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Chapter PD 1

CERTIFICATION

PD	 1.01	 Annual review PD	 1.05	 Appeal of cerdfication decisions
PD	 1.02	 Certification of newly admitted attorneys PD	 1.06	 Removal from crifcation lists for cause
PD	 1.03	 Certfication application PD	 1.01	 'Voluntary removal
PD	 1.04	 Certification criteda PD	 1.08	 Access to files

Note: Chapter SPD. 1 was renumbered chapter PD 1 under s, 1193 (2m) (b) 1., Type of Case	 Credits
Stats., Register, July, 1995, No. 475,

Chapters 51 & 55 ' ".	 2

PD 1.01	 Annual review. (1) The state public defender Juvenile-.5s.48.12 and 48.13, Stats. 	 . 4 ;
shall annually notify, each active . member of the state bar of Wis- Termination of Parental Rights 	 4 (plus completion of4
consin of the procedure for applying for certification under the creditsfor juvenile
provisions of s. 977.08, Slats. Publication of a notice in the publi- certification)
cation of the state bar of Wisconsin constitutes notice.

probation & Parole Revocations 	 2
(2) The state public defender shall annually update its certifi-

cation list under s. 977.08, Slats., regarding the availability of pri- Wri ts & Extradition	 I

vate attorneys to be appointed to state public defender matters. (b) 1. Paragraph (a) only applies to attorneys who seek certifi-
History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-79, r. and recr. (])and (2), cation after January 1, 1993. However, except as provided under

r. (3), Register, November, 1984, No. 347, eff 12-1-84. subd. 2., any attorney who seeks certification after January 1,
1993 shall be conditionally certified. under this subsection , for 6

PD 1.02	 Certification of newly admitted attorneys. months if he or She agrees, in writing, to complete the indicated
The state public defender shall provide the Wisconsin supreme number of credits specified in par. (a) within 6 months of the date
court and the state bar of Wisconsin with materials to insure that that he or she was conditionally certified, Upon an attorney's
every person admitted to the state bar after January 1, 1978, is pro- "	 request, the state public defender may extend the conditional'cer-

vided with information for applying for . certification under s. tification for an additional 6 months.'

977.08, Stats. 2. Conditional certification under this subsection is not avail-
History: Cr. Register, August,1978, No. 272, eff, 9-1-78; am. Register. Novem- able for attorneys who represent clients in termination of parental

bef, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1—$4. j uvenileor	 waiver cases.rights cases	 Jg 
(c) With the approval of the state public defender, an attorney

PD 1,03	 Certification ,application.	 The state public may substitute other accredited training for state public defender
defender'shaII Prepare an application tobe completed byattorneys provided legal education.
seeking certification as provided in s. 977.08 (3) 1 Slats... (d) 'An attorney maybe assigned a revocation: case, whether or

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No_ 272, eff. 9-1-78, not he or she is certified for revocations, when that attorney has
a prior pending case with the same client.

PD 1.04	 Certification crite"ria. (1) 	 shall be,An . attorney (3) An attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a
certified for misdemeanor. and paternity cases if the attorney has felony offense bearing a maximum penalty of 20 or more. years
requested certification and the attorney is admitted to the state bar imprisonment if:

of Wisconsin. (a) The attorney has requested certification;

(2) An attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a (b) The attorney is admitted to the state bar of Wisconsin; ' 'and

felony offense bearing a maximum penalty of less than 20 years :5(c) Either, within the past 	 years:
imprisonment if; 1: Has served 2 years as a prosecutor,

(a) The attorney has requested `certification; 2. Has served 2 years as a public" defender; or

to(b) The attorney is admitted	 the state bar of Wisconsin; and 3: Has been trial counsel atone or with other trial counsel and 
handled a significant portion of the trial in 5 eases,'civil, criminal,

(c) Either, within the past 5 years: or juvenile, that have been tried to `a jury to final resolution.'
1. Has served one year as a prosecutor; (5) (a) Cerlificalion for appellale cases in general. An attor-
2. Has served one year as a public defender; ney shall be certified for appellate cases if he `or she meets all of

3: Has been trial counsel alone of record in 5 misdemeanor the following requirements:

cases brought to final resolution; 1; The attorney has requested certification,

4. Has been trial counsel alone of record in 2 felony. cases 2, The attorney is licensed in good standing to practice law

brought to final resolution; or in this state.

