of public instruction hereby repeals PI
3.25(3)(a)6, renumbers PI 3.25(3)(a)7, amends PI 3.25(1)(intro.),
(3)(a)(intro.), (b)(intro.) and 4, PI 3.26, PI 3.27(title), (1l)(intro.), (a)
and (2), PI 3.28(title), (1)(intro.) and (2), PI 3.29(title), (1) (intro.) and
(2), PI 3.30(title) and (1) (intro.), PI 3.31(title), (1) (intro.), (2) and PI
4.07, and creates PI 3.03(6)(b) 4 and (c) and PI 3.355, relating to an
audiologist and special 3-year license, reduction of credits for certain

special education_licenses and the authorization of a portfolio review

process.,

ANALYSIS BY THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTiON

Statutory authority: ss. 115.28 (7) (c), 121.02 (1) (a) and 227.11 (2) (a),
Stats.

Statute interpreted: ss. 115.28 (7) and 118.19 (1) and (3) (a), Stats.

Section 115.28 (7), Stats., requires the state superintendent of public
instruction to license all teachers for the public schools and to make rules
establishing standards of attainment for licensure. Chapter PI 3 contains the
requirements which an individual must meet to be licensed in Wisconsin. The
amendments to ch. PI 3: »

1. Creates a school audiologist license
2. Creates a special 3-year license
3. Reduces the number of credits necessary to receive a license in certain

areas of special education.

The amendments to ch. PI 4 allows Wisconsin‘’s teacher education institutions
to establish a portfolio review process.

School Audiologigt License

The rules establish minimum requirements for audiologists providing services
to children in school districts. The rules will permit:

1. Any person who holds a masters degree in audiology from an accredited
ingtitution and who has been successfully employed by a school or school
district as a school audiologist prior to July 1, 1994, on a full-time
bagis for two semesters, or the equivalent, to be issued a school
audiologist license. :

2. Any person who holds a masters degree in audiology from an institution
accredited by the educational standards board of the American speech-~
language-hearing association may receive a permit to serve as a school
audiologist.

The desired effect of the rules is to license school audiologists in order to
facilitate the development of a statewide school audiology services delivery
system as well as to provide state categorical aids to reimburse the salaries
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of school audiologists.

Currently, the salaries of persons serving as school audiologists ‘are funded
through local funds, federal special education entitlement or discretionary

‘funds, or a combination of the two. A few are categorically aided because

they happen to hold a license as a special education teacher. The creation of
a new license for school audiologists under the rules will enable the salaries
of all persons serving and licensed as such to be reimbursed under state
categorical aids as provided for under s. 115.88 (1), Stats., since licensure
is required in order to receive state categorical aids.

. Special 3-Year License

The rules establish a special 3-year, non-renewable license which authorizes
the holder to teach in the areas of emotional disturbance or learning
disabilities if certain conditions are met. This special license will be
effective no later than June 30, 1998 and will not be issued after June 30,
1995. __This special license is created.to allow persons who are currently-or
need to be licensed with an emergency license to receive a 3-year regular
license while they complete coursework needed to obtain a regular license to
teach in the areas of emotional disturbance or learning disabilities.

Reduction of Credits

The rules reduce the number of credits necessary to receive a license to teach
in the areas of mild or moderate cognitive disabilities, severely handicapped,
learning disabilities, emotional disturbance, hearing impaired and visually
impaired.

Portfolio Review

The rules allow a Wisconsin institution to waive specific requirements in ch.
PI 3 based on a portfolio review of a student’s previous experience and
training. The portfolio review process must be part of the institution’s
approved program.

