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(c) In instances in which the department determines
that a security deposit in excess of $50.00 is required,
netification of this requirement shall include a written
statement clearly deacribing the reasons for the require-
ment and a description or caleulation showing how the
amount of the security requirement was determined,

{3) Tyres OF SECURITY, Acceptable types of security in-
clude, but are not limited to: :

(8) Non interest-bearing. 1. Cash, certified check or
money order,

2. Surety bonds issued by authorized underwriters.

(b) Interest-bearing, 1. Time certificates of deposit is-
sued by financial institutions and made payable to the
department, Interest earned on those certificates shall be
paid to the depositor.

2. Fully paid investment certificates issued by savings
and loan nssociations made payable to the depositor. A
security assignment, form 8-127, shall be completed if this
type of security is selected.

Notet Form 8-127 may be obtained from any Department of Revenue
office or by writing or calling: Wisconsin Department of Revenue, P.O, Box
8902, Madisen, WI 53708, (608) 266-2278,

3. Bearer bonds issued by the U.S. government, any
unit of Wisconein municipal government or by Wisconsin
schools. The depositor should clip 2 full years’ coupons
before depositing this type of security.

{4) DETERMINATION OF AMOUNT. (a) If a security deposit
is required, the amount generally shall be equal to the
depositor’s average quarterly Wisconsin sales and use tax
liability increased to the next highest even $100 amount.
The average quarterly sales and use tax liability shall be
based on whichever of the following the department con-
giders most appropriate in the cirecumstances: -

1, The depositor’s previous ééles and use tax liahility at
the location specified on the permit.

2, The predecessor’s sales and use tax liability at the
location specified on the permit,

3, The estimated tax liability shown on the application
for permit.

4. Other factors, such as the department’s estimate of
estimated tax liability based on its experience with other
similar activities,

(b) If at the time of the security review the retailer has
an outstanding sales and use tax delinquency, the delin-
quent amount shall be added to the average quarterly
sales and use tax liability.

{8) RETURN OF bEPOSIT. Section 77.61 (2), Stats., pro-
vides: “ , . . Any security deposited under this subsection
shall be returned to the taxpayer if the taxpayer has, for 24
consecutive months, complied with all the requirements of
this subchapter.”

(b) The 24 month compliance requirement deseribed in
par. (a) shall begin on the day the deposit is received by
the department,

(c¢) Within 30 days after the conclusion of the 24-month
period described in par. {(a), the department shall review
the taxpayer’s compliance record. If the taxpayer has com-
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plied with subch. IIi, ch. 77, Stats., the department ghall
within 60 days after the expiration of the 24-month period
certify the deposit for refund.

{d) Compliance with subch, III, ch, 77, Stats., means
that;

1. Sales and use tax returns were timely filed.
2. All payments were made when due.

3. No delinquencies of sales or use tax, interest or other
charges existed.

4. No penalties due to negligence or fraud were assessed
for filing periods within the 24-month compliance period.

B. No assessment of additional tax, interest or other
charges for filing periods within the 24-month compliance
period is unpaid at the end of the 24-month compliance
period.

(e) If a taxpayer does not meet the compliance require-
ments set forth in par. (d), the deposit shall be retained by
the department until the taxpayer is in compliance for 24
congecutive months from the date of the latest non-compli-
ance. ‘ :

Notet The interpretations in s, Tax 11.926 are effective under the gen.
eral sales and use tax law on and after September 1, 1969, except: (a) The
return of deposit provisions in sub. (5) became effective March 13, 1980,
pursuant to Chapter 125, Lawa of 1979; and (b) The $15,000 limit for
security deposits became effective October 1, 1985, pursvant to 1985 Wis.
Act 29,

History: Cr. Register, July, 1981, No. 307, eff. 8-1-81; am, (1), (2) (2) 1.,
3., and 4., (8) {(b) 2., and {(b) (c), Register, March, 1991, No. 423, eff, 4-1-91;
am. (1), (2) (b}, (3) (b) 1., (6) {c), (d) 4. and B, r. (8) (a) 3., Register, December,
1692, No. 444, off, 1-1-93,

Tax 11.83 Annual filing of sales tax returns. (s. 77.58 {(b),
Stats.) {1) A retailer holding a regular seller's permit who
during the previous calendar or fiscal year had a sales and
use tax liability not exceeding $300 will be notified by the
department of the option of filing one gales and use tax
refurn for the following year or of continuing to file re-
turns on a quarterly basis. Retailers who elect filing one
return & year shall notify the department of that election.

