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Note: Chapter SPD 1 was renumbered chapter PD 1 undér s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 1., :
Stats., Register, July, 1995, No. 475. : Type O-t.. Case : . Credits .
1. Chapters 51 & 55... . - . D2

PD1 01 Annual rewew. (1) The state pubhc defender 27 Juvenile-chs. 48 and 938, Stats. 4

shall annually notify each active member of the state bar of Wis- : - ——— 2

consin of the procedure for applying for certification under the

provisions of 5. 977.08, Stats. Publication of a notice in the publi- .:

cation of the state bar of Wisconsin constitutes notice.-. .-
(2) The state public defender shall annually update its certifi-

cation listunder s. 977.08, Stats., regarding the availability of pri-

vate attorneys to be appointed to state public defender matters.

History: . Cr, Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff, 9-1--78; v, and recr. (l)and(2),
r.(3), Reglster, Novcmbcr, 1984, Nu 347, eff 12w1r84 .

PD1.02 Certification of newly admitted a'ttomeys. f

‘Fhe state public defender shall provide the Wisconsin supreme
court and the state bar of Wisconsin with materials to insure that
every person admitied to the state bar after January 1, 1978, is pro-
vided with information for applying for certification under. s.

977.08, Stats.

History: Cr, Regisier, August, 1978 No.272, eﬁ' 9—-[-—78 am. Reglster,Novem-
ber, 1984, No. 347, ff. 12-1-84,

PD 1.03 - Certification application. The state pubtic de-

fender shall prepare an application to be completed by attorrieys
seeking certification as provided in s, 977.08 (3), Stats.
]Iistory. Cr chrster August, 19?8 No. 272 eff, 9-1-78, -

PD 1 04 Certlﬂcatlon criteria. (1) An attorney shaﬂ be
certified for misdemeanor and patermty cases if the attorney has
requested certlﬁcatmn and the attorney is adrmtted fo the state bar
of Wisconsin. s

(2) An attomey shall be certified for felony cases involving a
felony offense bearing a maxuuum penalty of less than 20 years
1mpnsonmcnt if:

(a) The attorney has requested certlﬁcation, :

(b) The attorney is admitted to the state bar of W:scensm, and ..

(c) Either, within the past 5 years: -
1. Has served one year as a prosecutor;
2. Has served one year as a public defender;

3. Has been trial counsel alone of record in 5 n:usdemeanor
cases brought to final resolution,

~ 4. Has been trial counsel alone of record in 2 fel°“Y ©ases | o1 juvenile, that have been tried fo a jury to final resolution.

brought to final resolution; or
5. Has been trial counsel alone or w1th other trlal counsel and

handled a significant portion of the trial in 2 cases, civil, criminal, .

or juvenile, that have been tried to a jury o final resolution.

(2m) (a) Exceptas provided for in pars. {c) and (d}, an attor-
ney-shall be certified for the types of cases specified in the follow-
ing schedule if the attorney has been certified for misdemeanors
and has completed the indicated number of credlts of state pubhc
defender provided legal educatlon C

(plus completion of 4

> Tenutuatlou (_)f .Par?]}t.?l .illn.ght’s_- ' - credis for juvenile

_ o . certification) ..
4. Probation & Parole Revocations .} - -2
5. Wiits & Extradition = - BN

Note: Line 2 does not mciude lenmnatlon of parenta[ nghl.s (TPR) cases. Lme 3

: applies to TPR cases. '

(b} 1, Paragraph (a) only applies to attorneys who seek certifi-
cation after J anuary 1, 1993. However, except as provided under
subd. 2 any ‘atforney’ who §eeks certification after January 1,
1993 shall be condiiionally certifiéd under this subsection for 6
months if he or she agrees, in writing, to complete the indicated
number of credits specified in par. (a) within 6 months of the date

-~ that he or she was conditionally certified. Upon an attorney’s re-

quest, the state public defender may extend the cond:tmnal certlfi— -
cation for an additional 6 months, s

2. Conditional certlﬁcauon under this' subséction is not avall— '

. able for attorneys who represent clients in terrmnatmu of pa:ental
- rights cases or juvenile waiver cases, '

{¢) With the approval of the state pub]te defender, an attorney
may substitute other accredited (raining for state publlc defender
provided legal education. .