5. Has been trial counsel alone or with other trial counsel and
3• The attorney meets the applicable qualifications in pars. (c)

to (f).
handled a significant portion of the trial in 2 cases, civil, criminal, (b) Powerofappellatedivision director. Notwithstanding pars.
or juvenile, that have been tried to a jury to final resolution.. (c) to (f); the director of the appellate division may determine

.(2m) . (a) Except as provided for in pars. (c) and (d), an attor- ; whether an attorney's education or experience may be substituted
ney shall be certified for the types of cases specified in the follow- for compliance with the qualifications under pars, (c) to (f) and
ing schedule if the attorney has been certified for misdemeanors may deny certification for good cause.
and has completed the indicated number of credits of state public (c)Level one.. Level one certification means the attorney is cer-
defender provided legal education: tifted for misdemeanor cases, sentencings after revocation of
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probation or parole and any pleas to class E felonies. An attorney
is qualified for certification at this level if the attorney has done
either of the following:

1. Filed one brief-in-chief in any appellate court in the
United States in the 5 years immediately preceding application for
certification. A copy of the brief must accompany the application
for certification.

2. Completed 3 credits of state public defender approved legal
education on appellate procedure, or its equivalent, including a
law school course, clinical program or judicial clerkship, in the 3
years immediately preceding application for certification.

(d) Level 2, bevel 2 certification means the attorney is certified
for level one cases and cases involving any pleas to class B, C, or
D felonies, and trials in which the defendant was convicted of a
class C, D, or E felony. An attorney is qualified for certification
at this level if the attorney has done all of the following.

1. Filed a minimum of 2 briefs-in-chief in Wisconsin appel-
late courts that complied with s. 809.30 or 809.40, Slats., in the 5
years immediately preceding application for certification. A copy
of one of the briefs must accompany the application for certifica-
tion.

2. Conducted a minimum of 3 contested trial court hearings,
including one evidentiary hearing, in the 5 years immediately pre-
ceding ` application for certification.

3. Met the criteria of sub. (2) (c) or attended 6 hours of state
public defender approved legal education in criminal law within
one year immediately preceding . application for certification.

(e) Level 3, Level 3 certification means the attorney is certified
for level 2 cases, cases involving any pleas to class A felonies and
trials in which the defendant was convicted of a class A or B
:felony. An attorney is qualified for. certification at this level if the
attorney has done all of the following.

1. Filed a minimum of 3 briefs-in-chief in the Wisconsin
Supreme Court or the Wisconsin Court of Appeals that complied
with s. 809.30 or 809.40, Slats.; in the 5 years immediately preced-
ing application for certification. At least one of the briefs must
have been in a ('elony jury trial case and this brief must accompany
the application for certification.

2, Conducted a minimum of 3 evidentiary hearings in crimi-
nal cases, one of which must have been a trial or postconviction
bearing, in the 5 years immediately preceding application for cer-
tification.

3. Met the criteria of sub. (2) (c) or attended 6 hours of state
public defender. approved legal education in .criminal law in the
year immediately preceding application for certification.

(f) Specialized areas of certificalion,.Special ized areas of certi-
fication include any of the following:

1. Termination of parental rights cases. An attorney is quali-
fied for certification in termination of parental rights cases if the
attorney meets the criteria of par.. (ej, and:.

a. Has completed 4 credits of state public defender approved
legal education in termination of parental rights cases in the year
immediately preceding application for certification; or

b. Has been sole trial or appellate counsel of record in at least
one contested termination of parental rights case in the 3 years
immediately preceding application for certification.

2. Other juvenile cases under. chs. 48 and 938, Slats. An attor-
ney is qualified for certification in other juvenile cases under chs.
48. and 938, Stats., if the attorney meets the criteria of par. (c), and:

a. Has been sole trial counsel of record in at least 5 completed
juvenile cases in the 3 years immediately preceding application
for certification; or

b. Has completed 4 credits of state public defender approved
legal education in cases under chs. 48 and 938, Slats., iti the year
immediately preceding application for certification.