(2) Returns and payments of retailers reporting on an
annual basis shall be due and payable on the last day of
the month following the close of their calendar or fiscal
yesr, -

Note: The interpretations in s. Tax 11.93 are effective under the general
sales and use tax law on and after September 1, 1989, except: (a) The $300
standard applies to taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1979,
Prior to that date, a $100 standard applied; and (b) The “annual informa-
tion return” was oliminated for 1981 and subsequent years, pursuant to
Chapter 221, Laws of 1979,

History: Cr. Register, Decembeor, 1978, No. 276, ff. 1-1-79; cr. (4), Regis-
ter, January, 1983, No. 325, eff. 2-1-83; r. (3} and (4), Register, June, 1991,
No. 426, eff. 7-1-91,

~Tax 11.94 Wisconsin sales and taxahle transportation
charges. (ss. 77.51 (14) (intre.) and (d) and {14r) and 77.52
(1}, Stats.) (1) “WisconsiN sALE.” {a) A Wisconsin sale
takes place at the time and place possession of tangible
personal property transfers from the seller or its agent to
the purchaser or its agent pursuant to s. 77.51 (14r),
Stats.

(b) When a Wisconsin seller- transfers possession to a
purchaser at the seller’s Wisconsin place of business and

Register, December, 1935, No, 480
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the purchaser either removes the property itself or hires a
contract carrier to remove the property, possession trana-
fers to the purchaser in Wisconsin and there has been a
Wisconsin sale. Conversely, when a Wisconsin seller ships
or delivers property from the seller's Wisconsin place of
business to an out-of-state location, possession is trans-
ferred outside Wisconsin and the sale is not a Wisconsin
sale. In the latter situation, the result is the same if prop-
erty is delivered using the seller’s vehicle and employes or
by a contract carrier engaged by the seller.

(c) When property is transferred from a seller to a pur-
chaser via a common carrier or by the United States pos-
tal service, the property shall be deemed in the possession
of the purchaser when it is turned over to the purchaser or
its agent by the common carrier or postal service at the
destination regardless of the f.0.b. point and regardless of
the method by which the freight or postage is paid.

(d) Gifts purchased in Wisconsin by residents or nonres-
idents and shipped out-of-state by the seller at the direc-
tion of the purchaser shall not be subject to the sales or
use tax if the purchaser does not take physical possession
of the gift at the time of sale. However, if the purchaser
takes possession of the gift at the time of the sale, the sale
is taxable,

(e) Section 77.51 (14) (d), Stats., applies to a situation
where tangible personal property is delivered to a pur-
chager in Wisconsin by an owner or former owner of the
property holding or required to hold a Wisconsin seller’s
permit or where a Wisconsin office of the owner or former
owner of the property aids in making the delivery. There-
fore, if a manufacturer ships or turns over the property to
a purchaser in Wisconsin based on an order received from
an unregistered out-of-atate seller, who had received the
original order from the Wisconsin purchaser, the manu-
facturer shall report the Wisconsin tax measured by the
retail selling price. However, a manufacturer may drop
ship an item to a purchaser in Wisconsin without the tax
being applicable, if the purchaser is entitled to purchase
the property without tax and gives the manufacturer a
properly completed exemption certificate.

{2) TAXABLE TRANSPORTATION CHARGES. {a) When a
seller charges a purchaser for the delivery of taxable tan-
gible personal property, the seller’s total charge, including
any tranaportation charge, shall be subject to the sales or
use tax. It is immaterial whether delivery is made by the
seller’s vehicle, & common or contract carrier, or the
United States postal service.

Example: When the seller charges the purchaser for delivery of the
taxable tangible personal property in a Wisconsin county that has not
adopted the % % county tax, the correct computation of tax is as follows:

Selling price of merchandise $100.00
Delivery charge 10.00
Subtotal $110.00
Tax at 5% ($110 x 65%) 5.50
Total $116.50

{(b) If a shipment includes both taxable and nontaxable
property, the seller shall determine and set forth on the
invoice the portion of the delivery charge reascnably allo-
cable to the taxable property. The portion allocated to
nontaxable property is not: taxable. If no allocation is
made, the total delivery charge shall be taxable.

Register, December, 1995, No. 480
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{c) A Wisconain purchager who purchases taxable goods
without tax for use in Wisconsin is subject to the use tax
or sales tax pursuant to s. Tax 11.14 (2) (¢} based on the
“gsales price” of the goods to the purchaser. The “sales
price” shall include transportation charges paid by the
Wisconsin purchaser to the seller for shipment of the
goods to the purchaser.