{d) An attorney may be ess1gned arevocation case, whether or. .
not he or she is ceriified for revocations, when that attomey has
a prior pending case with the same client, *

(3) An attorney shall be certified for felony cases involving a
felony offense bearing a maximum penalty of 20 or more years
imprisonment if:

(a) The attorney has requested cemﬁcation,
() The attorney is admilted to the state bar ‘of Wisconsin; and
{c) Either, within the past 5 years:
-1, Has served 2 years as a prosecutor;
2. Has served 2 years as a public defender; or

'3, Has been trial counsel alone or with other trial counsel and
handled & significant portion of the trialin 5 cases, civil; criminal,

(5) (2) Centification for appellate cases in general. Anattor-
ney shall be certified for appeliate cascs if he or she meets ali of
the followmg requirétients:

1. The attomey has requested certification,

2. The attdrney is licensed in good standmg to practlce law
in this state.

3. The attomey meets the apphcable quahﬁcauons in pars, (c)

to {f). -
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(b) Power of appellate division director. Notwithstanding pars.
(c) to (f), the direstor of the appellate division may determine
whether an attorney’s education or experience may be substituted
for compliance with the qualifications under pars. (c) to (f) and
may deny certification for good cause.

(c) Level orie. Level one certification means the attorney is cer-

tified for misdemeanor cases, sentencings after revocation of -

probation or parole and any pleas to class E felonies. An attorney
is qualified for certification at this level 1f the attorney. has done
cither of the following:

1. Filed one brief-in—chief in any appellate cowt in the i

United States in the 5 years immediately preceding application for
certification. A copy of the brief must accompany the application
for certification,

S 2, Completed Jcredits of state pubhc defender appmved legal
education on appellate procedure, or ils equivalent, including a
Iaw school course, clinical program or judicial clerkship, in the 3
years immediately preceding application for certification.

i(d) Level 2, Level 2 certification means the attorney is certified
for level one cases and cases involving any pleas to class B, C, or
D felonies, and trials in which the defendant was convicted of a

class C, D, or E felony. An attomey is qualified for centification

at this level if the attorney has done all of the following:

1. Filed a minimum of 2 briefs-in-chief in Wisconsin appel-
late courts that complied with s. 809.30 or 809.40, Stats., in the 5
years immediately preceding application for certification. A copy
of one of the briefs must accompany t the application for certifica-
ton,

2. 'Conducted a minimum of 3 contested tnal cnurt heanngs,:*
including one cvidentiary hearing, in the 5 years immediately pre- .

ceding application for certification.

3, Met the criteria of sub. {2) (c} or attended 6 hours of state _

public defender approved legal education in criminal law within
one year immediately preceding application for certification,

(e) Level 3. Level 3 certification means the attorney is certified
for level 2 cases, cases involving any pleas to class A felonies and
trials in which the defendant was convicted of a class A or B,
felony. An attorney is qualified for certification at this level if the
attorney has done all of the following:

“1. Fileda mmnnum of 3 briefs—in—chiefi in'the Wlsconsm Su-

preme Court of the Wisconsin Court of Appeals that complied

with s. 809.30 or 809.40, Stats., in the 5 years immediately preced-
ing application for certification. At least one of the briefs must

have been in a felony jury trial case and this bnef must accompany :

the application for certification.

2, Conducted a minimum of 3 evidentiary hearmgs in crimi-
nal cases, one of which must have been a trial or pestconviction

hearing, in the 5 years immediately preceding application for cer- .,

tification.

3. Met the cntena of sub (2) (c) or attended 6 hours of state
public defender approved legal education in criminal law in the
year immediately preceding application for certification.

(£} Specialized areas of certification. Specialized areas of cert1~
fication include any of the following:

1. Termination of parental rlghts cases. An attorney is quah-
fied for certification in termination of parental rights cases if the
attorney meets the criteria of par. (e), and:

a. Has completed 4 credits of state public defender, approved

legal education in termination of parentai rights.cases in the year .

immediately preceding application for certification;or =~
b. Has been sole trial or appellate counsel of record in at least
one contested termination of parental rights case inthe 3 years im-
mediately preceding ‘application for certification.
2. Other juventle cases under chs, 48 and 938, Stats, An attor-
ney is quatified for certification in other juvenile cases undér chs,
48 and 938, Stats., if the attorney meets the criteria of par. (c}, and:
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a. Has been sole trial counsel of record in at least 5 completed
juvenile cases in the 3 years immediately preceding application
for certification; or

b. Has completed 4 credits of state public defender approved
Iegal education in cases under chs. 48 and 938, Stats., in the year
immediately preceding application for certification.