3. Cases under chs. 51 and 55, Slats. An attorney is qualified
for certification in cases under chs. 51 and 55, Slats., if the attor-
ney meets the criteria of par. (c), and:

A. Has been sole trial counsel of record in 5 cases under chs.
51 and 55, Slats., in the 3 years immediately preceding application
for'certification; or

b. Has completed 2 credits of state public defender approved
legal education in cases under chs. 51 and 55, Slats., in the 3 years
immediately preceding application for certification.

4. Cases under ch. 980, Slats. An attorney is qualified for cer-
tification in cases under ch. 980, Slats., if the attorney meets the
criteria of par. (e), and:

a. Has completed a minimum of 2 credits of state public
defender approved education in cases under ch. 980, Slats., in the
year immediately preceding application for certification; or

b. Has been sole trial or appellate counsel of record in at Ieast
one contested commitment under ch. . 980 Slats., in the 3 years
immediately preceding application for certification.

(6) The state public defender may develop specialized lists
within subs. (1) to (5), which maybe based on additional certifica-
tion criteria to be developed by the state public defender. Special-
ized lists within sub. (3) for cases requiring exceptional expertise
may be developed with the approval of the state public defender.

(8) (a) An attorney may be excluded by the state public
defender on the following grounds:

1. The attorney is disbarred, suspended, or has surrendered a
license to practice law in this state;

2. The attorney fails to meet the education or experience. crite-
ria set forth herein.

(b) The state public defender may exclude from a certified list
any attorney barred by statute from engaging in criminal represen-
tation.

(c) Any attorney who is excluded from the certification list by
virtue of the exclusions set forth herein above shall be placed on
the appropriate certification list within 30 days after a.submission
of a written notification to the state public defender that the attor-
ney is no longer disqualified, provided further that such attorney
had previously submitted a timely and properly prepared certifi-
cation application.

(9) Any attorney ; certified under, ch. PD . 1 shall complete 6
hours of continuing legal education each calendar year in courses
approved by the state public defender. This requirement shall
apply beginning with the first full calendar year following gradua-
tion from law school. The state public defender shall establish pro-
cedures to monitor compliance with this requirement.

History: Cr. Register, bray, 1978, No. 269, eff. 6-1-78; am. Register, August,
1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; r. and recr. (1), renum, (2) to (4) to be (5) to (7) and am.
(7), cr. (2) to (4), Register, August, 1981, No. 303, eff. 9-1-81; am. (I) (intro.) and
(c), (2) (c) and (d) 5., (3) (c) and (d) 3., renu m. (4) to (7) to be (5),(7),(8) and (9) and
am. (8) (a) (intro.) and 2. and (9), cr. (4) and (6), Register, November, 1984, No. 347.
eff. 12-144; am. (5) (a) , Register, April, 1990, No. 412, eff, 5-)-9Q; correction in
(9) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 4., Stats., Register, April, 1990, No. 412; r. and recr.
(1), am. (2) (b), (3) (b). (5) (b), (7), (8) (a) (intro.), (c) and (a), r. (2) (c), (3) (c), (4)
and (8) (a) 2., renum. (2) (d) (intro.), (3) (d) (intro.) and (8) (a) 3. to be (2) (c) (intro.),
(3) (c) (intro.) and (8) (a) 2. and am., cr. (2m), Register, October, 1992, No. 442, eff.
11-1-92; correction in (9) made , under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, July,
1995, No. 475; r. and reer, (5), r. (7), Register, April, 1996, No. 484, eff. 5-1-96;
correction in (5) (c)1. and (f) made under s. 13,93 (2m) (b) 6. and 7., Slats., Regis-
ter, July, 1996, No. 487.

PD 1.05 Appeal of certification decisions. (1) The
state public defender shall notify each attorney who has submitted
a certification application of the counties or county and categories
for which the attorney is eligible. Upon request by that attorney,
the state public defender shall . inform the attorney excluded from
a particular list of the reasons for the exclusion from a particular
list and the manner by which the attorney may appeal the decision
or reapply for recertification.