(d) When taxable tangible personal property is sold for a
“delivered price”, tax applies to the charge for transport-
ing the property to the purchaser even though the pur-
chaser may directly pay the transportation charges. Prop-
erty is sold for a “delivered price” when the price agreed
upon includes all costs or charges for transporting the
property directly to the purchaser, and under circum-
stances such that if there is an increase or decrease in the
cost of transportation, it is borne by the seller.

Example: If the “delivered price” of a carload of lumber is $6,000, in-
cluding transportation, and the purchaser pays the fransportation charges
directly to the common earrier and deducts the payment from the amount
due the seller, the transportation charges are berne by the seller and are
inctuded in the seller’s measure of the tax.

Note; The interpretations in s, Tax 11,94 are effective under the general
sales and use tax law on and afler Septomber 1, 1969,

History: Cr. Register, January, 1978, No. 265, eff. 2-1.78; am. (1} (e), .
(2) (b), renum. {2) (c}, {d) and (e} to be (2) {b), (¢) and (4}, Register, Septem-
ber, 1984, No, 345, eff. 10-1-84; am. (2) {c), Register, July, 1987, No. 379, eff,
8-1-87; am. (1) (e) and (2) (b) and (d}, Register, June, 1991, No. 428, eff. 7-1-
91; reprinted to restore dropped copy in (1) (b), Register, December,
1995, No. 480.

Tax 11.95 Retaller's discount. (ss. 77.61 {(4) (c) and 77.76
(3), Stats.} (1) For timely reporting state and county ssles
or use tax collected on their retail sales, retailers may
deduct .5% of the sales and use tax payable on retail sales
during the retailer’s tax year,

(2) The retailer’s discount is allowed if the taxes are
paid on or before the due date of the return, or on or before
the expiration of any extension period if one has been
granted, The discount iz not allowed if the payment is
delinquent. It is also not allowed on deficiency determina-
tions, amended returns filed after the due date or con-
sumer’s use tax imposed pursuant to 5. 77.563 (2), Stats,

Note: The interpretations in s, Tax 11,95 are effective under the gensral
sales and use tax law on and after September 1, 1969, except: (a} The
amount of retailer’s discount on or alter January 1, 1983, until December
31, 1992, was 2% of the first $10,000 of sales and use tax payable during the
retaiter’s tax year, 1% of the second $10,000 of sales and use tax payable
and .5% of the sales and use tax payable in excess of $20,000 each year; (b)
The amount of retailer’s discount in sub. (1) became effective January 1,
1993, pursuant to 1991 Wis, Act 269; and {c) The requirement that county
tax be remitted fo the registering state agency was repealed effective May 1,
1988, pursuant to 1987 Wis, Aci 287,

History: Cr. Registor, February, 1978, No. 266, eff. 3-1-78; r. and recr.,
Register, Septembar, 1984, No. 346, eff. 10-1-84; emerg. am. (1), eff, 3-24-86;
am. (1) Register, October, 1986, No. 370, eff. 11-1-86; am. (1), Register,
March, 1991, No. 423, eff. 4-1-91; am. (1), Register, April, 1993, No, 448, eff,
5-1-93,

Tax 11.97 “Engaged in business” in Wisconsin. {(ss. 77.51
(13} (c) and (k), (13g), (13h) and (14) §j), 77.53 (3), (B), (T),
(9) and (9m) and 77.73, Stats.) (1)} GexERraL. (a) Qut-of-
state retailers arve required to register and collect a state’s
use tax if the retailer is subject to the state’s juriadiction.
The United States supreme court has resolved certain ju-
riadictional questions by interpreting the due process
clause of the 14th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution,
The court has said due process requires that there be
some definite link, some minimum connection between
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the state and the person, property or iransaction it seeks
fo tax, If this minimum connection, often called “nexus”, is
establighed, the out-of-state seller is required to register
and collect the state’s use tax,

Note: Rotailers having nexus in Wisconsin for use tax purposes do not
necessarily have nexus in Wisconsin for franchise or income tax purposes.
Refer to 8. Tax 2.82 for nexus standards with respect to franchise and
income taxes.