-3, Cases under chs. 51 and 55, Stats. An attorney is qualified
for certification in cases under chs. 51 and 55, Stats., if lhe a[tor—

ney meets the criteria of par. (c), and:

a. Has been sole trial ‘counsel of record in 5 cases under chs.
51 and 55, Stats., in the 3 years immediately preceding application
for certification; or

b. Has completed 2 credits of state public defender approved

: legal education in cases under chs. 51 and 55, Stats,, inthe 3 years
" immediately preceding application for certification. &

4. Casesunder ch. 980, Stats. An attorney is quatified for cer-

: tification in cases under ch. 980, Stats 1f the attomey meets the
criteria of par. (g), and: :

a. Has completed a minimum of 2 credlts of state pubhc de—

fender approved education in cases under ch. 980, Stats.; in the

year immediately preceding application for certification; or
b. Has been sole trial or appellate counsel of record in at least

- one contested commitment under ch. 980, Stats., in the 3 years im-
. mediately preceding application for cemﬁcatton :

(6) The state public defender inay develop specialized lists
within subs. (1) to (5), which may be based on additional certifica-’
tion criteria to be developed by the state public defender. Special-

. ized lists within sub, (3) for cases requiring exceptional expertise

may be developed with the approval of the state public defender.
(8) (a) An attorney may be excluded by the state public de-
fender ‘on the foliowmg grounds: v
1. Thé altorney is disbrred, suspended, or has siitrendered a N
Hcense to practice law in this state; )
2. The attorney fails to meet the education or expenenee crite-
ria set forth herein,
{b) The state public defender may exclude from a certified list
any attorney barred by statutefrom engagmgmcnmmal represen- .

. tation.

(c) Any attomey who is excluded from the eertlﬁcatlon fist by
virtue of the exclusions set forth herein above shall be placed on

. the appropriate certification list within 30 days after a submission

of a written notification to the state public defender that the attor-
ney is no longer disqualified, provided further that such attorney
had previously submitted a timely and properly prepared certifi- |
cation applicatmn

{9) Any aiiorney 'certlﬁed under ch. PD 1 shall complete 6
hours of continuing legal education each calendar yearin COUrses.
approved by the state public defender. This requirement shall ap-
ply beginning with the first full calendar year following gradua-
tion from law school. The state public defender shall establish pro-
cedures to monitor compliance with this requirement. .

History: Cr. Register, May, 1978, No. 269, eff. 6-1-78; am. Register, August,
1978, No. 272, eff, 9-1-78; r. a.ndrecr (1), mnum, (2) to (4) to be (5) to {7y and am.
(7), cr. (2) to (4), Register, Avgust, 1981, No. 30 . 9-1-81; am, (1) (intro.) and
(c), (2) {c} and {d) 5., (3} {c) and (d} 3., renum. (4)to (T tobe (5), (7, () and (9) and
am. {8) {a) {intro.) and 2. and (9),cr (4) and (6), Reglster, Noveinber, 1984, No. 347,

eff. 12-1-84; am. (5) (8} , Register, April, 1990, No. 412, ff, 5-1-90; correction in
{9y made under s, 13.93{2m) {b) 4., Stats., Register, April, 1990, No.412; r. and recr.

© (1), am. (2) (6). (3) (b), (5} (&), (7), (8} (8} {intro.), (o) and (a}, r.{2) &), (3) (), ()

and (8) (2} 2., renum. (2) (d} (intro.}, (3) {d) (intre.) and (8} (a) 3. to be (2) (¢) (inwo.),
(3){e) (intro.) and (8) (a) 2. and am., cr. (2m), Register, October, 1992, No. 442, eff.
11-1-92; comection in (9) made under 5. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Slats Reglstcr, July,
1995, No. 475; 1. and recr. (5), 1. (7), Register, Aprdl, 1996, No 434 ‘eff, 5-1-96;

e comestion in (5) {c) 1. and {f) madé under s. 13,93 (2m) (b) 6.and 7., Stats., Register,

July, 1996, No. 487; correction in (2m) {a) madeunders, 13,93 (Zm) (b) ’l‘., Stats.,
Register, October, 1996, No 490

‘PD 1.05 Appeal of certlﬂcatton decls:ons (‘I) The
state public defender shall notify each attorney who has submitted
a certification application of the counties or county and categories -
for which the attorney is eligible. Upon request by that attorney, -



the state public defender shall inform the attorney excluded from
a particular list of the reasons for the exclusion from & particular
list and the manner by which the attorney may appeal the decision
or reapply for recertification.