(2) Any attorney may appeal the state public defender's certi-
fication decision by mailing a letter of appeal to the state public
defender within 30 days of the notice of exclusion. The attorney
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shall state in the letter the certification from which the attorney has
been excluded. The letter may also state the reasons the attorney
believes the exclusion was improper.

(3) Upon receipt of an appeal letter, the state public defender
shall place the matter on the agenda of the next state public
defender board meeting unless that meeting is less than I0 days
from the receipt of the appeal letter, in which case the matter may
be scheduled for the following meeting. The state public defender
shall, at least 10 days prior to hearing, inform the attorney of the
time and place of the board meeting at which the appeal will be
considered,

(4) The state public defender shall transmit to the board and
the attorney all material relied upon in reaching the certification
decision, including the certification application and all written
comments received under s. 977.08 (3), Slats.

(5) The attorney may request that the state public defender
reproduce and submit to the board material relevant to the appeal.
The hearing before the board shall be considered a "class 3" pro-
ceeding and is governed by ss. 227.44 to 227.46, Stats.

(6) The state public defender board may deliberate the matter
in executive session pursuant to the provisions of s. 19.85 (1) (a),
Stats. The board shall issue a written decision either affirming,
reversing, or modifying the certification decision of the state pub-
lic defender. The written decision shall be mailed to the attorney
within 20 days of the board meeting and shall be signed by an offi-
cer of the board.

(7) The board's written decision shall constitute findings of
fact and conclusions of law within the meaning of s. 227.47, Stats.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1978, No. 272,eff.9-1-78;am.(1)to(6), Register,
November, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1-84; corrections in (5) and (7), made under s.
13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, Aprii, 1994, No. 412.

PD 1.06 Removal from certification lists for cause.
(1) Any interested party, or the assigned counsel chief on his or
her own motion, may request, in writing, that an attorney, pre-
viously certified to accept cases from the state public defender, be
removed for cause, Upon receipt of a request, the state public
defender shall conduct an investigation thereof. Upon a finding of
cause, the state public defender may suspend the attorney from
certification or may refer the attorney to the state public defender
board with a recommendation for removal.

(2) Upon a recommendation for removal, or following the
suspension of any attorney and the attorney's request for review,
the board shall review the investigation and recommendation.
Upon request of the attorney prior to its review of the state public
defender's investigation and recommendation, the board shall
conduct a hearing at which time the attorney in question may be
heard and produce evidence in defense thereof. Upon a finding of
cause, the board may remove the attorney or confirm the suspen-
sion. The board shall render a decision within 60 days of the hear-
ing.

(3) Any attorney removed for cause may petition a circuit
court for review of the decisions of the state public defender board
pursuant to the provisions of ch. 227, Stats.

(5) The board may, in its discretion, appoint any number of its
members to conduct the hearing and to report its findings and rec-
ommendations to the entire board for its decision.

History: Cr. Register. August, 1981, No.308, off. 9-1-81:am(t) and (2),Regis-
ter, November, 1984, No. 347, eff.12-1-84; am. (1) and (2), r. (4), Register, October,
1992, No. 442, off. 11--1-92,

PD 1.07 Voluntary removal. Any attorney may request
to be removed from any certified list for a specified period of time,
and the state public defender shall remove the attorney until noti-
fied in writing by the attorney that the attorney wishes to be placed
back on the list. If an attorney is inactive for more than 3 years, the
attorney shall reapply for certification.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. (1), Register,
November, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12-1-84; am. Register, October, 1992, No. 442. eff.
11-1-92.

PD 1.08 Access to files. (1) The state public defender
may not disclose to any person except the subject, any comments
made by any person who has initiated or responded to an inquiry
relating to the fitness of an attorney for certification, unless
ordered to do so by the public defender board or a court.

(2) Only certified lists, board proceedings and decisions under
these rules shall be considered public documents and open to pub-
lic inspection.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78: am. (l). Register,
November, 1984, No. 347, eff. 12--1-34; am. (1), Register, October, 1992, No. 442,
eff. 11-1-92.
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