(b} Some United States supreme court decisions con-
cerning nexus include:

1. Nelson vs. Sears Roebuck & Co., 312 U.8. 359 (1941)

2. Nelson vs. Monigomery Ward & Co., 312 U.S. 373
(1941)

8. General Trading Co. vs. State Tax Commission of the
State of Towa, 322 U.S, 385 (1944)

4. Miller Bros. Co. vs, Maryland, 847 U.S. 340 (1954)
6. Scripto, Inc. vs. Carson, 362 U.8, 207 (1980)

6. National Bellas Hess, Inc. vs. Illinois Departnient of
Revenue, 386 U.S, 763 (1967)

7. National Geographic Society vs. California Board of
Egqualization, 430 U.8, 551 (1977

{2) StaruTes, (a) Section 77.51 (13) (k), Stats., defines
“retailer” to include any person deriving rentals from a
lease of tangible personal property situated in this state,
and s. 77.51 (14) (j), Stats., defines a lease as a continuing
sale,

(b} Section 77.51 (13g), Stats., defines the term “retailer
engaged in business in this state” and s. 77.51 (13h),
Stats., provides an exception for foreign publishers.

(¢} Under s. 77.63 (5), Stats., the tax required to be
collected by a use tax registrant is a debt owed by the
regiatrant to this state, and 5. 77.53 (7), Stats., provides
the tax is to be stated separately from the list price of the
goods sold.

{3) ACTIVITIES WHICH IN THEMSELVES CREATE WISCON-
sy “NEXUS”. Unless otherwise limited by federal statute,
a retailer engaged in business in Wisconsin who shall
register includes the following:

(a) Any retailer owning any real property in this state.

(b} Any retailer leasing or renting out any tangible per-
sonal property located in this state.

(¢) Any retailer maintaining, ocecupying or using, perma-
nently or temporarily, directly or indirectly, or through a
subsidiary, agent or other person, an office, place of distri-
bution, sales or sample room or place, warehouse or stor-
age place or other place of business in this state.

(d) Any retailer having any representative, including a
manufacturer’s representative, agent, salesperson, can-
vasser or golicitor operating in Wisconsin under the su-
thority of the retailer or its subsidiary for the purpose of
selling, delivering or taking orders for any tangible per-
sonal property or taxable services,

(e) Any person servicing, repairing or installing equip-
ment or other tangible personal property in Wisconsin,
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(f) Any person delivering goods into this atate in com-
pany operated vehicles,

(g) Any person performing construction activities in this
state.

(4) ACTIVITIES WHICH IN THEMSELVES DO NOT CREATE
“NEXUS”. Activities which, in themselves, do not create
nexus in this stat;e include:

() Advertismg in newspapers published in or out,mde
this state.

(b) Sending catalogues into this state from an out-of-
state location if subsequent orders are shipped either by
mail or ¢commen carrier to Wisconsin consumers.

(¢} Receiving mail or telephone orders outside this state
from consumers located in Wisconsin if such orders are
shipped either by mail or common carrier into Wisconsin,

(d) Making cash or credit sales over-the-counter at an
out-of-state location to Wisconsin consumers, when the
goods are shipped by mail or common carrier by the re-
tailer into this state, or when possession of the goods is
taken at the cut-of-state location by the consumer.

(e) A foreign corporation obtaining a ceriificate of au-
thority from the Wisconsin secretary of state to transact
business in Wisconsin.

(5) ExCEPTION FOR FOREIGN PUBLISHERS. (a) Under s.
77.51 (18g) and (13h), Stats,, a foreign corporation that is
a publisher of printed materials does not have nexus in
Wisconsin if its only activities in Wisconsin are:

1. Storage of its raw materials for any length of time in
Wisconsin in or on property ewned by a person, other than
the foreign corporation, if the materials are for printing by
that person.

2, Delivery of its raw materials to another person in
Wisconsin, if the delivery is for printing by that other
person.

3. Purchase from a printer of a printing service or of
printed materials in Wisconsin for the foreign corporation
and the storage of the printed materials for any length of
time in Wiscongin in or on property owned by a person
other than the foreign corporation.

4, Maintaining, occupying and using, directly or by
means of another person, a place in Wisconsin, that is not
owned by the publisher and that is used for the distribu-
tion of printed materials,

(b} In this subsection, “raw materials” means tangible
personsal property which becomes an ingredient or compo-
nent part of the printed materials or which is consumed or
destroyed or loses its identity in the printing of the
printed materials.

(6) RecisTrarioN, (a} Every out-of-state retailer en-
gaged in business in this state and not required to hold a
seller’s permit who makes sales for storage, use or other
consumption in this state, except as provided in sub. (5),
shall apply for a use tax registration certificate, The regis-
tration form is titled “Application for Permit”, Form A-
101. There is no fee for registration.

Register, December, 1995, No. 480
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Note: Form A-101 may be cbtained from any Department of Revenus
office or by writing or calling: Wisconsin Department of Revenue, P.O. Box
8902, Madison, WI 53708, telephone (608) 266-2776.

