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include the date, time of day, the number of hours and the location where
the owner or employe completed the trammg.

I\ute A ¢opy of the firearms training guide entitled "Demonstrate Care and Use of Fire-
arms’” as approved by the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Standards Board is available for in-
spection at the Bureau of Diirect Licensing and Real Estate, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 281, Madison, WL

{3) A certificate of proficiency shall be valid for one year. An owner or
employe shall obtain a new certificate of proficiency by satislying the
requirements in subs, (1) and (2), except that the training course shall
consist of a 6-hour refresher course which more briefly covers the re-.
quired course eontents described in s, RI, 34.03.

{(4) An owner or employe who has not obtained a certificate of profi-
ciency under this section at any time during the 5 years preceding the
issuance of a permit by the department pursuant to s. RL 34.015 shall
obtain a new certificate by successfully completmg the fulI 36 hour
course, as required in 5. RL 34,03,

History: Cr. Reglster Octuber, 1988 No. 394, eff. 11-1-88; r. and recr, B.eglster, December,
1994, No. 468, eff. 1-1-9

RL 34.03 Training reguirements for carrying a fircarm. (1) GENERAL RE~
QUIREMENT. Except as provided in'sub. {2}, completion of a training pro-
gram of not less than 36 hours consisting of the following is required as a
prerequisite for obtaining an initial certificate of proficiency to carry a
firearm under s. RL 34.02, The training program shall consist of:-

{a) Instructmn in the dangers relating to the use of the firearm, safety
rules, care and cleanmg of the firearm. .

{b) Trammg in the care, handling and use of the firearm, provided in
accordance with the current firearms training guide which the Wisconsin
law enforcement standards board has approved for training Wisconsin
law enforeement officers. When the Wisconsin law enforcement stan-
dards board has approved a new edition of the training guide to replace
an older edition, training which is received after the date of which a new
edition is approved may be based on the older edition for a period not to
exceed 12 months after approval of the new edition by the board.

ano: A copy of the firearms training guide entitled “Demonstrate Care and Use of Fire-
arms" as approved by the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Standards Board is available for in-
spection at the Bureau of Direct Licensing and Real Estate, 1400 East Washington Avenue.
Room 281, Madison, WI.

(¢) Instruction in the legal use of firearms under the prov:smns of the
Wisconsin criminal code.and relevant court decisions.

(d) A presentation stressmg the ethical and moral considerations
which should be taken ihto account by any persen who uses a ﬁrealm

(e) A rev1ew of the law regarding lawful detentions.

(fy A review of the law on er 1m1nal and civil liability for mtentlonal ‘
and negligent acts.

(2) EQUIVALENT TRAINING. A person who had received at least 30
hours of training, as deseribed in sub. (1), except that the training did
not include the provisions of Wisconsin law,:as in sub, (1) (b) and (e¢),
shall complete the 6-hour refresher course under s, RL 34.02 (3) to satisfy
sub..(1), provided the person was authorized by another licensing juris-
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diction or governmental agency to carry a firearm while on duty as -4
peace officer, a person who stands wateh for security purposes or as a
private detective at any time durmg the 5 years preceding apphcatlon for
a permit under s, RL 34.015.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11-1.88; rand recr. Reg;ster, December.
1994, No, 468, eff. 1-1-95.

“RL 34.04 Approval as a firéarms proficiency certifier, (1) Before certifying
the proficiency of an owner or employe to carry a firearm pursuant to s,
RE 34.02, an individual shall obtain the approval of the department by
submitting an application to the department on a I‘orm prepared by the
department.

(2) ‘An applicant for approval as an approved firearts certifier shall at
the time of application and at all tlmes thereafter meet all of the follow-
ing quahﬁcations ‘

(a) The lndmdual shall be currently approved as a firearms instruector
by the training and standards bureau in the Wisconsin department of
justice or certified as a firearms instruetor by the national rifle
assoctatlon.

(b Notwlthstandmgss 111 321 111. 322 and 111 335, Stats the indi-
- vidual shall not have been conv1cted of a felony and i is not prohlb:ted-
from possessing a firearm under s. 941, 29 Stats

{¢) The individual has, subject to ss. 111. 321 111. 322 and 111 335,
Stats., not been charged with a crime or convxcted of a misdemeanor.

{3) An individual whom the department had determined to be quali-
fied as a firearms proficiency certifier under this section and who was so
qualified on the efieetive date of this subsection shall be granted an addi-
tional 6 months from this date to satisfy sub, (2) {a) and the individual
shall satisfy sub. (2) (a) by the end of the 6 month period or the individ-
ual shall at the end of the 6 months no longer be qualified to be a firearms
proficiency certifier. :

‘Note: The Application For Approval of Firearms Proficiency Certifier, Form #1912, may
be obtained from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Bureau of Direct Licensing
and Regé Ecl’sstate 1400 East Washmgton Avenue, Room 281, P.0. Box 8935, Madison, Wis-
cohsin 537

History: Cr. Register, October. 1988, No, 394, eff. 11-1-88; r. and recr. Register, December,
1994, No, 468, efi, 1-1-95.

RL 34.05 Agency firearims policy and laws. (1) Each agency shall file with
the department a copy of its firearms policy before any of its owners or
ernployes may receive a permit from the department pursuant to s, RL
34.015 and thereafter within 30 days after any substantial changes to it.

{(2) Each agency shall maintain a current copy of ss. 939.48 and 939.49,
Stats., relating to the use of force, and shall make these accessible to its
owners and employes,

History; Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394 eff, 11-1-88; am. Register, December, 1994,
No 468, off. 1-1-95

RL 34.06 Reporting the dlscharge of a firearm, If any owner or employe
of an agency is respons1b1e for the accidental or intentional discharge of
any firearm other than in target practice, competition, or lHicensed hunt-
ing, or is responsible for the accidental or intentional use of deadly force
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by any means, the owner or employe shall immediately after the incident
notify the local law enforcement agency where the incident took place
and inform his or her supervisor of the incident. The supervisor or an-
other person assigned by the agency shall investigate the incident assoon
as possible, and shall make a signed, written report of the incident, iden-
tifying all persons involved in the incident, the investigator, and the
agency, and fully deseribing the circumstances of the incident. As scon as
possible after the investigation is completed, a copy of the report shall be
filed with the department and with the local law enforcement ageney.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No, 394, eff, 11-1-88; am. Register, December, 1994,
No. 468, eff. 1-1-95; am. Register, August, 1995, No. 476, eff, 9-1-95.

RIL 34.07 Other dangerous weapons. An owner or employe of an agency
may only be armed with a dangerous weapon other than a firearm, which
he or she, based on training, is proficient in handling. The person shall
understand the legal limits of force with the weapon, the dangers and
misuse of the weapon and the safety rules relating to the weapon, The
agency shall, upon request of the department, provide documentation of
the training or experience which prepared the person to be proficient in
the use of the weapon.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No, 394, eff. 11-1-88; am. Register, December, 1994,
No. 468, eff. 1-1-95.

RL 34.08 Replica of a firearm. No owner or employe of an agency may,
at any time while he or she is on duty, carry on, about or near the person
an object which looks like a firearm.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1994, No. 468, eff . 1-1-95,
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