SECTION 1. PI 3.03(6)(b)4 and (c) are created to read:v

PI 3.03(6)(b)4. ’School audiologist permit.’ a. A one-year school
audiologist permit which authorizes the holder to be employed -as a school
audiologist may be issued to a person who meets the requirements under s. PI
3.355 (1) (b) and who seeks a license as a school audiologist but does not
meet the licenge requirements under s. PI 3.355. A permit issued under this
subparagraph is valid for a period not to exceed one year and expires on June
30, unless an earlier expiration is stated in the permit.

b. The district administrator or designated official of the employing
school district shall request a permit in writing with full explanation and
justification of the need. The request shall state that a search was
conducted for a fully-licensed school audiologist and that a fully-licensed

audiologist is not available.
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c. The district administrator or designated official of the employing
school district may request,thaf a permit be renewed. This permit may be
renewed if, between the date of issuance and the proposed renewal date, the
applicant satisfactorily completes at least 6 semester credits towards
completion of the reéuirements under s.. PI 3.355 (1)‘(a).

d. The state superintendent may iséug_or‘deny a permit under this
subdivision. ;

(c) Special three-year license. l.l'Efféctive July 1, 1993, a special

three-year, non-renewable license which authorizes a licensed teacher to teach

in the areas of emotional disturbance or learning disabilities may be issued

"if all of the following conditions are met:

a. A request for a license is made as spécified undervpar. (a)2.

b. The épplicant is enrolled in an approved program leaaing to a
regular license under ss. PI 3.28 or 3.29 and tﬁe enrolling institution
certifies that the program can be completed within the three-year time period
of the special license.

2. The applicant under subd. 1b may submit a portfolio for review by an
institution to determine if any of the requireménts under ss. PI 3.28 or 3.29
may be waived by the institution under s. PI 4.07.

3; The applicant under subd. 1lb shall student teach on the job for a
maximum of two semester credits. The requirement under this subdivision may
be waived by the institution based on the portfolio review under subd. 2.

4. The applicant under subd. 1b shall complete 1/3 of the regular
license requirements under ss. PI 3.28 or 3.29 each year and shall submit
evidence of successful teaching experiences by the eﬁploying school district
to the state superintendent. If the applicant does not meet the requirements
under this subdivision, the special license may be rescinded by the state
superintendent.

5. A special license issued under this paragraph will remain in effect
no later than June 30, 1998.

6. A special license under this paragraph will not be issued after June
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30, 1995.
SECTION 2., PI 3.25(1)(intro.) and (3)(a)(intro.) are amended to read:
PI 3.25(1)(intro.) Special education licenses are issued to teach early

childhood, grades kindergarten prekindergarten through 9, grades 6 through 12,

or grades—kindergarten prekindergarten through 12. In this subchapter, a
requirement which is to be completed "at the appropriate level" means that the
requirement shall be met at the elementary/middle level for a license to teach

in grades-kindergarten prekindergarten through 9, at the middle/secondary

level for a license to teach in grades 6 through 12, and at both the

elementary level and the middle/secondary level for a license to teach in

kingergarten prekindergarten through grade 12.

(3)(a) (intro.) General professionadl preparation. At least 38 14

semester credits in professional education including all of the following:
SECTION 3. PI 3.25(3)(a)6 is repealed.
SECTION 4. PI 3.25(3)(a)7 is renumbered PI 3.25(3)(b)6.
SECTION 4M. PI 3.25(3)(b)(intro.) and 4 are amended to read:
PI 3.25(3)(b)(intro.) At least 12 14 semester credits in general

special education including all of the following:

4. Ianguage Normal lanquage development and lanquage disorders of the

exceptional child.

SECTION 5. PI 3.26 is amended to read: - : o T

PI 3.26(title) MILD OR MODERATE COGNITIVE DISABILITIES - 806, PK-9, 6=

12, PR—-12., A mild or moderate mental-retardatien cognitive disabilities -

806 license may be issued to an applicant who has completed the requirements
in s. PI 3.25(3) and all of the following requirements:
(1) At least 12 8 semester credits including all of the following:

(a) Introduction to mental-—retardatien cognitive disabilities.

(b) Educational diagnosis and assessment of meantal retardatien

cognitive disabilities.

(c) Curriculum and methods for teaching meptally-retarded cognitively

disabled pupils at the appropriate level.



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
217

28

29

30

31

(2) Student

the appropriate le

SECTION 6.
read:

PI 3.27(titl
7 (1) (intro.)
following:

(a) At leas
mental—retardatien

gsevere communicati
disorders.