“(b) Refer to s. Tax 11.002 for a description of use tax
registration certificate requirements, how to apply for a
use tax registration certificate, and the 15-day time period
within which the department ia required to act on certifi-
cate applications. '

{7) OUT-OF-STATE RETAILERS NOT ENGAGED IN BUSINESS
IN THIS STATE. Retailers who are not engaged in business
in Wisconsin, but who elect to collect use tax for the conve-
nience of their Wisconsin ¢ustomers may apply for a use
tax registration certificate with the department in the
manner described in sub. (8). Holders of the use tax regis-
tration certificates shall collect the use tax from Wiscon-
sin customers, give receipts therefor and report and pay
the use tax to the Wisconsin department of revenue in the
same manner &8 retailers engaged in business in this
state,

{8} ACTIVITIES WHICH IN THEMSELVES DO AND DO NOT
CREATE “NEXUS” FOR COUNTY SALES TAX PURPOSES. The
activities described in sub. (3) which create “nexus” for
state sales tax purposes also create “nexus” for county
sales tax purposes if the activities take place in a county
which has adopted the tax. The activities in sub. (4) which
do not create “nexus” for state sales tax purposes also do
not create “nexus” for county sales tax purposes, even if
the activities take place in a county which has adopted the
tax.

Note: The interpretations in 8. Tax 11.97 are effective under the general
salea tax law on and after September 1, 1969, except that the provision in
sub. (b) is effective January 1, 1980, for foreign publishers of books and/or
periodicals other than catalogs and January 1, 1990, for all other foreign
publishers, pursuant to 1989 Wis. Act 336.

History: Cr. Register, July, 1978, No. 271, eff. 8-1-78; am. (2) (b} and {c),
Register, January, 1983, No. 325, ¢ff, 2-1.83; cr. (5) (c), Register, August,
1986, No. 356, off. 9-1-85; emerg, am. (6), eff. 3-24-86; cr. (6), Register,
October, 1286, No. 370, eff. 11-1-88; cr. {(4) {e) and (5), r. and recr. (2) (b), am.
(1) and (8) (d) and (e), renum. (5) (a) to {c) and (6) to be {§) (a), (7), (6) (b) and
(8) and am. (6} (a), (b} and (7), Register, March, 1991, No. 428, eff. 4-1-01.

Tax 11.98 Reduction of delinquent interest rate under s.
77.62 (1), Stats. (ss. 71.82 (2) (b), 77.60 (2) and 77.62 (1),
Stats.) (1) Procepures. The secretary may reduce the
delinquent interest rate from 18% to 12% per year effec-
tive for all determinations, assessments or other actions
for additional tax made by the department on or after

Register, December, 1995, No, 480
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August 1, 1981, when the secretary determines the reduc-
tion fair and equitable, if the person from whom delin-
quent taxes are owing: )

(&) Requests the reduction in writing, addressed to the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Delinquent Tax Col-
lection System, PO, Box 8901, Madison, WI 53708,

{(b) Clearly indicates why it is fair and equitable for the
rate of interest to be reduced. Information regarding one
or more of the factors under sub. (2) may be indicated.

{¢) Is current in all return and report filings and tax
payments for all matters other than the delinquencies for
which interest reduction is being sought,

{d) Pays the sales and use taxes, reduced amount of
interest and any penalties associated with them within 30
days of receiving notice from the department of the reduc-
tion. '

(2} FACTORS FOR SECRETARY’S CONSIDERATION. In deter-
mining whether an interest rate reduction is fair and eq-
uitable, the secretary may consider the following factors:

(é.) The taxpayer’s prior record of reporting and pay-
ment to the department.

(b) The taxpayer’s financial condition.

(c) If the taxpayer is a natural person, any circum-
stances which may have prevented payment such as
death, imprisonment, hospitalization or other institution-
alization.

(d) Any unusual circumstances which may have caused
the taxpayer to incur the delinquency or prevent its pay-
ment. :

(e} Any other factor which the secretary believes perti-
nent.

(3) DETERMINATION NOT APPEALABLE. The secretary’s
determination under this rule is not appealable.

Notes The interpretations in s, Tax 11.98 are effective under the general
sales and use tax law on and after Seplember 1, 1969, except that the
secrefary could reduce the delinquent interest rate from 18% to 9% for
determinations made prior to August 1, 1981,

History: Cr. Register, February, 1879, No. 278, eff. 3-1-79; am. (1) (in-
tro.), Register, June, 1883, No. 330, eff. 7-1-83.
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