(2) Any attorney may appeal the state public defender’s certi-
fication decision by mailing a letter of appeal to the state public
defender within 30 days of the notice of exclusion. The attorney
shall state in the letter the certification from which the attorney has
been excluded, The letter may also state the reasons the attorney
believes the exclusion was improper.

(3) Upon receipt of an appeal Ielter, the state public defender
shall place the matter on the agenda of the next state public de-
fender board meeting unless that meeting is fess than 10 days from
the receipt of the appeal letter, in which case the matter may be
scheduled for the following meeting. The state public defender
shall, at least 10 days prior to hearing, inform the attorney of the
time and place of the board meeting at which the appeal will be
considered.

(4) The state public defender shall transmit to the board and
the attorney ail material relicd upon in reaching the certification
decision, including the certification application and all written
comments received under s, 977,08 (3), Stats.

{5) The attorney may request that the state public defender re-
produce and submit to the board material relevant to the appeal.
The hearing before the board shall be considered a “class 3" pro-
ceeding and is governed by ss. 227.44 to 227.46, Stats.

(6) The state public defender board may deliberate the matter
in executive session pursuant to the provisions of s. 19.85 (1) (a),
Stats. The board shall issue a written decision either affirming, re-
versing, or modifying the certification decision of the state public
defender, The written decision shall be mailed to the attorney
within 20 days of the board meeting and shall be signed by an offi-
cer of the board.

{7) The board’s written decision shall constitute findings of
fact and conciusions of law within the meaning of 5. 227.47, Stats.

History: Cr.Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. %—1-78; am, (1) to (6), Reglster,

November, 1984, No, 347, off, 12-1-84; comrections in (5) and (7), made under s.
13.93 (2m) (b} 7., Stats., Register, April, 1990, No. 412,

PD 1.06 Removal from certificatlon llsis for cause.
{1) Any interested party, or the assigned counsel chief on his or
her own motion, may request, in writing, that an attorney, pre-
viously certified to accept cases from the state public defender, be
removed for cause. Upon receipt of a request, the state public de-
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fender shall conduct an investigation thereof. Upon a finding of
cause, the state public defender may suspend the attorney from
certification or may refer the attorney to the state public defender
board with a recommendation for removal,

(2) Upon a recommendation for removal, or following the
suspension of any attorney and the attorney’s request for review,
the board shall review the investigation and recommendation.
Upon tequest of the attorney prior to its review of the state public
defender’s investigation and recommendation, the board shall
conduct a hearing at which time the attorney in question may be
heard and produce evidence in defense thereof. Upon a finding of
cause, the board may remove the altorney or confirm the suspen-
sion, The board shall render a decision within 60 days of the hear-
ing.

(3) Any atiorney removed for cause may petition a circuit
court for review of the decisions of the state public defender board
pursuant to the provisions of ch. 227, Stats.

(5} The board may, in its discretion, appoint any number of its
members to conduct the hearing and to report its findings and rec-
ommendations to the entire board for ifs decision,

History: Cr. Register, August, 1981, No, 308, ff. 9-1-81; am. (1) and (2), Regis-
ter, Novemnber, 1984, No. 347, eff, 12-1-84; am. (1) and (2), r. (4}, Register, October,
1992, No. 442, eff. 11-1-92.

PD 1.07 Voluntary removal. Any atforney may request
to be removed from any certified list for a specified period of time,
and the state public defender shall remove the attorney until noti-
fied in writing by the atiorney that the attorney wishes to be placed
back on the list. If an attorney is inactive for more than 3 years, the
attorney shall reapply for certification.

History: Cr, Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff, 9-1-18; am. (1), Register, No-

vember, 1984, No. 347, eff, 12-1-84; am. Register, October, 1992, No. 442, eff,
11-1-92,

PD 1.08 Access tofiles. (1) The state public defender
may not disclose to any person except the subject, any comments
made by any person who has initiated or responded to an inquiry
relating to the fitness of an attorney for certification, unless or-
dered to do so by the public defender board or a court.

{2) Only certified lists, board proceedings and decisions under
these rules shall be considered public documents and open to pub-
lic inspection.

History: Cr. Register, August, 1978, No. 272, eff. 9-1-78; am. (1), Register, No-

vember, 1984, No, 347, eff, 12--1-84; am. {1}, Register, October, 1992, No, 442, eff,
11-1-92.
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