(2) Student

SECTION 7.

PI 3.28(titl

(1) (intro.)
following:

(2) Student

appropriate level.

CHR 93-26
5/20/93
Page 5

teaching mentally—retarded cognitively disabled pupils at
vel. A —+teacher whe-holds—a—regular—lticense—in at least—one

PI 3.27(title), (1)(intro.) and (a) and (2) are amended to

e) SEVERELY HANDICAPPED - 807, PK-12.

At leaét 18 12 semester credits including all of the

t 6 credits in the characteristics of children with severe

cognitive disabilities and developmental disabilities,

on deficits, severe physical disabilities, and behavioral

teaching severely handicapped pupils at the appropriate

PI 3.28(title), (1)(intro.) and (2) are amended to read:

e) LEARNING DISABILITIES - 811, PK-9, 6-12, PK-12.

At least 32 8 semester credits inciuding all of the

teaching pupils with learning disabilities at the

A4 1 ho_hold Tar 1 . Least
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SECTION 8. PI 3.29(title), (1)(intro.) and (2) are amended to read:

PI 3.29(title) EMOTIONAL DISTURBANCE - 830, PK-9, 6-12, PK-12,

(1) (intro.) At least 12 8 semester credits including all of the

following:

(2)

Student teaching emotionally disturbed pupils at the appropriate

SECTION 9. PI 3.30(title) and (1) (intro.) are amended to read:

PI 3.30(title) HEARING IMPAIRED - 805, PK-9, 6-12, PK-12.

(1) (intro.) At least 38 12 semester credits including all of the

followiné:

SECTION 10, PI 3.31(title), (1)(intro.) and (2) are amended to read:

PI 3.31(title) VISUALLY IMPAIRED - 825, PK-9, 6-12, PK~-12.

(1) (intro.) At least 18 12 semester credits including all of the

following:

(2)

Student teaching visually impaired pupils at the appropriate level.
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SECTION 11. PI 3.355 is created to read:

PI 3,355 School Audioclogist - 822, PK-12. (1) Effective July 1, 1994,

any person employed by a public school as a school audiologist shall held a
license under this section. Except as specified in sub. (2), an applicant for
the school audioldgist - 822 license shall complete or possess all of the
following:

(a) At least 12 semester credits in professional education course work
including all of the following:

1. The requirements in PI 3.05 (1), (2m), (8), (9), and (10).

2., Educational psychology including principles and theories of

‘'learning.

3. Methods and procedures in school audiology programs including the

'relationship with, and content of school pupil service programs. This

requirement may be met by prior experience upon the recommendation of the
accredited institution.

4. Alternative communication systems including signed language systems,

"their implications for the social, emotional and educational development of

children, and methods for effective communication with children who use them.

5. At least 50 hours of supervised practicum providing audiology

services in a school setting, or equivalent experience while employed as a

lschool audiologist by a public or private school or school ‘district.

(b) A master’s degree in audioclogy from an institution accredited by

-the educational standards board of the American speech-language-hearing

agsociation.

(2) A person who holds a masters degree in audiology from any
accredited institution and who has been successfully employed by a school or
school district as a school audiologist prior to July 1, 1994, on a full-time
basis for two semesters, or the equivalent, may be issued a regular license
under this section.

(3) A person who meets the requirement under sub. (1)(b), may be issued
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a permit under s. PI 3.03(6)(b)4.

SECTION 12. PI 4.07 is amended to read:

PI 4.07 LICENSURE RULES. Each professional education program leading to
licensure shall require completion of all requirements for licensure at the
specific grade level and in the specific subject area as specified in ch. PI

3. The SCD may review the previousg experience and training of each student

through a portfolio review process and may waive specific reguirements in ch.

PI 3 or this chapter baged upon thig review. Authorization for the portfolio

review procegs shall be part of the SCD program that is approved by the state

superintendent.

The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of
the month commencing after the date of publication in the Wisconsin
Administrative Register, as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Dated this Q‘Zz?t/' day of May, 1993

Sherman Dreyfus
Interlm State Superlntendent




